Desert Harbor Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Desert Bliss

5 on October 11, 2014

My sister and I were on a spiritual journey through New Mexico, in 2012, and decided to save Desert Harbor for the end of our travels. It is true that this incredible place is off the beaten path, which makes it so great, but we had no trouble getting there in a Prius. There is such a great feeling of space, and privacy there...and strong energies from the Native Americans who once called that area home. The cottage is amazing! It is so tastefully designed, and so much thought was given to the amenities, and decor. It is beautiful in its simplicity, and extremely serene. There are books and CDs to enjoy if all you want to do is chill indoors for a while. However, the desert is an open playground with nooks and crannies to explore...beautiful sunsets to witness. Wesley and Raymond are the best hosts...old souls in youthful bodies! Each day they delivered breakfast and dinner to the cottage, and we ate on the front porch surrounded by a gorgeous landscape. The food was delicious...fresh...organic. We brought food and snacks to get us through lunchtime. However, I did not think to bring a bottle of wine. They were so gracious and sold me a bottle they happen to have. Just make a point of bringing your own wine if you think you are going to want some. The outdoor shower is so welcomed at the end of the day...great touch! We cannot think of anything negative to say about Desert Harbor...it is an excellent value. If you are a person who doesn't know how to relax, or be away from a television, this is NOT the place for you. Save it for those of us who can appreciate it! Regards, and a belated thank you to Wesley and Raymond, from Sue and Elizabeth.


Nature's Hideaway

4.2 on September 08, 2014

We wanted a special place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary without the expense of going out of town. We booked two nights at Desert Harbor and it was the perfect place to make us feel like we were far away from home (Albuquerque). This was truly a "glamping" experience! The cabin is cozy and clean, decorated with an upscale rustic charm. We wished we had known about the 4 miles of bumpy dirt road because we would have driven our truck instead. The hosts were professional and accommodating. They cooked fantastic-tasting french toast and omelets, as well as BBQ chicken we added on for dinner. If you are looking for some peace and quiet, beautiful scenery, unique amenities, and special treatment we highly recommend Desert Harbor.


Amazing Desert Escape!

5 on May 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night before leaving New Mexico and immediately regretted not having planned more time. The location is as peaceful as you could want, the views are stunning and the casita is beautiful. The attention to every detail, whether in your room or in amenities on the property itself, is incredible. And the meals were excellent - both breakfast and dinner. You have the experience you want to have in a place as beautiful as New Mexico. We were talking about coming back for a longer stay all the way to the airport!


Serene desert getaway

5 on April 06, 2014

We spent one night at the Desert Harbor and enjoyed every minute of it! The hosts Raymond and Wesley were so welcoming and attentive to every aspect of our stay. The guest house was truly marvelous, with a clean and modern architecture yet warmth and comfort, and it offered all the amenities and was very clean. Upon arrival we chilled on the porch and enjoyed the fading daylight before a most delicious candlelight dinner was served in the room. The soak in the wood fired hot tub under the stars was unforgettable, and the beautiful silence of the desert at night was very relaxing. We woke up to a wonderful breakfast served in the room and then took the short hike up the hill to enjoy the serenity of the desert lookout above the property. We really relaxed in this peaceful setting and were able to recharge our batteries. We will definitely be back! Highly recommended!


Loved the stay

4.6 on February 24, 2014

We loved the stay at the Desert Harbor. Breakfast was delicious, service was great. We loved the design of the house and loved staying in a secluded spot. We were able to eat great food, hike/explore the area with no other traffic, enjoy the views, utilize the kitchen and grill, make a fire, soak in the bathtub, sit under the stars, and just relax in a very calm environment. We are excited to come back in the future. Thanks to the owners for finding/creating such a great space.


Bliss under the Stars!

5 on December 08, 2013

The owners Wesley and Raymond are a very "healthy, down to earth" couple who are so unassuming yet so peacefully calming in their presentations when they showed us the house we were to spend 2 nites it. The breakfasts come to your room in such a classy, decadent manner served with sterling silver and organic food that was equisite in display and taste. The little house is absolutely beyond our wildest dreams, perfection on the mood and ambience. The linens are luxury-even the bath towels have tags called "Restorative Hardware" The tub is out of this world for view and relaxation. Candles provided everywhere. We were covered in snow surroundings and the view is God Given for sure.


Calming, peaceful, wonderful honeymoon retreat!

5 on October 31, 2013

We stayed at Desert Harbor recently for two nights as part of our honeymoon trip to New Mexico. What a pleasant surprise. No TVs, no wifi, no connection with the outside world (save for our gracious hosts). We read books, listened to soothing jazz, soaked in the oversized tub, hiked in the backcountry desert right beside the cabin, had deep-tissue massages, walked the meditation labyrinth, and simply enjoyed our time together in the moment with pure mindfulness. The hosts are amazing -- we opted to have breakfasts and dinners provided, and every meal we ate was incredible. Local, seasonal ingredients bursting with flavor. All in all, a truly wonderful experience. We will definitely come back to Desert Harbor for a future anniversary when we need a break from the hassle and stress of the world around us, as this place truly is a harbor in the desert. Thank you Raymond and Wesley!!


Honeymoon Heaven

5 on September 13, 2013

We came to Desert Harbor on our honeymoon and it was amazing. After all the energy and excitement of our wedding, this was the perfect place to relax, unwind and connect with nature and each other - it was lovely. The cottage was beautifully designed with natural elements and soothing colours, creating the perfect space to relax and restore. The surrounding landscape is gorgeous, perfect for hiking, sunsets and stargazing. The food was lovely and nourishing - we had one of our dinners at the lookout, which was incredibly romantic. We highly recommend Desert Harbor and we are looking forward to our next trip there!


Exceptional accommodation, service, peace, quiet.

5 on September 03, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Desert Harbor and thought the world of it - a stylish and comfortable cottage in the high desert, unlike anywhere else I've visited. (I'm from Scotland; we don't get much in the way of desert...) Wonderful landscape and hospitality and food- the breakfast scones and biscuits were delicious, as was the evening meal of thai sweet potato curry. Silence, privacy, peace, quiet, and excellent facilities. I can't think of anywhere better to relax, unwind, and enjoy a beautiful part of the US. I'll definitely be back.


Haven in the High Desert

5 on March 17, 2013

I have only the highest praise for the accommodations and hospitality offered at Desert Harbor. It is an exceptional place, and so too the people who run it - their attention to detail is remarkable. The desert setting was exquisite, but I was not prepared for the quiet elegance of the casita. Raymond and Wesley have created a profoundly beautiful space - a place that feels like a sanctuary in its peacefulness and soft and spacious elegance. I spent three nights there is quiet bliss. And have I mentioned the food or the well-placed structure on the mountain top, complete with a hammock, overlooking a beautiful valley? The food was incredible; again, the presentation was simple yet elegant, and the food healthy and delicious. I highly recommend the Asian salmon noodle dish. The hammock, well let's just say it's about as close to heaven as one can get. There is a lot of nurturing that happens at this haven/harbor in the desert. I left Desert Harbor much richer for the experience. Thank you both for what you have created; it is truly a gift to the world.


Perfect place for relaxation, solitude or romance

5 on February 13, 2013

I stayed here with my husband a few weekends ago. The guesthouse is beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The scenery is lovely. If you like being able to enjoy wide open space in privacy, this place is perfect. I highly recommend paying extra for the Anniversary Celebration, which includes dinner. The food (both dinner and breakfast) was excellent during our stay - delicious and well presented. And we enjoyed the private campfire with cookies. Hoping to get another visit in when the weather warms up. The owners were helpful and unobtrusive.


Peace and beauty

4.8 on October 30, 2012

Desert Harbor is the perfect combination of naturally beautiful setting, gracious hospitality, delicious food, and luscious accommodations. The result is a serene stay that you won't want to end.


Highly Recommended

5 on October 15, 2012

We only had time to stay for one night at Desert Harbor but loved our time there. The cottage is beautiful and relaxing with so many fantastic details. The views from the cottage are spectacular. The peacefulness and beauty of the landscape are immeasurable. On top of the fantastic views and lovely cottage, the service was great. Our breakfast was delectable. Raymond was very friendly and open to answering all of our questions regarding our stay in New Mexico. We highly recommend Desert Harbor and hope to stay longer when we return.


Perfect Healing Getaway

5 on September 17, 2012

I was looking for some relaxation, quiet, and a change of scenery and Desert Harbor exceeded my expectations in every way. The drive there whets your appetite with the remote and beautiful desert scenery on Historic Route 66. The first look of the exterior and interior of the grounds and casita are breathtaking. Every little touch is at the same time on purpose and yet so seamless. The reading nook, the amazingly comfortable bed, the artfully mosaic tiled kitchen and bathroom vanity, the soaking tub with candles, the fireplace, the simple and desert complimentary decor...and that's just the interior. The crazy clear and brilliant blue skies and natural vegetation do more than impress the exterior view. The organic and personally tailored cuisine is a definite highlight. Raymond and Wesley do everything possible to make your stay the best possible for you in every way. They truly serve you for the duration of your stay. I found everything I needed and so much more at Desert Harbor. I very highly and enthusiastically recommend it.


Desert Paradise

5 on August 22, 2012

April 28, 2012 Dallas, TX We just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weekend at Desert Harbor and it was everything we had hoped for. As soon as you walk in the door you can feel your stress melting away. The decor is simple and elegant, the views out every window breathtaking, and the soaking tub is heavenly (they even provide the candles). Everything you might want is there for you from beautiful coffee table books and board games to comfy robes and hot tea. The breakfasts prepared by Raymond and his wife, Wesley, were delicious and better than any we've had in a long time. We also enjoyed the fire pit nearby and the deck surrounding the cottage. For the most spectacular views, though, your best bet is the viewing deck up a short trail where you can relax in the hammock with a blanket or put your feet up in the comfy armchair made by the owner. Lastly, the hiking is great because you can push yourself if you want to or just stick to the flatter areas, and there is lots of space to cover. The rock formations are unusual and the sandstone is fun to scramble around on. Basically, this is the greatest getaway ever whether you need a break from the stresses of daily life or if you just want to spoil yourself. We'll be back!


Shimmering Silent Seclusion

5 on August 18, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with Desert Harbor. Each day I eagerly watched the light play on rocks and cedars--while hiking over the dry creek beds, swinging in the glorious hammock, or lazily rocking in front of the guest house. My first breakfast was fabulous french toast--generous portions with strawberries and syrup. The second breakfast I chose was the huevos rancheros--made to absolute perfection with spicy salsa, fresh avocado, atop blue tortillas. My third breakfast include selections of green chile biscuits, scramble eggs, and mango. Each day the coffee was superb. The guest house is beautifully appointed, the mattress is very comfortable, and the kitchenette is a delight made of mosaic stone. The outdoor shower is divine--warm or cool as you like it. The grounds are wild yet well kept and cared for. In fact the sense of care pervades every part of Desert Harbor from the hand crafted labyrinth to the marked walking trail. I can't than Raymond and Wesley Jo enough for sharing this beautiful place.


Rustic Luxury

5 on August 02, 2012

Desert Harbor does a magnificent job of blending first-rate hospitality with the stunning yet rustic desert wilderness in which it is situated in a manner that is truly luxurious. The guest cottage is designed in such a way as to maximize one's interaction with nature, while also offering the traveller a space of rest and beauty where everything is crafted with the utmost intentionality. And the food is magnificent - healthy, organic, local, and always delicious, made and served by absolutely delightful hosts. In addition to Albuquerque and Santa Fe, nearby areas of interest include the small town of Madrid (a quaint yet unique restored ghost town which provided the setting for the 2006 movie "Wild Hogs"), the Sandia Ski Area, the Sandia Crest Scenic Byway (a 14-mile jaunt up the east side of the Sandia Mountain range to the Crest that sits at 10,678 ft and overlooks the city of Albuquerque), the Tinkertown Museum (an eccentric and eclectic collection of largely hand-carved folk art, miniatures, and memorabalia), Wildlife West Nature Park (a habitat for nonreleasable animals native to the southwest that is maintained by youth and volunteers), and abundant hiking trails and popular cycling routes.


Hospitality and Beauty to Renew Your Soul

5 on July 31, 2012

We spent a weekend at Desert Harbor retreat because we needed time and space in the midst of major transitions. We fell in love with the space and are already planning our return! The food was delicious, the setting exquisite, and the hospitality was beyond compare. I'm not sure what our favorite place was...the beautiful reading niche in our room, the bathtub with the gorgeous view, or the hammock on the overlook. We left feeling deeply nourished by such gracious hosts and the lovely space. I highly recommend this place!


Peaceful, Relaxing and Awesome

5 on July 17, 2012

The silence is almost unbelievable. The food was gourmet and served with punctuality and friendliness. The hosts, Raymond and Wesley (and little Stella, their three year old daughter) are warm, friendly and very talented and accomplished at what they do. The cottage is just right, that is, not too much and not too little; comfortable and well appointed with just the right decoration. You can sit in peace for hours and never see another soul unless you want to. You can hike the arroyos and canyons. There is even an outdoor (yet private) shower! There is a wonderful spirit that pervades the New Mexico landscape and Desert Harbor captures and enhances that spiritual experience. Highly recommended!


The Desert Respite

5 on July 15, 2012

Desert Harbor truly feels like a home away from home. It's that place you visit when your soul needs to be renewed and your spirit needs to be refreshed. Sweeping mountain vistas broken by juniper trees and desert sage create an atmosphere where one can be immersed in the beauty of nature. When the sun goes down at Desert Harbor, the stars truly do come out and can be enjoyed from the outdoor shower or around a campfire with marshmallows depending on the time of year (I have personally done both). The appeal of Desert Harbor is in the details. From the highest quality linens to the best botanical bath products, Raymond and Wesley Jo pride themselves on providing excellence. Meals are an adventure prepared from scratch with the finest organic ingredients and can be tailored to suit individual tastes such as vegetarian, vegan or that odd aversion to certain foods. If you are one who can only handle seclusion in short increments, Santa Fe and Albuquerque are short jaunts down the road where shopping, culture and entertainment can be found. I highly recommend Desert Harbor as a destination to get away from it all at an incredibly reasonable price.


Refreshingly hidden. Unexpected luxury.

5 on July 15, 2012

A refreshingly hidden gem of a getaway. I've stayed at Desert Harbor multiple times now. Living in NYC, it's exactly what I crave -- a beautifully thoughtful escape surrounded by rugged nature, sans people. This place feeds the soul. Big starry skies; reflective solitude; abundant natural inspirations. What's more, you're far from roughing it. (Honestly, what other place around uses 1,000+ thread count sheets? Has world-inspired architecture? Outdoor shower + candle lit jacuzzi.) Outstanding bill of fare. Little, loving details. Solar-powered energy. Mountain-side hammocks. I will come back again and again.


Outstanding experience!

5 on July 12, 2012

I was looking for rest and renewal and found these along with so much more at Desert Harbor. The Linams are gracious and charming hosts who have created an oasis retreat surrounded by the beautiful sandstone cliffs just east of Sandia Mountain. The little casita that I spent the night in is thoughtful and eligant using the natural surroundings to provide solitude and privacy. I can't wait to take my wife here on a romantic getaway. The Linams also provided a wonderful meal and gave me welcomed insight into my life's current journey. I highly recommend Desert Harbor and the full experience that is available.


So beautiful and peaceful!

4.8 on July 11, 2012

My kids and I stayed here for 5 days last summer. We were greeted with a beautifully clean and updated cabin with a spa tub and plush towels. Our first full day there we woke up early and hiked right outside our door, and my kids (7 and 4yo) were amazed by all the different rocks and plants to explore. We went on a more extensive hike with Ray leading us through the vast desert hills, where we saw lizards, bugs, and beautiful views. Most impressive was the peace. Dinners were served on the main house patio with a tranquil water fountain and amazingly decorated patio. Every detail is considered and taken care of, from the placement of the chairs, to the warmth of the food. I tell everyone I know considering a vacation about Desert Harbor and the wonderful time we had there!


Exemplary High-desert Tranquility

5 on July 11, 2012

Raymond and Wesley of Desert Harbor Retreat have constructed a masterpiece consistent to that which is advertised. Peaceful, relaxing, with acute attention to detail, this one of a kind retreat setting trancends expectations to deliver a intimately memorable experience. The atmosphere, reflective of the proprietors, exude wisdom and maturity in a manner rare to my existence. I cannot enough express my appreciation for and recommendation of this retreat. And don't get me started on the food... heavenly!


desert harbor retreat

4.4 on July 11, 2012

January 28, 2012 Albuquerque, NM My wife and I left Albuquerque stressed from the week's work, drove up into the East Mountains unsure what we would encounter. Raymond met us at the quiet entrance and showed us up the carefully-lined walkway to the casita---and from the moment we stepped inside our stresses melted away. The casita is simply but tastefully done: The harbor logo (an anchor) hanging on the wall, the high ceilings, the bed and reading nook by a large window opening out to gorgeous views, the extra-deep bathtub, the Bose radio in the corner ready to play music and the magazines on the table waiting to be read. Especially tasteful were the many items that have been hand-made by Raymond himself and his great attention to detail and design of the place added to the rich experience of simply being there. The following morning and at exactly the time we had requested, Raymond and his wife came in to set our table and provide us with a delicious breakfast. They effortlessly accommodated my vegetarian diet and my wife's multiple food allergies. Later, Raymond climbed with us up the ridge behind the casita to show us the area where we could hook up his hammock and sit drinking in the view and listening to the silence. All in all, our stay at Desert Harbor was an over-the-top experience. We were treated to more than we could ever have expected and felt truly cared for. Raymond and Wesley have a wonderful vision of hospitality, and an extraordinary way making our stay an extra-ordinary thing.


I'll come back again......

5 on July 11, 2012

I am especially fond of the cabin and the quietness. It is isolated and there is a freedom to do what I want. Like take an outdoor shower. Not that the deep tub indoors isn't also lovely.....different and each restores my sense of peace. I'm fond of naps on the bed where my hosts have made sure I have the most comfortable pillow ever. The labyrnth is a delight. There are several places on the property to get away and sink into a meditative state. I have never come away from these secluded spots without a sense of inner calm and awe from the beauty of it all. I enjoy the times spent over food with Raymond and Wesley. They are extrordinary in their selection of food and have always sought to meet any dietary needs I may have. Conversation is lively. These are well traveled people with many interesting experiences and interests. While at the same time they are sensitive to my doing as much or as little as I want while I am there. While the landscape changes each time I go (a good thing), I have found my stays there consistently pleasing and above my expectations.


Desert Harbor

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 505.252.0558

Visit Website »

View details

Top