Morehead Manor Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Great find!

4.2 on July 13, 2014

Recently spent a weekend at Morehead Monor. Great accommodations, great hosts and even greater breakfast. Very convenient to downtown Durham. A very pleasant, peaceful experience.


Looking Forward To A Return!

5 on July 10, 2014

Visited The Manor at the end of June on a "girls weekend get-away". I cannot offer enought applause. The inn is a beautiful, well appointed mini mansion. Located on a lovely, peaceful street with lush landscaping, I felt safe, cozy. Everyroom offered elegant comfort, with each bedroom actually a suite with its own bathroom! I forgot I wasn't visiting family or friends! The "Innkeepers" (host and hostess) were most welcoming and treated us as family guests. The food was always delicious!!We were offered detailed information about downtown history & sights, restaurants and shopping. It was a fun, "zen" weekend and look forward to returning!


Birthday weekend at Morehead Manor

5 on July 08, 2014

Spent my birthday weekend at Morehead Manor. I could not have been more pampered. The Inn is absolutely beautiful, the food is outstanding and the hospitality of Daniel and Monica Edwards surpassed my greatest expectations. It was truly a treat!


Beautiful mansion in the perfect location!

5 on July 07, 2014

Morehead Manor is a lovely mansion with an even more lovely owner. Monica was helpful and very available in person and, when necessary, via cell phone. The location is fabulous--easy walking distance to the Bull's stadium/shopping area as well as the Brightleaf shopping area. The two-bed room was perfect for me and my daughter. Breakfast was fabulous--homemade zucchini waffles (try 'em --they are awesome) with berries and whipped cream on top with turkey sausage. It's also just a 5-minute drive to Duke's campus!


A Great Place to Stay...

4.8 on August 14, 2013

First time stay in a B & B. Wonderful experience. Clean and spacious facility. The owners made us feel welcome and very comfortable. Because of this experience will seek out other B & Bs. James & Yvonne Harris


Pleasant Surprise

4.4 on May 01, 2013

My wife and I were in Durham for one night. It was our wedding anniversary. We decided to try the Morehead Manor. We were delighted with what we found. B&B's are all so different. Our room, the "Tiger Room," was very comfortable and private. Our bed was very restful. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. We even learned, from our hostess, a little of the history of the building, which is both impressive visually and historically. If we return to Durham, we look forward to staying in Morehead Manor again.


Morehead Manor Is Delightful

5 on December 03, 2012

Everything at Morehead Manor is tops in our book. Monica and Daniel Edwards provide a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere for overnight or several days.


A wonderful experience!

4.8 on July 27, 2012

The Moorehead Manor is a big, beautiful house with a lot of history. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing! My stay there was peaceful and quiet and I look forward to a return visit. Thank you so much!


Durham B&B

4.2 on June 20, 2012

Luxurious and comfortable home; excellent hospitality - close to the ball park!


Comfort & joy...

5 on April 23, 2012

This is a beautiful home, filled with art, comfortable and so good for a place to rest on a visit to Durham. Because of sensitivities to perfume, cleansers, carpet, etc, it has been tricky to find places to stay while traveling. Morehead Manor exceeded my expectations. Beautifully and colorfully restored, the Manor is airy & very clean, has radiator heat, windows that open, and wood floors with lovely area rugs. It is well cared for by Monica and Daniel. I'd mentioned that my diet is wheat-free and organic , however, when traveling, I don't expect others to use organic ingredients. And yet, the delicious fruit served with breakfast was, and Monica was not at all surprised about the wheat-free request...she seemed very used to that and provided yummy pancakes and other breakfast bread. I am looking forward to going back for my next vacation in Durham, for sure. What a sense of security, to have all that to count on, as well as a hammock and swings in the beautiful back yard.


Our Durham Experience

4.0 on April 15, 2012

The Eagle's Inn room was spacious, beautiful, comfortable and light. The service was impeccable, above standard. The price was comparable to other Inn's of this nature with a senior discount that really helped. The room was very clean and tidy. The Innkeeper's were delightful, helpful and exceeded our gluten-free, vegan morning breakfast expectations. Four stars!!


We felt like family!

4.8 on March 27, 2012

We have stayed at quite a few B&B's and we felt that everyone at Morehead Manor was awesome! Monica, the owner and Greta made us feel like family! Homebaked treats in the evening and an awesome breakfast made our stay very enjoyable. We recommend this B&B to everyone!


Far Surpassed Our Expectations

5 on March 26, 2012

We aren't sure which parts to emphasize more: the relaxing reading room downstairs, the ultra-comfy king-size bed, or the gracious hosts who saw to our every need (even those we weren't aware we had!). Monica and Daniel made us feel welcome and at home for our weekend away. Best of all, the food was amazing. My husband still raves about the apple puff pancake. Fabulous!


Home

5 on February 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Morehead Manor. Ms Greta was delightful. Felt as thou we were long lost family/old friends more than guests. Can't wait for next visit....


Best Bed and Breakfast I have ever Been to!

5 on February 07, 2012

The Staff was extremely Friendly and very approachable. I called a week before we were to arrive and asked if there was a massage therapist nearby, within a matter of minutes they had someone set up to come to our room and give us massages! It was wonderful not to have to worry about any details. There were also many times that we had to ask for direction to local restaurants and they were there with all of the answers. I will definitely be going back!


An Inn of Choice

4.6 on January 26, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Morehead Manor while on business travel. An inn that has dessert available at anytime for their guests certainly impressed me. It also indicates this inn’s high level of commitment to their guests’ comfort. This beautiful and historical inn maintains a cozy feel while providing all the modern amenities to attend to the guests’ needs. The lavish rooms complete with splendid touches of fresh flowers and silken sheets are just a few of the many reasons to stay. The breakfast is fabulous and worth the stay on it’s own. If you are looking to relax this charming inn has a unique collection of art, books (fabulous cookbook selection too), and media that you can enjoy fireside. Alternatively it’s central location allows for quick access to the many exciting things to do in the Durham/RTP area. Whatever sights, shopping, or dining you want to take in the hosts are informative and quick to assist you. The solid service, beautiful accommodations, and the air of attentiveness and pampering distinguish Morehead Manor as an inn of choice.


Comfortable & Convenient B & B

4.2 on January 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Morehead Manor. We learned so much about the history of the area and the people from the Innkeepers, and it is conveniently located to Duke and downtown Durham!


A real find in downtown Durham!

4.0 on January 22, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely one-night stay at Morehead Manor while celebrating our anniversary. Room was quiet and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and Monica could not have been a more pleasant and gracious hostess. The inn is beautifully decorated with Daniel and Monica's art collection, and the inn is within walking distance to some of Durham's major attractions. Will definitely recommend Morehead Manor to anyone I know visiting Durham!


First Time, Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on January 06, 2012

The fireplace was an added bonus and surprise that made the experience so much more romantic and memorable. It made us want to order in for dinner then going out to a local restuarant. For our first time at a B & B it will forever be what we will measure all other B & B's up to. We are now considering never staying at a hotel ever again. It was a wonderful, warm and captivating experience that Monica and Daniel were able to give to us and we will forever be grateful.


This is the place to stay!

5 on November 02, 2011

We stayed for 4 days, 3 nights. Morehead B&B was just what we were hoping it would be. Monica and Daniel saw to our every need, from special dietary requests to an always available wonderful selection of coffees, teas, and desserts. The electric fireplace in our room was the perfect touch on a cold rainy October day. And to top it off, Morehead is only a 3 minute drive (15 minute walk) to Duke. We would definitely stay at Morehead again.


Outstanding place to stay

4.8 on October 09, 2011

A beautiful house that is spacious, inviting and very well kept. The owners' worked very hard to give us a memorable experience. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the food was great. We will definitely return for a stay again. A "must stay" if you are traveling to the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area.


Relax in extreme comfort within walking distance to downtown Durham

5 on May 09, 2011

We chose Morehead Manor because our daughter needs gluten-free food, and in a phone conversation with Monica it was clear that she really understood what this means. Our 3 breakfasts were great, and the gluten-free platter arrived with a little green umbrella on it. This is a very comfortable B&B. There's two parlors for guests, a large one with leather furniture and a huge HD TV and a DVD collection, and a small intimate one. WiFi is fast and easy to connect, and there's a printer for printing boarding passes and other things. There's off-street parking, but it's possible that you won't need a car. Downtown Durham is a ten minute walk, with lots of good and varied restaurants, and a shuttle bus can take you to the Duke University campus and other sites. Across the street is a lovely conference center. It was wonderful being here in the spring. Gil from Vermont.


Great Experience at Morehead Manor

4.4 on February 22, 2011

Our room was excellent - Innkeepers very friendly and accommodating - and breakfast was terrific both mornings.


Durham's Diamond

4.4 on December 09, 2010

The 7 head shower is worth the price of admission! I could have spent an entire weekend in this shower. The beds were very comfortable and the inn was lovely. The best part of this place, other than that phenomenal shower, is the innkeepers. They are friendly, accessible, and gracious. They are willing to sit down for a chat or leave you to your own devices. They were so friendly to my 12 year old daughter and made her feel very special. This is a hidden treasure and I look forward to my next stay.


Stay at Morehead Manor October 2010

4.4 on November 08, 2010

We stayed in the Eagle's Nest - huge room, comfortable beds, and great shower! The house was absolutely spectacular and very centrally located to Duke University and the freeways. Monica and Daniel were excellent hosts - extremely friendly and accessible.


Highly Recommended

4.8 on September 27, 2010

We were allowed to arrive a little early with no problems. Daniel and Monica met me once on the property and made me feel very welcome from the instant I met them. Room was fantastic and was only surpassed by the breakfast the next morning. Everything was just perfect.


Great Hospitality

3.6 on August 25, 2010

Monica & Daniel are great hosts! Very friendly and accommodating!


Loved Morehead Manor

5 on July 01, 2010

We loved the Morehead Manor B&B, with is great art and decoration and good-humored hosts, Monica and Daniel Edwards. The B&B is close to the Durham Bulls Athletic field which was where the movie Bull Durham was madeW


Morehead Manor is the place we'll always stay in Durham

3.6 on June 30, 2010

We found out a little about the history of this house while we were in Durham - it's been lovingly cared for and preserved, is so spacious and comfortable. Our room was so large and well appointed and clean - very comfortable! We found the hosts honored our privacy, but were also available for chats and advice when we sought them out. They were gracious and professional. The location was perfect for our visit to Duke University and poking around in the historic and downtown areas of Durham. If we're ever back in Durham or know of folks who are traveling there, we will certainly head back to Morehead Manor!


Anniversary Weekend

4.0 on June 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Morehead Manor for the weekend of our wedding anniverary and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was beautifully furnished and very clean. We had a peaceful evening in their parlor while watching a movie and eating free snacks that they keep in their kitchen for guests. In the morning, the inkeepers prepared a delicious breakfast and were so hospitable. We all had a nice conversation over breakfast before we departed the property. I definately plan to spend more time at the manor in the future.


Lovely weekend at Morehead Manor

4.8 on May 26, 2010

My sister and I had a fabulous time at Morehead Manor last weekend. We'd never been to the Raleigh-Durham area, and will forever had a wonderful feeling about the area thanks to Monica and Daniel, the innkeepers. First, the B&B is just spectacular - a beautiful manor house that they bought a dozen or so years ago and furnished exquisitely. The rooms are simply amazing. Then, there were the owners themselves - accommodating, generous with information (and stories!) and extremely kind. We couldn't have found a better place, and hope to be back soon!


hidden gem

5 on May 04, 2010

Elegant, but comfortable...peaceful, welcoming and cozy. We were in town for the Full Frame Film Festival, and spent one night. We'll be back next year and stay the whole weekend.


Home away from home!

3.6 on April 26, 2010

Morehead Manor is centrally located and within walking distance to the Duke campus, city and resturants. The owners are professional and knowledgeable about the area and culture. The Inn is impeccably kept, comfortable and feels "like home". I visit Durham on a regular basis to spend time with child in college and would highly recommend the Morehead Manor.


Wonderful Inn with Wonderful Inn Keepers

5 on April 19, 2010

Absolutely beautiful Inn with great access to downtown Durham. Stayed there during a film festival, the breakfast was to die for---thanks so much Monica and Daniel


Just like being home

5 on March 30, 2010

I have stayed at the morehead manor in several occaisions in the past since moving away from the Raleigh-Durham area. Everytime I return it is a wonderful experience. Innkeepers Monica and Daniel are like old friends who are professional and warm. Monica is a wealth of information about Durham restuarants and attractions. Definitely money worth spent and a great way to visit Durham - located right downtown and near the expressway you can get around quite easily. I cannot wait until my next stay at this wonderful B&B


Mini Vacation

4.0 on March 27, 2010

My stay was wonderful. The room was very comfortable. I love old homes and this one met all of my expectations. Monica you are a wonderful host.


A Fabulous Place for a Girls' Weekend!

4.0 on September 25, 2008

Six of us had a wonderful time during a "girls' weekend" at Morehead Manor. The innkeepers worked diligently with us before we arrived to help line up services at a nearby spa and make restaurant suggestions. When we arrived, we had yummy snacks and beautiful rooms. Transportation was lined up to take us to a great dinner, then we enjoyed an evening in the parlor talking and listening to music. Breakfast the next morning was bountiful and delicious, and we enjoyed visiting with Monica and Daniel, the innkeepers. All in all, a great stay and we hope to make this an annual tradition!


Morehead Manor Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $209
  • Reviews (37) 4.6
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9196874366
  • Fax 1-9196874245
  • Toll free 1-8884376333

Visit Website »

View details

Top