The Stone House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
148 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful!!! I would love to stay again!!

5 on July 18, 2014

The house, location, room and breakfast were lovely. The bed was perfect, sheets, nice pillows and great mattress!


Excellent experience

4.2 on July 18, 2014

This is a very interesting old house. Odd historical objects that were found in the house and in its walls are on display in a case. There is a very friendly cat on the grounds but he is not allowed in the guest area for allergy reasons. The bed was firm and comfortable, the linens crisp and clean, the floors and bathroom immaculate. The breakfast was delicious and rather fancy, and the young lady working there, Mariah, was lovely and very helpful. My only complaint is that it was a bit airless, as there were no screens in the windows and the AC in the window was not powerful enough to really get an air flow going. The temperature was perfectly cool and comfortable, but I would have liked more fresh air.


A wonderful weekend away!

4.6 on July 02, 2014

We had a great weekend at The Stone House B&B. We stayed in the Geographer Room. Comfy bed, nice updated bathroom with jetted tub. No TV and no cell phone reception. Breakfast was really lovely. They serve their homemade granola in addition to freshly baked bread and a main dish (one day was belgium waffles and the other day was herbed baked eggs). We would definitely go back.


Great Place

5 on April 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice place to get away for a night not too far from NYC. This place hit the spot. It's quiet, the property has a nice view, the room was spotless (and the bed was incredibly comfortable), and the breakfast was delicious. Sam & Nadia couldn't have been nicer.


My stay at the stone house was amazing.

5 on March 28, 2014

The house was so beautiful and vintage feeling and I loved the artwork all over the walls. The rooms were so clean and comfortable and the outside scenery was gorgeous even on a gloomy winter day. Coffee and tea was offered at all times, and the breakfast was overwhelmingly delicious. The home made granola and bread was fresh, and the main course (buttermilk pancakes with home made sausages) were to die for. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who appreciates the outdoors, as it is conveniently located by a few great state parks (which we took advantage off) we weren't rushed out of our room in the morning, and we were greatful that evening check it was so relaxed as we got there very late at night.


Ideal Hudson Valley B&B

5 on February 02, 2014

Every detail of my stay at Stone House was ideal. The highlight is the service and taste level of the owners. They are engaging, helpful and the breakfast was divine. The bed and linens were amongst the most comfortable of any I've experienced. My experience was so good that I booked another stay for next month.


Magical and Completely Calm Christmas Stay

5 on January 15, 2014

The warmth of the room is only exceeded by the warmth of the owners, Sam and Nadia. Sam was great fun to chat with, and couldn't have been more accommodating to our need of a microwave for our picnic dinner. The bed room was immaculate, perfect for a cold winter night. My husband wanted to take the luscious bed and bedding home! The breakfast was dee-lish! Outstanding all around!


The stone house bed and breakfast

4.0 on December 01, 2013

Very nice and pleasant stay. Would be great for a group of friends.


Lovely Place

4.8 on October 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Sam was a graceous host. We were in town for my husbands mother's 89th birthday. It turned out that she and her family used to live in the house in the 1950's. We had no idea until after we booked our stay. We highly recommend if your looking for an authentic Stone House experience.


Lovely experience!

4.8 on October 22, 2013

Really fine. Especially important for us was the environmentally clean environment - no smelly cleaners, no scented sheets, etc. Also loved the friendliness of the host and our personal tour of this historic house. Hope to return!


Our preferred stay in the Hudson Valley area

5 on October 17, 2013

We have stayed at this Bed & Breakfast about four times and have always been extremely happy with the accommodations and the hospitality provided by the owners. We would highly recommend it to other visitors.


Nice and cozy

4.0 on October 15, 2013

Nice and cozy


Best B&B so far!

4.8 on October 12, 2013

This B&B is located in the middle of a beautiful, wooded area next to a creek. The surroundings are spectacular. An excellent place for relaxation and meditation. And conveniently located so close to NYC. The hosts are very nice and hospitable people. The breakfasts they prepare are out of this world. Every day a different menu, every day a new surprise. I wish I could have breakfast like that every day. All food is freshly made and really home made. What a treat! Each room has a unique atmosphere and includes a bathroom with all the amenities. We are definitely going back!


wonderful stay

3.8 on October 09, 2013

we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Stone House. Great location and a nice alternative to staying in the Kingston area. beautiful grounds, great breakfast, and friendly and helpful hosts. Kudos to Sam and Nadia.


Warm, friendly and peaceful

4.4 on September 07, 2013

Excellent breakfast choices and quality. Comfortable, cozy and convenient common spaces. Very thoughtful and tasteful furnishings, excellent taste and sensibilities. Personalized service and great ambiance. Website information and suggestions proved to be extremely valuable.


The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Thank you very much. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and peaceful.


money well spent

4.6 on August 20, 2013

We stayed a week at this place. The service is great and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Thanks guys. You made my vacation time a once in a lifetime experience.


Very favorable review of my stay at The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 11, 2013

I wanted privacy, solitude, and quiet in a beautiful clean environment, and The Stone House provided all of that. I'm a writer and used my stay there as a retreat to finish stories I'm getting ready for publication and Sam and Nadia gave me the atmosphere in which I could do that. I give this experience a top notch review. Don Pizzarello


An absolute gem way exceeding expectations

5 on August 08, 2013

In a very picturesque setting Stone House is an outstanding little inn, which offers Old World charm and great comfort. The two hosts have exercised consummate taste and careful execution. The individually prepared breakfasts keep up with any gourmet standard. I can thoroughly recommend STone House.


A wonderful surprise

5 on August 04, 2013

A most relaxing and wonderful vacation. It was exactly what we were looking for...peaceful & quiet. We highly recommend it!


Lacemaker Room

4.0 on July 31, 2013

The Lacemaker room was a nice size, nicely decorated. Bathroom was a convenient size, not a closet they fitted a bathroom into as I've often seen in many old houses converted to a B&B. Our stay was during an extremely hot and humid spell. I was very happy to have an air conditioner in the room and the rest of the house air conditioned. This was the only stone house in the area where we were actually able to see the interior. All the house in town we could only view from the outside.


Great little place in the Catskills

4.4 on July 10, 2013

Great bed and breakfast that we booked on relatively short notice on a busy holiday weekend. Lovely, quiet, and relaxing - exactly what we needed. Breakfast was awesome. Too bad we didn't have more time up there.


Weekend Getaway

4.2 on July 09, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The grounds are lovely and our host was very gracious. There was a beautiful wildflower garden and the house stood on a hill overlooking a creek. The original features of the stone house were carefully preserved. There was lovely sitting space inside and outside.


A beautiful place to stay

5 on June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay at The Stone House bed and Breakfast. It's very quiet, and the rooms really take you back to a different time and place. Extremely clean. The breakfast was delicious, I'd describe it as healthy/gourmet. Conversations were unexpectedly lively at the breakfast table between the visitors.


Perfect Get Away

4.6 on June 23, 2013

Great host, amazing food, and serene setting.


Difficult to beat!

4.6 on April 25, 2013

Lovely house, very comfy bed, beautiful room, very friendly hosts, gourmet breakfast, lovely area. And great value. Not a lot more you could ask for, really.


A gem in Hudson Valley

5 on March 07, 2013

Sometimes you just want to get away, and this is certainly a great place to get away to. The Stone House B&B is just off 209, and its far enough away from the road that you feel secluded and its plenty quiet. It is conveniently located close enough to Kingston, Marbletown, High Falls, Ellenville and even Newe Paltz. The rooms are all impeccably decorated, but not over decorated. The bedsd are super cozy. I slept so well there. The house has been beautifully renovated, and you can really appreciate the history of the house. There is some great reading material, games and tourism info in the comfy dining room/living room. And then of course there is the breakfast. I have stayed at my fair share of "bed and breakfasts" and while many get the "bed" part right, they don't quite get the "breakfast" part right. The Stone House Bed and Breakfast gets BOTH right. Nadia is an amazing cook. She serves the best homemade breakfast ever. You feel so well taken care of, and its a treat to get to eat homemade oatmeal, homemade break, homemade sourdough waffles or muffins... I wish I could eat her breakfasts every morning, This is definitely a B&B worth staying at over and over again,


Delightful in Every Regard

5 on February 11, 2013

At the Stone House B&B, there are the macro pleasures: the amazing historic property, beautiful setting, delicious homemade breakfast, and warmth of its owners. Then there are so many smaller touches that added up to a magical experience for us. We stayed in the Girl With a Pearl Earring room, with an amazing canopy bed and extra large jacuzzi-type bathtub; it was crazy romantic. A bottle of Pellegrino greeted us in our room and there were biscotti in the cookie jar downstairs. The bath soap was natural-oatmeal and round; one wanted to eat it, too. The room was clean and had beautiful natural light, and the sheets were awesomely soft. Sam and Nadia had the movie "Girl With a Pearl Earring" cued up in the DVD player. Sam brought breakfast each morning and was a really interesting person to converse with, as was a longtime guest, Craig. Sam's contemporary artwork is displayed throughout and so we got to dwell with some gorgeous fine art as well. We can't think of anything negative to say. The Stone House B&B was gracious but not precious. An air of informality and calm and kindness prevailed. We were able to fully relax. We would go back in a heartbeat!


Very pleasant experience

4.4 on February 03, 2013

I took my husband to the Stone House for his birthday. We visited Woodstock and the distance was just right. Sam and Nadia are so nice. My husband is a History teacher so I thought he would enjoy the fact that it is one of the oldest houses that you can stay in. Sam and Nadia have made the bathrooms modern enough to make them nice while still keeping the old charm with the gorgeous wood plank floors and the old beams in part of the ceiling. I thought it was fun to have the different names for each room. Nadia was so sweet to make my husband a birthday muffin to go with the tasty breakfast that she prepared. The other folks that we had breakfast with were so nice. It was such a friendly stay.


A truly unique experience

4.8 on January 08, 2013

The Stone House B&B is a great place for a romantic getaway or just to have a relaxing time. For those who appreciate attention to detail - this is your place. The rooms are beautiful. clean and the breakfast is delicious. All in all, a real treat.


Historic, Beautiful and Peaceful

5 on December 16, 2012

We stayed in this lovely B&B for a couple of days this week. The owners, Sam and Nadia were very gracious and didn't hover like most B&B owners have the tendency. Our room, the Lacemaker was gorgeous - quiet and had an amazing view - the big soaking claw-foot tub was wonderful in the morning and the food was out of this world. They have a few board games and lots of local info, so the place is not 'junked up' like some b&B's sort of keeping with the old Dutch way of living - simply. I would definitely stay here again!


wonderful weekend retreat

4.8 on November 15, 2012

Nadia ans Sam were very welcoming, helpful, and accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful. Bed was super comfortable


Mid-Hudson River Valley find

4.8 on October 29, 2012

My husband and I just spent a long weekend, Sat-Mon, at the Stone House. Booking late for one of the busier weekends for fall foliage, we were fortunate to get the only available room - the Mistress and the Maid. While charming with a comfortable queen size bed, it is the smallest in the Inn and the bathroom is not en suite. When a larger room opened on Sun., Sam and Nadia quickly made the room ready for us and moved us in for the rest of our stay. They could not have been more accommodating. We enjoyed everything about our stay and will look forward to a return visit, M in DC


Authentic and Warm

4.2 on October 28, 2012

We enjoyed a fall weekend stay and recommend The Stone House highly because it's an historic home that feels both authentic and warm. The personal care of the owners is evident in the details: the thoughtful renovation--with both preservation and comfort in mind; the breakfast with homemade bread; and the knowledgeable advice about touring the Hudson Valley.


Honeymoon Stay

5 on October 25, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. Sam and Nadia were very accommodating. The building, as well as the refurbishing work that they have done, created a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The breakfasts were all perfect as well. It was exactly the style of vacation that we had hoped to have, a nice quiet week away after our wedding.


Quiet, restful getaway

4.2 on October 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The Stone House was perfectly located for visiting the mountains and the Hudson Valley. Glad we came.


Stone House Review

4.0 on October 22, 2012

The hosts were pleasant. They made us feel at home. Nadia prepares wonderful meals. The house was a historical delight. The bed was very comfortable. I am very picky about beds due to a bad back. Everything was very, very clean. The young girl that assists the owners was a delight. Everyone was very helpful. I bought a cookbook put out by the owners that included the recipes used in the breakfasts. It was a very good stay at reasonable rates. I am planning on a return stay. So much beauty and history surrounds this area.


A lovely historic bed and breakfast!

4.8 on October 14, 2012

Beautifully appointed. Delicious breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Next time we will stay more than one night.


Charming B&B

5 on October 09, 2012

I highly recommend the Stone House Bed and Breakfast. The accommodations, breakfasts, and hospitality were excellent.


Elegant Country

4.6 on October 02, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away upstate and found this BnB online. The hosts were warm, attentive and professional from the moment we arrived. Our room, The Geographer, was elegant and well appointed. The rooms are so quiet due to the thick stone walls and the country road. I chose it as it was located smack between Mohonk Mountain House (for hiking the Lemon Squeeze) and Woodstock (where we planned on shopping at Pegasus Shoes and eating dinner at Bearsville Cafe). Breakfasts of homemade jams, breads, granola and a hot dish (we had apple crepes one day, french toast the next) was just perfect. I wish I was there now.


Perfect Rustic B & B

5 on September 27, 2012

The stone house is a wonderful place. Sam & Nadia are very friendly, the food is made with love, the rooms are charming, and the location is perfect --- a short ride from the city, yet nestled in a quiet wooded area. My girlfriend and I would definitely go back.


Excellent Find

3.8 on September 23, 2012

We spent a lovely four nights at The Stone House and would return again. Our room was romantic and historical without being cluttered or overdone. The breakfasts were very good and the art on the walls was gorgeous.


labor day getaway

4.6 on September 17, 2012

Looking forward to coming back in the fall to enjoy the foliage !!


Charming, Historic Inn in Hudson Valley

5 on September 08, 2012

Beautifully restored Dutch stone house makes for an incredibly comfortable & unique bed & breakfast experience. Like a history museum & a proper British country inn in one, but with modern luxuries and modern art. Situated in a gorgeous natural setting. The innkeepers are wonderful and welcoming and the food is delicious.


Wonderful experience

5 on August 31, 2012

The stone house is a great getaway. The house is beautiful and the owners do a great job with food, hospitality, privacy and local history. We went for our wedding anniversary and it was a restful and pleasant experience. It strikes the right balance between privacy and the warmth and hospitality of a private home. We had the geographer room, which also comes with a whirlpool- wonderful! Go visit.


Step Back in Time WITH Your Laptop

4.6 on August 28, 2012

The Stone House B&B was an amazing experience. The hosts, Nadia and Sam have managed to create the perfect balance of ambiance of the past mixed with modern luxury. They are friendly and helpful people with a great respect for their guests privacy. The room was comfortable and cleanly. The homemade 3-course breakfast was delicious. We had an absolutely wonderful stay.


Dutch colonial region revisted

4.6 on August 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this historic Dutch Colonial House. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. In particular, Nadia had a deep knowledge of the area and directed us to some restaurants and points of interest we might have otherwise missed. The guests , too, were an interesting mix. The acommodations were clean, quiet, and located in a beautiful setting.


Lovely Innkeepers, Beautiful Inn

4.2 on August 17, 2012

Sam was just lovely, breakfast was wonderful. The room was beautiful. Few household kinks they need to work out in terms of the waterworks, but nothing major. And overall, a lovely stay, wish we could've stayed longer. I have stayed several place in the Hudson Valley, and I generally feel that the accommodations are sub-par for what you pay. The Stone House certainly isnt a deal or anything, but it is cost appropriate.


Beautiful place!

5 on August 13, 2012

We spent a lovely two nights at this elegant bed and breakfast inn, full of art and antiques. The rooms (with air-conditioning!) and beds were very comfortable and complete in all particulars. The hosts were kind and attentive, and breakfast was excellent, the waffles feather-light, the best I've ever eaten. The inn is well located near Uptown Kingston and a 20-minute drive to Woodstock or Saugerties. An excellent value.


Perfect in Every Way

5 on August 13, 2012

A beautiful old historic home renovated with loving care. Peaceful, warm, inviting, quiet, and private. Delicious gourmet breakfasts prepared by friendly and knowledgeable host and hostess. Will definitely stay with them again when I visit the Hudson Valley.


Hudson Valley Highlight

5 on August 06, 2012

Excellent, relaxing stay. It was the highlight of Hudson Valley wanderings. Sheets were fantastic. Breakfast big enough to last a day and of superior quality. Best feature: The hosts.


Lovely Hospitality

5 on August 04, 2012

Sam and Nadia take great pleasure and pride in their B&B and it shows in everything they do. We will be returning.


Happy Times in the Catskill Mountains

5 on July 24, 2012

The Stone House was fantastic! The food was great -- you must try the granola! The innkeepers were very nice and artistic. Great paintings.


Wonderful Stay

5 on July 23, 2012

Loved it. This is a great value. The room (Girl with the Pearl Earring) was large, rustic, and very comfortable. Every effort was made to make the room seem authentic, yet it was also modern. Having a TV was nice to allow us to catch up on the news at night. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and included bath salts and Aveda hair products. The jacuzzi tub was just the ticket to ease weary legs after an afternoon of hiking. The hosts, Sam and Nadia, were accommodating and had great recommendations for dining and activities. Breakfast was outstanding. The homemade granola is wonderful, but don't fill up on that because breakfast will include an egg dish and a muffin or fruit. The location of the house is ideal for expeditions into the Catskills and the Hudson River Valley. Don't miss out on the creek at the bottom of the property. You wouldn't believe that you are so close to civilization.


Hurley B&B

4.0 on July 22, 2012

Everything great but no iron or board available in our room. Very quiet and comfortable. A bit pricey but was nice to stay there this one time.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased that we met or exceeded your expectations. We do have irons and ironing boards available, but, at this time, not in each room. We're always very happy to bring one to our guests when they ask for it, and we’ll take better care to make it clear that they're available, when guests arrive. Our pricing reflects our commitment to the new jobs we've created, and the ongoing renovations to this historic house. By staying here guests are keeping this heritage alive for others too. Our prices appear to be in line with comparable inns in the area, and Frommer’s 2012 lists us as one of the nine best inns and B&Bs in NY state, describing our rates as ‘moderate’.


Best B&B in the Area!

4.6 on July 18, 2012

We stayed here for Stone House Day and we loved every moment of our stay. Sam and Nadia are wonderful hosts. Rooms were better than advertised and extremely clean. Breakfast was a total gastronomic experience with Sam's special granola, Fresh Waffles and Zucchini frittata. Grounds were immaculately kept and the proximity to the Esopus Creek was just wonderful for a morning sojourn. Location was extremely convenient to walking into Hurley, NY for the Stone House Day festivities.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on July 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Stone House B & B. The Girl with the Pearl Earring room is lovely although the seating arrangement to view the TV was awkward. The canopy bed is beautiful and very plush. Sam and Nadia are warm and helpful. The breakfasts were tasty and homemade. Quiet setting.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. Since you wrote this, we’ve been trying a new layout in the Girl with a Pearl Earring room, so that the TV can be seen from both the bed and the sofa without having to turn it around. Our guests seem to like it, so thank you for the suggestion!


An Ulster County Gem

4.6 on June 30, 2012

Sam and Nadia provide a perfect getaway, especially if you appreciate history. This beautiful 17th-century Dutch house has been lovingly and respectfully restored, and decorated with taste and restraint. A lovely change from Victorian clutter. Our breakfast included Nadia's fabulous granola, eggs Benedict, and fresh-baked bread with homemade jam. This is a real keeper.


All-round perfection

4.8 on June 27, 2012

Gracious hosts, wonderful accomodations -- comfortable without losing their 'timeless' character. Greatly enjoyed a house tour with Nadia and talking with Sam at breakfast. Only wish we had had more time to see and discuss Sam's beautiful artwork.


A wonderful brief visit

3.6 on June 11, 2012

Loved our Liberty fabric bed drapings, and the bathroom - a wonderful stay


In every way a delight!

5 on May 12, 2012

We arrived late at night to a warm welcome, a charming and comfortable room, and awoke to a delicious breakfast accompanied by great conversation. Thank you Sam and Nadia for your gracious service. It was a privilege to be your guests.


Sleeping in History.

4.4 on May 08, 2012

Our room was the Lace Maker in the 300 year old part of the house. Standing on the old and wide floor boards and thinking of who lived there over so many years set my mind reeling. A wonderful historic stay made special by hosts; Sam and Nadia.


Historic B&B

4.4 on May 02, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return. Our room was very comfortable and wonderfully decorated. Breakfast is a delicious feast.


Charming, authentic, historical!

4.2 on April 30, 2012

Loved the ambiance and the treasures found in the wallboards and attic that have been beautifully preserved and displayed. Each room has it's own story and personality. The owner's pride is evident in every aspect. Breakfast was extraordinary...homemade granola and breads, zucchini frittata and a refreshing grapefruit medley were all absolutely delicious!


A Stones throw.....

4.6 on April 30, 2012

from NYC, and a magnificent place to stay. Sam and Nadia are wonderful hosts......and the homemade breakfast breads were outstanding! We'll be back.....


Awesome B&B Experience

5 on April 26, 2012

My stay at the Stone House in Hurley was fantastic! The house was very well maintained. The rooms were gorgeous and very comfortable, beautiful and cozy. The proprietors were very friendly and wonderful to interact with. I so enjoyed spending time in the living room, which had a lot of great reading materials, and ... there was plenty of information about food and activities in the area. The breakfast was incredible. Homemade bread and sourdough waffles were the highlights for me! Especially because I'm a big fan of sourdough anything. :-) Overall this was one of the best B&B experiences I've had in a long time.


Lacemaker

5 on April 20, 2012

I cannot describe how pampered I felt at the Stone House! In every aspect, Sam and Nadia have created a peaceful, luxurious environment, in an amazing historical building. The room I stayed in, the oldest, was exactly what I needed- a very comfortable bed with the finest of linens, a beautiful bathroom with every amenity, and a lovely view of the garden. And the breakfasts!! The most delicious choices, organic, locally grown and made, in the freshest, most appealing presentations, all done with obvious care and love. A gem!! Thank you, Nadia and Sam! I hope to see you again! Sandra Hasselback


Delightful Time

5 on April 13, 2012

Upon arrival we were greated by the owner Nadia, who has such a welcoming and pleasant manner; we were taken on a tour of the B&B which was very nice. Our accommodations were wonderful, attention to detail was definitely appreciated. Sam served us our breakfast which as delicious and very abundant. We met the other house guests and had very friendly conversations and are planning to keep in touch. We'll definitely be back for a return visit, longer next time.


Cozy and historic

4.2 on March 14, 2012

We stayed in the Girl with Pearl Earring room. Clean, spacious, and a nice whirlpool tub. View is towards the front of the house and road so had to keep blinds down. Sam and Nadia were excellent hosts. The breakfast was heavy on grains and fiber, delicious. Homemade granolas, breads, nice silverware and table settings. The creek and surrounding area lovely for walks.


Stone House Inn - Great for peace and quiet

3.6 on March 01, 2012

This is a great little place if you are looking for peace and quiet. The rooms are small, but my girlfriend and I had a good time in the Geographer Suite. The hosts were friendly and accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast in the morning was quite good and everything was home made. All around nice quiet, friendly place to relax.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review; we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the size of our rooms, the Geographer is 225 square feet, the Lacemaker is 246 sq ft and the Art of Painting is 252 sq ft. These three are priced the same, but the Geographer is the only one of the three with a whirlpool. All our rooms are quite different so we recommend that guests read the room descriptions on the website in order to choose the amenities that they prefer. The Girl with a Pearl Earring is larger, at 324 sq ft, and the Mistress and Maid is smaller, at 209 sq ft, - they are both priced to reflect that. Thank you for your feedback – when we next update our website we’ll also put in the room dimensions to help guests choose what’s best for them.


Engagement Weekend

4.4 on February 29, 2012

I took my girlfriend to the Hurley Stone House B&B for a weekend getaway from NYC and to ask her to be my wife. Sam and Nadia were the perfect hosts and we loved the house, the amenities and the natural setting next to Esopus Creek. It was a memorable, relaxing weekend and I couldn't have picked a better place for us to stay. Thank you, Sam and Nadia!


Stone Soul

4.6 on February 25, 2012

Lovely home, surroundings, sweet hostess who was very helpful and informative and a great cook to boot! I needed a break and found one here, even for one night. Must be heavenly in the spring, on the creek, the birds. Great base for exploring the lower Catskills


Charming Historical B&B

4.4 on February 20, 2012

The inn was charming, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed staying in an authentic stone home and learning about the history of the house and the surrounding community. The Innkeeper, Sam, was gracious, helprul and made us feel comfortable as soon as we walked in the door. As for the location, we found it convenient and easy to get around to the different attractions in the area and across the Hudson.


Made my Engagement weekend perfect

5 on February 06, 2012

I surprised my girlfriend by proposing to her at the Stone house bed and breakfast this weekend. I had never been to the area and looked online to find a bed and breakfast. I like the Stone house and contacted them by email. They were amazing to deal with and helped me set up the scenario I had dreamt of to propose. Their suggestions for activities in the area led to a perfect weekend for me. Room was amazing, house was peaceful, owners were nice but not intrusive, and breakfast was incredible. Reccomending this house and this area to everyone I know.


Exceptional stay

4.4 on January 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent a long weekend at The Stone House Bed and Breakfast. Their house was so comfortable it was hard to leave in the mornings! The breakfast was incredibly delicious and we suggested numerous times that they start cooking classes and sharing their wonderful kitchen talents with their guests. We have stayed in many Bed & Breakfasts in the Hudson Valley and this is by far our favorite. You cannot beat the old world charm of this place.


We loved the Stone House!

3.8 on January 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Stone House this past November and we had a wonderful time. Nadia and Sam are lovely hosts. They are helpful but not intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful, especially Sam's homemade waffles and granola. You can tell Sam and Nadia take a lot of pride in maintaining their historic home and providing delicious food for their guests. We were lucky enough to make friends with several other couples who stayed that same weekend. Great food, great hosts, great company. What more could we have asked for?!


A must for history lovers!

5 on January 09, 2012

For anyone interested in experiencing the history of early America first-hand, The Stone House is a must. With the original, centuries-old hearth and the beautiful, wide-set floorboards, it was the perfect blend of a cozy farmhouse and modern amenities. The innkeepers, Sam and Nadia, clearly value their property and business, and it shows in the treatment of their guests. My boyfriend and I only had time to stay one night, but could have easily posted-up for days on end. Thank you Sam and Nadia, for giving us a refreshing escape from New York City!


Great 2 night getaway

5 on January 08, 2012

Originally, my husband and I planned to go to Mohonk Mountain House, but with their two night minimum stay requirement over the Christmas break, it was too expensive (over $1100). Since we just wanted to get away from the city for a couple of days and walk around the scenic mountain area, we found the Stone House B&B through an online search which is relatively close to Mohonk and much more affordable (two nights came out to about $430 something with tax). We chose the Geographer room because of the whirlpool bathtub, which was very relaxing after a chilly walk around beautiful Lake Minnewaska. Minnewaska State Park is adjacent to the Mohonk Preserve and is only $8 to get in. (Owner, Sam, recommended it.) It took us about 30 minutes to drive there from the B&B. Breakfast at the B&B was delicious and so filling we ate only a light snack for lunch and for dinner drove into neighboring Kingston (about 10 minutes drive) for a scrumptious meal at a French restaurant recommended by the B&B owners. The house itself has many interesting features and artifacts that we were fortunate to learn about from the owners and the staff. Overall, our trip fulfilled everything we were looking for--a relaxing mountain getaway-- at a much better price than if we followed our original plan.


the perfect getaway

4.0 on January 02, 2012

Just what my wife and I needed. Rest, relaxation and lots of scenery. Going to see the house and presidential library of Franklin D. Roosevelt was a great opportunity to learn about our nation's history. We highly recommend !


Quick getaway

5 on December 21, 2011

Spent one night and was very happy. Beautiful quiet B&B, kind hosts!


Lovely B & B

5 on December 16, 2011

Sam couldn't have been nicer--comfortable bed, great shower, delicious breakfast. Nice and varied places to dine nearby.


Last Minute Trip

4.6 on December 08, 2011

Went for a last minute weekend trip to the Hudson Valley, and requested a one night stay for two. Nadia responded within an hour of my request, and made arrangements. Arrived to a brief tour of the B and B and its history. It was a lovely stay. Breakfast was wonderful, and communal with the other guests. Would absolutely stay again if I am in the region!!


peaceful visit

5 on December 07, 2011

Our room was simple and elegant. The bed was very comfortable, bath products high quality, widest floor boards I've ever seen, very helpful hosts.


Nice location

3.2 on November 30, 2011

This location was great, but I do wish the owners had been there during our stay, and we felt like the food could have been better.

Innkeeper Response
We’re glad that you enjoyed the location and found that the rooms and cleanliness exceeded your expectations. For the first time in three years, we remained open for two weekends while we were away, a process that required careful planning. On returning, we were pleased to see an online review on another site that praised our staff for doing a great job. It is rare for us both to be away at the same time whilst the bed and breakfast remains open; we hope that guests understand that, very occasionally, this might be necessary. We thank you for your feedback, and will use your comments to strive to further improve our services to all our guests.


Relaxing and lovely

4.8 on November 19, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at the Stone House. Our room was beautiful and immaculate, the breakfasts were outstanding and Sam and Nadia were perfect hosts: offering a tour on arrival and restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations when we asked for them, and letting us have the time to ourselves that we craved. The countryside is beautiful and there are lots of interesting small towns within a short distance as well.


Great time in old dutch house

4.0 on November 12, 2011

After 1 week in crazy NY, what a great tim ein this small, beautiful old ducth house in the catskills. Just nearby main places of interest, we had a peacefull night in the "girl of the pearl" room, with beuatiful furnitures, fantastic king size bed, smooth whirlpool and wonderful breakfast ... Only one bad point : we could stay one night only !! Remy and Flora , french tourists


Wonderful wedding at The Stone House

5 on November 07, 2011

We stayed at the Stone House for 2 nights in early November 2011. The stay exceeded all expectations, and not only were we impressed with the property and the value, we got married right in the B&B and the hosts Nadia and Sam were so kind to be the witnesses on our marriage certificate! We noticed and appreciated very much the following: 1. The B&B is run with a great taste that is subtle and understated. Our room was meticulously restored in old Dutch tradition with exposed beams, wooden floors true to the period, window treatments, old-style flat fireplace with iron tools, etc. You feel authenticity in every detail. 2. Yet, the space is spotlessly clean and feels expensive - the owners offer Frette linens, Aveda products in the bathroom, great quality Dutch dinner set, etc. 3. We loved our breakfasts. On both days we had home-baked bread, home made desserts, and very hearty main course (yeast waffles one morning, and goat cheese frittata on the other morning). Home made granola was also on the table, so there is enough food for those who don't eat eggs. We stayed in the newly added Great Room, and we were happy with this choice - the room has its own driveway and entry. Thanks Nadia and Sam, we will definitely be back to share the memories of our wedding!


Best B&B I've ever visited, by far

5 on November 07, 2011

We stayed here in late October/early November and while it was quite chilly outside, the accommodations were cozy and comfortable. View out the window in our room was spectacular, Sam and Nadia are really awesome, and the food was to die for! Not to mention the decor, the atmosphere, it was all clean and spare looking while remaining exceedingly warm and inviting.


A great fall getaway!

4.4 on October 31, 2011

The house is truly beautiful and one of a kind. The couple that run the B&B are amazingly kind and wonderful hosts, never intrusive and always thinking of ways to help you make the most of your time there. Breakfast was glorious, it can get a bit much so take care not to over eat (unless you plan on spending the rest of the day back in bed). I would go back in a second if I had the chance!


Wonderful residence

4.6 on October 17, 2011

We enjoy it very much to select this house for overnight. A very personal & familar atmosphere. A wonderful breakfast offer and nice to meat the other guests for a smalltalk during breakfast time. At any time we can recommend a stay in this wonderful historic inn


Cozy Stay in the Catskills

4.8 on October 13, 2011

This is a lovely house to stay in. It was very unique and they served wonderful delicious breakfast...one day was chocolate chip french toast with toasted walnuts! The B&B is only 20 minutes from Minnewaska state park and New Paltz.


Very Charming B&B

4.6 on October 04, 2011

My husband and I had a great time. Very beautiful and charming place. It was exactly the mini-retreat we were looking for. The couple who own the B&B were very informed to the history of the house and the area, which made more a more enriching experience. The food was great, too.


Lovely

5 on October 03, 2011

A gem in paradise - the breakfast was divine and you can't beat Frette sheets.


Waited far too long in writing this review!!!

4.8 on October 03, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hurley Stone House in 2009 to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. I had one of the most romantic and relaxing weekends of recent years. Sam and Nadia are wonderful hosts. They are warm, but leave you with a great deal of privacy and space. The house is amazing. There’s a lot of history there (and Sam will talk to you about it if you like). The room (The Lacemaker) was clean, cozy, and quite beautiful. I look forward to visiting again this Fall.


Great stay

4.4 on September 27, 2011

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at your lovely Dutch house last week. The charming and comfortable room, scrumptious food, and good conversation made for a very pleasant time. We hope to come back some day.


Fantastic place to stay!

5 on September 25, 2011

This is a beautiful B&B situated in some stunning surroundings. The rooms are wonderful - with remarkable historic features throughout the house. The breakfasts are also a real treat!


art of painting

4.4 on September 07, 2011

Beautiful and peaceful b and b. Loved the history on display!!


A lovely place to unwind.

3.0 on September 06, 2011

I love this bed and breakfast; my room was very comfortable and the house is in a beautiful and peaceful setting. Love the clawfoot tub in the lacemaker room! On the down side, I do think the rooms are a bit over priced. When paying these prices for rooms, I expect certain details to be met such as a clean porch and clean windows. I would also expect homemade cookies vs store bought.

Innkeeper Response
We do acknowledge that we aren’t looking our best outdoors at this time. In the last weeks, tropical storm Irene has been followed by further unprecedented stormy weather and we are still trying to return to normal. We have called the window cleaning company, and as a result of this review have invested in a new pressure washer. We have recently employed extra help in the kitchen, someone who is a baker by trade. He is very happy to have been asked to make cookies every week! We are glad we broadly met your expectations; however we do strive to go beyond expectations whenever we can. Thank you for the feedback. We take genuine pleasure in meeting the needs and preferences of our guests, and welcome all comments.


Stone Bed and Breakfast

4.2 on August 29, 2011

The Stone House was a delightful stay with a rich history. Each room is named after a Vermeer painting. All the rooms are warm and full of character. Can't really go wrong with any of them. Sam the owner is super kind and goes the extra mile to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The creek behind the house is relaxing and a wonderful way to set the tone of your stay. Overall a very relaxing place. Would recommend it to friends and definitely plan on staying there the next time I visit the Hudson River Valley.


come for the atmosphere

4.0 on August 23, 2011

the place was immaculate. well appointed, but where's the breakfast at this B&B? one slice of french toast? owners very friendly and leave you alone (which is what we wanted :) lovely grounds with creek. would go back but go out for breakfast down the street.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your feedback. We recognise that our guests have different ideas about what they would like for breakfast, and always ask in advance if anyone has any special dietary needs. We always start with homemade granola, and homemade bread and jam, and after the main course, usually end with a lighter fruit course. Our French toast is either homemade chocolate walnut butter bread, or cranberry orange butter bread, or raisin apple cinnamon butter bread, and is served with locally made maple syrup. We used to serve two slices, but most people said this was too rich, so we went to one slice. As a result of this review we are currently serving one and a half slices! We welcome your comments as we try and strike a happy balance. It is important to us that all our guests have an enjoyable experience when they stay at The Stone House.


Hope to go back

4.6 on August 08, 2011

Old Stone House is just as lovely as the on-line photos. Our room, with fresh flowers, and bathroom were nicely decorated and well appointed. Everything looked fresh and clean. The hosts were gracious, sharing information about the history of the house - welcoming but not intrusive. Breakfast was delicious. Often, B&Bs are dark, over decorated and fussy - Old Stone House was light filled and beautifully done. We hope to return.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

4.6 on August 07, 2011

Beautiful rooms, great hosts, delicious breakfast and extremely accommodating!


A lovely getaway

3.6 on August 02, 2011

Just what we imagined; a comfortable and relaxing getaway for my birthday. The accommodations were lovely and the innkeepers were warm and engaging. Definitely would return!


great place !

4.0 on August 01, 2011

The Stone House was very nice and we liked the owners very much.


Elegant relaxation

5 on July 18, 2011

Nestled by a babbling creek, this beautifully restored 18th century home has luxurious accommodations and very nicely appointed baths. We had special dietary needs which were deliciously satisfied. The owners were charming and helpful. It made for a perfect weekend with so many wonderful things to do in the area that we will definitely return.


Perfectly Peaceful

5 on July 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned home after a peaceful five night stay. We are suffering withdrawals from the beauty and comfort of the b and b. But the lovely gardens and grounds, absolutely delicious breakfasts (including to die for homemade breads---even gluten free---the best I've ever had!) all pale in comparison to the gentle and generous Sam and Nadia. We enjoyed every conversation, every lesson in history, restoration, sights to see and general whatever. We hope to be back again---maybe in another season---and for more interesting conversation!


authentically styled historic home

4.0 on July 07, 2011

the rooms are meticulously appointed to the time period of the home. sam, the owner, is quite helpful and friendly to converse with. breakfast was delicious


Early 1700's marvel.

4.6 on June 20, 2011

This place has old world charm without sacrificing modern convenience. Its hard to believe that the building is three hundred years old. Sam Scoggins is a charming and knowledgeable host who helped us with dining and touring tips.


An Evening at the Stone House Bed and Breakfast

5 on May 27, 2011

I spent an evening in Spring 2011 at the Stone House B & B. It was elegant, tasteful, cheerful perfectly clean and bright. They had a wonderful garden, a lovely property and a delicious breakfast. They even returned my good earrings that were left on the bedside table. My best bed and breakfast experience yet!


Wondeful stay

4.0 on May 23, 2011

wow... quiet place, extremely accomodate owners, very cheerfuls and takes time to talk to you. Nice old house. lots of history, place is very clean and good breakfast prepared by the owners. will definitively will be back again. Journalists from Montreal newspaper (La Presse) even goes there. Nice small town, nice surroundings area... definitively worth to stay there!!! the house also have a lots of history, and the owners takes time to have a personal visit of the house with you, if you want ( huge place!) internet is free and there is also a phone...we really feels like we are a part of the family. --------------------------------------------------------------------------- Wow, place tres tranquille, propriétaires tres accomodanst et gentils, internet disponible gratuitement sur place, telephone et les proprios prennent souvent de temps de parler avec les gens. On se sent vraiment bien et comme si on fait parti de la famille... Tres belle maison qui possede beaucoup d' histoire, tres propre, et les dejeuners sont delicieux (préparés par les propriétaires) Nous allons surement y retourner bientôt. Même les journalistes de Montreal (La Presse) s' y arrêtent parfois. un petit village tranquille, tres beaux endroits a visiter, ca vaut définitivement le detour!! La maison historique est remplie d' histoire et les propriétaires prennent le temps de vous faire une visite personnalisée des lieux. Internet et gratuit et il y a meme un telephone de disponible ;-) vaut vraiment le detour....


The Stone House is great!

4.6 on May 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I came for a romantic mid-week getaway and we were extremely pleased with our experience. The house is beautifully restored yet has a tasteful amount of modern convenience. Breakfast was tasty and natural. The owners had great ideas for hiking around the area. In truth, my whole plan was to ask my girlfriend to marry me and Nadia and Sam helped immensely with flowers and restaurant recommendations. She said yes and their help and their beautiful home made it an experience we will never forget. I'm sure we'll be back for an anniversary!


Wonderful stay with amazing hosts

4.8 on May 08, 2011

This place was super clean and no TV was a real treat. Highly recommended. Breakfast was amazing.


Had a great stay while golfing up in the Catskills!

4.8 on May 04, 2011

Highly recommended if you're looking for a B &B up in the Catskills area. Sam and Nadia are excellent hosts, and the breakfast was amazing!


Stone House at Hurley

4.6 on April 05, 2011

Really lovely hosts, beautiful house - close to fantastic trails and Kingston/Rhinebeck. Breakfast was great - really nice setup at the table, we met some fantastic people. The house itself is amazing and will likely get better as they continue tweaking while remaining sensitive to the historic structure.


What a beautiful place to stay and the views are very nice.

5 on April 04, 2011

Drove from Newark to Red Hook for dinner, let Sam know we would be late from flight delays. We were greeted, shown our room and surroundings. Slept warmly and woke up to a fantastic breakfast with delightful company. Perfect birthday gift.


Warm & Cozy History!

5 on April 02, 2011

Warm & relaxed but also...like spending a weekend in a pre-revolutionary war museum. Thrilling. Sam & Nadia are lovely!


Wonderful experience for couples or families.

5 on March 23, 2011

My husband and I visited this beautiful historic B&B with our 1 year old and we had an exceptional time. If you love historical architecture, this is a great opportunity to stay in one of the oldest homes in New York. Nearby Hurley is a treasure trove of colonial Dutch stone buildings. The inn keepers were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast (orange custard and pecan waffles!) was scrumptious.


Beautiful place to stay

5 on March 20, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Stone House Bed and Breakfast in Hurley this week. We stayed in the Lacemaker room and it was beautiful. The bed was comfortable and the claw foot bathtub delicious. My only regret was that it was too short. Sam was lovely, full of information and recommendations as well as a great breakfast chef. We hope to return in the future for a longer stay.


Surpasses Mainstream Accommodations

5 on March 19, 2011

We experienced a one night stay at The Stone House B&B in March of 2011. When we arrived we were greeted by Nadia who welcomed us and escorted us to our room. She had a very friendly and well mannered character. She offered us a brief tour and history of the House. We gladly accepted, and off we were learning about the restoration challenges and actual history of the House. We were intrigued by the details, architecture, and building methods of the time the House was built. Original fireplaces, pots, floor boards (12" wide), ceiling joists, 15"+ thick stone and cement walls, single pane glass windows, and even bathtubs truly made this place feel like you were living in the past. The room we settled in, was "The Lacemaker". We could not stop looking around, wide eyed and mouths open, and whispering..."Babe! Look at this!", "Hun, Check this out!” The place was beautiful, very well maintained, wonderfully restored, and extremely clean. Nine AM breakfast was a very unexpected experience. The food (emphasis on the bread and coffee) was so good, we couldn't stop eating. It tasted and felt so home cooked and right off the land. The company we had at the table (guests) made an unforgettable impression on us. We laughed and laughed, and told stories for an hour and a half. The room we were in contributed greatly to our moods and set the stage for a relaxed and friendly time at the table. Sam, who attended the table was such a well mannered and sophisticated gentleman, who just like Nadia, made the whole place and experience feel personal and one of a kind. We could not stop thinking about our experiences at The Stone House Bed and Breakfast. We felt so grateful for people like Nadia and Sam who take on challenges to preserve the past and provide our generation an unsurpassed place to stay. A place that that outlives and exceeds, service, locale, price, quality, and feel of any mainstream hotel out there. Yes, we’re are going back for more.


review

3.2 on February 16, 2011

We had a great time! I guess I have pretty high expectations for a clean, comfy B&B and the Stone House B&B definitely met my expectations.


Good times

3.4 on February 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight over Valentine's Day weekend. Nadia and Sam were welcoming and informative. They took time to give us a tour of their b&b which they had lovingly renovated, and told us much about the history of the house. They also went out of their way to tell us about all the sights and sounds we could take in within the surrounding areas. The actual home itself is like a museum converted into a b&b. It is full of history and charm. Nadia also cooked a great breakfast the next morning. I would recommend this b&b to others.


Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer!

5 on January 09, 2011

Wonderful stay. Friendly and welcoming. Refined, well appointed rooms. They did a great job with the renovation. Seemed to have kept the best of the old. Photos on their website actually don't do it full justice. Unexpected delicious breakfast. No complaints. Stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer!


Stone House for great begining of 2011

4.4 on January 06, 2011

My partner and I spent two nights over the New Year holidays in this beautuful B&B and I must say that this is a very, very special place. Beautiful house and nature around it, lovely and extremly clean rooms, outstanding service, and helpfull, friendly and welcoming hosts Nadia and Sam. Not only that they replied immediatley to my emails, sent me details of restaurants in Kingston and Woodstock, arranged flowers for my partner to be waiting in our room but they also prepared for us wonderful and different breakfest every morining with home baked bread! We will go back to Stone House very soon and I would highly recommend this place.


The Stone House, Stepping Back In Time

4.4 on December 20, 2010

If your looking for something different, something quaint, and your curious enough to discover the benefits of staying within a beautiful bed & breakfast, then The Stone House is for you. The history of this 18th century Dutch built home, narrated by it's innkeepers Nadia & Sam, shed light on a time past that you will appreciate greatly. Our breakfast was amazing, something you would find in a 5 star restaurant. Thanks again Nadia & Sam! (C&E/PJ/NY)


Wonderful ambiance, Comfortabe bed , Luxurious Bedding

4.8 on November 10, 2010

We would stay here again - I am always happy when I have beautiful surroundings and helpful/friendly innkeepers. The Stone House has a wonderful ambiance, understated elegance, very refined with Vermier paintings. We like a very comfortable bed which this had and luxurious bedding. We were here Fall of 2009. Thank you to the Stone House Innkeepers. Ed and Emily Crowley


The Stone House, Hurley, NY

4.8 on November 03, 2010

We stayed at The Stone House on two separate occasions in October 2010. Sam and Nadia were the perfect hosts and work very hard to ensure that your stay in their unique, restored bed & breakfast is all that you could wish for. Their attention to the small details place them a cut above many similar establishments. We hope to return soon and highly recommend The Stone House to other travelers to the area.


Lovely new B&B in Hurley, NY

4.0 on October 18, 2010

We had never been to either Kingston or Hurley. Thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay here. Great room, The Geographer. Would have liked to have seen a few more rooms, but they were occupied. Good suggestions for dinner in Kingston which is only 12 minutes away. We loved The Elephant Wine & Tapas Bar for dinner! Very quiet street and very elegant breakfasts each day!


Very nice accommodations and friendly people

3.8 on October 10, 2010

Let me start by saying that we are not typical b&b people--we like hotels for the generally consistant amenities and privacy that they afford. But we decided to try this as it seemed appropriate for the purpose of the trip--a leaf peeping getaway from the city. The room was great--really clean and good sized--and the bathroom was very nice. They have good linens and bathroom products and lighting. The house is really charming and you can feel the love put into the restoration of the home. The owners are great--they give you information without making you feel like you have to sit there and listen to them go on and on (we were worried about this as we didn't want to be captive by bored b&b owners). They were also so nice and honest--having given us a discount that we'd never have known about (a midweek reduction not on thier website). The breakfast was good--nothing fancy but totally adequate and healthy ingredients. I'd certainly recommend this place for those who want to stay in an old home that is lovingly restored and maintained.


Lovely place to stay

4.2 on September 06, 2010

Stayed in the "Geographer" room for two nights in August and had a wonderful time. House was beautiful and very tastefully appointed, none of the clutter and bric a brac you see at a lot of other B&Bs (nary a doily in sight!) Owners were really personable and gave great advice on local dining and recreation options. Lots of interesting books and info about the area and its history, plus maps to borrow for day tours. Beautiful setting, be sure to take a stroll down to the creek. Breakfast was delicious; home made black currant preserves were to die for!


A Great Place to Stay

4.8 on August 29, 2010

Nadia and Sam were the perfect hosts, and very accommodating. The breakfast was superb- everything homemade and truly delicious. The house is beautiful and the bed was great- very comfortable and clean. I will definitely stay there again and again!


Fabulous

4.8 on August 23, 2010

Nadia and Sam outdo themselves at this superior B&B, dating from the 1600s, and graciously restored by the two. The Stone House has so many things to offer: impeccable rooms with beautiful linens and furniture; state-of-the-art, modern bathrooms in each room; multiple-course gourmet breakfasts, a lovely, comfy common room, numerous pamphlets on local excursions, peace. Mornings would find us lingering at the common room table, visiting with the other guests. Nadia and Sam are always available for questions or needs. The Stone House is close to perfection, a very special place, indeed.


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on May 26, 2010

The rooms are gorgeous and clean, with the most comfortable beds. The grounds and stream are beautiful and peaceful. And Sam and Nadia are both wonderful hosts!


Charming Accommodations!

5 on March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Stone House for my husband birthday and loved it! Our room, 'The Girl with The Pearl Earring' had the old world charm with modern amenities. The location was perfect to visit the nearby towns; we had breakfast, on our way up in New Paltz and dinner in Woodstock. The setting was quiet and relaxing and the hosts were warm and generous. We loved the personal touches of fresh flowers in our room and a birthday candle his morning muffin. We definitely recommend this B & B!


Beautiful Views, Charming Rooms, Delicious Breakfast

4.4 on February 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a little mini-honeymoon right after our wedding and it perfect - quiet, romantic, relaxing. The view in the fall was spectacular. Breakfast was delicious - one morning they served buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup from the tree in the front yard - it doesn't get more local than that!


OUTSTANDING

3.8 on January 12, 2010

My wife and I needed a quiet getaway and Stone House allowed us to do that. Clean, quiet, historic, beautifully-located and great hosts Sam & Nadia were acoomodating. I will come back and recommend to others.


Wonderful!

5 on November 08, 2009

Wonderful! Spacious immaculate accommodations in a historic beautifully restored stone house. Spectacular view from our Lacemaker Room. Peaceful and quiet. The perfect getaway for our 25th anniversary. Delicious breakfast especially the french toast with maple syrup tapped from their own maple trees on the grounds. (You have to tap 50 gallons worth to make just one gallon of maple syrup!) Nadia and Sam are accommodating hosts, warm and friendly. Would return in a heartbeat!


must see this!

5 on November 03, 2009

Nadia and Sam are wonderful interesting people, their property is beautiful in any season, and their cooking is beyond compare. Not to mention that their house could be a museum piece...really, its the best place to stay in the area.


Perfect in every way!

5 on October 25, 2009

My husband took me to The Stone House Bed and Breakfast for my birthday. It was a wonderful weekend. Perfect in every way.


Quiet elegant beauty surrounds you

4.8 on October 19, 2009

I loved the ambiance of this old Stone House with its understated elegant decor. The Inn Keepers were always ready to help in any way they could. Our kingsize bed was very comfortable with luxurious bedding. We stayed in the Art of Painting room. We would stay here again. Ed and Emily


A Wonderful Getaway

5 on October 19, 2009

Excellent location - close to Woodstock, the Shagwangunks, Mohonk Preserve, Rhinebeck, etc. It’s a short drive to some wonderful local restaurants, such as The Egg's Nest in High Falls. Sam and Nadia were wonderful hosts; friendly, informative and helpful. Breakfast was ample and well prepared. Service was outstanding. Nadia gave us an interesting tour of the house and explained its history. The outdoor temperature was a bit cooler than normal at this time of year, and Sam made sure we were all nice and toasty. The room was comfortable and clean. I found it refreshing that there were no TVs. We would love to visit this B & B again.


Great Eascape!

4.6 on October 08, 2009

Beautifully appointed and very newly renovated old stone home b and b in location central to area attractions. Great hiking trails nearby for all levels. Area has particularly wonderful foliage in autumn. Exceedingly serene surroundings and relaxed atmosphere. Lovely creek out back. Knowledgeable, friendly and considerate hosts. Sinfully scrumptious breakfast. Within a 2 hour drive from NYC!


Perfect place

5 on October 06, 2009

The ads for Hurley Stone House are all true but not enthusiastic enough. I stayed with 2 friends (3 rooms) and we had comfort and delight, a warm atmosphere, great breakfasts and friendly hospitality.


Wonderful!

4.6 on August 23, 2009

I have stayed at other very nice inns in the area but this one is the best. Quiet, comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms. Unpretentious. Great food. The dining room table is small though so pray for good company. I will go back. Good for all seasons.


A step into the past

5 on August 10, 2009

If you want to step into another century, this place is for you. Built in the 1600's, the owners have renovated this place beautifully. Breakfast is awesome!


Great historical B&B

3.4 on August 03, 2009

A very beautiful & interesting historical stone house & 3-course breakfast. The B&B owners are very friendly folks. A nice place to stay.


Very comfortable stay

3.4 on June 26, 2009

We spent one night here last week. The owner Sam, showed us all the rooms (we were the only guests that night) and we decided on the Lacemaker. The room and bed were very comfortable and everything was spotless. The bathroom was spacious with separate claw foot tub and shower. Unfortunately, the bathroom floor "squeaked" with every step and there was also no bathmat provided. These were minor complaints and we brought them to Sam's attention. Breakfast was huge (3 courses) and very delicious. Sam had no problem in serving us almost an hour earlier than normal. We would not hesitate to stay here again.


Nice Stay

3.4 on May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this B&B. The house is 300 years old and has a great deal of history. The rooms were very nice and breakfast was fantastic. The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was a nice feature. Innkeepers were very nice. Hurley is just 15 minutes away from Woodstock. The B&B is new and still being renovated. As a result of the inn being very old, there were a few bugs (nothing major) and the rooms were very warm in the 70/80 degree weather with no fan or air conditioning. Some key features need to be added - tissues, hair dryer, some additional bathroom products. There was also no TV and no cell phone reception if that is important to you, however, there was wireless internet. Drinks and snacks were not readily available as we are accustomed to this at a B&B. All in all a very nice stay - some simple improvements could have made our stay a bit more pleasurable.

Innkeeper Response
Unfortunately, our guests were woken by bugs that got into the fire alarm, causing a single beep every few minutes….Fortunately, we were able to upgrade them to another room. The fly screen had been a design headache due to the nature of our building, but this is now solved. Individually controlled air conditioning is installed in three rooms and will soon be installed in a fourth. Thanks to these constructive comments, we now have tissues, a selection of fans and a hairdryer for each room, and a guest refrigerator in the breakfast room. We try and avoid using bathroom products in small plastic containers, but we also now have hair conditioner as well as the shampoo, soap, and bath/shower gel we provided before. We have always provided bottled spring water and usually home made cookies, but will now provide additional fruit and additional coffee/tea. We have had many favourable comments at the lack of TVs/the peaceful atmosphere here. Although the restoration of this historic building is continuing, it isn’t seen or heard by guests in the finished rooms/common areas unless they request a tour. We take genuine pleasure in meeting the needs and preferences of our guests, and welcome all comments.


my favorite B & B of all time!

5 on March 31, 2009

This B & B is 5 minutes off the NY State Thruway but a world away. It is so easy to access New Paltz, High Falls, Woodstock, Rhinebeck; t is very centrally located.The owners are the best hosts, friendly, but couples that stay also have a sense of privacy. The house is 1 of the oldest in New York; we felt like we flew overseas staying here. Breakfast is divine and we can't wait to return


The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $275
  • Reviews (148) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8453394041

Visit Website »

View details

Top