The West Townhouse Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Indicação

5 on April 21, 2013

A relação custo beneficio é muito boa! O predio é muito bem localizado, os apts são muito bons e os donos são super atenciosos. Ah e tem um detalhe muito especial: a dona é brasileira mas mora em NY há um tempão, ou seja, conhece tudo e nos deu várias dicas valiosíssimas, fez roteiros pra gente, nos muniu de vários mapas úteis e ainda nos deu boas indicações de compras e restaurantes, ou seja, tenho muitos motivos pra divulgar e indicar!


Great stay at West Townhouse

5 on November 28, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay at West Townhouse. The room was perfect, the comfy, the bath modern and Monica and Larry were there if we needed them. We also liked being so close to the subway, Central Park and many fine neighborhood restaurants. Monica also arranged our limo to the airport and we were certianly pleased with the driver as well as the price. We will certainly return to the West Townhouse and recommend it to friends. Thank you Monica and Larry. Stan and Nancy


A slice of home in NYC

4.0 on November 16, 2011

This is an absolutley fabulous location in NYC. It is easy to use the subway, grocery stores are close, restaurants are plentiful & very good. The rooms are very roomy, attractive & clean. The flowers & fruit that welcomed me are a nice touch. Monica & Larry are the best !! I recommend The West Townhouse to all my friends & family. I love it there & will return often !! Beth from Atlanta, GA


A must for everyone travelling to NYC!

4.4 on September 07, 2011

I wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay. Booking all the way from Australia over the internet at times people are concerned what will it be like when I show up…….After such a long flight from Australia it was so easy to find your helpful assistance made it seemingly impossible to get lost. Thank you for that. The building was secure safe and easy to find even when at times we felt like we were lost in the big city. Shopping WOW all around restaurants a plethora to choose from so close. It was a breath of fresh air after a long day downtown seeing all the sites. I was wondering next year I was looking at planning to come for a month long work/leisure holiday my daughter is studying acting and would love to look at courses there as well I have been searching the net for a great course for book writing – would you happen to know any? Would love to return and stay with you again.


Delightful

4.8 on May 12, 2011

I stayed in the ground floor studio with my boyfriend, for a week during April. The room was immaculate, exactly as pictured, though pictures can't do justice to the charm of the place. Monica and Larry were very personable, but not intrusive. Monica in particular was a very helpful hostess, and was always available with tips for getting around the city. They attended to every need right away, and very graciously. The neighborhood around the townhouse is quiet, and offers everything that you need for an extended stay. A short walk takes you to Central Park or the Hudson, and everything else in town is just a few minutes by subway. I highly recommend the West, and will stay here again in the future, if this wonderful place isn't booked!


Lauren and Madeleine's stay

5 on October 16, 2010

One word. Amazing! Monica was soo nice and helpful and great at giving advice on where to go and what to do. We loved the fresh fruit and flowers and how you put so much effort into absolutely everything, every last detail was perfect. Thank you so much for putting up with us and I would advise absolutely everyone to stay in this place if you're going to NYC. ps, amazing location - a couple blocks from central park with a subway station practically beside you :)


Wonderfull B&B

4.6 on September 09, 2010

We had a great time in NY, Monica and Larry are very friendly and helpful. The apartment was perfect located for us, only 2 blocks away from the subway in a nice neighbourhood with a lot of charming restaurants. It was nice to come home and relax. We recommend The West Townhouse to everybody how want's a great stay in a great city. Bob & Jessica ( Belgium)


great price, great stay

4.6 on September 01, 2010

The room is very good. The bed and the pillows are very confortable. The street is very calm and close to a lot of very good restaurants, museums, central park, subway. The owners were always happy and available to help us. If I go to NY again westtownhouse will be my choice again.


Excellent place to stay in Manhattan

5 on August 17, 2010

Monica and Larry are wonderful, friendly hosts, giving their guests a warm welcome, lots of information and offering a, clean, quiet and cosy 'home' in the big city. We hope to return one day to NY and we will certainly stay in the West Townhouse again, no doubt about that.


Estar em casa, em Nova Iorque!

5 on August 16, 2010

Muito bem localizado, apartamentos lindos, bem montados e cercados de tudo que precisávamos para ser felizes.


Best B & B

5 on August 10, 2010

I could not have imagined a better location, comfortable, clean and welcoming place to stay while in NY. I'll never go back to a hotel.


Fabulous NYC Townhouse

5 on July 14, 2010

We went mid "heatwave". The suite was cool, clean, spacious. We loved the location, the innkeepers were gracious and helpful. We were pleased from beginning to end. Can't wait to return.


A great place to stay in the Upper West SIde

4.4 on July 14, 2010

This is a great place to stay in the Upper West side. We found that it was an ideal base from which to explore Manhattan. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It is in easy walking distance to the Subway and Central Park. There are grocery stores, restaurants and laundries close by. The hosts (Monica and Larry) made us feel very welcome and were very helpful in providing information about the local area and the city generally. We enjoyed our stay in the West Town house very much.


Wonderful location

5 on June 29, 2010

My wife and I had an excellent vacation at the West Townhouse. Larry and Monica were wonderful hosts and the apartment was clean and comfortable. We took advantage of the kitchen and were able to cook quite a few meals rather than go out everyday for food. The location was perfect. We were only a block from the subway and a couple of blocks to Central Park. The Museum of Natural History was very close, too. There were many great restaurants and shopping less than a block away. Plus, there were plenty of grocery stores close by. The neighborhood was extremely safe and we felt very comfortable walking around at any time of the night. I am a very light sleeper and there was no street noise, since it is a quiet street. I would recommend staying at this townhouse to anyone visiting New York. It is so much of a better value than a hotel, plus the hosts are wonderful and friendly. James and Dida


The West Town House

4.8 on June 26, 2010

Larry and Monica are delightful, very accomodating and work hard to ensure their guests are comfortable. Our unit was very clean and most importantly there were no surprises. Highly recommend The West Townhouse as a wonderful home away from home


Highly recommended

4.4 on June 22, 2010

Monica was a charming and helpful host. Our room was spacious, attractive, quiet and spotless, with a comfy bed. The area is convenient and convivial: it was nice to be staying in a neighbourhood rather than a tourist area, and within easy reach of shops, restaurants and subways (and Central Park).


Great return visit

5 on June 21, 2010

We recently concluded our second stay at The West Townhouse. We love the home-like setting. Like having our own apartment, but cheaper than a decent hotel. Great upper west side location, near Central Park, #1 subway, Museum of Natural History etc etc. By the way, there is no dining, but there does not appear to be a way to say N/A, so I just rated that excellent too.


The West Townhouse made our trip!

4.8 on June 19, 2010

I am so grateful to have stumbled upon their website (and been able to book) before our first trip to NYC. The room was very nice and clean and we couldn't have asked for a nicer neighborhood to stay in. It was great coming home to The West Townhouse after a full day/night of busy sightseeing because it was so quiet compared to the thick of downtown and other areas. The neighborhood has a lot if quaint, cute restaurants and shops also. We will definitely stay there again if we ever go back to NYC! THANKS!!


Better than any hotel in Manhattan!

4.8 on June 18, 2010

We loved everything about our stay at West Townhouse, the location, the accommodations and particularly the great care and pride the owners take in making their guests feel comfortable and at home.


West Townhouse, A Treasure in the Heart of the City that Never Sleeps

4.8 on January 19, 2010

Monica & Larry, "Our visit to New York City was made even more special because we located your beautiful B&B for lodging." What a wonderful treasure! You have a lovely brownstone in the heart of a city that never sleeps, yet we found the sleeping to be quiet, peaceful and incredibly restful. Monica, your little "touches" like fresh fruits and flowers say "Welcome strangers, our home is your home". Thank you for that, and for your graciousness from the first email, to our last day. Oh, and please share with Larry, that his playing the beautiful music on the piano in the evening, was so enjoyable. I only wish I could have stayed longer to hear him play. You will come highly recommended to anyone needing a pleasant, clean, quiet and wonderful hospitable respite." Jeanine & Ron Muir Sahuarita, AZ


we love this place.

4.8 on August 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the studio for 4 days last October and absolutely loved every minute- i have such happy memories. West Townhouse is a perfect location- great restaurants and a quick walk through Central Park to the Met. The apartments are beautiful and comfortable- and the hosts couldn't be nicer! We can't wait to go back this January. -Shelly and Eric


A wonderful home away from home!

4.8 on July 26, 2009

I had a fantastic time both stays on the Upper West Side. I felt completely at home and loved the touch of flowers and fresh fruit. Thank you Larry and Monica for your continued kindness. I am looking forward to many future stays in your townhouse.


Awesome Affordable Place

5 on May 31, 2009

This was our 2nd visit and we plan to return again in Nov. The place is immaculate and convenient. Larry and Monica are great hosts. Quiet neighborhood for NYC. Beautiful decor as well. Absolutely wonderful place to stay.


Great place to stay in UWS

4.2 on May 15, 2009

We stayed for 7 nights in October 2008 and we will go back this year. Very clean and confortable place to stay in an excellent location.


Upper West Side treasure

4.6 on April 20, 2009

We selected the West Townhouse based on location, website and excellent email communication with the owners. The studio was immaculate and twice the size of the room at a nearby hotel we stayed at previously. Monica and Larry are wonderful hosts. Nice amenities like fresh fruit and plenty of brochures for local attractions and restaurants. Easy walk to wonderful restaurants, Central Park, and the subway. We are excited to be returning in the summer for a longer stay.


A Real Find

4.2 on April 07, 2009

This is the perfect place to stay in NY when visiting the city. We stayed for 5 days in the summer of 2008 and couldn't get over our good fortune. We knew we wanted to be on the upper west side so we took a chance and from the moment we arrived we knew this would be our first choice everytime we come back. Larry and Monica are the perfect hosts, the building is beautifully renovated and cared for and you can't beat the location. Bravo!


What a find!

4.6 on March 18, 2009

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights in May, 2008. The large studio room exceeded expections, complete with fireplace, oil paintings and high ceilings! The bathroom and kitchenette were beautiful and very clean. The neighborhood is convenient and not touristy. I used to live in Manhattan and I felt like I was again! I hope they now accept checks or credit cards, but otherwise I could not be more pleased!


A PERFECT RETREAT

4.2 on March 16, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in September 2008 --and would happily go back. Our spacious and elegant studio room overlooked the leafy street : great to be on the Upper West Side surrounded by a huge range of eating places, shops, coffee shops etc. Central Park just 5-10 minutes away on foot. Buses and a choice of subway stations equally close, so it's easy to get back here after a day's sightseeing and relax in the cool and calm atmosphere of this lovely house.We were made to feel very much at home. Alan Lambert UK


Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay!

4.6 on March 13, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the studio for a long weekend and were so pleasantly surprised to find it incredibly welcoming, clean and in a wonderful location. The area is relatively quiet and near a number of different types of places: restaurants, pharmacies, subway, and Central Park! I was not able to meet Monica, as she was out of town, but in my communications with her during the reservations process were wonderful and honest. Larry was more than accommodating upon our arrival and exit and was willing to assist. Next time I'm in NYC, I only hope their place is available! Thank you very much!!


Warm welcome, comfortable accommodation

4.8 on March 11, 2009

I stayed at the West Townhouse for 5 days in January 2005. Even before we arrived, Monica was helpful with practical arrangements and gave us a warm welcome. Our room was comfortable, with modern fittings and tasteful decoration. Location is superb, close to cafes, restaurants, central park, shops and museums. Telephone and wireless internet worked well. Monica helped with airport transfer on our departure. I will return for another stay with pleasure.


Home Away from Home

4.4 on March 05, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 1 bedrm. apartment, which was perfect for our needs and was located in a real NYC neighborhood. Also Monica and Larry were a pleasure to deal with and get to know. E. Varady


italians in ny city

4.2 on March 04, 2009

Fantastic holiday in NY city also thanks to our staying at westtownhouse: a beautiful studios really clean, very confortble place and people.


Highly recommend it.

4.8 on March 03, 2009

Stayed there in March of 2008 for a weekend. I think it was newly renovated at the time. The owners were a pleasure to deal with both in making the reservation and in being helpful when we arrived. Great location on the upper West Side -- perfect for a romantic weekend in the Big City.


West Townhouse

4.4 on March 02, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at one of West Townhouse's suites. Monica & Larry were delightful hosts - very helpful and genuinely caring towards guests. The location was convenient with easy access to the subway. The rooms were very clean with elegant decor & old-fashioned charm. I would recommend this place to all - as my friend recommended it to me.


Wonderful place to stay

4.6 on March 02, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay here! Our room was very spacious and clean, and Monica was so helpful and welcoming. Also, the townhouse is very conveniently located near restuarants, shopping, and the subway. We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to NYC! Natasha and Will Knowlton


West Townhouse

4.0 on March 02, 2009

West Townhouse is on the Upper West side of Manhattan. It is easily accessible to the subway system, grocery stores, restaurants, Central Park, and the Museum of Natural History. The neighborhood is both quiet and safe. The owners are incredibly warm and friendly. The room we stayed in had a bedroom that was separate from the main living room, kitchen, and dinning area. For a little extra money, you can have a small extra bed put in the living room if you have an additional person. The apartment was clean and tastefully decorated. It is a great value for the money especially in a city like NYC where hotel rooms can be easily double what you would pay here. The owners made themselves very easy to contact if there is anything you need. I highly recommed staying here escpecially if you want to escape the frenetic hustle of the Time Square area where a lot of hotels can be situated.


Beautifully renovated townhouse B&B

4.0 on March 01, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay at the West Townhouse for two weeks when we came to Manhattan for our daughter's wedding. It was perfect. We had an elegant, quiet space to retreat to after all the hustle and bustle of the wedding preparations. The neighborhood is great and the location is wonderful, a short walk to all the Upper West Side shops, subways, and restaurants, and very close to Central Park. Monica made us feel welcome, and responded quickly to any requests we made. We would love to stay there again.


We'll be back!

4.6 on March 01, 2009

My husband and I stayed at West Townhouse for a week last summer. Monica and Larry were very accommodating hosts! Our apartment was immaculate and comfortable; we had room enough to entertain guests in the sitting area and to "eat in" and save money. The location is away from the hustle, bustle and noise yet near to EVERYTHING by foot or by subway. A great place to stay! The Bowlings of Chicago, IL


My home away from home

4.4 on March 01, 2009

I stayed in the one bedroom suite for 9 days in the Fall 2008. I found it to be lovely, quiet, safe and welcoming. It was very convenient with a short walk to the subway and to the park. To be in the noisy fabulous city all day and come home to the quiet of that apartment and great piano courtesy of Larry was such a gift. Monica & Larry were great landlords and guides when I needed them. Shops were close by as well for late night take out.


The West Townhouse

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-646xxxxxxx

Visit Website »

View details

Top