The Duck Smith House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
121 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful!!!

5 on August 12, 2014

This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and the sisters made it wonderful. I would stay at a bed and breakfast again because of them. They give you just the right amount of attention to make you feel so very special and you come to feel as if they are your long lost friends.


Great B&B

5 on July 29, 2014

My sister and I recently spent a wonderful time at the Duck Smith House - what a lovely place and the sisters are terrific. They pay attention to every detail in order to make the customers stay the best it can be. Fantastic breakfast every day and snacks in the evening. Highly recommend this B&B!!


If You Aren't There by Now, You Should Be!!!

5 on July 20, 2014

One of our best B&B experiences. Joe and Kathy Huddleston, Manteo, NC


Best B&B stay in the last 5 years.

5 on June 25, 2014

My wife, Caroline, and I stayed overnight at The Duck Smith House this June. We were on our way to a week's stay in Asheville and had wanted to see the pottery in Seagrove. Our hostesses, Barbara and Suzanne, were so charming and funny and knowledgeable. They made our stay a delight and they made a super breakfast. We felt genuinely welcome in their home. Thanks again, Caroline and Steve


Beautiful!

5 on June 24, 2014

This past spring, a spur of the moment plan had our family of three (based in Raleigh) heading to the NC Zoo and then on to Boone. We decided to stay at The Duck Smith House for one evening. Can't say enough good things about this B&B ... though it's Barbara and Suzanne who were the jewels of our stay. Their hospitality was wonderful and obvious love for their business were very apparent. They made our stay so very comfortable. (We stayed in the The Waverly Room, with two double beds. Lots of room for the three of us!)


southern comfort and charm

4.8 on May 23, 2014

this is The Place to stay! Excellent service, delicious breakfast, beautiful presentation, wonderful rooms,very comfortable. The house itself is amazing. very convenient location,close to many potteries restaurants and the zoo. A wonderful place for a weekend getaway. Barbara and Suzanne run a beautiful B&B. already booked for our next visit !!! LOVED THIS PLACE!


Lovely

4.6 on April 18, 2014

Lovely, quiet, can't wait to return!


Wonderful

5 on April 18, 2014

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! The owners do a great job!


Excellent & Delightful

5 on December 20, 2013

Southern hospitality at it's best. These open hearted sisters extend a warm welcome to guests. Delicious breakfasts, fresh flowers in your room, many small thoughtful, friendly touches.


Great Stay

5 on December 20, 2013

Room were large. Breakfast great. Close to all the potteries in the area.


Marvelous Weekend

5 on December 20, 2013

Duck Smith House is a wonderful operation. Extremely comfortable, well appointed, with outstanding fare for breakfast. Owners really make you feel at home. Kudos to them.


The Duck Smith House

4.2 on December 19, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B, the house is so clean and the owner's Barbara and Suzanne were so sweet and welcoming. We stayed in the summit room which is the smallest of all four rooms but plenty of room for two. The breakfast was outstanding!


The Duck Smith House

5 on December 19, 2013

Delightful Bed & Breakfast with an outstanding breakfast. We loved our stay and would stay again.


The Duck Smith House

5 on December 17, 2013

A delightful surprise with 2 very nice owners and a funny dog! Yummy breakfast! Charming and comfortable!


The Duck Smith House

5 on December 17, 2013

...presented us with a most pleasant overnight interlude and scrumptious breakfast in the middle of our 2-day visit to the North Carolina Zoo and pottery district. Go do it!


3rd Visit to Duck Smith

5 on December 17, 2013

Always 1st Rate, Great hosts & food!


The Duck Smith House

4.8 on December 13, 2013

Wonderful B&B. Highly Recommend!


EXCEPTIONAL!

5 on December 13, 2013

Perfect from start to finish. Stayed 3 nights. Great. Highly recommend. Suzanne & Barbara are awesome! B&B clean & comfy.


Awesome!

5 on December 12, 2013

I truly can't say enough good things about this B&B and the 2 ladies that own it. We look forward to coming back every year!


The Duck Smith House

5 on December 12, 2013

This is our favorite B&B - Clean- Wonderful food and the owners make you feel like family!


The Duck Smith House

5 on December 12, 2013

This is the epitome of elegant yet comfortable Inn with the most delightful sisters who take such good care of us!


The Duck Smith House

4.6 on December 12, 2013

The Murphy sisters set the standard for service and comfort. In a Home-like setting. It's not possible to do it better.


At Home

5 on December 10, 2013

The Inn keepers made me feel right at home. Breakfast was fabulous and the inn itself comfortable and relaxing. I can't wait to return.


Nice Getaway

5 on November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Duck Smith as part of a weekend getaway, to Seagroves Pottery. Barbara and Suzanne are outstanding hostesses.


Wonderful stay

4.6 on October 17, 2013

This was my first time at a B&B. I would not hesitate to return. The ambiance and food were wonderful. The owners delightful.


Best kept secret!

5 on October 17, 2013

Beautifully appointed and maintained. Passionate owners who respect your privacy, wonderful food. You will be thrilled. Highly recommended.


Fantastic Inn

5 on October 15, 2013

This has to be one of the BEST B&Bs my husband and I have ever stayed at. The hosts are gracious, the breakfast absolutely delicious and the room beautiful and comfortable!


Lovely

5 on October 09, 2013

Duck Smith B&B is physically charming, but the attention and warmth make the place wonderful! Best breakfast ever!


Delightful!

5 on October 03, 2013

Very welcoming atmosphere, exceptionally clean and breakfast was fantastic. Everything catered to our wants and needs. Loved it and would certainly stay again.


Happy Mother's Day

5 on September 09, 2013

My daughter and I spent a weekend here. These sister's (the owner's) are so sweet and kind. They have created a wonderful place for R&R.


Relaxing

5 on September 04, 2013

Wonderful place to relax, sit on the porch, water the birds and feel at home.


Wonderful stay

4.4 on August 29, 2013

Barbara and Suzanne were wonderful hostesses. Serving beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts. Rooms very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Looking forward to visiting again.


Duck House Stay

5 on August 28, 2013

This B&B is run by two charming sisters who make their guests feel like family. Scrupulously clean, gourmet breakfasts, beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms.


Terrific place!

5 on August 28, 2013

Great room, terrific breakfast, relaxing atmosphere. Located in the Pottery capital of NC. Hospitality was terrific!


Excellent!

5 on August 26, 2013

We loved staying at the Duck Smith B&B because our room was great, the hosts were so personable and friendly, food was great AND location was perfect.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

5 on August 26, 2013

Run by two outgoing and friendly sisters who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was outstanding and every room was unique. We loved stayed here!


Wonderful!!

5 on August 22, 2013

This is an awesome B&B! Great food (for those of us who appreciate that) and wonderful accommodations. You are made to feel so welcome and pampered. Location is perfect - close to zoo!


Hospitality Plus

5 on August 21, 2013

Barbara and Suzanne are perfect Innkeepers - gracious, attentive and caring. They take great pride in their Inn and go the extra mile to ensure guests comfort. We will go back.


Wonderful Place

5 on August 19, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay with Barbara and Suzanne. They are warm, friendly ladies. The Inn is immaculate and the breakfast was the best I've had in a long time. Would highly recommend it.


Will return!

4.8 on August 17, 2013

Beautiful home, wonderful hostesses, breakfast was yummy,rooms spotless, need I say more - will return.


Wonderful - Our Favorite Inn

5 on August 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Duck Smith House more than 10 times since Barbara and Suzanne became the owners. Everything has always been perfect. The rooms are spotless, the beds are great (with ironed sheets), the breakfast delicious and the hospitality perfect. It is a delight to go back again and again.


Lovely inn, terrific hostesses....

5 on August 13, 2013

...and the breakfast was outstanding! We came to Seagrove for a girls' trip, scouting and admiring local potteries and enjoying time together. Barbara and Suzanne made us very welcome, greeting us at the car and sharing their wonderful home with us. The Waverly room - and all the common rooms - were spacious, clean, and welcoming. We absolutely loved staying there and would be very happy to return.


Delightful

5 on August 12, 2013

The owners have done a lovely job of decorating the home and are very gracious hostesses. Our breakfast was extraordinaire!! Glad we stayed. Bed was very comfortable - good nights sleep.


Is there a way to give this B&B 6 stars in each category?

5 on July 30, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of B&B's but this is, hands down, the best! Barbara and Suzanne are the perfect hostesses, making one instantly at home and providing great info about the area's potters and other attractions. The house is spotless, beautifully decorated, and with beds and bedding so comfortable one doesn't want to get up in the morning. Elegantly presented breakfasts are over-the-top yummy. I'll be looking for an excuse to go back soon!


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on June 18, 2013

Our first time staying here and had a very enjoyable time. My 11 year old son loved the meals - and he is not one for breakfasts! Barbara and Suzanne made us feel very welcomed and were very knowledgable about the town and the local attractions. I can't wait to return with my husband as well.


Trade your rat race for a duck waddle

4.6 on June 12, 2013

The Duck Smith Inn was the perfect antidote to the hectic day-to-tday of our lives. And was the ideal respite needed before launching into the frenzy of the holiday season. Barbara and Suzanne were perfect hosts—instinctively knowing when to engage and when to allow solitude. Bravo.


A Night of Luxury

5 on June 11, 2013

Our night stay at The Duck Smith House was incredible. The owners were so accommodating. The bedrooms were fabulous and the bedding. The food was the best I've ever eaten.


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on June 01, 2013

Delightful B&B! Lovely touches all throughout. Amazing breakfast. great TLC and all the amenities. Well done renovation. Perfect for R&R.


Great B&B

4.6 on May 27, 2013

Wonderful B&B, immaculate, tastefully decorated, and the bed was amazing. The sisters were very helpful and gracious. The breakfast was superb I would defiantly visit again. You don't want to miss this B&B


Hospitality!

5 on April 26, 2013

Accomodated our late arrival with grace. Outstanding breakfast. Enjoyed chatting with other guests. Wish we could have stayed for days. Local pottery is fabulous, too.


Outstanding B & B

5 on March 23, 2013

Lovely rooms and exceptionally clean. Marvelous breakfasts (yummy sweet potato pancakes, baked apples, stuffed french toast, etc). Enjoyed eating & drinking off antique china and crystal. Great camaraderie with hosts, Barbara and Suzanne, and all their guests - like we all had been friends for years. They are very special sisters and hosts. Guests were pampered unbelievably! They anticipated our every need and desire. Very knowledgeable about the Seagrove potters and shops in the area and were able to give us help in finding pieces for which we were searching. We loved our two night anniversary stay, but especially enjoyed their backyard bird sanctuary with hundreds of small furry flyers feeding in their many feeders, birdhouses, and even a heated bird bath. We sat with our binoculars and bird books basking in the glory of it all, while swinging on the playhouse porch eating cheese, crackers, and sliced apples on a doily-lined silver tray. The best trip to Seagrove for pottery shopping we have ever had. Will definitely go back and highly recommend it to others.


Wonderful!

5 on February 24, 2013

Great food, company, clean, restful!


Duck Smith B&B Getaway

5 on February 24, 2013

Very beautiful, clean, relaxing, comfortable, and the 2 sisters become friends with all the guests. A place to visit over & over again. The Potters are great too.


The Perfect B & B Experience

5 on October 22, 2012

We stayed one night with Barbara and Suzanne and could not have asked for a more positive experience. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated and the breakfast was wonderful. There is great attention to detail here from the needs of the guests to the little touches that make for a memorable stay. I recommend The Duck Smith House without reservation!


Our best B&B experience ever!

5 on October 09, 2012

We love this B&B!. Barbara and Suzanne are lovely hosts who address your every need. The cheese and fruit tray was a wonderful touch and the fresh cold water in the rooms was perfect. The effort these ladies go to to keep this inn so beautiful and clean is beyond impressive. We truly couldn't have asked for a better b&b experience. We were sorry to go and will miss those delicious breakfasts immensely!


Always Great!

5 on October 08, 2012

Very nice, beautiful home with gorgeous grounds. First rate all the way, our 2nd visit.


A Wonderful House and Hosts

5 on October 07, 2012

We had the best time here! Barbara and Suzanne made us very welcome and comfortable. The room was great. We are looking forward to visiting there again.


Quaint & Friendly

4.8 on October 07, 2012

Very lovely place! Sisters were very kind and accommodating. Relaxing B&B.


Duck Smith House

5 on October 06, 2012

Wonderful Victorian B&B. Beautiful home, lovely setting, delightful innkeepers! Highly recommend.


Warm & Comfortable Home

5 on October 03, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it will not be our last! Thanks to Duck Smith we love everything about B&Bs.


Third Visit to Duck Smith House Was Wonderful

5 on September 27, 2012

We deliberately planned our return trip from Florida to PA so that we could stay for the third time at the Duck Smith House. The owners, Barbara and Suzanne treated us like royalty and provided us great tips on different potters, restaurants and the North Carolina Zoo. Their breakfasts were delicious and their B&B is the cleanest we have found anywhere. We will be visiting again. Ken and Barbie


Outstanding B&B and Innkeepers

5 on September 24, 2012

Barbara & Suzanne (the innkeepers) made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. The rooms are exceptionally clean, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was awesome. I highly recommend the Duck Smith Inn


The Duck Smith House

5 on September 08, 2012

Cozy, comfortable, relaxed B&B. Great bed. Quiet, clean. Excellent hosts, delicious food. We'll be back to this one! Pottery Highway and 200 nearby! A+


We will be back!

5 on August 13, 2012

We have stayed at a lot of B&Bs and hands down, this is one of the best. Large, beautiful rooms with custom drapes and upholstery and high end linens. Some inns are too cluttered, but the Murphy's have done it right. As other reviewers have noted, this house is spotless. Seriously. These ladies are delightful and want 100% satisfaction. It is good to know that they have the one room on the first floor, which is wonderful for anyone who can't climb stairs. They are hardwood floors, so we could hear the guests above us at times, but that isn't anything that can be controlled at any small inn. We are still "recovering" from the incredible breakfasts. We never needed lunch. One thing we noted is that they serve a protein with the carb filled breakfasts. This is huge as sometimes a B&B will serve a egg/protein one day and a big sweet carb the next, leaving a sugar high then hungry crash. These ladies think of everything.


Home away from home.

5 on August 12, 2012

So welcoming and attentive. Wonderful accommodations and deliciously decadent breakfasts. Thoughtful, caring innkeepers with charming personalities.


Awesome place!

5 on August 12, 2012

Without question the best B&B we have ever stayed in!


Beautiful Backyard Birds!

3.6 on July 24, 2012

Enjoy great hostesses, great location on the pottery highway, old farm environment and the most birds imaginable at the windows as you have breakfast!


Heaven on Earth

5 on June 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 5th marriage anniversary on June 8, 2012 with a 3 night stay at The Duck Smith House. We were always greeted kindly, everything was super clean & neat, the breakfast was always delicious & filling, & the other guests friendly. Barbara & Suzanne are the perfect hosts & ever accomodating. The nightly turn down service & the chocolate dipped strawberries left on our bed made our st ay even more memorable. The tea tree oil bath products were a nice splurge. We enjoyed visiting the local potteries in this charming town, rocking on the porch surrounded by pretty flowers, and visiting the state zoo that is only 10 minutes away. An added bonus was visiting the Pisgah covered bridge. By far this was the nicest place we ever stayed. Simply Divine!


Wonderful!

5 on May 25, 2012

The innkeepers were so kind, but gave you space. It was wonderfully relaxing, beautiful, and comfortable. Just fabulous! Will definitely be back!


An Absolute Gem!!!

5 on April 28, 2012

From the first moment of our arrival, we were impressed with the charm and cleanliness of this lovely B & B. The house has been lovingly restored and furnished with an attention to detail that leaves guests feeling pampered and right at home. Our bedroom was beautifully appointed with fine linens, fresh flowers, a carafe of ice water, and even a nightlight for the bathroom. So thoughtful! It's evident that our hostesses go above and beyond what is expected to ensure the comfort of their guests.....and it was much appreciated! Both mornings, after enjoying an early cup of coffee in our room, we were served the most scrumptious breakfast at the time we had requested.....a gourmet, hearty breakfast served elegantly with china, crystal and silver, and embellished with fresh herbs from the garden. By the time we checked out, we felt like we were family, and are so glad we "accidentally" discovered Suzanne and Barbara's Inn. It definitely won't be an accident next time!


Exceptional

5 on March 21, 2012

Barbara and Suzanne made our trip to Seagrove a lovely memorable experience we will never forget. We recommend staying at the Duck Smith House to anyone who needs a quiet little getaway or peaceful retreat. The house is immaculately restored with southern ambiance and style. And the Breakfast was absolutely amazing!!!


Memorable Overnight

4.8 on March 05, 2012

Lovely house, all the comforts anyone could wish, great hospitality & wonderful food!


The best place to stay in Seagrove!

5 on January 03, 2012

Immaculately clean, wonderfully cozy, and two very caring and engaging Innkeepers. Breakfast was a delight. The bed was great. Barbara and Suzanne have done a wonderful job with the restoration of this historic home. Their addition of a sunny breakfast room added so much to our stay. We have a lot of exerience with B&B's and this one is definitely an A Plus.


Duck Smith

5 on December 04, 2011

Great food, hosts, environment. Hospitality/accommodations superb.


Comfy and Convenient

4.4 on November 10, 2011

My Mother and I throughly enjoyed the owners. They were so friendly and helpful with our visit. Our bedroom was like a storybook event. Verry comfortable. Our breakfast was yummy and served in china with lacey table cloths surrounded with antiques and pottery. The conversation with others visiting the Inn was a delight. They shared their previous experience and knowledge of the area. Our stay at the Inn made our trip a treasured memory. Thanks to Barbara and Suzanne.


Feels like home!

5 on November 05, 2011

Barbara and Suzanne have built a beautiful business because they love what they do and it shows! Gorgeous house, delicious food and a warm, warm welcome!


This is the place.

5 on November 04, 2011

Barbara and Suzanne are warm and friendly, caring and helpful. You are treated like old friends come to stay, and they will advise on potters and restaurants and give you directions to the zoo. The inn is immaculately clean and every detail has been thought of. The decor is both elegant and cosy. The breakfast room is bright. Breakfast is delicious and maybe too abundant. All around are samples of pottery from Seagrove potters with their cards, so you have a head start in deciding where to visit. Hot water for tea is served in one of several Seagrove teapots. The beds are so comfortable, and we found the temperature inside just right. Your bed is turned down for the night and the shades are drawn. We couldn't wait to get back to our room ! Because of old plumbing, the hot water takes its time getting to the shower but then it's fine. An ideal location for potterying and for the zoo.


Weekend getaway

5 on October 09, 2011

My wife had been to Duck Smith house a few months back with her sister and made reservations for us right after that weekend. Barbara and Suzanne are gracious hosts. Helpful and knowledgeable about area attractions and just plain fun to be with! Breakfasts were elegant and yummy. The house is an architecturaal wonder. Our room was spacious, clean and comfy. Being only a couple hours from our home in Charlotte, we will certainly be back for another weekend getaway!


Heaven!!

5 on September 25, 2011

There cannot be a more perfect B & B. This was our 2nd stay and it wasn't just like home; it was better! I can't even begin to use enough superlatives for Suzanne, Barbara, and The Duck Smith House. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for an awesome weekend. Jackie Fox


The Best B&B Ever

5 on July 22, 2011

Words don't capture the magnificence of this gem of an inn. The hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome and cared for. If you are headed anywhere near Seagrove, NC, you can't pass up this one-of-a-kind B&B. It is immaculate, tastefully decorated, the breakfasts are beyond description, and Barbara and Suzanne even offered us late afternoon snacks to accompany the wine we brought along to enjoy after a long day browsing pottery shops and visiting the zoo. What a treat it was!


Delightful stay!

5 on July 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed one evening at The Duck Smith House and had a very delightful experience! The moment we arrived we were very warmly welcomed! Barbara and Suzanne are extremely gracious and friendly hostesses! In addition, they are very knowledgeable re: the area. The inn is gorgeous, immaculate, & refreshingly beautiful! The breakfast was both elegant & absolutely delicious! We had a wonderful time and hope to return in the future! Linda and Clif, Roanoke Rapids, NC


Outstanding

5 on May 23, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. The hospitality, location, and breakfast are all the best.


Feel Like Family

5 on April 17, 2011

If you want a "feel like family" experience this is a must visit B&B. The hosts will make you feel like you are part of their family from the time you get to the front door until they walk you to your car as you are leaving (you will not want to leave). The property is in the heart of the pottery trail and has a very unique interior and history. The place is spotless, the breakfasts wonderful, the beds are some of the most comfortable ones that I have ever slept in (I do travel quite a bit) but none of this compares to the warmth and hospitality by the hosts. Golf at Pinehurst and the surrounding area is just down the road. The Gadbois from Dillsburg, PA.


What a wonderful place to stay!

5 on April 10, 2011

We loved this bed and breakfast. It is a pet friendly place that allowed us to bring our small dog. They are very accommodating, warm and friendly. The house is wonderful and they provide an amazing gourmet breakfast. They go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. Cannot wait to go back.


Great First Experience

4.6 on March 03, 2011

The staff was phenomenal and the accommodations were amazing. It was our first time staying at a B&B and I am glad that we chose this one.


Nothing but Outstanding

5 on February 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in B&B's in numerous countries and without question this is the best one we've ever been in! Barbara and Suzanne could not have been more friendly or accomodating to us. They are proud of their establishment as well they should be. The entire house was in immaculate condition. Have never stayed in a cleaner room anywhere. Breakfast which included stuffed french toast was elegant in every sense of the word and a treat. In fact the best phrase to describe the entire environment is "casual yet elegant". If we're ever back in the area this is the only place we will stay for the night.


Duck Smith House Stay Spoiled Me!

5 on January 27, 2011

My stay at the Duck Smith House was my first in a B&B. I think I'm in love! I don't know if I will ever be able to go back to staying in hotels when I travel! I was in Seagrove for business and only got to stay for one night, but Barbara and Suzanne were wonderful. They were extra-accommodating, warm, and welcoming. The inn itself is beautiful. Each room is as elegant as the next. Little touches like crystal water goblets and fresh flowers make a big difference. Breakfast was amazing. I had some of the best blueberry pancakes I've ever had. And that it was served on fine china only made it better. I was sorry I was only there for one night. I will definitely be back.


Charming and Delicious

4.8 on November 03, 2010

We had a wonderful 3-night family getaway at the Duck House in October. The sisters' hospitality was as warm as the delicious breakfasts they served and the house was a treasure of antiques, modern pottery and elegant furnishings and art. Our suite was very spacious and expertly decorated with matching fabrics and the finest appointments. And I have never seen an inn so clean, every room was sparkling! The area is quiet and the property lends itself to nice walks and sitting on the porch or in the parlor and chatting. We will definitely try to get back here.


The Duck Smith House

5 on September 15, 2010

It was so relaxing and comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay I was sad I had to leave and the breakfast was amazing especially the fruit.


Wonderful Stay

5 on August 10, 2010

Clean, crisp sheets await you along with the best French toast ever. We felt right at home thanks to the hospitality of the keepers of the inn, Barbara and Suzanne and Daisy Mae.


Interesting House

5 on July 27, 2010

Lovely 1914 house with all the modern amenities! Yummy breakfast, comfy beds, friendly, helpful hostesses!


Home Away from Home!!

4.8 on July 25, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast in the heart of pottery country!! The setting was lovely, the hosts were fantastic and the breakfast was glorious!! We definitely will go back if we are in the area!!


Great experience

5 on July 12, 2010

My sister and I had a great weekend at the Duck Smith House. The house has been beautifully decorated and is very comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in Bertie's room. There was plenty of space, and the bathroom was very updated and clean. The location of the house is great for pottery shopping and trips to Asheboro. Barbara and Suzanne are great hostesses and the food was exceptional. Barbara even made me extra blueberry pancakes!! We hope to stay at the Duck Smith House again.


Great Pots & a Great Porch

4.6 on June 12, 2010

Seagrove, NC is regarded as the pottery capital of the US and Brenda loves pottery. We only had one night and were really lucky to have a reservation at the Duck Smith House. The place was stunning in decor and we began our visit sitting on the front porch. Folks going to Sunday night services waved as they passed! After a great night's sleep, the Blueberry pancakes were so incredible that I didn't even put syrup on them! One of the potters we wanted to visit was closed on Monday morning but Barbara knew the potter and got us an appointment. We ended up buying 6 pots in the area including one of the best we have ever found! Thanks Barbara and Suzanne for a great visit!


The Duck Smith House

5 on May 28, 2010

Barbara and Suzanne are superb hostesses with a wonderful story about the inn. Fabulous renovations. Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The grounds were most appealing and welcoming. Breakfast was the best! Most delicious and punctual. We also loved Daisy, what a cutie!


Seagrove get-a-way

4.0 on April 07, 2010

Barbara and Suzanne are great hosts and were responsive to our needs. We had a delightful few days in Seagrove with the Duck Smith House as our base.


Duck Smith House is a hidden gem

5 on February 10, 2010

We stayed here only two nights and wished it were longer. Located in the heart of North Carolina's pottery country, Duck Smith House sets a standard for excellence that other B&B's will find very difficult to meet. The sisters, Barbara and Suzanne, are charming, the rooms are immaculate, large and comfortable, and the breakfasts are delicious. We can't imagine why anyone would stay elsewhere -- unless they didn't book early and the rooms were filled. The next time we're in the area, we're staying longer.


Great Visit

4.6 on January 15, 2010

Lovely hostesses who made us feel very welcome. Super food! VERY comfortable and spacious rooms.


The Perfect Spot!

5 on December 30, 2009

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to Seagrove--called Duck Smith House, booked our room, and were treated as though we stayed with them every month! Absolutely wonderful experience. The best way to describe The Duck Smith House is CLEAN, great hospitality, gracious hostesses, excellent food, good location, and you will be treated like royalty. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone! Treat yourself!


A Slice of Heaven on Earth!

5 on November 22, 2009

This is a charming B&B! The owners are two sisters who make it their job to pamper you and make you feel at home. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated. Each room has it's own unique theme and the bathrooms are decorated to match the theme. The beds are like coulds. You climb in and float away! Not too hard, not too soft. Just right! And did I mention the breakfast? The breakfast room is devine and the breakfast melted in my mouth each morning! If you are ever anywhere near Seagrove, NC you absolutely must stay for a night or two! This was my first visit there and I have already reserved my room for next year.


Wonderful

4.8 on November 20, 2009

Wonderful place to stay. The rooms are wonderful and Barbara and Suzanne go above and beyond as hostesses,


Great place to stay

4.4 on October 26, 2009

Our first visit to this B&B in Seagrove was a most enjoyable experience - I would highly recommend it! The place is lovely & charming - the room very comfortable, and so incredibly clean. The sisters who own and run the Inn are very friendly and charming too. We had one of the best breakfasts ever - sweet potato pancakes, which were the best ever. Really enjoyed it.


Fantastic

4.8 on October 12, 2009

I stayed 2 nights while viiting local pottery shops. I can not say enough about how great this B&B was. It is a beautiful old tobacco farm house. Interiors woods on walls and ceilings are restored with rich tones and beauty of natural wood. The furnishings are elegant. The bed was wonderful for sleep. Breakfasts were like off the food network. Barbara and Suzanne make your stay wonderful. They really like what they are doing and it shows in every aspect. If you are going to Seagrove, don't miss thre opportubity to be pampered. Go to the Duck Smith House and enjoy life.


Cozy and Charming

4.8 on September 13, 2009

We were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Barbara and Suzanne provided information about the area potteries that was helpful. Cheese and crackers were served to us on the front porch. The room and bath were spotless. Breakfast was delicious and the presentation was very elegant on the beautiful sunporch.


A Relaxing Treat

5 on August 09, 2009

Barbara and Suzanne pampered us! The room was spotless and thoughtfully prepared to maximize our comfort. We had a relaxing time visiting with the sisters but they also provided plenty of privacy. The breakfast was a real treat!


worth a visit to Seagrove to stay there

5 on July 19, 2009

Very nice place, the hosts are wonderful and the breakfasts are the best. Rooms are beautifully done.


A Beautiful surprise

4.8 on June 22, 2009

Finding this lovely guest house in Seagrove was a beautiful surprise, with all the comfort we hoped for and a lot of thoughtful extra touches.


must stay!

5 on June 11, 2009

Cannot say enough good things! Wonderful hostess, immaculate rooms, quaint, comfortable- the ultimate B&B experience!


Weekend in Seagrove

4.0 on June 11, 2009

We came in after dinner on Saturday night and the ladies had a room for us. we decided to stay in the area for two nights and the second night we had the house to ourselves. they have a very clean and ordered place, with very nice rooms at a reasonable price. We would recommend this B & B to others going to Seagrove for the pottery or Lexington for the Barbeque. Their breakfast was excellent. Bill and Nancy Spencer


A perfect weekend!

5 on June 03, 2009

It could not have been any better!


best B&B ever!

5 on May 19, 2009

We've been staying at B&B's across the US for 10 years, and this is the best ever. The inn itself is very charming, but the owners, Barbara and Suzanne, are what make it so special! And, the breakfasts are superb!


Oh My Gosh!!!

5 on May 19, 2009

Totally awesome, food great, room was beyond our expectations. Thank you!


Delightful...

5 on May 11, 2009

from check in to check out, we could not have asked for more! Meticulously clean, with charming decor, The Duck Smith House and its personable innkeepers, sisters Barbara and Suzanne Murphy, provided a much-needed weekend respite!


Don't miss this one!

5 on May 08, 2009

Wonderful fully renovated farmhouse with beautiful gardens. Loved watching the birds. Didn't realize that Seagrove is a bird sanctuary. Hosts are charming and not intrusive. Gormet breakfast to die for. Highly recommend. Plan to return to see the zoo and more pottery.


Extraordinary Again

5 on May 03, 2009

This was our second trip to the Duck Smith House and again, what a fantastic stay. Absolutely spotless with fresh flowers from the gardens. The service was impeccable and enjoyed the full house of visitors, an outstanding testimonial in itself.


Best Little Bed & Breakfast Ever!

5 on April 30, 2009

Surgical Unit Clean. Barbara and Suzanne are the perfect hosts--I wanted to permanently move in. Superb breakfast at your schedule, not theirs.


More than we ever dreamed!

5 on April 30, 2009

In 2006, we lucked upon a newly acquired B&B in Seagrove, NC and have revisited the Murphy sisters every summer since. They have completely renovated and remodeled the Duck Smith House. We have found the Murphy sisters to be elegant and cordial hostesses who make this B&B very special. We were extremely impressed with the high quality of linens, bedding, towels and bathroom ammenities. The Duck Smith House is immaculate with well-kept and beautiful gardens. All this plus, spectacular breakfasts which are elegantly served. On every visit, we have found our hostesses to be very friendly, cheerful and gracious. We appreciate their knowledge of the area potters and enthusiasm for the local attractions. Upon their recommendation, we visited the NC Zoo last summer and thoroughly enjoyed the animals and grounds. The Duck Smith House is more than just a B&B! What a great respite. ENJOY!


A Special Experience at the Duck Smith House

5 on April 28, 2009

Duck Smith House and the Innkeeper's are a treasure tucked away in NC Pottery Country. Start your day with a wonderful breakfast, enjoy the pottery shopping, golfing or sightseeing. Then come back to a wonderful discussion and refreshments with Barb, Suzie and Daisy. We will continue to come back again to visit these ladies and the area. As always a total joy!


Don't miss this experience

4.0 on April 28, 2009

The Duck Smith House is the finest B&B we have ever stayed at. It is like having a second home tucked away in Sea Grove NC. The Murphy sisters will make your visit a special one! The rooms are beautiful and exceptionally clean and the food is exquisite. Don't forget to enjoy the talents of the Seagrove potters. We make sure to get away to Barb's and Suzanne's at least once a year.


Awesome B&B at Duck Smith House

5 on April 26, 2009

The Duck Smith House is a wonderful place to escape, relax, and have and adventure. Barbara & Suzanne was very friendly, sweet, funny and helpful. The rooms are Beautiful, Very Clean and the rooms are on the larger size. They made our stay wonderful, easy, relaxed and we had our 2 years old Son with us. They played with him and helped me to get him to eat table food. Thanks Aunt Barbara and Aunt Sue. LOL They had brochures to the NC Zoo, maps to the covered bridge, and helped me locate the type of pottery I was looking for. They have pottery samples on shelves in their breakfast area to know which Artists to visit. This is my 3rd visit and we will be coming back. We reside in Florida.


Absolutely Outstanding

5 on April 22, 2009

What a beautiful surprise staying at The Duck Smith House. Owned by two sisters this Bed and Breakfast was more then I have ever experienced at any Bed and Breakfast throughout the world. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and well taken care of as my "own" home would be. The Murphy sister's are delightful and the chef is outstanding. Hidden in Seagrove, don't miss this opportunity.


The Duck Smith House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3368737099
  • Toll free 1-8888699018

Visit Website »

View details

Top