Crooked Oak Mountain Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

had a good time, BUT

4.2 on October 11, 2012

Nice, if small B& B, located on the very top of a mountain about seven minutes by car from downtown Asheville. In early fall, though, the view is obscured by trees. What I liked best: the grounds, the piped music, the fire Bear built the morning I left,the elaborate, delicious breaksfasts, the large tv with ample dvds in the downstairs living room. Now, what ruined my stay. We stayed two nights and the first was fine, but the insulation was such that the second night (we stayed on the middle level) I heard ALL NIGHT LONG footsteps of someone, a guest or staffer, walking upstairs. Naturally, I couldn't sleep. It just boggled my mind and at $200/night it irritated me quite bit. Also, do not use gps to find the place or you will get lost. Use the directions provided in your confirm email. i also recommend using cabs late at nigt cause these hilltop residential areas are a maze to traverse. Veryconfusing!


Mountaintop Experience

5 on April 24, 2012

What a delightful place! The inn has wonderful trails through the woods, Bear and Patti make you feel right at home, and who wouldn't want to go out of their way for Bear's delightfully fluffy waffles.


Beautiful Mountain Inn

5 on August 10, 2011

We just returned from our second visit to the Crooked Oak Mountain Inn. We loved it just as much as we did the first time we visited. There's nothing not to like about it. The location was the first thing that drew us there. It is so peaceful and tranquil being on the mountain and yet so close to everything the downtown area has to offer. It's really amazing! The owners are so nice. They go out of their way to pamper you. The breakfasts are delightful. They were the highlight of my husband's day. He was up early each morning to find out what Bear and Patti were cooking. He especially enjoyed the fluffy, light pancakes packed with fresh fruit. The inn, itself, is beautiful inside and out. There are many comfortable spots to enjoy. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. The beds are comfortable. There are no tvs in the guest rooms but there are a couple in the common areas. We enjoyed sitting outside on the deck and on the terrace. The views are beautiful and relaxing. We visited in August so we really enjoyed escaping the heat of the city below at the end of each day. We are already talking about a return trip.


Simply the best!

5 on April 09, 2011

My second visit to the inn was just as delightful as my first! The rooms are most comfortable, very clean, and so attractive. The owners are marvelous! Their breakfasts devine! Hopefully there's a third visit in my future.


Great Ashville Trip

5 on November 11, 2010

Our stay at the Crooked Oak Mountain Inn while on a trip to the Biltmore Estate, Lake Junaluska, the Cove, and Ashville. Patti and Bear and everything about the Inn was great!


Peaceful and Relaxing

3.8 on September 11, 2008

The Inn is off the beaten path and sits on a beautifully wooded lot. Tranquil music plays in the background as you stroll the property or sit by the pond. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the sheets very soft. There are no televisions in the rooms which for some may be an issue.


An old Bear lives here with his Honey

5 on August 24, 2008

We just concluded a three night stay, Had a great time at the Biltmore, Chimney Rock, local shopping, and time shared with Patti and Bear. The Beautiful Rooms, The incredible Food, The Mountain Setting, The Wonderful Company. Left us with a stress free, relaxing mountain getaway after dropping our only son off at college. The perfect distraction to a normally difficult "empty nester" event. Thanks Guys you are truly gracious hosts, I look forward to referring friends and family to your wonderful mountain getaway. Thanks So Much-- Misty and Wayne. Nashville


defineatkey want to return

4.8 on August 16, 2008

we stayed a couple of years back and we still rave about the comfort, the food and above all the courtesy of Patti & Bear!! true innkeepers. if it wasn't so far from London UK we'd be regular visitors! mike & angelo


Fabulous!!

5 on August 04, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Crooked Oak. Even though my husband and I were only able to stay one night, Bear and Patti treated us as if we were long-time patrons on a lengthy stay. They even sent us listings of their favorite restaurants and local spas so we could plan things to do on our trip. The Inn was beautiful and the food was fantastic. As a gourmet cook myself, I really appreciated having a fabulous meal that someone else prepared. We will definitely return and will recommend Crooked Oak to family, friends, and any one in the Asheville area.


Wonerful weekend in Asheville

4.8 on May 26, 2008

We can't say enough about our weekend at Crooked Oak Inn. Patti and Bear have done an amazing job providing not only an outstanding inn but wonderful meals as well. They surprised us with glasses of champagne at our anniversary dinner that they made the reservations for. The Inn has everything we needed and more. They were very helpful with directions and things to do. Our 31st wedding anniversary was a 10 out of 10!


Mountain Hideaway

4.6 on July 14, 2007

The owners are most engaging in knowledge of the area and seeing the guests are satisfied. A morning view of the mountains from the front porch is a delight, especially with a cup of coffee. The variety of offerings at breakfast is exceptional--truly a mountain breakfast.


Great Inn, excellent service!

4.6 on March 28, 2007

The innkeepers do a wonderful job taking care of anything and everything you may need during your stay. The Inn is small so even when it's full personal service is never compromised.


Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $215
  • Reviews (12) 4.7
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8282529219
  • Fax 1-8282529945
  • Toll free 1-8772529219

Visit Website »

View details

Top