Acorn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
231 Reviews

Write A Review

Absolutely delightful

4.4 on December 17, 2014

A delightful stay in this welcoming B&B in the woods. The bedroom and sitting rooms were spacious and comfy I think I will never see such festive decorations again. Great breakfast and a lovely host. I'm recommending to all my friends.


Coffee at the ready

4.8 on December 04, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to see Gene standing at the ready with coffee and cup in hand as I slipped into the kitchen a full hour before breakfast, This attention to hospitality was the hallmark of our stay. Wonderful food, heavenly bed, and details about what to see and how to get there make this an Acorn treasure.


Relaxing country getaway

5 on November 15, 2014

Very comfortable and relaxing setting. Delicious breakfast. Very friendly host. Home is decorated nicely for the season.


Nice and pleasant

4.6 on October 25, 2014

Wonderful stay at the Acorn, pleasant reception and a warm wellcome. Very good breakfast. What a joy to stay


Fall Getaway

5 on October 21, 2014

Absolutely wonderful experience! Gene was the consummate host, low key but attentive to every detail. We arrived to see our name posted on the signboard by the front entrance. Every day of our four day stay the breakfast was a gourmet experience. The Magnolia Room was charming and spacious. The evening surprise of fresh baked cookies and chocolate truffles was delightful!


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on October 21, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay; close to the airport, easy to get to, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, great breakfast!


Rainy but great weekend in Mills River

4.6 on October 18, 2014

The Acorn Bed and Breakfast was once again a home away from home. This is our go to when we are in the Asheville area. It is convenient to not only Asheville but also to Hendersonville and Brevard. The owners make you feel as if you are in your own home, and the breakfasts are outstanding. You certainly won't go away hungry.


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on October 02, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the Rose Room and the Innkeepers Gene & Bob. We want to return soon. Close to Hendersonville and the mountains.


BFF weekend getaway

5 on September 24, 2014

Best weekend in a very long time. Host was most gracious. Had car trouble upon arriving at B&B and with in only a few minutes host had everything under control. Also had car rented within a couple of hours. Host went well above and beyond to help in time of trouble. Breakfast each morning was out of this world.. Bed was like sleeping at home. Best B&B to stay at when in Mills River. Close to Asheville but yet far enough away to say out of hectic traffic. So many things to see in the area and having piece of mind knowing you're staying at a safe place. Hope to be back very soon.


Wonderful

5 on September 23, 2014

Quaint B&B. Our first experience with a B&B was perfection. Wonderful breakfast each day! Great privacy.


Our favorite.

5 on August 22, 2014

This was our fourth stay here, and, as always, everything was fantastic. Gene and Bob are great hosts, and Gene's breakfast was wonderful, as always. Even though it had been two years since our last visit, he remembered our breakfast preferences. Staying at the Acorn feels like coming home, but being pampered at the same time.


Perfect B&B

5 on August 17, 2014

Fantastically placed for Asheville, Biltmore, DuPont, Brevard and Blue Ridge Parkway. We were greated by Gene on arrival and made right at home, he was the perfect host. Everywhere was decorated beautifully, and the bedroom was perfect! Breakfast was the best we'd had on our holiday with everything homemade and delicious. We would definitely stay here agin, and for longer!


At home, only better!

5 on August 14, 2014

I was greeted at the front door by a welcome board with my name (and the names of other guests for that evening!)! Lovely! My room also had my name on the door... and there was a plate of homemade cookies and a box with a chocolate and a welcome card... not to mention the fresh flowers in each room and on the dining table, from a local grower! The hospitality was wonderful. Gene and Bob have given attention to every detail. I know they would be more than accommodating for the variety of needs guests may have. Gene even filled my travel mug with coffee to go, as I hit the road after breakfast! I was made to feel truly at home... only better, as someone else was thoughtfully taking care of every detail!


Perfect in every way

5 on August 10, 2014

This is the fourth time we have visited Acorn Bed and Breakfast. It has always been a great get-away, and this time was no exception. It is a very comfortable place and an excellent location. Gene's breakfasts are always wonderful. We feel like family while we're there, and we will definitely go back.


Welcome to a Home away from Home

5 on August 08, 2014

The Acorn was my first experience with a bed & breakfast. I couldn't have been more delighted with the accommodations, cleanliness, hospitality, charming guests,& Gene. I want to return so I can try every bedroom in the house. I'm not supposed to rave excessively, but, I have no suggestions to improve my experience. I was well fed, happy & had fun. Thank You for being so close to every place I wanted to go near Asheville.. Hopefully, I will be back soon. Jenny B


Perfect place to relax

5 on August 05, 2014

After touring Kentucky we stayed 2 nights at the Acorn B&B. It was the perfect place to relax after having spent almost every night in a different town and hotel. The garden room was very comfortable and we were fortunate enough to have the entire lower floor to ourselves. This was great because it comes with a fully equipped kitchen where we could fix our dinners. Thank you Gene for being a great host and for preparing such delicious breakfast. We will keep our eyes open for acorns …


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 29, 2014

Comfortable, clean accommodations - fabulous breakfast - lots of extra touches - great price. Will definitely be back!!


Refreshing & Wonderful!!!

5 on July 28, 2014

I can't imagine any good reason to stay anywhere else if you need lodging in the Asheville Airport and surrounding area. My stay at the Acorn was so much more than a bed and breakfast. I had privacy if I wanted, interaction with guests if I wanted, comfortable living room to watch TV, even a full kitchen if I wanted to fix my own food. The setting is private, yet near to everything I needed and wanted to do. There are NO exaggerations on their website: if anything, what is presented there is an understatement, so look it over carefully, then expect to be surprised with so much more. Thanks so much, Gene & Bob for making this available!


A First-Rate Establishment

5 on July 19, 2014

Gene and Bob are the perfect hosts, and they have thought of every detail to make their guests' stay truly pleasurable. Gene's culinary background is evident in the sumptuous breakfasts. Acorn is well located a few minutes from the Biltmore, making it ideal for day trips to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Smoky Mountains. We look forward to returning.


Great value

3.8 on July 14, 2014

The innkeeper, Gene, was very hospitable and made sure we had everything we needed. The location is great for nearby shopping, hiking, & biking. The breakfast was on time and outstanding. We took our two Yorkshire Terriers and the downstairs rooms allowed us to take them out with ease. We will definitely return.


Acorn B&B Review

4.8 on June 23, 2014

Welcoming. Very clean. Host very kind. Breakfast was gourmet quality.


Home Sweet Home

5 on June 08, 2014

The Acorn Bed and Breakfast was outstanding in every respect. Every detail was attended to prior to our arrival, and the breakfasts were beyond our expectations. The innkeeper, Gene, was very pleasant and spent some time visiting with us during and after breakfasts. In fact, the dining and kitchen were one room so it had a genuine comfortable and relaxed feeling. We will definitely return.


Perfect place to stay

4.8 on June 08, 2014

Acorn B&B is the perfect place for anyone flying into Asheville given its easy access to and from the airport, but it also is the best location if touring around the area. Quiet, peaceful location, lovely residence with privacy and wonderful host. Gene has taken great care to make guests feel right at home and is a great chef - breakfast was superb! Would return in an instant.


Great value and great host

4.0 on June 02, 2014

Gene the host and proprietor made this stay great fun. He is fun, interesting, and a wonderful cook. Will stay again.


Fabulous food and fun!

5 on May 21, 2014

Per last visit equals wonderful again. Can't wait till next time! Judy Reinhardt


Delightful stay

5 on May 14, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the rooms on the lower level both of which are very attractive and private. Gene's breakfasts were wonderful!


My Go-To Place to Stay in Asheville

5 on May 07, 2014

The beauty of staying at a B&B is that it's so much friendlier and personal than a hotel. Bob & Gene make you feel right at home, the amenities are wonderful, comfortable, quiet rooms and the food is just wonderful. It doesn't take long to feel like Bob & Gene are friends. I love the Acorn Inn and will stay there any time I can make it to Asheville. Downstairs is a full kitchen, which is very convenient. The Inn is only about 20 minutes from downtown Asheville, a very easy drive. The downstairs rooms have a private entrance, with a patio and a beautiful view of the outdoors. Lovely to sit with your morning coffee. Extremely clean, lovely decor - what else can I say? Stay there and discover this jewel for yourself.


Pleasantly Surprised!!

4.8 on April 29, 2014

If you're looking for a relaxing getaway, the Acorn is just the place! The accommodations are first-rate and the food is excellent. The hosts are congenial and do everything in their power to make you feel welcome. My wife and I felt at home from the moment we arrived until the last goodbye hugs. We highly recommend this place and look forward to a return visit.


Have recommended to friends

5 on April 15, 2014

Gene and Bob were excellent hosts. Food was amazing. Our room was beautifully decorated and we enjoyed the little extras provided, including a small flashlight by our bedside should we need it, a full vanity basket, chocolates, amazing little soaps we could take home, plush robes--well, you get the picture. Our breakfast was a wonderful smoothie, bread pudding with fruit compote and eggs benedict. All were very yummy. We will definitely recommend The Acorn B&B and will return ourselves.


If I could live here, I would!

5 on February 27, 2014

Outstanding in every way. We will be back.


December Stay at Acorn

5 on January 02, 2014

Great Host. Wonderful Room


Loving Life

5 on December 21, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay. Such a wonderful respite from a busy world. Our stay was awesome! Gene is a wonderful chef!


Very Special Experience

5 on December 20, 2013

Comfortable, relaxed experience. Proprietor was committed to our comfort. One night stay on way to our vacation was the best part of our trip. Amazing Breakfast!


Five Stars

5 on December 19, 2013

Gene was fantastic! His cooking is amazing! The home was so warn & inviting, you just felt so at ease. Such a wonderful experience & better than a hotel!


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 18, 2013

If what you crave is peace, quite, and Acorn Bed & Breakfast TLC, this is your place. Excellent cook and great hosts who put everyone at ease and comfort. Will stay again!


Terrific host.

5 on December 18, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay. Gene was the prefect host. He makes the most fantastic breakfasts and insures your stay is everything you want it to be. Thank you so much for everything, Gene!


Highly Recommended!

5 on December 16, 2013

Very nice owners, very clean, cozy, like home, very thoughtful extras, quiet and a fabulous breakfast. An unforgettable experience. We regret it was only one night.


Exceptional

4.8 on December 13, 2013

My stay was wonderful. The property is in prime shape. The hospitality was warm.


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 10, 2013

Excellent accommodations. Breakfast was incredible!


Great Place! Wonderful Value.

5 on December 10, 2013

Our host met us as we drove in the driveway and treated us like we were family. We'd stay there again and are recommending it to others.


Superb

4.2 on December 10, 2013

Excellent breakfasts, very clean, comfortable a bit remote. Make certain booking agents advertise and specifies.


Mr. Noehl

5 on December 10, 2013

Inn keepers are very friendly and professional. We surely enjoyed the first class service.


Feels like your at home

4.8 on December 09, 2013

Acorn Bed & Breakfast provides a welcoming, at home feel. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted at the door and never wanted for anything. The Magnolia room was spacious with its own private bath. Each morning we were treated to outstanding culinary delights that more than satisfied for a day of exploring the surrounding areas. This B&B will be at the top of our list for our next visit to the Asheville, NC area.


Awesome!! A+++

5 on November 25, 2013

This was a great inn.


Exceptional value in a lovely setting

5 on November 25, 2013

Breakfasts were exceptionally good. The B&B is located relatively close to Asheville giving guests the best of a country setting and proximity to the tourist attractions. Rooms and facilities are well appointed and clean.


Veterans Day weekend

4.6 on November 24, 2013

Wonderful service and accommodations!!


our first B&B

5 on November 18, 2013

Wonderful breakfast, most comfortable bed, friendly


Veteran's Day Weekend Stay 2013

5 on November 14, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Acorn Bed and Breakfast. Our host was amazing (...and cooked us the best breakfast I had ever put in my mouth!!), I loved the movie room! It felt very much like we were at home, which was what we were looking for. Very warm and cozy!! We will be visiting again very soon!!!


Relaxing Retreat

4.8 on November 10, 2013

This relaxing retreat was enjoyed by both me and my family. We were treated as very special guests. The breakfast each day was delicious and creative. I have already made plans to return.


Would Return in a Heartbeat

4.6 on November 03, 2013

Although just a converted ranch home, the Acorn Bed and Breakfast represents a good value in lodging and an outstanding value in dining. The bedroom we reserved, the Magnolia Room, was very tastefully decorated in, can you guess it, a magnolia motif with four excellent flower prints, an upper magnolia wallpaper border, and a garland over the arrmoire. I know this sounds like a lot, but all decorations were subdued and complemented rather than overwhelmed the space. And if there is a cleaner room for rent anywhere, we have yet to stay in it. The housekeeping is immaculate. I only had one small complaint: the wash basin was very slow to drain. My husband did not like the TV. He said that the standard definition feed had been stretched to fit an HD screen, making for a grainy, distorted picture. I say he's too picky. Breakfast was simply sumptuous, featuring fresh berries, a fruit-yoghurt smoothie, and country style eggs Benedict. We were too full to sample the pastry tray provided. Gene does the cooking, and he is excellent. We look forward to our next stay, and hope that we can stretch it beyond one night.


Wonderful find near Asheville

5 on October 31, 2013

We loved this B&B and already planning to visit again. It felt more like a visit with family than a B&B stay. Gracious hosts, impeccable rooms, comfortable common areas, attention to details--and breakfasts that are out of this world!-- are but a few of the accolades that come to mind. Reasonably priced and a short drive to Asheville. Highly recommend it.


Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River

5 on October 29, 2013

My wife and I were absolutely amazed at the attention to detail at the Acorn B&B. Gene had our names on a "Greeting Slate" before the entrance with the words "Welcome Home" - and that's exactly how he made us feel during our stay - as if we were coming back home for a visit! He accomodated our early rise schedule and was busy cooking us a splendid breakfast at 6:30 am. All homemade and extra delicious. Rather than ruin all of the little surprises by listing everything that we experienced, I will just go ahead and recommend Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River to everyone that wishes to be pampered during their stay and in a super central location to enjoy all of the treats of Pisgah and the surrounding area. Don't miss Asheville either :) Thank you Gene for a wonderful, wonderful stay!


Nobody does it better!

5 on October 28, 2013

Gene and Bob are the best innkeepers in the world! My husband and I usually stay in B&Bs when we travel and Acorn B&B is eons ahead of everyone else. These guys should teach classes in "how to run the ultimate B&B." Staying at Acorn B&B is a total immersion in hospitality. Gene is a fabulous chef and his breakfasts are to die for. Plus he knows everything you could ever want to know about the area, making it really easy for guests to find places to enjoy their "thing," whether that be antique shops or thrift stores, fresh produce or fine dining or checking out area attraction. As I said in the title of this review: Nobody Does It Better!


Maggie and Steve's great adventure

4.6 on October 22, 2013

Gene was a wonderful host - we felt very welcome (and so did our two wiener dogs)! Best 3 nights of our 11 night trip!


A Perfect Getaway

5 on October 17, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our ten year anniversary, and Acorn Bed and Breakfast was a short part of our trip. Having never stayed at a bed and breakfast, we had no idea what to expect. Upon arrival, Gene was waiting to greet us and show us to our beautiful (and immaculate) room. My husband and I were so impressed with the attention to detail Gene and Bob demonstrated. Every aslect of our stay was perfect; we only wish we could have stayed longer! Did I mention the food? Gene is an AMAZING chef, and you will not start your day hungry. Overall, we had a phenomenal stay at Acorn Bed and Breakfast, and we are truly grateful for Gene and Bob to be such an integral part of our 10 year anniversary. We cannot wait to return!


wonderful

5 on October 16, 2013

It was our honeymoon and we loved this bedand breakfast. Gene is a wonderful cooker and is so kind! After our trip, he sent us a present. Thank you, thank you, thank you.


Our Honeymoon

5 on October 09, 2013

The stay at your magnificant B&B was a wedding present from my mom, Dona. She could not have given us a better gift! We were so impressed, we want to come back with friends


Great job gene ! Thank you !

5 on October 08, 2013

Thank you from all of us. Shea too ! Great B&B and a terrific host. Enjoyed our visit immensely. Highly recommend.


RObin and family

5 on October 07, 2013

Made me and my whole family feel like royalty we will definitely be back if you want to feel like you are home but better than this is the place to stay!


Excellent place to stay. We had a good time. Everything was great, we will be back.

4.8 on October 07, 2013

Gert Jan & Inge, Summerville SC


I wish my home was this comfortable.

5 on October 03, 2013

There really is nothing to critique.... This place is about as good as it gets for a B&B in my opinion. We stayed there a year or so ago and my son and his wife just returned from their honeymoon. They had the same report we did. Absolute immaculate rooms, over the top friendliness, top shelf gourmet breakfast, and most important to a new couple, outstanding value! You just get more than you expect with Gene and Bob. They were great hostess's without being intrusive. Wayne


Weekend getaway for the girls

5 on September 08, 2013

Only got to stay 2 nights at this wonderful B&B . This was most definitely the best place to call a home away from home. The rooms were very nice and the beds were so comfortable. The breakfast was out of this world and more than enough for one person. You could feel the pride and care that went into each breakfast and also the care for each one of his guest. It will definitely be the place I will stay when visiting NC or just need a weekend getaway. Look up Acorn B&B and you will want to stay there also . Thanks Gene and Bob for all your hospitality and for sharing your home with us. Hope to see y'all again next year if not before.


Relaxing Experience

4.0 on September 05, 2013

We stayed in the Magnolia room which was very roomy, private, comfortable and clean. The breakfast meals were beautifully prepared and delicious. Gene was our host and the "Chef" who prepared all of our meals. The only thing that I would have added to the meal times would have been some nice bluegrass music in the background since we were in the mountains. I believe all of the guest would have enjoyed a little background music to add to the ambiance. Overall, we had a "wonderful time " at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast and look forward to visiting there again..


ACORN B&B AT MILLS RIVER - WONDERFUL!

5 on August 29, 2013

WAS VERY PLEASED WITH OUR STAY. INKEEPER WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMODATING. GREAT ROOM, GREAT PRICE, GREAT BREAKFAST. CLOSE ENOUGH TO ALL LOCAL ATTRACTIONS AND YET REMOVED AND PRIVATE ENOUGH TO STAY AWAY FROM THE CROWDS!


Everything was perfect!

5 on August 26, 2013

Very enjoyable. Excellent attention to detail. Exceeded our expectations.


Loved this place!

5 on August 26, 2013

We loved staying here. Great accommodations, fantastic breakfast, wonderful Innkeepers. We highly recommend the Acorn B&B.


Pleasant Discovery

5 on August 25, 2013

Spur of the moment trip led to discovery of this amazing gem just minutes away from the beautiful NC mountains. The proprietor (Gene) could not have been more gracious and welcoming. His attention to detail was especially appreciated.......from accommodating our late arrival, to the personalized welcome written at his front door, to the wonderful meal and pleasant conversation the following morning. Our bed and breakfast experience is limited. If this is a representative sample of the concept......we will for sure be back again and again.


Acorn B & B

5 on August 20, 2013

For our 52nd Anniversary, we wanted to spend a few days in the NC mountains but didn't want a cookie-cutter type room at a motel/hotel and it had to be off the beaten path. I found the Acorn B & B during an online search and all of the reviews were good. So we booked. At arrival, we were welcomed with our names listed at the front door and were greeted by Gene, the owner, who helped with luggage. Our room was large (Magnolia) and lovely with a large, king size bed. French doors opened onto a deck overlooking the grounds and woods and mountains off in the distance. The Acorn is very peaceful and serene. However, it is close to all the major area, Asheville, Hendersonville, Flat Rock, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed the, especially, prepared breakfasts by Gene. He is a delightful host who made our stay wonderful. It was also important to bring our 13 yr. old Jack Russell with us. Gene had a doggie basket just for her! The Acorn had all the amenities one needed. The Acorn is so quiet with a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. One of the most important things to me was that I felt extremely safe; more so than I would have in a motel/hotel setting that has long hallways with many, many rooms and scads of strangers all around you. The security was very important to us during our stay at the Acorn B & B. I recommend it! Our 52nd was the best yet!!


We would and will stay here again!

5 on August 20, 2013

The food was outstanding. A great place to be when you are not at home. Very, very comfortable


Totally Pampered

4.8 on August 19, 2013

We loved how special and pampered Gene made us feel. We give Acorn B&B a 5 star rating!


Highly recommended!

4.0 on August 16, 2013

Great hospitality, food and attention to detail. Highly recommended.


Great Weekend Stay

5 on August 16, 2013

Room, service and food all outstanding. Gene and Bob are fantastic hosts. William and Nanette Ellington.


PEACEFUL RESPITE

5 on August 15, 2013

Definitely the place to come to feel pampered by details, respected for privacy, at 'home' in a gracious energy and gifted by the natural pristine environment.


Excellent

5 on August 14, 2013

Excellent B&B, gourmet breakfasts, lovely owners


Amazing Experience!

4.8 on August 13, 2013

Breakfast was way beyond my expectations, beautiful presentation and delicious! Bed was so comfortable, I felt right at home.


very nice

4.6 on August 07, 2013

stayed in Magnolia room. very nice and comfortable. food was delicious and very well presented. host was very gracious. no complaints. hope to stay here again


Acorn B&B.

4.6 on July 25, 2013

Accadations, food and hospitality were outstanding . Convienent to Asheville and all attractions.will stay there again and recommend it highly


Excellent service, attention to detail and more

5 on July 21, 2013

Stayed in the Magnolia room and was impressed with the white glove cleanliness, luxury linens, soaps and small touches that made our stay first class. Breakfast was excellent with apple cinnamon pancakes, thick crisp bacon, custard w/ raspberry sauce, peach smoothies, breakfast breads and drinks. Gene is a genius in the kitchen and is an impeccable host. Bob and Gene run an inn that competes with the best. We will definitely stay there again!


A Giant Oak

5 on July 19, 2013

...from a little Acorn grows. This delightful B & B offers stately rooms and services. Beautifully furnished and comfortable, from the cozy robes and slippers to the sumptuous breakfasts, the Acorn offers the best of everything. Gene was a wonderful host and made us feel very much at home. Our two night stay was the most luxurious and enjoyable stay of our trip; we look forward to a return visit.


Excellent B&B

5 on July 17, 2013

Excellent B&B. Outside Asheville but close enough, and convenient to other NC locations. Super breakfasts and great hosts.


Lovely, relaxing place

4.6 on July 08, 2013

Stayed one night in the Garden, Room, which is beautiful. Gene was very hospitable and makes a great fresh fruit salad for breakfast. Very convenient to the airport and restaurants.


Homey B&B

5 on July 02, 2013

This B&B is just like home except you don't have to do a thing. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious and satisfying. Gene is a wonderful host who sees to your every need.


Mountain Retreat

4.0 on June 30, 2013

The hosts were gracious and accommodating. Wanted to make sure every need was met. Enjoyable, quiet stay.


Outstanding !

5 on June 25, 2013

Wonderful place ! Gene and Bob are just awesome and the nicest people ever ! Amazing beautiful rooms ! Convenient and peaceful location ! Maybe the highest value you can find in the area for bed and breakfast. We have deeply enjoyed our stay here . A special thanks to Gene for his cooking ! The breakfast was really great ! Moreover, the rooms are beautiful and personalized, it really feels like home (even better !). Lot's of beautiful things to do in the area (Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville...)


The Best Innkeeper Ever

5 on June 23, 2013

Second visit; can't wait to return. Gene is simply the best.


Great, relaxing stay

5 on June 19, 2013

This place was great. Gene welcomed us and made us feel at home. We stayed in the Magnolia room which must have been the original master bedroom. It was very comfortable and all the extra touches were great. The breakfast was exceptional and I really enjoyed the peach smoothie.


Perfection!

5 on June 19, 2013

Everything about our visit was perfect, but especially the food--the delicious breakfasts, homemade cookies & chocolates, attention to detail and catering to individual tastes made everything 5 star. We were visiting Asheville for a wedding at the Biltmore Estate--the Acorn B&B was close enough to Asheville to provide easy access to town, but far enough away to escape the hubbub and traffic.


Acorn B&B is Wonderful!

4.8 on June 12, 2013

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay. Gene made us feel less outstanding. We will be recommend this B&B to our friends and family.


Breakfast is incredible!!!

5 on June 11, 2013

Really like our home away from home. We stay at Acorn whenever we are in the Ashville area. Gene is more like a good friend or relative than an innkeeper. He happily shares his great knowledge of the area with all visitors.


Highlight of our road trip

5 on June 07, 2013

Our host Gene, eagerly met us at the door and made sure that we had everything we needed to feel comfortable and welcome. The details of the home are too many to mention, very artistic. The best part was yet to come when we sat down for our first of two breakfasts. This is when we discovered that Gene was a retired gourmet chef. The freshness and presentation of these meals were far beyond our expectations. If we ever return to this area for another visit we will be contacting The Acorn B & B!


Best Stay

5 on May 06, 2013

Superb & stunning bed & breakfast. Gorgeous room & a fantastic host. Such a beautiful place to stay. One of the best B&Bs we have experienced.


A wonderful weekend! We will be back!

5 on April 25, 2013

I would say that we felt right at home except that at home we have to do things for ourselves. Gene Wyatt is the consummate professional - making us feel completely comfortable while anticipating and filling needs before we even knew we had them. Our room, indeed the entire house, was top notch. I saw in previous reviews that Gene's breakfasts have become legendary so I was anxious to see if they lived up to the hype. As it turned out, they exceeded expectations. Excellent! Thanks to Gene and Bob for a fun and relaxed weekend that we hope to repeat soon!


Home away from home

4.2 on April 23, 2013

The Acorn Bed and Breakfast is a very comfortable place - like you might be going to visit family you really like, Gene and Bob have added so many nice touches to make you feel welcome from cookies and chocolates in the room to the TV room with snacks and any movie you may want to watch They are very gracious hosts and made us feel welcome and at" home".


Very nice B&B

4.6 on April 15, 2013

I left too early and got in too late for any dining experience. The property and the owner are outstanding. Thank you!


EXCELLENT VACATION CHOICE!!!

5 on April 09, 2013

Everything was perfect. I went on a little getaway vacation with my husband and another couple. We had such a great time. The attention that Gene offers is outstanding. The food was your perfect home cooked meal every time. I felt right at home, I will definitely be going back!


Wonderful Experience

4.4 on April 05, 2013

We had a great time at Acorn B&B. They went above and beyond to ensure a relaxing trip. We will be back!


Beautiful stay in NC

4.8 on March 31, 2013

The food was incredible and Gene is a wonderful host!


One Great Stay

5 on February 24, 2013

Gene is a gracious host and a wonderful cook. Breakfast was a fantastic feast. The room was clean and very comfortable.


Arrival, departure & beyond

4.8 on February 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we departed we felt very at home, except for the wonderful treats and gracious hosts. Looking forward to a return within the year.


Highly recommended!

5 on February 05, 2013

The home is welcoming and very comfortable, with charming rooms and amenities. The breakfasts are outstanding. Gene makes everything himself, including his own biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs benedict, stuffed French toast with praline syrup. We visited in the winter and he'd canned or frozen fresh fruits from the summer. Even the apple butter is home made. Delectible!


A Great R&R

5 on January 19, 2013

Friendly, comfortable, excellent food. Very relaxing. Great host. Everything you would want for a perfect weekend.


Acorn B&B

5 on January 19, 2013

Truly a refreshing experience. Loved it and would recommend to all.


Best B&B place we have been to!

5 on January 16, 2013

This place was outstanding! We had stayed at a lot of B&B before we stayed at Acorn and have stayed at few more other places after that stay and we have to say that nothing comes closer to Acorn. Gene and Bob were wonderful hosts. They catered to our dietary restrictions in a wonderful manner, the rooms were nicely themed and we loved the basement family area where we can watch movies together, play games, etc. I would recommend this place to everyone.


This was our first time but it won't be our last ;)

5 on January 14, 2013

My husband a room at Acorn B & B for my birthday weekend. This was the first time either of us had ever stayed at a B&B. Gene and Bob made our experience wonderful! All the little touches were so nice and breakfast by Gene was fabulous!! We will definitely be going back to stay at Acorn!!


Wonderful Hosts!

4.2 on November 10, 2012

We would return to Acorn B&B in a NY minute, it was so pleasant! Our hosts, Gene & Bob, made us feel like family within the first 5 minutes. Delicious food, beautiful setting, cozy room. treats & service beyond compare.


Warm & Welcoming

4.8 on November 10, 2012

Lovely B&B. Host made me feel welcome. Delightful breakfast with fashion & fare. Thanks Gene.


Inviting and wonderful place to stay! Feels like home!

4.8 on November 06, 2012

Bob and Gene are the most wonderful hosts! Homemade cookies and varied candy goodies each night and FANTASTIC gourmet breakfasts each morning. Every little detail is thought about when you stay at the Acorn B&B. The decorations will make you feel like you truly are on a mountain vacation. Thank you for such a great stay and we hope to be back soon! HIGHLY recommended!


acorn bed and breakfast

5 on November 04, 2012

this is a great place to stay.we came to tour biltmore so this is the perfect place for that.the rooms are beautiful and very well furnished.the breakfasts we have had are 5 star.bob and gene are very good hosts,very informative about local reteraunts and places to go,knows a lot about biltmore.will stay here again the next time we come also very good value for your money.cant say enough good things about our stay


A Very Pleasant Stay

5 on October 27, 2012

Gene and Bob were very nice and welcoming. The Magnolia Room was very clean and comfortable, with private access to a deck overlooking a peaceful woodland scene. When we drove up we saw our names on the Welcome sign and Gene made us feel at home right away. Breakfast was delicious. All around great experience.


Excellent breakfast and hospitality!

5 on October 15, 2012

Nothing but positive things to say about our stay there. We didn't get a chance to meet Bob, but Gene was the nicest host! The breakfasts he made were outstanding!! Each night, we came back and there would be freshly baked cookies on our dresser. The robes were super comfortable and definitely added to the stay. The bed was also very comfortable. I want to come back to Asheville just so I have an excuse to go here again!


Great getaway for the weekend

3.6 on October 14, 2012

Everything was great. The only negative was that the owner had dogs and we didn't know that ahead of time. My wife is allergic and a germaphobe so the fact that the dogs are allowed to run around in the B and B when no one is there was not something she was thrilled about. Other than that it was fantastic.


a pleasant surprise

4.0 on October 11, 2012

Everything was very comfortable. Gene is very welcoming, and there were lots of unexpected amenities. Breakfast was a real treat, including fresh berries picked on the property!


First Time at a B&B

5 on October 03, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves. Gene, you are truly the best. A home away from home, only better.


Great Value

4.0 on October 03, 2012

Although the Acorn is not a typical historic house you might expect, the service is excellent, food is great, and the host is very knowledgeable about the area. Priced reasonably.


Awesome

5 on September 24, 2012

Best B&B I have stayed in. Breakfast five-star, friendliness, welcome homely, all not available in hotel. Very roomy and spacious.


Clean, comfortable,cozy, quiet and close to many "must see" venues

4.4 on September 19, 2012

Stayed several nights each was restful and comfortable with all the amenities of home. Meals were to perfection and beyond!


For The Very First Time

5 on September 06, 2012

I was looking for a get away, and a fellow friend put pictures up on his FB page of he and his wife having a great time. I asked him where he was and he told me. I goggled the Acorn Bed and Breakfast and a week later we made reservations. It was great... Gene is suberb at everything, the Mickey Mouse wall was great.. the whole experience is truly a home away from home. Styrea (Star) & Clifford Medley


Like being Home Away From Home

5 on August 30, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Acorn B&B, August 23-26, 2012. The room was exquisite, the food was prepared just as the brochure pictured. Everything down to the last detail was perfect. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. We would also say to take this trip if it was out of your way just for the truely wonderful experience. Gene was a super host, everything from directions along the way to the B&B to what aattractions were the best to see and when. Truely a great experience. It was truely an unexpected way to celebrate our 30th anniversary.


a perfect blend

5 on August 29, 2012

Acorn B&B is a perfect blend of perfection, from the warm and inviting atmosphere to the superb fine cuisine.


Wonderful Home Away From Home!

5 on August 28, 2012

What a fantastic B&B! Gene and Bob are wonderful hosts and we loved everything about the Acorn! Gene is an amazing chef and his breakfasts are absolutely amazing! We loved it so much we're heading back in a couple of months. The Acorn B&B is the best place to stay in the Ashville area.


Home Away From Home!

5 on August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast recently and had an absolutely wonderful experience. We stayed for the weekend, and ended up extending our stay for one additional day with no issues. We stayed down stairs in the Garden Room. Although I was a little apprehensive about sharing a bathroom with the Dogwood Room, there were no other guests down stairs, and we had the entire area to ourselves. It was perfect for our needs. The down stairs area included a full kitchen, dining room table, desk, treadmill & stationary bike, and living room with a large flat panel TV. The room had a king size bed, and was well appointed with robes, towels, slippers, and extra pillows & blankets. It was perfect for us, since we had been traveling to Hendersonville several times over the past few months looking for houses to purchase. This gave us the opportunity to be able to “eat in” and save some money, or keep our left overs in the fridge to have the next day. They kept the fridge stocked with various sodas and water, and a single serve Keurig coffee maker was available for your use with many choices of coffee or tea. Every evening there was a different night time snack for you to enjoy (brownies and cookies, delicious!). Breakfast just continued to enhance our experience as every morning Gene made something else that simply “wowed” our taste buds. We also enjoyed sitting and chatting with Gene and Bob about the area and getting a lot of information on places to visit while we were in town. We honestly cannot say enough good things about the inn keepers and our stay. We have visited many bed & breakfast inns around the South Asheville area over the past few months, but this one would probably top the list. For the value, experience, food, and impeccable service, the Acorn B&B is a “must stay”. The only regret we have is that we didn't stay here earlier. We highly recommend the Acorn B&B. Thank you Gene and Bob for a wonderful stay! Joe & Courtney


Hospitality is Top-Notch

5 on August 14, 2012

This was our first experience staying at a Bed & Breakfast and it was GREAT! The breakfasts were delicious. The room was comfortable and inviting. The host was very hospitable. We will definitely go back and suggest this "home away from home" to others.


Hidden Gem

5 on August 14, 2012

Gracious hosts, excellent food, lovely accommodations and great location. A truly enjoyable visit to the Asheville area! Pet friendly!


B&B Review

5 on August 14, 2012

Wonderful and amazing experience at Acorn B&B. Gene was very welcoming and courteous. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. We loved every detail in the room and house.


Awesome get away

5 on August 10, 2012

We went with another couple for the weekend! The place was great, clean and the breakfast was outstanding. We had the entire down stair to our self. We would recommend the place to all our friends. Gene was the perfect inn keeper!!!!


Another wonderful stay at Acorn B&B in Mills River

5 on August 09, 2012

My husband and I have stayed with Gene and Bob at the Acorn three times now and each visit has been a delight. The location is peaceful and the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing....and then there are Gene's scrumptious breakfasts! If you are going to be in the Asheville area, Acorn B&B is a great place to stay.


Home with family

5 on August 08, 2012

the owners of the acorn , are supper great , i will be back many times ,everything was so outstanding , i felt so more like family and at home , with so much love , thank you gene ,..with love from John & Carrie Perez


Terrific stay close to the airport

5 on August 05, 2012

I was looking for reasonably priced accommodations close to the Asheville Airport, found the Acorn B&B and was not disappointed! From personalized touches, to great service, to a terrific (and large!) breakfast, this place was a true find and a great value. Gene is a warm and welcoming host, the house was spotless and I really appreciated the afternoon cookies and chocolates before bed. As billed, the Acorn B&B is truly a home away from home. Although the proximity of the rooms means that sounds carry well from one to the other, I found my stay to be relaxing and comfortable.


Best Home Away From Home!!

5 on August 01, 2012

Acorn, is a great place to stay if you're ever near the Asheville, NC area. The owners Gene and Bob are friendly and strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible. From the charming decor to the comfy beds a stay at Acorn is not to be missed. The price for a night's stay is very affordable and the small touches, like fresh baked cookies and truffles awaiting you in your room makes your stay feel absolutely luxurious.


I could ask for no more

5 on July 31, 2012

What an honor to have been with the owners of the very best of the best! They were always "at your service" and the breakfast 10/10. A home away from home!


Third time, and just as charming

5 on July 21, 2012

When you pull in and the sign says "welcome home" with your names, you know this place is special. This is the third time that we have stayed here, and it just keeps getting better and better. Gene and Bob are superb hosts, and we were absolutely spoiled. And breakfast! I should have gotten my camera out before I ate, because breakfast was an absolute work of art, in addition to being delicious. Gene remembers the details, too, so there was freshly made tomato juice for my husband who loves it. We were only here one night this time; next time, we hope to make it a longer stay.


Wonderful Ashville Get Away!

5 on June 27, 2012

Acorn B&B is a wonderful hidden gem definitely worth seeking out! The hosts are very gracious, location is rural but city close, and the food is fantastic! Fresh fruit and veggies from the local farmer's market and lots of homemade goodies! We'll be back and will recommend it to anyone heading to Ashville!


peaceful

4.8 on June 19, 2012

would recommend. Felt safe,very quiet and peaceful setting. Food was excellent. Some of the best breakfast food I ever had.


Bulltastic!

5 on June 17, 2012

We were in town for a PBR Touring Pro Bull riding event and we were very happy with our accommodations at Acorn B&B! Breakfast was fantastic both mornings we were there, the fridge was stocked with various drinks (sodas and water), and we were treated like family from the moment we arrived. Gene was the consummate host and we look forward to staying here again next spring!


Exquisite Stay at the Acorn

5 on June 16, 2012

I was met in the drive way by Gene. He was so warm and welcoming, carried my luggage to my room, which was exactly as was described the sheets were exquisitse as was every aspect of my stay. I cannot think of one thing that didn't surpass my expectations. Flexibility for the breakfast time and FOOD oh my goodness beautifully presented and delicious. I truly felt comfortable yet pampered. I am already looking forward to many return visits.


Just like home!

4.8 on June 10, 2012

My husband and I just spent three wonderful days at this "home". Gene was an outstanding host and made sure every detail was taken care of. We will definitely make a return visit!


Home away from home, and then some!

5 on June 07, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Acorn Inn a few times now, with our dog, and we absolutely plan to keep coming back. The owners don't even have to try to make you feel as if you are home, it just comes natural when you're there. From the clean and comfortable rooms (which can be dicey when pets are allowed, we were VERY pleased!), to the DELICIOUS ,gourmet crafted breakfasts (and afternoon treats!) and the company you meet and keep, the Acorn Inn is truly a home away from home, but a home, where you get the royal treatment.


Wonderful getaway!

5 on May 21, 2012

These hosts have perfected the B&B experience! Every detail was thought of. We could not have been more pleased. I especially loved the decor. I took pictures of different areas of our room so I could remember it.


A perfect place to stay just outside Asheville

5 on May 13, 2012

Such a welcome from Gene at this friendly B&B. We were travelling the Blue Ridge Parkway which passes nearby and wanted to spend a day at Biltmore - also close by. We had the large room with en-suite (the other two rooms share a bathroom) and it was excellent. It was wonderful to have the deck to relax on and there's a separate room inside to read, watch TV or enjoy the huge DVD library. The breakfasts were superb - Gene is a qualified chef and it showed! There's a really nice restaurant in Mills River which is handy. Stay at Acorn Bed & Breakfast!


Exceptional in every way

5 on December 12, 2011

We had a family reunion at the Acorn B and B. It was perfect. We had the entire downstairs to ourselves - totally private with all the comforts of home and then some! Gene and Bob are wonderful hosts - and the breakfasts are five star. This was the second time we stayed at the Acorn B and B and it certainly won't be our last.


Just what I needed

4.6 on December 05, 2011

Gene and Bob were the perfect hosts, and their home was peaceful, well-appointed, and very comfy. The Magnolia Room is wonderful. The sheets are the best I've slept on! The food is gourmet. I will definitely recommend to anyone.


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on November 21, 2011

Great experience, we really enjoyed our stay and visiting with the inn keeper


Acorn B&B at Mill River, NC

5 on November 15, 2011

Our Nov. 10 & 11, 2011 stay was prompted by the greatly appreciated "B&Bs For Veterans" offer. This particular inn was chosen after reviewing the several participating western North Carolina B&B web sites. We were not disappointed! The innkeepers, Gene and Bob, couldn't have been more gracious, nor the B&B lovelier. The expertly decorated rooms were cozy and well appointed. And the breakfasts were unique, absolutely delicious and expertly prepared by Gene (a former Navy cook). As all of the guests during our stay were military families, the conversation around the table was both lively and inspirational. The Acorn B&B is ideally located for visitors wishing to tour the world famous Biltmore Estate. This amazing facility is an easy 15-minute drive from the Inn. For fly-in visitors the Asheville Airport is just five minutes away; and, in spite of its proximity, no aircraft takeoffs or landings were heard. Gene went out of his way to make us feel welcome from the minute we pulled into his driveway until our departure two days later. We can't wait to view the picture Gene took of us at his front door minutes before bidding each other adieu! Would we recommend the Acorn B&B to others? In a heartbeat! Footnote: Due to local signage authorization difficulties, the inn was somewhat difficult to spot from the road in spite of the provison of GPS coordinates in its web site. However, a call to Gene garnered easy-to-follow directions.


Wonderful Visit

4.8 on November 13, 2011

Acorn B&B was our second experience and by far the best. Every meticulous detail and exceptional service far exceed that expected of this price range. Chef Gene is amazing, his thoughtful combination if fruits, pastries and entree's ensured an exceptional breakfast experience. From the time you arrive you truly feel that you are at home. I would definetly stay again...


Peace and quiet among the trees, and great breakfasts!

4.6 on November 09, 2011

I stayed two peaceful nights in the Dogwood room, which has a supremely comfortable bed. The bathroom is shared (with one other room) but you get the adjoining den/TV/music room and kitchen as a bonus, along with direct access access to the patio area outside. The B&B is Gene's dream project and it shows. His creative, five-star breakfasts are some of the best I've had anywhere and really set you up for the day, and he's a genuinely warm and convivial host - ask him about his time at Biltmore! I appreciated the little touches (such as chocolates and cold drinks), and his directions and restaurant recommendations were spot on. Tip: try to arrive in daylight - there's no sign on the road and the turn-off up the hill can be easy to miss in the dark.


Everything we needed, and a bit more

4.4 on November 02, 2011

My husband and I and our small pooch were in the Asheville area on a house-hunting trip last week. We stayed a few nights at a local hotel and decided to try a couple of nights at Acorn B&B. GOOD DECISION! We stayed in their "Dogwood' room on the lower level that has a direct door to the back yard so dog walking was a breeze. Everything was very clean and welcoming. Gene fed us WAY too much but it was all delicious, from the warm cookies at check-in to the chocolates in our room to the multi-course breakfasts featuring locally grown food. We were pretty tired and had lots of info to digest from meetings w/ builders, etc. and having the lower level tv, desk area and kitchen at our disposal was helpful and de-stressing. Will definitely go back if in the area. btw- no noticeable noise even though quite close to airport/interstate


10 STAR

5 on October 27, 2011

Absolutely perfect in every way! Friendly down to earth innkeepers, sparkling clean, best breakfasts ever, home away from home! Actually better than home...will be back soon!


The Best Excuse for a Getaway in Asheville

5 on October 26, 2011

This was our third stay at Acorn, and it felt like coming home! Although the fall colors are gorgeous, the activities entertaining, the art funky, and the restaurants delicious, Acorn is the highlight of our visit. You won't find a better place to stay in the Asheville area.


Acorn Bed and Breakfast, Mills River, NC

4.0 on October 26, 2011

Very pleasant stay: clean; welcoming hosts, nice amenities. A short drive south of Asheville.


You need to stay at this B & B

4.6 on October 22, 2011

Gene and Bob, the owners were delightful hosts. Our room was spotless, the Inn was warm and inviting and the breakfast was heavenly. We can't say enough about our stay there.


Over the top

5 on October 16, 2011

Hospitality with a flair! The host has a servants heart, anticipating all needs of the guest. Host has had a variety of experiences that add to interest and information on the area.Creative and satisfying breakfasts. Quiet and away from congestion but near enough to area attractions. I would recommend and return. Very pleasant all round!


A delight

3.8 on October 05, 2011

We really enjoyed the warm hospitality and laid-back style of Acorn B&B. Gene is a wonderful chef who prepared a delicious breakfast and helped us truly feel right at home in Mills River.


Outstanding in every way

5 on October 05, 2011

I stayed with my husband and our dog for 2 nights at the Acorn Bed and Breakfast. We were pampered in every way and Gene and Bob couldn't have been nicer. Since we were the only guests, we basically had the entire second floor to ourselves. The den included games, books, a fully outfitted kitchen with snacks and beverages. Throughout our stay, thoughtful little touches - like homemade cookies and chocolates in a hand stamped box - were included. Breakfasts go far beyond the usual cereal and muffins and showcase Gene's talents as a chef. 1 breakfast included homemade smoothies, 2 types of homemade breads, a frittata, blackberry cobbler and a juice bar - that's all just 1 meal. Our dog was made as welcome as we were and Gene even took her for a walk when we were delayed getting back. The house is just beautiful and has several personal touches, such as heirloom quilts and handmade furniture. Considering all of this, rates are more than reasonable.


Pampered Guest

5 on September 18, 2011

This B&B was charming and inviting. Our room was cozy, and the bed very comfy. We had the entire bottom floor to ourselves and it included a refrigerator full of drinks, popcorn, TV, and homemade cookies. Breakfast was unbelievable! Our host was warm and friendly and catered to our every need! I would highly recommend this B&B!


Good value near Hendersonville

3.4 on September 12, 2011

Guest rooms are in an attached wing of owners' home. We appreciated thoughtful touches like cold drinks for guests. Breakfast is shared with any other guests at the table. Wireless is available. TV available in a common den.


was greeted by a Welcome Home sign

5 on August 28, 2011

We stayed with Gene and Bob for 3 nights in a lovely room. Gene cooked wonderful breakfasts each morning. We were made to feel like we were staying with intimate friends. Gene made excellent suggestions as to local attractions and gave us the inside scoop on the Biltmore Estate, when to go and what to see.


Excellent Service and Food

4.6 on August 22, 2011

We had a very nice patio off the room, which added to the relaxing atmosphere. Gene made us feel so welcome, and even went out of his way to find some gluten-free snacks and breakfast food for me. The Dogwood room had a shared bath, but we were the only guests on the lower floor. The shower was dark (so be aware if you wish to shave), but incredibly clean and had luxurious towels. We stayed one night, which was unfortunate since we couldn't keep experiencing the breakfasts! Gene's quality and presentation of the food were excellent. We drove one hour south to our next stop in North Carolina, and found out upon arrival that we left one of my husband's t shirts in the room. Gene drove to our location to deliver the shirt. He really goes the extra mile to deliver genuine service.


Acorn B& B

5 on August 21, 2011

The food was delicious and presentation was very well done. To talk with Gene about some of the pieces of furnature and hear about the history was wonderful. We were able to take our dogs and they had a great time as well. The back yard was a nice place for them to explore. The dog friendly is a great selling point and we have told our family & friends about Acorn & to go visit soon.


Absolutely charming B&B!

5 on August 08, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Acorn, my husband and I felt as though we were arriving at a family members home. Gene and Bob met us at the door, carried our bags and gave us a welcoming tour. The house was cozy, but spacious, and absolutely comfortable. We sometimes struggle to find "dog friendly" B&Bs that are people friendly as well, but we knew the Acorn was the best of both worlds as soon as we arrived. Just when we thought we had really lucked out, we had breakfast the next morning and were truly amazed! Absolutely delicious and fresh with local ingredients! We absolutely recommend the Acorn and appreciate Gene and Bob sharing the best-kept secret of Mills River with us.


A truly exceptional Bed and Breakfast!

5 on August 04, 2011

From the moment we arrived to be greeted by Gene as we got out of the car to the chat about so many things over breakfast on our last day our whole stay at Acorn BNB was a delight. Our room - Magnolia - was wonderful especially the cookies ( homemade) and chocolates! Everything was of a very high quality and showed an attention to detail and the desire to please guests which we have not come across anywhere else we have stayed in the world! Breakfasts were truly amazing and delicious. The whole experience of staying here is something that will be one of the outstanding memories of our trip from the UK. A delightful place with delightful hosts!


Great oaks from little acorns grow

4.8 on July 19, 2011

The Acorn Bed and Breakfast is evidence that little details (acorns) make all the difference. Gene greeted us in the driveway and showed us to our room as we passed a welcome sign with our names. We stayed in the magnolia room which was outfitted with personal bedroom slippers, fine chocolate, home baked cookies, and sheets as soft as a feather. We also enjoyed the sitting room and its games & tv room and dvd collection. Gene wonderfully accommodated our special dietary requests during breakfast with a wide range of options and we ate so much we skipped lunch. Great place for a getaway - great value compared to Asheville area B&Bs and did not require minimum stay.


Celebrated 1 year anniversary at Acorn B&B

4.8 on July 08, 2011

My husband and I escaped to the Acorn B&B to celebrate our one year anniversary. The weekend started off beautifully with Gene meeting us at the car to carry our bags, offering freshly baked cookies and encouraging us to make ourselves at home. Each morning we were pampered with delectable breakfasts of fresh fruit smoothies, a seasonal fruit dish, followed by the main course (including farm omelets, Belgian waffles w/ homemade blackberry syrup, and eggs benedict w/ homemade sausage). We both enjoyed having the opportunity to get to know Gene and Bob over breakfast conversations. I would highly recommend the Acorn B&B to any friend and family.


June 24, 2011

5 on June 28, 2011

We stayed in the Dogwood Room, which was beautiful. The Innkeepers are wonderful, the food was great and would stay there again!


Squirrelfest B&B

5 on June 02, 2011

Best B&B we ever stayed at. Attention to detail was superb. Breakfasts by the chef were excellent. Very lovely house. We will definately be back. We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a peaceful getaway. Truly a welcoming home away from home.


Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on June 02, 2011

Overall, a lovely experience. The host was very polite and kind. He made us feel at home. I did not realize that pets were allowed. This was not much of an issue, except that in the kitchen and living room we could smell the dog odor when it got hot. In the room this was not an issue. There was no dog hair to speak of. The rooms were impeccably clean (and I am a neat freak). The food was different from expected compared to other B&B's that we have been to. It was not bad, just different. We always had delicious treats waiting for us in the room. Cookies and chocolates, which for some sweet lovers, this was great. There was a stocked fridge with drinks in it which was great. The bed was super hard and that was our major complaint. The sheets were heavenly soft. But the bed was so hard. Other than that, a great place and very homey and sweet.


Anniversary Getaway

4.8 on May 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Acorn B&B this month and really enjoyed our stay- wished we could have stayed another night! The B&B was close to lots of area attractions, the rooms were cozy, and the breakfast was wonderful! We will definitely be planning our next visit!


Welcoming New Grandson

5 on May 09, 2011

Gene and Bob were warm and welcoming personally and by signs. Breakfast was delicious each morning and presentation was outstanding. Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Room was nice size, spotless and fresh flowers. I really felt as if I were in a charming home as a valued guest. Bob and Gene were very obliging with each and every request and seemed to enjoy it as if it were their purpose in life to serve us. 5 STARS. Nestled in woods so quiet and relaxing, but very convenient to all the attractions in the area. Thanks guys, great job!!!


my home away from home while on business

5 on March 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast in Mills River while on a business trip in the area. I so enjoyed Acorn; Gene and Bob were both very welcoming and made me feel totally at home. Breakfast each morning was delicious and sustaining for my busy work day with my client. Silky soft bed sheets, plush generous towels, a beautiful view; everything anyone could need for a place to stay away from home. I look forward to visiting Acorn again very soon.


Best place to stay!

5 on November 10, 2010

Bob & Gene are absolutely wonderful! What a great a place to stay! They go above and beyond in every aspect!


Best B&B in the world!

5 on November 01, 2010

These innkeepers really know how to spoil their guests. When Gene greets you at the door, he immediately makes you feel like family. The bedding is superb, the rooms wonderfully decorated, the deck is great for relaxing in the fresh air, and the breakfasts are beyond belief! While this is not an "historic house" B&B, it is absolutely the best place to stay in the Asheville-Hendersonville area. Reasonable rates and wonderful hosts!


Better than "outstanding!"

5 on October 28, 2010

Gene met us when we drove up and carried in our luggage. In our beautiful room candy and cookies were waiting. We wanted to explore the area and they had brochures and personal advice ready. Breakfasts were great; we could even make special requests of a great cook!


Cozy B&B

4.6 on October 07, 2010

We are from Germany and we were at Acorn B%B for one night. It was a wonderful stay there. The room was well appointed and very clean. Gene did everything to make our stay perfect. His breakfast was exceptionally good. Thank you very much ! Please excuse my bad english ! Edwin and Heike from Germany


Six Wonderful Days

5 on August 21, 2010

We stayed from8-13 to 8-19-10 and it was a wonderful experience. The room was top of the line and very clean. The food was out of this world and both host were outstanding. I recommend this B&B to anyone that is looking for a friendly and welcoming visit. You will feel at home from the minute you arrive and you may not want to leave. Thanks so much Gene and Bob for being the best in the business.


GEM of a Place

5 on August 16, 2010

From the moment you arrive, (a personalized welcome signboard), through your stay everything is for you. Homebaked goods, gourmet breakfast, wonderful rooms, and the best hospitality.


what a surprise

5 on August 10, 2010

A little hard to find but once we did Acorn Bed and Breakfast more than met our expectations


More Than I Dreamed....

5 on August 03, 2010

The owners are over the top welcoming! The food was amazing, the rooms were super clean and beautiful! Quiet country setting, the perfect romantic weekend!


A wonderful place to stay near Asheville!

5 on August 01, 2010

We stayed in the Rose room and enjoyed the lovely wedding theme, high four post bed, and the chocolate truffles welcoming us as well as the acorn chocolates wishing us goodbye. The breakfasts were amazing. First day, fresh fruit, peach smoothie, pancakes with homemade peach syrup and the best applewood bacon we've had. Next day, fresh fruit, strawberry smoothie, garden omelette (delicious) and puff pastry. Both days included assortment of hot teas or coffee, juices, and a pastry bar with banana bread and pumpkin bread as well as others. We loved having fresh baked cookies both nights when we arrived and came back from the day. And the movie room with stocked mini-fridge was excellent. The hosts are very friendly and it is a joy to talk with them.


My Home Away From Home

5 on April 07, 2010

Felt spoiled the entire time. Great service with personalized chocolates and cookies waiting for us at night. Not to mention the chef-prepared breakfast in the morning. Had a great time! Thanks!


1st Timer

5 on January 25, 2010

This was our first time staying at a B&B and it was a great experience! Gene & Bob were gracious hosts, with great attention to every detail. One suggestion is a larger sign at the main road to make it easier to find.


My Stay at Acorn

5 on January 12, 2010

From the moment I entered the Acorn B&B I felt like I was home. The room was just gorgeous and the little touches (slippers and chocolate) made it all the more special.


Best Service

4.2 on January 12, 2010

Service at this B&B is the one to gauge all others by.


Warm and Cozy

4.4 on December 08, 2009

Just what we needed, warm and friendly, relaxing and stress-free. Gene and Bob were gracious hosts, giving us tips on the area and accomodatiing our family. Perfect.


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

3.4 on November 18, 2009

B&B was lovely and great service.


Clean & Inviting

5 on November 09, 2009

The Acorn B&B was clean & cozy. Gene was an excellent host & carried out bags into the inn for us. breakfast was good & there was a wide variety of food. We liked that there were many DVDs to watch so we could just relax & unwind.


Great weekend getaway!

5 on November 06, 2009

Wonderful area of NC with a great selection of local shops. The B&B was clean and well decorated. Breakfast was amazing every morning!


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 27, 2009

This is a wonderful and friendly B&B. the bed was great, food was delicious, and Gene is so warm. We will be returning!


In a nutshell: Fantastic!

5 on October 27, 2009

From the moment we pulled up I knew we had picked the perfect place! The Acorn B&B was stylishly decorated for fall and we even had a personal sign to greet us. Gene was a superb host and the pumpkin waffles were terrific! My favorite B&B!


Just perfect!

5 on October 27, 2009

I couldn't have asked for anything more. If there's ever been a perfect stay away from home, this was it. Every need and most wants were met by Bob and Gene and the food was supreme


Personal Touch

5 on October 25, 2009

This was my first stay in a b&b and was completely won over by the innkeepers' personal touches. Incredible service, treats left in the room daily, comfortable beds, homey decor, stocked guest kitchen, and delicious, hearty breakfasts - what more could you ask for?? My friend and I would look forward to falling into bed and waking to fluffy omelets and waffles almost as soon as we left for our daily activities. With the prices being less than a stay at a chain hotel, I couldn't believe there were empty rooms during the high tourist season. The only reason why I would hesitate telling others about this hidden treasure would be for selfish reasons - I wouldn't want rooms to be full when I go back. Gene and Bob completely made our weekend in Asheville!


Above and Way Beyond

4.2 on October 21, 2009

2 for 2 -- recommended dining perfect. Needed emergency visit to eye doctor -- handled the situation & got me where I needed to be.


The insight of a B & B first timmer.

5 on October 19, 2009

For my fiance and I this was our first trip to a B & B and I can solemnly say that we will be repeat customers. As a firm believer in supporting local businesses it took me awhile to realize that B & B's are also local businesses with good local people like Gene & Bob making it their lifestyle. Our experience was above and beyond what I would have ever imagined. The food was through the roof with flavor and the house was a wonderful treasure chest with small pieces of history in every corner. Their attention to detail phenomenal, their willingness to accommodate exceptional and their stories very enjoyable. We will return and we will spread the good word. Many happy blessings to all who enter the doors of the Acorn. Many Thanks, Natalie & John


Wonderfully Relaxing

5 on October 11, 2009

This was our second visit and we pland to go back again next year and maybe at Christmastime. Gene and Bob are perfect hosts and Gene is a marvelous cook. He not only cooks well but serves the meal with great style.


Everything we needed!

5 on October 01, 2009

My husband, daughter, and I stayed for 5 nights as we visited the Western North Carolina area. It was so peaceful and relaxing to come back to the lovely room and comfortable sitting room. Gene made special Mickey Mouse pancakes for our daughter and put a comfy toddler bed in our room for her. She was thrilled and it made our stay so much better. Wonderful food and hospitality. We will return!


Back Again

5 on September 23, 2009

We stayed at Gene & Bob's Acorn B&B again. The hospitality was outstanding and the food fantastic. Bob & Gene are so kind & courteous! We'll be back!


Apple Fest Weekend.....

4.0 on September 20, 2009

Wow! Gene and Bob are the masters of Bed and Breakfast. They seem to know just what we needed. Everything was perfect from our rooms to the wonderful breakfast feasts that were waiting for us every morning. Would we come back? In a heart beat. Mike and Jody


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 07, 2009

We were completely surprised and pleased with our stay at this B&B. This was my husband's first stay and he was won over. We had talked of staying in them before but he was not agreeable to stay in one. The Innkeepers touch in the house and all the special things done to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable started the minute we drove up with the greeting and our names on the welcome sign. Our breakfast was on par with an elite and personal restaurant. We highly recommend a stay at this B&B, it will leave you relaxed and looking forward to a return visit.


Better than a 5-Star Hotel!

5 on August 30, 2009

We stay in B&Bs when we travel, and The Acorn is now our "Benchmark" B&B. Anyone who owns/operates a B&B should stay at The Acorn to pick up some pointers. Gene and Bob are the perfect hosts--they spoiled us rotten!


A Treasured Visit

5 on August 10, 2009

Our stay was very delightful. Gene and Bob have seen to every detail. Our room was very spacious, neat, clean and comfortable in every way. Gene is a masterful Chef and it was revealed in the wonderful breakfast he prepared for us each day. He equipped us for a busy day visiting friends and family. They went far beyond what could be expected to make our reunion a memorable one. We are now making plans to return as soon as we can find the time.


A Perfect Beginning to the Weekend

4.0 on August 06, 2009

What beautiful accomodations and the best homemade breakfast we have ever had. From the tuime we arrived until leaving for our golf tee time, we were treated like family and royalty at the same time. We'll definitely return for longer stays in the future.


Simply the best!

5 on August 05, 2009

We spent two nights here, and a more pleasant, relaxing time we could not have had. Gene and Bob were wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Rose Room, which was absolutely beautiful, and extemely well appointed. Gene showed us some of the other rooms, too, before we left, and I'm sure we would have been comfortable in any of them. The highlight of our stay was breakfast. Gene is an excellent chef, and is not about to let anyone get away from his table hungry! And the beautiful breakfast table is a great place to sit and enjoy conversation with other guests. The location of this inn is ideal. It is close to both Hendersonville and Asheville. Bob and Gene can offer suggestions for things to do and places to eat in either location. Not only did Gene recommend a great restaurant for dinner, he made our reservations. We will definitely return. I can't wait.


Acorn B&B

5 on July 13, 2009

This was my first B&B stay. As far as I can see, I'll seek out other B&B's making excuses to stay even off beaten path. The personal contact with hosts was very rewarding!


Peace in the country

5 on July 13, 2009

The room was large and comfortable with sitting space beyond our room. Everything was first class. The bed was most comfortable. the food outstanding. The price was just right with wonderful peace and quiet.


uniqueness

5 on June 18, 2009

Breakfast menu and room decor were unique, outstanding, enjoyable, desirable to be experienced again as soon as we can!


our stay at the Acorn B&B

5 on May 20, 2009

We were so pleased with our stay at the inn. Our room and the house were just amazing and the greeting and hospitality we received while here was second to none!


weekend getaway

4.6 on May 19, 2009

Jean and Bob were top notch! They know how to accommodate and serve really well. We had a relaxing weekend, and a wonderful, well done breakfast!


Purely delightful!

5 on May 19, 2009

Wonderful and caring innkeepers prepare delicious and beautiful breakfasts. Impeccable attention to details, like chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival, to homemade cookies each night. Plus, the innkeepers are lovely and gracious hosts!


Comy B&B, with Yumy Breakfasts

5 on May 05, 2009

This was a gift from our daughter and son-in-law for our Wedding Anniversary. We cannot not say enough about our stay. There was a welcome sign out front upon our arrival, and fresh, warm cookies awaiting us too. There were fresh flowers and chocolates in our room for our anniversay. The rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed. Gene is a wonderful chef, making incredible scumptious, plentiful breakfasts each morning that carried us through the day till dinner time. It was a treat to be able to sit and talk with Gene and Bob. Other B&B's that we have stayed at most hosts don't take the time to do that. We would highly recommend Acorn to our family and friends.


Love from grateful guest

4.8 on March 11, 2009

The room was ultra comfortable, the food was delicious, and the company of Gene and Bob was dynamic. I thank them for making my first visit to a B&B so memorable!


stay at the Acorn

4.4 on January 12, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at how accommodating our hosts, Bob and Gene, were. They helped us with directions, and the must-sees of the Biltmore. The room was great- very homey with a huge soft bed. A mini fridge, with complimentary drinks and DVDs to choose from also helped us feel at home. Breakfast was amazing! We had pastries, bacon, and gingerbread waffles with a thick cinnamon syrup.


excellent, very impressed!

5 on January 09, 2009

Great hosts! An A+!


Great Food

5 on December 10, 2008

The room was clean, the food was great! Overall a wonderful stay. WAYYY better than a hotel and less expensive!


fantastic!

5 on November 10, 2008

My husband and I just needed to get away for the weekend and relax, and this was the perfect spot to do so! The food and accommodations were fantastic. Thanks, Acorn B&B!


Great innkeeper, lots of nice touches

4.0 on November 10, 2008

Bob was a wonderful innkeeper, who helped with dinner reservations, directions, 2nd accommodated breakfast request. we were celebrating our anniversary and the offer lots of special touches. and the dogs love it!


exceptional experience

5 on November 05, 2008

Gene and Bob did everything I could possibly think of to make my 1st visit to NC a wonderful experience. Not only did I enjoy fantastic accommodations, outstanding food, and a serene place to relax, but I also received personalized service beyond anything I ever received at a hotel chain. Although this was my first time at a B&B, I will definitely make sure it won't be my last!


Getaway

4.4 on November 03, 2008

Great value, wonderful breakfast, Gene is very sincere and hospitable. Feels like home. Close to mountains, Ashville, Hendersonville.


A+!

4.8 on October 29, 2008

Everything was great! A warm and peaceful place to stay! We felt at home! Thanks, Bob and Gene!


Acorn B&B

5 on October 29, 2008

A most excellent B&B. Down to every minute detail! Great food, plush amenities and wonderful hospitality! On same page with luxury resorts!


A pampered weekend

5 on October 22, 2008

The setting, the service, the food, and the wonderful hosts made this the perfect stay. This is a beautiful place where everything you can need or want is available.


Best Service!

4.6 on October 15, 2008

Slippers, no worries restaurant reservations, quiet, comfortable easy to be there, made sure we felt at home, kind, spared nothing and served food from local farmer's market.


Outstanding

5 on September 08, 2008

We stayed for two days at the Acorn B&B. The room was absolutely wonderful with an exit to a balcony. The hosts were more than kind, gracious and accommodating, even with our dietary restrictions. The food was wonderful and by far more than we could have ever eaten. I realized after leaving and on my way home, it was the first time in a great while that I was able to sit back, truly relax and enjoy my stay. I didn't have to worry about anything, everything was taken care of for me. Thanks was such a nice experience. We will definitely stay at the Acorn B&B, the next time we go to Asheville. Thanks for everything, Audrey Brown


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 11, 2008

What a treat! The inn keepers at the Acorn Bed and Breakfast really know how to make their guests feel welcome and special! Lovely rooms in a wooded setting set the tone and the breakfast was exquisite. The Acorn Bed and Breakfast gets 5 stars from us.


Visit family

4.6 on August 08, 2008

The stay was exceeded my expectations and was outstanding in service and dining and cleanliness.


Very nice...

5 on July 30, 2008

Very nice, very clean, good hospitality and the most delicious breakfast. We had a wonderful time.


The Best Bed & Breakfast Anywhere

5 on July 30, 2008

From the moment we pulled up to this beautiful inn, we knew we had arrived in a fantastic setting The rooms, the service, cleanliness and breakfast was more than we could ask for. The Innkeepers are the nicest and informative men as to where to go in the surrounding area. My family and me are certainly coming back soon. Barbara Elkins


50th Bithday/College Reunion

5 on July 07, 2008

Fantastic - Cannot Imagine having a better time anywhere else.


Just Like Home

5 on July 06, 2008

Acorn Bed and Breakfast is just like being at home. Gene and Bob treat like you are a part of their family. Everything you need at your finger tips. Breakfasts were five star. Recommendations for dinner and daily outings were a perfect match. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for your next stay.


50th b-day/college reunion

5 on June 18, 2008

this was the most amazing hospitality i have ever experienced! Gene and Bob went exceedingly above and beyond- full of thoughtfulness and did everything they could possibly think of to make our college reunion fun and smooth


b&b bravo! bravo!

5 on June 18, 2008

an incredible experience, wonderful accommodations,warm,friendly, over the top service by our hosts. i felt like royalty!!and unforgettable weekend!!


FAB!

5 on June 18, 2008

great b&b- the best in all of NC


50th reunion

5 on June 18, 2008

we had a wonderful time.Bob and Gene knew what we needed before we did. thanks so much!


fabulous

5 on June 18, 2008

we had a wonderful time. so well pampered and taken care of!


Acorn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $129
  • Reviews (231) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8288914652

Visit Website »

View details

Top