Carolina Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
60 Reviews

Write A Review

Christmas visit to the Carolina House B&B

5 on January 28, 2014

This was our first time in Ashville --we wanted to see the Biltmore mansion decorated for Christmas. I did a lot of research on hotels and Bed and Breakfasts way back in August. Of all my inquiries I found the people at the Carolina House to be the most friendly and good service for the price which was very reasonable. We stayed in the Robin's Nest as we wanted the king size bed and found the room to be more than satisfactory. It was spacious and cozy at the same time. I love the old world atmosphere. I cannot say enough about the wonderful breakfasts that Sara made for us. They were delicious. Also the great hor-d-ourves and wine that she put out at 5:30 every night. This was a great way to meet other guests and visit with them as well as having a snack and glass of great wine before dinner. The little dessert she put in our room at night was a wonderful personal touch that was much appreciated especially by my husband! We would like to thank Sara for all her hard work for us--she did a marvelous job of making us feel welcome and free to ask for anything that we needed. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone who is planning a stay in Ashville. Marlene&Jeff


First Timers

5 on January 01, 2014

Having never stayed at a B&B before, we were excited about the opportunity. We could not have chosen a better B&B. We were treated like family and felt like the Carolina was our own home. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was simply delicious and different each day. Expectations were exceeded.


Great Experience!

5 on December 07, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B and Carolina Bed & Breakfast did not disappoint. Our room was very clean and comfortable. All food-from breakfast to our evening dessert was incredible. I enjoyed being able to socialize with other guests and hear their agenda for the day. James was very helpful with food suggestions, driving directions, etc. Will definitely stay again.


Great Experience at the Carolina Inn

4.4 on November 21, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Carolina Inn and are planning to return. We have stayed in a number of B & B's and this was one of the best. Though we wanted to get away and be on our own, we really enjoyed the social hour for wine each evening and being able to share breakfast with the other guests. James, Susan and Sarah were more than gracious and accommodating and gave us great suggestions for restaurants and things to do in Asheville.


The Cottage

5 on October 29, 2013

My Husband and I wanted a much needed getaway! Checked every Asheville B & B's site but chose Carolina because it "checked" all the needed requirements, privacy, comfortable, spacious, pleasing decor and delicious food. It surpassed any expectations! Thank you, Susan and James for a wonderful stay! Shelley and George


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 10, 2013

We were at the Carolina B&B for three nights and it was our first B&B. After looking online and the many reviews of B&Bs in the Asheville area, we decided on the Carolina. This place was awesome. The rooms and bathrooms were very nice and comfortable and the food was outstanding. We had something different everyday and it was a gourmet breakfast so we were never hungry for lunch. All the extras that James and Susan provide make for a wonderful stay. We had a nice treat in our bedroom every night. (i.e. pumpkin cheesecake, blondies). Everyday at 5:30 we had wine and appetizers and was a great social hour with the other guests. James and Susan went out of their way to make sure your every need was taken care of. James was very knowledgaeable about everything in the area and had great recommendations everyday. I can't say enough about our stay at the Caroline B&B and would recommend it to all our friends and relatives. I can certaninly say you will not be disappointed!


Great Location, Delicious Food, Reasonable Price, Wonderful Service

5 on October 07, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here in the Goldfinch Room. We are so pleased with the experience! Our room was comfortable, beautifully decorated, and very quiet. The breakfasts, hors d'oerves, and snack were DELICIOUS and there was a cookie jar in the dining room which was filled and always available with delightful cookies! James and Susan were superb hosts. James answered all of our questions, and was spot on with restaurant recommendations. And Susan certainly cooks with a creative touch! We felt so at home here, and all the guests were friendly and nice. The location was 15 minutes from town, and a nice walk at that. We will definitely be returning here the next time we visit the area. Thanks James and Susan for making our trip so enjoyable!


Lovely Bed & Breakfast

5 on September 30, 2013

Our two night stay at the Carolina B&B was everything we expected and more....outstanding food, friendly and helpful staff and treats and wine in the evening. Location was perfect to walk downtown. Room was lovely and very quiet and comfortable...Thank you, Susan and James


More than expexted

5 on September 18, 2013

The two nights spent at Carolina B&B were very nice. The breakfasts were superb and more than adequate. Susan and James are exemplary hosts and the Inn is a treasure. We enjoyed the guests exchanges and James' commentary on various subjects. Thank you for your gracious hosting and for making our time in Asheville memorable. By the way our Sandy Bottom horseback and garnet mine experience was tremendous. Larry & Linda Lawrence


Lovely B&B

5 on September 08, 2013

Our two nights at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast were very comfortable and enjoyable. The house itself -- including the artwork hung throughout -- is a pleasure, situated in one of Asheville's oldest and most charming neighborhoods, Montford -- convenient to downtown and good restaurants. The backyard garden was beautiful and calming. Hosts James and Susan made us feel at home and provided delicious breakfasts. Breakfast was served anytime between 8:30 and 9:30 so it offers flexibility to your schedule. They alternate daily between sweet and savory entrees so we got both and they were top-notch, with the first-course fruit dishes seemingly simple but extra special in their flavorings. Snacks and wine on the porch in the early evenings were a special treat, and a chance to exchange ideas and information with the other guests. We were worried that our street-side room (Cardinal) might prove too noisy or too bright at night, but we were delighted to find that it was quiet and dark -- we got a great night's sleep both nights. We highly recommend the Carolina Bed and Breakfast to other Asheville travelers looking for pleasant and convenient lodging.


Excellent Asheville B&B

5 on September 05, 2013

After doing a fair amount of research online, my wife and I settled on Carolina B&B for our first trip to Asheville and we're really glad we did. I'm sure there are lots of great B&Bs in Asheville but I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we go back. Breakfasts and afternoon appetizers were delicious and plentiful. Our room was clean, well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great for exploring downtown by foot and the neighborhood was pleasant. Owners James and Susan were very welcoming and extremely helpful. James has a wealth of knowledge about Asheville and he is happy to help with any question or request. We could not have been more pleased with Carolina B&B, will recommend to friends, and definitely hope to return.


Terrific!

5 on September 05, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast. We checked in and were provided with wine and hor d'oeuvres. This was such a nice surprise and very welcome after our drive from Charlotte. We were also provided lovely baked goods each evening that were home made and tasty. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! We were also provided a terrific hike on Sunday. The hike was perfect and the inn provided us with such terrific directions! Great place to stay in Asheville!


Great Two Night Stay

5 on August 21, 2013

Super two night stay. Sara (manager) was great with all requests and questions. Very comfortable room and lots of attention to detail. Wonderful food and evening snacks.


Fantastic stay

5 on August 06, 2013

This was our first trip to Asheville, and we stayed here due to the good reviews even though we are not necessarily "Bed and Breakfast people". We are absolutely thrilled with the decision, as our stay could not have been any better! We cannot wait to come back and spend some more time in the wonderful Asheville area and at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. James and Susan don't miss a single detail. Breakfast was incredible each morning, we especially enjoyed they delicious hors d'oeuvres and wine in the early evening with the other guests, and then coming home to delicious freshly baked treats in our room at night was a great touch. We easily walked to downtown from the location, and James was a wealth of knowledge about the area, restaurants, Biltmore, etc. Our room was top notch. Fire place, air conditioner, jacuzzi tub, king bed - the bathroom was great and everything was clean and comfortable. It was a real treat to stay at Carolina B&B - we can't recommend it enough.


Amazing Asheville B&B

5 on July 25, 2013

We are frequent travelers and prefer to stay at B&Bs so over the past 35 years we have experienced a variety. We have to say that the The Carolina is, in our opinion, the cream of the crop. James and Susan have attended to every detail: gourmet 2 course breakfasts, afternoon wine and horsd'oeuvres in the parlor, immaculate, beautifully decorated rooms, gorgeous gardens and outdoor seating areas, personal touches that reflect their life experiences and travels, and readily available information about the Asheville area. They are sincerely interested in the comfort of their guests and ready to assist with anything...a restaurant recommendation, travel tips, and in our case, wet gear after hiking in the Smokies. We hope to experience The Carolina B&B again one day.


This place is amazing!

5 on July 03, 2013

There's a reason this B&B has so many high ratings. It's a lovely place that's conveniently located with beautifully appointed rooms. We found the photos to be a good representation of the house. You won't be disappointed! Susan and James are lovely. The breakfasts are breathtaking and get your day started right! James is a wealth of information on things to do and (most importantly) where to eat. We wouldn't even consider any other place on our next trip to Asheville. If you see a room you like--book it! They fill early. The good places always do.


Best B&B

5 on June 11, 2013

We just returned from a stay at the Carolina B&B and I'm already wishing that I could return. The B&B is absolutely lovely and in the perfect location. A short walk through a historic neighborhood puts you in the center of Asheville's shops & restaurants but once back at the B&B, you feel as if you are miles from the city. The true highlight is the food. Truly gourmet breakfasts are only topped by the amazing spread of appetizers and wine served at 5:30. The hosts are extremely helpful & friendly but not intrusive. I am recommending the Carolina B&B to all of my friends & family.


The ultimate B and B

5 on June 02, 2013

The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is what other B and B's should aspire to. A comfortable and attractive place, Susan and James should be teaching others how to run a Bed and Breakfast inn. Every need was anticipated and provided and helped to make our visit to Ashville truly memorable.


Wonderful stay

4.6 on May 30, 2013

My husband and I made the Carolina B&B our home base while visiting Asheville. The location is very convenient to walk downtown. The street is quiet so it is easy to relax and get a good nghts sleep. Stayed in the Robin's Nest room, bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were great. Enjoyed the wine and appetizers in the evening. James and Susan really make you feel welcome and provide ample information on things to do and places to dine.


Fabulous!

5 on May 25, 2013

James and Susan were very personable/warm hosts, very helpful with explanations and directions to sites and restaurants. Breakfasts were surprisingly and happily different and delicious. Sharing early evenings (and personal stories with other guests) on the porch with some wine and Susan's creative appetizers were, no kidding, absolutely a highlight of our trip to Asheville. FANTASTIC! all the way around. I would recommend a stay at Carolina B&B even if you only have one night in the area. Wish we had more than the 3 nights we did.


The Carolina B&B will be our future stop from now on!

4.6 on May 11, 2013

James and Susan were exceptionally dedicated to taking care of us during our stay. The food was absolutely delicious, both the breakfasts and the social hour that they put out for us. Very helpful in suggestions for places to go in town. And what a beautiful place. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The grounds were very beautiful and it is in a quiet location. We will not have to look for another inn for our next trip to Asheville.


A great place!

5 on April 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast on our first trip to Asheville, and we would absolutely stay there again! Our hosts were wonderful - welcoming, friendly, and so informative about the area, with many recommendations for dinner and activities. And the gourmet breakfast was delicious! The accommodations were excellent - so comfortable and nicely decorated - with everything we needed for our stay. And so nice to be able to relax on the porch! A top-notch bed and breakfast!


Best Breakfast Ever

5 on April 29, 2013

James and Susan will make you want to come back again and again.


A beautiful B&B in the historic section of Asheville.

5 on April 26, 2013

A great find within walking distance to downtown Asheville. The rooms are large, spacious and very comfortable and the breakfasts and appetizers were amazing.


Feeling of home

5 on April 25, 2013

James and Susan are fantastic. Our children gave us a gift certificate to spent a few nights here and I'm so glad they did. Not only was the Cardinal Room a beautiful and comfortable place to relax, but the entire house was a wonderful place to come home to after a day of touring the area. The food was more than tasty and you can tell these two know what they are doing when it comes to healthy, delicious fare and its presentation. Also, they go above and beyond to help with any information you may need and can answer any question about the area activities you may be interested in. We will definitely be returning and the main reason we will is James and Susan themselves. This place is all you would want a B & B to be.


Home Away from Home

5 on April 12, 2013

James and Susan were stellar. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The food is truly wonderful, you can tell they are foodies. More than anything, though, it is the hosts of the Carolina Bed & Breakfast that impress. They are friendly, have excellent advice on dining and other activities in the area, and go above and beyond when assisting their guests. My husband and I stayed in the Mockingbird suite for our honeymoon and we had a wonderful time. We had car troubles while there, and James drove us out to his mechanic and back while we sorted out the problem. We also stayed at a few other places in the area during the trip (including the Inn at Biltmore), but the Carolina B&B was by far our favorite. James and Susan have created in the Carolina B&B a beautiful, welcoming home rather than simply an inn.


Great location and charming B&B!

5 on August 09, 2012

We happened upon the Carolina B&B when our usual place was booked. It has now become our "go to" destination when we are in Asheville. It was absolutely charming and exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the cottage behind the house and found it to be much more comfortable than any room would have been. The grounds are lovely and we were within walking distance of the downtown area where we enjoyed the Belle Chere Festival. The breakfasts were exquisite, healthy and beautifully presented. We will definitely return!


Great B&B in Asheville, NC

5 on May 31, 2012

James and Susan, owners of Carolina B&B, provid. the ideal B&B experience for their guests. A quiet, well furnished room, an unbeatable breakfast, and helpful and congenial suggestions for finding the many restaurants and activities that make Asheville such a delightful place to visit. Our stay could not have been better!


An Awesome B&B

5 on October 23, 2011

We recently celebrated our 30th anniversary in The Cottage, and had a wonderful time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carolina Bed & Breakfast. James and Susan Murray are marvelous hosts. Susan is a fabulous cook. Her two-course breakfasts (served between 8:30 and 9:30) are scrumptious, and a great way to start the day. She uses local ingredients whenever possible. Wine (from the Biltmore Winery) and hors d'oeuvres are served in the parlor from 5:30 to 6:30pm, and treats are delivered to each room every evening. Our room in The Cottage was splendid. Everything was spotless. The king bed was so comfortable. It was very nice to have the kitchenette, to prepare light suppers. The bathroom was well-appointed, with a two-person whirlpool tub, thick towels and bathrobes, a hairdryer, and toiletries provided. We recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a special getaway in Asheville, and can't wait to return!


Carolina B&B was the highlight of our weekend!

5 on July 27, 2011

What a gem... If you've always found that where you stay on a trip colors your memories - stay at Carolina B&B in Asheville. We arrived in the afternoon to the aroma of freshly baked biscotti, so good we left with the recipe. Homemade brownies (left with this recipe too) waited for us on a bedside table when we returned to sleep. And we slept so well! The owner told us that guests have actually asked for the make and model of the mattresses. The owners were charming, solicitous about our needs - even acommodated two relatives for breakfast with us. Oh, and what a perfect breakfast - both mornings we were there - fresh, yummy and gourmet. Foodie heaven - we bought one of the two cookbooks they've published. And last but not least, the toiletries were top of the line. I'm going to be purchasing them to use regularly.


We Were Very Pleased

5 on June 27, 2011

James and Susan were splendid hosts. The Miss Webb room was comfortable and on the ground floor. So, we didn't have to climb stairs. Susan's breakfasts were delightful. Each evening homemade treat (usually involving chocolate) was waiting beside the bed after we returned from an Asheville adventure. James provided excellent tips on where to go and what to see. We were very pleased.


Biltmore Access

3.6 on June 24, 2011

Stayed with James and Susan while visiting the Biltmore Estate. There inn is very comfortable and welcoming. The common rooms are roomy. A nice patio at the back of the house is a great place to relax after a day of site seeing. Breakfasts were very good, with a European flair and portion size. Off street parking is a plus. Our room was comfortable and quiet even though the inn was full.


Robin's Nest

5 on May 16, 2011

For our thirty-second anniversary my husband and I decided to spend a few days and nights relaxing in one of our favorite places, Asheville NC. This was our third trip there and we wanted a relaxing and fun filled holiday. We decided to try a bed and breakfast inn this time and looked up several. We could not have picked a better place to stay than the Carolina Inn B&B. Our room was called Robin’s Nest and it overlooked the Inn’s beautiful garden. The room was beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the house and the bed had to be one of the most comfortable ones we have ever slept in. James and Susan, who run the inn made our stay worth every penny. They are extremely knowledgeable about Asheville and are a valuable source of information about where to dine, what to do and places to visit (which we had missed on our previous trips). None of that however could prepare you for James and Susan’s daily gourmet breakfasts. They were worth setting your clocks and getting up early to eat. We had a wonderful time visiting with James while enjoying the most delicious and authentic gourmet dishes. It was a great way to start our day! Sitting on the large front porch in the evening enjoying appetizers and wine was a great way to relax and meet fellow travelers. We will be visiting Asheville again in the future and hopefully James and Susan will have a room waiting for us at their beautiful Inn. Anita and Walter Kemper


A Wonderful Weekend Getaway

4.0 on May 09, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Carolina B & B in Asheville. It is situated in a lovely residential neighborhood, within walking distance of downtown, which is very convenient. The home is well-maintained and the hosts have done a great job to make everyone feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Hummingbird Room, which was delightful and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Last, but not least, was the food. Simply amazing and well-thought out. We would highly recommend this B&B and we would not hesitate to return.


Service with a smile...........

4.4 on May 02, 2011

Our room was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. The location, on a quiet street lined with historic homes,was convenient to downtown attractions and restaurants. Our hosts, James and Susan, were extremely helpful and accomodating, providing afternoon wine and appetizers. and lots of tips on local attractions and restaurants. Breakfasts were a gourmet experience. Because strawberries were in season, James even explained where the local farmers market was, so that we could buy local berries!


Love this place!!

5 on April 04, 2011

A fabulous two day stay with my mom, sis and daughter in "The Cottage". James & Susan are great cooks, hosts, guides to Asheville, etc. It was more than we imagined. As I said, "Love this place!".


Excellent Stay

5 on April 04, 2011

We recently stayed in the Carolina Bed and Breakfast and had the most wonderful stay. We have stayed in many B&B's throughout the US and Europe and the Carolina Bed and Breakfast is at the top of our list for an exceptional place to stay. EVERY DETAIL was attended to, with no exceptions, from the moment we arrived to our departure!


A wonderful experience!

4.6 on November 16, 2010

Carolina B&B is nestled on a scenic, quiet side street, yet is only a 5 minute walk from downtown Asheville. The rooms are very comfortable without being pretentious and the service is excellent. Breakfast is served at two large tables which affords the chance to interact with other guests. The food is wonderful, with a focus on using fresh local ingredients. Highly recommended!


A repeat for sure !

5 on October 31, 2010

Carolina B+B was my first B+B experience – and set a high standard for others. James and Susan were charming hosts and the food was yummy. As a single traveler, the choice of Carolina B+B was particularly comforting. The wine and hors d’oeuvres each evening before heading off to dinner were a wonderful way to connect with other guests. Susan prepares the gourmet breakfasts. The accommodations are homey and pristine. I’m already penciling in a date on my calendar for a spring visit to Asheville – no question where I will be staying.


Marvelous!

4.6 on October 28, 2010

James and Susan provided a relaxing and delicious stay. The food was simply phenomenal! We were treated like friends rather than "guests". The King bed in the cottage was one of the best I have ever had the pleasure to sleep upon. I highly recommend this B&B.


Carolina B&B - Best in Asheville!

4.8 on October 25, 2010

I've stayed at several places in Asheville, but the Carolina B&B under its new ownership is outstanding. I was there in the charming "Miss Webb" room over Columbus Day weekend (prime time for leaf-peeping). The new owners, Susan and James, are fascinating and helpful people. The cooking is the best I've had at any B&B anywhere. Give it a try!


Quiet yet close to city center

4.2 on September 03, 2010

Comfortable, spacious rooms in a lovely old house with many interesting features. Quiet neighborhood within walking distance to town. Gracious hosts. Breakfasts and early evening wine and snacks worthy of a 5 star rating. Susan is an excellent chef.


Highly Recommended

4.6 on August 03, 2010

Gracious hosts, close walk to main area, very nice rooms and great breakfasts (both days).


I'd definitely visit again

3.6 on August 01, 2010

Warm and friendly, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfasts, walking distance to downtown...the perfect setting for a get-away!


Great Hospitality!

4.8 on July 16, 2010

The owner was very welcoming and friendly. His wife is a gourmet cook who make an excellent breakfast each morning. Every afternoon there was a wine and appetizer social with the owner and the other guests. The cottage was spacious, comfortable and modern. The location is an easy walk to the downtown historic district. I would recommend Carolina B&B to any visitor to Asheville.


Stay here!!!

4.6 on July 13, 2010

We stayed here 7/5-7/7/10 and had a wonderful time. The inn is quaint and comfortable. Breakfast was spectacular!!! We will be back for sure!!


Carolina B & B 5 Star Across the Board

5 on July 02, 2010

A beautiful home, wonderfully comfortable room, fantastic food (including the breakfasts, the late afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, and the surprise nighttime snacks), terrific location (a beautiful neighborhood and an easy walk to downtown Asheville), and two of the nicest and most helpful hosts you will find anywhere. We hope to visit James and Susan again in the future and will be recommending the Carolina B & B to friends.


Our new home away from home

5 on June 28, 2010

Both my wife and I are seasoned travelers who have stayed in some of the nicest (and some which were not so nice) places in the world. We found the Carolina Inn Bed and Breakfast on the internet and from the ease of registration through check-out this was one of the most pleasant and memorable travel experiences we have ever had. The inn itself is a stately, well furnished immaculate period home. The guest rooms are spacious and most comfortable with plush bedding and bathroom amenities. Our hosts James and Susan Murray were warm, friendly and went out of their way to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Susan is an accomplished chef and her breakfasts and afternoon "snacks" were exceptional. The grounds around the inn are well cared for and repleat with a wide array of flowers and foulage. There is abundant off street private parking and personal security is never an issue. The inn is located in a quite neighborhood within easy walking distance to downtown Ashville and just a short drive to all the other area sights. Without reservation we recommend the Carolina Inn bed and breakfast and look forward to our next stay there.


Great hospitality!

4.8 on May 09, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. James and Susan were great hosts and the breakfasts were excellent. We stayed in a room upstairs, bed was very comfortable, had internet access, bathroom was clean with nice fluffy towels. The home overall was very comfortable in a convenient location for exploring downtown Asheville. Biltmore was less than 5 miles away. Wine and snacks in the parlor each evening added a chance to socialize with other guests and get the scoop on local restaurants from our hosts. This B & B had nice porches in the back and front of the house with gardens that are evolving. Homemade cookies were a nice touch. We will stay here again as the service was excellent and a great value!


Love thid B & B!!

5 on May 04, 2010

By far one of the best bed and breakfast destinations I have stayed in!! Very convenient to downtown Asheville(shops,restaurants,etc...) definitly planning on another visit soon!


Great stay - and very accomodating hosts

4.2 on May 03, 2010

We recently had a 2 night stay at this B and B - and really enjoyed ourselves. We were greeted on the first day after a long day of travel and house hunting with an offer of wine - and found some fresh cookies in our room - nice. We had emailed about our vegetarian diet - and Susan did a great job presenting breakfasts and afternoon snacks we could eat. The grounds were very nice - and we had some peaceful time on the front porch screen. Great location - easy walk to downtown, and right around the corner from a favorite restaurant - 9 Mile (which everyone should visit!).


April 2010

4.6 on May 01, 2010

The Murray's are exceptional hosts taking great care to make you feel comfortable and 'at home'. The rooms are very lovely with a working gas fireplace that came in handy on cool nights in April. The breakfast, cookies at night, wine and finger foods in the early evening, exceeded the quality and hospitality I expected. The quality of the food was the very best from the farmer's market. The house is beautiful and is a short walk through the Montford neighborhood to downtown. I enjoyed every minute of my stay at Carolina B&B.


We'll never stay anywhere else...

4.4 on April 30, 2010

Owners Susan and James have created an utterly charming and classic southern BnB experience. We stayed in the cottage for a few days and loved it so much we came back two weeks later and stayed in the Miss Web room in the main house. Imagine: swinging on the porch swing in the evenings sipping complimentary wine. Lounging on the porch sofa in the morning sipping perfectly-brewed coffee gazing at the spring buds before a gourmet breakfast. A short walk up to downtown shops and restaurants... Besides "charming" a list of descriptors include: warm, elegant, delicious, peaceful, fresh, friendly, homey, helpful and a good deal. Nothing plastic about this experience. We'll never stay anywhere else in Asheville.


Absolutely wonderful!

5 on April 29, 2010

Susan and James provided a most welcoming, beautiful home with exquisite breakfasts, delightful 5:30 wine and conversation and the favorite bedroom of our trip. The garden and numerous trees added as we sat on the front porch while visiting with other guests before breakfast. Close to downtown. Truly, no negatives to report!!


Wonderful accommodations

4.6 on April 27, 2010

I am very pleased with my stay at Carolina B and B. The rooms are comfortable and homey, the food is outstanding, and the owners are wonderful. I've never been so comfortable on vacation, and I plan to tell all my friends about it.


Excellent bed & breakfast

4.0 on April 21, 2010

Owners enjoy what they do and it shows! Breakfast was wonderful each morning.


Home Away from Home

4.8 on April 07, 2010

We loved the cottage on site. The Hostess, Susan, was very nice and an excellent cook. We would like to drive up just for the meals that she prepares. We felt right at home. I look forward to returning.


Cozy historic inn a pleasant short stroll from Downtown

3.6 on December 13, 2009

We stayed in the Robin’s Nest room over the Thanksgiving weekend, from Friday to Sunday, and had a lovely time. The Inn Manager, Sarah, was a warm and unobtrusive hostess and her breakfast offerings were outstanding each day: bountiful, delicious, and creative. Breakfast was a highlight of our trip on both days. Our room was cozy and out of the way, which is exactly what we wanted. The bed was downy and fluffy, the corner gas fireplace kept the room toasty, and the water pressure in the shower was very strong-- what else do you need? We were very pleased that the inn was such a short walk away from downtown and enjoyed strolling through the beautiful historic neighborhood full of Victorian homes. We return to Asheville (from Decatur, GA) about once an year, and would book another stay at The Carolina House with no reservations.


A wonderful 'home away from home'

4.4 on December 02, 2009

The first impression upon walking in to the Carolina B&B is one of warmth and welcome. The house is delightfully decorated with items that are representative of reflect the history of the building as well as places where Susan and David have lived. This first impression is confirmed as you experience that small touches that make all the difference: a comfortable and spacious room, finding cookies on the dresser, "help yourself" soda and water in the refrigerator near the kitchen, outstanding breakfasts in the dining room, "cocktail hour" nibbles in one of the front rooms and so on. Sara was our housekeeper and host. She was marvellous; helpful with information etc. when needed but unobstrusive at the same time. The "must stay connected" will appreciate the wireless internet access throughout the house. Downtown Asheville is a pleasant 15 to 20 minute walk away through a residential area. We will definitely stay at the Carolina B&B again and have already recommended it to friends.


Warm welcome atCarolina B&B

5 on November 16, 2009

We arrived in Asheville on a dismal rainy November afternoon.Our welcome at Carolina Bed and Breakfast by Susan and Sara was warm and gracious. A cheery fire greeted us in the sitting room, along with wine, delicious cheese biscuits and a tea tray. Each breakfast was unique and delightful. Sara's maps and restaurant suggestions were most helpful. We will certainly return again.


Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8282543608
  • Fax 1-8282543608

Visit Website »

View details

Top