Change your search

Carroll Villa Hotel

19 Jackson Street , Cape May, NJ 08204 USA (Show map)

Check Dates

BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection

Professionally Inspected & Certified

BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection

About

The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Our focus is to maintain the integrity of the past while looking toward a sustainable future, and keeping to that commitment we are the first historic district hotel in Cape May to install solar panels. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat screen TV's. Your stay will also include $30 for breakfast, 50% off drinks 4-6pm (except top shelf) and 30% off 2 dinner entrees.

Reviews

Overall
4.3

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
114 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved the Carroll Villa Hotel!

4.2 on April 02, 2015

We had a fabulous time in Cape May and enjoyed the services this hotel offered.


new years eve getaway

3.6 on January 16, 2015

First time staying at the Carrol Villa Stayed 2 nights in room 21. Room was clean, and very well decorated! The bathroom was very small and the barhroom door did not close very easily. Happy hour was great!! Those guys were wonderful!! Breakfast and dinner at Mad Batter was Great!! We will return and reccomend to friends and family.


Cute little B&B!

5 on January 07, 2015

My fiancé and I did a one night stay right after Christmas just to have a mini getaway and loved our stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. The staff was very nice and always had smiles on their faces. We stayed in a king room which was very nice and everything was spotless. The hotel is in a great location and was walking distance from the restaurants and pedestrian mall. For a Monday night during the off season I was very surprised by how busy it was! We had breakfast at the Madbatter the next morning and thoroughly enjoyed it. The fresh OJ was super yummy! Overall great time in a great town :)


It Takes A Villa to Enjoy Your Stay

5 on December 15, 2014

This quaint, 1875 building is immaculate with comfortable rooms, and excellent dining. It's close to the beach and shops in Cape May. The staff, from registration to the bar to the dining room, are all friendly, attentive, and professional. The only drawback is that one has to find a meter to park during the stay. Even though you don't have to pay for a meter, you may have to walk a block or more from the car to the Villa. There is a loading zone available across the street for unloading luggage before finding a parking space. Still, I think this is worth the visit.


Long Weekend Escape

4.2 on December 04, 2014

Loved Cape May; so much to do even in the cold. Mad Batter restaurant was the best! Breakfast or dinner, the food was great but the nightly entertainment put it over the top! The inn was charming and clean but again the staff made the stay so very nice. Considering a warm month return.


Annex Room

4.6 on November 20, 2014

Great B&B with a little Pub and great Breakfast. The Annex Room is on first floor with a balcony which would be great with good weather.The weather our weekend was very cold and windy.


excellent B&B

4.0 on November 06, 2014

Close to beach. Large rooms. Excellent restuarant - "TheMad Batter". Enjoyed the evening bar with live music. A parking is a real hassle in Cape May. Free public parking is a very long walk from the hotel.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back again some day.


Happy Hour on Jackson

3.6 on November 03, 2014

Me and my husband have been staying at the Carroll Villa for the past 8 year. We love this bed and breakfast along with the Mad Batter bar happy hour. The parking is not at all accommodating at times especially when you want to leave the local area to explore more of Cape May. A shuttle would be perfect.

Innkeeper Response
Hello, Thank you for your comments and I am glad to know that you are so pleased with our B&B. We have purchased a golf cart to help with the Cape May parking situation and hopefully this will help to make your next stay more convenient. Thank you for your continued patronage. Mark


Oct17-19/2014 weekend Guests from Room 5

3.0 on October 25, 2014

The innkeeper was very pleasant and helpful with directions. Our room was actually nicer than I expected. The bathroom down the hall was always clean and a convenient distance from our room. There was enough space in both the room and bathroom to store our belongings. We did not have dinner at the Mad Batter but we did eat breakfast here every morning and the portions were huge! I especially liked the little jars of jelly we received with our toast (a cute touch). We did attend a happy hour at the bar. The service was prompt and there was a good craft beer selection. Loved that I could grab a quick cup of coffee early in the morning before I went for a run near the beach. All in all, we had a nice time! Thank you so much for taking so good care of us :-)

Innkeeper Response
I am glad everything went well and that you enjoyed the good things we have to offer and that you were pleasantly surprised by your room. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope you will stay with us again.


The Carroll Billa

2.2 on October 19, 2014

I understand that the Carroll Villa is a historic hotel but you cannot just get by on charm. We paid $300 for our room, in October. The mattress was horrible. Not only was it hard and lumpy but when two people got in the bed, you both slid to the middle. The pillows were hard and thin. Despite being on the third floor, we were able to hear the sounds of the kitchen or washing dishes until 3am. Neither of us were able to get any sleep because of the mattress. Our bathroom door could not shut, the free wifi was so slow that nothing would load and our television didn't have sound on all the channels. When you pay $300 for one night you expect more than that. We went to happy hour at the Mad Batter for a drink before our dinner reservations. Our bill came to $11. We gave the bartender a twenty dollar bill and finally about fifteen minutes were finally able to get her attention to get our change so that we could leave the appropriate tip. She said she had just forgotten. The next morning we ate at the Mad Batter for breakfast. The breakfasts there are delicious. But the service we had this time was horrible. My mug for my tea was dirty. I initially was going to scrape the sediment out of it but then told her I wanted a new mug. She looked in the mug and told me it wasn't dirty- I told her I had scraped the dirt out but still wanted a new mug. She gave me a look but did get the mug. This was after she had brought hot water over but no tea bag. My husband pointed tomwhat he wanted on the menu and she brought the wrong thing. When he told her it wasn't what he had order she argued with him- he just decided to keep it. This was not the first time we had stayed at the Carroll Villa but it will be our last.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry you did not enjoy staying with us. Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving


View More Reviews

Rooms & Rates

Deluxe Queen

Queen size bed, private bath.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

King

King bed, private bath

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Standard Queen

queen bed, private bath

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Check Dates Visit Website

Location

Location Type

Historic Victorian City, Downtown, Oceanfront, Vista oceano, Small town

Airport

Atlantic City, NJ (ACY) 43 miles

Directions to property:

Visit Mapquest on-line for the quickest directions from where you are, or contact us at the hotel.

Area Attractions

Amusement Park, Antique Shopping, Art Galleries, Beach, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Lake, Live Music, Movie Theater, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Ocean, Cape May Diamonds & Concrete Ship at Sunset Beach, Outdoor Walking Mall, Cape May-Lewes Ferry, Cape May Lighthouse, Atlantic City Casinos (45 Min. away), Performing Theater, Picnic area, Religious Services, Winery, Zoo

Inn Details

Establishment type

Other

On-site amenities

Board games, Fireplace, Wedding Facilities , May-Oct. Permit for off street/off site parking, Happy Hour daily!, Beach towels available

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Ceiling fans, Coffee/Tea facilities, Fridge, Hairdryer, Ironing Board, Radio, Satellite/Cable TV, Telephone, Wi-Fi

On-site activities

Bicycle rental, Bird watching, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Kayaking, Shopping, Sight-seeing, Swimming, Tennis courts, Video Arcade

Check Dates Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: after 2:00pm
  • Check Out:: by 11:00am
  • Open All Year Round: No
  • Smoking Allowed: No
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided Yes
  • Suitable For Children: Yes Well behaved & supervised children always welcomed
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: 2nts. on weekends, 3 nts. Holiday weekends, & 2 nts. through July & August
  • Accepted payments Other, AMEX, VISA, Discover, Mastercard, Diners club, Travelers checks, Cash
  • Deposit Amount Required: 50% deposit required upon booking by credit card, check, or M.O.
  • Cancellations: More than 10 days notice for deposit refund, minus a 30.00 cancellation fee per room cancelled. Less than 10 days notice, must re-rent to refund.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Mark Kulkowitz & Pam Huber

Languages spoken

English

About the innkeepers

Pam Huber's interests are mosiacs, beading and jewelry. She is an avid gardner and loves to travel. Mark is interested in New York Sports teams, movies, travel, golf, and favorite interest, spending time outdoors with his dogs Simon, Ika and Spark Plug.

Check Dates Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Full

  • Time Served: 8:00-10:00 a.m.
  • Serving Location: On-site restaurant

Special meal options

Low fat , Vegetarian


Signature Dish

Crab Cakes
Our award winning crab cakes made with jumbo lump crab meat and almost no filler. These crab cakes complement the lunch and dinner menu as our Crabs Benedict with Hollandaise sauce and home fries do at breakfast!


Recipes

Deals

Hot Deal

Stay two nights Sun-Thurs, get 50% off third night

Regular Rate: $160 now $125 (22% Savings:)

Built in 1882, and just a half of a block from the beach, you will find our Cape May hotel is child friendly and the perfect location for your next seaside getaway. Roll out of bed for one of the best breakfasts of your life! Happy Hour daily at the Blue Batter Bar. Please contact the inn directly at 1 6098849619 to redeem this deal.

expires Wednesday


Special Package

Food Glorious Food

Our Relax and Unwine'd is perfect for your Cape May getaway! Enjoy a bottle of wine on arrival, breakfast mimosas or bloody marys, and a $50 dining certificate for our Mad Batter Restaurant. Package Price: $60, plus accommodations. See our website for details.

Value Vacations

Book our Spring Trolley & Dining Package and enjoy great savings on your Cape May getaway! Package includes two nights (Sun - Thurs) accommodations, 2 trolley tour tickets, and a $25 dining credit at Mad Batter. Starting at $275 for our Queen Rooms, see website for details.

Contact Innkeeper

Details

19 Jackson Street , Cape May, NJ 08204 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Give the gift of a getaway!