Give the gift of a getaway!

Recent Reviews in Newark, Delaware

Charming and quiet B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on June 08, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast for our anniversary getaway. We had a wonderful time at the inn. Our room accommodations were so nice, and breakfast each morning was delicious! We also purchased the romance package which was beautifully done. A dozen roses, bottle of wine, chocolates, roses petals throughout the room and a lovely basket which consisted of a candle, chocolates, bath soaps/lotions. We will definitely recommend your inn and hopefully be back in the near future.

View more reviews for this inn


A Most Wonderful Stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2015

My fiance and I were celebrating our last anniversary of dating before we will be celebrating marriage anniversaries, and we decided we just wanted a quiet little stay away from Baltimore. When booking the room online, the pictures of the rooms were just lovely -- but they were even BETTER in person! All staff we interacted with were so helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We were even upgraded to the Brandywine suite, which was very romantic (fireplace, whirlpool tub, soft bed). Since we were the only guests that evening on a cold, rainy day, we were even given the option of what time we'd like breakfast. THAT really impressed me, since I used to work in hospitality and am used to the strict breakfast hours. Breakfast had a great selection and was delicious; try the teas they have out! And check out their gift shop, where you can buy tea, teapots, and souvenirs. We took a walk around the grounds down to the stream and through the woods before we left, such a lovely area. Their set up for weddings/events looks really nice as well. Overall, AMAZING experience and we will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


1 Year Wedding Anniversary at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on June 01, 2015

We had planned to go back to Cancun to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Being educators within Baltimore City Public School System just made it hard for both of us to take the time off, this year. So I have a dilemma, where shall I take my wife to celebrate our 1 year? I reviewed the comments and decided RSVP for three days and two nights...... Andrew who was on duty was OUTSANDING!!! The atmosphere, the grounds AND the couple massage was incredible....... Also the sweetheart package was wonderful.... my wife loved it!! I scored some major points this past Memorial Day weekend!!! I highly recommend staying at this Bed and Breakfast if you need to relax and get away..... Christopher and Sherri

View more reviews for this inn


Two night honeymoon stay. at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.4 reviewed on May 27, 2015

After a quick wedding we wanted to stay near our home for the weekend as to not be far away in case of emergencies with the kids. So I picked this B&B north of Elkton. We stayed in the carriage house suite. Very large, nice room. Zero complaints with the suite. We thought the staff was amazing, super friendly, and eager to please. They were fantastic. The only thing I was not a fan of was the breakfast portion of it. It was just meh. Ok I guess, certainly not great. Seemed to me like they were trying to be overly fancy with a spinach quiche when everyone would have been happier with eggs and bacon. "french toast cassarole"?? Again... just scrambled eggs and sausage would be fine. If you are some sorta weird health nut there was plenty of breads, and granola, and fruits. But considering its a "bed and breakfast" I found the breakfast part lacking. Other than that it was a great little 2 day getaway. Would recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Elk Forge review at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.4 reviewed on May 26, 2015

It was nice and clean, but nothing spectacular. There was free wifi, but other than that it seemed that nothing else had been updated in the last 20 years or so. We appreciated the flexible eating time for breakfast, but there wasn't an overabundance of food. We felt we has to get to breakfast early on the second morning before they ran out of fruit!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful attention to details at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2015

This is a quiet, peaceful spot to stay when you are in the Newark area. The inn was elegant and comfortable. We loved the attention to details. Every corner of the inn's common areas had delightful surprises awaiting -- a chessboard, a beautiful fountain, historic stained glass windows, charming accent pieces. We had a great weekend and are looking forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


We will stay again! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on May 09, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. It was very peaceful and a come as you go approach. For example, when we arrived, our keys were left at the front desk with a letter describing where our room was located and what times breakfast was served along with other important info we needed to know. We liked not having to actually deal with anyone. Of course if someone was needed, they could be reached. We will definitely go back. When we arrived, we were also upgraded to a nicer room, still unsure as to why, but definitely no complaints.

View more reviews for this inn


A Quaint Location at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on April 29, 2015

I enjoyed staying at Elk Forge. Check in was a breeze, no forms to fill out or any kind of hassle. We were able to check in early with no penalty and our room was ready. The facility is older but extremely clean. The staff was friendly and non evasive. When we were told we had the run of the place, they meant it. There was no hovering or bothering us all the time. If we needed something the staff was easy to locate and quick to be helpful. Breakfast could have been a little more extensive. An a la carte could be offered to those who wish to have bacon or sausage without having to get the egg casserole provided. Also having more than one waffle maker might be helpful. There was a long wait one morning. Over all I enjoyed our time there and hope to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on April 24, 2015

This was my 1st time staying at a bed and breakfast and I enjoyed every moment with my husband. We have 3 kids and the 2 days and 2 nights were very peaceful and relaxing. We did not take advantage of the massage therapy, but we took advantage of the whirlpool inside the room. If you are looking for a close, but secluded place to get away... This is the place to go -- It was an hour away from my home, but far enough from the kids...

View more reviews for this inn


great night out at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on April 22, 2015

My wife and i stayed here as a belated valentines trip. What a nice view, clean grounds, and friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


recent visit at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on April 19, 2015

My wife and I stayed at the lovely Elk Forge B & B. Check-in was a breeze and the room was bright, cheery, and comfortable. They use a brand of bed sheet there that makes sleeping sooo easy. The food was good, but, the only criticism I have was my own doing. My wife has numerous food senstivities and I neglected to make the owners aware. Had I let them know, I'm sure the morning dining would have been better suited to my wife's needs. The owners and the staff are wonderful. Elk Forge is a great value and definitely the place to .stay in Elkton.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B Stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful time. Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast has an outstanding staff that goes out of their way to make sure your stay is a wonderful one. The breakfast was awesome, the room awesome, and there is a lot to do in the area. I highly recommend you add this B&B as a place to stay and enjoy.

View more reviews for this inn


awesome stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2015

Very personal and romantic

View more reviews for this inn


Mother Daughter Weekend Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2015

Took my daughters (20 and 24) for a weekend away. We were happy to be close to some great museums/gardens or our wish list, but especially happy for the feeling of being pampered at a beautiful little place. Great food started our days and good attentive care as well. Thanks Elk Forge!

View more reviews for this inn


fantastic weekend at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 01, 2015

we enjoyed our 30th wedding anniversary at elk forge b n b. we will definitely go again. everyone there was friendly and helpful. food was excellent and so is the staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Elk Forge at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2015

Great place to get away!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice stay, but not what was expected at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.0 reviewed on March 23, 2015

The rooms were nice and clean and the house is beautiful. The outdoor hot tub was great on a chilly evening. I was unable to pull up detailed photos of the rooms on the web site so I was quite surprised how small the room was and that the ceiling pitched very low, causing a few head bumps. The jacuzzi tub in the room worked beautifully and was very welcomed after a day of hiking. The only workers we saw there was the maid and someone at breakfast whom we assumed was the owner as she never introduced herself. Everything was self-serve including the small buffet breakfast. But, they were responsive when we called them on the phone with a question about the television. Beds were comfortable. There is a close by train track that features quite a few freight trains going by during the night.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful grounds, lovely retreat even in winter at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.4 reviewed on March 21, 2015

Elk Forge is a absolutely wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life,  yet close enough to everything that should you choose not to stay unplugged for too long you can be return to the outside world in under 5 mins. My fiance and I visited for my birthday weekend and it was a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Valley Forge suite which was clean, comfy and very spacious. Staff were cordial and attentive enough, yet remained mindful of those who may have just wanted privacy and were readily available by phone.  The breakfast options were quaint aElk Forge is a absolutely wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life,  yet close enough to everything that should you choose not to stay unplugged for too long you can be return to the outside world in under 5 mins. My fiance and I visited for my birthday weekend and it was a wonderful stay. Our room was clean, comfy and very spacious. Staff were cordial and attentive enough, yet remained mindful of those who may have just wanted privacy, but remained readily available by phone.  The breakfast options were quaint and just enough to begin your day.  Grace,  the masseuse at their onsite mini spa delivered one of the best massages that I've had in a long time. I definitely will be returning to and recommend Elk Forge to anyone looking for a quick getaway :)

View more reviews for this inn


Just like home at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2015

Elk Forge B&B is fast becoming a "home away from home". It has a bit of everything; history, artistic flair, modern gourmet breakfast, comfortable rooms with a relaxing style. The staff are particularly kind and welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


One Night Stay, Strausburg Room at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2015

Stayed for one night with my wife. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet and exactly as described. The Romance Package was well worth the extra money and was set up when we arrived. breakfast was good as well. would love to stay in the summer sometime as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway weekend! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on March 11, 2015

We had a wonderful weekend at this beautiful B&B!! The dining area was set up so nicely and a lot of options to pick from in the morning for breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful if you happened to pass them in the house. We also got massages from the spa and Grace did a wonderful job! Felt very relaxed and refreshed after the weekend :)

View more reviews for this inn


Elk Forge- a place to escape the business of I-95 at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on March 11, 2015

The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was adequate but we had to travel to other restaurants for lunch and dinner. However menus from area restaurants were provided so it was easy to find places to eat. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Lots of fun exploring the surrounding area.

View more reviews for this inn


classic and comfortable at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on February 26, 2015

Excellent service and super friendly staff

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2015

Loved it! The owners and staff were so kind. It's a great place to stay. Will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Weekend!!! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2015

We arrived 10 minutes before they left the front desk and the attendan was more than helpful!! Gave us a quick tour, showed us our room and that was that. We stayed in the Longwood suite and I have to say, it was the best room we've stayed in in a while. We've been all over the world(Japan, Canada, UK, New Zealand) and although it wasnt "luxury" that's not what this place is. It has a home feel to it yet is still spectacular. Incredibly clean, smelled amazing, HUGE living space, fantastic bed, I mean there is nothing negative to he said. I 100% recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Worth what I paid at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.0 reviewed on February 16, 2015

Wanted a few nights away from it all, and using the Groupon, I got what I paid for. We had the most basic room, with no real frills. The room was neat and clean, but very basic. The living areas were warm and friendly, and with no TV's or loud noises, we had our night away from it all. I expected more from the breakfast, but this was my first B&B, so my expectations could have been too high. If I had paid full price, I would have felt like I deserved more. But I do feel like I got what I paid for.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2015

My boyfriend saw this on groupon and I've wanted to go to A bed and breakfast forever. This place was a great choice. I loved the old Victorian house, the furniture the paintings and just the whole set up was beautiful. The staff gave just the right amount of help they weren't overbearing, it felt like it was our own house for the 3 days we stayed. A very enjoyable peaceful stay, We will definitely be coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


This place is AMAZING!!! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 12, 2015

I went to school at the University of Delaware and never heard of this place. Who would've known that it could be so great. Our room was nice and cozy and the Jacuzzi tub put it over the top. Great service as well. I am definitely coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful R&R at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2015

It was my fiancé's birthday so I was looking for a nice getaway for the weekend. I stumble after the place and seen all the good reviews so I book it. It was quiet and relaxing, and the staff was very friendly and help with anything we needed. They provided a tasty breakfast every morning. I would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Days at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on January 30, 2015

Celebrating our anniversary for a two day stay at the B&B was quiet, warm, comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in the Wilmington Room and although small, the bed was comfortable, the two person whirlpool tub was fabulous and the electric fireplace kept us cozy. A romance package of flowers, goodies, chocolate and wine was set up by staff and well done (candles too). We stayed at the end of January and a bit of snowfall was quite beautiful.....but the grounds would be even better in the spring or fall! Most of all, the quiet nature of the location was peaceful and relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}