Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Newport's Best Bed and Breakfast at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2016

We have stayed multiple times and it is absolutely the best place to stay in Newport. Michael and Heather make your stay one to remember each and every time. One of our favorite parts of each visit is the breakfast. It is always cooked fresh and absolutely amazing, especially the Crepes!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Everything was fine and the staff were very pleasant at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.0 reviewed on July 29, 2016

Everything was fine and the staff were very pleasant

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Stay at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on July 29, 2016

We had a nice stay. Our room was clean and satisfactory. We had great french toast for breakfast - the breakfast staff was very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was the best part of our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


NEWPORT BEAUTY at Reed Rose Cottage Pool and Suites (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2016

This was the second stay for us at this BED AND BREAKFAST. My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary last year, we loved it so much we booked it again this year. We love Charron and Jim our hosts, kind and caring people. The quiche that was for breakfast was fantastic. The cottage is fairly close and within walking distance to the beaches and some restaurants. I can't wait to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay; by far one of our Best B&B Stay at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2016

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Samuel Durfee House in Newport. We absolutely loved it. Michael and Heather are the perfect hosts. They are filled with local knowledge, great recs, and know much of the history of the building and the town. They are kind and pleasant and extremely helpful in all areas. The home is perfect situated and allows for all kinds of exploring. Much of Newport Habor area is within walking distance. Cliff Walk and all of the mansions are within driving or walking distance (for those that like to walk). The on-site parking is such a special treat. Michael can cook and Heather can bake. It is the best blend for very, very good breakfasts and afternoon snacks. We stayed in the Ida Lewis room and loved it. The balcony was a nice place to sit in the morning with our coffee. The home is very clean and really nice. We would come back here in a heartbeat. Whenever we will return to Newport, we will be looking for availability here first before anywhere else.

View more reviews for this inn


Had a great stay at Newport Blues at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2016

The Newport Blues is located on a quiet neighborhood street but is surprising very convenient to everything Newport has to offer. We enjoyed the hospitality of the Innkeeper and the great homemade breakfast each morning with fresh fruit. Room was spacious, clean and in good repair, with A/C. We'll definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Henry Collins Inn, Great stay at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on July 26, 2016

Honestly, when I found this place on line I didn't know how comfortable my night stay would be. It totally exceeded my expectations. Great service, they were really gentle and kind. Master Room No.2 was really clean and comfy. Breakfast was delicious and all fresh. The table was full of different berries, even the the crockery they have is amazing (vintage). On my next stay in Newport RI I will book a room here for sure. -Melba Natalia

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at beautiful quiet inn at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

Cooney cottage was conveniently located to explore all of Newport. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Ms. Cooney's homemade muffins were a delicious start to fuel our fun filled days in Newport!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on July 24, 2016

We stayed in the Blue Jewel. We were upgraded, the room was beautiful. The staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast by Monique was delicious & served with a cheerful good morning. Location was perfect. Close to the waterfront, but nice and quiet for sleeping & sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely inn, delicious food and coffee, great location at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on July 22, 2016

My husband and two friends stayed in a suite at the La Farge Perry House while in Newport for a wedding. The innkeeper was so accommodating, first with our late check-in, and then with my food allergies. She made a delicious breakfast that was gluten-free and vegetarian for me, and the breakfast that the others had was amazing, too! The rooms are super clean, spacious, and so charming. Not a single complaint about this place!

View more reviews for this inn


New Port Blues Inn at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.0 reviewed on July 22, 2016

The room was very spacious, nicely appointed, quiet at night, & the bed extremely comfortable. Only a couple complaints: breakfast hours posted state 8:30-10:00 AM. Our "chef" Joyce was just setting up and starting to cook at 8:30 all three days of our stay, not served the hot meal until after 8:45 AM. The food was decent. The only other mildly irritating occurrence was that the B&B policy stated when booking, that kids needed to be above the age of 9 yrs old, two mornings at breakfast there was a little girl of about 3 yrs old there with all of the behaviors of a typical 3 yr old. She was good for a three year old, but irritating none the less. I enjoyed our stay very much and would stay at Newport Blues Inn again and recommend it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Heather and Michael were friendly and helpful hosts. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, and the home-cooked breakfasts were very delicious. We hope to be able to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend in newport at The Victoria Skylar (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on July 20, 2016

The owners were wonderful. Quiet and gave guests their own space but readily available. Wonderful breakfasts (save lots of room...). A bit far from downtown but a very lovely walk through that area of newport and with parking passes (and lots of spots on the streets in the area) it's very convenient.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Bed and Breakfast! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Great time all around!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Stay at The Victoria Skylar (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2016

Our room was great. The home was immaculate. The breakfast was amazing and delicious. Our first stay at a bed and breakfast, definitely not our last. Would definitely recommend to anyone to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Review of Samuel Durfee House in Newport, RI at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on July 19, 2016

We recently stayed at the Samuel Durfee House, in Newport, RI as part of our honeymoon travels. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are already looking forward to our next trip there! This was our first trip to Newport and Michael and Heather were the perfect hosts...providing us with tips and suggestions to make the most of our stay there. The breakfasts each morning were absolutely wonderful and were the perfect start to our days. Each afternoon, home baked treats (brownies, banana bread, cookies, etc.) were available for a late day snack. The Inn is located within easy walking distance of many shops and restaurants in the downtown Newport area. The mansions are also within walking distance, although are a bit further so you may wish to drive depending on how far you are comfortable walking. We are looking forward to returning to Newport and once again staying at the Samuel Durfee House.

View more reviews for this inn


Tranquil, well-kept venue at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on July 19, 2016

I came with few expectations since it had been many years since I last stayed at a B & B. The things that I found most attractive were: the quiet sweet service of the hosts, the tranquility that the house and grounds evoked and the creative thoughtfulness of the breakfast. I had informed Bernadette that I ate gluten free and she made an appreciated effort on my behalf (and one other guest). I would most definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Newport at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2016

We have stayed on three separate occasions and it has been excellent every time. We have already been thinking of our next stay. Michael and Heather are most gracious, personable and take care of providing that personal approach to each guest. Their location provides a great place to stay and is near anything you would want to see in Newport. Also, the breakfast is to die for, an excellent start to your morning!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on July 15, 2016

Staying at the Samuel Durfee House was one of the highlights of our weekend in Newport. The hosts were gracious and hospitable, the room beautiful and spacious for an antique house and the breakfasts excellent. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This was our first time staying at a b&b. We are normally five star hotel people. We were greeted by a very sweet younger girl who showed us our room. Met another nice lady who had some connection to the owners. Very personable and kind! The room we stayed in was very large. The bed was so comfortable. I was overly impressed at how clean every aspect of that place was. The bathroom was spotless, large, and accommodating. The only downfall was the mild water pressure in the shower. There are a million things to to within a few minutes walk from this location. We had a great time!!

View more reviews for this inn


Newport for a week at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

We had a great stay with Michael and Heather! Stayed in the Durfee room, but check out the suites! Next time I will stay in one of them....just beautiful

View more reviews for this inn


Great Bed and Breakfast!! at Josie's Bed and Breakfast (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

I had just spent the weekend there with my husband. It was our first time in Newport and our first time trying a bed and breakfast place, so we didn't know what to expect. Please note that she does not accept credit cards, only cash or check. But you can easily secure your reservation by mailing her a deposit as a check a week in advance. Josie exceeded our expectations! As someone who is a stickler for cleanliness, I'm happy to report that her place is very clean. I loved the nice cozy decor throughout the home. She is very friendly and she makes the best breakfast!!! Our first breakfast was brioche french toast with eggs and roasted peaches. The next morning we got a fritatta. I enjoyed being able to chat with her during breakfast and learn more about her life as well as Newport. She is a great host and I'd highly recommend her to anyone wanting to stay at a bed and breakfast in Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Ideal Accommodations at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2016

Cooney Cottage is located in an ideal area with excellent access to some of the best sites in Newport. There is ample private parking behind the cottage. The location is within walking distance to the beach, Cliff Walk, Bellevue Avenue, the Tennis Hall of Fame, and the fantastic restaurants and shops on the wharf. It was so easy to leave the car and walk all over downtown Newport. The accommodations were beyond our expectations. The cottage is tastefully decorated and the room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. We were able to bring our dog and Rachel provided a cot to sleep an additional person. We still had more than enough room. Rachel provided a lovely breakfast each morning with plenty of coffee and delicious homemade muffins. A different flavor of muffin everyday. Rachel was also able to provide excellent guidance for dog friendly activities and restaurants in the area. We utilized the dog friendly harbor cruise that Rachel recommended as well as a couple of restaurants. On top of everything else, the price of lodging was very, very reasonable. So much so that we will surely be back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2016

This little bed and breakfast was really nice. It was clean, the breakfast was great ant the host and her daughter were great. Definitely recommend to others

View more reviews for this inn


First time Bed&Breckfast & we loved it! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Carmine & Lisa

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely experience at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on July 09, 2016

My room was very quiet and comfortable, private bath, exceptional staff members. I would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2016

Great couple who run the bed and breakfast. They were so sweet and accommodating ! We had a great experience !

View more reviews for this inn


Quick getaway at Sarah Kendall House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 08, 2016

Can't wait to go back. Bryan was delightful and incredibly informative.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
}