Marienthal Country Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

Three beautiful rooms and one the size for one person to be comfortable.

4.4 on November 09, 2014

The Artisan Inn had three lovely rooms (as shown in their photos), but we were the unlucky couple to get the forth room, that was so small we could not walk around. The bed was against the wall which made it very difficult to get up during the night to go to the bathroom. The bathroom was spacious but the shower small. I really felt our room should have been discounted. Now with that said, the hosts were WONDERFUL! They were very friendly, extremely helpful and the food was like going to a gourmet restaurant. Louise and Vince went out of their way to make or stay enjoyable. Looking forward to returning next year.

Innkeeper Response
I'm so sorry you were uncomfortable in the Dejavu Room. We actually rearranged the room that evening - took out the dresser and pulled the bed away from the wall. I hope that helps guests in the future. That room is less expensive than the other rooms; you were part of a group reservation so apparently that is something you were not aware of. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can make it up to you in the future!


Wonderful Gem in the Countryside

4.6 on July 21, 2014

The room in the parsonage where we were originally in was the smallest of them, but had a beautiful attached bathroom, TV and was still plenty of room for two people. Lastly, there was a building (which I believed housed nuns originally), that has been converted into a bit of a retreat centre. There were a half-dozen or so double rooms with a full kitchen upstairs, and a large meeting area downstairs with another great kitchen, big screen TV with satellite, and lots of couches. We even had access to a great little jacuzzi in the back. This place is an absolute gem in the middle of nowhere. There’s a little grill next door if you want to grab some food, but otherwise there is almost nothing in the immediate vicinity. You can drive about half an hour if you’re looking for things to do, but if you really want to just get away in peace and quiet, where you know you won’t be disturbed, this is absolutely the place to do it. Location and buildings aside, the hosts are really what makes this place special. Both of them go way out of their way to be accommodating. Louise’s breakfast was very likely the best breakfast I’ve ever had in my life. Homemade apple turnovers, local sausages, and the fluffiest, cottage-cheese pancakes that still make my mouth water. And Vinnie is a very entertaining fellow to talk to – he has absolutely no shortage of hilarious stories to tell. The two of them were great to have as hosts. The next time we need a quiet getaway, there’s zero doubt about where we’ll end up.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review!


Best Get Away Place Around

5 on July 17, 2014

My Wife and I stayed there for our anniversary. Awesome, A must stay. Quiet, clean, and great food. Plan on going back at ten year anniversary too.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you on your tenth anniversary - or maybe sooner!


Superb hospitality!

5 on September 18, 2012

We stayed here twice and we loved the warm hospitality with which Vinny and Louise welcome one and show throughout one's stay. Small details such as bathrobes, make-up remover towelettes, extra shampoos, hairdriers, warm cookies waiting on the sideboard make a huge impression. The breakfasts were varied and excellent. It is a great place for a family reunion or a blissful country getaway!


Hospitality Plus!

5 on April 30, 2012

Our writer's group stayed at the brick house in back for a few days ans we loved it! We got all kinds of work done and Louise and Vinny were super. Louise kept bringing us more and more goodies to munch on while we worked and Vinnie went and got us a pizza for our first night. Their breakfasts are to die for-- Louise cooks like a master chef. We're thinking seriously of making this an annual event because we got so much done and had such a great time.


5+ stars

5 on April 30, 2012

I just returned from a weekend stay at Marienthal and loved every second of it. Louise and Vinnie were some of the nicest people I've ever met. The decor was gorgeous and the food was excellent. Can't praise them enough!


So so peaceful!

5 on April 23, 2012

I'm an author and was looking for someplace to go for a few nights for some quiet time to work on my latest manuscript. I had considered hotels but it just didn't seem relaxing. I looked into some local bed and breakfasts. I didn't want to go far, but I wanted someplace quiet. I came across Marienthal Inn, among others. I chose Marienthal because the rooms looked gorgeous and the price was the best anywhere. And when I got there, I knew within moments that it was the right place for me. Louise and Vinnie were amazing hosts. The food was unbelievable!! And the baked goods Louise had set out during the day were so so tasty! :) I was able to work in peace and quiet in a very comfy chair in the parlor! And before I left, I'd asked for a tour of the Brick house. I belong to two different writer's groups and knew Marienthal would make the perfect setting for a retreat. I'm looking forward to my second stay this coming weekend with my Romance Writers of America chapter :)


This is a gem.

4.8 on October 02, 2011

My fiancee and I have very high expectations aesthetically, and in terms of dining. We like places where attention has been paid to detail, where an effort at originality has sincerely been made, where the environment has its own poetry, relative to the locale. We are open minded about food, but like healthy fare, care given to the mixture of ingredients, attention to detail. Marienthal is clearly a labor of love for the owners. It's lost to the world and yet has tasteful, fun surroundings, details galore, and --most importantly-- some kind of ethos that keeps it together. The food was home-cooked, interesting fare and in abundance from when we arrived until when we left. The room was exceptionally comfortable, a hideaway, and I slept the best night of sleep in months. We feel completely restored. I really can't recommend the place enough. I wish it well and hope it prospers once its wedding hall / reception hall in old St. Mary's church is done .


Relaxing and Excellent Service!

5 on July 09, 2011

Thanks to Louise and Vinnie for an excellent stay. They went out of their way to accomodate us, and gave us everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Although we only stayed for 1 night, we could have easily stayed here longer if needed. Definately coming back!


This Inn is perfect in every way: comfort, charm, welcome.

5 on May 12, 2011

Stayed one night as part of a week-long painting workshop and enjoyed the quiet, country atmosphere and elegant surroundings as prelude for the next day's painting.


Artistically Eclectic!!

5 on February 05, 2011

February 2011: Marienthal was a surprisingly, aesthetically-pleasing experience!! Every room, hallway and nook was uniquely designed with attractive color and furnishings. There is a room for every personality and taste. I'm a "color" person, so I absolutely loved the contrasting, vibrantly painted rooms. Stylish furnishings made for a cool and comfortable ambiance. Each room has its own sink, and the beds and pillows were comfortable.!! Louise has far too much talent for one woman!! Vinny and Louise changed my mind on B & Bs. They were warm, funny and friendly!! Their presence was welcomed, and they never seemed intrusive...more like a part of our group. I came home relaxed and inspired to paint. You must go and see it for yourself.


Anniversary memories

5 on October 04, 2010

Unbelievable hospitality. Louise and Vinnie make you feel like family but treat you like Royalty. From the fresh baked cake at our arrival to the fabulous breakfast each morning Louise's culinary skills and passion for excellence show in everything she does for her guests. They made our 41st anniversary one that we will never forget. We are from Louisiana but wish we were closer to the Marienthal Country Inn so we could visit it often. Thank you Louise & Vincent. Don & Fl0


Very comfortable and relaxing B & B

5 on March 30, 2010

The girls getaway is great! Rooms have single beds and plenty of space. Everything was above our expectations. 2 floors so girls can pick a quiet time or a social time throughout their stay. Owners go out of their way to insure you have all that is needed for an enjoyable stay.


Wonderful rooms & welcoming hosts

4.6 on November 02, 2009

Louise & Vinnie have done a magnificent job turning a country church property into a lovely B&B retreat. The rooms are all unique, with lovely accents. We stayed in the Medallion Room. The bed was heavenly, and the huge bath with jacuzzi tub was so relaxing. The breakfast was delicious, and we thoroughly enjoyed the conversation with Louise & Vinnie. We felt so at home, yet very pampered. We will definitely return.


AWESOME!!

5 on September 26, 2009

I recently stayed overnite at Mareinthal after a Watercolor Workshop there with a famous watercolor Artist...It was fabulous. The hosts are wonderful people, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was abosolutely delicious!! Plans to go back in the future.....


Exceeded our expectations!

5 on August 05, 2009

My extended family of 8 recently stayed in the Brick House and it was beyond our expectations!FANTASTIC food, fresh fruit and baked goods all hours of the day, quiet relaxing atmosphere from two of the best innkeepers around. Rooms that could be in Better Homes and Gardens! These folks know how to do it right! I couldn't imagine a finer experience. Now we are looking for a reason to return to the area just to experience Marienthal again. Thank you Vinnie and Louise. Gary P


wonderful getaway

5 on July 29, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marienthal Inn with another couple for a two night getaway. We absolutely loved it. Its beautifully and creatively decorated, every bedroom and bathroom unique. Fabulous food and wonderful friendly hospitality in a beautiful country setting. We are looking forward to another weekend retreat there in the Fall.


We loved it!

5 on February 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Marienthal inn for Valentine's day. It was wonderful. This was our first b&b stay and we weren't sure what was in store for us. The inn is clean and beautiful. The owners decore and attention to detail reveal their passion for this inn. Louise and her husband are freindly and inviting and made us completely at home. The surrounding country side is beautiful. I would highly recommend a stay or two at Marienthal Country Inn.


Marienthal Country Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $149
  • Reviews (18) 4.9
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7163370160
  • Toll free 1-0000000000

Visit Website »

View details

Top