Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in North Berwick, Maine

Victorian treasure at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on May 05, 2013

Sally cooked up a gourmet breakfast for us after our very restful night's sleep in a comfortable bed. The house is a wonderful restoration of a true mansion. Even though it was a cool night, we were toasty warm. The location is not particularly scenic, but the house more than makes up for it. It is an easy drive to the Maine coast and the shopping districts of ME and NH.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B and B at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 24, 2012

Don't miss an opportunity to stay at this B and B. It is a beautiful, historic home with wonderful hosts. I can't recommend it enough.

View more reviews for this inn


An absolute treasure at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2012

My husband and stayed here for 2 nights, along with 2 of our friends. Not only is it beautiful, Sally and Ben, the innkeepers, were absolutely wonderful. The rooms are amazing and the breakfast was fantastic. But some of the best times were spent sitting on the front porch visiting with Ben & Sally and the other guests. We missed eating dinner one night because we were having so much fun! I would give The Angel of the Berwicks 5 stars!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2012

Living about ½ hour from the Angel, I was skeptical when my wife surprised me with a midwinter stay at the B&B. Well let me say my skepticism was all for not. Ben and Sally present this beautiful property wonderfully and let me tell you, this is a special place. We were the only guests for the night, being off season, but were never made to feel anything but welcome. We stayed in the Niagara Falls room which faces east. As the sun rose, the room filled with marvelous light accenting the well situated period furnishings. We spent time in the common rooms, played the grand piano (just a little bit) and had a fantastic, gluten free breakfast prepared by Sally. We plan on staying again in the near future and bringing some other family members along to share this gem located in North Berwick. Jim and Mary Lou, Rochester, NH

View more reviews for this inn


"Somewhere in time" at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on September 09, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our first trip to New England and we were so impressed that we will always come here when traveling to the North Berwick/Ogunquit area. Ben and Sally were so wonderful and gave us the whole story about the place and even shared some little secrets about the place. We would recommend "Angel of the Berwicks" always. Sonny & Sandy Murphy Shelbyville, KY

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding!! at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Doughty Falls room for one night in August 2011. We were astounded by the beauty of the Inn. This house is a delight for those who appreciate architectural detail! The room we chose was the smallest at the inn but was in no way small. It was tastefully decorated, included a walk-in closet, a ceiling fan, a much-appreciated window a/c unit, wireless internet, a very comfortable bed, and bath robes as a finishing touch. Everything was very clean and comfortable, and the owners could not have shown more hospitality. The bathroom was updated, very clean, and attractive. I will admit I was a bit disconcerted that the bathroom was across the hall from our room rather than anjoining it. This may be a common situation at B&B's but it was unusual for us as we typically stay in hotels. I should add that it was our own bath, not shared, and it really wasn't a huge problem - just an oddity to us. I could write an entire review on the breakfast alone, but suffice it to say the food was exquisite and the service beatifully executed. I wish our stay had been longer and would never hesitate to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic winter getaway at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2010

Absolutely one of the best B & B's we've ever visited. From the time we arrived until the minute we left, we were pleased with attention to every detail. This beautiful victorian lady was decorated for Christmas. Fresh evergreen trees kissed the high ceilings and a nutcracker collection graced the beautiful marble mantle. The room was huge, the bed comfy as can be made up with crisp, clean linens. The entire inn was immaculate, plenty of rooms to relax, a living room, library and den with tv in addition to a lovely dining room. Breakfast was delicious, a fresh poached pear in a creme brulee sauce and baked eggs florentine. Fresh coffee and a warm muffin completed the meal. Sally and Ben spent ample time making us dinner reservations and telling us the history of this fascinating mansion. We can't wait to go back, close to shopping, restaurants and beaches but off the beaten path, so quiet and relaxing. Laurie and Butch Marino

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Throughout at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2009

Beautiful house in as original a condition as code will allow. Period furniture. The hosts are gracious and knowledgeable as to the history of the house and the surrounding area. We will definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


A terrific mid-trip retreat going to Acadia, Maine at Angel of the Berwicks (North Berwick, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2009

Our family of four from New York City planned a nature get-away - visiting Acadia National Park, Maine. But, we wanted to find a well-placed half-way rest stop given the length of the drive. We found it, plus a lot more, at Angel of the Berwicks. After a 5-Hr drive from New York City, we settled in for a few days and sampled the local fare and activities. The Angel's proximity to Ogunquit while being more secluded from the tourist traffic, was an extra plus. The B&B was welcoming, comfortable, roomy and beautifully decorated. We especially liked the warmth of the owners, Ben and Sally Gumm, who shared lots of information about the local area as well as lodging choices in the Acadia area, including Bar Harbor. We were surprised to also learn the rich history of the B&B itself, being the former mansion of a local mill heiress. While at the Angel, we enjoyed hiking the nearby Nature Conservancy's trails as well as the Marginal Way in Ogunquit, where we also played miniature golf and shoped a bit. The evenings were a treat that included a dinner with lobster and steamers - the local specialty. On recommendation, we visited Old Orchard Beach, an hour drive or so up the coast towards Portland. Had a terrific day of beach time, live music, a classic old amusement park, and some surprisingly warm ocean fun with the kids. Acadia exceeded our expectations. We explored the park’s many beautiful vistas and experienced blueberry picking out of this world. As our trip came to a close, we knew we wanted a laid-back and pleasant return to New York, so we stopped for another short stay at the Angel. And now, we're planning a trip to go cross-country skiing in Maine, including Acadia National Park, and plan to use the Angel of the Berwicks as our vacation base once again. Paul & Marcia, New York City

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Angel of the Berwicks (4.93)
Top
}