Blue Horse Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Stay

4.8 on December 18, 2013

The B&B was beautiful. Overlooked the North Valley of the Rio Grande & tucked into the Sandia Mountains. Very clean & quiet. Breakfast was great & the Hanson's are very nice hosts. We will be back!


Wonderful facility in a great location

4.6 on December 18, 2013

My wife and I were much more than satisfied with the Blue Horse. Great location in the Sandia Mountains-close to great hikes and sits. Excellent breakfasts. Rooms are beautifully decorated. Inn-keepers great hosts.


Casual Comfort

3.0 on December 11, 2013

Lovely views, yummy breakfast, welcoming hosts. We'll be back!


Ride The Blue Horse

5 on October 21, 2013

Blue Horse was our homebase for three nights leading up to the launch of Balloon Fiesta. Perfect location for day tripping midway between Santa Fe and Albuquerque. Turtle Room was cozy and perfect for our needs. Felt more like a stay at an old friend's home than a B&B. Cathy and Tom are great innkeepers; she wears the pants, he's smarter than he looks. Both shared tips and insights that enhanced our travel. Breakfasts are gourmet. They accommodated our early departure for dawn patrol at Balloon Fiesta with coffee, fresh baked pastries, energy bars and water. Found the wild horses in a neighbor's front yard on a night walk, very cool. Never saw the blue horse but we'll be back for another hunt.


Woderful

5 on October 01, 2013

Our stay at The Blue Horse Bed and Breakfast was outstanding! Our accomodations were comfortable, well decorated and spotless as well. The breakfasts were truly the star. Each morning Cathy and Tom presented incredible gourmet items that lasted us all day long!!! I highly recommend staying at this BnB, out of the way, but worth the drive!


Very enjoyable stay

4.8 on August 20, 2013

Delicious gourmet breakfasts and friendly hosts with lots of tips about sight-seeing and dining opportunities in the area. Great experience!


Wonderful

5 on August 14, 2013

Great place to stay. Enjoyed the location, food and the host Planning to return very soon. A relaxing and enjoyable place to stay.


The Blue Horse of Happiness

5 on July 16, 2013

What a delightful place !!!. Tom & Cathy are excellent hosts, with a passion for cooking and a depth of knowledge of the area, near and far. Our 5 night stay included 5 delicious home-cooked breakfasts, ample little snacks and late night hot cocoa (make it yourself with packets and hot water). We enjoyed stunning views sunrises, misty mountains, rainbows, hummingbirds, horses, thunderstorms and sunsets on the outside porch. We highly recommend this B&B as an oasis to get away from it all.


Outstanding B&B!

5 on July 08, 2013

Our 2 night stay at the Blue Horse B&B was fabulous! The B&B is located just a few miles from Route 25, which is one of the main highways leading to Albuquerque to the South and Santa Fe to the North. The B&B was an attractive, well-maintained place, both inside and out. The views from the house were beautiful, and we were lucky enough to spot a couple of wild horses just outside the house on our second day. We stayed in the Blue Horse Room, which was spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Tom and Cathy were friendly, attentive, and gracious hosts. They greeted us warmly when we arrived and gave us a tour of our room, the common areas, and the outside patio. They were helpful and great resources of ideas and information for exploring the area and provided us with maps of the various local sites and hikes. The breakfasts were delicious---better than any restaurant breakfast we had during our vacation out west. Each meal was prepared and served with care. Also, the dining area housed a buffet table with an assortment of snacks and drinks for off-hour cravings. If we ever travel out that way again, we most certainly would stay at the Blue Horse B&B!


Is ten stars possible?

5 on May 30, 2013

Cathy and Tom and their gorgeous B & B are now at the top of our list for best B & B ever experienced and most wonderful hosts of all time. We stayed for six nights to attend our son's wedding and other festivities in Placitas. If we were simply spending one night, my review would be the same. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated (but not over the top) in the New Mexico / Santa Fe style. The beds are great, the linens and towels high quality, and the overall facility is immaculate. Toiletries are quality and plentiful; every detail and need has been anticipated. The location is off the beaten track but not too remote so access to Albuquerque and Santa Fe is more than reasonable. The overall layout is designed for guests with a spacious common area and huge windows framing incredible views. There is grand and comfy furniture, music, games, books, dining area, snacks, beverages, etc. to keep you happy for days even if you never ventured anywhere else. There are lovely terraces and outdoor eating tables where you can enjoy a beautiful high dessert garden, majestic scenery, wild horses passing through the yard, and amazing night sky. The breakfasts are worthy of a top restaurant rating. We were there for six days. No two breakfasts were alike and each was amazing. They offered generous portions of gourmet entrees that involve significant preparation and expertise. Absolutely scrumptious. Enough variety to suit different tastes. We left with recipes as well as happy stomachs. They offered as much coffee and juice as you could drink. I'm sure they would have fed us seconds and thirds but getting through the "first" was a delightful challenge.As if all of this wasn't enough, the best part was Tom and Cathy. They are the perfect innkeepers. They are intuitive and can sense when you want some space or would enjoy visiting. They cater breakfast to your schedule and are great resources of ideas and advice re exploring the local area. They clearly enjoy all kinds of people and the magic of watching others make new connections as well. That said, if you want space and not a group experience with other guests, that is more than possible and gracefully handled. We provided the ultimate test for innkeepers. As the wedding preparations unfolded, it became clear that we needed a place to transition ten florist buckets stuffed with gorgeous flowers into bouquets, centerpieces, buttonholes, you name it. The job was feeling over-whelming when Cathy offered their dining table and common areas. Given the only guests at the time were our family members, we gratefully accepted. We turned their inn into a florist shop for five hours, and in the process at least 10-12 people (not guests) from both sides of the wedding party invaded the inn and mass produced floral wedding arrangements. Had I owned the property, I would have been alarmed. Tom and Cathy took in stride and delight. And we managed to pull off the task with minimal side effects to the inn. Thank you Tom and Cathy. You feel like family now and we hope that others will enjoy you and your wonderful space.


Beautiful views and quite comfy!

5 on April 15, 2013

Tom & Cathy welcomed us from the moment we came onto their property. They live "on property,"and have done a nice job remodeling the rooms for their guests. Meals were quite tasty and some were family recipes handed down. Both Tom & Cathy KNOW how to cook, so we weren't disappointed. We stayed in the Blue Horse Room which had a nice fireplace and whirlpool tub, as well as a bed with a good mattress. No corners cut here!


Wonderful Experience

5 on April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Horse during our recent honeymoon. The scenery around the B&B was breath taking, and combined with the wild horses, we could not have asked for a prettier location. We stayed in the Blue Horse room, with a king size bed and a jetted tub. We loved it. Breakfast was incredible! Tom and Cathy are very hospitable and made my wife and I feel right at home. Our first day there we had to set out very early, Cathy provided a to-go breakfast of home made muffins, yogurts, fresh fruit and coffee, which we did not expect, but highly appreciated. - The Blue Horse is a short 30 minute drive away from downtown Albuquerque, and situated 10-15 minutes from the highway, however we found it nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of New Mexico. -


Excellent Stay

5 on October 01, 2012

We stayed with Blue Horse for 5 nights. The bed and breakfast is located in a beautiful spot with great views from the picture window and lovely porch. The breakfasts were delicious and Tom and Cathy were very friendly, knowledgeable and generous in recommending site seeing opportunities, restaurants, and golf courses. It is a short drive to Albuquerque and a little longer to Santa Fe. Overall one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in .


Stay at the Blue Hosre B&B

5 on August 10, 2012

The inn was fabulous! Food, view, rooms and, of course, Cathy & Tom, all exceeded expectations! Thank you!


Best First Impression

5 on October 09, 2011

We stayed October 6 through October 8. It was a flawless, cozy experience from start to finish. The rooms are well furnished and the fireplace was a great thing to have on a cool fall night. Breakfast was delicious, and plenty of to-go items were available. The mountain views were astounding. It's away from the hustle and bustle yet strategically located for trips to both Santa Fe and Albuquerque. Great job! Can't say enough about this place.


Blue Horse Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $135
  • Reviews (15) 4.8
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5057719055
  • Toll free 1-8772584677
Top