Sourwood Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

We love this place

5 on April 03, 2014

My parents stayed at the Sourwood for their 25th wedding anniversary and fell in love, So when my husband and I decided we wanted to go to Asheville for our honeymoon the Sourwood was our first choice. We returned for our first anniversary and are planning to return for our fourth anniversary. The views from the rooms are beautiful, the rooms are cozy and always clean. We love the wood burning fire place and huge tubs in each room. The staff are amazing and the food is even more amazing. Very relaxing and romantic!


Fabulous

5 on October 21, 2012

Have stayed there three time. Love it! The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (each with a wood burning fire place!). The optional dinner (Thur-Sun) is delicious. The included breakfast is fantastic. Can't wait to go back.


We were lucky!

5 on September 28, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend our vacation in Asheville as neither of us had been there but always heard great things about the area. We went online to look for places to stay and saw great reviews about the Sourwood Inn. We were not disappointed. The drive in was a little scary the first day but we soon got used to it. Everything was wonderful from the rooms, to the excellent food, to the genuine caring and helpfulness of the owners and staff. We especially enjoyed our fireplace in the room each night! We enjoyed meeting everyone and also enjoyed Nat's chats in the morning and advice on hiking in the area. (We missed him when he was not there.) We will definitely return to Sourwood Inn! Thanks Susan, Jeff, Anne and Nat! Mary and Ed S.


Wonderful week's stay at this lovely inn

4.6 on June 15, 2012

My wife and I spent the first week of June in Asheville, and we stayed at the Sourwood Inn. The inn is just as beautiful and well-maintained as the pictures look on their website. The Sourwood Inn is an unpretentious, arts and crafts style structure that blends beautifully with the environment. All of the rooms are filled with light, facing out into the surrounding woods. The place is so relaxing, whether you in your room, the living room, dining room, library, on one of the porches, or in any other room in this very special building. We always felt comfortable, cared for, and totally relaxed. The owners and the staff were warm, helpful, and just plain delightful. Everything was so well thought out in designing this inn and setting it up, so we never felt the need to ask for anything; it had already been provided. We used the fireplace in our room almost every night; and it was great having a working fireplace across from our bed. My wife hasn’t slept this good in a long time. The inn wasn’t far from the city center, yet you felt as if you were in another world, surrounded by nature, totally comfortable and relaxed. We recommend this wonderful place, and we look forward to returning in the future.


Best kept secret of the Blue Ridge Parkway

5 on April 04, 2012

Absolutely the best hide away in the mountains around Asheville. Great environment to decompress from city life and keep alive the romance in a relationship. A wonderful place that my wife and I keep returning too.


Memorable 10th Anniversary getaway !

4.6 on November 23, 2011

I surprised my wife with a weekend getaway at SI for our 10th Anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff was very accommodating and we had one of the most memorable dinners at the Inn that night. The food and presentation were excellent and the wait staff were attentive, but not overly so. We are both in Sales and stay at a lot of B&B's during our travels and this was one of the best. The breakfasts both morning were excellent. We will definitely stay here again and I would highly recommend SI to anyone wanting to spend some time away from everything.


Sweet vacation at Sourwood

5 on November 09, 2011

A fabulous inn, from the flowers to the fireplaces, to the footstools and food, everything has been thoughtfully laid out... nightlights, a pool table, walking trails, a library of surprising variety including nature books to identify the thousands of plants and animals just outside. The Blue Ridge Parkway is a 5 minute drive away, charming Weaverville with the delectable Well Bred Bakery and the Curtis Wright Fly Fishing shop 20 minutes one way and downtown Asheville 20 minutes in the other direction. Gentle, responsive hosts. We will return again and again. I am dreaming of the white chocolate cake.


heaven on Earth

5 on May 31, 2011

The best little hide-a-way on earth. A wonderful experience, the atmosphere, rooms and food were amazing. The Inn is stunning! The staff are the nicest people I've ever met. If you want to get away for a very romantic weekend, this is the place to go, or if you're looking for a calm and relaxing place to stay while in Ashville, NC, you have to stay at the Sourwood Inn.


A hidden gem in the mountains

4.2 on April 26, 2011

This is a fabulous Bed and Breakfast. You'll love the innkeepers and the food is something to remember too. There is no air-conditioners and if you come in June, July, or August it can be hot and even uncomfortable. The grounds are beautiful and perfect for strolling. You aren't far from tourist areas, shopping, art galleries, and outdoors activities abound. We consider this OUR special B&B.


Loved our stay!!

5 on July 14, 2010

Beautiful, peaceful, breathtaking views, fantastic food, I could go on forever about how wonderful and special our stay was here.


Beautiful and Secluded Inn

5 on June 25, 2010

We have spent many a wonderful weekend at Sourwood over the past years and just returned from a lovely long summer weekend. This amazing Inn offers complete relaxation on the side of a mountain with magnificent views. The Staff and Innkeepers are like family and cannot do enough to make everyone special. They always remember your name and all about your family. Kacia the chef prepares the most devine dinners, all fresh local grown food, prepared with wonderful seasonings beautifuly presented. This lovely inn is only a few minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway and the staff are well informed on the best hiking trails. If you are an Art lover in just minutes you can be down in Asheville and enjoying the local art galleries. This is our favorite place to decompress. Charlotte, NC


Amazing!

5 on October 12, 2009

Sourwood is simply the best bed & breakfast ever. Our first visit was on our honeymoon and we've recently returned each Fall for "recharging." The breakfasts, snack, and service are top-notch. I will never stay anywhere else in Asheville!


Best inn experience

4.6 on September 19, 2009

We spent two nights at Sourwood last week. We loved the open windows, hummingbirds that practically sat in your hand, wood burning fireplaces in each room, the absolute cleanliness of every single corner, gorgeous landscaping, multiple areas to quietly read, lovely arts and crafts detail, knowledgable hosts. It was a "come back to" place for us.


an awesome experience

5 on June 12, 2009

My wife and myself recently had the pleasure of staying at the Sourwood Inn... I can truly say I will reutrn and enjoy the experience again. From the moment we checked in until we departed... the entire staff was incredible. The best kept secret in Asheville. Meticulous attention to detail. amazing breakfast, simply a warm relaxing experience, words cannot express our gratitude for this totally enjoyable experience in simply having a place to relax and enjoy lifes simple pleasures.


Fantastic

5 on June 01, 2009

I've traveld the world and I've had great service in lots of places - Sourwood fits right in there with the best. If you want to be pampered and attended to like your a king or queen and feel comfortable treating people as servants then do not go to Sourwood - they don't derserve that type of behavior - if however you want a very nice quiet place to relax where clean rooms, great food and scenic beauty mesh to provide a truly great experience unobtrusivly managed by some of the nicest people you will ever meet - seriously, then head to Sourwood. Sourwood is like a duck - you just don't notice all that goes on under the water - you just notice the smooth operation and grace that is Susan and her family. I've been back to Sourwood 5 times and each time has been fantastic - highly recommeded.


Sourwood Inn best bet in the Asheville area

5 on May 26, 2009

We have been staying at the Sourwood regularly for years, and everyone there makes you feel extremely comfortable. Each and every room is gorgeous, with a balcony and big tub overlooking the mountains. The beds are amazing, and we have stayedn in many of the different rooms. The owners put such care into every detail. Breakfast is amazing and the dinners created by the chef never disappoint. If you are looking for some true rest and relaxation, this is the place for you. We could not recommend it more.


Sourwood Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $160 - $195
  • Reviews (16) 4.9
  • Rooms 12

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8282550690
  • Fax 1-8282550480
Top