House in the Water Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
8 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding Service

4.2 on March 27, 2011

The booking was made for the wrong month, my mistake. When we contacted Jan on arrival in Amsterdam we discovered the error. The Lucky Piper was only available for 2 nights not 3. Jan met us at the Lucky Piper, took us shopping to get provisions and to point out the local attractions. He under took to find us accommodation for the third night. Which he was able to do. He then arrived and helped us to relocate to another house boat for the third night reappeared on checkout and rang a cab for us. We are truly greatful The Lucky Piper is a wonderful experience. Over looking a pretty quite canal and just a short walk from the tram which you can catch in either direction to Joordaan or the City. We had a wonderful stay and can't recommend the Lucky Piper too highly. And as for the Host, his care, service and hospitality is beyong equal. Bob & Robin Unger, Brisbane Australia


You will enjoy the experience ...

4.4 on April 13, 2009

Simply a magical stay. The accommodation was excellent, the location great, all contributing to an enjoyable Easter break. We will return for a longer stay. Thanks Jan, it was a pleasure to meet you. Larry & Jane (UK)


Wonderful host and boat

4.6 on December 01, 2008

The owner Jan could not have been more wonderful or accomodating. Even though we arrived late in the evening he was waiting for us at the boat with romantic candles lit and everything perfect. Jan was so friendly and welcoming. The boat was beautiful, warm and spotless. I was travelling with my 2 young children and they loved feeding the swans off the boat's patio. The beds were so comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more.


truly great option in a fun city

4.6 on November 03, 2008

would never hesitate to stay again - it was perfect


houseboat near excellent restaurant

3.2 on October 28, 2008

I searched several websites for a houseboat for our fourth visit to Amsterdam. When I found this one, I made the assumption that I'd found a self-catering houseboat, forgetting this website is B&B! As I also asked the owner about where to find a good cafe for breakfast, it's possible that he assumed we didn't want any breakfast. There were basics like tea bags, filter papers for coffee (no coffee except instant) & sugar, also a bottle of wine, but no breakfasts. Boat was clean and tidy, lots of towels and endless hot water. Central heating worked very well. Lots of guide books and leaflets. Owner was friendly & very helpful about local shops and places to eat. He was also more than fair: when he found out at the end of our stay that the fourth person couldn't make it, he reduced the rent. I would stay there again.


Comfortable and convenient

5 on July 30, 2008

Wonderful apartment on the canal, just enough off the beaten path to be quiet and relaxing. Nice neighborhood with a windmill, brewery, and shops. Not a touristy area. The city center is a short bus or bike ride away.


divine, divine, divine

5 on April 14, 2007

What more can I say? We went to Amsterdam for a weekend, and wish we could have stayed longer! Having a retreat at a beautiful houseboat on a canal in a real Amsterdam neighborhood only made our trip even more wonderful. Jan, the host, is a wonderful "innkeeper" both attentive (not too much) and informative. The apartment is clean, cozy and accessible to trams and buses. Staying for 3 days or three weeks? Stay at the Lucky Piper!


GREAT LOCATION!

4.8 on April 03, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Lucky Piper when we were visiting Amsterdam in March 2007. It was the perfect location! We rented bikes and traveled back and forth everyday to the Melweg for a festival. It was so nice to retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city to our own boat! Jan was a gracious host who made us feel right at home. We felt like locals by the time we left! Can't wait to go back next year!


House in the Water

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 90 - € 125
  • Reviews (8) 4.5
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 31-646677085

Visit Website »

View details

Top