Inn at Half Mile Farm Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Always amazing

5 on July 02, 2013

My husband and I visit the Inn at Half Mile Farm every year . Every year for the last six years we spend a relaxing week at the inn. We love everything about the inn! Beautiful , very clean rooms. Breakfasts are always amazing along with wine and appetizers everyday. The staff is always professional and very friendly. We look so forward to this peaceful and serene place every year! We always recommend it to friends and family. Thank you so much for making this a place we always want to return to.


Home away from home.............

5 on November 13, 2012

We love the quiet "gentility" of this very special place....the friendly staff make you feel as if this is your private residence. the food, view, service are "spot on" can't wait to go back!


Simply the best!

5 on October 23, 2012

5 of 5 stars We had an ideal lodging experience. The staff and management at the Inn at Half Mile Farm simple know how to do it right! The accommodations provided everything you wanted, when, where and how you would want it. I wouldn't have changed a thing about our room or the Inn common spaces. Some "mountain" retreats trend too folksy or try too hard and end up too formal and stuffy. This was neither. The room and common areas were luxurious and comfortable, sophisticated and tasteful. But the real thing that sets this place so far and above all others is the service! The staff is friendly and attentive. Fresh homemade cookies all day. An evening wine and hors d'ouevres hour that you actually want to schedule your day around attending and a gourmet breakfast that is both filling, comforting and YUMMY. I've never put much worth into amenities such as a turn down service, an evening wine and treat hour, or even a breakfast, but when they are handled with such care in their planning, professionalism in their execution and quality in their production, they are SO worthwhile. Simply put, this inn is simply the best.


Wedding Celebration!

5 on September 17, 2012

The quaintness and off the beaten path location made the Inn the perfect locale for my youngest daughter's wedding the last weekend in August. The attention to details and the friendliness of all who worked at Half Mile helped to make the weekend a true treat for all of us. The pace allowed for a pefect celebration and as the mother of the bride, I had nothing to worry about. Priceless!! Oh and did I mention the blueberry pancakes or the eggs benedict?? I also enjoyed the previous two visits planning the event. Every room offers a unique factor. I'm looking forward to returning to the Highlands and to Half Mile Farm.


Good for our marriage... Summer 2012

5 on July 09, 2012

I'm thrilled that my husband loved our stay at the "Inn at Half-Mile Farm" in Highlands, NC. The service was just perfect for our personalities. We enjoyed the choice of engaging in conversation or, as much privacy as we desired. We found a perfect balance at this B&B. The breakfast was outstanding...beautiful and delicious. Being surrounded by blooming mountain laurel and flowers made for awsome morning walks. We hope to return regularly...Love & Cherish


Stay for a Wedding

4.6 on July 02, 2012

The stay at the Inn at Half Mile Farm was absolutely outstanding! I have never had a hotel staff as concerned for my needs as the Half Mile. Everyone was courteous and first-rate in every detail. I was only invited to attend the wedding, but the staff made me feel like my presence added to the event...that's how much they cared! Finally, I went running in town after the wedding was done, and I had left my keys out while enjoying the scenery. I got back and had realized I had left my keys out in the middle of the run. The staff actually drove me back into town to help me find my keys to my rental car. How first-class is that? If I find myself back in NC, count on my return to the Inn at Half Mile! -David


Heavenly!!!

5 on June 12, 2012

This was our second stay at The Inn at Half Mile Farm in Highlands, NC and definitely won't be our last. The Inn is pure heaven - you feel it as soon as you make the first turn up the winding, gravel driveway. Beautifully maintained grounds with flowers everywhere. Sit on the front porch and take in the beauty of the lake and mountains. It is so serene....all you hear are crickets, birds, and frogs. The rooms are spacious and clean, with stone fireplaces, each with their own porch, jetted tubs, walk-in showers, comfortable beds with divine linens. The staff is more than friendly and accommodating - they make you feel so welcomed (thank you Vivian & Jason, in particular), housekeeping is excellent and we can't say enough about the food. Breakfast is superb and the appetizers in the afternoon are incredibly delicious. Jason and Kim are amazing chefs! We wouldn't stay anywhere else - by far, THE BEST B&B in Highlands. Just go, you will love it!


Spectacular Service!

5 on March 30, 2010

Gorgeous location, very private. Amazing service, they have thought of everything. Would definitely return.


Perfect get-a-way

5 on March 20, 2010

My husband and I had a delightful couple of days at this inn. Beautiful room, fantastic breakfast and hors d'oeuvres, and a lovely setting. The chef catered to my specific food allergy with special dishes just for me, and also recommended some great restaurants. The surrounding area is incredible with many hiking trails and waterfalls.


Close to Highlands; wonderful breakfasts; great rooms

5 on March 14, 2010

This is a wonderful in located on a small lake. The rooms are lovely, clean and most have private decks to enjoy coffee or cocktails. Many of the rooms not in the main house have transom windows which can let in more light at night than desired. If you have trouble sleeping if it's not pitch dark, you may want to ask about rooms that don't have the transom windows. That's the only issue we had with this lovely place. We've stayed here 3 times after staying at several other B&B's in the area - searching for the right level of comfort, seclusion and proximity to Highlands. The breakfasts are delicious and creative. Stuffed french toast, baked eggs and other breakfast treats as well as choices of yogurt and cereal if you like a lighter breakfast. They have a wine and cheese hour in the evening and it's a great way to meet the other guests and chat. They always have a selection of home made cookies as well as water, soft drinks and packaged snacks. The inn is very close to Highlands which is very convenient on those dark nights on winding mountain roads driving back from dinner or entertainment.


A long overdue couples getaway

5 on March 03, 2010

It's hard to take the time and spend the money (especially in this economy) to get away as a couple. But it couldn't have been money or time better spent. Our room (Winter Garden Falls) was awesome - fireplace, jetted tub, private balcony, his and her robes, high-quality linens. The cost of our room included wine and hors d'oeuvres before dinner and a gourmet breakfast. I think they pride themselves on over-feeding you, so pack your appetite! Not to mention 4 flavors of cookies in the house living room, plus coffee and hot tea. We chose to stay at the Inn for dinner as well - another great value - gourmet food with wine included. Last but not least, the staff were amazing - we refer to them as our our new friends! If you choose to leave the Inn for dinner, there are other amazing eats, such as the Log Cabin Restaurant, Ruka's Table, Flip Side, etc. We also enjoyed hiking Glenn Falls waterfall. (Be prepared to sweat if you go all the way.) We had such an amazing visit and plan to make this "our special place" for getaways in the future.


Unforgettable!

5 on December 16, 2009

With a family of 6 children our time away is limited. This couldn't have been a more picture perfect weekend. Every detail is attended to making for a most memorable time at Half Mile Farm.


excellent place to go and relax!

5 on August 06, 2009

the food is fantastic, the service is unbeatable, and the location is heavenly. I highly recommend this place and we will be back in the near future!


A definite repeat

4.8 on June 19, 2009

Such a beautiful place, gourmet breakfasts are great.


Getaway

5 on May 11, 2009

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return. Perfect place for rest and relaxation!


More than a farm

4.0 on February 24, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Inn in mid November of 2008. The air was cool and crisp and the pond was showing signs of a drought. Nevertheless the experience was very enjoyable. Our room was quite large with a stone fireplace, wraparound balcony and lovely well planned bathroom. (We have experienced some lovely bathrooms at various inns in the past but they were just not functional such as poor lighting, no room for toiletries etc.) The Inn is just a short distance from Highlands which is a lovely small town with quaint shops and wonderful restaurants. The common room and dining room at the Inn gives you the feel of being in an old farm house with lovely old fireplaces, wooden floors and beams. But oh so comfortable. Jason, the chef and the entire staff are very accommodating. Food was wonderful and creatively served. Take a drive to see some of the waterfalls in the area, breathtaking. We just hated to leave.


Weekend away

5 on December 29, 2008

We went away to celebrate our 7 year anniversary and we were so excited and surprised at what a beautiful, romantic place to stay. The staff is overly helpful and friendly the service was superb and the food was delicious. We will be going back and staying at Half Mile Farm again. I would recommend this place to anyone we only wish we could have stayed a few more days....


Hooked on Highlands

4.6 on July 28, 2008

My husband and I visited the inn this past June of 2008. The place is beautiful, peaceful and the grounds are kept meticulously. My expectations are high when my husband and I travel alone, and they met them at every turn. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the food is out of this world. Between the breakfasts at the Inn and the other restaurants they recommended, we have not had food that good day after day in a long time. We will be back for sure!


Inn at Half Mile Farm

3.8 on April 21, 2008

Pleasant stay, beautiful grounds. Quiet and relaxing.


perfect setting

4.6 on April 03, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Highlands, NC celebrating our 15th anniversary. The Inn at Half Mile Farm offered the perfect setting for two sales professionals who spend far too many nights in generic "business" hotels. The property is beautiful, tastefully furnished, rich in history, and offers a variety of room options. We chose one of the historic cabins, which offered privacy and all the luxuries of the Inn. The breakfasts were surprisingly creative, delicious, and filling. But the absolute best part of our stay was the staff (including the owner). Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful - from inital inquiry phone calls to check out. All of the recommendations made by the staff; from where to dine, to where to hike/run, to where to get a massage, were informative and proved positive experiences. Lastly, Scooter is the best! Every home needs a happy dog!


Inn at Half Mile Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $220 - $550
  • Reviews (20) 4.8
  • Rooms 23
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8285268170
  • Fax 1-8285262625
  • Toll free 1-8009466822

Visit Website »

View details

Top