Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Great stay at the Victoria Skylar for a weekend at The Victoria Skylar (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2016

We had a great stay at the Victoria Skylar! It was just a girls weekend trip to Newport for the first time. Our room was very clean, the breakfast was delicious and Derrek was so nice. I would definitely recommend. It's also in a great location, not too far from the tourist things to do.

View more reviews for this inn


Great old houses with quirky old furnishings, clean but the bathroom could have done with being updated. at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

2.8 reviewed on September 19, 2016

Great location just a few minutes from the main drag or the mansions. The rooms are old as you would expect, the breakfast is at the top of the stairs with a great view over Newport harbour , which are quite steep, didn't bother us but may be a little more difficult for the elderly. breakfast was good, however I asked for eggs and bacon rather than Phills planned breakfast. He was a good host. We enjoyed ouselves preferring to stay somewhere that isn't too clinicle, like a chain hotel.

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at the Samuel Durfee House was excellent at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2016

My wife and I spent a week there and what a fabulous week it was. The house is located right smack in the middle of everything. All the main attractions are within walking distance. The museums, seaport, boutique shops and restaurants are only minutes away. There is a great little pizza place right down the block in case you are dying for a quick slice and a coke. On the rare occasion that you might use your car, make sure you take the 10 mile ride down Ocean Avenue where you can get a beautiful view of the ocean hitting the rocks....just fabulous. Michael and Heather are very warm and welcoming and they make an excellent breakfast. Two thumbs wayyyyyy up!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Experience at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2016

Sarah and Steve Mairs

View more reviews for this inn


Very good breakfast and wonderful view! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on September 15, 2016

Phil makes a great breakfast and the view from the dining room is wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on September 14, 2016

We had a great stay! I love that this cottage was dog friendly and didn't just say that... Rachael had a list of dog friendly restaurants and attractions when we arrived. She also had a small bag of treats for him. She met me at the door when we arrived and we didn't see much of her beyond that point. The room and bathrooms were spotless and access to the house was simple. Everything in town was within walking distance. Breakfast was continental, perfectly simple. We will be staying here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Newport Trip at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 14, 2016

We had a great time in Newport and accommodations provided by the La Farge Perry House were outstanding. Maureen and her staff did a great job.

View more reviews for this inn


labor day 2016 at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.4 reviewed on September 10, 2016

Super nice place, great staff

View more reviews for this inn


A Thoroughly Enjoyable B&B at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Samuel Durfee House is a wonderfully appointed B&B. Care has been taken to preserve its early American heritage in decor and furnishings and the place is spotlessly clean. Heather and Michael are very gracious hosts, thoroughly knowledgeable of the area and helpful in their suggestions and guidance for enjoying Newport. The breakfasts were superb. And all of this wonderfulness came at a surprisingly affordable cost. We hope we return to Newport and would hope to stay at Samuel Durfee House if we do!

View more reviews for this inn


Tuckerman Room at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Room was large and clean, very comfortable for four adults. Comfy beds and pillows. Bathroom was clean but could use a new toilet seat. Monique and Joyce in the kitchen were very pleasant and accommodating to our needs. Front desk was knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed sitting on the porch with morning coffee. Short walk into town but still a peaceful quiet location. Mini fridge was a bonus! Great location to bicycle from!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice! at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.4 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Very nice and great location!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Our Stay at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2016

We had an enjoyable stay - second time we have stayed here. Will definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value/Excellent service at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2016

Our room was clean and comfortable. It was an excellent value. The breakfasts were wonderful and made to order. The innkeeper provided wonderful recommendations for food and activities. She sent me to the best local spots for regional cuisine. We had a great stay! We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


A fabulous place to end or holiday at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2016

We spent 4 nights at Samuel Durfee House and absolutely loved it. Heather and Michael were wonderful and very helpful with planning our daily activities. Our aocomodation in the Doris Duke Suite was perfect for the three of us offering separate sleeping areas and 2 bathrooms with the bonus of an outdoor private deck area. The house was very quiet too which was very important to us. We LOVED Newport and we would definitely recommend staying The Samue Durfee House. Thank you so much Heather and Michael. Cheers Sarah, Steve and Christopher

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Wonderful Service at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on September 04, 2016

Stayed at the Black Duck Inn and was greeted right away by who I assume is the primary caretaker of the Inn - found out she was also the one who cleaned all the rooms. Rooms were spotless and the linens were nicely in place, with a nice arrangement of towels, shampoos, and soaps. Things were cleaned perfectly by the time my girlfriend and I came back after along day out in Newport. As for the food, considering it was my first bed and breakfast, the breakfasts were cutely arranged and freshly made, and tasted wonderful. Complimentary cookies were also pretty fantastic to come back to :)

View more reviews for this inn


Our 2016 Summer Weekend Getaway (Road Trip) at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

3.0 reviewed on August 29, 2016

Beautiful location and excellent service. Mrs. Eden is absolutely amazing!! Delicious food. Area is very peaceful and quiet. Just what we were looking for.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway! at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on August 28, 2016

This bed and breakfast was four blocks away from one of our favorite restaurants, The Brick Alley Pub. It was convenient to all of the activity going on down at the waterfront. The value of this bed and breakfast was unbeatable. The room was clean and comfortable and Alexis was a very sweet and accommodating innkeeper.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our Time at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2016

Rooms are comfortable, clean and welcoming. Love the house. It has such character and ambiance. This was our second visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful first time stay in Newport at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2016

We loved La Farge Perry House, from the inviting welcome to the perfect room. We stayed in the Matthew Perry room and it was the perfect size for a family of 3 (one toddler in a pack 'n play). The breakfast was wonderful and in a beautiful dining room. The innkeeper was very accommodating and sweet with our 2 year old. Lastly, the location was ideal - a 3-10 minute walk to shops, eateries, etc. Definitely recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience in every way at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2016

Michael and Heather are wonderful, charming hosts! The room was immaculate and so comfortable and cozy!! Every morning we enjoyed a freshly made and sumptuous breakfast. The attention to detail was amazing!! The location is perfect and makes much of Newport within easy walking distance. We can't wait to go back. Thanks Michael and Heather. Angela and Alan

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B and B! at Gilbert's Tree Farm B&B (Rehoboth, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We have stayed at Gilbert's Tree Farm B and B two times in the last four years. Not only did the hosts, Jeanne and Don remember us, but they welcomed us like family. Jeanne makes a fabulous home style breakfast, and the room accommodations are very cozy. The cost of stay is very reasonable for the area as well. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Treasure Trove in Newport, Rhode Island at Beech Tree Inn & Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

The Beach Tree Inn and Cottage is absolutely fantastic! The property is well maintained, the owners are super friendly, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast is delicious! 5 stars+!

View more reviews for this inn


Good Affordable accommodation at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast. Walking distance from Thames Str Very affordable option in a very expensive town.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy, comfy at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 21, 2016

Loved our room the Pauline. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Cooked to order. Great deal on the mansions and wine tasting. Make sure they give you the correct coupon for the wine tasting otherwise you have to pay full price.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2016

The location was excellent and the breakfasts were fun. The staff gave wonderful advice on where to go. Very competitive pricing.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value in heart of newport at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.8 reviewed on August 19, 2016

Great bed and breakfast. The master bedroom we had was nice but the private porch could use a little sprucing up.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location in Lovely Newport at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on August 19, 2016

Nice little Inn, with a great location - within walking distance of most Newport sights. The full, hearty breakfasts, with a lovely view are a great way to start the day. Off-street parking is an added bonus since we didn't use our car very much. Our host, Phil, and his staff were friendly, without being obtrusive, and offered good suggestions for dining and area attractions.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
}