Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake

5 on December 18, 2013

An excellent B&B. We enjoyed our stay very much. So relaxing & accommodating. The host & hostess were so gracious & the rooms were beautiful.


Beatiful Get Away

4.6 on August 24, 2013

A wonderful find for our anniversary. It started with a great boat ride hosted by Henry and Clare, with wonderful Clare's Innisfree Fire Crackers and snacks as well as drinks, while Henry piloted the boat and provided commentary about the lake. Great breakfast served every morning on the balcony, and nice views of the mountains, birds and evening sky. A special place that we intend to visit again. Bruce & Rebecca


Romantic Inn with view of the lake

4.6 on August 12, 2013

This was our first visit to this wonderful, romantic inn tucked into the mounains with a view of Lake Glenville. Clare and Henry are wonderful hosts and made sure everything was to our liking. The food was excellent and you can't beat the view. Be sure to check out the champagne cruise. We really enjoyed our stay and will most assuredly return.


Start with the best

5 on June 28, 2013

We just returned from our first, but not last, stay at Innisfree Bed and Breakfast near Cashiers, NC. We just can't say enough about this wonderful place! The elegance, hospitality of the innkeepers, delicious breakfasts that were served on our veranda overlooking the gardens, music playing in our room when we arrived, and the fabulous champagne cruise all added up to a wonderful few days that I can't wait to repeat. You shouldn't miss this place. Put it on your must-do list!


Romantic Getaway

5 on June 10, 2013

Innisfree is the perfect place to go for a romantic, peaceful getaway.


Romantic and Charming B&B

5 on October 19, 2012

This was our seventh stay at Innisfree. We find it one of most romantic and comfortable. The inneepers,Henry and Clair are so wonderful. We look so forward to our next visit.


Awesome!

5 on October 13, 2012

Gorgeous Victorian Inn. Accomplished, graceful hosts -- doesn't get any better!


Wonderful Place

5 on October 08, 2012

We love Innisfree Inn, the people are fabulous, the grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, the town is perfect, this has quickly become one of our favorite retreats.


Get Away

4.2 on September 04, 2012

Great breakfasts and accommodations. Very relaxing environment.


Anniversary

4.6 on September 03, 2012

We had a great time at Innisfree. Clare and Henry were great hosts. We enjoyed the lake and hiking. The room was very comfortable.


Better than expected

4.6 on August 13, 2012

This was our first time staying at any B&B, and ti far exceeded our expectations. Clare & Henry (the hosts) were so nice. We will definitely return to this B&B again.


Honeymoon Come True

5 on August 13, 2012

Since we've never had a honeymoon, we used the celebration of our 10th anniversary to have one. It was everything we could have imagined. We felt like we were very special guests. We are now looking forward to celebrating our 11th, because we have our place to go!


A Room with a View

5 on July 31, 2012

Beautiful rooms and view... Incredible hospitality... Personalized service... no detail overlooked in making this a memorable experience... already booked for October.


Relaxing B&B

4.6 on July 28, 2012

It's the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bussel of daily life. Views are awsome and service was unique. First time staying at a B&B, but definitely not the last.


A very special place!

5 on May 15, 2012

We had a truly delightful two-night stay - we wished that we could have stayed longer. Clare and Henry have managed to create an Inn that is elegant and refined whilst at the same time still being cosy and welcoming. The suites and bedrooms are charming and individually furnished with obvious care and attention to detail - they've even thought about the magazines and books they've placed in the rooms! Having breakfast brought to your room - silver cutlery, cut glasses and white napkins - with the choice of eating it in the room or on the balcony with the stunning view of the trees and mountains, was a real bonus (the food was very good too!). The grounds have also been planned to take full advantage of the views and to create areas to walk through or sit and relax. Henry and Clare are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they truly go out of their way to ensure that you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. They are charming and fascinating people and it is worth staying at the inn just to chat to them! Highly recommended!


Innisfree Inn By-The-Lake

4.6 on May 06, 2012

Outstanding Inn! Clare & Henry Hoche were the best hosts and we've experienced many. We will be back and recommend to our friends.


Very Accommodating

5 on November 06, 2011

We are so grateful to Henry & Clare for going out of their way to accommodate us during a serious family illness. The Inn was so private and restfull. The suite is gorgeous with every need met. The fireplace glows from the bedroom and bath. The deep soaking tub was so relaxing. The breakfast of very fresh fruit and special quiche was delicious. The country side around the inn was in its height of autumn colors.


Arrived at 2:20pm, told to leave and return at 3:00pm

1.2 on October 28, 2011

We drove 5 1/2 hrs to spend our anniversary at Innisfree Inn. We arrived at 2:20 pm the Inn door was locked we knocked, the inn keeper open the door told us to leave and return at 3. we did,we were told that theywas a champagne cruise and it was 12.00 a person.Our room was down the hill parking was difficult the spaces were small the bushes and shrubs scratched our truck .No hospitality hour when they do cruises. No refreshments were offered. We returned after supper and parked on the side of the unit near our room. We were told to move our truck .The switch to turn on the gas fire place did not work. We turned on the gas furnace,it was loud and full of dirt and dust.Breakfast the next morning was nice but no coffee or ice water.We had a small coffee pot in the room that made 4 cups. I asked for extra cream but never received it. I left a note asking them to please leave water or refreshments ,shampoo, soap , toilet paper and extra creamer.Nothing was replaced but a roll of toilet paper. Once again no hospitality hour. We figured out at if you banged on the wall by the fire place switch it would come on. The next morning at breakfast we were asked to give a generous tip using our credit card and not to leave it in the room but to bring it to the inn keeper! Web site: Innisfree a Mountain Lake Estate.Beautiful pictures ,people kayaking on the lake and by water falls. this is not Lake front. it was a good 10 min walk down a dirt road and a path to the Lake.The web site is very miss leading, The out side and inside of the house was in need of repair. We paid 350.00 a night for what we thought was a 4 diamond B &B. My eyes have been opened, at a B&B you are at there mercy, They have your money. 99% of the B&B's are gret with honest people who love what they do! It would have been less frustrating if we had just rolled down our truck window and threw out the 800.00 A very expenses lesson. We left a letter but have not recieved a reply.


Perfect!

5 on October 19, 2010

Super friendly staff, beautiful location and overall an excellent way to celebrate our 10th anniversary! We hope to come back every year! We love you, Henry & Clare


A Little bit of Heaven

4.2 on September 13, 2010

Spent two glorious days in this magnificent mountain paradise. Champagne lake cruise and hospitality hour at the Inn. Lovely breakfasts delivered to our suite. The geniality and helpfulness of the Innkeepers far exceeded our expectations. We shall return!


Magical Place

4.0 on September 07, 2010

From the moment you enter this Victorian Inn, you feel such peace and magic in your beautiful surroundings. We were treated like royalty. Every detail was thought-out, from the champagne cruise, cheese & crackers, chocolates, fireplace and the fine hospitality. We will return!


Romantic Holiday

4.0 on July 30, 2010

Beautiful cool 4th of July weekend in an exquisite B&B with gracious hosts.


Magical Mountainside Victorian Weekend

5 on June 24, 2010

Wonderfully romantic, elegant, gracious setting and hosts. This is a truly special place and people who are considering a stay in the area should not miss it!!!


What a Retreat

5 on June 22, 2010

If you want to stay at a lovely inn and be pampered while you can also take in the beautiful scenery, this is the place for you. Breakfast was wonderful as well as homemade cookies and an afternoon get together. Rain or shine, this is the place to be.


The Best of the Best

5 on February 16, 2010

What a stay....Large snow storm, bad roads and Ice but we made it. What a trip. Henry and Clare stayed in touch as we slowly crept up the Highlands Mountain during a huge snow story. We were not able to get there our first day and they stayed in touch with us the entire time. The next day the roads were clear enough for us to get to Innisfree Inn. They were excited to see us and hear about the adventure we were on. Our room was ready with Red Roses on the table (It was Valentines Day) and the Suite was very beautiful to say the least. Exceptionally clean and inviting was the Charles Dickens suite. The fireplace was on and the music was playing, could it have been any better. Snow covered the grounds and was like something out of movie. Very romantic setting with the mountains and their snow covering caps...No way could you ever plan this. I must say it was much the same the first time we visited. If you are looking to get away from it all and surroung yourself with a picturesque setting with the best breakfast you could find, this is the place. Henry and Clare are the best. First class, well traveled and down to earth. They have it all. We consider them good friends not innkeepers. Thank you Henry and Clare. Now, don't take our word alone for Innisfree, go and stay a weekend and enjoy the stay of your life. The Creweys, Larry and Carol


New Year's Eve In NC Mountains

4.6 on January 28, 2010

Hosts were friendly, gracious and very interesting to talk to; inn and cottages were immaculate and superbly appointed; breakfast was good and delivered on schedule.


Beautiful mountain inn

5 on January 04, 2010

This is a beautiful inn in the North Carolina mountains. Henry and Clare are so wonderfully friendly and great hosts. Our room was very romantic. And the breakfasts were most delicious. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed meeting Henry and Clare


Mountain Paradise

5 on November 25, 2009

This was our first visit to a B&B and it was way beyond our expectations. We felt very pampered by our host.


A real winner!

5 on November 13, 2009

Innisfree is a lovely blend of luxurious accommodations, excellent food, gracious hosts and beautiful scenery. It definitely merits a return (or 2)!


Tranquility for the senses

5 on November 04, 2009

We went back in time to a Victorian Shangri-La as we entered this tastefully decorated manor house. The colorful china, delectable tastes and smells, the feeling of pampered relaxation and the sounds of classical music tickled our senses.


Fantastic

5 on October 27, 2009

Everything was perfect


Sweet Fellowship!

5 on October 20, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Innisfree. Excellent all around. Private. Romantic. Yet social and pleasant. Henry and Clare are wonderful hosts!


The Best Ever

4.8 on October 10, 2009

I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. The best B&B I have ever stayed in. Every detail was attended to. Beautiful scenery, great food, fabulous service and terrific hosts Clare and Henry.


Stress relief

5 on October 05, 2009

Tastefully decorated, clean, well-appointed. Our needs were met by our attentive proprietors, Henry & Claire. They made our dinner reservations, provided emergency road service, followed by a ballroom dance lesson.


Excellent 5 Stars

5 on September 25, 2009

Great place to relax and renew your spirit! A very magical and beautiful place. Hospitality was also grea and excellent food!


Like staying with a friend

5 on September 14, 2009

Could not have been any better! It was like visiting a close friend. Very relaxing, terrific service and what a breakfast (delivered to our balcony). The evening cruise on the lake was a nice touch, too. Can't wait to return.


Beautiful Innisfree Inn

5 on July 19, 2009

Like the poem penned by Yeats, I would arise everyday to a place such as Innisfree. We enjoyed our stay very much and Henry and Clare are great innkeepers. The rooms are beautiful without being pretentious, the breakfasts were inviting and tasty, the cruise on the lake memorable, and our entire stay was relaxing for both of us.


relaxing luxury

5 on June 03, 2009

Inn is beautiful, in a beautiful location. A very relaxing experience with friendly, personal service. We'll go again.


Beautiful and Romantic

5 on April 23, 2009

Henry and Clare, you are the best-Our best B&B experience so far-spacious rooms/suites, great breakfast, beautiful B&B campus and the best host and hostess ever. Fidel was great also-we will certainly recommend this B&B with the highest marks A plus for sure. Thank you


Outstanding hosts

4.4 on April 17, 2009

Excellent accommodations and a great value for this exceptional inn!


We had a glorious anniversary weekend

4.6 on October 23, 2008

From the very beginning of the reservation process we were treated with the best care. When we called and spoke to Clare, she was very helpful in our decision process as to which accomodation was right for us. After we made the reservations, she offered to make dinner reservations for our anniversary dinner. Unbeknownst to us, our children had also called Clare to make arrangements for champagne, in-room massages and to pay for our dinner on Saturday evening. Clare and Henry provided for all of their weekend guests a happy hour with wine and cheese on Friday as well as a champagne cruise on their pontoon boat on Saturday. They were very helpful in giving us ideas of places to eat and sights to see during our visit. We stayed in the Charles Dickens room of the Garden House which was spacious and beautifully decorated. The room was very clean and the sheets looked as though they were brand new. There was a turn down service each evening and any linen that had been dirtied since the room was made up in the morning was changed for clean linen. There was no ammenity spared right down to the Starbuck coffee, the Godiva chocolates and the bubble bath liquid. The breakfast was brought to our room and it could not have been any more delicious. This was a very special weekend as it was our 30th anniversary and we could not have picked a more special place to spend it.


A Hidden Treasure

5 on July 04, 2008

From the moment we arrived we were touched by the sheer beauty of this inn and its surroundings. Clare and Henry could not have been nicer and more accommodating. The rooms were beautifully decorated and immaculate. The hired staff were well-trained and professional. Breakfasts were served on time, were piping hot and delicious. The champagne lake cruise was a highlight. Clare knew all we needed to know about hiking and running trails. The restaurants close by were excellent. Even when I forgot my shoes at departure, they were located and shipped to us promptly. This was better than we could have hoped for. The only problem we had was using the WI-FI in our room. Henry probably already has a new more powerful booster installed.


RETURN TO THE ERA OF VICTORIA

5 on July 03, 2008

Innisfree was just as we remembered it 14 years ago. The garden tub for two, the paintings, the books, the Victoriana theme - a magical place which anyone of any age would enjoy.


A delightful escape

4.8 on June 24, 2008

Our beautiful, tastefully decorated room provided total privacy, a romantic view, art, music and reading materials. The hospitality was original and tasteful, even to the evening champagne cruise on the lovely lake. Beautiful gardens completed a most surprising and memorable stay in North Carolina's mountains... Maybe we'll bring our dancing shoes next time!


great

5 on June 13, 2008

this is such and outstanding place!


Excellent B&B in Mountains of NC

5 on June 09, 2008

Innisfree is a charming Victorian B&B set in the mountains of NC. The setting is beautiful, the hosts are gracious and the accomodations first class.


A Treat

4.4 on May 29, 2008

Not what we were expecting. A true oasis found in the Blue Ridge Mountains. THe Hoche's were a delight. We definitely would return. Great people, location, and accomodations.


Wonderful Retirement Gift

3.4 on May 17, 2008

My husband received a stay at Innisfree as a retirement gift. We had a wonderful time while we were there. Ann was wonderful. She brought our wine and cheese to the room and delivered our breakfast to our room each morning. The food was fantastic and more than you could eat!. We had the Charles Dickens room complete with fireplace and a huge garden tub for a wonderful bubble bath overlooking the mountains. Innisfree was a great place to get away from the hustle nad bustle of your everyday life!


A treasure

5 on May 09, 2008

A magical touch in the unique and special suites unfolds as your time passes enjoying your stay. The lovely grounds invite you to linger. Every need is anticipated and the breakfast ws delightful. A royal treat is yours to enjoy.


Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $330
  • Reviews (49) 4.7
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8287432946

Visit Website »

View details

Top