Hemlock Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
110 Reviews

Write A Review

A quiet place in the Smokies

4.8 on November 01, 2014

I would highly recommend this inn to anyone who wants to spend some quiet time in the mountains. The staff goes above and beyond to respond to special requests. The family-style meals are delightful and promote friendships among the guests. Most of those who come once come again, and that is surely our intention!


The best accomodations in W NC mountains!

4.0 on October 29, 2014

Sure, you can find residential "log" houses with lesser rates, but why cook for your self? Why deal with cleaning? Why deal with cable and TV? You can stay home and do all those. The Hemlock Inn is just as the pictures describe, safe, carefree, and a world away; but, right on the door step of all Smokey Mountains activities. Visit once, and you will be back.


Beautiful stay at The Hemlock

4.2 on October 27, 2014

Our stay here was the highlight of our trip! Wonderful hosts, delicious foods, outstanding scenery and to dine family style and meet folks from all over the country was a treat! We will definitely be back!


After 49 Years

4.8 on October 05, 2014

This was where my wife and I spent our honeymoon forty nine years ago. Would recommend it as very enjoyable place to stay. Food was great. Room was clean and very well kept.


exceptional experience

4.2 on September 30, 2014

Hemlock Inn is a real treat. The lounge, dining area and games facilities are exceptional. When we arrived we chilled out on the back porch as the sun went down. The food served family style was so lovely as we were able to meet people from all over the US and it really felt like a family gathering complete with pre dinner blessing. We enjoyed doing a jigsaw which was kind of relaxing except for the fact there were some pieces missing which added to the challenge! Fireplace was lit in the morning which was a lovely place to have coffee before breakfast. All in all a beautiful place would highly recommend it


Just amazing!

5 on August 31, 2014

We have been coming here for a couple years now. If we are staying in bryson city or somewhere close to bryson city, we always stay at Hemlock Inn. Everything about this place is just amazing!!


Rustic, Warm and Friendly

4.0 on August 10, 2014

We enjoyed our two-night stay. The staff are exceptionally warm and friendly. The breakfast and dinner were filling. We enjoyed the prayer before meals, which added to the peaceful atmosphere. We met other guests who return to the Hemlock Inn annually. I got to play a couple games of ping pong.


A wonder in western NC.

5 on August 09, 2014

We have stayed at the Inn off and on for over forty years. We loved it then and we love it now!


Another wonderful stay

5 on August 03, 2014

I first went to the Hemlock Inn when I was 12, and it has never failed to delight me ever since. The innkeeper, Mort, told us on our last visit that four generations of some families have been visiting the inn since its inception. If you like outstanding food, friendly and accommodating staff, and a setting with breathtaking views, you will like the Hemlock Inn. No phones and no TVs in the rooms--but there is a cozy TV room in the main lodge area for the die-hard addicts. Besides, there are so many different wonderful activities for the family in the Smoky Mountains you don't need other entertainment. Being at the Hemlock Inn is like stepping back to the way things used to be 50 years ago. If you want a delightful, relaxing vacation, I highly recommend it.


Great Experience

4.4 on August 01, 2014

Stayed in the Red Cottage. This would be a great place for extended family or a reunion. Lots of room for spreading out and still able to enjoy each other's company or play games. Great location. Check in was easy and friendly. Loved the breakfast. Food was great and the company was so much fun. Owner was knowledgeable about the area and had great tips. You are summoned by the bell to your meal and grace is said around the table before eating and that was such a delight! Lots to do onsite. Ping pong, puzzles, reading, hiking, or just relaxing on the deck overlooking the mountain view. We will certainly stay here again. Would absolutely recommend.


Rustic Inn with great food and staff

3.8 on July 13, 2014

The room could use some updates. The Inn is rustic but the common areas are great for eating family style and playing games or talking. We had a great time and would love to come back with my parents and kids.


Hemlock Inn

5 on July 10, 2014

I loved staying at the Hemlock Inn, the people there made you feel right at home. I only got to enjoy staying for one night, but I will definitely be going back soon and telling all of my friends about how wonderful it is there. From the beautiful views to the gourmet meals, it was one of the best experiences I've had away from home. I will be a repeat guest for many years to come.


Good location to stay

4.4 on July 09, 2014

Very good place to stay with kids. Very friendly staffs. Dinner and Breakfast are very good. Bag lunch is so-so. Room is space for family with kids. 1 minutes pray before meal is good; if you do not like it, just walk around somewhere for 1 minute.


Peaceful retreat

4.8 on May 30, 2014

Hemlock Inn is the place to escape the world and relax in peace. The rooms are simple and clean. The grounds are well-maintained with lots of flowers and a beautiful view of the mountains from their porch. The hospitality is second to none, genuine and pleasant. Dining together with others for dinner and breakfast is an experience not to be missed. The food is Southern comfort, served up with a sweet side of conversation. With lazy susan on the table to keep food circulating for easy access, the conversations flow freely and sometimes continue into the evening on the porch or by the fireplace. These innkeepers are doing it right!


A Valentine Weekend

3.8 on February 19, 2014

The Innkeepers, Mort and Lainey were very hospitable and friendly. They made us feel very welcome. I especially liked the tradition of saying grace before meals,


Hemlock Inn

5 on December 13, 2013

Have been here many years and enjoy the Family atmosphere. Great for just relaxing and "being at home" feeling. Mort and Lainey are great hosts!!!!!


Amazing

5 on November 18, 2013

Staff is so nice and the place is quiet, very charming and peaceful. We had dinner and breakfast, everything was very good. Also the staff is very accommodating, we made a mistake in the date of the booking and they rebooked us for the next night without any problem.


Quaint, clean, and delicious

4.4 on November 13, 2013

If you find yourself looking for a place to stay in Bryson City, NC, I highly recommend you stay at the Hemlock Inn. It offers a clean, comfortable room in a quaint setting reminiscent of a time in the late '40's early 50's. The meal option, if you choose it, is well worth it. The innkeeper and staff are very nice and go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.


Hemlock hospitality

4.6 on November 10, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at Hemlock Inn. We really enjoy visiting the mountains and why we have not ever heard of Hemlock Inn I do not know. As first time visitors we were outnumbered greatly be long time returnees. We are definitely going back as we have already made reservations for the future. This inn is a throwback to a different day and age. If you are looking for an upscale inn and a busy glitzy nightlife, this place is not for you. The inn looks old because it is old, built in the 50s and without much updating since. However the rooms are clean and quaint without phones or tv and the bathroom is old but serviceable. Many of the people we met at our table had been coming for over 30 years and now we know why. What you see is what you get at the Hemlock Inn. This place is about southern hospitality, southern tradition, and feeling at home.You are asked to stand behind your chair for the blessing before each meal. If that offends this place is probably not right for you. It didn't seem to offend those in attendance during our stay as most voiced a hearty Amen at the conclusion of the prayer. The food is served homestyle on big lazy susan tables where you turn the table to bring each dish to you. You eat what you want and as much as you want and the food takes you back to your mama's table or your grandmother's table.it is southern cooking at its best. The cost includes a night's stay and 2 meals. Once you figure the cost of 2 all you can eat meals and a nice quiet peaceful night's rest on the mountain, the cost to stay is not overpriced at all. To be honest the Hemlock Inn is not for everybody. But what hotel or inn really is? Most of the people staying there were in the age range of 50+ and these folks appreciated what the Hemlock Inn is all about. The location offers beautiful mountain scenery in a nice quiet setting where you can get quality homestyle southern cooking. Who could ask for motre?


Relaxing time

4.4 on November 09, 2013

Beautiful surroundings, great hospitality. Lots of food, good, but average.


Old, quaint and relaxing 10/2013

3.6 on November 04, 2013

The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. All public areas were also very clean. It has been more than 10 years since my last stay at the Hemlock Inn. While the meals were good, they were not quite as nice as I remembered. The meals served during our stay tended to have been overcooked. Overall, our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. The setting is beautiful. The staff friendly and welcoming. If slow and quiet in the heart of the Smokies is what you're looking for, look to the Hemlock Inn. We will be back!


Hemlock is about hospitatlity and feeling at home

4.4 on October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hemlock Inn for the first time but it won't be the last as we have already made reservations to return. we found that most of the people seated at our table had been coming for 30 years or more. As much as we love the Smokies I don't know why we did not know about Hemlock Inn but we highly recommend it.For those looking for peace and quiet and outstanding country cooking, this is the place. For those looking for an appreciation of the past and willing to make new friends around the big tables, you need to check this place out. Be aware that you will be required to stand behind your chair as the blessing is said before each meal and for some reviewers this was a problem. For most people in attendance with us this did not cause a problem as it is a natural expression of thanks and appreciation for provision from the Lord. Hemlock Inn is a throwback to a different day and age and is not to be missed if that is what you are looking for. It is worth your time if you are.


Fantastic Mountain Retreat

5 on October 24, 2013

A super experience in the NC mountains!


awesome time and Mort and Laverty make you feel like pay of their family

5 on October 23, 2013

We came to the inn to plan our daughters wedding at the inn next year.


Rest

3.0 on October 22, 2013

Our objective was to get rest, which we did. We had stayed there years ago and kind of knew what to expect. Enjoyed the stay, but the room was not up to today's standards. There was no soap in the room, the bathroom door would not close without sticking, and there was not an electrical outlet in the bathroom. However, the room was clean and comfortable.


Unique and Beautiful Place

5 on October 19, 2013

The Hemlock Inn was beautiful. The food was beyond outstanding, what a deal that it is included in the price. My family came from California and had never traveled in the South. The dinners and breakfasts included Southern cooking that I didn't see in restaurants. Mort, the innkeeper, was wonderful. While my stay was great, I would mention that it is a very quite and peaceful place. We brought our 1 year old and our 3 year old, and although everyone was gracious, they were perhaps too loud for the general feel of the place. I don't know if it is the best place for louder kids (like mine!)


longtime patron disappointed

2.4 on October 08, 2013

We were disappointed to the extent that we shortened our planned stay. The bathroom was the worst problem: 1--tub/shower surround has been allowed to deteriorate to the point of rendering this area impossible to maintain cleanliness. 2-the sink would not drain. 3-the shower water pressure was little more than a dribble -un-useable. Additionally: the electric heater in the bedroom would not turn off. We complained to manager about these problems but they did not remedy them. Will we return? Doubtful.


Glad to have found them!

4.8 on October 08, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for a short visit. Happened upon then on web and decided to give it a try. Location was great close to everything we wanted to do and see while secluded for rest when we wanted. The staff were all amazing! Very gracious! It was great meeting others as well- many who had been coming there for years.


Wonderful Country Inn

4.8 on October 07, 2013

Exceptional getaway experience. Wonderful hosts in a warm, country setting with exceptional view of the mountains. Lazy Susan tables with delicious food is the perfect way to get to know your fellow travellers. Very good value. I would definitely recommend it and I look forward to our next visit.


One of a kind

3.6 on October 07, 2013

There is simply nothing like this place that I have been able to find. No phones, no TVs, no elevators; just food, friends, family, peace and quiet. And the mountain views and clean air aren't bad either.


Wonderful, comfortable, and enjoyable stay!!

4.2 on October 07, 2013

Enjoyed the stay, the view, the food, the people and will return!


Beautiful and relaxing get-away

3.0 on September 30, 2013

Hemlock Inn was a wonderful place to unwind! We enjoyed meeting new friends at mealtime, sitting by the huge fireplace, and watching the view of the mountains change as the fog went through. We discovered the shortcut back to the inn from Deep Creek (and lovely waterfalls) and the dirt road going home was an adventure in itself. Our room had a bit of a musty smell, I think from some water damage to the carpet but I knew to expect rustic when we booked. That being my only complaint, I would love to return. The place is convenient to Bryson City which is much more laid back than Gatlinburg and was a very nice change for us.


Peaceful & Wonderful

5 on September 29, 2013

Steve & Cindy Brown


hemlock inn

5 on August 15, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. The only issue that I had was the bathrooms were original. I think they could be updated. Other than that a wonderful place. Service is excellent. The food is to die for...yummy yummy yummy.


A great place!

4.2 on August 07, 2013

One of the only B&B's I've come across that serves dinner as well as breakfast, we were very pleased with our one night stay at the Hemlock Inn. The staff is super-duper friendly and accomodating to our toddler. They have a library, a TV room (there are no TVs in the guest rooms), a big porch with a lovely view, a hiking trail, and lawn and board games you can use for free. They also provide towels for tubing and rafting. The rooms are decent, if not updated. There is no central air, but the portable AC unit kept us comfortable. I found the beds, bedding, and pillows to be a little on the hard and uncomfy side, but the little porch off many of the rooms was a big bonus. We could put our son to bed at his normal time and then stay up for a bit talking and playing games. The food was quite good and there was plenty of it. The broccoli casserole was especially delicious. It's served family style, meaning you sit with people you don't know, which can be intimidating for shy people like me. But at least it was assigned so you didn't get the high school cafeteria vibe. There is a definite Christian vibe to this place--prayer before every meal and no alcohol is served or allowed on the common grounds--which will be a welcome bonus to some and non-intrusive to everyone else. The rate was extremely reasonable to include two meals and all the extras--it was only a bit more than a bare-bones motel stay would be in the main part of the town. Overall, we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a quaint stay in the Smoky Mountains.


Love the Hemlock

4.0 on July 26, 2013

Love the Hemlock! Real family atmosphere. We will be back!


Will Stay Again

5 on July 25, 2013

I have stayed there a number of times and have never been disappointed. I will stay there again.


Charming inn in the mountains

4.6 on July 25, 2013

The Hemlock Inn is a charming mountain lodge with warm hospitality. Each evening guest gather at round tables to sample southern cooking at it's best. It is a time to see old friends and make new acquaintances. The atmosphere is child friendly and relaxed but you can always take a walk around the grounds if you perfer to be alone. The mattresses and pillows in my room needed to be replaced but that was the only fault I could mention.


Gorgeous view, relaxing atmosphere, and unbelievably accomading staff!!

5 on July 22, 2013

The Hemlock Inn is one of my favorite bed and breakfast establishments! In addition to the picturesque view of the Smoky mountains, the staff is warm and delightful. During my last visit, I arrived under the weather and had to frequent the hospital and then start on antibiotics. I was urged to rest as much as possible by the doctor, and the morning after I had to miss breakfast. My fiance asked the staff if it was possible to have some breakfast saved for the both of us, and instead of just saving some, they cooked us a fresh breakfast!! Such an unbelievably kind gesture on their part. I highly recommend the Hemlock Inn to anyone who is in the area looking for a quaint and relaxing place to stay. The view is stunning, the rooms are unique, and the wonderful staff makes you feel right at home. Southern hospitality at it's finest!!


Beautiful Mountain Setting

3.8 on July 20, 2013

Spent a few days at Hemlock Inn during July 4th weekend. Service and dining were wonderful. We enjoyed the family style dinning with other guests. Rooms were somewhat aged, also no television or internet in room which made us think about our evening entertainment. Overall, pleasant visit with weekend memories with husband and daughters.


beautiful setting and relaxing

4.4 on July 10, 2013

Nice and quaint


Great Summer Getaway

4.4 on July 10, 2013

The owners are spectacular and make you feel at home. The breakfast and dinners are divine and we made sure not to miss a meal! The kids didn't mind being unplugged and enjoyed the shuffleboard, ping pong and just running around in the open space. The only thing that could be better are the beds and bedding. Adding some quality mattresses and linens would put this place over the top.


Fourth of July Stay Hemlock Inn, Bryson City

3.6 on July 08, 2013

Room Six (6) Small Problem with Ants in Bath Room. Other than that everything was just fine. We took advantage of the proximity to Bryson City and visited down town on July 4th. The Inn backs up to the National Forest , the ride thru the forest to town was great. We were definitely away from home and at the same time at home. The Inn Keeper was excellent at making this Inn Cozy and Accommodating


Wonderful Vacation and stay at Hemlock Inn

4.8 on July 02, 2013

My 15 year old son and I stayed at the Hemlock Inn on June 25-29th, 2013. The room was very comfy and clean. The screened in porch was especially nice to let in the cool NC evening air. All areas of the Inn were comfortable and pleasing, we loved the large round, lazy susan style dining and enjoyed meeting many of the other visitor and casual conversation. Even met a family that lives a short distance from our home. Every one was very relaxed and friendly, staff was great and was immediately caring and responsive to any questions about the area, things to do or directions. he grounds were beautiful. The food was absolutely wonderful. We watched beautiful sunsets, visited, relaxed, played ping pong and shuffleboard, walked the trails, read in the reading room. went rafting, rode on the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad and just enjoyed ourselves everyday as well as allowing some family one on one time with my teen. It was a great experience.


Awesome

5 on June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful experience are are looking froward to returning.


Outstanding Southern Hospitality

4.4 on June 12, 2013

Hemlock Inn is a home away from home. A great place for families as well as just adults, it is also very close to some of the best hiking trails in the Smokies while being away from tourist traffic. We stayed in the Rondette with a king size bed, kitchenette, and private porch. The innkeepers eat with the guests and take a personal interest in each guest. Libby Rankin


wonderful family experience

4.6 on June 11, 2013

wonderful family experience in a very unique setting. Great family style food and atmosphere.


Great and Relaxing Inn

4.4 on May 13, 2013

This was our third stay at the Hemlock Inn. We went to take part in the daily wildflower hikes. The Hemlock Inn is just a wonderful, low key place to relax and unwind. With no TVs or phones in the rooms, one is almost forced to meet and interact with the other guests and that is one of the hidden jewels of this Inn. The food is served family style and the meals are the best part of the stay. The food is delicious and the conversation is always stimulating. It location outside of Bryson City is just perfect. One is just minutes from trout fishing, whitewater rafting/kayaking, Cherokee, and great hiking. Our room, however, was beginning to show signs of age and could use some low maintenance such as replacing the wall heater in the bathroom and a piece of molding. My wife and I can't wait to return to this hidden gem in the NC mountains.


Great!!!

5 on May 04, 2013

The only problem was too much delicious food. I had to let my pants out another notch after our stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thanks!!!!1


Wonderful mountain experience for 2 northerners from Michigan

4.2 on February 20, 2013

Shared the weekend with friends from the Knoxville, TN area and enjoyed the fellowship, scenery and relaxing atmosphere. Light snowfall added to the magic scenes around the Hemlock Inn.


Hemlock Inn Review

4.0 on February 20, 2013

Will be going back to the Inn. Very relaxing and great people, Mort and Lainey made us feel at home.


Great Visit to Hemlock Inn

4.4 on January 23, 2013

The hospitality of the Hemlock Inn was excellent! The home cooked meals are served family style. There were plenty of delicious dishes for breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed sitting by the fire in rocking chairs before and after meals. The view of the mountains is great! We've been twice and will definitely go back.


Fantastic stay

4.0 on December 28, 2012

The commons room was beautifully and warmly decorated for Christmas. The host and hostess were delightful and made us feel welcome.


A very memorable stay

3.8 on December 09, 2012

We liked the "feel" of Hemlock Inn enough to book an additional night instead of moving on to Raleigh. The atmosphere and decor of our room as well as the dining and common areas was cosy, quaint and obviously chosen with love and care and captured perfectly the atmosphere that these Aussie travellers wanted in the Appalachian Mountains in late November. With this additional night on our 7 night tour of the Smoky Mountain region we were able to take an exhilarating "hike in the woods" in the close by Deal Creek area , visit the Cherokee Museum and spend more time pottering in Bryson City. Because our dinner was Saturday night and many of the other guests, both old and young, were bound for the Polar Express train excursion, dinner was a little rushed , noisy and chaotic and it would be unfair to make a judgement on this experience. There is no dinner served on a Sunday; but it was not far to Bryson City where we enjoyed watching all the activity of the departing train and the excited families and had excellent pizzas and then onto another local store for cup cakes and hot spiced cider. Breakfast was at a set time and very hearty. We were intrigued by the tableware ( pewter?) and enjoyed the conversations with other guests at the large shared table. Mort is an excellent host who seems to have a genuine interest in his guests. After many years of involvement in school camps I did not have a problem with his ringing of the bell to let all know breakfast was being served. This is a lot more fun and hospitable than the impersonal breakfast buffet from dispensers on disposable plates that is offered at most chain accommodation. Yet another additional night would have been desirable but unfortunately our North Carolina extension to our stay in New York City had come to an end. We will always have fond memories of our stay.


Weekend at the Hemlock Inn

5 on November 06, 2012

A beautiful weekend at the Hemlock Inn. The rooms are clean, the food is fantastic, and the overall experience is exactly what I was looking for. Peace and quiet surrounded by beautiful mountains. Thanks


Great weekend!

5 on October 31, 2012

We have been coming to Hemlock Inn for the last 15 years either for family reunions or with close friends. In all those years, we have never been disappointed in the facility, the food or the staff . These weekends at Hemlock Inn have provided rest from the "rat race" of the week, interesting new acquaintances, and many great memories. We are already looking forward to visiting again next year!


Love the Hemlock.

5 on October 17, 2012

The Hemlock Inn is the place to go if you just want to "be". Quiet, great food, low key and beautiful. A wonderful value.


Wonderful country inn

4.6 on October 15, 2012

We have been visiting the Hemlock Inn for more than thirty years. We love this peaceful, friendly sanctuary in the Smokies.


Aniversary Retreat

3.4 on October 14, 2012

The room we were given was nice and very clean, but it had a strong scent of air freshener, and fabric freshener that stuck to our clothing. We opened windows and added fresh air with our fan, however it did not subside. The location of the property is in the heavily wooded mountain area where moisture may create musty smells, but one can usually smell the musty with the air freshener, however we did not notice any musty odors. It would have been better to eliminate the air freshners that can cause some people to have headaches. The service and staff were fantastic. We met guests that had returned for their 35th year. We had a wonderful time talking with other guests who were obviously enjoying the relaxed atmosphere, good food, and lovely view. The food was really good. Southern and vegetables were seasoned with meat as would be typical. We did not notify the staff, however; we eat mostly a vegetarian diet with some fish eggs and cheese. We would advise you notify the staff if you would like your vegetables prepared without meat or meat fat. I suspect they would be very happy to modify some of the vegetables for you, but call them first.


stay at hemlock inn

4.6 on October 07, 2012

Food was wonderful and the coffee was the best I have ever had!


Nice & Rustic

3.8 on October 03, 2012

The inn was a nice variation from regular hotel rooms and we enjoyed our brief stay there. There were only around 25 rooms keeping it cozy. The rooms themselves were dated, but clean and had charm. I felt it was a great value for it included dinner and breakfast and the food was very tasty. I read other reviews and received exactly what I expected (family dining, older rooms, nice views). The guests were mostly retired couples and bikers, so my family with 2 kids did not have much in common with them. But they had the shuffleboard and ping pong to themselves. The owners were friendly and ate dinner with us. I would definitely stay there again - don't think we could find a better value.


peace & new friends in the mountains

4.0 on September 27, 2012

Loved the peace, the people and the GREAT food--WILL be going back!


Unwinding at Hemlock Inn

5 on September 23, 2012

My family and I have been vacationing at Hemlock Inn for many years. This is the place for you if you enjoy learning about history in the area, visiting a National Park, eating Mason-Dixon style food and sharing conversation with other travelers during breakfasts and dinners. Practically all dishes are available in an updated cookbook written and produced by the Inn Keepers.


Everything at Hemlock Inn is First Class

5 on September 07, 2012

Have gone to Hemlock Inn off and on for 20 plus years. Always pleasant and comfortable. Warm Southern welcome and great Southern food. My kids at now 35 years old and they remember it from when they were tots and welcome the chance to go back.


Review of Hemlock Inn, August 2012

4.8 on September 06, 2012

Marvelous time ... great atmosphere and outstanding food. I am eagerly looking forward to my next visit there. This place is a real jewel


Hemlock Inn Review

3.6 on September 01, 2012

Our stay at this Inn was very pleasureable. It was rustic, quaint, in a perfect location for relaxing and enjoying the outdoors and we throughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was a real treat, all made from scratch and shared with other guest. It was a great stay for our final night on a recent vacation.


Great family get-away!

4.4 on August 21, 2012

The setting and atmosphere of Hemlock Inn is conducive to rest and relaxation! A great place to take the family and get away from everything. If you like being busy, opportunities are close enough by for you to have that type of experience. But the serene surroundings of Hemlock Inn make it a most restful place to vacation. And the food could not be better - delicious southern fare served family style. You won't leave the table hungry or disappointed! Mort and Lainey are great hosts.


Anniversary Visit

4.8 on August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time and hope to go back this Fall. Strongly recommend you visit them. Food was really good, room nice and the atmosphere fantastic.


Smokey Mountain Weekend

3.4 on August 15, 2012

The Inn was secluded, but close enough to everywhere we wanted to go. We were caught off guard by the price because we had four adults. The on-line web page booked us for a room for four people at the price for four people in one room, but in fact it was actually two rooms with two people in each room and therefore twice as much. That should have been called out in the pricing on the web page. It was only after I called to inquire about a late arrival that we were made aware of the true cost and it was too late to make different arrangements. The bathroom sink in our room did not drain at all and the portable air conditioner was very noisy. The room was clean and neat, but not on a par with other accommodations in this price range. Dinner was included at a very reasonable cost.. The staff was super friendly and helpful. All in all it was a good experience.


Hemlock Inn, Bryson City

3.0 on August 12, 2012

Two minor items: There were some ants in the bathroom around the sink. We hiked the 1.5 mi trail on the property and noted that a downed tree/branches across the trail need to be cleared.


Hemlock Inn

4.4 on August 03, 2012

We stayed two nights and hope to return for a longer stay. It is a charming place.


Absolutely wonderful

4.6 on August 02, 2012

This place is a true gem. The home-cooked southern meals are absolutely wonderful. The food is only enhanced by sharing it with others at your large dining table. We got to know other people who were staying there and found that so nice. The fact that there are no TVs in the rooms gave my kids the impetus they needed to go out and meet other kids there and enjoy themselves doing (gasp) non-electronic activities. There were many multi-generational families there that have been going there for years and years. I wish I had known about it sooner and could have made that one of our family traditions. I encouraged my kids to that when they have their own families. And I haven't even mentioned the views and front-porch rocking chairs. Both are amazing. If you want to escape reality, this is the place to go.


Hemlock Inn Week

3.8 on July 23, 2012

Excellent accomadations and service. Will vist again in the near future.


One of our favorite destinations! A one-of-a-kind place!

5 on July 23, 2012

This was our 5th trip to the Hemlock Inn. My children are now 13 and almost 16 and "demand" that we visit every summer. There is so much to do in the surrounding area, within an easy drive (hiking, whitewater rafting, tubing in Deep Creek, shopping downtown, ice cream at Soda Pops, ect) or playing ping pong, cards, games, baseball on the front lawn, sliding down the hill on cardboard at the Inn. We enjoy it very much and are always treated to delicious breakfasts and dinners. Meeting new friends and seeing friends from previous summers is special. We will return next summer.


Hemlock Inn is worth the stay

3.8 on July 22, 2012

This is old school vacationing. No TV. We stayed 3 nights, enjoyed the inn and the surrounding Bryson City/Smokey Mountain activities. Be sure to do the Deep Creek tubing. The inn is exactly what it advertises itself to be. Maitland, Fl


Very Rustic

3.4 on July 21, 2012

Rooms are dated and very tired, portable A/C ran all night like a jet plane, rooms have no phone, TV's or cental heat/air. Only mountain view is from deck off dining room. All this being said, families come form all over the country to stay here and do it year after year. Pefect place to just read a book. Food and family style dining saved the place for me. Seems like a little effort in improving the facilites would make it a special place, as it is I will not return.


Very Good

3.8 on July 12, 2012

We especially enjoyed the poached eggs at breakfast. Much better than scrambled.


Great place!

4.0 on July 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at the Hemlock Inn--very relaxing, great food, and lots to do in the area.


Wonderful Stay at the Hemlock Inn

5 on July 10, 2012

Members of the 3rd and 4th generation of our family recently stayed at the Hemlock - again. As usual - every aspect of the stay was outstanding plus.


Relaxing getaway

4.0 on July 05, 2012

This place was exactly what we were looking for. A great mountain getaway for rest, relaxation, and enjoying the beauty of the NC mountains.


A de-stressor special treat!

4.8 on July 01, 2012

.


A Place You Will Want to Return To

4.0 on June 18, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful, quaint setting with a homey feel, great Southern food, and a friendly staff, this is the place for you. Though there are few frills, it is a great place to gather with friends or family to eat together, play games, read, relax and enjoy the beautiful mountain areas nearby. When you look at the price, be sure to remember that you are getting a plentiful breakfast and dinner along with your room. Meeting others around your table during meal times is part of the fun.


Hemlock is a little piece of heaven!!

5 on June 10, 2012

I cannot say enough about this wonderful place. It was beautiful. So very relaxing and inviting, and the people couldn't have been nicer or more accomidating. The rooms were homey and comfortable. It was very clean and equipt with everything we needed. The food was fabulous. There is an incredible view of the mountains from the deck. You just feel really at home when you stay at Hemlock. 5 stars friends!!!!!


Peaceful Rest in the NC Mountains

5 on May 12, 2012

My Mother and I enjoyed a restful and peaceful stay at the Hemlock last week. Our visit gave us an opportunity to spend time together enjoying each other and the other guests at the Hemlock. Scenery was lovely and the rocking chairs made it perfect. Food was amazing--country fare with fresh vegetables. After dinner, we joined others to put together a lovely puzzle. Sorry our visit was only one night. Fantastic.


Secluded and Quiet

4.6 on May 07, 2012

The room decor is dated but clean. Like someone else said, it kind of reminds you of visiting grandma - quilts on the bed, etc. The staff is super-friendly and helpful. We visited in very late April to early May, so the Inn wasn't full. The setting was very peaceful and we enjoyed the on-site hiking trail and especially enjoyed hiking in the National Park (there is an entrance just 3 miles down the road). Our son enjoyed the ping-pong table at the main lodge.


Loved Hemlock Inn

4.8 on November 01, 2011

Outstanding well prepared Food! Views were spectacular! Staff makes every effort to make your stay memorable.


What a pleasant surprise!

4.8 on October 13, 2011

What a pleasant surprise to find a wonderful inn like the Hemlock Inn! I was impressed by the service, the wonderful congeniality of the staff and other guests and the sense of community that made us feel so at home. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly!


A wonderful place to getaway from it all

4.0 on October 06, 2011

Friends have been staying at the Hemlock for over 20 years, but this was our first visit. The inn is charming, warm, and welcoming. The innkeepers and staff were fantastic. The dinners in the evening were very good and meeting the other guests at the table a real treat. We will definitely return to the Hemlock. The Vances


Can't wait to return to Hemlock Inn!

4.0 on October 05, 2011

From the moment we drove up the lane and saw the lovely view, we knew Hemlock Inn was the place for us. Hemlock Inn is a very peaceful, homey, and wonderful place. The decor is simple and comfortable. Mort and Lainey are very hospitable and delightful hosts. The staff is gracious and competent. The food was Southern cooking at its best! We highly recommend Hemlock Inn for those wishing for a "get away from it all" vacation!


Nice place & great people

4.2 on September 14, 2011

We have spent a nice, relaxing and enjoyble time in Hemlock Inn.


Oustanding Weekend!

5 on September 05, 2011

It had been 26 years since we last visited Hemlock Inn. Not because we did not enjoy our stay but because of a growing family and work related commitments etc etc. My in-laws joined us and we stayed in the Innkeepers Cottage. Perfect for the four of us! Also, and unexpectedly, our son and daughter in law, both Navy pilots, joined us from Norfolk where they left town to escape Hurricane Irene. The innkeeper arranged to have them stay in the closest room to our cottage. They arrived late and well after dinner but Mort and his team arranged plates of food that we took back to the cottage and kept warm. The home cooked meals were fabulous, the opportunity to meet and visit with other guests at meal time was also fun. We enjoyed a train ride to Nantahala Outdoor Center on the Smokey Mountain Railroad, ate at some nice restaurants in Bryson City and also enjoyed visiting Cherokee. Yes, Cherokee is a touristy place but the museum in town is a must see. The weather was perfect Aug 26-30 and the view from the Inn fabulous. Hummingbirds were everywhere and the night sky was like being in a planetarium. We will visit more often, for sure.


Best place.....EVER!

4.8 on August 29, 2011

We happened upon this inn when we needed a last minute anniversary destination. At four hours away from Charlotte we were game. We checked in and headed to our room, which on first glance we were scared of. It was decorated with flowered wall paper and rustic furniture. We settled in and found that the bed and pillows were super comfortable along with the plethora of warm blankets. The bathroom looks original to the 50s but the water pressure and hot water are modern. It is nice being transported back to days of yore. There is no TV or phone in the room; Internet is available in the main lodge for free and cell phones work (typically outside of the rooms). We always get a room with a porch so nature, along with board and card games, becomes our TV. We have only been married 5 years, but it is really nice to unplug and have "us" time for a week with no distractions. We enjoy the closeness of the Smoky Mountain National Park. There are many trails ranging from easy and paved to the more difficult hill and mountain climbs. Downtown Bryson City is about 15 minutes away and has some cute shops and an awesome deli. Ingles (a grocery store) is just past downtown and where you can pick up makings for a great picnic. We have visited the Hemlock Inn two times and are going for our third this year. We went to Hawaii last year instead of the Inn and talked about how we missed the Inn the whole time. We have been looking forward to visiting all year and plan on making it a yearly trip. If you are young and wary of visiting because of the lack of electronics, give it a shot. We are only 30 and love every minute there! Get back to together time; It is well worth it!


best b & b

5 on August 17, 2011

As usual, the food was excellent and the hosts very gracious. Always a pleasure to stay there. Gene & Emily Robarts


Great weekend!

4.8 on August 12, 2011

Best food in the Southeast.


Lee Family - June 13 and 14, 2011

3.8 on August 09, 2011

We enjoyed the location, meals, and especially the other guest. Great family atmosphere!


Hemlock Inn - Wedding & Wedding Reception

4.2 on August 09, 2011

Outstanding location, beautiful mountain views, and excellent staff support/services!


Hemlock is great

4.2 on July 25, 2011

My wife and son stayed at the Hemlock recently and it was great. The "campus" area is beautiful and it far exceeds the run-down feeling of nearby Bryson City. Hemlock's staff is friendly and the food was delicious and well-presented. The room was a bit stale but very clean. We will stay there again if we are in the area.


A Wonderful Experience

3.4 on June 30, 2011

Great hosts...great food... great service...magnificent scenery! Met folks who have returned year after year...one couple for 40 years! It is a great base for taking in many of the Smoky Mountain attractions. Would do it again. J B Bowman


Hemlock Inn in June 2011

3.6 on June 28, 2011

Go for the peace and serenity of the place. Enjoying a glass of wine on our screen porch with the sound and smell of an evening rainfall as a backdrop. Easy access to hikes and creeking. Good food and new friends at the family-style dinner. It isn't fancy, but it doesn't have to be.


Incomparable mountain experience.

5 on June 28, 2011

Christian atmosphere, wonderful fellowship with others who have also visited Hemlock many times over the years. Remarkable meals served in family style, just like Mom would have made if she could have done them this well.


Excellence is their password to service and serving

5 on June 01, 2011

As usual, it is a blessed retreat to be at the Hemlock. It is a place where you can relax and refresh your mind, soul, body, and spirit. I recommend it to all I know!!


Relaxed, comfortable, great view, in a beautiful setting near the Smoky Mountains National Park.

4.4 on May 23, 2011

The Hemlock Inn is located at the edge of the Smoky Mountains National Park. A 10 minute drive and you are at the head of many hiking trails through the Smoky Mountains, one of our premier national parks. The inn is unpretentious, no frills, no TV, but very comfortable and in a beautiful setting. From the front deck, high on a ridge, the view is nothing but mountains, with an occasional rising mist, or bird in flight – very peaceful. The delicious home cooked meals are served family style. The inn keeper and family are warm, gracious hosts. On a chilly day, the fire in the fireplace is cozy. The communal living room is good for a reunion of family or friends.


As good as I remember - visit 20 years ago, and 35 years ago!

3.0 on May 16, 2011

It was fun to introduce Hemlock Inn to someone who had never been. Two days of exploring the surrounding countryside, then back to the Inn for delicious meals, and comfortable rooms. Just as I remember from YEARS ago...I knew Lorene Haynie, and visited when she first ran the Inn. She let me ride with her as she drove around to pick up local produce, crafts, and more.


Hemlock Inn Bryson City,NC

4.8 on January 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hemlock Inn. Mort White the Inn-Keeper went out of his way to make our stay the best. The Inn was actually supposed to be closed, but Mort accommodated our 40th anniversary request to stay in the area. The cottage that we stayed in was great and we had complete access to the facilities in the main lodge. I would recommend the Hemlock Inn to anyone vacationing in the Great Smoky Mountains.


Hemlock

4.6 on January 04, 2011

Loved it! The rooms were a bit dated but it made it unique. I will stay there again!


We love the Hemlock Inn

4.8 on December 05, 2010

The only bad thing about the Hemlock Inn, was that we could'nt stay longer. Staff made us feel like we were home. Some of the nicest people we've ever met. They even let my grandson ring the dinner bell. He loved "calling everyone to supper" We had dinner and breakfast at the Inn, and both were amazing!!!!!!! The views were beautiful and the peace and quiet wonderful! If you can get away and go.....GO you wont be sorry!!


Fabulous experience

4.4 on October 07, 2010

The only thing wrong with our stay was that it wasn't long enough. We are looking forward to another stay at a later date.


Outstanding Country B & B

5 on September 30, 2010

We have stayed there over 30 times in the past 20 years. Meals are wonderful with two meats and many veggies, rolls, delicious deserts-served on a lazy susan. Meet many very nice people and easy to have a conversation and to learn about the area from someone at the table. Its about 53 years old so don't expect modern rooms-no TV-no phones (except in library)-no pool-all plus benefits. VERY RESTFUL just sitting and rocking even if you don't do anything else. Central to a lot of other small and interesting cities. Innkeepers are very friendly and helpful in every way......we usually stay two nights-many stay for a week.....can't beat the price when you consider it is a B & B but also serves a BIG DINNER! Highly recommend.


hemlock inn

5 on August 17, 2010

We have stayed at the Hemlock occasionally over the past 25 years. Never a dissapointment, lets a person get back to nature and the simple things in life. Food is excellent.


Quite The Getaway!

4.4 on February 25, 2010

The Hemlock Inn is a wonderful place to spend time in a refreshing mountain setting away from the hustle and bustle of modern day life. The dinners around the lazy susan tables are delicious and enjoyable, sharing stories with newly acquainted friends. God's creation is unfolded in it's simple splendor for all to experience. Personable service, great food, and nice accommodations make for an excellent value and one to remember. If you ever come once, this will be a repeat performance for years to come!


Hemlock Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $300
  • Reviews (110) 4.4
  • Rooms 19
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8284882885

Visit Website »

View details

Top