1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
144 Reviews

Write A Review

Awesome 1st Time

5 on November 09, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Starkey House B&B. Room was great and breakfast was fantastic. Starkey house is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the Finger Lakes. Located right off the Seneca Wine Trail and close to Keuka Lake. Cathy is an awesome host. Allison and Patrick from Harrisburg, PA are looking forward to another atay at the Starkey House ! Thank you Cathy for a great B&B experience. Allison and Patrick.


Wonderful Weekemd!

4.0 on October 29, 2014

We stayed at 1922 Starkey House the second weekend of October in the Veranda Room. The deck with views of the lake was a great spot for a morning coffee. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were delicious, and the owner/hostess Cathy was extremely kind and helpful. If you are looking for a relaxing way to spend a weekend exploring the Finger Lakes, we would definitely recommend 1922 Starkey House. Jim and Courtney


We loved the 1922 Starkey House B & B!

5 on October 20, 2014

Our stay at 1922 Starkey House was really great--very comfortable! The breakfasts were delicious and Cathy is very knowledgable about the area. She made a few suggestions about wine tours and dinner, and they turned out to be excellent choices. If and when we come back to the Finger Lakes Region, we look forward to staying at the1922 Starkey House B & B!


Phenomenal breakfast

5 on October 15, 2014

Wonderful accommodations, very cozy and extremely clean. Cathy was a great host and even let us check in a little early when we needed to. Breakfast was incredible - home cooked with the best ingredients. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had. If you're in the area to check out the wineries, this is the perfect place to stay.


Perfect B&B experience

5 on September 22, 2014

This beautiful arts and crafts house felt like home. We had everything we needed, great tips and advice for our visit to the region and breakfast was delish!


Great place to stay

4.8 on September 14, 2014

Clean rooms, great service, friendly attitude and atmosphere. The only drawback of the inn was that the omlette was a little greasy. But that was more because of the real cheddar cheese used to make it instead of fake processed cheese. Everything was delicious if a little non-inventive.


We loved being there! Beautiful house!

4.6 on August 30, 2014

Our trip was the best one I've had in a long time, and staying at Starkey House B&B was a real treasure and part of that special time! We had a great visit, were really happy to share our reunion time together with two rooms and balcony and loved seeing the train go by from the balcony. Cathy Moskal was very helpful and hospitable in providing suggestions for getting around the area, not to mention the amazing breakfast choices! It's a beautiful peaceful gracious house--a pleasure to visit there.


1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 14, 2014

Our experience at the 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast was truly relaxing and wonderful! The breakfasts were scrumptious and filling and the accommodations were extremely comfortable and clean. The view of Seneca Lake from the outside porches was a real treat! The Innkeeper (Cathy) is warm and very friendly and very tuned in to our dietary needs. I most highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast! I look forward to returning in the future!


Honeymoon on Seneca

5 on July 28, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at the Starkey House. This was our first B&B experience and were pleasantly surprised. Cathy offers clean, home-like rooms that put you at ease after a long day on the wine trail or hiking the Watkins Glen gorge. Our favorite part was the delicious breakfast provided each morning as well as the quiet evenings spent sitting on the porch and talking to other guests. We will definitely be visiting again soon and would recommend this B&B to all.


Wonder B&B Experience

5 on July 27, 2014

We stayed last weekend and had a wonderful time. Cathy is so friendly, charming & accommodating. She went above and beyond to take care of our vegetarian/vegan needs. She is very knowledgeable about the home and the area. The rooms are spotless, quiet & very comfortable. We highly recommend her establishment and can't wait to go back.


Great B&B

4.2 on June 03, 2014

My husband and I had a rare chance to get away for a weekend for our anniversary. We had only stayed at B&Bs twice before. This B&B is excellent, as it is very close to many activities in the Finger Lakes area. It's located on a quiet street, which was very relaxing. Our hostess was very friendly, helpful, and the breakfast each morning was fresh, plentiful and delicious! Very nice accomodations as well.


Live like in home

4.0 on May 22, 2014

Very good environment and nice lady serve us. I'd like to live there again.


Wonderful Hostess and Beautiful Part of the Finger Lakes

4.4 on May 04, 2014

My husband and I recently visited the area, and spent one night at the Starkey House. Cathy is a delight and has done a nice job with the Inn. Breakfast was wonderful! Thank you.


Lovely Experience

4.6 on April 27, 2014

Our first bed and breakfast experience was an excellent one! The house is very clean and comfortable and the host Cathy very hospitable. The house is in a perfect location for visiting wineries on Seneca Lake. We enjoyed the absolutely delicious breakfasts and afternoon snacks - everything homemade and featuring herbs from the garden. Cathy is a fabulous cook! We will definitely return on our next trip to the Finger Lakes!


Awesome Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on April 23, 2014

It is very obvious that providing good wholesome food and a comfortable place to stay is a passion and a calling for Cathy. She shops for the freshest, healthiest ingredients and cooks one of the best breakfast I have every enjoyed and I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs. The B&B setting is a very quiet rural enviornment that is ideal for rest and relaxation as well as being centrally located for all of the Finger Lake attractions. If you don't take advantage of the chance to stay here, you will miss out on a rare opportunity for a 1st rate B&B experience. My wife and I were extremely happy we stayed here.


Finger Lakes Hospitality

4.6 on February 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the 1922 Starkey House B&B. The house was warm and inviting on this cold winter weekend. Cathy was the perfect hostess, welcoming us with open arms, making us feel right at home, and offering great suggestions for local dining. Breakfast was locally-sourced, healthy, homemade, and delicious. We'll definitely be back this summer.


Food was wonderful, room was wonderful

5 on February 10, 2014

We had a great weekend, woke up every morning to the wonderful smell of breakfast that we didn't even have to cook


wine weekend

5 on December 22, 2013

we stayed here for the first time the first weekend in December. The inn is beautiful, the food was incredible and the owner was very helpful and personable. We have stayed at many B&B's and will definitely come back to the Starkey House!


loved every minute

4.0 on November 30, 2013

We came in the off-season and loved every minute.


Great first time B&B experience

4.4 on November 13, 2013

We went up to the Finger Lakes for the weekend and picked out Starkey House because of its convenient location to our planned activities. Cathy was welcoming and handled our late arrival with ease. The breakfasts were delicious. Nice touch was an evening snack (apple pie and zucchini bread) left by the tea and coffee. I have already recommended it to friends who are thinking of spending a weekend in the area.


Great experience

4.6 on November 01, 2013

My wife and I spent a long weekend last week at Cathy's beautiful B&B. The location was great, the house was beautiful and there isn't a better host than Cathy. My wife being vegan was not an issue and Cathy prepared delicious home made vegan breakfast each day. I felt like family staying there. Great experience.


Great place!

3.8 on October 30, 2013

Rooms were nice and breakfast was outstanding!


1922 Starkey House is the best!!!

5 on October 30, 2013

Michael Quinn


Wonderful experience

5 on October 29, 2013

Cathy was a fantastic hostess. We spent 5 nights at Starkey House . . . our room, the wonderful breakfasts, and outstanding hospitality and service couldn’t have been better. We were in the area to photograph waterfalls and fall colors and Cathy went above and beyond for us. She put together a list of local places she thought would be of photographic interest and even made an introductory phone call to one. In addition to the wonderful breakfasts – which she served earlier than normal to work with our morning shooting schedule – she made us a fabulous dinner on our last evening with her. We’re very happy to recommend Cathy and Starkey House to anyone visiting the Finger Lakes region!


Excellent B&B

4.2 on October 28, 2013

Cathy was an excellent host. We had a great experience at Starkey House and would recommend it to friends. We hope to return. Bob and Amy Graf York, PA


Peace and Quite in the Finger Lakes

5 on October 28, 2013

Owner was wonderful with many suggestions for meals and wineries. Gave us coupons for free wine tastings. Altered our breakfasts at the Inn since we did not eat any pork products. Room was well appointed and quite. Took a long walk one morning to breathe the fresh air and see the dairy farms near by. Don't hesitate to stay here.


Great B&B in Finger Lakes, NY

5 on October 25, 2013

Clean and spotless, the service was extraordinary! Truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area


A wonderful get-away

4.8 on October 22, 2013

This bed and breakfast is on a beautiful part of the lake. It is perfect for long walks and for jogging. It is convenient to the wineries and great restaurants and to hiking. The Inn is cozy and inviting. The rooms are lovely and the bathrooms are great. Our hostess was warm and welcoming and a wonderful chef. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and would return again.


Friendly inn

3.6 on October 17, 2013

Nice B&B. Room was very clean. Shower was difficult to control. The owner was friendly, helpful and accommadating.


A Wonderful Experience

5 on October 15, 2013

Peaceful and relaxing - very comfortable and the food was great. Cathy was very knowledgable and helpful regarding the surrounding area. We had a woderful experience and would repeat our visit.


Womderful visit

4.4 on October 07, 2013

Rooms neat and clean. Breakfast was wonderful with local foods. Cathy was very pleasant and able to answer our questions about places to visit.


1922 Starkey House

5 on October 07, 2013

We stayed two nights in 10/2013. Cathy was a great hostess, bedroom and bath (separate rooms) were large, clean well equipped, and comfortable. Breakfasts excellent. A quiet country B&B - very enjoyable


Seneca Lake view

4.2 on September 28, 2013

Cathy, the B&B owner, was gracious, extremely helpful with recommendations for dining, sights to see, wineries to visit and the history of the area. Each breakfast was plentiful using local, organic and healthy ingredients, and presented beautifully. Good location for exploring.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to write a review here. I am grateful for your comments and always strive to do the best I can to make my guests' stays outstanding. My goal is perfection, so perhaps the next time you are here the house and I will rate a 5 for BB.com standards in all areas. Will love to see you again! Sincerely, Cathy


wine country weekend

4.4 on September 26, 2013

The 2 breakfasts were out of this world; very fresh, all homemade,tasty as well as a great presentation. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. I certainly would stay at Starkey House again.

Innkeeper Response
Returning guests that are satisfied from a first-time stay pay the highest compliment by coming back. I enjoy every guest and always hope to see them again. Please do come again! The Starkey House always has something new to offer each season, to add to your comfort. Until then, Cathy!


Beautiful B&B near Finger Lake Wine Trails

5 on September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the 1922 Starkey House. The house is beautiful and the view from the Veranda Suite overlooks Lake Seneca. The breakfasts were amazing and made with all local ingredients. Cathy was a wonderful hostess who always made sure we had what we needed. We would recommend this B&B to any visitor to Lake Seneca and the surrounding area. We plan to stay again soon.

Innkeeper Response
I appreciate your review and kind words. Running a bed and breakfast is not easy when you strive to do it right, with customer satisfaction the highest priority. It tickles me when my guests express that they have experienced what I am working so hard to provide. Thank you from my heart! Cathy


Finger Lakes 1922 Starkey House B&B

4.4 on September 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay, with personal attention and all the little extras you want from a B&B.


Great Hospitality!

5 on September 17, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at the Starkey house! Hostess was very hospitable, offering afternoon snacks and beverages during the afternoon as well as gourmet breakfasts each morning featuring local produce and meats! Breakfast dish was conveniently written out the day before in case you had any special requests or if your like me, infatuated with food and like to know. Even though there was 8 other people staying at the house, we felt as if we had it all to ourselves- only seeing the other b/bers at breakfast. Beds and pillows were super comfy and I loved the way the towels smelled, like they were hung on the line but were soft! A very cozy and quaint place to stay!


A Very Pleasant Stay

5 on September 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights and found this B&B to be very nicely situated with easy access to many points of interest around Lakes Seneca and Keuka, not to mention Watkins Glen, Geneva and the wine trails. Cathy the owner was very accommodating and she keeps a very clean and comfortable house. Next time we're in the area we'll definitely check to see if rooms are available here.


Great place to stay!

4.8 on September 10, 2013

Although our stay was cut short, the time we spent there we felt right at home. Not far from the lake and had beautiful views from the private balcony. Cathy was not only an great hostess, but a great cook as well. Great place to just relax and enjoy scenery.


great mission get away

5 on September 07, 2013

We enjoyed this wonderful mission-styled inn with all the original architectural features remaining. The breakfast was high quality, rooms were neat and tidy. The inn keeper makes this a wonderful place to stay in the Finger Lakes area.

Innkeeper Response
I am always happy to hear when guests appreciate the architecture of the house as much as I do. I consider myself "a keeper of the house" by preserving as much of its authenticity as possible. Thanks for your lovely review and comments and I do hope to see you again! Cathy


Lovely setting..Wonderful Breakfast..Frienfly Hostess

4.6 on September 05, 2013

We highly recommend this B&B in New York wine country area. Excellent full breakfasts. Enjoyed strawberry crepes on the last morning of our three night stay. Pretty scenery including Seneca Lake.


Starkey House

4.6 on August 31, 2013

Nice quiet location not far from Watkins Glen and surrounded by the local vineyards and breweries. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, with free Wi-Fi. The owner is very friendly and makes a fantastic breakfast from local produce that will keep you going until dinner time. Wonderful.


delightful B and B

4.0 on August 28, 2013

The hosts were generous, warm and inviting, the room was way better than it looked in the picture :) , comfortable bed, big bathroom.. And the b-fasts were fabulous - local, organic, and gluten free for us.


An Excellent Choice!

5 on August 28, 2013

Cathy is absolutely delightful and serves hearty breakfasts -- no need to stop for lunch. :-) She provides fresh baked treats to enjoy in the evening and be sure to request her double baked brownies that have delightfuly soft chocolate pockets with every bite! Cathy provides wine glasses for those who like to enjoy wine bought at local wineries. We enjoyed morning walks after breakfast that include a farm with horses and a singing rooster along with perfect views of Seneca Lake and relaxing times on the front porch. Cathy is very knowledgeable about the area and shares wonderful tidbits and the best places to see.

Innkeeper Response
My pleasure. Thank you for your extensive description of my services the house and the region. I cannot say enough except that I do hope we will meet again! Cathy


Our stay in the Finger Lakes

3.0 on August 28, 2013

Hospitality was ok. Much more could have been done. House was very dusty.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry to hear that your experience here at was not as I would have wanted. Please contact me directly to let me know what could have been different, what room you stayed in and the exact dates. I am always open to suggestions. Thanks again for staying at 1922 Starkey House.


Starkey House

4.2 on August 27, 2013

Bibbs and Bear, were wonderful. They greeted us as we arrived. Amazing Chestnut woodwork all through the house. We were within short driving distance of everything in the area, from Cayuga Lake to Lake Ontario. Excellent food, excellent accomadations...highly recommended.


Enjoyable stay

3.6 on August 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Cathy was very accommodating and helpful.


Charming Finger Lakes Get-a-way

4.0 on August 18, 2013

Very nice BandB! Very accommodating, clean, and quiet. Wonderful breakfasts with local ingredients. Would recommend.


Great weekend getaway.

5 on August 18, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay. Clean, cozy, and friendly environment. You felt welcomed. Breakfast was outstanding. Great location. I would highly recommend this place.


Wonderful Stay in the Finger Lakes

4.6 on August 13, 2013

Lovely rooms, great combination of original décor with modern conveniences. Delicious breakfasts and loved the afternoon snack and coffee!!!


Can't wait to go back.

4.0 on August 12, 2013

I found 1922 Starkey House to be cozy, warm and very welcoming. As it stands now I will probably go back for a stay next Spring.

Innkeeper Response
I look forward to your return! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. There is always something "better" at the Starkey House from season to season.


Trip to Winerys

4.8 on August 11, 2013

This was our first stay at a B & B and we found it to be very nice. Our room was beautiful and opened onto the 2nd floor veranda with an awesome view of Seneca Lake. The bathroom was a nice size, but the corner shower was a little small for my liking. Our breakfasts were wonderful made with fresh vegetables and fruits. We would definitely stay again.


Incredible!

5 on August 11, 2013

Most wonderful place we have ever stayed at. Food was homemade from local farmers and the room was cozy and beautifully decorated. We can't wait to come back! I cannot believe all that Kathy offers for meals and afternoon snacks. The dining experience was exquisite. Better than any restaurant around there.

Innkeeper Response
Outstanding is what I strive for here, and thanks for your review. I look forward to hosting you again and will do everything to assure that you will have the same "incredible" experience when you return!


First Seneca Lake experience

4.2 on August 10, 2013

Starkey Inn is conveniently located to lake and village activities. Cathy, the Inn Keeper and Owner, was well informed on a variety of topics such as restaurants, wineries, farmers' markets and overall local attractions. Overall a relaxing and worthwhile experience.


Starkey House

3.0 on August 09, 2013

We feel that the rate ($150.00 plus ridiculous additional taxes) a night for the tiny Catalpa Room was too high for the value.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry you were not satisfied with the cost of the room and our taxes here. Our rates here are actually on the mid to lower side compared to other inns and bb's in the region, especially along Seneca Lake and wine trail locations. The Catalpa room actually measures 11 ft. by 12 ft. which is an average size bedroom, and has a walk-in closet. A queen bed fits nicely as well as a dresser, table and two chairs. It is one of the rooms at the Starkey House that you have views of Seneca Lake and morning sunrises.


A Wonderful Place

4.4 on August 05, 2013

The house is beautiful and in a great location - lots of things to do in the area. Cathy (innkeeper) cooks an incredible breakfast using fresh and local ingredients. The weather cooled off so we had a nice breeze and didn't need to use a/c. Will stay again!


peaceful charm

4.2 on July 26, 2013

wonderful porch, beautiful grounds, generous afternoon snacks, helpful advice on area history and attractions, nice bedroom view of sunrise over the lake


Great b&b

5 on July 26, 2013

Great B&B , clean,quite a great place to stay , highly recommend the Starkey House.


Had a great time!

4.4 on July 25, 2013

Excellent food, service, and very friendly staff. Would definitely go back again!


1922 Starkey House

5 on July 19, 2013

Great food. Comfortable furnishings. Perfect location. Thank you Starkey House!


Peaceful and Restful.

4.0 on July 17, 2013

We found this B and B to be just perfect for our needs this weekend. It was a very easy drive to several wineries , the harbor, town, and the Watkins Glen Falls. We found Starkey House so restful in between our trips and looked forward to relaxing there each day. Breakfast is wonderfully prepared fresh and thoughtful. We plan to stay here again next summer.


Excellent place to stay

5 on July 17, 2013

So close to the wineries. Excellent food and hospitality. Would definitely recommend staying here to friends.


We love the Starkey House!

5 on July 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at 1922 Starkey House near Seneca Lake. The owner, Cathy, was dedicated to her guests' comfort & happiness. She graciously accommodated food allergies & her homemade breakfasts were delicious. The historic home is lovely and well kept, & as a native of the area Cathy has a lot of information about the area. The location is ideal - a few miles removed from the center of Seneca Lake activity in Watkins Glen, yet close enough to be there in minutes, approximately 30 minutes to Hammondsport on Keuka Lake, 40 minutes to the Glass Museum in Corning, and has great access to several nearby vineyards. We highly recommend 1922 Starkey House!


Tastefully Decorated; Wonderful Location and Meals

4.8 on July 08, 2013

We cannot say enough about our recent four-night stay at 1922 Starkey House. The house itself is very charming and very tastefully decorated. Our room, the Robin's Nest, gave us an extra room to stretch out and access to the second story wrap-around porch. This B n B is very centrally located in the Finger Lakes region to the many wonderful lakes and interesting towns in the area. We brought our mini-sailing kayak and had some great sails on Lake Keuka, Skinneapolis and Canadayaga. We also did some bike riding and hiked the beautiful Watkins Glen Gorge trail seeing many waterfalls. We cannot talk about 1922 Starkey House without highlighting the efforts of Cathy, our host. We have rarely come across a B n B host more charming and better suited to host a B n B than Cathy. A native of the area, Cathy knew not just the basics about the area but also had many suggestions and insights of activities and sites not shown in local literature. All breakfasts were served on the lovely front porch (which always seemed to have a soft breeze flowing through) and prepared with the freshest of local products (eggs, cheese, strawberries, and spices) and were extraordinary. The 4:00 p.m. snacks were also a nice touch. We strongly recommend this B n B


Great B&B

4.0 on June 28, 2013

The 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn is tucked away from the main tourist area, and a wonderful place to rest and relax. Our room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. We so enjoyed eating Cathy's wonderful breakfasts, while sitting on the huge porch that wraps around the house. We enjoyed hearing birds singing while we dined. Cathy was also very helpful with information about what to see in the area and the best way to get where we wanted to go. We would highly recommend this B&B to everyone.


Awesome experience

5 on June 25, 2013

This was a first experience for my husband and myself at a bed and breakfast. It was absolutely awesome. Everything was clean and fresh from the front porch to the towels. The food Cathy prepared was excellent and her kindness and hospitality was exceptional.


Great place to stay!

4.2 on June 20, 2013

Cathy was very hospitable and provided a great experience. I would not hesitate to reccommend ths B&B.


Wonderful Stay! Highly Recommend

4.8 on June 18, 2013

I would highly recommend a stay at the Starkey House if you are planning a trip to Seneca Lake. Cathy is welcoming and is eager to help make your trip the best it can be. She offered us great advice and it only enhanced our trip. I also like the location of the inn. It was about half way up on the west side of the lake and has a beautiful view of the lake. It is also a great spot if you decide to travel to some of the other lakes in the area.


First time at the 1922

4.6 on June 05, 2013

Cathy made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The Veranda Room was large, and we enjoyed several mornings watching the sun rise over the lake from our private open porch. Breakfast was beautiful and delicious. We certainly will visit again.


Great personal service

4.2 on May 24, 2013

My husband and I chose the 1922 Starkey Hotel for our first Bed and Breakfast experience, and we were pleasantly surprised. We ended up being the only guests there after a cancellation and I could tell Cathy's hospitality didn't change. She made us fresh cookies when we arrived, set out apples and cheese, and made sure we had information on the area. The breakfasts were out of this world- all food was fresh, local, and organic, oh and absolutely delicious. The owner is attentive to your needs but respectful of your privacy. I would return for sure.


Cozy B&B

5 on March 21, 2013

We had a very delightful stay here! Cathy is very sweet and accommodating, and her food is delicious!!


lovely stay, outstanding breakfast

4.8 on March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at 1922 Starkey House. Our room was very cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was the best we've had in years. Cathy (our host) was very knowledgeable about the area, and was very friendly and accommodating. It was nice visiting during the off-season. We had the house to ourselves, and none of the places we went were crowded. Our favorite part of the stay was definitely the food. She had very tasty snacks laid out as soon as we arrived, and the breakfast - the breakfast! It was so delicious and wholesome. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely be going back to Starkey House.


Country Elegance Felt like Home

5 on February 05, 2013

Great value because of the attention to detail, cleanliness, delicious, fresh breakfasts and warm hosting.


Mid-Winter Wine and Solace

4.2 on January 23, 2013

I was delighted to find the Starkey House available for a recent Wine and Food Event along Seneca Lake. Cathy, the inn keeper, was very pleasant and warmly welcomed us with some freshly bakes sweet bread (excellent!) . The house was well appointed and comfortable. It's location in the middle of the West side wine trail was perfect. It has only been open for about 18 months, and is a work in progress. Cathy has great plans to make it even better over the next several years, and when you hear her vision, you can see it's full potential and glory. We really enjoyed our stay and Cathy's hospitality! Steve K.


Starkey House

4.6 on November 07, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at the Finger Lakes. Our room was very cozy and comfortable. The breakfasts Cathy made were delicious. We will definately be returning!!!


Perfect getaway weekend!

4.6 on November 05, 2012

Cathy made us feel so comfortable at this beautiful B + B. She was very welcoming from the start, made us feel as if her place was ours, and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and calm atmosphere she provided. Her cooking was absolutely outstanding as well! - even catering to my girlfriend who is a vegetarian. I would absolutely 100% recommend the Starkey House to anyone who was looking to visit the area, as it is also centrally located and well-priced for the value. We had an amazing weekend and we will stay there again no doubt!


What a wonderful Place to Stay

5 on October 28, 2012

Kathy is a wonderful, and knowledgeable host. We had a snack waiting for us upon our arrival and a terrific breakfast of blueberry crepes and crisp bacon one morning and a delicious ommlet with fresh veggies and hand cut potatoes the other morning. We stayed in the first floor La Chambre with it's own private bath and no stairs to climb. It was exactly as described and the TV was equipped with satellite reception. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B and would stay there again. She had wifi so we could keep in contact with the outside world. The central location is close to all the wineries for wine tasting around both Keuga and Seneca lakes. Ask Kathy about her rock band lead singer carreer, She grew up in the area and picked grapes with many of the current owners of the vineyards.


Gracious hostess, excellent breakfasts

4.2 on October 11, 2012

Our room was well appointed and clean. The only things missing were plastic cups for the bathroom, and these were promptly supplied when asked for. Cathy Moskal was a gracious hostess with a wealth of information about the Finger Lakes area. The breakfasts were outstanding both mornings of our stay. Strongly recommended!


A Delightful Stay and B n B Experience!

4.6 on October 08, 2012

It has been a few years since we've stayed at a BnB and this was the perfect place to stay. Cathy is a gracious hostess and an amazing cook! Breakfast every day was scrumptious and made from fresh, and local ingredients. Our room was clean and comfortable and each day we were made to feel at home while sitting in the living room enjoying tea or coffee while we sat and did some reading. All around a wonderful stay.


Fantastic Breakfast

4.0 on October 06, 2012

Rooms were comfortable. Had a view of Seneca Lake, and morning sunrise. Good location. Owner was very knowledgeable of the area


OUTSTANDING STAY

5 on October 05, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn. EVERYTHING, from the room, to the service, to the food, was customized and outstanding. We highly recommend Cathy and her B&B.


Great food!

3.4 on October 04, 2012

Cathy was very considerate and catered to my dietary restrictions of Gluten Free. She is an amazing cook! The meals were delicious. Comfortable stay and centrally located.


A welcome home :)

3.6 on October 03, 2012

I very much enjoyed my three nights at the 1922 Starkey House. It felt like home but I didn't have to do anything!!!! Cathy was very helpful in helping us navigate the area and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived.


Hostess with the Mostest

4.6 on September 27, 2012

Wonderful old country house! Lots of wooden finish. Food was excellent and our hostess was wonderful. Highly recommend staying there!


Quiet and peaceful.

3.4 on September 26, 2012

Room and grounds were not as nice as I expected for the price. Everything was clean and comfortable, the room was just a little more worn (but then again it's an old house!). Breakfast was tasty. I enjoyed being able to sit out on the porch. Service was good.


Wonderful Weekend at 1922 Starkey Houses B&B

4.8 on September 19, 2012

What a wonderful weekend stay. Although it was a first tiime for my wife and I at a B&B we were extremely pleased. Very clean and neat bedrooms and private baths. Excellent all fresh, local breakfast foods (homemade blueberry sauce on the pancakes, fresh grapes and tomatoes to mention a few), coffee, tea & juice waiting for us in the morning. All enjoyed on the very large wooden wrap-around porch outside as the weather also cooperated nicely. Cathy was accessable at all times if needed and was sure to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Following her requested recomendation for a local eatery in Himrod on Friday night set the stage for the rest of the weekend. We highly recommend 1922 Starkey House B&B!


Finger Lakes getaway

4.4 on September 17, 2012

Breakfast on the porch with the other guests was a highlight. Cathy arranged an impromptu gathering one evening for us to toast a young couple who were celebrating their first wedding anniversary - great idea! Location is good for exploring the Finger Lakes. Recommended.


Perfect Location!

4.8 on September 02, 2012

This was my first trip to the Finger Lakes region and I was amazed by the beauty! Cathy was a wonderful hostess and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants. Food was fantastic, omelets with fresh herbs and vegetables from her garden, french toast, fresh fruit, delicious breads and a large selection of teas. The weather was great and the front porch was a beautiful and relaxing spot for breakfast. I loved Watkins Glen State Park! Gorgeous waterfalls...hope to come back and have more time to explore!


Proud Ownership

4.0 on August 29, 2012

Cathy, the owner was very proud of her establishment for being in business a short time she has made this a wonderful place to stay and the food was fresh and delicious


A Great Place for Seneca Lake Wine Tours

4.6 on August 27, 2012

Convenient to many great wineries, especially Glenora and Fox Run. Also easily accessible to Watkins Glen and Corning Glass Museum. The whole Finger Lakes area is beautiful!


Scenic Art & Crafts B&B

4.8 on August 22, 2012

We drove to New York for our anniversary. After wine tasting, we had a relaxing stay at Cathy's B&B. Breakfast was an extravaganza! She really outdid herself preparing pancakes with FRESH blueberries, eggs with herbs from her garden and fresh fruit. We ate on the porch and had a view of the lake. She is a "local" and gave us hints about exploring the waterfalls in Watkins Glen State Park which was only 15 minutes away. If you are going to Seneca Lake, Watkins Glen or even Ithaca, this is the place to stay! Ellyn & Frank


Well Worth the Visit

3.8 on August 22, 2012

Our group of 9 completely filled the 5 rooms of this lovely place. We had found it online so had no personal reference to recommend it. But, Cathy Moskal was quick to respond to my email queries and was efficient in booking our group. All of the rooms were unique and special. Each has its own bathroom and all have been updated with recent renovations. Beds are comfortable and the peace and quiet lulls you to sleep. The house is in view of the lake and above it is rolling hills of farmland and cows. But, one of the most compelling reasons to stay is Cathy's excellent hospitality and cooking! As we gathered the first night to figure out where to dine, Cathy brought us chips, salsa and popcorn! What a treat. The next day when we returned from wine touring, Cathy brought us a deliciously refreshing tossed salad. Coffee was ready for us by 7:00 each morning and we sipped it on the top veranda overlooking views of the lake. We requested breakfast all together at 8:00 and the weather was nice enough to have breakfast on the downstairs porch. We had omelets one morning and blueberry pancakes the next. Cathy prepares food that is locally grown as much as possible, and it is all delicious! I would highly recommend a visit to the Starkey House where you will feel at home and be very happy with the service and quality of dining.


Very enjoyable stay

4.8 on August 21, 2012

Wonderful hospitality, breakfast was wonderful view from the Veranda Room was fantastic I will definately recommend the Starkey house to friends and family!


Delightful Stay

3.8 on August 18, 2012

Cathy is very knowledgeable about the area & was very helpful directing us. Her breakfasts are amazing - fresh & delicious! We stayed in the Robins Nest & really enjoyed the upstairs porch. Good location.


It's ok.

2.6 on August 12, 2012

Food was excellent, service okay, disappointed that we did not receive clean towels, bed made, or room straightened up upon return on our 2nd day. Owner explained that is a "privacy" issue, a policy we never experienced before.

Innkeeper Response
I appreciate your review. Do to a drought situation in our region I have asked guests to hang their towels in order to use less water during this hopefully short period. I usually inform all guests that their stay should feel "like home" and that I will provide all the services you were expecting if they would like. Usually when given the choice most guests respond that they would like to have their rooms remain untouched and they will inform me about the need for extra towels, etc. I could see how this may not have been communicated to you properly upon your arrival since you were here at the same time as two other couples and you may have missed my welcome presentation. Perhaps I will create a better way to ask about the straightening of the room. Thanks, sincerely and I am happy that you enjoyed the food and other guests.


Great Location

4.8 on August 10, 2012

The 1922 Dundee Starkey House is in a geat location. There are dozens of wineries in close driving distance. Cathy is a lovely host. She provided us with a fabulous breakfast each day. Make sure you leave time to visit the Watkins Glen State Park.


Lovely Place to Stay

4.8 on August 10, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Cathy was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The breakfast's were delicious! We especially enjoyed our room which had access to the upper porch where we could start and end our day with a view of Lake Seneca. The location is ideal and very central to all we visited while staying in Dundee. We will definitely return!


August weekend

4.0 on August 10, 2012

The innkeeper is very friendly and knowledgeable about the Inn and the surrounding area. Our room was fine, but the bath was next door, and needed a privacy curtain in the hall to let us go from room to room unseen by other guests who might be in the hall. She assured us that she will implement this suggestion, so when we return in a couple of years, I'm sure the curtain will be there. Dining in the Finger Lakes region was only fair, we thought. But we only ate three dinners and two lunches, so there are lots of places we haven't tried yet.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I take all suggestions made by my guests seriously. The curtain or some other solution is being put up as I write this. The Catalpa Room is the only room at 1922 Starkey House that has it's bath two steps outside the door at the end of the L-shaped hall. It is a private bath, dedicated to that room's guests only. I have purchased robes and will implement the curtain. I hope that my breakfasts were better than most and better than your other dining experiences while visiting here. Hope to see you again and perhaps you might consider a room with lake view and private porch area.


7/18/2012

5 on July 29, 2012

Centrally located. Cathy the innkeeper was extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave us great dining suggestions. Breakfasts were all delicous and abundant. Thank you, Cathy!


Weekend in the Finger Lakes

3.8 on July 27, 2012

The location was an excellent spot to be able to day trip easily to a number of area interesting locations. The breakfasts were delicious and hearty and the hostess was gracious and very knowledgeable about the area and the activities going on--she made great recommendations.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks sincerely for your kind review. I take pleasure in seeing that my guests fully enjoy their stay here and a large part of that is helping them find good places to go for food, entertainment, outdoor fun, etc. Thanks for taking my suggestions and I am glad it all worked out for you! Looking forward to seeing you again.


Great Location

3.2 on July 25, 2012

Home is very charming and Cathy was very welcoming. The landscaping definitely needs some love and maintenance to see the true charm of the home and truely enjoy the beautiful veranda.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at 1922 Starkey House. I hope that you enjoyed all the beautiful views here in the Finger Lakes Region. Due to a drought situation this season, we have all had a difficult time with our landscaping. Most plantings I put in during the spring died and I could not mow the lawn for over a month. There has been a tremendous amount of progress made on my two acres over the past two years, even in spite of some nasty spring storms the trees, vegetables, flowers, and I have survived. Perhaps next season we will have better luck and will have some help from Mother Nature.


Comfortable Lodging

3.0 on July 23, 2012

A comfortable place to stay but, having been to many B & B's over the years, nothing special. The TV in the room was tiny, too small to watch from the bed. Upgrade it or get rid of it entirely. A/C unit was noisy. Lake views were pretty distant.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for staying at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn. I respect your opinion on your room air conditioner and the size of the TV. I will be upgrading the TV to a standard size. Being that the room dimensions are 13' x 13' a super-sized TV would not be appropriate. I routinely ask my guests daily and during their departure about the comfort of their stay, if everything in their room and bath areas are as they expected. I also ask about their breakfast and encourage any problem situations and issues to be expressed directly to me upon their checkout. I do not recall any of these disappointments being expressed at the time of any guest stay within the past four months. However, The room of your choice was not a room with veranda and lake views or extended private areas. Please feel free to reserve one of the other rooms offering a better lake view if you would consider another stay. Thank you again for your efforts to make my business, amenities, and service better in every way.


B&B for the connoisseur

5 on July 18, 2012

We nested in the Robin’s Nest suite for three days of wine tasting and small town backwoods exploring. I was travelling with my parents in a party of three.. Robin’s Nest consists of two connected bedrooms, a bathroom and access to the wonderful second floor porch. It was the perfect solution that comfortably accommodated all of us and will do the same for anybody travelling in a group of 3 or 4 who do not wish to take separate rooms, or simply wants to save on the extra expense. We found the 1922 Starkey House to be an excellent base to explore the area from. Watkins Glen and the best wineries on the west and the scenic east side of Seneca Lake are all within 20 minutes’ drive. Keuka Lake is a short drive down a back road past Mennonite settlements. Just around the corner to the south is Lakewood Vineyards, great for bargains and very drinkable wines. Just to the north is the more historical Hermann Wiemer Vineyard among others. Once we had our fill of wine tasting we started exploring some of the many scenic nature escapes. There is nothing better after a day or morning of hiking than visiting one of the many microbreweries that is springing up among the vineyards. We felt especially welcome at the mother & son operation of Two Goats. Although it is perfectly located we liked the fact that the Starkey House is basically ‘in the country’ among locals, so that staying there you feel somehow part of the community rather than a tourist. The inn-keeper Cathy served us three unique, freshly and masterfully prepared breakfasts on one of the great porches. Some of the star ingredients often came from places like her garden, or the bee-keeper up the street, or a Mennonite settlement. Cathy grew up in the area, then travelled widely and recently returned. Because of her intimate ties to the region she does not only knows most there is to know about the region but also will share many of the interesting back stories with those who are interested.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting your kind words and reviews of your entire experience regarding your stay here in the Finger Lakes Region and 1922 Starkey House. It was my pleasure to serve you and to get to know you over the three days your family was here. I am especially touched by the fact that you are genuine in your efforts to connect on a local level so that you may enjoy the true essence of a beautiful region such as ours. Thank you and I do hope I will see you again.


A wonderful place to stay

5 on July 16, 2012

I stayed at the 1922 Starkey House B&B with a group of friends. Cathy is a marvelous host and magnificient cook. She is passionate about the Finger Lakes region and knew so much. She was able to make great recommendations for dinner. I definately recommend this B&B to anyone who travels to the Seneca Lake region.


great time

5 on July 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time at our finger lake vacation and staying at the Starky House added to that


Perfect Anniversary Weekend

4.8 on July 05, 2012

Cathy went above and beyond. Breakfast omelet was one of the best I've ever eaten. Very helpful with recommending places to eat. Celebrated anniversary weekend there. Would definitely go back again.


BEST B&B IN FINGER LAKES!

5 on June 28, 2012

Absolutely beautiful B&B. Innkeeper Cathy Moskal is a most gracious and helpful host, not to mention an artisan chef (breakfast was phenomenal!) We celebrated our 24th wedding Anniversary here & plan to return! The house and rooms are extremely clean and tidy and the 2nd floor porches are a must for nighttime relaxing. breakfast on the main porch is a real treat. A++++++


Wonderful

4.6 on June 28, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the 1922 Starkey House. Cathy was very helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to taking time out to visit the Finger Lakes again soon!


Starkey House wins West Coast Approval

4.6 on June 09, 2012

Cathy, the owner appeared in the driveway to greet us with a warm smile and helping hand. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and she made it very special. The food is catered to meet individual needs. We enjoyed delicious home made carrot juice, oatmeal made to order, fresh eggs made into a delicious omelet and a peach french toast to die for. We had so much fun touring the area with Cathy's knowledge of the Finger Lakes that we stayed an extra day. The other guests at the Inn became fast friends and we will be corresponding with them regularly we hope once we get settled back in at home. The only reason we didn't give Starkey House a five in cleanliness is because Cathy is still working on fixing the place up. It was easily a 4.5. The value could also be a 5 star, but since we didn't take the time to cost out other B & Bs or hotels, we felt it would be dishonest. One certainly gets their money's worth at Starkey. In our one month on the east coast where we usually were in a different city every two days, Starkey was the best by far and we highly recommend this B & B to other travelers. So much to see and enjoy! We have already told family and friends on the West Coast about this great find. Thanks to Cathy at Starkey House! Willy and Lynda Dostal, Beaumont, California


Pleasant stay. Comfortable atmosphere. Peaceful.

3.8 on June 01, 2012

The title pretty much says it all! Old home but very well kept. Gracious host.


Great stay at Starkey

4.8 on May 24, 2012

Cathy is the most wonderful hostess of this beautiful Arts and Crafts style house. The downstairs bedroom was large and very comfortable, with the softest sheets ever! Breakfast was excellant and different each day. But the menu was posted each evening so we would know what to expect. And Cathy uses as many local ingredients as possible in her cooking, so instead of just trying a variety of wines in the surrounding area, we also got to try local honey and maple syrup! We will come back!


Wonderfull suroundings

4.2 on May 09, 2012

I stayed at the B&B for one weekend with my parents. The location is really nice and peaceful and it is possible to walk to the lake from the house. The garden has a lot of birds. The breakfast was delicious!


Firts time at a B/B

4.2 on May 04, 2012

Thanks for accommodating a last minute get away! A stately home with a lot of character. Perfect location for wine tasting. Comfy bed and ample breakfast. Definitely would stay again.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am happy that 1922 Starkey House did not disappoint for either a last minute stay or for your first BB experience. Please visit again and thanks for your kind words!


Wonderful vegan breakfasts

5 on April 10, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it greatly exceeded our expectations. We made last minute reservations when our original vacation plans were cancelled, but we were lucky to find the 1922 Starkey House. We're both vegans and were nervous about finding vegan-friendly accommodations, but Cathy went out of her way to accommodate our vegan diet and was very knowledgeable about our restrictions. The breakfasts were exceptional and delicious! Our room was very comfortable, and Cathy was a wonderful host. There's lots to do in the area and Cathy was very helpful with suggestions. We had a wonderful experience and definitely plan to return.


Amazing Weekend

5 on March 26, 2012

This was the best weekend ever! House was great & clean, Cathy made us feel so special! She is a wonderful person. Great food.


So Hospitable!

5 on March 23, 2012

Wonderful hospitality, great quick getaway!


1922 Starkey House

5 on March 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Starkey House. it was very comfortable and Cathy was a terrific hostess.


Back again!

5 on January 16, 2012

We returned to the 1922 Starkey House for a family pre-holiday party and were pleased to see that the house was a comfortable and cozy in the winter as it was in the summer. The service and food were great, and my dietary restrictions were easily accommodated.


Last minute fall getaway

4.8 on November 29, 2011

Made reservations very last-minute -- luckily Cathy was still open in early November. The Inn was conveniently located for touring the area around Seneca Lake. Very interesting breakfast menu -- not just your ordinary breakfast foods. Very filling with an emphasis on local products. Cathy was very knowledgeable about the area and the accommodations were very comfortable. The configuration of the rooms allows for friends to have a "suite". I would go back!


great weekend getaway

4.8 on November 12, 2011

Great B&B located very close to wineries and Watkins Glen. The house is beautiful and the room was comfortable and very clean. Cathy went out of her way to make us feel at home and the homemade morning breakfast (blueberry-raspberry crepes) was fantastic! Would definitely stay here again.


very nice

4.2 on October 17, 2011

Great food that was very fresh. Very friendly and accommodating service. Very beautiful house with a very large deck that is great to sit on for morning breakfast. The house is in a very convenient location that is just a short drive to Seneca, Watkins Glen and many wineries.


Restful

5 on October 14, 2011

I like old and this house was both old and very pretty. The room was comfortable, nice, and clean. If we needed anything Cathy was there and very friendly made us feel like old friends. The breakfasts were wonderful, and I enjoyed all the fresh vegetables and fruit.


Loved our stay at 1922 Starkey House!

4.0 on October 12, 2011

I can't say enough about this charming little B&B. My husband and I had a wonderful,relaxing time....quiet,peaceful,refreshing is how I would describe our stay. The gourmet style breakfast's were out of this world. Cathy, the owner,inkeeper,and cook, took great care of us,at this home away from home!The room was lovely and spacious,as well as the rest of the house. Definitely will be back!


Love The Name

4.0 on October 06, 2011

Recently stayed at the 1922starkeyhouse. We had a wonderful stay.The rooms were very clean,service great and the breakfast was delicious! Loved hearing about the history of the house. Cathy is a lovely hostess and very accomodating. Will stay there again if we ever visit the area .


Lovely weekend in the Finger Lakes

4.8 on October 03, 2011

We were very impressed with the house. It is tastefully decorated and the room we stayed in (the Veranda suite), which included a newly renovated bathroom, was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Cathy made sure we had everything we needed and was a wonderful host. Breakfasts were delicious!


Can't wait to go back!

5 on September 15, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Starkey House! The breakfasts were amazing and Cathy was great! She gave lots of suggestions about places to go and things to do and all were perfect. Our stay at this B&B was perfect!


Wonderful B&B

5 on September 14, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday and have a relaxing weekend. Everything here was great! The house was very clean and all the bathrooms have been renovated. Cathy was an outstanding hostess, and her breakfasts were incredible!!! We will definitely be staying here the next time we visit Watkins Glen.


Great Weekend

4.4 on September 12, 2011

The 1922 has a great location for vineyard hopping. It is out of the hustle and bustle of Watkins Glen, but relatively close to there and Penn Yan. Cathy serves a great breakfast, although if you are an early riser you may get hungry before it's served. (It's advertised as 7-9, but it's more like 8:30 to 9:30.) Our rooms was pleasant and the bed was great. The upper floor affords you a view of Seneca Lake and sunrise. Overall, the 1922 is a pleasant B and B worth its modest price.


Relaxing stay in a beautiful location!

5 on September 08, 2011

This beautiful house is immaculate and comfortable and quiet. The bathroom in our room was brand new and really stylish. All the modern comforts fit in beautifully with the 1922 house. The original woodwork is especially attractive and perfectly maintained. Breakfast is gourmet fare with excellent service. Our first trip to the Finger Lakes couldn't have been better and we will return. I arrived with flowers that my husband had given me for our anniversary (2 days previous to arrival) and Cathy found a perfect vase for them. When I accidentally left them she phoned us before we were too far away. We experienced wonderful service and will happily return!


Relaxing and charming place to stay

4.8 on September 07, 2011

We took a chance on this B&B since we had not stayed in the area before. We were pleased to find that it was a beautiful home with nice rooms and very clean. It was off the main road and very quiet yet close to many of the places we wanted to see. Kathy was very warm and gave us many suggestions on things to do. We found the food to be amazing! Here crepes were such a treat. We would definitely stay here again when we are in the area.


Wonderful place to stay in the Finger Lakes!

5 on August 25, 2011

1922 Starkey House is a wonderful place to stay for a weekend getaway. We were very close to many wineries and hiking spots. Our room had a great view of a beautiful sunrise over Seneca Lake as well. Wonderful place to stay! Thanks!


I love 1922 Starkey House!

4.6 on August 21, 2011

Beautiful old house with a large wrap around porch, settled in the country with views of the lake. Close to all the southwest side vineyards and 10 minutes from Watkins Glen. Very quiet and has all the sounds and smells of the country. Our room was really great, as was the service and the breakfast.....really, really, great breakfast! I'd go again.


wonderful place!!04

4.0 on August 16, 2011

Our stay at the statist house was wonderful! The house had so many charming qualities and our room was adorable. The breakfasts served were unique and the best I've ever had, not to mention the fantastic service. Cathy really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. Great stay for our weekend getaway!


Best location in Seneca Lake Area

4.2 on August 11, 2011

We didn't know the area and weren't sure if this was a good location but it turned out to be centrally located to eveything in the fingerlakes region. Close to the best wineries, all water activities, quiet, friendly host who is superb cook and serves fantastic breakfasts. Newly updated en suite bathrooms, charming house with all the period touches, grand porch so great for breakfast and lounging. We will definately stay here if we come back to this area. Springfield, Ohio.


Hidden Gem

5 on August 08, 2011

The house itself is an art deco dream with beautiful oak woodwork. The room was clean and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were exceptionally lush and we slept like babies The bathroom was large with all the amenities. Breakfast was served on the lovely front porch. We had stayed at several bed & breakfast prior to our arrival and this breakfast was the winner. Cathy, the owner, made a delicious omelet along with crepe like blueberry pancakes that were heavenly. There is a lovely view of the lake. It's a winner all the way.


Great value!

4.6 on August 02, 2011

We stayed at 1922 Starkey House for four nights at the end of July. Great location for exploring the Finger Lakes. Beautiful Craftsman style home. Excellent service and delicious breakfast. Recommend highly. Would definitely return for more visits in the future.


Nice overall experience

4.2 on August 01, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 days 7/27-730. The location of the B & B is perfect for wine touring. We stayed in the Veranda Suite at Cathy's (the proprietor) suggestion. I am always on the alert for an up-sell but in this case it did not disappoint. We had the whole top floor veranda to ourselves and watched the sunrise every morning. Very nice. The only downside was you get some kitchen smells due to the location of the rear staircase and kitchen. What comes out of the kitchen however almost makes it worth it. We simply put a towel at the bottom of the floor and that fixed the problem. Cathy is a delightful proprietor and her B & B deserve your consideration if you will be visiting the area.

Innkeeper Response
I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I would like to report that a door has been placed at the top of the rear stairs that creates a barrier for cooking fragrances from the kitchen. I agree that this was a needed change. Thanks for pointing that out. Hope to see you again! Blueberries and bananas are waiting!


wonderful first B&B experience

5 on July 24, 2011

The innkeeper was exceptional, appealing with zeal to even the smallest of request. The breakfast, made with local produce and ingredients, was beyond expectations. Overall, a delightful stay in a tranquil home. Highly recommended!!!


What a Lovely B & B

4.0 on July 16, 2011

We stayed at The 1922 Starkey House on the July4th weekend for 3 nights & enjoyed it very very much. We loved the decor & the place was spotless. Cathy the owner made "Delicious" & healthy breakfasts! The peaceful setting was wonderful & exactly what we wanted.We recommend it highly & would go back again. J. & S.


Highly recommend!!!

5 on July 12, 2011

A wonderful place to stay! Great service. Beautiful, luxurious, clean rooms. The Innkeeper, Cathy was very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and hospitable. Very close to the lake, restaurants, wineries, and other activities. We are already planning our next trip to 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn!


New parents first night away

5 on July 10, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 1922 Starkey House as our first night away from our son. The location is very convenient (about halfway between Geneva and Watkins Glen, a mere minute off Route 14) for Seneca Lake and even Keuka Lake. We stayed in La Chambre and found it very clean and pleasant, complete w/nice touches like fresh flowers and complimentary toiletries. The owner was really sweet and helpful but not intrusive, she had a snack of fresh fruit ready for us upon our arrival. We sat on the front porch enjoying the end of the day with a bottle of Finger Lakes wine and cheese we had purchased along the way, before heading to the very conveniently close Glenora Veraison's restaurant for dinner (also very good). Breakfast was delicious and on the sunny front porch. I would highly recommend this place to travelers in the Finger Lakes.


Warm & Welcoming

3.8 on July 10, 2011

Our family stopped in for a mid-week stay in July and thoroughly enjoyed our time at 1922 Starkey House. Cathy was a warm and friendly hostess, whose background of having grown up locally made her a valuable resource for answering all of our questions about the Seneca Lake area. Quiet evenings on the porch and veranda were great for unwinding after a busy day of activities. There is much more to do around the Lakes than we had time for during our short stay, and we look forward to returning and using 1922 Starkey House as our outpost for our next stay!


Great service, great food, beautiful room

5 on July 10, 2011

The 1922 Starkey House B&B is a beautifully decorated craftsman style inn with modern conveniences and delicious breakfasts. The innkeeper is very warm and welcoming, is clearly well connected and passionate about the inn and the area, and gives great recommendations for activities and restaurants in the area.


Relaxation!

4.4 on July 06, 2011

Outstanding hospitality, peaceful location, wonderful scenery all wrapped into one! Nice location with in minutes to many Finger Lakes attractions. 1922 Starkey House was the ideal setting for our get-a-way!


1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $198
  • Reviews (144) 4.5
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6073160069
  • Phone 1-6072437770

Visit Website »

View details

Top