Maple Grove Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

This makes Tippi's Top Ten

5 on August 29, 2013

My sisters and I spent my birthday bicycling and kayaking with the Maple Grove apartment as our "home base." We walked into the village of Cape Vincent for breakfast and dinner; we purchased specialty coffee for enjoying in our apartment full kitchen. The ferry was minutes away and we took our Jeep to Wolfe Island and Big Sandy Beach. The apartment layout was lovely, the linens were exceptional; the space was light, airy and quiet. Our private deck was serene. It was the perfect place for a get away that was just as pretty but more quiet than home.


Warm and Gracious Hospitality

5 on October 14, 2012

We were fortunate to be able to stay a week at Maple Grove. What a beautiful historic house. The history alone is a reason to visit this majestic home built in 1838. The photos don’t do it justice. The setting for this regal home on the banks of the St. Laurence is so peaceful, the gardens so beautiful. There are many places to sit and relax either inside the house, outside in various areas of the lawn, a bench on the river bank, or our favorite the front porch with its rocking chairs. Its a perfect place to just sit and watch the ships and boats glide by. The hosts Bruce and Lynn Taylor are gracious and welcoming. Breakfast included lively conversation about the area and its history, the sights that are a must see, which restaurants to try and where to shop. We ate breakfast in the large and elegant dining room in the main house. The house is very spacious with various places to sit and relax, the living room, the family room, the screened in porch on the side, or the small deck off the family room We were able to see all the bedrooms of the main house as well. Each has its special charm. Do not miss the opportunity to visit this scenic spot in Cape Vincent and enjoy the 1000 Islands area.


We wish we could stay longer

5 on September 17, 2012

Lynn and Bruce were very gracious and accommodating hosts. The home is just gorgeous and impeccably maintained. The grounds, scenery and overall setting of Maple Grove will transport you back to a simpler time. It's easy to imagine horse drawn carriages pulling up to the house for elegant gatherings, and lazy days spent relaxing on the front porch. Treat yourself to this amazing getaway, right on the Saint Lawrence Seaway. Give Lynn and Bruce the opportunity to exceed your expectations. It's what they do. Many thanks to both of them for a wonderful stay and we look forward to visiting with them again in the future.


Really great!

4.6 on July 20, 2012

We loved out stay!! The house is wonderfull with old/antique features and decorations. The owners were very very friendly and hospitable! We hope to go back some day.


Fairyland!

5 on February 01, 2012

Have longed to visit this house with its stately columns, looking across the St. Lawrence to Wolf Island, since I was a child. Visiting, wandering the gardens & grounds in early morning, siting in a rocking chair on the porch looking out to the river, reading in the elegant living room, lively conversation with interesting hosts & guests over a delicious breakfast -- a dream come true!


Historic house; free wine!

4.2 on January 28, 2012

I've stayed at a lot of B&B's and Maple Grove is outstanding for the historical value of the property, its great view of the St. Lawrence Seaway from the front porch, and complimentary wine (and beer too, I think). Cook/housekeeper Liz makes great breakfasts and knows everything (she was a local librarian). Owners the Taylors are a retired lawyer and judge. The best room in the house was unoccupied when I was there in August so I got a free upgrade. I plan to go back.


Great place to stay!

4.2 on October 02, 2011

Good times! Beautiful home! Good food! Great experience -- will return.


Great place to stay!

5 on August 17, 2011

This place is wonderful. The hosts were great. Liz is the best! She makes the yummiest breakfasts ever. The view of the St. Lawrence from the front porch is amazing. This B & B is very clean & quiet. We would definitely stay here again.


Best in the area

5 on August 07, 2011

Had a wonderful time. Very inviting and welcoming. Will come back in a heart beat!


Charming Old House

5 on July 21, 2011

maple Grove is a charming old farmhouse that was added to over the centuries. Lovely people, lots of antiques & wild life.


Maple Grove Inn

4.0 on October 14, 2010

Ah, that front porch! The moment we sat down, Monday through Friday cares melted away - and the escape didn't stop there. Our hostess prepared wonderful meals, was sensitive to diet restrictions, offered sightseeing suggestions, and generally made us feel at home during our weekend stay. Our bed was very comfortable in the Giard Suite, and each morning we found the bed made and fresh towels available. We thoroughly enjoyed the history of the house and would return another year to explore the area further - kudos!


wonderful experience

5 on September 29, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time...Liz and Bruce were MOST entertaining....tastie breakfasts, comfy bed....and GREAT wine.... we shall return..Linda and Lee


An exquisite place

5 on August 31, 2010

A charming setting, and the Taylors are charming hosts. We felt as if we belonged there. For ultimate relaxation, sit on the front porch with a book, look out over the water, and watch the ships pass by.


Maple Grove Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $200
  • Reviews (13) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3156542375
  • Phone 1-4154530405

Visit Website »

View details

Top