The Village House Reviews

Overall
3.9

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service4.3
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Location, Super Nicer

3.4 on February 28, 2012

Great location of the inn. Only met John, as me and my friends were barely at the Inn, but such a great location with tons to do around. We skied down Wildcat Saturday and snowshoed at Blackbear on Sunday. John was great with information and super nice. We had requested rooms that would allow dogs, and the rooms were so cute. John had even put out a bed and bowls for the pups! My friends and I had really wanted to bring our dogs up for our weekend trip, and The Village House allowed us to do so. In talking with John before the trip, they had been more than willing to watch the dogs, which was super sweet. We decided maybe it would be best to send them to doggie day care for the day while we skied and drop the pups off at Karla's Pet Rendezvous. Anyway - we enjoyed the stay a ton!


Love the Village House

4.4 on January 26, 2012

We enjoy our stays at the Village House. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and a very good value for Jackson, NH. Also like very much the proprietor, John, who is helpful, interesting to talk to, and offers good advice regarding local points of interest. We are not a couple who usually enjoys B and B's but we make an exception for The Village House. Highly recommend a stay here.


Village house stay

4.0 on December 13, 2011

We have been to the Village House numerous times and have always enjoyed our stay. John and Sally have always been great hosts and the rooms are comfortable and affordable.


Great Stay

4.6 on November 30, 2011

John the owner greeted us and offered to help us carry in our bags. They had received a surprise snow storm but the place was cleared and ready. Our room had 3 dog beds waiting and four dog bowls. They took into accout that we had 3 dogs and went to the trouble of making sure there were beds and bowls for each.


exceptional hospitality

4.2 on October 01, 2011

home from home, pet friendly house a bonus, afternoon teas are recommended.


Stay at The Village House

3.8 on July 25, 2011

Great hospitality and big effort on behalf of landlord to make us feel welcome.


really helpful host

4.0 on June 30, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent, and John was really helpful, we particularly appreciated the campfire, so our daughter could roast marshmellows, despite the cold and rainy weather. Sorry to have missed the bear's visit. Definitely take John's recommendation for intown dining. Rooms in the annex are comfortable, but lack the charm of many B&Bs.


Relaxing weekend getaway

3.6 on June 06, 2011

The Village House was exactly as I expected it to be based on reviews, photos and internet searches. The area is quaint and beautiful with many opportunities for long walks and scenic views. I would not hesitate to return to The Village House.


Favorite Jackson escape!

4.6 on April 23, 2011

The Village House is the perfect New Hampshire getaway. The main house and barn offer a variety of accomodations to please many types of travelers. We love the spacious rooms in the barn, equipted with kitchenettes which makes it easy to travel with the family. And a big party of our family is our dog, who LOVES the village house, the surrounding trails and the river for swim-swims. Our daughter has grown up there and it truly has become our second home. The innkeepers couldn't be any nicer! Well worth the trip, any time of year.


Village House - Highlight of USA trip in a New Hampshire jewel

4.8 on April 16, 2011

This B&B is beautiful and in one of the most picturesque little towns in New Hampshire (Jackson). The host John was easily the best B&B host we have ever had in terms of efficiency, information, willingness to go many extra miles for us and of course great storytelling! John is an expat Briton doing wonderful things here - if you can imagine the exact opposite of Basil Fawlty, he is it and the sort of B&B owner we wished we had encountered on many such stays in the UK. This is definitely the rare sort of place you will want to return to with the hope of re-experiencing everything as it was. Hope everyone else enjoys it as much as we did (especially considering we visited at one of the worst times in terms of seasonal weather and available activities!).


Great Dog Friendly Accommodations!

3.8 on March 29, 2011

We were so happy to find a nice place to stay that was dog friendly and didn't charge us an arm and a leg to bring our dogs. We had a nice room (Nantucket) with plenty of space for us, our two labs, and our 7 month old. I didn't realize it was going to have a little kitchen area so that was nice although we weren't there long enough to cook. Having a fridge in the room was great for us to keep bottles cold. The tv was small if you are into tv (we aren't) and the bathroom is small but again that didn't matter to us. It is a great location with plenty of activities and restaurants nearby. I would say that the breakfast wasn't anything fancy compared to other B & B's I have stayed at. It was a regular continental breakfast with bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, juice,etc. So if you are looking for a hot cooked breakfast, you'll probably have to go out for that! The family is lovely including their daughter and dog Jack. We are glad we found The Village House!!


nice condos good location

3.0 on March 06, 2011

nice place to stay if you have dogs but they should make all visitors aware that dogs are welcome. Sound proofing would be helpful especially for the showers and the fans in bathrooms. Would prefer a stonger shower as well.


Very quaint and enjoyable

3.8 on February 28, 2011

My son and I stayed at the Village House recently. We were warmly welcomed and well taken care of. John and Sally were extremely helpful, and the inn was delightful.


nice place

3.4 on January 22, 2011

Great location, walk to restaurants, cross country skiing. Proprietors well acquainted with local things to do.


white christmas

3.2 on January 19, 2011

we booked to stay for 5 days over Christmas in the Plymouth room. the room was as expected; complimentary continental breakfast was nice; lounge area was very welcoming & warm; exellent location near to centre of Jackson township. the Christmas decorations both inside and around the exterior of the house were lovely and really added to the seasonal atmosphere. the innkeepers were very welcoming and helpful with advice on sightseeing around the area, even assisting to book some tours for us too. the only suggestion for improvement for the innkeepers would be for investing in a better vaccume system, as both the lounge room carpet and bedroom carpet could have been a little cleaner. we had a wonderful stay and were happy with our choice of accommodation.


Pet and People Friendly

3.6 on January 03, 2011

The innkeepers, their daughter and their dog were all friendly and welcoming. Its very nice to have pet-friendly lodging right in Jackson.


Pleasant and cozy

3.4 on November 29, 2010

John & Sally were very personable and the room was cute and cozy. They offered a great suggestion for our Thanksgiving dinner as well as trails to walk the dog on. We really enjoyed our stay in the area but were disappointed we didn't see Fluffy!


Wonderful place!

5 on October 31, 2010

My husband and I had a great stay, at The Village House. We really enjoyed Jack, the dog, and Fluffy , the bear!!


Great Pet-friendly B&B

4.0 on October 12, 2010

Everything about our stay was good. the inn-keepers are very friendly and helpful. they went out of their way to make us, and our labrador , feel welcome. The rooms are a little out of the ordinary, curious sizes and shapes. howevwer the beds were new and comfortable. Our hosts were knowledgable about here to eat and things to do. all in all, a really nice few days.


The Village House

4.2 on October 07, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Village House. The room was very spacious, clean, and cosy. The inn is located in a very nice location.


The Village House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $185
  • Reviews (20) 3.9
  • Rooms 12

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6033836666
Top