1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Experience Victorian Elegance Firsthand

5 on August 12, 2013

If you are looking for Victorian Elegance with modern conveniences, the 1899 Wright Inn is for you. Great innkeepers, great rooms, great atmosphere, spotlessly clean and filled with friendly memories. We will return.


Historic and comfortable

4.6 on June 16, 2013

Bob and Barbara provide a special ambiance to this historic property, by their knowledgeable and friendly manner. We only stayed one night as part of a roadtrip up the Blue Ridge Parkway, and wished we could have stayed longer. Short drive to some very good restaurants downtown. Only downside is the SLOW INTERNET, which could be a problem if you are staying on business. If this can be addressed, we will be back again on another visit


A six night stay in August 2012

5 on October 21, 2012

Our stay at the Wrght Inn was a wonderful experience: the house and rooms are beautifully kept and decorated, the inn keeper was very helpful and pleasant, and every breakfast was different, delicious, and beautifully served. When the owners requested us to move to a different room due to a minor problem in our original room that needed fixing, they were very helpful and considerate about this request. It did not diminish our enjoynemnt of our stay. We highly recommend the inn, and hope to return at a future date. The Diamonds from Israel


Outstanding Place

5 on October 02, 2012

First time ever staying in a Bed and Breakfast and we are now hooked. The Inn made us feel very welcome and helped us with the information and the area and even made dinner reservations for us. They have great food and the house is very quiet at night. They even made breakfast earlier for us so that we could get to our attraction early and always had a special table for just our party since we wanted to be alone. GREAT PLACE will come again


Historical Jewel

5 on June 18, 2012

This inn is probably the friendliest, warm and most welcoming inn we have ever stayed at. The innkeepers, Barbara and Bob have definately found their lifes calling.


Exceptional in every way!!!

5 on January 24, 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights at the delightful 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House. With so many inns in Ashville, we are glad we chose this one! Its gorgeous- the architecture and decor are elegant and historic. Innkeepers Barbara and Bob were charming and knowledgeable, as were their exceptional staff. They made us feel most welcome but gave plenty of space. We stayed in the Griffin room which was comfortable, spacious and impeccably furnished, from the beautiful antiques, down to small table top mirror (which had at least a 10x magnification of one side- greatly appreciated by anyone in reading glasses!). Breakfast both days was spectacular (such as baked apple French toast!) and we were treated to wine and appetizers at social hour from 4- 5. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, even in the winter. We look forward to returning in warmer weather so we can sip wine on the porch!


Asheville Haven

4.0 on June 30, 2011

A beautiful B&B nestled in the Historic Montford District. The inn is beautiful and the Powell Suite was amazing. Love the antiques! Enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the morning and checking my email as I had a cup of tea before a good breakfast. The gardens surrounding were beautiful with spring blooms. We were headed for Biltmore for the day and the innkeeper gave us a shortcut which lead us right there. A great value and enjoyed my too short visit Would love to go back and spend more time.


Outstanding!

5 on January 04, 2010

We visited Asheville for three nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of Wright Inn. We've stayed in dozens of B&B's during our travels, and Wright Inn is one of the best. Barbara and Bob are excellent hosts, the Inn is very well kept, and the service and breakfasts are great. Highly recommended.


The Wright Inn- a wonderful place to stay!

5 on December 09, 2009

My family and I truly enjoyed staying at the Wright Inn for a weekend in December! The home is lovely; the innkeepers are very friendly and helpful; and the breakfast is amazing! We will stay there again on future trips to Asheville!


The Right Inn

5 on November 02, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in late October 2009. This is "The Right Inn." The best service, staff, rooms are gorgeous and a gorgeous property. Barbara and Bob are your innkeepers, they are the best. Steven from Lake Worth, Florida


Can't wait to get back there again!!

5 on November 02, 2009

We continue to return to the Wright Inn over and over again...it is the perfect weekend getaway! The breakfast is exquisite and the rooms are romantic with the high-quality antiques that pepper the house over. The owners are wonderfully personable and very hospital. We can't wait to return again!


Unique and Historic Inn

3.6 on October 15, 2009

The room was comfort and authentic to the victorian period. The Innkeepers were very helpfull in planning for things to do on a rainy day and recommending restaurants. This is a unique area of Asheville.


Oct Weekend at the 1899 Wright House

5 on October 05, 2009

The 1899 Wright House is a wonderful place to stay. Located in Ashevilles' historical district, the house retains all of its orginal details showing off the craftsmanship of the house. The rooms are well appointed and bed was so comfortable that if it wasn't for the terrific breakfast provide by the Inns Manager, Ms. Shirley, we probably would have slept the day away. Her dining recomendations and places to see were spot on and help create a very restful and relaxing weekend. We will return.


Pretty good.

3.4 on September 09, 2009

Barbara and Bob were very helpful in providing friendliness and helpfulness to guests at the Wright Inn. Their recommendations were much appreciated. The inn was a nice B&B, although a couple things could have been improved upon... The bathroom was not daily cleaned. Although I do not expect it to be cleaned from top to bottom on a daily basis, it was noticed a quick clean of the sink and toilet was not performed. Our night light was burned out, so we left it disassembled on the vanity shelf. Unfortunately this also went unnoticed by the cleaning person. This is a very small item, but a reflection of detail. Our biggest disappointment was with the quality of the mattress. We slept on the outside edges of the bed to avoid sinking into the center. This was uncomfortable and unfortunate. We had to leave before breakfast the last day of our stay. We were offered a 'to go cup' if we so wished. Suggestion: Instead of a cup of coffee for the road, it would have been nice to take the same go cup and fill it with fresh fruit for the road and perhaps a muffin or piece of fruit bread. This would have been an appreciated touch~.


Asheville is Stunning!

3.2 on August 15, 2009

My husband and I have enjoyed a nearly annual trip to Asheville to visit friends and the Biltmore Estate, and especially enjoy the Montford B&B's. The Wright Inn is beautiful, breakfast was fantastic, but we were slightly put off by the less than clean bed coverings and evidence of previous guests in the bathroom.

Innkeeper Response
We are very concerned by this review. With our system of checks and rechecks--could it be possible that you checked into a room where the room and bathroom were not cleaned upon the departure of the previous guest--NO. Our repeated attainment of a score of 100% on our Health Department Inspections verifies our obsession with cleanliness. What is more likely to have occurred is that a guest from another room used your room / bathroom in addition to or instead of their own, prior to your arrival. Unfortunately we have known guests to have done this in the past, and this is very difficult to control. If you felt there was a problem, it could have been easily rectified had something been mentioned to us when you felt the problem occurred. Waiting two months and then "Airing the dirty linens" in an electronic / public forum, does not give anyone the opportunity to address and / or correct anything. This is not really fair to us. Be that as it may, we are very sorry that you departed from The Wright Inn with anything but wonderful memories. Hopefully, you will return and we will do our best to make sure your satisfaction is complete.


Wonderful anniversary

5 on July 06, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Wright Inn to celebrate our fifth anniversary, and we were thrilled with the house, the service, the food, and the location. Shirley, Bob, and Barbara all helped us find things to do and great places to eat, too. We'd recommend this inn to the most discriminating guest.


Wisconsin visitors

4.8 on July 27, 2008

Highly recommended. Breakfasts were delightful and hosts were extremely helpful. A nice relaxed setting in a tastefully restored home.


Beautiful place to stay! Lovely.

4.6 on December 23, 2007

A wonderful place to stay. I felt special even to be in the house. The inn keepers are also very friendly and helpful. Asheville is so much fun.


The prettiest inn in Asheville

3.6 on April 18, 2007

This is a beautiful inn, well located and wonderfully restored. The room we stayed in was outstanding, though the mattress was uncomfortable -- another couple might not think so. Hosts are personable and helpful.


1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8282510789
  • Fax 1-8282510929
  • Toll free 1-8005525724

Visit Website »

View details

Top