Mountain Brook Cottages Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

A beautiful and tranquil getaway...

5 on October 27, 2013

I am relocating to Jackson County, and was looking for a place to both work, and to then relax and enjoy the spectacular yet tranquil western NC mountains. I found everything I was looking for at Mountain Brook Cottages...a pet friendly, well stocked charming and comfortable fireplace cottage, spectacular walks into the mountain by the streams, activities galore and friendly faces in the many charming nearby towns, and the friendly and most accommodating proprietors...in short, the best of all worlds for a work, vacation, romantic, or family getaway...or all of the above...I will be returning soon... R. Taylor


Three days in heaven!

5 on October 15, 2013

I spent a lovely weekend with my grandchildren, ages 7 and 9, and just can't say enough about our time at Mountain Brook. Our cabin bordered a babbling brook and the sound was so soothing as we relaxed each evening. We made frequent use of the barbeque grill next to the brook and the firepit up the lane. The game room was a hit with the children as was the fireplace in the cabin. We hiked the beautiful nature trail and enjoyed breakfast on the wrap around porch each morning. The owners, Michele and Gus, were wonderful. They went way above the call of duty to make us feel welcome and valued. I highly recommend this magical place. Carolyn Diamond Athens, GA


peaceful

5 on October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a few days this past weekend. I made the reservations, he thought we were staying in a hotel. He was surprised and loved it, along with myself. We're planning another stay in another month or so. Loved the owners!! Loved everthing about it. So cozy. Best place I've stayed in a long time. Sheila & David ,SC


A great quiet place in the mountains

5 on October 04, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Mountain Brook Cottages. From making contact and securing reservations to the lovely and quiet atmosphere and the comfortable cottage itself, we had a great relaxing time. Finding such solitude amongst friendly hosts is rare and we are thankful we made the right choice for a weekend getaway in the beautiful western NC mountains. Mountain Brook Cottages is all they advertise it to be and more. Highly recommended!


Motorcycle Trip

4.8 on October 02, 2013

A couple of my friends and I stayed a few days at the Mountain Brook Cottages on a motorcycle trip. It is conveniently located to Franklin were ate breakfast before heading out on our mountain adventure and had dinner when we got back. The cottage was clean and a good value.

Innkeeper Response
It is ALWAYS a pleasure to hear from happy guests! We'll be watching for you next time. Thank YOU~


Charming little resort on the mountain!

4.8 on September 24, 2013

Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful setting and property. Easy access to WCU. Older cabins have everything you need and are extremely clean for their age. Nothing fancy, but a perfect place to come back to every night. So glad we stayed here for WCU family weekend.


Love Mountain Brook!

5 on September 24, 2013

5th time here and will keep coming back. The McMahons are great and make everybody feel welcome. I can't say enough about the service and location. Definitely the perfect place to get away from it all. .


Wish we could have stayed longer!

4.8 on September 16, 2013

Fully-equipped kitchen, comfortably furnished (including those all-important beds), exceptionally well-kept and clean. Maqelle is an attentive and charming hostess. Lovely place to sit on the porch or by the fireplace after a day's activities in the beautiful mountains, while listening to the murmuring brook.

Innkeeper Response
Sometimes you are lucky enough to recognize a great potential guest on the first phone call! We love meeting new friends, it is the best part of this business. Hope to see you again soon~


Nice private location!

4.6 on September 12, 2013

We loved having our own cabin, not sharing a wall with someone is great especially when you are on your 2nd honeymoon.


Relaxing at the Mountain Brook

4.4 on September 07, 2013

We love the Mountain Brook Cottages, and look forward to our Labor Day visit each year. I’ll never forget the first year we came. Our grandson, Jacob (12 yrs. now) was only 8 years old. He excitedly came to me to tell me there was a game room. I began to gather quarters thinking of an arcade. When we got to the game room and opened it, he squealed with delight. “This is great” he said. Slowing down and stepping back into “family times” is why we love to visit the Mountain Brook Inn! !

Innkeeper Response
So sweet! Sometimes simple IS better! That is exactly what we dream of providing. Thank you for being our guest!


Just Shy of Paradise

4.6 on August 22, 2013

My husband and I just love this place, we have been visiting for 6 years. The cabin has a full kitchen and grocery stores are nearby, as well as restaurants. Love to watch the leaves change or the snow fall. A great place to chill or enjoy some of the many activities nearby.

Innkeeper Response
Makes our hearts sing! Thank you~


Most Relaxing Place Ever!

4.6 on July 23, 2013

Mountain Brook Cottages is an excellent establishment! From the moment I booked our cottage until the day we left, we completely enjoyed our stay. Reasonably priced, peaceful solitude and a wonderful getaway, we will definitely be using Mountain Brook Cottages in the furture.


Sweet cottages

3.8 on July 10, 2013

My family and I have been escaping to these charming cottages for over 15 years. While it is hot and humid in Atlanta, just 2.5 hours away is a charming cottage waiting for me with a babbling brook right outside the window. Owners are extremely attentive, and now with wireless, it makes it an even better place to go to enjoy the beautiful mountains. Ahhhhhh!! Dr. and Mrs. John Doyle

Innkeeper Response
Over 15 years! We love our 'Be Back' guests. The trees and brooks here on the property DO make for wonderfully lush mountain TIME. Love our cool summer nights! Thank you~


Felt like Home

5 on May 23, 2013

Arriving is like going to one's own vacation cottage in the mountains. Everything was just right: high comfort, spotless kitchen and bath, plenty of extra pillows, and warm and friendly staff. A few days in the Mountain Brook Cabins is like easing back into a comfort zone from the past, at once familiar but new to the eye. Just right.

Innkeeper Response
We strive to make our property an extension of our own home. It is the many small details that contribute to the whole. Thank you for YOUR attention to what we offer! We'll leave the light on for you~


Our Home Away From Home

4.4 on May 08, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Mountain Brook for 5 years now. We got engaged there, have gone back for wedding anniversaries and other times we just want to get away from it all! The grounds are rich with foliage and nestled into the mountains, the cabins are rustic and cozy and the owners make you feel completely at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else for my mountain getaway!

Innkeeper Response
It's folks like you and your husband that we love to see returning year after year. We are so glad we can provide a respite for those who want to unplug and spend some twogether time! Thanks for staying with us!


Kick back and enjoy

4.4 on November 27, 2012

These cabins, Circa 1930, are the original. They are quiet, quaint, and enjoyable. The best part is the owners. They treat you like family. The cabins are updated, but the fireplace and the brook running outside your bedroom makes you feel like you went back in time.

Innkeeper Response
We are proud of our historic property and even have old photos of the original owners, the Clarks, placed in the office and in the cottages. These quaint cabins were known as "tourist courts" back then, and we often have "old timers" come into the office to tell us stories about those long ago and often yearned for days. So glad they pleased you. Come see us again soon!


Great getaway!

4.4 on November 06, 2012

What a great getaway in the mountains! If you are looking for a place to get away from the rat race of technology and rest this is the place for you! We had a wonderful stat, very clean and Maqelle, Gus and Michelle are FABULOUS people! Couldn't ask for a better place to get away! This was our second visit and can't wait to go back! Thanks for the wonderful hospitality!


Next to perfection

5 on October 25, 2012

This was our first stay with Mountain Brook, however, it will not be our last. What a fabulous little get away and great find! Just fantastic!


First time Great Experience

4.6 on October 24, 2012

Cottages are old, but so are we, so they met and exceeded what we were looking for. The cookies were great but we had to make them ourselves. On the otherhand, they provided what we needed. Personal attention and service should be a ten instead of five. Hope to return again, especially in the fall season.

Innkeeper Response
...and that chocolate chip recipe is the best one ever. What could be better than sitting at your desk and inhaling the aroma of cookies fresh baked wafting in your door? I like a balanced diet...a cookie in each hand! Thanks for your visit - you're not to old to come back!


Girls weekend over Labor Day

4.2 on October 21, 2012

My niece from SC, my sister and I from PA, met at Mountain Brook for a weekend getaway. Stayed there previously several years ago with my sister and my daughter for an entire week. The location is perfect, peaceful, and exactly what we were looking for. The views and the mountain roads are amazing. Took a day trip to Helen, GA, a beautiful drive and interesting diversion. Hope to go back again, next time we'll take the motorcycles along like we did the first time.

Innkeeper Response
Yes, some time away is better than none, but a longer stay in which to enjoy all the mountains has to offer is perfect. We are always happy to welcome motorcycle riders, too, since we are "right in the middle of the most" and have paved roads and easy access. Plan another Girls Get together soon!


Wonderful mountain getaway!

5 on October 20, 2012

We were able to stay in the "romantic" cabin - and it was amazing! The owners are all three welcoming, kind and helpful. The view in mid-October was so stunning. Each morning we sat on our porch, sipping hot coffee and enjoying the splendor of the fall leaves. The fireplace was so perfect as it not only kept us warm, it was a beautiful accent to the room. Don't miss the hiking trail on the site as there are some beautiful natural things to see, and it's a nice walk without being too challenging. We had such a wonderful time, it was hard to leave to come back to Florida. But when we left - we said - we'll see you again soon!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind review! If I didn't already own the property and have the pleasure of living here, I'd want to visit based on your description. Yes, Fall if spectacular, but then, so in winter, spring and summer! We'll be watching for you whenever you come!


A night in the woods!

4.8 on October 07, 2012

The cabin and host were just wonderful! We really enjoyed the little town of Sylva. Dog bowls and bed were provided for our Java as well. Nice back to nature experience!

Innkeeper Response
Glad Java (and you, too) enjoyed your "back to nature" visit. So many folks travel with their best buddies, that we're happy to provide 3 pet friendly cottages for those stays. Did you explore Franklin when you were here? We love living near little towns with individual personalities! Come back soon.


A Wonderful Place

5 on September 26, 2012

We first visited Mountain Brook Cottages in 1980, we fell in love with this place. We have visited three times since them each time enjoying the quiet, beautiful surroundings even more than the last. The cottoages are perfect for couples or familys, the stock trout pond makes dinner easy and Maqelle, Michele and Gus are wonderful people. If we are in the mountain in North Carolina, we are staying at Mountain Brook Cottages. A wonderful place


WCU Parents' Weekend 9/21-9/23/12

4.2 on September 25, 2012

Walked into our cabin and was instantly transported to childhood memories of my great aunt's house. If cinnamon rolls had been baking in the oven, I might have begun to cry.

Innkeeper Response
Let us know next time and we'll have hot cinnamon rolls waiting for you - and a box of Kleenix for your tears, too!


Weekend Get Away

3.4 on September 16, 2012

My wife and I wanted a weekend away and we chose to visit the Cherokee NC area. We chose Mountain Brook Cottages because of it's proximity to Cherokee and the fact that they had a cottage with a sauna and a whirlpool tub. We found the cottage to be clean but the interior dated. That is not that big of a deal as we were out exploring the area all day. The staff at Mountain Brook Cottages was very friendly and helpful and offered some great suggestions on local dinning. If you are in the area and need a clean, comfortable place to stay I would recommend Mountain Brook Cottages.

Innkeeper Response
Yes, while it's true...some of our furnishings reflect an earlier time, less demanding time...our cleanliness really shines and we pride ourselves on our guest services. We've owned and operated Mountain Brook Cottages for more than 32 years and if there's something about our area that we don't know, we will find it out!


Perfect Old School Mountain Vacation Spot

5 on July 01, 2012

Cabins were first rate. Clean and well-maintained. Staff were the epitome of gracious service and their desire to please the customer. Quiet, peaceful, and very relaxing. Trout caught from the pond were delicious. Dining in local area was great also. Will definitely stay again.


Peace and Quiet...Great place to unwind.

4.4 on June 02, 2012

Mountain Brook is a great getaway from it all. Good news you are still close enough to modern conveniences should you want them. The cottages are perfect size and well kept. You'll get all the fresh air you want with the all the windows and doors available for each cottage. The staff is SUPER FRIENDLY! I also had the pleasure of meeting some nice neighbors to share stories with. A hiking trail is maintained for the guests and it's right out your backdoor. You will enjoy the trail and all the wildlife you can see along the trail. Don't pass them up. It's a GREAT value and VERY convenient. We made it through Great Smokey Mountains NP, hiked up to Clingman's Dome lookout and waltzed through Gatlinburgh, TN and made it back to the cottage by 9pm. Check them out. Art L.


The Perfect Getaway Haven!

5 on May 23, 2012

There are few places you can travel to and always feel like home, Mountain Brook is one of those places. The surroundings, the view, the cottages are as majestic as they are cozy. The environment is welcoming for couples, families, groups alike and we can't wait to go back. The proximity to explore and shop is just right, and upon your return to the cottage .. it's time to relax in front of the fireplace or enjoy a lovely evening on your porch. Simply Perfect for a vacation or a much needed getaway!


I want to live at Mountain Brook!

5 on May 22, 2012

wow! wow! wow! Mountain Brook Cottages is a one of kind gem. I found my favorite place in the world, all by accident, over 15 years ago and have been going back ever since. This is the most beautiful, serene, and fun place you will ever have the pleasure of staying. You enter as a stranger but you leave as family. The world keeps changing for the bad and the good, but Mountain Brook stays the BEST!

Innkeeper Response
Guests like you are the BEST! And guests like you are the reason we've continued to maintain our property's "old timey" feeling. As we say "Mountain Brook - where the past never becomes the past"! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!


A rare find!

4.6 on October 06, 2011

Wev'e visited mountain brook many times and as always, clean , quiet and relaxing. Gus, Michelle and Maquelle are fantastic hosts.


Cross country motorcycle trip of 9/2011

5 on September 20, 2011

We rode out from San Jose, CA especially to stay at Mountain Brook while we rode the local roads: Tail of the Dragon, Cherohala Skyway etc. Tropical Storm Lee blew in before we arived and Maqelle had a hair dryer in the cabin prior ro our arrival as that was the only way my boots would be dry before next morning. Upon arrival you receive a map of the local restaurants and grocery stores, magazines about the area are already in the cabins and if you want more info about the local roads Maqelle is the person to ask! I have been coming to Mountain Brook for years and the McMahons are the ideal innkeepers with their knowledge of the area and the dedicated quiet environment of the cabins. We are already discussing a return ride next year. Mary Kay Jeskey, Roger Moraes, Ron Green.


Our First Visit

4.0 on July 31, 2011

My friends and I came up from Florida for a two day stay. We loved the cabin and the atmosphere and the covered front porch and swing. We came on our harleys and could ride all day and come back to a pleasant evening with all the peace and quiet we all needed. We look forward to our next visit.


40th Anniversary

5 on July 30, 2011

Anniversary, college reunion and family visit. Mountain Brook was centrally located for all our venues. Convenient to the highway yet far enough off the highway for peace and quiet. The owners take much pride in keeping the grounds nice and allowing guests to have a lovely, natural mountain experience. The large jetted tub with bubble bath was was great! We will stay there again when we are in the area!!


Quiet

4.6 on June 28, 2011

We spent two days driving 75 min to pigeon Forge each day. It was worth the drive to stay in a place that's quiet and you can sit on a porch and listen to the water running down the stream that runs through the property.


Mountain Brook Cottages in North Carolina

4.6 on June 04, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 50th anniversary at Mt. Brook. What a welcome we received from Michele and Gus! They are a delightful couple and helped make our stay a success. It was the quiet getaway we desired, tucked in the gorgeous Smokies. Dining was not provided, but Michele readily provided maps and suggestions for our dining. We were in the "honeymoon" cottage, and it was fantastic.

Innkeeper Response
Stephen and Frances, we loved having your daughter honeymoon with us in 1994 and we loved having you celebrate your 50th with us. Please come and see us again soon - maybe meet your family here and have a reunion! Happy Anniversary! Michele and Gus


May in the Mountains

5 on May 16, 2011

From our first glimpse of the cabins nestled against the mountain, we knew we'd found a place that would give us the kind of peaceful retreat we were looking for. And then Michele checked us in with a warm and friendly welcome, instantly making us feel at home. The cabin was roomy, comfortable and attractively decorated. The fully-equipped kitchen allowed us to prepare our own meals, although we also enjoyed several restaurants nearby. We loved having coffee on the front porch. But our favorite thing about our stay was listening to the brook babbling right near our window at night. Any residual "real-life" stress just melted away. What a relaxing vacation! --Tom and Lue

Innkeeper Response
And the fishing was fun, too, right?


Peace, quiet, and RELAXATION!

4.6 on November 06, 2010

Mountain beauty, peaceful and quiet, warm happy welcome from Michele, pleasant cabin with warm woodburning fireplace, NO PHONES, NO TV - JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR!! It's hard to say whether it is the friendly staff (Michele), the beautiful mountain views, the proximity to many Smoky Mtn. attractions, or the pleasant unplugged nature of this resort that is its best feature. I can't decide, so I'll give them all a "five". And don't be concerned about the "dining" option above - it is self serve, bring your own, and I'm not much of a cook!


Great Labor Day Weekend.....

4.8 on October 14, 2010

We arrived late on the Friday before Labor Day....around 9:30pm and found a note on the door to our daughter wishing her a Happy 14th Birthday. My husband is active duty Air Force and was currently at school in Montgomery, AL and we live on the east side of North Carolina. Since it was a long weekend, we decided to 'meet in the middle'. I am certainly glad I found Mountain Brook Cottages. They were very willing to work with us in getting there late and then allowing us a late checkout so that my husband could give our daughter a ride on his Harley for her b'day. We would certainly stay there again if we have the opportunity. The fireplace was a welcome sight in the evenings! They do not have TVs, but we certainly did not miss it--was nice to hear the brook running behind the cabin instead. We spent time sightseeing in Cherokee, through the Smoky Mtn National Park and just driving around the local area. We found a wonderful Christmas shop in Dillsboro and had breakfast in Sylva. Thank you for a great time. We really did not want to leave....

Innkeeper Response
And we say "Thank You" to you, Robert, Janet and Elizabeth for serving our country. Whether you wear the uniform and the boots or stay home and cheer for your loved one, our country would not be the same without your dedication. Come see us again, too.


gene &sherry alveshire 9/4/2010

4.0 on September 06, 2010

we stayed overnight at this hideaway. it was nice and quiet.everything is there for a comfortable and peaceful stay. the owners are nice and friendly. we are planning to return in the fall.


Entertained friends from Sweden at Mountainbrook

4.8 on August 11, 2010

Our dear friends visited again this year, and revisiting Mountain Brook for a very long weekend was at the top of the wish list for all four of us. It is wonderfully relaxing to listen to the brook, the birds, or crickets while conversing on the porch. The porch swing and rockers remind me of childhood -- one can't help but relax and sway. The flowers and proliferation of butterflies make it even more magical. The decor is charming inside, too, comfortable and welcoming. I find the Pennsylvania Dutch paintings with the explanation of the symbolism is one of the small things I enjoy the most. Discovering the details and individuality of the cabins is a welcome part of settling in each year. As the cottages are in the mountains and its been a very damp year, there may be a slight mustiness in the air at certain times of the day, but for me it's all part of being in the forrest. We couldn't ask for more welcoming, gracious, helpful hosts, and it's a source of personal pride to share such a special getaway with our dear friends. I know they feel the same way.


The perfect place to relax.

4.4 on July 15, 2010

We have been going to Mountain Brook for 25 years. We always look forward to enjoying the area and then coming to the cottage to relax and enjoy the babbling brook in our back yard. It serves as a great place to enjoy the Smokies and not have the hustle of Gatlinburg.


Great Weekend Get Away

4.6 on July 15, 2010

The perfect place for a nice quiet weekend. Mountain Brook Cottages took me back to childhood stays in the mountains. No TV, no telephone and no traffic! Michele was exceptionally helpful with directions and recommendations for our gem mining destinatuins and where to find the best "local" restaurants. Thanks McMahons - we'll be back!!!


The Good Life

4.0 on June 09, 2010

Stayed at Mountain Brook over Memorial Day weekend, 2010. Was upgraded to the Romancer - loved the open floor plan, spacious and comfortable. Porch swing, Jacuzzi and dry sauna were real plusses too! Staff was helpful, even supplying me with ice for my cooler - they have no ice machine. No dining facilities, but the cottage kitchen was well-equipped and had everything we needed to do our own cooking and have a wonderful weekend. Now down to business: the scenery is beautiful, much less hustle and bustle on the N.C. side than the TN side, completely avoided Gatlinburg. Am sold, would return to N.C. and this property in a Manhattan minute.


Highly recommeded

5 on June 08, 2010

This is a great comfortable relaxing place with considerate and helpful hosts. We enjoyed our week and plan to return as soon as we can. Lots to do nearby or just stay and relax in the cabin. Would recommend to everyone.


A Place To Just Relax and To Enjoy Being

5 on May 19, 2010

Staying at Mountain Brook Cottages is like staying with friends for the week-end. With a busy work schedule, we find confort in no phones, TV's or rushed and packed vacation to-do-list when we relax in our favorate cabin. The owners have become dear friends and we look forward to visiting with them. Our favorite part is to lay on the couch in front of the fire and read a good book. The sound of nature and the brook will put anyone to ease and you are with-in driving distance to all of the area without having to hear car horns or dealing with busy traffic. This is the place to just enjoy living.


Perfection

5 on May 18, 2010

My daughters and I found this place because we were looking for a convenient place to stay for a WCU graduation. Whew. We booked. Little did I know that we would TOTALLY fall in love with the cabins, the scenery, the quiet and the peacefulness. Thank you Maqelle, for being so kind and making us feel so very welcome. We will be back! And soon I hope. And I will be telling all my friends about you too!


Little piece of heaven on earth

4.0 on May 13, 2010

I have been visiting Mountain Brook since 1985, first with my then-husband for our honeymoon, and now with my 2 grown children. It is the perfect getaway with no TV to bother you with nonsense shows or bad news. Just sitting on the porch swing listening to the birds and babbling brook is so peaceful and it makes you forget about everything. In these tough times, it is a very economical place to stay since you can cook in the cabins, they are fully furnished. Just pop into the town grocery store on the way up and you are all set for your stay. We ate on the porch for all our meals, grilled out and even made s'mores in the fireplace. It is truly a little piece of heaven on earth and the owners and staff are exceptional people (and their little pets too!)


Serenity now.

5 on April 09, 2010

This place was perfect for the relaxing getaway I needed. I had a cottage that backed up to a stream. The sound was wonderful and I slept like a baby. They supplied everything I needed for cooking my meals (except the food, of course). The bed was very comfortable. Miqelle and her little dog Poppy were very cordial. My only regret is that I didn't had more time to stay. I miss my Mountain Brook Cottage already.


Enjoyed Our Stay At Mountain Brook Cottages

3.6 on October 25, 2009

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our firewood was restocked in the morning. We would stay here again. Great location.


fun,relax, enjoy

3.8 on January 08, 2008

This is the most peaceful place I've been, in a long time. The fresh air and sounds of the mountains where food for the soul. My grandchildren had the most fun catching the fish and the big boys had fun frying them. I of couse had fun eating them. I'll be back as soon as I can.


Mountain Brook Cottages

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $150
  • Reviews (50) 4.6
  • Rooms 12

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8285864329

Visit Website »

View details

Top