The Mulburn Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

A Welcoming Experience,

4.2 on November 17, 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at the Mulburn Inn. We intentionally booked it after a wonderful time 3 years ago, and were greeted enthusiastically by our hostess, Mary, who remembered us too! The house is a fascinating piece of history, the hostess is gracious,and helpful with touring, hiking and dining ideas. Breakfasts are yummy and very hearty. Newly baked cookies, fresh fruit and drinks are set out daily too. The people we have met there, with whom we shared a meal and traveling ideas, made our experience that much better. Having been to other very nice B and Bs, it is the warm and welcoming feeling that makes the Mulburn Inn special. We live on the other side of the country, but we told Mary we hope to return.

Mulburn Inn

4.6 on November 11, 2015

Mary, the innkeeper, was gracious and accommodating. The inn was beautiful and charming. We plan to make it our "go-to" for future trips up to the White Mountains:)

I didn't want to leave!

5 on October 25, 2015

Like stepping back in time and being a guest at a wonderful house party. Situated in a beautiful area and Mary was extremely helpful with advice about getting the most out of our stay. Only 2 restaurants within walking distance but both excellent. Mary serves up a great breakfast (no need for lunch) and wonderful cookies and cakes in the afternoon.

You Have to Stay Here

5 on October 18, 2015

We had a great time staying with Mary at the Mulburn Inn in Bethlehem NH. Mary was so welcoming and makes a mean brownie. It is the most beautiful home with so much history and we were delighted to be able to relax on one of the many verandahs in the afternoon. We had great recommendations for dinner and Mary phoned through our lunch order in the morning so we would save time getting to the cog railway. Our room was well beyond our expectations, such a wonderful sleep. Breakfast was amazing, baked eggs with asparagus. So delicious. You shouldn't miss an opportunity to stay here.

A very special place

4.0 on October 12, 2015

Amazing house. Felt like we were stepping back in time and Mary is the perfect host. She makes her guests feel like they are at home whilst still retaining the excitement of being on holiday. Breakfasts and afternoon treats were wonderful and there was always advice on how to spend our time in the beautiful White Mountain area. After 5 nights with Mary I was sad to leave.

best place to stay in bethlehem

5 on October 12, 2015

host is thoughtful, generous and warm. Setting is lovely and the inn is spectacular. Meticulously maintained and beautifully appointed while simultaneously cozy, warm and inviting. Won't stay anywhere else in the area.

Beautiful Inn !!!

4.6 on October 07, 2015

The Mulburn Inn is located in the quiet little town of Bethlehem. Every room in this Inn has so much history attached to it and brings you back to an era of quiet elegance. We were warmly greeted by our hostess and shown all around the Inn with the added bonus of warm chocolate chip cookies and brownies right out of the oven to nibble on as we had our tour! Every single room in this Inn is gorgeous and very well cared for. We loved sitting in big rocking chairs on the front porch, sipping wine, relaxing, and just taking it all in. The home cooked breakfast was delicious and plentiful and started our day off right. I really can't say enough about this Inn!!! I highly recommend it to travelers who enjoy an Inn with class, elegance and lots of history!

Fantastic Bed and Breakfast Inn!!

5 on October 06, 2015

The Mulburn Inn was fantastic. Very comfortable rooms, the breakfast was awesome and Mary was great. Mary made you feel like you where at your own home. I left an item in my room and upon discovering this I called Mary, she already had it in the mail. Thanks! Will definitely return again..Hugh

Stunning Surroundings!

4.6 on October 05, 2015

What a gorgeous Inn! The rooms are huge with some history attached to each one! We felt so at home here and it had everything to do with the welcome we received from the owner and the beautiful surroundings reminiscent of days gone by.

A Delightful Stay

5 on October 03, 2015

This was our first visit to a Bed & Breakfast, and The Mulburn Inn has set the bar high for any other B & B's that we may experience! The innkeeper and owner Mary was a delight and immediately made us feel at home. She's dedicated to make each person's stay a good one. The Inn is full of rich history which is shown in the antique light fixtures, wood moldings, curved glass windows etc. The rooms are comfortable, clean and each has their own large bathroom. It also has modern elements that you may need from wifi, TV (in a sitting room), hot coffee and a wonderful homemade breakfast. The many porches provide an opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of New Hampshire. Thanks for a delightful experience and stay!

Lovely setting

4.0 on September 30, 2015

Hostess was very welcoming and attentive to her guests. She spent time with all her guests, attentive to their needs and very knowledgeable about things to see and do in the area. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Comfortable Stay

3.8 on September 03, 2015

Lovely room, quiet atmosphere. Shabby Chic which is so comfortable and allows you to have a more personable stay. Very relaxing front porch for reading,socializing or just daydreaming!

Great stay

5 on August 23, 2015

We stayed for two glorious nights at the Mulburn Inn in the Washington Room. The room was large and very comfortable with a modern bathroom. We enjoyed the beautiful house, with fresh cookies on the front table, and relaxed in the rockers on the wrap-around front porch. The "substitute" innkeeper, Mark, served outstanding breakfasts. Everything was spotlessly clean, and Mark could not have been more helpful and concerned about our comfort. We would definitely stay at the Mulburn Inn again!

Great hospitality, wonderful stay

5 on August 20, 2015

We loved our stay at the Mulburn Inn! Mary was a wonderful, helpful host and a great baker as well. Breakfasts were also very delicious and hearty. We were given a gratis room upgrade (from Monroe room--never saw), but the Adams room was comfortably spacious with a nice large bathroom. Definitely worth the price. Not too far from quality hiking expeditions. Bethlehem is charming and quiet, but Littleton is so close that we felt our needs were met.

Extremely kind Innkeeper/lovely town/immaculate Inn

5 on August 07, 2015

PROs: The Mulburn Inn is a stately beautiful home. Rooms are large and very clean. Beds comfortable. Inn keeper Mary charming and will do everything possible to make your stay pleasant, including providing dining recommendations and sample menus. Mulburn is walking distance to Rosa Flamingos, who have a lovely outdoor patio to enjoy on a warm summer's eve. Mulburn has a wrap around porch (enclosed) and an open porch. Perfect for sitting out and sipping some wine reflecting on your day! Breakfast is hearty and we liked the early start (8am). CONs: If road noise is an issue for you, simply request a room at the back of the Inn. I would stay here again on our next trip to Whites!

Our favorite winter getaway

5 on March 08, 2015

We have stayed at the Inn four times now and each experience is excellent. Mary is wonderful and very open and accommodating to all of our food allergies. Any questions or concerns we ever have (rare) she addresses them immediately. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. We love to relax at the Mt. Washington Inn after a day of skiing but there is nothing like 'coming home' to our favorite winter getaway. It is incredibly affordable and makes for a great romantic weekend.

Mulburn Inn in February

4.8 on February 23, 2015

Beautiful, totally authentic turn-of-the-century manor house with a great history. En-suite bath was a bit cramped, but room was otherwise strikingly spacious and elegant. Innkeeper is delightful. Food and service were outstanding.

Great Place!

5 on February 13, 2015

I found the Mulburn Inn on-line when looking for a place to stay for a wedding in the area I was attending. It was chosen based on the reviews I read. Everything I read was accurate. The rooms were very clean and interesting, the breakfast was excellent, the location was handy and the hospitality of Mary the proprietor/owner was great. I would stay here again no question...

Beautiful, warm, and inviting

5 on January 07, 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night in December. I booked it mostly to be close to the mountains to ski the next day for convenience but we may very well be returning. It was absolutely gorgeous. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was unbelievably good. Mary was incredibly kind and welcoming and the restaurant she recommended was perfect. All in all a perfect stay aside from being just a little too short.

Phil and Sydney

5 on October 24, 2014

Had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before or had been that far north in the in the state. It was a really great experience for both of us.

Planning to return soon!

5 on October 17, 2014

This is a beautiful home and Mary makes you feel as though it's your own! We were greeted upon arrival, given a full tour of the house, offered coffee, beer, water and cider donuts and cider that Mary had picked up earlier that day. Our room was beautiful and we were very impressed with the size and comfort. Mary is a superb cook and we were treated to stuffed french toast, baked eggs, cookies and brownies (just to name a few!) throughout the course of our stay. This was our first trip to a bed and breakfast and we are looking forward to returning in December for some snowboarding!

Enjoyed our stay

4.4 on October 13, 2014

Our host was very gracious and attentive. Beautiful house.

Would recommend!!

4.2 on October 07, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, Mary made us feel right at home and helped with all all our questions. Would recommend the Mulburn!

A great B&B - can't wait to go back

4.8 on September 04, 2014

We stayed two nights in August and were very happy we chose the Mulburn Inn. Mary is an excellent, friendly host and the house is spectacular. It is close to the White Mountains, Franconia Notch and Conway.

Definitely one to return to!

4.2 on August 27, 2014

As soon as we walked into the Mulburn Inn and were greeted by Mary's delightful smile, we knew this would be very much 'our sort of place'. It really is a fascinating house with some very interesting history. We loved our room - Washington - lots of space, great bathroom - a must for anyone interested in original 1920's plumbing (but it worked a treat). Decor of the house is spot on - really cannot even contemplate staying anywhere with fancy flowery wallpaper everywhere. Mary has a great eye for subtle style. Great cookies, fabulous innovative breakfast, and delightful fellow guests - very important. Golf course across the road. Could just do with more options for eating out. Tues one place is closed so the other gets v busy.Great access to White Mountains. Would love to revisit.

Wish there were more stars to give!

5 on July 03, 2014

If you are looking for a convenient B&B near the White Mountains or just a relaxing spot in New Hampshire, stop looking and book a room at this fantastic place. I recommend staying for more than one night though, Mary (a genuinely awesome innkeeper) cooks a new hearty and scrumptious breakfast each morning. This isn't your average breakfast of just baskets of muffins, bagels and fruit! Speaking of food, each afternoon there was a plate of irresistible homemade cookies on the table right inside the front door. My favorite were the chocolate chip cookies with cranberry baked in. I'm still thinking about them... The house itself is spacious with multiple rooms to relax and enjoy games, TV, a good book or a nice cup of tea (or wine). There was a nice collections of books about hiking and travel in the White Mountains. These came in handy for us and Mary gave helpful insights too. One of the most inviting parts of the house is the wrap around porch with plenty of rocking chairs to go around. We enjoyed our coffee there in the morning and a beverage there at night. Mary is very accommodating and we will definitely return to spend more time with her! It's no wonder she draws guests from all over the world.

Jewel in Bethlehem

5 on February 06, 2014

This is a terrific destination! Innkeeper makes you feel like family and takes great care of guests. Rooms are impeccable, common rooms have a lot of atmosphere, breakfast is fantastic.

Outstanding in every way

5 on February 01, 2014

We couldn't have been more satisfiied with our accomodations. The rooms are beautiful and so well taken care of. Mary was very welcoming. We felt we had made a good friend by the time we left.. The breakfast was outstanding. We definitely will go back. And have spread the word to all our friends. So much more comfortable than a local motel and for the same price with breakfast include. Check this Inn out. It is Outstanding in every way! And very interesting history about the Inn, too.

Edison and DiMaggio had it right: this inn is terrific

4.6 on June 20, 2013

My husband and I spent three rainy days at the Mulburn in early June. What can one do,we figured: New England weather is unpredictable, and we resigned ourselves To a few gloomy days. Yet we ended up having a blast at this charming Victorian Inn. The place oozes history, has lots of cozy spots where one can curl up and read, and is within walking distance of several fine eating places as well as Bethlehem's famous Colonial Theater. Mary, the owner, loaned me a gortex jacket ( my husband packed rainwear), and we were able to get some hiking in in spite of the weather. Our rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, and the hot water supply excellent. Mary's breakfast is outstanding. Can't say enough about this beautiful inn and we will definitely return!

A gem in the White Mountains :)

5 on September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mulburn Inn on our honeymoon through Vermont/New Hampshire. To be honest, it was a last minute decision (not where we had originally planned on staying), but I'm so glad we chose to stay there! Mary was absolutely delightful. Right away she made us feel welcome (brownies greeted us at the door) and gave us a nice tour of the home. A great historic place! Mary was also more than willing to make dinner suggestions/reservations (we ate at Root- amazing farm to table food!), let us know what activities were happening in Bethlehem, and gave ideas for hikes and other sights to see in the area. We were easily able to make ourselves at home in the large, inviting spaces. A fridge stocked with beer and wine was also a nice touch :) Breakfast was delicious; Mary easily accommodated my vegetarian needs. Everyone staying there was doing something different-- met some great people! The room was spacious and nice, especially for the price. So if you haven't already gathered... we highly recommend the Mulburn Inn and would love to go back!

Amazing little "castle" in NH

4.6 on September 09, 2012

My girlfriend and I had an amazing stay. The room was old-fashioned, but in a "historic" fashion that felt and looked right, with a great character and cozy feel (wooden floors, old but well-maintained wooden furniture, and a high bed with a little stair-step). The bathroom was a little cramped but fine, obviously an update of a space not originally intended as a private bathroom. But really, no complaints about this charming place. The manager/owner/"cook" was great, very friendly, and very accommodating of our vegan dietary needs. Really, the food was amazing! She made delicious vegan biscuits for us, plus organic tomatoes in a homemade dressing, plus homemade granola, and perfect coffee. I wish they ran this B&B as a full-time cafe as well! The working Thomas Edison stove was a nice touch, and the architecture of this historic location is beautiful.

Lovely, historic, B & B

4.8 on August 16, 2012

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Mulburn Inn and we were delighted with everything about it. The innkeeper made us feel like we were her personal guests in her wonderful, beautifully kept, historic home. She is so accommodating, knowledgeable and warm that you immediately feel at home. The breakfasts she prepared were sumptuous and absolutely delicious. We cant wait to go back again!

We'll be back

4.8 on November 14, 2011

We loved our weekend stay at this beautiful historic Victorian inn. We stayed in the Adams room which includes a large bathroom with original pink fixtures. Mary, the innkeeper, was absolutely delightful and offered helpful dining and entertainment suggestions. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. Coffee and tea is available all day, freshly baked cookies were sitting out in the afternoon. We will definitely come back!

Bad customer service

4.0 on October 08, 2011

I tried to get some folks last minute reservations. The whole area is sold out due to foliage. I tried places anyways. Every place that I tried were really nice except for this place. The woman I had talked to was rather rude. She had an attitude as if she was being bothered.

Fantastic stay in Bethlehem, NH

4.8 on September 28, 2011

We spent 1 night at The Mulburn Inn as we drove from VT to ME. This is a fabulous historic house. The history of the Woolworth family and their friends adds to the charm of this B & B. Mary is an energetic and friendly innkeeper. The rooms are huge and well appointed. Very quiet setting and well maintained. We stayed in the Jefferson room, which is a spacious King bedroom, with original features and fixtures. We wished we could have stayed additional days.

Loved it! Best B&B I've ever been to!

5 on August 30, 2011

Beautiful large historic home and delightful host! Large and comfortable bedroom. Large breakfast room with great food and filled us up. Small town away from the tourist crowd but close to Mt. Washington and beautiful Franconia Notch State Park. Don't stay in a hotel, stay in the Mulburn Inn!

We just loved this place!

5 on February 06, 2011

We absolutely loved this place! Very well kept, and not "run-down", like some other B&B's we have visited. Loved using the hot-tub after a long day at the slopes (we were offered $10 off ticket vouchers to Cannon & Bretton woods). Mary the innkeeper was MORE than accommodating! She was welcoming, helpful, easy to talk with, and a wonderful cook. Our room was large, spotless, warm, and cozy. I found myself saying over and over, "I'm so glad we came here!"

Lovely B&B!

4.8 on January 23, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in NH and stayed at the Mulburn Inn. I had read wonderful reviews about it and they were spot on. The inn was quite lovely and absolutely spotless; the decor was befitting of the inn's history, but yet not over the top, as so many B&B's can be. Mary, the innkeeper, was so friendly and helpful, extremely welcoming and really made you feel at home. We loved the intimacy and location of the inn and would go back in a heartbeat. Great value for the price! Highly recommend it!

Can't wait to go back

4.8 on October 23, 2010

We stayed at this inn for our first wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The innkeeper is very helpful, welcoming, and an excellent cook! She made us feel like the house was ours for the two nights we were there. The house is in great condition and the history is fascinating. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. It is centrally located between Crawford Notch, Franconia Notch, and the ski areas. It is a beautiful drive to North Conway for some outlet shopping. We highly recommend the Mulburn Inn and can't wait to go back next year!

Great value for such a wonderful experience

5 on October 19, 2010

Mulburn Inn was a wonderful place to stay. Beautifully restored. So much history in this home. Antiques abound. Access to all the living space on the ground floor. Very comfortable. Spotless. Fire in the fireplace. Glassed in room for serving breakfast is so light and airy. Coffee and tea available throughout the day. Our room was large with a comfortable bed. Very fluffy towels. Free parking. Travel brochures available. Great breakfast. Had a wonderful time visiting with all the international guests. Innkeeper Mary a true pleasure- she does it all. Great value for such a wonderful experience.

Outstanding hostess deserves credos!

4.6 on August 22, 2010

We have experienced many B & B establishments in Canada and the US. Mary's genuine warmth and exuberance for her enterprise was truly outstanding! We particularly enjoyed the many rooms of comfort to our disposal. Her welcoming iced tea/lemonade and homemade chocolate chip cookies are incredible! Lovely flower arrangements, intimate selection of music, candlelight fireplace makes you wish you could stay longer! The town of Bethlehem was very quaint, close to everything the White Mountains have to offer. We will return home, recommending this inn to our closest friends and plan for a date to return in the near future! We wish you the best Mary! Hugs, Des & Claire

Outstanding Personal Service

4.6 on August 15, 2010

I spent 2 nights here with my husband and 2 teenage sons. The innkeeper, Mary, was quick to respond to my inquiries and extremely flexible as I added and subtracted children before we even got there. Mary really made us feel at home, right from the start and throughout our stay. My husband and sons planned to hike Mt. Washington very early on our second day there. Mary not only made them a special batch of scones for their 6:00 a.m. breakfast, but she even packed bananas in a decorated bag for their hike. The inn and town are lovely, and Mary is a delightful host. We are already planning a winter trip with friends.

A romantic and getaway plus

4.8 on November 05, 2009

The two owners were so into helping to make our stay outstanding. They had brochures for every ski area and restaurants in the next town over Littleton. Great History of the actual inn Woolworth the chain procured this for his little sister and her Husband Alvin Ivie who ran the Manhatton Woolworths store and many celebrities including Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMagio stayed here! We would give this place a star!! Pristine and clean and just so awesome.

The Mulburn Inn


  • Nightly Rate $95 - $185
  • Reviews (43) 4.7
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Toll free 1-8004579440

Visit Website »

View details