The Captain Visger House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Mid-October Get-a-Way!

5 on October 20, 2014

My wife, Diane, and I spent just finished spending two great nights at The Captain Visger House. Our room was the Catherine July which is absolutely wonderful. From the time we arrived until the moment we departed (sadly) we received great service from Sam. Her breakfasts are definitely one of the many reasons to stay at this Bed & Breakfast. In addition to her culinary skills she is extremely helpful in suggesting places of interest and dining venues. This visit was an absolute treat and we can't wait for a return visit which most definitely will be made. Thank -you


Beyond Joy

5 on September 15, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in B&Bs throughout the U.S. and Europe. It is her absolute favorite thing to do. We drove over 8 hours from Michigan to Capt. Visger House based on one phone conversation with the owner (Sam). She told me she did not want to brag but she is a "pretty good cook". We were so blown away by her personable hospitality and unparalleled culinary skills that every meal was photo worthy and just as delicious as the next one. We were so impressed we even treated ourselves to a romantic dinner for two in her living room. What a smart thing to do. No where in Alexandria Bay or Clayton could we have received a better value, meal and service. She is just an absolute joy taking so much care to specifically tailor every meal to what you do or do not like. Cheers to you Sam.....you are the best ! Oh and by the way....the Harmonius Room was lovely as well.


Great B&B!

5 on September 11, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 4 days and had a great time, Loved the house and the welcome we got from the owner, Sam. Very hospitable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Great location; close to everything. Definitely recommend this B&B to others and will definitely go back!


Exactly what we were seeking

4.6 on September 03, 2013

Our all too brief stay at the Captain Visger House B&B was a total delight - exactlyu what we were seeking. THe room was spotless with every amenity we needed. The breakfast was sumptuous. The location was perfect -- allowing us to walk to the boats for a cruise around the islands, to dinner, to galleries, and more. And most of all, the Innkeeper, Sam, was delightful to chat with, knowledgeable about the area, anticipated our needs, and did all of this while being unobtrusive. We would go back in a heart beat.


Home away from home

4.6 on July 26, 2013

This bed and breakfast is the best I have ever stayed in. The inn keeper was fabulous (Sam) as well as very informative about things to do ,the cultural surrounding the 1000 islands ,places to visit ,good dinning and historical history that she gave us made you feel right at home. This inn Keeper lives to serve people and loves what she does. The rooms are comfortable and her breakfast foods were done to perfection . Thank You. Sam. See you next year . Chris and friends


Our favorite place away from home...

5 on December 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here many times over the past 5 years. Each time has been a wonderful experience. The rooms are fantastic, the food is outstanding and you couldn't ask for a better innkeeper. We will continue to come here at least once every year!


Captain Visger B&B is a great place to stay!

5 on October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Capt. Visger House in Alexandrea Bay and had such a wonderful time! The home was very inviting, the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, the food amazing and the inn keeper was so sweet and helpful. I would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone staying in the 1000 Island area!


Thank you for an amazing and relaxing stay! It was perfect!

4.8 on August 06, 2012

We had a beautiful weekend away at Sam's beautiful home and her breakfast's were outstanding. Worth the money to stay


Divine & Delicious!

5 on February 24, 2012

We absolutely loved our night at Captain Visger B&B! The house itself is really beautiful- the amount of love and TLC that went into maintaining the character of this house is very much clear. My now fiance and I stayed there on our way to Quebec City (where we got engaged!!!), and we stayed in the room with the jacuzzi tub which was incredibly relaxing. Even better was the breakfast in the morning- Sam the owner really catered to my dietary requests (vegetarian) and is such a wonderful lady. It may have been the best breakfast I have ever had. We are glad that we had such a wonderful night which kicked off such a wonderful weekend, and I would reccomend them to anyone!


Honeymoon Retreat

4.6 on October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Visger House in October of 2011 for our honeymoon. He had just started a new job and didn't have the vacation time for a long honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier to have found this little jewel. From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel welcome... I still in my wedding dress and my husband in his suit, we were ushered outside by the innkeeper Sam, so that she could take our picture! The Captain's Suite met and exceeded all of our expectations, but meeting Sam and experiencing her fantastic cooking made it a priceless experience for us. We will definitely be going back...


Captain Visger House, 4th of July

4.4 on July 10, 2011

We stayed at the Captain Visger House over the 4th of July, 2011. We enjoyed it thoroughly, and would visit there again. The room was very nice, and the B & B was beautiful yet comfortable & well located. What made the visit was the warmth and kindness off the innkeeper "Sam". She was a lot of fun, and her breakfasts were outstanding - she's a self taught culinary artist. We would highly recommend the Captain Visger house.


Charming and amazing

4.4 on May 16, 2011

We stayed in the Captain's Suite of this charming bed a breakfast, run by one of the kindest and warm-hearted people you will ever meet! Sam is a fabulous cook and the house is a beautifully remodelled Victorian jewel. My husband and I are definitely looking forward to another visit in the fall!


The Captain Visger House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $229
  • Reviews (12) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (315) 681-3422

Visit Website »

View details

Top