Inn on Main Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service3.8
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
94 Reviews

Write A Review

Comfortable stay in manasquan

4.0 on December 08, 2014

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the stay. The room is a bit pricey especially for off season,but the room is nicely decorated,clean and the bed is really comfortable.


Nice rooms horrible customer service

2.4 on November 17, 2014

Rooms were nice and clean, the cleaning woman was friendly and helpful. The owner, however, was absolutely terrible and extremely rude. For that reason alone, I'll never return. Also the returant below, Blend, was by far the worst dining exprience I've ever had. Food was not good, very small portions, the servers had no idea what they were doing. Soap dispenser in the bathroom was out of soap, I mentioned it to our server and she informed that it's always broken. Gross!

Innkeeper Response
Reviewer compliments rooms and housekeeping, but we are unsure to respond on rudeness of manager as there is no mention a specific deficiency or a service not provided. Restaurant is not operated by the Inn, but we will share comments with Chef/Owner of Blend, which is very well-known for its quality.


Loved

4.2 on November 13, 2014

Really enjoyed this place. Clean, comfortable beautiful room. Was there overnight for a local wedding. It was quiet, safe and in a great area with surrounding restaurants shops and cafés. They do not serve food at the Inn but it's above a beautiful Bistro. The no front desk or check in was odd at first but was also really nice to not be bothered. We really loved the fireplace and balcony. I would definitely return. The only thing I wish was better was quicker responses to my phone calls and emails.

Innkeeper Response
We have had some phone issues in the last month as we ported our lines to another carrier. We apologize for the the slower than normal response.


Fantastic Little Gem

4.6 on November 10, 2014

We recently stayed at the Inn on Main for a wedding. At first, the completely electronic way to check in and out was a bit interesting, but once we saw how well it worked, we kind of liked how there wasn't really a lobby to walk through. The rooms were clean and cozy. The innkeeper's listing of local restaurants and to dos was very helpful. We had breakfast at two of the local eateries and loved both! The whole town is very casual and comfy, perfect for a quick weekend getaway. We were sad that we were unable to try dinner at the restaurant below since we were in town for a wedding and both evening meals were taken care of by wedding events. We would highly recommend staying at the Inn on Main. This place is great for a romantic getaway at the shore.

Innkeeper Response
We promote a residential-style hotel and are glad you took a liking to it eventually.


Anniversary weekend

3.6 on October 22, 2014

Inn on Main does not provide food but there are great restaurants within walking distance.


Very good hotel but no on side staff

3.4 on October 21, 2014

Very cute high class rooms with cute details right on Main Street. We really enjoyed our stay but there is no front desk, no staff at all which is weird but doesn't effect the rooms.

Innkeeper Response
We are a residential-style hotel and we do not have a front desk which we believe unnecessary in a 12-room Inn. This keeps pricing reasonable which is well-commented on this review site.


Inn Personnel Need To Be Present

2.6 on October 15, 2014

I would stay again at the INN when in Manasquan. Room was very nice. Our only heat was the fireplace. Since no personnel are physically present I had to call their office which I believe is in Cape May NJ to ask the heat be turned on instead of the air conditioning (stay was October 11 and 12). The heat never came on. For the price you pay I would expect to have ample parking but the parking lot is shared with town houses and spaces are limited and first come first serve. Although I found a space, both mornings my car was blocked in by delivery trucks. Since no one is at the hotel, nor the restaurant (10AM), it is very frustrating. Running around for 20 minutes trying to find the driver and getting wet was unacceptable especially since I was on my way to a wedding. I called the Inn and left a message as usual. I received a call back promptly but I was made to feel that I was out of line because this type of a complaint had not happened in the 5 years they have been in business. The person did say they would take it up with someone at the restaurant. Overall the Inn and room was clean and met my expectation..

Innkeeper Response
We apologize to this guest who was inconvenienced by the restaurant delivery truck. We do not operate the restaurant, but investigated the matter with the restaurant owner, the driver and townhouse residents who witnessed reviewer's outburst. The heavy rains aggravated the situation, but rest assured, the Inn could handled the situation more amicably. As explained to the guest, no such thing has happened before and the Inn does not see a recurring problem of blocked vehicles.


Inn on Main

4.0 on October 09, 2014

Enjoyed our visit and will use again in the future. Didn't experience dining at this location.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review.


Always consistently enjoyable.

4.6 on September 30, 2014

Stay here often , always great,so convenient to everything ,most things a nice walk away. Like that the NJ Transit train station is right nearby,you can catch the train up and down the line.

Innkeeper Response
A hidden treasure lies in the little Manasquan train station 1 1/2 blocks from the Inn that shuttles visitors from New York City. We have seen an increase among arriving guests that have left their cars behind to enjoy the walk-around, bike-around nature of Manasquan Main St and its surroundings. Thank you for your feedback.


Good Find

4.0 on September 03, 2014

Recently stayed at the Inn on Main. Bed was extremely comfortable and room was very clean. We also ate downstairs at Blend and it was delicious and the hostess(chefs wife) was very helpful with menu decisions. It's true there is no checking in or out and we did not see any other people there. This was fine with us as we were only there for the night, know our way around and were celebrating our anniversary. I liked the location nears stores, bars and resturants. Breakfast at Max Devro was yummy and has a very interesting menu. Will definitely consider staying here again.

Innkeeper Response
We are proud of our professional operation at the Inn and equally proud of our colleagues at Blend that produce a fine dining experience. Thank you for commenting.


Another Great Stay!

3.8 on September 01, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to IOM for several years and are never disappointed.

Innkeeper Response
As simple as your review sounds, for which we are grateful, it is quite difficult to maintain a consistently superior Inn. Thank you for letting us know we are succeeding in this regard.


Great stay at a great location

3.8 on September 01, 2014

Your Inn could not be more convenient. I was pleased by the beautiful rooms and how spacious they were.


Bed, no breakfast

3.0 on August 31, 2014

How can you call this a B&B when there is no place to get breakfast? So dining is low. I am rating the service low because I never saw anyone. But the room was beautiful and the location was perfect for our needs. It was a little more than we wanted to spend and for the price, not sure it was worth it.

Innkeeper Response
The Inn on Main started as a bed and breakfast in 2004, and hasn't been one since 2007. This is properly explained on our website and the confirmation email. We do not operate the restaurant on our ground floor. Other restaurants, cafes and a diner are within steps of the Inn - all of them of good caliber. Did the reviewer needed something, or just wanted to see "staff" around? Sort of FaceTime? We shouldn't be rated so unfairly. However, we are glad the accommodations were a perfect fit.


Best Place to Stay in Manasquan

4.2 on August 28, 2014

The Inn on Main is a beautiful place to stay in Manasquan. We originally were in room 203 which is very nice, but switched to room 204 which was larger and fit our needs. Although its a bit weird at first that you do not 'check' into the room with anyone, if you have a question or an issue, the staff does call you back within 15 minutes. They could not have been nicer and handled our request to change rooms with grace, speed and could not have been more accomodating. The Inn is within walking distance of everything, including the beach (like 8 city blocks and a lovely walk - I'm from Chicago so this was NOT a big deal. If you don't like to walk, there is plenty of parking on the street near the beach). We stayed on the 2nd floor and I think the room above us had hard wood floors, so you could hear the person above pacing, but it was not unbearable. So if noise is a factor for you, definitely stay on the 3rd floor. The rooms were clean, well decorated and inviting. We will be back!!!

Innkeeper Response
We work hard to deliver a good lodging product, but the niceness of our clientele is so much a factor in our success. Many thanks and we hope to see you again.


Former Shore House-er grows up!

3.8 on August 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay - the room was spotless, and nicely appointed. The balcony overlooking Main Street was a great addition. You get a personalized key code to come & go (very convenient & very high tech!) but you never interact with staff (hence the 3 star service rating - should be N/A. Also did not dine at the restaurant, again 3 stars). Everything in this area is pretty (very) pricey, so this was a lovely surprise - It wasn't lavish, but far exceeded the accommodations at neighboring "hotels." I would stay again in a heartbeat & definitely recommend to friends & family!

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to your return visit.


Another great stay!

4.6 on August 25, 2014

I've stayed at the Inn numerous times (during different times of the year) and plan on going back again! Each room has been so nice and the location is perfect. Although there are not any staff members on site, I have never had a problem. I have recommended this Inn to my family, friends and colleagues. -Dining received only 3 stars as I have not eaten at the restaurant

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your valuable recommendation to your friends and family. The word-of-mouth promotion for the Inn has been astounding.


2014 Stay in Manasquan

4.0 on August 18, 2014

The Inn on Main made our mid-week getaway so enjoyable. I loved the location on Main Street making it convenient to shops and restaurants. Payment up front, and an email communication, allowed a key less entry that worked well. There was always off street parking available. We dined at Blend On Main which was outstanding! I would definitely recommend this Inn and restaurant which is a BYO.


Inn on Main

4.4 on August 11, 2014

The Inn was a great find as the rooms were out of a high end B&B, but right in the center of Manasquan. No comparison to typical shore motels & in season the value was outstanding. There is a very nice restaurant downstairs theat we didn't utilize. Check-in & out was extremely easy.

Innkeeper Response
The efficiencies we have implemented at the Inn contribute to our sensible pricing strategy. Thank you for noticing that given our quality, the Inn is an outstanding value.


Nice location

4.8 on August 09, 2014

The Inn was really nice. I have stayed in a few different rooms and they are all nice. It is great to be so close to many resturants.


Excellent value and location

4.2 on July 27, 2014

Everything is do it yourself but to compensate for the lack of service amenities, the rooms are spacious and clean and the location is perfect. We walked to several eateries and shops each day and were just a short drive from the beach. We will be back.


Great Find in Manasquan

5 on July 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Inn on Main and I must stay I was impressed. The room was immaculate and well decorated. The only drawback was that our room faced the "main street" and we were unable to keep our window/door open because the news from the traffic was extremely loud. My recommendatin would be to request a room that didn't face the main street.

Innkeeper Response
Many guests love the humm and the subdued energy of Main Street which dies down towards 9 pm, many of them leaving their balcony doors open all day long. Please contact us to arrange a quieter rear-side suite. Thank you for liking the Inn otherwise.


Inn at Main

3.6 on July 24, 2014

Room was beautiful. Restaurant affiliated with Inn was terrible and expensive.

Innkeeper Response
We're glad you liked your accommodations. We do not operate the restaurant, but we will share your comments with them.


Personalized Service

4.6 on July 17, 2014

Confusion with rooms and air conditioning was broken first day, but the owner/manager was more than accommodating to make sure our stay was exceptional. The rooms are very clean and staff was wonderful and friendly. Would definitely come again!

Innkeeper Response
Rarely does our Central AC go down like it did during this guest's stay. We maintain our mechanicals in top condition, and we did resolve the issue before the reviewer's departure. We would be remiss not to thank reviewer and her party for their magnanimous cooperation to re-locate while we restore our equipment.


Inn on Main

4.4 on July 12, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Inn on Main. Easy check in. No waiting. You enter with a pin code given at time of reservation. Room was clean and comfortable, with crisp linens. It was quiet and relaxing and the room was tastefully decorated. Walking distance to restaurants and stores. Quick ride to the beach. Would definitely stay again.


Manasquan

4.6 on July 10, 2014

Very nice and quiet bed and breakfast. Rooms weren't ready until almost 4:00pm, but we're very clean and decorated nice. Had a small problem with ants from food left under the bed from prior guest. Would stay there again

Innkeeper Response
Sorry for the delayed check-in. We did correct the minor ant problem as noted.


Excellent stay!

5 on July 04, 2014

Very comfortable! Super clean. A beautiful room with balcony overlooking Main Street. A great value. We will definitely stay here again.


Great stay, great staff

5 on July 03, 2014

We left some valuable items in our room and received a call within an hour of leaving so we could come back for them. Very appreciative! Room was beautiful as well!

Innkeeper Response
Our housekeeping staff are wonderfully pro-active on articles left behind and we make our best attempt to reach customers before they travel away from the area.


An Enjoyable Experience

4.4 on June 30, 2014

The Inn is very lovely. My room, 201, was clean, comfortable and quiet. I gave the Service 3 stars only because, well, there really isn't any service. And I consider this a good thing! All reservations are performed online. There is no one from the hotel on the premises, as far as I can tell. The guest is given a security code to access his/her room and is left alone to come and go as he/she pleases. I like this kind of privacy and trust! Also, I didn't sample the dining in the restaurant on the ground floor so I can't rate it. But the dining room looked very nice and seemed to be very popular. I hope to stay at the Inn on Main again!

Innkeeper Response
We are not a traditional hotel; rather, we operate ias a residential-style hotel. The approach seems to work nicely as we many guests love our check-in method and privacy. Thank you for your feedback.


mid-june stay

4.8 on June 30, 2014

Accommodations were comfortable and clean as usual...this is our fourth or fifth time staying here...have stayed in all different rooms...one is as nice as that other...thanks again, for such a wonderful place. It's convenient to everything!

Innkeeper Response
We thank you for your business and compliments.


great stay

4.4 on June 28, 2014

This was an easy breazy stay. Love this place and all the amenities of being right in town.


Honeymoon at Inn on Main

5 on June 24, 2014

A beautiful inn with an interesting system for ins/outs. We were very lucky to have found this place. I was saddened that there were no microwaves in the room, I understand why, but for those with special dietary needs like my husband, a microwave can be a lifesaver during a weekend getaway. On the plus side, the restaurant downstairs DOES have gluten free menu options, which can be very helpful to those traveling with celiac disease, like my husband. It's a bit on the pricey side though.


great place, would come back again.

5 on June 16, 2014

Booked directly from the hotel internet site. fabulous stay, close to everything, clean and freshly renovated rooms. The restaurant is new, loved the chef and the food.


First time to NJ Shore

4.6 on June 15, 2014

Self service check in was great but needs to be in bold print on confirmation, quiet and clean rooms, nice area, lots of small local businesses in the area. All "Dining" is outside hotel or downstairs. Minutes to Spring Lake and other areas.


Charming Inn, can't wait to return!

4.4 on June 15, 2014

I was very impressed with the Inn On Main! The room was a wonderful value for the price I paid, and I appreciate how high tech the place is. Combo codes on the entrance and our room. I had polite queries via text, and all the reviews about how clean the place was were spot on. There were fresh vacuum marks upon arrival! Great bathroom and large shower, lovely balcony to let the salt air in. I highly recommend! Perfect for a getaway for couples; we really enjoyed the privacy and quiet :) I only put met expectations for dining because I didn't eat here, and there was no NA.


Excellent Stay!

4.4 on June 07, 2014

We stayed at the inn on main for two nights in room 202. The room was beautiful. When called upon, the staff was beyond accommodating. We loved it and can't wait to come back!


The Inn On Main

4.0 on June 04, 2014

Everything was as to be expected based on the description of the hotel and photos we saw. I was pleasantly surprised by the size and decor of the room.


INN ON MAIN IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY

3.6 on May 19, 2014

Check in was easy, room was very clean and well furnished, bed was comfortable, bathroom was stocked with great smelling towels, shower was good, enjoyed the fireplace, town was very friendly, close to beach, beach was very clean, would definitly would reccommend, we would stay again!!


Inn at Manasquan

4.4 on May 19, 2014

Great location with many options for dining and shopping within walking distance. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. It doesn't feel like a hotel room, but more like a tranquil getaway. I would definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We do want to give our customers that residential feeling.


convenient and quaint

4.4 on May 18, 2014

Beautiful rooms. Perfect part of town and while the non-traditional service took me off guard, the visit was perfect and incredibly convenient.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you.


Like a boutique hotel, without the boutique hotel price!

5 on May 07, 2014

Our room at the room was beautifully decorated (contemporary), spacious, comfortable, and romantic. All the amenities (incl maid service) that you'd expect from a hotel, but without the front desk staff that jack up prices. The overdone Victorian doilies, outdated furniture, and stuffed animals, that I was seeing in nearby B&B's were thankfully not present at the Inn on Main. Each room was unique, but in a modern beautiful decor. Our room also had a small porch and grill. Everything was spotless. The "let yourself in" keypad entry was convenient. Breakfast isn't included but I didn't miss it since you're already in downtown and there are lots of great places to eat just steps from your door. I would recommend this place for adults or families with older children. If you have very young children (i.e. a toddler) you might have to take care that they don't break something, so a hotel or motel might be easier. Also with very young ones it's helpful to have breakfast provided, and be very close to the beach, which are two things Inn on Main doesn't have. It's about a 15 min walk to the beach the owner told us. It was a lovely downtown and so instead we spent our time exploring the cool shops and the juice bar! We thought the rates were great compared to the B&Bs and motels nearby. The room was comfortable and beautiful. We spent a romantic weekend there and would definitely go back again to the Inn on Main!

Innkeeper Response
Our objective is to provide clutter-less design to communicate the spaciousness of our guest rooms. As you noted, there is no kitsch. We constantly try to capture that feel and we're glad you noticed. Thank you.


Beautiful Getaway Night

4.0 on April 18, 2014

My husband and I wanted to have a beautiful getaway night after a stressful month. We found the Inn on Main online and thought to take a chance on it. We stayed in Room 205. It was a gorgeous room, with a very comfortable mattress. We enjoyed using the fireplace at night and sitting on the loveseat to drink a glass of wine. Only downfall was that we couldn't use our balcony. There were generators being stored on the balcony, and the air conditioner unit (I believe) was making all kinds of non-stop racketing throughout the day and night. Fortunately, we could barely hear it when we had the doors closed. We will definitely stay again, just maybe in a different room, possibly facing the street. Also, we gave the dining a 3 stars, only because it doesn't have any dining and no food is allowed in the rooms. There were some nice eateries nearby though.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your compliments. The noisy kitchen fan has been repaired and the "Sandy" generators have been removed. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Wedding Night Sleepover

5 on September 04, 2011

We stayed here the night of our wedding and loved our room. It was very clean and very reasonably priced in comparision to other places in the area!


Wonderful July 4th Weekend Stay!

4.8 on July 13, 2011

What a wondeful b&b. I work for The Ritz-Carlton hotel chain, and needless to say, I'm extremely picky. But The Inn on Main, exceeded our expectations! Extremely clean, wonderful staff, warm room and just wonderful charm and comfort! No doubt about it we will stay at The Inn on Main when we visit Manasquan in the future years!


Inn On Main

3.6 on July 08, 2011

Very nice rooms, the lobby and elevator were unbearably hot though. Rooms were very expensive.


Wedding Weekend!!

4.4 on May 15, 2011

I was able to see a lot of the rooms since many family members booked rooms here as well. Each was impeccably clean, beautifult decorated, and beyond comfortable. We are planning to stay next year on our one year anniversary!


Gorgeous Inn

3.4 on May 11, 2011

The Inn on Main is a gorgeous place. It was clean, quaint and very accommodating. I was only there for one night for a wedding but would consider going back for a longer stay. I would recommend this place to friends and family.


Review of Inn on Main Hotel

4.0 on May 11, 2011

The room was beautiful, super clean and the best hotel bed I've ever slept in, but over priced. There were no instructions for the TV, no tissues anywhere in the room, and only 1 small trash can in the bathroom. I know most people have cell phones, but my family had booked almost the entire hotel, and it would've been nice to have phones in the room so we could've called each other. Also, there were no menus for the restaurants that delivered to the hotel.


good stay again

3.4 on April 27, 2011

stay was great - room was same we stayed in last year and it was just as we remembered. We were surpirsed there was no housekeeping after the first night and that was frustrating. No bed made, new towels, etc. I would suggest that moving forward. Room also had some small holes in walls and could probably use a fresh coat of paint. All in all - good stay

Innkeeper Response
Our apologies on the "housekeeping refresh" issue, which is a rare occurrence. Housekeeping staff is available daily, or if additional service is required, the main phone number is always reachable. We shall be tracking down the hole(s) you mentioned, as this may have been a recent item. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.


Enjoyed our stay

3.8 on April 21, 2011

What an awesome place to stay. We loved the fireplace in the room, and the privacy of the location. On the other hand, the bed in 207 was VERY uncomfortable, and we didn't sleep very well. Perhaps it could be replaced with a better, firmer mattress. Also had trouble reaching the owners previous to our stay, and resolving a question I had took three phone calls.


Inn on Main

3.8 on April 16, 2011

We have stayed there several times and enjoy the location, size of the room and the ambiance. We had a small glitch because our entry code did not function and we had to wait 15 minutes before some one called to let us in. We would stay there again.


Did the job

3.6 on April 13, 2011

The location was perfect and the room was clean and had all the amenities needed for my stay. I would definitely consider staying again, especially in the off-season.


Great stay at Inn on Main

5 on April 03, 2011

My family rented 2 rooms in this darling town and we were quite pleased and will go back every time we need to see our daughter. First thing that started our trip right was the friendliness and service that we received from Val when we booked our rooms. The rooms were decorated cute, very roomy, comfortable and especially liked our one with the balcony with room for sitting. The town was so cute and restaurants were great and darling shops. It was within a good easy walk to the shore so for your money and for a great place to stay I highly recommend it. There was not a dining room in the place but I think they are fixing one up so maybe that will be there next trip.


THIRD VISIT - MORE TO COME

4.0 on March 27, 2011

Our first stay at the "Inn", in February, 2010, exceeded our expectations, except that it took about a half hour to find our way in (few signs, no obvious entrance, no front desk, etc.). Our next two stays met the expectations established by the first visit, with some improvements. The rooms are very well constructed and decorated, very clean, well lighted, airy, and comfortable. Much better than any other accommodations in the area.


Inn on Main

3.2 on March 17, 2011

Our stay at Inn on Main was just what I expected. We were there off season, and the rate was quite reasonable for the size of the room and the cleanliness and location. There was no staff on property it seemed, but they were entirely accessible by phone, and were very accommodating when we needed to extend our stay a few times. The one caveat is that this is not really a bed and breakfast. There is no restaurant on premises, nor was there a location for guests to have a morning coffee or breakfast. That being said, there is a great coffee shop next door and Broadway Grill an the other side, both of which are very reasonable (by NY standards) and good. I'm sure it's a different scene in the summer, and perhaps when there are more guests they have something set up for breakfast. I would recommend the Inn on Main, however as a quick getaway.


Room 301

4.2 on March 14, 2011

The room was absolutely beautiful. It was nice not to have to wait at a desk to check in or out. It was close to everything and very clean. I would definately stay there again. No restaurant in facility, but coffee shop and plenty of choices in walking distance.


Cool Inn

3.6 on March 09, 2011

This is a great Inn. It is down town. We thought it might be weird that there is no front desk but we were wrong. Our room was huge with a great deck.


relaxing getaway

4.0 on March 06, 2011

Room was beautiful and very clean. Inn was quiet and relaxing. The only thing that was not up to par was water pressure, or lack of, in shower. Water barely trickled out enough to take shower.


Inn at Main- Winter Stay

3.0 on March 06, 2011

Room was nice and I do recommend and will try again. However, mid winter pricing was a bit over for the value and the room was smaller than I expected. Some wear and tear in the room was why I rated it as met expectations. Patio was unkept and plants were turned over from the weather. The simplicity of the process was good, although not a flawless process in my case. Easily and quickly resolved on the phone.


Winter Stay

3.0 on February 28, 2011

We loved staying at the Inn on Main, I have to say the top item was convenience. We walked to breakfast and dinner. The only issue we had was getting locked out of the Inn, however our call was answered quickly and we were in. The room was small and needed a more than one place to place suitcase not enough table space. We were cooncerned about security since the back door was left unlocked and anyone could enter Inn. Since we will be visiting Manasquan frequently would like to see some kind of specials, incentives to come back or stay longer.


Winter Visit

3.0 on February 27, 2011

Great B&B. We've stayed there a couple of years now, as we come in for a charity ball nearby. Great rooms. Nice area. The bed was a little too soft in 202, but last year in 309(?) it was perfect. Think they need to rate the beds in each room on the site (soft, medium, firm) for future stays. Otherwise, we love it!


JAgetaway

4.0 on February 23, 2011

The Inn was very nice. I'm looking forward to coming back in the warmer weather!


Our Inn on Main experience

4.0 on February 18, 2011

Accommodations were excellent. room very tastefully designed and decorated. Our stay was a pleasing experience and we would recommend to others. However I question designation as a bed and breakfast as no breakfast is offered. This would not keep us from staying there in the future.


Great for What I Wanted

4.4 on February 16, 2011

I wanted a nice room and privacy - and that's exactly what I got. The room was fantastic - very spacious with a fireplace and nice bathroom. No check-in desk - they give you a code to open the main door and your room door - in fact I didn't see a single person while I was there. No breakfast the next morning, but I knew that going in and was fine with it. Restaurants, coffee shops, etc all within walking distance. Modest prices comparatively speaking. Will stay there again if the opportunity arises.


Inn on Main

4.6 on February 16, 2011

To our delight, we found the Inn to be much more than we expected. Our room (201) was perfect although a radio and an additional chair would be nice. Loved the fireplace, large bathroom with super soft towels, very comfortable bed. Keypad was very convenient. Would like to see this implemented elsewhere. Although advertised as a bed/breakfast there wasn't a restaurant. Met the new owners of the restaurant downstairs who will be opening their new restaurant in April. This was not a problem as the Broadway Cafe is next door and served excellent breakfasts. Plenty of other choices closeby. Enjoyed being able to walk Main Street and visit all the very nice little shops along the way. If we had known about the Inn earlier, we would have made visits before this as we have a lot of family in Manasquan. Will be coming back for another visit in a few months. Hope our room will be available!!! The Clelands of Liverpool, New York.


Stress free visit

4.8 on February 16, 2011

I had my concerns about a hotel that had no front desk, no concierge, no contact with anyone, but I must say this method proved to be low stress and very comfortable. Small signs throughout the hotel give a phone number if help is needed but everything was well thought out and anything that could be prepared for was taken care of. The room was large and beautifuly designed with tasteful furnishings. Parking was convienient. The restaurant on the premises is closed but many more line Main Street. The only thing I didn't get was a final bill under the door or by email after I arrived home. I would like to know my total after tax that will be on my credit card. I will return and rate this facility 5 stars.


Inn on Main Jauary 2011

4.0 on February 11, 2011

Great environment - quiet and clean. The rooms are tastefully done.


Highly recommend it

5 on February 02, 2011

Despite visiting this somewhat sleepy beachtown in the offseason and the hotel not having a live person at the frontdesk, we never once felt 'stranded' or unaware of where to park or who to call if we needed something (i actually spoke to a really nice guy twice before making the reservation and both times he was very helpful) The interior of our room was fantastic -- the carpet was thick and comfortable to walk on, we had a gas fireplace along with a fully working thermostat for additional heat and doors to a balcony which overlooked Main St along with 2 chairs to people watch. The bathroom was great, the shower was gigantic -- they really have their act together!! Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable !!! :) Matt C. in Washington, D.C.


1/27 Stay

4.4 on January 31, 2011

What a great room in the center of Manasquan. The staff was very helpful in booking the room last minute as well. Thanks Val!


Reservation of 204 on 1/8/11

4.8 on January 24, 2011

This was the second stay in this accommodation and suite. On each occasion the facility was outstanding. The management was courteous to change the reservation date by one week in conjunction with a change of travel plans due the 33 inches of snowfall. On each visit, there have been two guests, and the wish would have been for two chairs vice one so that sitting on the bed was not required for one guest. Although we had left the pin number at home in our haste to beat the second snow on 1/8/11, you were gracious enough to provide the same upon arrival without ado. Kudos to the management and staff. Well done. The Inn on Main Street is tops in our book. Thank you!!!


A Charming Hotel

3.0 on January 20, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The room was clean and well appointed and the surrounding town had lots of restaurants and was quite charming. The only complaint that we have is that the parking lot was not properly plowed to remove snow from a recent storm so we were forced to find alternate parking. Not a big deal but we were a little annoyed that we were not informed of this in advance. Overall, a great experience and we would go back.


Post Christmas Blizzard

3.8 on January 13, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay, even if we had to negotiate the two feet and more of snow that fell during the blizzard just after Christmas and we had to postpone our arrival by a day. Although the Inn no longer has a restaurant on its ground floor, nearby restaurants were tastey, although not as interesting as hoped. The Inn itself is very well kept and comfortable. I would imagine that the town is more inviting in better weather!


A wonderful place to stay!

4.4 on January 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn only one night but the room was perfect!Very clean, cozy, and comfortable. Not having a front desk was not an issue with us. We got in and out of our room easily, no problems. We will definitly come back.


Beautiful

3.8 on December 29, 2010

We have stayed at the Inn a number of times and always enjoyed it. Rooms are beautiful and clean


Beautiful, but a couple of points.

3.8 on December 22, 2010

I stayed in unit 304 with my husband and 2 sons. The room was really beautiful and the fireplace was perfect on such a cold night. The bathroom was lovely but the shower pressure was not so good. Also, the shower, while being very roomy, didn't have an kind of shelf or caddy to keep soap or shampoo on, so you have to keep bending down to pick up what you need off the ground. Our major problem was the beam that runs from the wall up to the ceiling. It's much too close to the bed and my husband banged his head pretty hard on it when he got up during the night to use the bathroom. He had quite a lump on his head from it. Having said all that, it wouldn't stop me from staying there again, just not in that room, beautiful as it was.


Room 303 - Spacious and very clean

4.0 on December 15, 2010

This was a wonderful stay under less than wonderful circumstances. We originally booked 4 nights in room 303 to visit our ailing Mother. She died the day we came down and the hotel was very accommodating and did not charge us for the nights we did not stay. The staff member present gave us a lovely tour of all of the rooms so we know where we want to stay in happier times.


Great night

4.0 on December 13, 2010

The Inn totally exceeded my expectations upon arrival. Unfortunately the restaurant on the main floor was closed at the time. We had also booked a room for guests that were visiting us from the UK. They also enjoyed their stay. I definately plan to stay here again in the near future.


Inn on Main, Manasquan, NJ

3.0 on December 11, 2010

Lovely room. Great bed linens.Very clean....but, no easy chair to sit and read. Keyless entry, no front desk....you're on your own. More than acceptable in every way.


Nice stay at the Inn on Main

3.6 on December 03, 2010

The last time we stayed at the Inn on Main was at least a year ago, maybe longer, just after the new owner took over. They were trying to get things figured out back then, and there were some less than perfect aspects to our stay. But I must say, they sure have it figured out now! We had a lovely stay. The room was clean, the Inn was quiet, and even though there is no front desk, we felt perfectly comfortable with our ability to contact someone if needed (as long as you have a cell phone, that is!). We were also pleased with the security they have in place to insure that only guests are able to enter the Inn. As mentioned in some other reviews, there is no food on the premises, but there are plenty of options in town. We highly recommend the Inn on Main for a nice place to stay!!


Inn on Main Hotel

4.0 on November 30, 2010

My wife and I booked this hotel room extremely last minute on a cold night in Mid-November. To book the room you have to call as there is no front desk, but the man who answered the phone could not have been any nicer. As promised, the room exceeded our expectations with a great fireplace and a balcony overlooking Main Street. The room was big and clean with more enough room to put our little one in her pack n play and walk around comfortably in the room. The restaurant downstairs looked closed, although I'm not sure if that is for good. Overall this place was perfect for a nights getaway in this quaint and magical beach town.


What a gem!

4.0 on November 29, 2010

We had a lovely two-bed room with fireplace. It was wonderful and the ease of getting in and out was perfect! Would highly recommend it and will stay here again!


Would stay again

3.8 on November 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed only one night but the room was beautiful and very clean ( this coming from a person who brings her own sheets when she stays at hotels) no need to bring your own. We did have a problem getting into our room but when we called the number that is posted by each door and in the elevator they fixed the problem on the spot. There is not a place to eat there but you just need to walk out the front door to find a great place to eat the town is very cute. If you don't mind spending a few bucks try Remington's, when you go out of the hotel make a right and its on the next corner, the food and service was fabulous. We will defiantly be staying again.


A Wonderful Getaway for our Engagement.

4.6 on November 23, 2010

I took my fiance here the weekend I proposed. The room was large, very clean, and well decorated. The balcony overlooking main street is very nice as well. The restaurant a few stores down is conveniently located for those looking to eat close by. The beach is less than a five minute's drive away (Which is where I proposed). Overall, we were very impressed and plan on staying there again in the future.


Nighttime Noise Spoiled What Could Have Been a Wonderful Stay

2.8 on October 21, 2010

I recently stayed 2 nights at this inn with a friend. Although the room was attractive and comfortable, we felt that the doors were very thin and did little to muffle sounds from the hallway. On our first night there, some other guests came in at 2 AM and were extremely noisy, yelling back and forth and slamming doors. In any other place, I would have immediately called and reported the disturbance to the front desk manager, but there is no front desk in this establishment. After this went on for a while, I finally opened my door and called out to the noisemakers to quiet down. The next day I learned that the owner/manager was actually present in the building that night and heard my remarks, but he failed to do anything about the noise himself. I also don't understand why this inn is listed as a B&B even though there is no food included. Apparently there was once a restaurant on the first floor of the building, but it is now closed. There are nearby places to eat, but I still think it should not be listed as a "bed and breakfast" establishment.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments and we're glad that you liked your accommodations. We apologize for the hallway noise the wedding party created as they returned to the hotel at 2 am. As you stated, the owner was in-house and he mentioned meeting and apologizing to you the following day. He did tour the 2nd floor area, but it had quieted down, and as we now know - following your involvement. Be assured that any further noise would have been dealt appropriately, including eviction of the offending guests. I assure you that this was an isolated incident and we hope you will consider our hotel when you return to the area.


Lovely Getaway

4.0 on October 14, 2010

My wife and I wanted to go away for a nice quiet relaxing weekend by the shore. We came across the Inn on Main while searching for a place to stay and are we glad we found the Inn on Main. It is unique in the sense that there is no staff around, but there was no need for anyone except the housekeeper, who was pleasant and attentive to our needs. The room was clean and very quaint. Main street had many shops for my wife to browse and there were many fine restaurants in the area. We will be back soon.


Weekend in the Townhouse

4.0 on October 06, 2010

We had 6 guys in for a golf weekend and the townhouse was a great choice for us. The layout was great and the rooms were clean and modern.


Inn On Main

4.6 on October 06, 2010

My friend and I had a great stay this past weekend at Inn On Main. We have stayed at a few places in the general area over the past few weekends and by far this is the best. The room was cozy with a fireplace and a great large bathroom. I will definitely go back!


Inn on Main, Manasquan-great location

2.6 on September 24, 2010

This is a great place to stay in the Manasquan area. Cute town. Near enough to beach. However, no on site management. There is a number to call for service issues and it is answered promptly. However, it's a little desolate in the off season, when not many people are in the hotel. It should not be considered a bed and breakfast because there is no food available. Rooms are nice and clean. It's a great option for Manasquan because there aren't too many choices. Have to drive to the beach.

Innkeeper Response
Most ocean-side towns do look desolate in the off season. Unfortunately, we can't fix that. We believe, however, that our location on Main Street-surrounded by village stores and restaurants - minimizes this "off-season" impression compared to the comparative "desolate" feel of many oceanfront lodging where a walking around is not a lively option. As always, we appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again at the Inn on Main Hotel.


My stay on the main

2.8 on September 14, 2010

We originally reserved for 1 night, but decided to stay a second night if there was any availability, which there was. The staff was accomodating in adding an additional night, although we had to move rooms and the second room was $16 more. That would not have been a problem, but the second room was smaller, no balcony, the smoke alarm hanging off the ceiling, and we were right by the elevator.

Innkeeper Response
We apologize for the smoke detector that fell out of its holder, which is a first-time occurrence at the hotel. The room attendant immediately reported this after your check out and replacing it back into its holder took less than 10 seconds. We would have been at your service had you called this in during the stay. We presume your room to be Rm 201 (since this is where the smoke detector fell out) and this room has a stand-up balcony to Main Street. As always, we appreciate your business and look forward to your return.


A great find!

4.0 on September 10, 2010

Our room at Inn on Main was lovely, large and very comfortable. We will return. The only thing that was an issue was that there was no staff. However, when I called the innkeeper I got an immediate response and resolution. I also wonder about the security of the Inn because the outside door is always open because there are restaurants on the first floor. Anyone could take the elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floors where the rooms are. I would be more comfortable if there was some presence by the innkeeper on the premises.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel. Rather than scout around for hotel staff, signs do direct guests to call the main number for any need. And as you noted, the main phone is answered promptly and service delivered expeditiously. The real question is why we have no Front Desk which, by the way, we make absolutely clear in our confirmation email to our guests. A 24/7 Front Desk for a 12-room hotel like ours is impossible to staff...and keep staffed. We have instead decided to leverage technology in our operation with the use of newly-available pincode-secure door locks. With this, guests can self-check in at any time and without ceremony. The other technology tool is the mobile phone, which makes staff members reachable at any time and totally untied tie to a front desk cubicle. It seems our guests enjoy these new approaches, based on feedback on various review sites. I am pleased to inform you that a pincode-secure door lock has been recently installed on the Main St entrance. Finally, as added peace of mind, the police department is diagonally across from the hotel, benefiting it with an intrinsic safe zone. Many thanks for your time to comment and looking forward to your return visit.


Lovely Inn

4.4 on September 09, 2010

Very pretty Inn and close to the beach. Rooms are immaculate-even the towels smell home laundered fresh and very soft. The Inn Keepers are warm and welcoming. Best place too stay in the Mannasquan-Spring Lake area. It was our third stay and we will be back! Diana and Rich


Inn on Main Street Review

4.8 on September 02, 2010

I did not try the dining downstairs, so I really don't know about the dining associated with the inn. I ate nearby and it was great. As far as this inn, very few inns in the area, in my opinion, provide this level of chic upscale style, cleanliness, and service for the price. I searched many websites before booking at this inn and found that although there are many charming places around, they are either overpriced or simply not up to par with decor and room condition. I also liked the feeling of complete privacy and independence because of the inn's set-up. I plan on returning. I simply LOVED it!


Excellent Choice

4.6 on August 24, 2010

Outstanding! I wish I had known about this place earlier; I definitely plan on going back! Breakfast is not included in the rate, but there are a few restaurants literally steps away from the Inn that offer breakfast. Our favorite breakfast joint happened to be a few minutes away, called mariner's cove; and we went there after our stay. It was amazing as always!


We will be back!

4.0 on August 12, 2010

Finally a place that we can come back to! We were in room 303 It was beautiful, clean and roomy. Like we found a place that we can go back to year after year. We were in 303 because we had our son with us, and needed the room, but are looking forward coming for our anniversary, it was that nice! I can't say enough good about it!! Definitely be back!!


Outstanding!

5 on September 02, 2009

Our family (with 2 children) had ample room in our suite with the king-sized bed and sleeper sofa. We also requested a roll-away bed. The suite was VERY clean with modern finishes, right down to the stainless mini-fridge, and my husband loved the scented linens. The kids loved the fireplace, and we loved that we were in walking distance to many other restaurants, shops, train stop, playground and beach. Fabulous get away spot!


Inn on Main Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $279
  • Reviews (94) 4.1
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7325280099
  • Fax 1-7325280099

Visit Website »

View details

Top