Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

birthday getaway

3.4 on July 17, 2014

beautiful inn, idealic location. arlo is just wonderful!


Great Weekend Escape

4.8 on July 07, 2014

My fiancee and I had a relaxing and reinvigorating weekend stay at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The grounds are immaculate with short hiking trails to take in some nice views. The rooms are cozy and welcoming. Make a dinner reservation for Henry's on the Farm - it's a great place.


Tucked away farm and spa

4.4 on July 07, 2014

Stayed in both the Juniper and Grand Laurel rooms. Both were fantastic, especially the Grand Laurel. Loved exploring the grounds. A delicious breakfast is included every morning. Ate at Henry's on the property one night for dinner - also delicious. Would definitely go back!


Relaxing and lovely weekend getaway

4.2 on July 05, 2014

We enjoyed two nights here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The grounds were very pretty and we loved the breakfast and afternoon tea - great food. Our room was nice though it was a bit warm (you can't control the temperature yourself) and the bed/sheets/pillows could have been more comfortable. It was a bit pricey for the room we got - but I understand it was peak season on a weekend, and included all the great service and food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that on both days they were doing some minor construction (mainly banging on rocks to fix a pathway for an upcoming wedding, but it was disruptive to the peaceful atmosphere as it occurred both times during afternoon tea and during breakfast). after it went on for the second day, I talked to the staff at breakfast and was told it would stop for the day. But then it started again in the afternoon, which was frustrating given what the manager had communicated earlier, so once again I talked to the staff. They were kind enough to give us a discount and explained why it had to go on - so that was a nice gesture and made us feel better. Going forward though, I would not think it's wise to have someone making a lot of noise in a fairly pricey B&B on a busy summer weekend, where people go to relax. Thankfully we found some great chairs overlooking the hudson away from the noise and it was very peaceful. Overall a nice stay - we also enjoyed the restaurant and the spa very much.


Best bed and breakfast in dutchess county

4.4 on July 05, 2014

This place is not only beautiful, but the service is also outstanding!!! The spa is great, and so is the restaurant... Breakfast spread is to die for!!! My favorite place... Really, no complaints, so we just keep coming back....


You don't want to miss this lovely get away cottage type setting!

4.0 on June 30, 2014

Buttermilk Falls in proved to be everything my husband and I were looking for from the minute we arrived. The place is so quaint, and the cleanliness and helpful staff were just fabulous...but you don't want to miss the breakfast in the morning and the afternoon tea. The cook to order breakfast included with your stay does make the complete package price worth it, and they do a terrific job with the snacks make available at the afternoon tea. The dinner that we enjoyed at Henry's far exceeded the dinner we had that follow Saturday at a local restaurant. Buttermilk Falls has an excellent cooking staff, housekeeping service and front desk employees. I would recommend this place to anyone! Believe me, you will be glad you came.


Perfect place for rest and renewal

4.8 on June 23, 2014

The staff was friendly, helpful, really went out of their way. The room was just delightful and the grounds worth exploring. I enjoyed the farm animals--especially the white peacock! Perfect place for restoring equilibrium. HENRY'S the resident restaurant is superb.


Upscale, well appointed, cozy getaway

4.2 on June 21, 2014

This is a great getaway for people who like boutique feel and amenities but are looking for a secluded B&B type experience. The service is great, the breakfast is good, and the property is amazing. I wish I could have stayed longer!


Wonderful get away

4.8 on June 17, 2014

My husband and I needed to be close to NYC, but far enough away to feel like we had left home. This spot on the Hudson felt almost magical. The breakfast was worth the trip.


Buttermilk Farms Bliss

4.8 on June 08, 2014

Our visit was divine! We had reservations for two nights and stayed three because we didn't want to leave. The breakfasts were awesome too.


Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

5 on June 05, 2014

Stayed Sunday night to Monday. Ate at Henry's Restaurant. Got a facial at the spa.


The Best So Far

4.8 on May 20, 2014

Love staying at B&B's. We've been here several times as it's the best so far!


Good retreat

3.0 on May 12, 2014

We booked a room for a 2 day stay the first week in May. We stayed at the 'Sage Right' room and enjoyed most of our stay. Pros -Delicious brunch at Henry's restaurant, which is run independently from the inn. Flat bread and country potatoes were soooo good -Inn grounds are beautiful and relaxing -Thoroughly enjoyed the spa which has excellent amenities -Room comes with inn breakfast with a good selection of items -There is afternoon tea with snacks, 3 to 5 pm at the inn -Room had accessible patio, a clean bathroom -Many area attractions within 20 mins drive Cons -No brunch mimosas listed on Henry's drinks menu and the juices were diluted with too much ice. -Dinner at Henry's a total disappointment. Skip and instead drive 20 mins to the riverfront marina in Newburgh NY where there are multiple restaurant options. Front desk provided list of recommendations Also if you want bread at Henry's you have to ask for it. -The biggest downer was the bed - super soft mattress that offered no spinal support and the pillows were completely worn out. When we walked into the room it had a sweet, sickly smell that to me equals an attempt to mask some smell from pet pee, smoke,... who knows Spent the night rubbing eyes, cringing nose, & woke up with scratchy throat. I've stayed in many hotel rooms across the globe and this room had the worst air quality. The 'Sage Right' room needs a complete over haul. The spa, inn breakfast, and grounds melted away much of the sleepless night . We would certainly come back after a more careful room selection.


A hidden Gem

5 on May 12, 2014

My wife and our two dogs recently stayed at Buttermilk falls, what a beautiful and peaceful place! The grounds are immaculate and calming. The restaurant on the grounds is fantastic. They are also centrally located to many great shopping destinations in the Hudson Valley. More importantly they were happy to see our two dogs and were encouraged to explore the property. We will certainly return!


As Advertised

5 on January 14, 2014

Everything I could hope for on an overnight stay. The Juniper room was awesome, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us with a specially made birthday cake waiting in the room, spa was great, and the restaurant and service were superb. The drinks were excellent. The grounds were fun to explore on a wintry day. Highly recommend, hope to visit again.


One of my all-time favorite places to go!!

5 on January 02, 2014

I have stayed at the Buttermilk 5 times. I have stayed in the Inn, in the cottages and all experiences have been amazing. I live nearby but my family visits me often and we always stay at the Buttermilk. The Spa is one of the best I have been to. The food at Henry's is beyond perfect. The breakfast that you receive every morning when you stay there is always amazing and different. The staff try their best to make your stay the best it can be. Once I stayed and snow storm came and we lost power and they did not make us pay for that night. I have only wonderful things to say!!


What a gem

4.8 on December 18, 2013

My husband and I booked the inn for a quick, short honeymoon. We were both in need of a place to unwind after a stressful few months. Buttermilk was just what we needed. We stayed in the Sage Left room. The room was immaculately clean, as was the rest of the inn, and the atmosphere was so relaxing. The breakfast served in the main common dining area was delicious! Unfortunately Henry's restaurant was closed both nights we were there (Mon and Tues), but we plan to go back to try it out. The spa was fabulous. Had a great hot stone massage and relaxed in the pool and the steam room. The grounds are beautiful, especially in the snow. We are looking forward to going back. It's perfect for a romantic getaway or a group outing, like a girls getaway. We will definitely be back!


Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

5 on December 12, 2013

LOVED IT!


Relaxed and Refreshed

4.8 on March 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway for our anniversary, and the Inn exceeded our expectations. We stayed in Sweet Basil, which was immaculate, and thoroughly enjoyed the in-room fireplace. The staff was friendly and courteous, and the breakfast was delicious. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner at Henry's. The spa was very relaxing, and they allowed us to use the saunas and indoor pool even after checkout. The grounds were lovely, and we enjoyed a short hike to the falls and some tennis. We've already raved about it to all of our friends and will definitely be going back!


Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Details

  • Nightly Rate $250 - $300
  • Reviews (19) 4.5
  • Rooms 18
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 845-7951310

Visit Website »

View details

Top