Sunset Park Inn Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

A very nice place to stay! We rode the subway to Manhattan to see City Sights and found our way back for a comfortable night at Sunset Park Inn. We ate at an authentic Chinese restaurant close by and I even had a haircut at a nearby salon. Car service is also nearby.

5 on November 12, 2013

Maria was very helpful with information about the area like restaurants, hair salon, car service and Subway. The rooms are very clean and a fruit-plate was provided with other refreshments. Our diets were considered and the breakfast offering was attractive and met our needs. Leonard and KerryLynn Lee


Best choice in Brooklyn

5 on October 02, 2013

Thank you Maria for your wonderful hospitality. We will not forget our stay at Sunset Park Inn. So clean and comfortable. There was a generous supply of fruits, yogurt, cereal, juice, tea and coffee, plus a full breakfast to order. Safe family neighborhood, laundromat across the street, easy walk to subway.


Unforgettable

5 on September 23, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. Maria, the Inn owner was very hospitable and caring. We felt so at home at the Inn. Maria makes the most amazing pancakes for breakfast, she even gave me the recipe. We were first timers in NYC, and she helped us with information to get around the city. We will definitely come again. Ria, Malaysia


We loved this place!

5 on August 18, 2013

Me, my partner, and my 1 1/2 yr. old daughter wanted to spend a few days of vacation in New York, but were discouraged by the price of hotels. I'd never stayed at a B&B before, and associated this kind of accommodation with the countryside more than the city, but we noticed the relatively reasonable price at the Sunset Park Inn, and decided to give it a try. We're very glad we did! Maria and Derek were awesome, even giving us a ride to the subway when we left. We felt free to come and go as we pleased, the suite was comfortable and clean, and the neighborhood was wonderful (perfect for families - especially the park at the end of the street - and also close to subway lines running directly to the city in one direction, Coney Island in the other). Plus the food was excellent, and there was enough of it to have a full breakfast and pack what was left over for lunch, which also helped out our budget. We've been recommending this place to our all of our friends!


Thank you, this has been a great experience!

5 on June 06, 2013

Lovely place, perfect in every way with wonderful hospitality and very nice accommodations. Perfect for families or friends (although it was only 2 of us for now we are planning to come back again with friends). I am very impressed and can recommend Sunset Park Inn to anyone!


Unmatched Service and Hospitality

5 on June 03, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Park Inn for 4 nights, and I must say, this was one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had. Maria and Derek know how important it is to make the guests feel like a part of the family, and they exceeded that expectation 110%. The accommodations made us feel like we were at home, and being on vacation, that made it less stressful. The breakfast was more than adequate, with Maria and Derek making sure there was a variety of options each and every day. We drove a car, and parking was not too much of an issue. We sometimes had to park a block away, but the area was very safe so we had no issues. I think the only suggestion I would make if you are thinking about staying at the Sunset Park Inn, is renting the entire apartment. We lucked out with there not being any other guests during our stay, but the rooms are close, and you share a common living area, so if you like privacy this is a suggestion. If we head back up to NYC, we will most definitely be contacting Maria and Derek for accommodations.


Outstanding hospitality

4.8 on November 15, 2011

Staying at the Sunset Park Inn was a truly pleasant experience. Maria, Derek and their mother took such good care of me and made m efeel so very welcome. I felt spoiled to have been pampered so! Their warmth and caring made this stay away from home feel like home. They were happy to meet our dietary needs with the lovely breakfast spread, and ready with information about the city. The beds and linens are top quality as is the level of cleanliness. Overall, a very comfortable home away from home.


Brooklyn Top

5 on October 24, 2011

We, Doeschka, Erik, Rick and Rob stayed at Sunset Park Inn for 5 nights. Maria and Derek were perfect and very friendly hosts. The breakfast is more than perfectly; the Applepancake delicious. We hired the entire appartment  that gave us very much privacy. It was a very, very pleasant stay!! Maria and Derek tanks for all!! Rob


I have never written a review before

4.4 on September 08, 2011

Hi My wife and i are staying here at the moment. The apartment has been freshly painted. It is clean. The food we get for breakfast is fantastic. Plenty of it. The fresh apple pancakes are the best pancakes i have ever had. We have about 3 blocks to walk to the subway system. Landry across the road looks like it has only be open a couple of months so all machines are new. Room is air conditioned. Internet is fast and stable. All in all very very good value for money. I would definitely stay here again when in New York. Peter and Lynley


Our first but not our last stay at Sunset Park Inn

5 on September 02, 2011

We just finished a 12 days stay at this outstanding B&B Inn. Maria,the Innkeeper and her brother Darec made sure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Even having an earthquake and the heviest daily rainfall during our stay, they did their best to keep us happy. Thank very much for the nice vacation at your place, Folkert and Karin


Great stay!

5 on August 19, 2011

Our family of four stayed at Sunset Park Inn for 5+5 days the summer of 2011. Maria, her mother and brother Derek were perfect and very friendly hosts. They were more than happy to drive us to the car rental to pick up our car. The kids especially loved the home made apple pancakes for breakfast, and we enjoyed returning to the comfort of the clean rooms after our ten hour a day marathon sightseeing expeditions in New York. The neighborhood is hispanic on one side and chinese on the other, and feels safe. The walk to the subway is ten minutes, and the ride to Manhattan or other parts of New York became a natural part of our daily routine. Returning home in the evening we could stock up on water and other necessities in the stores or take home pizza from Pizza by the Park. Thank you so much for a very pleasant stay!


"We were very pleased!" 7/2011

5 on August 01, 2011

We were a family of six, including two small children, staying for four nights. We found the rooms to be attractive, clean, and comfortable, and enjoyed the European style breakfasts. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. It's in an interesting location, next to Brooklyn's Chinatown. Close by is Sunset Park, with much activity and a great view of the Manhattan skyline and New York Harbor. We would be happy to stay here again!


Thank you!

5 on June 26, 2011

Thank you for the superb experience I had at your lovely place - in all ways, it was perfect. I highly recommend Sunset Park Inn.


Brooklyn's Treasure

5 on June 25, 2011

Staying at this B&B added an unexpected wonderful experience to my trip. Not just a place to stay but a friendly, caring family with GREAT food and spotless, comfortable rooms. Parking in Brooklyn can be a challenge but they even helped with the that. Close to subway and park, walking distance to good ethnic food.


Refreshing Stay

5 on June 24, 2011

We had a delightful stay at Sunset Inn and the hosts could not have been more accommodating, even to my gluten-free needs. Breakfast was wonderful, the rooms were clean and fresh and the subway was convenient enough. I found the neighborhood interesting and would have liked to spend more time exploring close to "home." Thank you!!


A wonderful stay

5 on June 19, 2011

I never did bed & breakfast before and I needed one because I booked my flight from Europe very late. All I have to say that I liked it and I came back for my second week in New York. A clean and nice room. Very nice people and a good atmosphere. There are also good restaurants nearby. Several Asian ones which I prefer. Subway (train D) is in walking distance and you can get quick to Manhattan or many other places from there.


truly a find

5 on June 07, 2011

Great value, Great hosts, Great food! They'll go out of their way to accommodate your every need. Very comfortable beds. Maria is quite the cook. They set a very high bar for B & B's.


Very impressed

5 on May 24, 2011

This was my first stay in a Bed and Breakfast (I usually stay in hotels), but at the recommendation of my travel companion spent a weekend at the Sunset Park Bed and Breakfast. I always assumed that Bed and Breakfast places will be much more expensive than hotels, so I was surprised to find out that this place had about the same rates as local hotels that I was considering (to save money we decided to share 1 bedroom with 2 beds). Our stay at the Sunset Park Bed and Breakfast was definitely first-class. Our hosts were very nice and helpful (helped us get a bargain on Broadway show tickets). The whole place had a warm, airy and open feel to it (even though it is not very big), seemed to have been newly renovated and was very, very clean. The beds were comfortable and with very nice beddings and covers. Breakfasts were great, very tasty and big (I'm glad we did a lot of walking or we'd probably gain weight :-) We arrived quite late (too late to go looking for a place to eat) and we really appreciated that they offered us soup and some homemade pierogis (a type of ravioli). Either I was very hungry or that was the best soup that I ever ate; the pierogis were also fantastic; much, much better than the ones from supermarkets. As I said, this was my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, so I can't compare it with any other, but if all of them are like this, I may never stay at another hotel again. Thank you. - Irene Jezyk


Better than outstanding, where is the incredible rating?

5 on May 13, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Sunset Park Inn and were extremely pleased with our stay there. Maria and her family go out of their way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. When I happened to mention that I only drank non fat milk the next morning it was in the fridge. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is more that incredible. If you stay you have to try Maria’s apple pancakes! When we left at 5:45am on our return trip Maria had blueberry waffles for us. Next time we go to New York we definitely know where we will stay.


A great place to stay

5 on April 06, 2011

Sunset Park Inn is a great place to stay. I am a resident at a local hospital and my parents stay there when they come to visit. Originally we decided to use this B&B because of its location and close proximity to my place, but since then we have been using it every time anyone comes to visit, because of the superior service and value we get there. Hospitality at the Sunset Park Inn is wonderful, accommodations are comfortable and significantly above average; food is great, Overall, we have been very satisfied every time we used the Sunset Park Inn.


We just stayed at Sunset Park Inn and highly recommend it. Sparkling clean.

4.8 on March 30, 2011

We are frequent visitors to the New York City area (our daughter attends NYU) and so we’ve had an opportunity to see a handful of the local B&B’s. This time around we decided to stay with Sunset Park Inn and were really impressed. The place is spotless - while most of the B&B’s we’ve stayed in were clean, this one was by far the cleanest. We also liked the food, breakfast offered a nice variety with lots of European products that we don’t normally get a chance to try. Our room was on a cozy side, it could be a little bigger, but for us it was ok. Overall the service was excellent and we are very happy and plan to stay with them again. Highly recommended!


Sunset Park Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $150
  • Reviews (21) 5.0
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9175315858
  • Mobile 1-9175130204
Top