The Sunset Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Our home away from home

5 on May 22, 2015

We decided to stay at the Sunset Inn to celebrate our 50th anniversary. We could have gone anywhere, but we started coming here since they first opened 15 yrs. ago, and couldn't think of a nicer place to go. Andrea, Dave and the entire staff make every effort to make you feel at home and special. It just keeps getting "gooder and gooder" from the home baked specialties for breakfast, to the extra care in cleanliness in your room. Happy 15th anniversary and many more! We thank you. Karen & Don

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We have always enjoyed your visits to the Inn and hope there will be many more in the future!


Just Lovely

5 on May 04, 2015

Great room, great staff, unique, clean, and updated! I love everything about this inn. I was treated with respect and heartwarming southern hospitality!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn! We really appreciate all of the wonderful compliments and hope you'll visit again soon!


Tranquil and Beautiful-Sunset Inn

4.8 on May 04, 2015

We will never forget the wonderful stay that we have just had in the magical Sunset Inn. We were given a wonderful welcome and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. The setting is wonderful as it is near to the beautiful beach but also surrounded by marshlands and waterways which you can view from your balcony off the lovely rooms. You can even sit and watch the world go by from your rocking chair. Very unique and memorable and should we every return to NC we will definitely revisit and stay. Thank you we can highly recommend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing from our guests and are so happy that you had a great trip to North Carolina. Thanks again and please come back to see us!


Love The Sunset Inn!

5 on March 31, 2015

My room was the Charleston Room for three nights during a writer's conference. I felt so at home, so relaxed, so cared for by the staff and the exquisitely decorated room. A home away from home with the added bonus of time at the beach. Cherished every minute of my time at The Sunset Inn.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! We love having our writing retreats and hope you'll come back for many more. Sunset Beach is truly a perfect place to get your creative juices flowing! See you soon, I hope!


Escape to Nature

5 on March 31, 2015

I discovered the Sunset Inn last fall during a Writing Retreat and found it to be the perfect getaway! My room was beautiful, with a very comfortable bed and gorgeous views of the marsh. I felt like I had stepped into the old South with the long porches and rocking chairs outlining each floor of the inn.The staff went out of their way to see that every possible need was taken care of -- even cooking me a completely allergen free breakfast each morning. And the short walk to the beach where I saw glorious sunrises and sunsets completed the package. I can't wait to return!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking your time to post this review. We were and are more than happy to accommodate your dietary needs. I hope you'll be able to come to another retreat soon. Thanks again!


We Adore The Sunset Inn

4.2 on March 30, 2015

My husband and I have been staying at the Sunset Inn three to four times each year for many years. We love so many things about The Sunset Inn! The facility itself is so charming and very well built! The rooms are quite nicely decorated and impeccably clean! The screened porches that overlook the marsh have given us hours and hours of relaxation and spectacular views! The menus for breakfast are varied and always include hot, homemade items, sweets, fruit, and a variety of other items suitable for guests with any special dietary needs. We especially love the staff at The Inn who treat us like family and they meet our every need and beyond! We love going there every chance we get and The Sunset Inn is at the very top of our list of favorite vacation places!

Innkeeper Response
What can I say, but we love you both and thank you so much for the wonderful review! It means a lot to us and we appreciate your friendship and business over the years. See you soon!


A beautiful, welcoming coastal refuge

5 on March 30, 2015

When I am yearning for the peace and beauty of marsh views, sea wind, and sunrise and sunset walks, my number one choice is the Sunset Inn. Sunset Beach, which boasts fantastic sunrise AND sunset views and miles of unspoiled beach to walk, swim, fish, etc., is in my mind, the best North and South Carolina have to offer, and the Sunset Inn offers all one could want in hospitality, comfort, service, and surroundings. I'm proud to be able to offer writing retreats at this lovely inn every February and November -- my participants always have great things to say about their experience. Maureen Ryan Griffin, www.wordplaynow.com

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Maureen! You are the best and we so appreciate you. Thank you for your very gracious review. You've always been a pleasure and I hope we will have many more retreats in our future!


Superb!!

5 on March 28, 2015

We've enjoyed this special inn for over a decade. We visit the Sunset Inn 1-3 times a year because it truly is the perfect getaway. Everything is consistent!! The staff is so welcoming and helpful, the rooms are immaculate, breakfast is always delicious, and it's so peaceful. The location is perfect as the beach is gorgeous and the surrounding marsh is full of wildlife. Wilmington and Myrtle Beach are close, shopping and great restaurants nearby, lots of outdoor activities to enjoy such as golf or biking, or just relax and take a respite from it all!! The Sunset Inn is so comfortable and is our home away from home!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so very much for this wonderful review! We always enjoy having you here and really appreciate your continued business and support. We love getting to know our guests so again, thank you so much!


The Perfect Seashell at the Beach

4.8 on March 27, 2015

Sunset Inn is the perfect retreat at the beach. The accommodations are lovely as well as comfortable. Although each room has a visitor’s notebook complete with brochures for nearby activities and menus for local restaurants, the Inn’s staff has up-to-date information on special events, author talks and local concerts. True to its southern roots, the Inn has a wrap-around veranda on each floor and a delightful front porch – all complete with rockers, swings and Adirondack chairs – the perfect places to enjoy a delicious breakfast or just read a good book!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the very nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and we're always happy to steer our guests in the right direction regarding activities and restaurants. We hope to see you again!


I go every November

5 on March 26, 2015

I visit the Sunset Inn every November to participate in a writers' retreat, and have done so for the past several years. The weather is usually mild, so a sweater or light jacket will do. The hotel staff is as pleasant and welcoming as any you would find anywhere, the rooms are always spotless and maintained in excellent condition. The rooms are individualized, each with its unique theme and décor, though the furniture is more or less the same from room to room. The beds are comfortable, the TV and A/C systems always work as designed, and I like the choice of sitting on the front balcony or the screened porch in back as the mood strikes me. The "on-site dining" is casual--breakfast and lunch only--and always delicious. I especially look forward to the eggy and sometimes cheesy breakfast casseroles (they seem to have a new recipe each time) and the coffee cakes, but there are plenty of choices for folks who prefer to avoid meat and eggs. Lunches usually feature very good salads and deli-style sandwiches. The inn is within easy walking distance of the beach, has a great view of the marshes, quick access to the mainland via the new (and aesthetically pleasing) bridge, and many good eating and drinking establishments within a few minutes drive. I would not bring children here (no pool, and the rooms are really designed for just one or two adults) but the Sunset Inn is an ideal spot for reading, writing, walking, thinking, meditation, romancing or just plain getting away from it all.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the wonderful review and taking your time to post it. We love having our writers in the spring and fall and are so happy that you keep coming back year after year. It's always a pleasure to have you here! See you again in November, I hope!


Refreshing Retreat!

4.6 on September 29, 2010

I spent a peaceful night in The Smithville Room. The marsh view was so relaxing and the sunset view was awesome, both from my bug-free screened-in porch! Breakfast was more than what seems to have become buffet/continental. It was served buffet-style, but was an excellent cooked selection. Staff was very accommodating, allowing me to use downstairs facilities after my day at the beach even though I had already checked out. Follow-up service...how wonderfully refreshing! Will definitely stay again.


Consistently Wonderful!

5 on March 12, 2007

After staying in many B&B's, I find The Sunset Inn consistently wonderful and feels like home. The rooms are always immaculate, the staff warm and friendly, and the most comfortable sheets anywhere. I like not being formally served breakfast so that I have the choice of dining with others or privately in my room. The views of the marsh and sunsets are spectacular and peaceful on the private screened porches. The beach is a short walk on a quiet beautiful island. Looking forward to every return to The Sunset Inn.


"Perfect Getaway!"

5 on March 06, 2007

We just got back from three days at "The Sunset Inn", Sunset Beach, N.C. It was absolutely wonderful! So relaxing and peaceful and quiet! The Inn is beautiful, as are the rooms, and the staff is superb! I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone wanting to "get away from it all"...The rooms have screened-in porches over the marsh, and you can also see the Intercoastal Waterway from your room. We saw the most spectacular sunsets that I have ever seen! Sunset Beach is near so many places, so you do not lack in things to do, if you so choose. We loved walking down the beautiful, natural wide beach, to "Bird Island"...Well worth the walk! The breakfast that was served at the Inn was delicious! We will be going back for many years to come!


The Sunset Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $209
  • Reviews (13) 4.9
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9105751000
  • Fax 1-9105791018
  • Toll free 1-8885751001

Visit Website »

View details

Top