Gaestehaus Salzburg Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy Hideaway

5 on June 04, 2012

We were looking for a place to spend our anniversary and my husband found this great place. We took our children along and there was a pool there which the kids absolutely loved. Also there is a sauna whcih is a great way to unwind. The cabin was cozy and the food Mrs. Maringer prepared was excellent. We definitely will go back to this cozy and comfortable retreat.


THE place to stay in Lake Lure

4.8 on June 13, 2011

Sadly, the owner's husband, who did most of the German cooking, died earlier this year, so the German cooking available is limited. Otherwise a great place- our little log cabin stayed cool without AC even in 90 degree heat.


Amazing Breakfast

4.2 on May 24, 2011

The innkeeper was very friendly and the breakfast was amazing.


Lack/incorrect information

4.0 on April 27, 2011

I planned this getaway for my husband who loves german food but when we arrived the owner told us that becuase of Easter Sunday holiday the restaurant was closed. Huge dissappoinment because the restaurant was the main reason we went there. The owner was kind enough to allow us to cancel our reservation. However, at first she made it sound as if the whole thing was my fault because I never asked her if the restaurant was going to be open. Really?? Isn't her responsibility to put that information in the web site or at least notify me when she sent me the confirmation email. Overall, the first impression when you drive in is that the place is ran down and needs some work. The main house is small and not cozy at all. I am glad that things worked out the way it did...because it does not seem worth the price.


wonderful weekend away

5 on March 16, 2011

I have wanted to try this B&B for some time. We loved it. The owner could not have been more gracious and helpful. Lake Lure is a beautiful setting.


Excellent Experience

5 on January 04, 2011

The owners are very accomodating and professional. The cabin was extremely clean & comfortable. The food prepared was traditional and delicious. Awesome!


last minute trip

5 on December 05, 2010

We had an excellent stay! The Meringer's are gracious hosts. We felt like we were visiting with old friends even though we had just met them. We look forward to staying there again and have already recommended it to several people. Our meals were delicious!


Danka!!!

4.4 on October 26, 2010

My spouse and I were pleasantly surprised at the room quality, the wonderful food and the hospitality of the Inn keeper and her husband. We will definitely return.


Excellent option!!!

3.8 on October 12, 2010

Charming suite and good restaurant!!! Breakfast is delicious!


Gaestehaus Salzburg

4.0 on October 06, 2010

Warm and inviting. Will definitely go back. The food and hospitality was outstanding.


octoberfest was great

5 on October 06, 2010

We love this place. I watch my husband relax from the moment we get in the car. this was our 3rd stay here. wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lake Lure area.Patricia and Werner are like old friends.


A very nice stay at Gaestehaus Salzburg

4.4 on September 08, 2010

The host were very gracious and cordial. Quite and relaxing stay. Breakfast was delicious and a large variety of food was presented.


A Great Spot to spend some time

5 on September 07, 2010

The food!!!! Awsome german food. The owner is a master sheff and boy does he know his stuff!! The Blueberry Cheesecake Truffle was to die for!!


Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful

4.6 on August 22, 2010

This was our first stay at this B & B and my husband and I were absolutely impressed. This is not the glitz & glamor B & B. What this was was a quiet, tranquil place away from all the daily hustle and bustle. Our room was nice & clean. Our host were very personable and we both enjoyed all the conversations we had. The Bavarian/Austrian cuisine was fabulous. We are planning on returning & staying longer next time. Thank you so much for the relaxing piece of Lake Lure, NC. We wish our host, Werner & Patricia all the happiness they could ever hope for.


Excellent

4.6 on August 17, 2010

We were very pleased with our experience of staying at Gaestehaus Salzburg. There was a nice home feeling and I especially liked having animals in the home. The food was outstanding and we really enjoyed talking with the owners. A very good stay!


nice stay

5 on August 11, 2009

nice stay


A small taste of the Old Country

5 on July 13, 2009

Exceptional hospitality and food preparation. Our room had a balcony overlooking a small beer garden and swimming pool. Great for relaxation.


1st Timers

5 on October 29, 2008

Of all the Bed and Breakfast choices we had to get away for the weekend, We chose the Gaestehaus, and boy was it a great choice. The atmosphere, the hosts Patricia and Werner provided everything you asked for, the food including the "Bier Garden" were truely delightful. We plan to go back very soon.


Nice in some ways, others not

3.2 on September 04, 2008

The room we rented was extremely clean and big enough, but the description of the room is that it has a view of the back gardens. There are no garden views, only views of roof. Also, the hot tub has to be turned on by the owners an hour before using. We requested it to be turned on, and she never got around to it. As far as price goes, the breakfast was great, and a great value, the dinner on the other hand was extremely overpriced. It was delicious, but not even close to worth $35 a person. Then they wanted a tip on top of that.


Leisure in the mountains

4.2 on July 31, 2008

What a wonderful, relaxing vacation experience! We truly enjoyed our stay from the delicious morning breakfast to retiring in our clean, comfortable bungalow. The Maringers are such amiable hosts.


Awesome Getaway

4.6 on July 30, 2008

Best hospitality, excellent food. Accommodating cleanliness - elecellent. Loved the stay and would, and will definitely stay there again.


lake lure gem

4.4 on May 25, 2008

loved this great cabin on beautiful lake lure. It was such a beautiful, private and romantic place to stay. We loved it and will return again for sure.


Wonderful Getaway!

4.0 on March 30, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway and Gaesthause Salzburg did just that for us. We had a room in the house the was very wonderful and we were extremely delighted that we had our own full bath-something we did not expect. The breakfast both mornings and the dinner that we partook of one evening was excellent. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and we would stay again.


Johnny and Tonya Hale

5 on June 15, 2007

We were just riding thru Lake Lure on our way to Gatlinburg when a huge storm suddenly hit. By the way we were on a motorcycle. We made the decision to stop for the evening. It was the best decision we ever made. Everything was fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely unbelieveable. I am looking forward to our next stay.


A weekend to remember

5 on March 14, 2007

I visited this B & B for my birthday and had a wonderful weekend! As soon as I walked into my suite, I was blown away. It was immaculate. I stayed in the Edelweiss Suite. The food was exceptional. The owners were wonderful. If you need to get away or just want to treat yourself to a little R & R, this place is where you should go!


Gaestehaus Salzburg

Details

  • Nightly Rate $105 - $175
  • Reviews (25) 4.6
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8286250093
  • Fax 1-8286250091
Top