Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful and comfortable

4.6 on August 12, 2014

Hilltop House is exactly as advertised, and Sandy was a lovely, non-intrusive hostess. We so enjoyed eating on her porch and looking out on the beautiful lawn. Was a completely worthwhile experience—and the beds are amazingly comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for the nice review! I'm so glad you enjoyed our porch!


Recharge your batteries!

4.4 on July 31, 2014

Great area for biking and hiking, we reserved the place for the HVRailRide, owner was accommodating on early breakfast day of ride, clean, quiet, comfortable!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the nice review! I do my best to accommodate our guests and make their stay enjoyable and comfortable in every way possible!


Great Place to Stay

4.6 on July 24, 2014

This was our first B&B experience, and it was definitely worth it. The place was very clean and well decorated. Sandy made sure we were comfortable, but also gave us enough privacy, which was important to us. The food was pretty good, as they hide a wide array of bagels, muffins, but also served hot food like eggs, french toast, and bacon. We would definitely stay here again,and would highly recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your first B&B experience!


At last

4.4 on June 09, 2014

We have tried to stay at Hilltop on several occasions but it was always filled. I understand why now. It is lovely and Sandy made it more so.

Innkeeper Response
We're glad you were able to book a room this time! Thanks for the nice review!


Trade Secrets weekend

5 on June 02, 2014

This is my second stay with Sandy at the beautiful Hilltop House. She is always charming, welcoming and makes the best breakfasts! I will always stay at the Hilltop House when in Amenia.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! We're glad you enjoy staying with us and appreciate your support!


Amazing Place!!

5 on May 04, 2014

Very quiet place. Rooms are very clean and decorated. the bed and linen are very comfortable . The breakfast was amazing , homemade food and very well presented and served .Sandy (owner ) was very nice and hospitality. My family felt like home . I highly recommend this B&B!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We appreciate it!


Weekend Away

5 on April 02, 2014

Sandy rocks! Just got back from a wonderful trip to Amenia, NY and cannot say enough great things about Sandy and her hospitality.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the great compliment! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!


A Comfotable Inn

4.0 on November 24, 2013

The inn is located in the rolling hills of New York State away from big city life. It provided a quiet atmosphere with some excellent dining nearby.


Lovely Amenia spot

3.8 on November 14, 2013

Very pretty Victorian home, tastefully decorated. Spacious and welcoming living room. Comfortable beds; though full, it was never noisy. A generous breakfast but I would urge the owners to invest in a hot plate, to keep items warm.

Innkeeper Response
Sigh.....trying to keep food warm is something I am forever worrying about. It would help to know what wasn't warm enough so I could figure out how to remedy the problem. I do use a warm water server to keep the eggs warm, but a hot plate may be the way to go for things like pancakes and bacon. There is a fine line between keeping something warm and burning, but thanks for the heads up. There's always room for improvement.


Wonderful stay at the Hilltop.

5 on November 13, 2013

This was our first visit to upstate New York and we thoroughly enjoyed our week- end at the Hilltop. The home is beautifully restored and maintained. Sandy was a delightful hostess and we felt at home. Our Washington room comfortably accommodated three of us and the adjoining bathroom was huge and recently updated. It was amazingly quiet and peaceful even though all rooms were rented. The details were lovely including the softest comforter I have ever slept under! Although it is a long trek from Iowa, we hope to return.


Excellent B&B!

4.4 on October 25, 2013

Great stay and great food!


Lovely

5 on September 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely return. Thank you for the lovely stay. Beds were comfortable. Room was quiet and very clean. My breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The inn is within walking distance to a few cafes. Very friendly and relaxing.


A totally relaxing stay at the Hilltop House

4.4 on August 23, 2013

We were totally comfortable and relaxed at this beautiful, century-old b&b, that has been lovingly maintained to perfection. It's in a quiet, lovely location in Amenia, in one of Dutchess County's most spectacular valleys off Route 22. Sandy and West Johnson extend a warm welcome, and the breakfasts are superb! The wrap-around stone porch is a great feature of this distinguished building, complete with seating for quiet reading and a separate enclosed area with tables and chairs for breakfast.


Terrific return stay was as good as the first

4.8 on August 05, 2013

I stayed for the second year in a row in the "Sunshine Room" at the Hilltop House for a weekend get-away, and I enjoyed my experience as much as the first. The neighborhood is quiet (but for the sounds of birds that gently woke me up in the mornings), the house decor charming, and the breakfasts to die for! I also greatly appreciated the thoughtfulness of Sandy and her husband in providing tips of what to visit and eat in the area. Definitely plan on being back again!


Lovely quiet retreat

3.8 on August 01, 2013

The room was beautifully done, and bed very comfortable. A wonderful large front porch with lots of chairs for reading and drinking the offered teas was a highlight. Good coffee, and the hostess was very accommodating with an early breakfast request. With lovely gardens and located in a quiet neighborhood, the house needs a little TLC on the outside - but is perfect on the inside.

Innkeeper Response
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful porch! The house does need some TLC on the outside. Right now we are replacing windows and working on the garden beds. We have done so much work already on this charming home, but there are still many things on the to-do list........we will get it done. I enjoy the challenge of bringing an old house back to it's former glory!


Amazing!

5 on July 31, 2013

As soon as Hilltop Bed & Breakfast comes into view, you know this is a very special place - an unbelievably lovely and peaceful setting. A large wrap around porch with large ferns & other plants, along with white wicker chairs and tables as well as other furnishings immediately made it inviting. The warmth is apparent as soon as you enter into the front room with the beautiful high stone (original) fireplace. My room for 3 nights was the Rose Room, decorated so exquisitely I felt like French nobility, without even realizing until later the furnishings throughout much of the home are French Provincial. Sandy and her husband are the proprietors - and the delicious breakfasts make you want to linger the whole day within the screened porch overlooking the side yard with flowering plants, trees and scurrying squirrels. You will want to request Sandy's cinnamon bread - this is a must! You may also be served a variety of fruits, quiche & nut muffins. For me, it culminated what was a beautiful weekend in upstate New York - the weekend my son Keith married his beautiful Alexis.


a perfect weekend away

4.8 on May 31, 2013

the Hilltop House is beautiful, clean, romantic (we loved the fireplace) and just lovely in every way! our bathroom was even amazing! we can't wait to visit again - Sandy is an amazing cook & host - just a perfect weekend!


The complete experience

5 on May 19, 2013

A lovely gracious home on the edge of beautiful countryside with horse farms and rolling hills. The breakfast was so delicious- the proprietor is quite a gourmet cook! The room could not have been nicer- very comfortable- and the hostess was very welcoming and friendly. We HIGHLY recommend it!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you and everyone else for taking the time to post a review about your experience here at Hilltop House! We have the unique opportunity of hosting people from all over the world in our home, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.


We are repeat customers!

5 on October 18, 2012

A weekend at the Hilltop House is like stepping back in time and visiting cousins in the country ... except there are no cousins just delightful guests. The house is gorgeous, has comfortable beds, and lovely new bathrooms. You can start your day relaxing over breakfast. Sandy prepares a wonderful repast including seasonal treats. On our recent fall visit we enjoyed pears and pumpkin bread; last summer it was strawberries! Sandy will recommend some tasty local restaurants for dinner to end your day.


Excellent B&B in Amenia, NY

4.4 on October 14, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hilltop House. Our stay in this charming B&B was totally enjoyable. Sandy was a gracious host and served delicious breakfasts. The location is wonderful for the races at Lime Rock Park.


a quiet, beautiful home in a lovely area

4.6 on October 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights for our anniversary and couldn't have been happier with the place or with Sandy, who owns and operates the B and B. The house is beautiful inside, very clean, tastefully decorated, and peaceful. Sandy is extremely thoughtful and helpful. She truly cares about her guests and wants everyone to have a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Rose Room, with the king-sized bed, which was very comfortable. The bath in the hall was pretty, impeccably clean, and well stocked with toiletries and towels. This was our favorite B and B of the perhaps 15 we've been to.

Innkeeper Response
Our guests have posted so many great reviews and it's wonderful to get feedback on my skills as an innkeeper. This review is especially meaningful to me because I've personally never stayed at another bed and breakfast, so the fact that ours was your favorite B and B experience so far tells me I'm doing what I was meant to do. Thank you so much for this review!


Autumn weekend getaway

5 on October 10, 2012

Beautiful home, nicely decorated. Located in a quiet area. Great breakfast! Will definately return. We had a wonderful getaway weekend.


Wonderful summer weekend stay at Hilltop House

4.6 on August 05, 2012

Wonderful service (special kudos to Sandy) in a lovely 1909(?) house with a lovely covered patio for breakfast. Different home-baked goods from Sandy each morning along with eggs and protein gave us a terrific start for an ambitious day of wine-tasting and sight-seeing! Hope to be returning.


Weekend getaway

4.6 on July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hilltop House in June 2012 for two nights. We had a lovely stay and would definitely stay here again. Sandy was a gracious hostess and made wonderful breakfasts for us.


Sandy's B&B

4.2 on May 30, 2012

The Hilltop House B&B is located in the quaint village of Amenia, NY and is a pleasant interlude to what for us was a long vacation drive around the US. The two nights at Hilltop rejuvenated us and we were on our way well fed and very relaxed.


Pat and Orlo Clark

4.6 on May 24, 2012

Sandy and West were hospitable and warm. Their home was beautiful and relaxing. Sandy's breakfasts were great


Great B and B

5 on April 09, 2012

We stayed at Hilltop house and loved it. Sandy and Wes are just great. The breakfast was also outstanding. We would most certainly stay with them again


A charming small town stay

3.2 on October 12, 2011

This is a lovely, well-appointed home, and Sandy is a gracious hostess. We were happy to find a place on short notice.


A Perfect Getaway Destination for those Final Moments of Summer!

5 on September 08, 2011

Sandy's breakfasts are to die for, and it is a pleasure to mingle with other guests on the massive (and historic) front porch. There is no shortage of fine and/or fun dining in the area, and there are activities galore!


Friendly, easy stay on a hilltop in NY.

4.8 on September 01, 2011

My experience with Hilltop House was exceptional from the initial confirmation email right through my departure. The house is large and very well appointed. Breakfast on the spacious screened in porch was delicious.


Hilltop House is high quality B&B

4.4 on July 12, 2011

Hilltop House was a real pleasure to visit. Outstanding decor, high comfort bed & linens, service excellent, breakfast is fresh, delicious & creative. Sandy Johnson is a classy woman with very good taste & maintains a high quality throughout her B&B. You relax immediately upon entering the front door. Pam & Dan Hussey, Medfield, MA


Local Funeral- wish we had more time to explore

4.2 on June 30, 2011

We arrived very Late after a family dinner and long drive from Delaware, Sandy waited up and acknowledged by phone the room was ready and we should visit our family and arrive when able. The breakfasts were hot/ individualized/ healthy and beautifully presented. Loved the PORCHES. Especially enjoyed discussing the Old Home and antiques and the area as we have many fond childhood memories of the vicinity. Wish we spent another day to explore Millerton/ Sharon /Hammertown antiques and Hyde Park but family was the priority. Latte at kitchen cupboard HOT and met Seattle expectations. Wish we had time to bicycle. Barbara Slaymaker- Bellevue Wa


Very Nice

4.4 on June 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the Hilltop House while attending a family wedding in nearby Millbrook. Our stay at Hilltop House exceeded our expectations. Sandy, the Owner/Operator was very welcoming and was always available to make sure that we were comfortable and our needs attended to. The house, a turn of the century Victorian has been beautifully restored and maintained with care. The whole place was immaculate. I specially appreciated having Wifi in the room. I would definitely use Hilltop House the next time I am in the area and would not hesitate to recommend the property.


Wonderful!

4.8 on May 18, 2011

Sandy and West are a delight and their house immaculate. Add the delicious breakfast and it's a 'recipe' for success! Highly recommend.


Nice Getaway

5 on August 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hilltop House on 8/26/10. This was a nice place to stay. It is almost like being at home. The hostess, Sandy is very hospitable and she made a wonderful breakfast for us. Our room was clean and there was nice lighting in the bathroom. The entire place was wonderfully decorated. What stands out the most about Hilltop House is the gorgeous wrap around porch. When you stay here you will be at peace in the countryside. Hilltop House is the place to stay for anyone looking for a getaway.


Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8457891354
  • Mobile 1-9175864694

Visit Website »

View details

Top