Inn of the Turquoise Bear Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
45 Reviews

Write A Review

Nice stay in Santa Fe

3.6 on September 15, 2014

Inn of the Turquoise Bear is a very impressive property with gracious hosts. Breakfast was tastey and varied with beverages and light snacks available most hours. The room my wife and I shared was small with no a/c. A fan was provided and windows could be opened making the room comfortable. Not sure what you do when you need heat in the room. The building is 150-years old so allowances must be made. Overall not a bad stay but don't think I'd go back, though many guests do return as we met several returning customers during our stay.

Innkeeper Response
Susan, thank you for the kind review! It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband during your brief stay in Santa Fe. We regret you don’t think you’ll return. As you noted, we have many return guests and we love getting to know them better and better with each stay. The Willa Cather room is our smallest and most economical room and regret you were disappointed by booking from a 3rd party web-site. We always suggest guests contact us directly to answer any questions they have about the rooms they’re considering. We’re glad you found the room comfortable. Of course our rooms have heat. As you mentioned, 150 year old adobes don’t have air-conditioning but of course have heating. Heating and air-conditioning are rarely served by the same system in older buildings. We know that B&Bs are not perfect for everyone, but invite you to contact me to try a room more suitable to your preferences should you decide to return to Santa Fe. Happy Travels.


Best thoughts about our stay at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear

4.8 on May 04, 2012

Beautiful, old, adobe buildings allowing you to be immersed in the histroy of Santa Fe. The Inn keeper was friendly and helpful, and could fix a breakfast that made you anxious to wake up in the mornings. John, who works at the Inn, has a relaxed comfortable personality, and is just fun to talk to. The wine hour makes you feel at home. It was a wonderful experience. Also the Inn is an ideal distance from Old Santa Fe. Ron and Marg Price, Manheim, Pa


A fantastic and centrally located Bed and Breakfast in Santa Fe

5 on March 06, 2012

The Turquoise Bear Inn is Robert's and Ralph's labor of love, and it showed in all aspects of our stay. They are some of the most generous and hospitable people I have met in a very long time. The room was clean and comfortable. The sumptuous food was some of the best I’ve encountered in any hotel or B&B. The entire staff was friendly and polite. My husband and I are sure return and we confidently recommend this B&B to everyone. It's so convenient, authentic, comfortable, cozy, welcoming and delicious, I can't wait to go back. Mina Kinsey


Great stay, great doggies, and good breakfast too!

5 on September 29, 2011

Another great stay in Santa Fe. I almost always stay here when visiting Santa Fe, and it is always wonderful. The doggies are so much fun, Colt & Cody, helps me keep the girlfriend from getting a dog of her own. The breakfast is great . . . the times we've actually woken up early enough to get it (and they do keep it going for a while, I think until 9 or 9:30), but we sometimes don't make it out of the room until after 10:00. Mostly because the rooms are quite and comfortable. This place is walking distance to downtown Santa Fe, which is awesome since we like trying out different restaurants downtown. And one of the best restaurants is one of the closest ones, near the capitol building. Every room is different, so your experience might vary as you stay in different rooms. But I've stayed in at least 4 different rooms, and they are all great. The place has free WI-FI, which is transmitted from the main living room/dining room/office, so if your room is close, you'll get great signal. If your room is farther away, you might get a weaker signal. But you can bring your laptop into the living room and lounge using the internet there. It is very comfortable. If you are visiting on business, or need internet, something to keep in mind and ask the reservation person when you call; for one of the rooms that gets stronger wi-fi signal.


Best B&B stay ever!

5 on November 14, 2010

Stayed for Veterans day. Owner gave free stay to veterans. The man is the most generous and hospitable person I have met in a very long time. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was some of the best found in any 5 star hotel or B&B we have ever had. The entire staff was friendly and polite. I will return and recommend this B&B to everyone I know.


Thelma and Lousie's stay in Santa Fe

4.8 on August 25, 2010

My sister and I had a delightful experience at your lovely inn. From the time we were checked in by Michael who gave us a little history of the historic inn to next, meeting other charming guests and our host Ralph (Robert had to go out of town) to a entertaining wine and cheese social, and finally the huge breakfast of our choice the following morning. Everything was marvelous. The landscapers even helped us with our luggage to our car!!! We will be back and tell our friends in Colorado and New Jersey!!!!


Southern hospitality in Santa Fe...

5 on August 07, 2010

should not really be a surprise since innkeeper Robert is from Alabama; the blue bear, from my room, common room, breakfast (incredible), wine and cheese, all of the other inn and guest "keepers", the critters, and the gardens are all there waiting to be thoroghly enjoyed. This place and the people can keep me any time! s, atlanta


Hated to leave!

4.6 on July 20, 2010

My friend and I absolutely ADORED The Inn of the Turquoise Bear...I'd never stayed in a bed and breakfast before and it was just wonderful. I loved the people there, so helpful and personable, the food was stupendous and the Wind and Cheese Social hour was SO FUN! Such an eclectic group of people that fast became friends. I cannot wait to go back...


Outstanding in Every Way

5 on July 08, 2010

Forget those overpriced five-star hotels off the Plaza. Been there, done that. From now on this, Robert's and Ralph's labor of love, will be my go-to home away from home in Santa Fe. It's so convenient, authentic, comfortable, cozy, welcoming and delicious, I can't wait to go back. In April, I read by "my" fireplace every evening and drifted off to sleep in the comfort of a great bed. As others have mentioned, the afternoon wine and cheese hour's a blast; lots of laughter and trading of travel stories -- and opinions. Don't miss it or the Inn of the Turquiose Bear.


Smooches and Pooches weekend

5 on April 05, 2010

The charm, the food, the service was better than any major hotel chain I have ever stayed. We were celebrating our 19th anniversary and wanted to take our dogs with us as we toured Santa Fe. Who knew Santa Fe was very dog-friendly! This place was amazing. This was no victorian B & B. Close to the central plaza and everywhere we wanted to go we walked. The staff, the old-world charm, the breakfasts and the wine/cheese get togethers every evening allowed us to enjoy the privacy of the rooms and still mingle with the other guests. The food was so good everyone took advantage. What a lovely time...we will definitely be back!!!


Inn of the Turquoise Bear Review, March 2, 2010

4.8 on March 02, 2010

This is an outstanding b & b, in terms of location, ambience, history, food and especially hospitality. We felt truly at home, our favourite part of the day being the wine and cheese hour when we could sit and unwind and just visit. My next trip to Santa Fe will definitely include this gem of an inn! Thanks Robert!! Doug and Karen, Canada


December 2009

5 on January 16, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The weather was freezing, but the innkeepers are warm and friendly. We felt a sense of community with our "innmates", and enjoyed chatting and sharing our day with them at wine and cheese hour. This is a great place to stay if you want to connect with some of your fellow travelers.


Truly wonderful experience!

4.8 on December 19, 2009

Beautiful rooms, a terrific main area and really, really great breakfast. We all felt this was one of the best B&B's we've been to and that the owners really went out of their way to make it a great experience. Highly recommended!


Truly Memorable!

4.6 on November 05, 2009

What a charming place to stay! Really enjoyed the intimacy of the Inn. Fantastic experiences connecting with all the guests at the Wine & Cheese hours. Breakfast was always top notch. Stayed in a room with a shared bathroom and never shared. Bathroom was huge and clean. Fireplace in the room rocked! Burt & Scott, Madison, WI


Stay Here!

5 on October 16, 2009

We stayed here in mid September. From the moment we drove into the parking lot, I fell in love. They really take good care of you. Friendly, caring, thoughful and fantastic people. Perfectly located. I will recommend to everyone! Thank you for a wonderful time.


Enchanted Stay

4.0 on October 10, 2009

You’ll be convinced that New Mexico is the “Land of Enchantment”, when you visit Santa Fe and stay at the historic Inn of the Turquoise Bear. Innkeepers Robert Frost and Ralph Bolton will greet you with such warmth and hospitality you’ll feel you’re distant family members. Their generous hospitality is further enhanced each evening with a complimentary wine and cheese hour for Inn guests. Every room has its unique history related to the fascinating evolution of the Inn and its famous owners and guests. No matter which room you stay in, or comfortable bed you sleep in, the ambience of your accommodation is appointed with southwestern furnishings, and is always given housekeeping’s impeccable attention. We return year after year anxious to absorb the allure of Santa Fe, but it wouldn’t be the same without the authentic environment of The Inn of the Turquoise Bear. Sherry and Jim, Snowmass Village, Colorado


Finest B&B in Santa Fe

4.8 on September 21, 2009

In over 25 years of visiting Santa Fe and staying at many different hotels and B&Bs, the Turquoise Bear provided the best experience. The hosts, historic structure, accommodations, gardens, breakfast and wine/cheese hours and other guests, and the location (plenty of free parking at the inn, which is an easy 15 minute walk to the square) combined to make our four night stay superb. The three resident dogs with fine manners (willing to accept petting or to be left alone, as the guest prefers) enhanced the experience.


Wonderful Days in Santa Fe

4.0 on August 25, 2009

This is the fifth year we've stayed at the Inn for the Santa Fe Indian Market. The city is wonderfully busy, and I'm so glad I can park the car in the security of the private parking lot and walk easily to the square for sightseeing and shopping. The innkeepers are both very knowledgeable about where to eat, how to get around town, and where to find interesting sights not known to visitors. We've enjoyed different restaurants with each visit, inexpensive and delicious alternatives, as well as dining experiences fit for Royalty. The evening hour with the hosts is delightful, and we've met many wonderful people from around the globe to dine with, and continue friendships with after returning home. Bring an address book to list new friends from around the world. We will definitely keep coming back and are seriously considering Christmas in Santa Fe, we're bringing the snowboards and skis.


Wow the people are as nice as the place

4.4 on August 25, 2009

We did not stay, but dropped by to check them out during their wine and cheese one evening. We will be back for a stay!


Where Strangers are Friends

5 on August 15, 2009

The Inn of the Turquoise Bear an old home, as many bed and breakfasts are, converted into a comfortable inn. As with many old buildings this place has its quirky peculiarities, but they make this place far more interesting than the manufactured antique hotels that many travelers find in Santa Fe. It has beautiful grounds with seasonal flowering plants with nooks and shady spots. The inn is located only a couple easily walked blocks from the Santa Fe galleries, museums and restaurants, but it is outside of the congested tourist hubbub. The people who have found this inn tend to keep coming back and any time that you visit, there is a feel of meeting other members of a large family. The breakfast which is served at this inn includes homemade breads, fruits, dry cereals yogurts. You can also mark the menu which is left in your room daily by housekeeping to order the hot items that you may want the following morning. These hot items are prepared for you after you arrive at the dining room at a time that you decide for yourself (within limits, of course). Breakfast is a good place to get some information and advice on where to shop, travel or get a good massage from the other guests. There is an evening social hour (wine or soft drink and cheese) where you may get advice on your travels the following day or give your impressions to your fellow guests of your adventures of the day. The conversations with the other guests are what drew me to return to this inn several times a year for over a decade.


I'll be back!

4.8 on August 09, 2009

The Inn of the Turquoise Bear has charm, history, and wonderful interior and architectural design. The gardens are exquisite and very peaceful. Breakfast was a pleasure with a window of two hours to join the meal. Wine tasting before evening events was a delight. Robert and Ralph, owners/innkeepers would chat with us, share their stories, and make us feel like it was our home. They have created a warm, friendly environment. I plan to return!


We'll be Back

4.6 on August 09, 2009

This is my second visit to the inn and it won't be my last. The owners continue to raise the bar. If you want to stay in a place that welcomes everyone, where you can meet other guests, this is it. The recently added hot cooked to order breakfast is first rate.


Heavenly Haven

4.2 on August 08, 2009

This charming and historical B&B keeps us coming back - year after year. We've been at various times during the summer months for opera and are planning a winter visit next; Santa Fe has it all and this Inn is in the right place to 'be where it's at' or step away, if that's what you want. An experience of genuine hospitality in the best sense; don't miss it!


The Best

5 on August 05, 2009

Historic Adobe Inn right on Highway 66 within walking distance of Santa Fe. Fantastic breakfaces and wine and cheese in the afternoon. Ambiance is a delight that is filled with the history and culture of Santa Fe. This is an artistic experience! Robert Frost takes care of every need, even being a primary witness for a wedding ceremony that was spontaniously scheduled for two wonderful guests. There is no better experience in Santa Fe.


Serendipity

4.6 on July 06, 2009

Outstanding service; very lovely garden. Location very convenient to Plaza; easy 6 block walk. We ended up here by accident, and were so lucky to do so. Am trying not to be excessive, but really could be 5 STARS in all categories.


The enjoyable experience at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear

3.6 on June 21, 2009

The accommodations were very nice and convenient for walking to many places. The staff were fun, nice and helpful. We definitely plan to go again and would gladly give a wonderful recommendation!


The Bear is the Best by far!!

5 on March 10, 2009

We stayed at the Turquoise Bear for the first time about six years ago and have returned many times since. It is one of our favorite inns anywhere and has become a home away from home. The hosts have beautifully restored and decorated a historic Santa Fe home. It offers the essence of Santa Fe in the best sense. Beautiful, great service, cleanliness, etc, and rich with the charm of a legendary home that has hosted many prominent figures for nearly a hundred years. A nightly happy hour is as convivial as any private party of good friends -- and the hosts and other guests do become friends, with the feel of family. Santa Fe is full of great breakfast cafes but the food and company at the Bear is so good that you really want to dine in each morning. This is NOT hyperbole -- the Inn of the Turquoise Bear is a very special place and one you don't want to miss. The location couldn't be better for visiting the sites, cafes, etc, and your stay will add a fine dimension to your time in Santa Fe. Many thumbs up!!!


WONDERFUL & AMAZING

5 on December 07, 2008

Amazing and Wonderful . My large family and I stayed there over Thanksgiving and could not have asked for a better place to spend the Holiday. The Inn is so beautiful inside and out, are room was so spacious and just perfect. We enjoyed the location it only took us about 5 min walking to get to downtown plaza area. Breakfast was made every morning and every morning we were greeted by the most beautiful looking man working there. I love Santa Fe and plan to be back and every time I come I want my family and I to stay here. Thanks for a great time. Happy Holidays


beautiful and cozy

5 on December 01, 2008

I stayed at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear in November 2008 and had an amazing stay. The property is beautifully kept and so welcoming. The staff was very helpful and charming. I stayed in the Igor Stravinsky room and loved it...beautifully crafted and decorated. The breakfast and the wine and cheese in the evening were lovely and well-hosted by the staff and a great opportunity to converse with other guests. Overall, I had a wonderful stay at the Turquiose Bear and can't wait to return!


Best Bed and Breakfast in Town

5 on December 01, 2008

I stayed with my girlfriend for three nights and it was perfect it exceeded our expectations, and then some. It is perfect location only 4 blocks from downtown and the property is a perfect layout. Our room was so wonderful perfect for a romantic weekend. It came with a fireplace that filled the room with warmth and comfort. Breakfast was freshly prepared every morning and was different and tasted wonderful every morning. The Manager and Owner are wonderful, and made themselves very available to help you with any of our needs. Wine and cheese every night wit most of the guess gathering b the fire o socialize and listen to stories. There is nothing I would change about the Inn, everything was perfect. My girlfriend and I had a beautiful experience and we both would recommend the Inn to anyone, and we will defiantly be back. Thanks for an unbelievable time.


Beautiful B&B in good location

3.4 on November 27, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon visit to Santa Fe and were fortunate to stay at the Turquoise Bear for four relaxing nights. The Georgia O'Keeffe room is light and tastefully decorated, and the bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We thoroughly enjoyed the nightly wine and cheese happy hour and getting to know our fellow travelers. The location, while not in the middle of downtown, was nonetheless a great one for getting just about everywhere by car, and in the summer, it would be an easy walk to the downtown area as well. Be forewarned that there are no hairdryers or irons in the rooms, though I believe you can check out an iron if you need one. Also, the "expanded continental breakfast" can get a bit tedious after a few days, consisting essentially of breads, cereals, and one pre-prepared hot item. If you crave protein before a long day of sightseeing, you might want to occasionally take advantage of one of Santa Fe's amazing restaurants for breakfast. :-) We can't wait to come back to Santa Fe and the Inn of the Turquoise Bear in the summer, though it's hard to imagine that the inn could be any more beautiful than it was in November! Amy & Rodney G., Austin, TX


Disappointing

2.0 on November 23, 2008

My wife and I do a B&B every year for our anniversary. This was the worst thus far. Not well marked, indifferent host, & cold room. Broken glass on the floor in the room, space heaters for heating and although the fire place was great, once the fire went out and the chimney cooled, smoke crept back in the room. The vent connecting our room to the one below (closed on our end) provided toooo much insight to happenings below. Not a pleasant stay, couldn't go to breakfast to look at some couple in the eye knowing what went on.


A warm and welcoming stay

5 on November 17, 2008

My wife and I, along with 3 other couples, spent a long weekend at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear in early Nov 2008 and found the owners and staff to be outstanding. The Inn itself is very interesting and quaint with a wonderful history. We enjoyed our stay very much and expecially enjoyed the conversation at breakfast each morning and the wine and cheese in the cozy lobby each evening! Thanks to Ralph and his staff for a wonderfull long weekend!


Santa Fe Getaway

4.4 on October 05, 2008

The Inn of the Turquoise Bear is an excellent place to stay while in santa Fe. Location is ideal. Far enough removed to provide a quiet and tranquil setting, yet close enough to the plaza for easy access. A quick stroll and you are there! Staff was friendly and always ready to answer any questions about restaurants, sights to see or the house itself! Reading about the history of the place was fascinating! My first trip to santa Fe, but I will return and stay at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear when I do return!


Wonderful Santa Fe B&B!

4.6 on September 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Inn of the Turquiose Bear for only one night, but we definitely plan to return to Santa Fe in the near future so that we can enjoy this wonderful B&B for a few more days! Booking the room was quite easy . . . the Inn maintains an updated web site where you can easily check on the availability of different rooms, as well as the different room rates. You can check out the web site and then contact the property by phone to book the reservation for your desired room. We stayed in the Ansel Adams room, which was a comfortable size and had its own bathroom. The property was very quiet and peaceful at night. Staying at the Inn also helps you "experience" Santa Fe, as it is an historic adobe-style property. The Inn is within walking distance of Santa Fe's Plaza area, which we really liked. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the shops and tourists. It is only a 10-minute walk, so do not be intimidated by this. Parking in Santa Fe can be quite challenging, so it's nice to park your car (for free!) at the property and easily walk into the main part of town. We got to know one of the Inn's owners, Robert, during the evening wine and cheese reception, as well as chat with many of the other guests staying there. There was a great mix of folks staying at the Inn, and many were repeat visitors who (unlike us) were staying at the Inn for several days or up to a week. Other guests provided insights on recommended restaurants - we highly recommend Café Pasqual's for an awesome dinner out. The Inn's breakfast was quite nice as well - plenty of fresh fruit, muffins/bread items, and some hot items. Definitely consider this B&B if you are planning to visit Santa Fe, you will not be disappointed!!!


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on September 14, 2008

We totally enjoyed our stay and will be back again soon. The service was outstanding with friendly hosts. The food was excellent and the wine event each night was a great chance to unwind and chat before dinner. The location was close to the Plaza making for a nice walk.


the best of santa fe

5 on September 02, 2008

Warm atmosphere, great location. It has the unique character of a beautiful rambling villa and serves a delicious breakfast. When i return to Santa Fe, i would not dream of going elsewhere. Rooms are charming, comfortable and homely. It was a true delight to stay. i recommend it to those who like a bohemian vibe.


Inn of the Turquoise Bear is Heaven

5 on August 27, 2008

I've stayed at the Inn for the past several years and have enjoyed every visit. Great Breakfasts in a wonderful room. All the rooms are totally different and pleasant. It's within walking distance of the plaza and Canyon Road. It's also close to Museum Hill. The Inn is steeped in history. I highly recommend the Inn when in Santa Fe.


Great stay, love Santa Fe and the Inn

4.8 on August 12, 2008

We've stayed here a few times over the last 10 years, and it is always a pleasure. Cody and Colt are our favorite. Wine and cheese hour is great. We are making plans to stay there again in the Winter.


Very accomodating...

3.4 on May 12, 2008

Location was good - easy walk to downtown. Service was very good, a full buffet breakfast served elegantly and the room was comfortable. I would book at this inn again.


Spring weekend in Santa Fe

4.4 on May 10, 2008

Went to Santa Fe for my daughter's wedding. The staff was great and very attentative to our needs. I will stay there again if in Santa Fe again.


Great Place to Stay

5 on May 03, 2008

Upon arrival, we received an unexpected upgrade. The happy hour was extended, due to lodgers enjoying each other's company. The service was friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the Inn of the Turquoise Bear!


we'll be back

4.2 on April 01, 2008

I can usually tell we've hit a gold mine when we pay for a nice place to stay for the night, and end up with a beautiful experience that seems to transcend a 24 hour period. This Inn is responsible for my wanting to revisit Sante Fe over and over again. You guys are amazing!


THE reason to stay in Santa Fe

4.8 on January 03, 2008

We originally went to Santa Fe to check out the art scene, but we're going back to stay again at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear! What an experience! The inn keepers are wonderful hosts, taking very personal steps to make guests feel welcome. After a day at Ojo Caliente or Taos, coming back to the inn was like coming home for dinner. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff, beautiful rooms and grounds, and a location near the galleries on Canyon Road should put this b&b on top of anyone's list of must-stay places in Santa Fe.


Old Fashioned Santa Fe

4.0 on September 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Turquoise Inn on two occasions and I managed to get an extra stay there a few years later. Each of these visits involved different rooms and each was splendid and memorable. The restoration of both the external building, and the interior rooms has been carried out flawlessly, creating an atmosphere that is both special yet welcoming and unpretentious. The ambiance is very much traditional Santa Fe, in contrast to the faux Southwest style that characterizes so many new hotels and inns. We were also taken with the warmth and helpfulness of the staff, particularly the two owners, Robert and Ralph. Indeed, we became friends with their two dogs, but keep your eye on the one wearing a bandana … he likes to steal napkins. That brings me to the subject of breakfast with its excellent coffee, range of fresh fruit, fresher home-baked rolls, scones, bread or whatever, depending on Robert’s fancy and time. I like to think that I have a good palate, and I was particularly pleased by the quality of both the wine and that cheese at their daily in-gathering each afternoon. On two occasions I altered my plans in order to be certain I could attend. The Inn of the Turquoise Bear is not inexpensive, but you get excellent value for your money and the memory will linger long after your stay there.


Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $395
  • Reviews (45) 4.6
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5059830798
  • Fax 1-5059884225
  • Toll free 1-8003964104

Visit Website »

View details

Top