Albemarle Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
51 Reviews

Write A Review

My first B &B was great.

4.6 on July 16, 2014

This was a wonderful experience. Everyone was so welcoming and I enjoyed the coziness at Abemarle Inn. Great location...would definitely go back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property, the Albemarle Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your first bed and breakfast experience with us, and we hope to see your again someday!


The Albemarle is FANTASTIC

4.6 on July 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I made the drive up to Asheville for the first time over a long Fourth of July weekend. I found the Albemarle online - it's the first bed & breakfast we've ever stayed in. I can't say enough good things about it - the staff are wonderful and always working to make your stay better; the rooms are beautiful and provide a unique experience; the grounds are gorgeous; the breakfast is delicious and it's close to everything you want to do in Asheville. We'll be back.

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad that you had a great overall experience with us here at the Albemarle Inn on your first bed and breakfast stay! We so enjyed meeting you both, and helping you plan your activities for your weekend here in Asheville.


Albemarle stay

3.4 on July 07, 2014

We did not get the room we selected when we registered because a previous guest extended their stay. The innkeeper was not very apologetic nor did she offer any accommodation for the change (eg. some kind of discount.) The bed while very comfortable was in a corner which made it hard to get up and down on the wall side. Linens were clean and lovely. Room was a bit dark and overhead lightbulb was out. Bathroom was small but clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast began with blueberries I lemon curd. Main dish was cheddar and broccoli quiche with not so tasty sausages and cookies for dessert.


Weekend stay at Albermarle

4.8 on July 06, 2014

We had a great stay at Albermarle Inn. Everyone was so nice and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was also very delicious!


Absolutely Fabulous!!

5 on July 01, 2014

What a beautiful Inn and wonderful hosts!!


The Albemarle

4.0 on June 27, 2014

A very charming, well maintained and manicured southern period home - the owners are extremely conscientious and sensitive to their clientele - one feels welcomed and appreciated.


Beautiful Bed & Breakfast, food was excellent and fabulous hospitality. Can't wait to visit soon.

5 on June 16, 2014

Tim and Jan Boudreaux Abbeville, LA


Bed yes, Breakfast no

3.2 on May 28, 2014

All in all, this is a beautiful place, an old mansion set in a very quiet peaceful neighborhood. The Grove Park Resort is about a mile away. The large porch is lovely to sit on in the evening. The interior is dark and sticks pretty much to the Victorian style it probably began with, long ago. I think it needs color and updating. The rooms are not equally comfortable, but they are generally so - look carefully if you have a choice; I recommend the blue room. The owner Rosemary is pleasant and helpful; she will accommodate most all needs and questions. The breakfast room is light, beautiful and calming, though breakfast hours are strictly limited. Our only disappointment was the breakfast itself, which did not in any way measure up to the many wonderful, "gourmet" breakfasts we've had at other upscale B & Bs, and even at some chain hotels: it seemed ungenerous, uninteresting and cursory. We left hungry. If such things don't matter to you, Albemarle is an excellent, relaxing place to stay and is easily accessible from the highways and downtown.


Breakfast a disappointment

2.8 on May 20, 2014

The 3 course breakfast began with a large slice of ice cream with choped candied pecans. Second course--waffle with thick caramel sauce and whipped cream. Third course--a few Madeleine. ...all fat, sugar & carbs. Breakfast is only served from 8:30 to 9:30. It started late and we were one hour late for our hoped for start time at the Biltmore estate visit. Very nice women, newly employed, introduced themselves as the innkeepers. They were not familiar with Asheville and couldn't recommend restaurants.


Great Hospitality

4.6 on May 04, 2014

Rosemary and Fabrizio were very gracious hosts and made us feel very welcome in their home. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious.


Highly recommended

5 on April 15, 2014

Wonderful hosts and a beautiful home. Close to center of town.


Had a wonderful time!

4.4 on March 12, 2014

We had a fun and enjoyable time celebrating my sister's 50th birthday! Ashley went way above and beyond making us feel welcome. She is a true joy. The property was beautiful and well maintained. Can't wait to go back!


Great weekend in a interesting little community

4.2 on February 22, 2014

We enjoyed a long weekend in the beautiful home. Was extremely clean and pleasant and the owners were very cordial. Ashley, who is their assistant, was a delight and extremely helpful. The food was average though they have a higher opinion of it than we did. We are already making plans to return to Asheville and will likely stay at the Albemarle again.


Classic historical stay

4.2 on January 29, 2014

The Albermarle is a dream for B&B lovers who enjoy a stately and historical home. The public spaces are fabulous and the room we stayed in was well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and there are plentiful snacks along with tea and coffee. Price is on the higher side but you have to pay for quality and the Albermarle is worth it. We will be back if our travels take us back to Asheville


Very Comfortable and Pleasant Trip

4.4 on October 07, 2013

The house is gorgeous, and our room fit our needs perfectly. Breakfast was good, although be sure you're not on a timeline as service is slow. Afternoon tea is less than we have experienced in other inns, although adequate. Inn Keepers are pleasant, and try to accommodate in any they they can.


Amazing!

5 on September 22, 2013

By far the best B&B we've stayed in to date, resulting in an absolutely perfect stay. The Inn is elegant, beautiful, excellently appointed and wonderfully maintained. Rosemary and Fabrizio were incredible hosts who anticipated our every need, made great area-activity recommendations and provided superlative hospitality. We found it quite remarkable that they effortlessly anticipated and seamlessly blended personal interaction, comradery and privacy. The breakfasts and snacks were delicious, innovative and expertly prepared and served. Our two-day stay with Rosemary and Fabrizio and staff was far too short and simply could not have been improved upon. We heartily recommend Albemarle Inn to all discerning travelers. A five star, class act experience.


Beautiful house, great staff

3.8 on July 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I highly enjoyed our weekend at the Albermarle Inn. The staff was some of the friendliest I've ever met and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We had considered the Grove Park Inn for our stay in Asheville but I can;t imagine that would have been a better stay given the personal attention, great breakfasts, and charming historical decor. I would highly recommend the Albermarle Inn to anyone looking for a special getaway in Asheville.


Very nice stay.

4.6 on July 25, 2013

The room and building were lovely and the service was very friendly but professional. The breakfasts were outstanding!


Berky

4.8 on July 17, 2013

Very hospitable owners. Breakfast was excellent.


Sweet

4.6 on July 05, 2013

Best breakfast we have had in years! Beautiful old home.


Romantic Getaway

4.2 on July 04, 2013

We are newcomers to the B&B scene and we were apprehensive about sharing our weekend with others. The Abermarle Inn provided us with plenty of privacy in a relaxed, cozy atmosphere. The innkeeper and staff were very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the private hors d'oeuvres, wine and breakfast for two!


Great B&B in Quiet Location!

5 on March 12, 2013

First off, let me say that the pictures on the Albemarle's website are all wrong. This isn't, contrary to the pictures, grandma's house. We stayed in the Ribbons & Roses and found that, instead of the ribbons and roses with lots of lace and junk, we got a nice, clean, stately room with a brand new bathroom with walk-in shower. Second, let me say that this is a pretty awesome mansion, with quite the portico out front and large, spacious areas inside. None of the rooms were cramped or crowded (a common problem for older B&Bs). Third and finally, unlike many B&Bs that force you to eat breakfast at a specified time with strangers, this one, thankfully, does not. You get your own table, either on the enclosed porch or inside, by the fireplace, and breakfast is served whenever you sit down.


Albemarle Inn - A trip to the past

5 on March 01, 2013

The Décor was like walking back into time. The room was pristine and the common areas were comfortable. We enjoyed our time at the Albemarle and plan to return one day when the gardens are in full bloom. Could not ask for a more welcoming greeting and the service was the best!


Inviting B & B

4.6 on August 03, 2012

Fabrizio, Rosemary and their staff were the perfect hosts, the room very comfortable, food was excellent. We were given lots of information about different places to visit in the area. The house is positioned in a nice residential area with easy access to the town. We would stay there again. Margaret and Barry Lea, United Kingdom


What a place for a reunion

5 on July 14, 2012

My sisters and I had not seen nor been together for 6 years and decided to met at the Albemarle Inn. What a gem. The staff were very attentive, the food was wonderful, the rooms were very well appointed and clean and our over all reunion was teriffic.


What A Stay......

5 on November 14, 2011

Recently My Wife and I booked a night at the Albemarle Inn on our way to the Smokies. We found the House to be so nice till we called another Foursome of family members to join us for the evening at the Albemarle. What a great job of decoratings, we had to visit each of the eleven rooms and found all of them to be outstanding. When our other party members arrived we found them to be just as happy with their rooms as we were with outs. It was a great visit short but really nice, and I can assure you when we travel that way again, we will stay at the Albemarle Inn. Jerry Bass Jacksonville, Fl


Best stay

5 on August 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed there in August 2011. The place is wonderful, looks just like on the pictures. There is enough room to relax on the porch or inside the house. The breakfast outstanding, love the dinning setting. The bed was very comfortable. We just had a great time!


Our fantastic visit!!!

5 on May 10, 2011

We spent 2 nights of our honeymoon at Albemarle Inn. The atmosphere, amenities, food, service and hospitality was marvelous. We will be returning!!! Ben and Barb Watson, Charleston and Daniels, WV


Birthday Get-a-way from our Son, Brandon

5 on February 09, 2011

Our son gave us a get-a-way weekend for my birthday-Jan 6-9, 2011. We had the Inn to ourselves Thurs and Fri nights - other guest arrived on Sat. Sabrina and Tracy were fabulous and made us feel right at home. Great conversations at breakfast, too. The food each morning was fantiastic and the service was simply devine. The evening receptions were wonderful - when Sabrina prepared them just for us HA!. Then Sat eveing when others checked in - the cheese, crackers, fruit and wine was so enjoyable. Jim loved the hot spice drink, too. We had a wonderful weekend at a beautiful Inn - Thanks for making us feel special. Sabrina you were great. Enjoyed meeting the owners and Managers as well. We'll certainly tell our friends about your lovely home. The snow was extra special, too. Of course the snow followed us home that weekend. HAH. Albemarle Inn will always be highly recommended by us. Again, thanks for your southern hospitiality.


Our recent stay at the Albemarle

5 on January 10, 2011

We chose the New Year weekend to visit Asheville and stay at the Albemarle Inn, and it became a home run in every way. The holiday season provided us the opportunity to enjoy in addition to the inn the Biltmore experience. All expectations of inn were exceeded. The owners were gracious hosts, serving breakfast each morning and offering assistance in planning evening dinners and venues. Our room was the perfect getaway; very quiet, plenty of room for sitting and reading, and a large bathroom. Its hard to leave when you feel spoiled with such great care and attention.


Wonderful way to celebrate New Years

4.8 on January 06, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary & New Years at the Albemarle Inn. We were delighted with the warm, freindly and gracious staff at the Inn. We felt like we were at home from the minute we checked in and met the staff. Our Breakfast each morning was delightful and included several courses. An unlimited supply of coffee, teas and soft drinks were available at any time from the guest kitchen. If you want a relaxing, quiet, comfortable B & B, this is it. We will return very soon.


A Must Stay B&B

4.8 on January 03, 2011

Several family members of my husband's family spent the night at Albemarle Inn right after Christmas. It is such a great place to stay for family gatherings. From the wine and snacks at 5 p.m. to the gourmet breakfast the next morning, everything was perfect. There are plenty of places to congregate and play games or just sit and chat. It was a very memorable experience and I hope to go back in the spring when we can take advantage of the glorious front porch! While we didn't get a chance to meet Larry, we met his wife Cathy. She is a very gracious owner and the other Albemarle Inn staff are warm and friendly as well.


The perfect romantic getaway

5 on December 17, 2010

Our second trip to this wonderful in still exceeded our expectations. It was the perfect romantic getaway. From the warm greeting of our Innkeeper Cathy, to the pampering amenities of our gorgeous guest room (complete with canopy bed) to the fabulous breakfast by the fire in the morning. Perfect from start to finish, we will definitely be back.


Fabulous Inn!

4.8 on April 09, 2010

A gorgeous B&B. Wonderful food, lovely rooms, superb staff. We had a very relaxing stay at Albemarle Inn. It was hard to leave!


Our stay at Albemarle Inn

5 on May 26, 2009

When we arrived a little after 5 p.m., there were hors d'oeuvres and wine being served which was perfect after a long day of driving. All were very good. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were able to connect to the internet with no problem. The B&B staff were very hospitable. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious. It exceeded our expectations. We would certainly return to Albemarle if in the area in the future and would highly recommend a stay to anyone visiting the area.


Beautiful House, Beautiful District

3.6 on June 20, 2008

The house, grounds and area are beautiful. there is a sun-porch for breakfast and a beautiful outside lanai for afternoon tea or wine. Appointed with every detail. The Blue Ridge Room is glorious. The bathroom is too "cutsey." Shower needs to be updated - more modern fixtures necessary.


Absolutely Fabulous

4.0 on June 19, 2008

We had a wonderful experience. The rooms were beautiful, everything was extremely clean and the food was delicious. The one thing I would suggest is to have breakfast earlier.


wonderful

5 on June 17, 2008

wonderful accommodations, breakfast,and service in general


Outstanding Service

4.2 on June 11, 2008

The Albemarle Inn was simply breathtaking. It brought us back to the late 1800's with all it's grace and hospitality. The service at the Albemarle was just outstanding and the food was delicious.


Thanks!

5 on June 09, 2008

A beautiful place, elegant room and wonderful service from a friendly, helpful staff. Would highly recommend.


Albemarle Inn.

4.6 on June 09, 2008

We found the Inn to be exceptional. The staff and the owner made suggestions for the additional pleasures for our stay. They really went out of their way. We were very impressed!


A Place to Relax

5 on June 04, 2008

The Albemarle Inn was a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay while visiting the Biltmore.


Albemarle Inn

4.8 on June 04, 2008

Outstanding rooms, service and dining. Very clean rooms.


Met expectations

3.4 on June 02, 2008

met expectations


Albemarle Inn

3.8 on May 22, 2008

Beautiful room, breakfast wsa good though we weren't big fans of the French Toast. No shower pressure but we loved the rest of the house!


Rejuvenation in 2 Days

4.8 on May 19, 2008

This inn is very comfortable and relaxing...a retreat in the city!!!! The staff were the best we have encountered at any B&B or hotel. They were friendly, attentive without being overbearing and antcipated needs beautifully. The veranda is lovely to sit on in the evening. The afternoon refreshments and morning breakfast were superb...Try the vanilla, berry tea in the afternoon, it is addictive!!! We were only there for 2 days but felt rejuvenated as if we'd been on vacation for a week.


Marvelous May

5 on May 15, 2008

What a way to begin spring and the marvelous month of May! Our "Bartok's Retreat" room was charming. cozy and a perfect way to enjoy the sunshine and the birds of Bartok!


Dreamy

5 on May 08, 2008

Wonderful and relaxing. Welcoming staff. Service was great.


Love the personal attention!

3.8 on January 24, 2008

The highlight of our stay was the before dinner hour complimentary snacks and drinks. It was a great time to relax and make plans for our next day with the staff's great advice.


Wonderful Inn.

5 on December 12, 2007

Beautiful b&b, helpful and friendly staff, comfortable beds, excellent food beautifully served. We highly recommend the Albemarle.


Wonderful

5 on January 07, 2007

This is truly one of the best!!! The room was lovely. The breakfast's were out of this world!!! After having our breakfast the first morning the next morning we were early cause we couldn't wait to see what they were serving us. Service was top notch. If we get back to NC we will go there again for sure.


Albemarle Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $375
  • Reviews (51) 4.6
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8282550027
  • Fax 1-8282363397
  • Toll free 1-8006217435

Visit Website »

View details

Top