Lefferts Gardens Residence Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service3.9
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing Stay!!!

4.6 on September 06, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to visit NYC, but I was on a tight budget. I saw this place listed on travel websites and after some protest from him, finally convinced him that this B&B in Brooklyn would be a good choice. He was pleasantly surprised. We were flying standby and informed Michelle by email that we would be arriving early and were hoping to get there before the check in time. She and Sandra were very accommodating, even when we were bumped from one flight, and delayed due to weather on our connecting flight and came 2 hours after we told them we would be there. Sandra gave us a short tour of the house and we were left to make ourselves at home. The house is absolutely beautiful. Our sunny room was on the top floor and the bathroom we shared was bigger than my bedroom at home. Our concern with sharing a bathroom was a non issue (although I asume it is because we are late sleepers and everybody was out and about before we got up). The kitchenette was sunny and clean and the fridge was stocked with bottled water. We sadly never tried the breakfast (the review forced me to rate it anyway so I gave it 4 stars so it wouldn't drag down their review score). The area is a bit of a subway ride to the city, but the price is worth it. It definitely beats the cookie cutter, get'em in and out feel of a typical large hotel. We were even allowed to leave our suitcases downstairs free of charge after we checked out so we could get one last day in the city before our late evening flight. We never needed help with directions since I know the area and Manhattan very well, but I can see some reviewers' point when they say it's hard to find someone who works there to help you. But if you have any idea of what you want out of your trip and you have a smart phone you'll be fine. Just have a plan. Overall we will definitely be back. Can't wait!!!


Hated to leave

3.6 on August 15, 2013

(There was no breakfast. I would have put "N/A" instead of one star.)


Sybil plans to return very soon!

4.4 on July 30, 2013

My room was clean, comfortable, cozy and right next to the kitchen and bathroom facilities. I slept so peacefully and soundly! It truly was like "Home away from home". Meeting Michelle & Zenobia (partners in business) was extraordinary! Both were extremely kind and accomodating. This was truly a "blessing" since it had been many years since I'd travelled or been to NYC. I was very impressed and inspired by both of these entrepreneurs. A special "Thanks!" also to Blaine who helped me find the most "divine" vintage "after-five" gown in their boutique for an outrageous price of $10.00!! I am looking forward to my next stay at Lefferts B&B!


Great stay and great neighborhood

4.6 on May 06, 2013

I stayed in the ebony room, the one person room. The b&b is so cute and definitely made me feel at home. The neighborhood is very cute, and is nice to return to after a full day in hectic manhattan. Very close to a subway, and quiet streets at night.


Very good for the price

3.4 on December 29, 2012

We had a good stay at this inn. The first room they put us in, the only one on the first floor, was too loud - immediately above the family residence, with noise coming through from below that awakened us, and a door that only locked from the inside and was hard to maneuver into place for locking. The host graciously moved us to a nice room on the 3rd floor, which suited us well - one floor above a small kitchen stocked with bottled water, cereal and a few odds and ends, and on the same floor as the bathroom, which was spacious, clean, and well stocked. The breakfasts (an additonal charge) were outstanding and made a great launch for our two days. The owners are new to having the inn, and there were some small issues that reflected inexperience. The only one worth mentioning was that we forgot to provide our keys and they forgot to ask for them, resulting in us finding them once we were home, and them calling to request we mail them back - a bit of an inconvenience.


My absolute favorite B&B

5 on December 20, 2012

I plan on returning several times during the years to come.


Enjoyable stay

4.6 on November 15, 2012

Very enjoyable stay - clean, well maintained and friendly. Easy commute into Manhattan, just five minutes walk to the subway and felt perfectly safe walking the route, even late at night. I didn't use it but looks like there's also an easy route by subway from JFK. The only thing that would have enhanced would have been to have had some sort of surface in my room that I could work at - just a simple desk and chair. This wasn't available but Michelle was very responsive when I suggested it so I suspect that future guests will have the benefit of a writing surface in the not too distant future. Would definitely stay again. Note to administrators of this site - please don't make it so a person has to rate every line - as Lefferts Gardens Residence offers optional breakfast which I didn't take, so you are forcing me to rate something that I didn't use.


Characteristic B&B

2.8 on October 31, 2012

There was no dining, so there is no dining to rate. This B&B is a typical one with a historical atmosphere. Very Nice indeed

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry that your overall view was a unpleasant one because one of my goal is to provide excellent services and a clean atmospbere to all guests. Next time if you visit us again , join us in the lovely dining room and have breakfast with us. Thanks


Fall Stay

4.0 on October 25, 2012

Lovely home, nice street, walk to Subway was easy but the area is low-income shops, not 5th avenue. Best part were the beds--super comfortable and cozy. Owner greeted us daily and was wonderful. Nice little shared kitchen to keep drinks or even to do a little cooking. I would suggest they install a light right outside the front door for late evening returns. Will use again next time I come to NYC.


Great place to stay!

3.4 on October 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Lefferts Gardens Residence and we had a very good time there. Michelle is a very nice and friendly host. The house is in a quiet, lovely road. The room was very clean, well furbished and very comfortable. You have to share the bathroom with other guests - but that was no problem. We havent tried the Breakfast, due we were eating in the city, but the smell in the morning was delicious! The Metro-Station "Prospect Park" ist just a few minutes walk away and provides a good connection to the city. There are many shops around the place so you can find everything you need. We will stay there again, when we go to NY the next time!


Distinctive b & b

4.2 on October 13, 2012

We have stayed previously in Manhatten and indeed transferred to midtown after leaving Lefferts. However, the lingering memory of our trip will be our stay at Lefferts. Lovely large and clean room and Michelle was both charming and welcoming.


Wonderful accommodation in Brooklyn

4.8 on October 03, 2012

Very nice stay at this beautiful historic building. It is completely refurbished and we were attended very well by the managers of the property. Rutland Road is very quiet, only little traffic. Solid dark furniture as well as nice and individual decoration in our room. The kitchen on the same floor has new appliances, coffee maker, plates, cups , etc. Very spacious and clean bathroom (shared) on the same floor. Subway is only 5 minutes walking distance, many shops 2 minutes walking distance.


Lefferts Gardens Residence

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $149
  • Reviews (12) 4.1
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (570) 216-1953

Visit Website »

View details

Top