Recent Reviews in Newark, Delaware

Great place to stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on June 20, 2016

Recently we stayed here and had no issues. The service was great, all the workers were friendly. Rooms were clean when we got there, only complaint is the rooms were slightly smaller than expected and the air conditioner was in the bathroom. We stayed in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, lots of variety from making your own waffles, oats, yogurt, and they also have hot dishes everyday (we had different scramble eggs with bacon and sausage). Highly recommend if your in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Fairview Room at Elk Forge B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on June 17, 2016

We appreciated the phone call from Jen giving us our check in details the night we were coming in. Our room was on the third floor and very quiet. There is a dorm size fridge in the hall where one could store refrigerated items. Breakfast was served buffet style each morning with an assortment of hot dishes, fruit, and waffles.

View more reviews for this inn


Would definitely come back! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on May 27, 2016

I loved my stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A bit disappointing at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

2.4 reviewed on April 22, 2016

The positives - property grounds are great. Especially if traveling with a dog. Person who greeted us was friendly and helpful. Room was quite large. The disappointing - room didn't smell "clean". It was a pet friendly room on lower level so I suppose some mustiness to be expected. There appeared to be some water stains on ceiling, and possibly some mold around it. Would like at least one bar of bath/facial soap, rather than everything liquid out of a bottle. No tissues. The main rooms of the inn could be great, but this one was not.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to spend quality time! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on April 18, 2016

This was a great place for an anniversary celebration. I selected the romantic package which included extras such as setting up the room during dinner with roses and candles throughout. We did not have onsite dining, but the package included a gift certificate at a local restaurant which was fabulous! My expectations were met and far exceeded what I anticipated. The weekend we stayed, the spa was closed. That was the only other thing I wished was available to us.

View more reviews for this inn


Great get away! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

Very inviting and cozy. Quiet, the grounds are beautiful. Service and amenities are awesome. Best time was the hot tub! And walking the trails especially down by the creek.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Getaway! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

My stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. If you're looking to take a break, this is the place to go. The staff made you feel at home and they made delicious breakfast. There are various attractions nearby and the B&B also had many amenities for everyone to enjoy.

View more reviews for this inn


We will be coming back. at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on March 17, 2016

Very nice get away. We will be coming back to this clean, peaceful, relaxing retreat.

View more reviews for this inn


Misleading at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

1.6 reviewed on March 16, 2016

No one to see me in upon arrival; greeted only by an envelope; no clarity where to park (with other residence-look alike structures being adjacent); no hot breakfast as customary for B&B establishments (offering a mere Continental Breakfast is far below the expected quality of the only inlcuded meal, especially, when the accommodation cost is taken into consideration) and then to offer it within an unreasonable time frame (7:00AM breakfast starting hour are found in abundance at hotels, 9:30AM finishing hour is also largely unheard of for B&Bs; ignored/not acknowledged as a paying guest just like those who received careful attention and orientation after my almost 2 full-day stay; no notification of a friend's long distance purchase and personal note arrangement with someone from the inn for a bottle of wine -until that friend mentioned her gift during my casual phone conversation with her on my last evening at the inn - in sum: too many details about this B&B were and are uncalled for. This stay was not my first or second at this type of establishment. It will, however, be my last at this particular inn.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice weekend get away at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on March 14, 2016

Was a very nice stay with a lot to offer. Our first time here and we will be back. Was a nice change of pace from the everyday hotel. Close to attractions and a very helpful and friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming and Romantic at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on February 29, 2016

The atmosphere at Elk Forge is so welcoming! You really do feel like you're just part of the family living in a large estate. We didn't get to explore much of the grounds due to weather but the view made it look like it would be a nice walk/hike. We stayed in the Chespeake room. Everything was so clean and the bed and linens were super comfy! The water pressure left something to be desired but it's honestly the only criticism I can muster. The breakfast was so tasty and they keep a little dish of pastries and cookies out for that midnight snack :) We have already discussed making this a yearly tradition just as a time to reconnect. We loved it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on February 25, 2016

Truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


Great first time at a B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on February 11, 2016

The breakfast wasn't anything to rave home about, but the hospitality of the staff was! Everyone was super nice and attentive! The rooms were clean and space with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. I would definitely recommend Elk Forge as a great place to stay and plan on coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible place. I will definitely come back at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 09, 2016

Lovely B&B. Outstanding customer service and a totally relaxing atmosphere. I will definitely return for another stay

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on January 31, 2016

We stayed in the Valley Forge Suite after purchasing a Groupon deal for the property. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable as was the jacuzzi tub, and the gas fireplace kept the room warm and cozy.

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at elk forge at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on January 25, 2016

Very nice property. The room was outstanding. The food service could've been better.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on January 22, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the facility. The Country Club suite was extremely cozy and the breakfast was top notch! We loved the 2 room suite and all it had to offer. The bed was nice, the bathroom was clean.     All in all, we had a wonderful, relaxing time. We took a stroll on the grounds which was a nice breath of fresh air. The hospitality we recieved was amazing and everyone on the staff was courteous and kind. I would reccommend Elk Forge to anyone looking for a nice little retreat, 5 stars!

View more reviews for this inn


Good place for a honeymoon at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2016

My wife and I had a short weekend honeymoon here, and it was a great experience! This is a renovated colonial mansion, which gives it a very interesting look and unique rooms. It was comfortable and well-maintained - we may come back here sometime!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Historic Home with potential at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

2.8 reviewed on December 31, 2015

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the Elkton Room with a whirlpool tub. The room has low slanted ceilings over the bed and tub, which could be problematic for tall individuals. It is moderately decorated with a small fireplace for ambiance, but lacks essential space to place your overnight bags. The bed was comfortable with it's soft sheets and the bathroom was very clean. It would have been nice to have a bar of soap or even some makeup remover wipes to give it that extra something. The overall look and feel of the Inn are charming and historic as expected. I only gave it a 3 star rating, because I think it could be amazing if they incorporate some practices that truly make their guests feel pampered. The breakfast was just ok...I didn't mind the buffet style, but I think they could have more variety in what they offer, since they aren't serving each individual. Maybe some homemade muffins, french toast, scones and cookies. Other B&B's I have been too, have some small snacks out for when new guests arrive and that really makes your stay feel extra special. I also think, it would be nice to have a K-cup machine, so guests can have coffee or tea of their choosing at all times. I think it would be a good practice to offer guests a Wifi logon. My husband and I used up 75% of our cell data roaming trying to look for things to do in the area. Stayed December 2015

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Bed and Breakfast. Interesting thing, though... at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on December 16, 2015

The room at the Elk Forge was great complete with a fireplace, microwave, fridge, and large tub. Very cozy and comfortable. Service was extremely friendly but hard to find. There wasn't always someone at a main desk to help. The staff did make it clear that if you called the main line someone would always answer but we never used that option. If you are planning a trip to Elk Forge lodge around Christmas time, we would highly recommend calling and asking what is expected during the festival of lights and tour of the Inn. We were not aware ahead of time that we needed to pack our stuff and remove it from our room for several hours on a Saturday night so tourists could view all of the rooms. The festival was enjoyable event but having to pack up our stuff and move it was slightly disruptive and unusual. Other guests felt the same way. The spa/massages were excellent. There really should be two people giving massages for two people as opposed to one person going back and forth. Hot tub was a plus. We enjoyed the breakfast buffets. We would recommend Elk Forge to friends but again, advanced notice of inn tour expectations would have been helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


A Lovely Time at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on December 10, 2015

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We really enjoyed it. Next time, we hope to try one of your beautiful suites!

View more reviews for this inn


One of our best weekend getaway!!! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2015

This place was absolutely amazing..... My husband and I enjoyed everything about this B&B aND aother did our daughter ..... we wanted to find a home away from home where we could relax and have fun. The house was lovely and the service was exceptional. We stayed in the brandywine suite that came with the tub that's actually featured on the site and it was everything we hoped for..... If your looking for a B&B that's beautiful, clean, with great views of the surrounding nature this is the place..... They have near by horse stables where u can ride, wine Vineyard, and beautiful hiking trails. I can't wait until we can go back.

View more reviews for this inn


our first anniversary at the elk fordge. at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on November 28, 2015

It was an excellent experience and a great first anniversary. We had the couple massage the day of our anniversary and we had a awesome time to relax and spend time together.

View more reviews for this inn


The Willmington Room at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on November 24, 2015

I used a Groupon deal for a 3 day/2 night stay here and I'm glad that we did it. It's a cute little place, very intimate setting and the staff really does a good job of providing you with privacy. My only qualm with the place was that there was no one at the front desk to check us in for at least 20 minutes. Someone eventually pulled up tot house and helped us out. Breakfast is good, but is finished being served a little too early. Oh and they forgot to place the flowers I had ordered into my room so I had to remind them.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place for a retreat at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on November 10, 2015

My wife loved this place. Staff was excellent and they made everything as possible to make our stay perfect. I would recommend this place to a good retreat.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed and bread fast at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on November 09, 2015

The breakfast was very good but on the second day we thought some type of breakfast meat would have helped since all the foods offered where either eggs or bread related

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Anniversary Retreat! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2015

My husband and I received a getaway to this lovely B&B in Cecil County for our anniversary. We were very pleasantly surprised and truly made to feel welcome and special by the staff. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


honeymoon stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on October 18, 2015

My son and his new wife enjoyed their stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding getaway all around! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on October 08, 2015

Went here for a little honeymoon because we're short on cash but it was definitely a great getaway from the norm of things. Immaculately clean and detailed historically kept property. Totally blew my mind with the age and originality of the building but it didn't smell like my grandparents basement! Wouldn't even know it was that old if you were blind. Really a beautiful place. And I'm the husband saying this!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

Because weather diverted us from our original destination, we arrived in Newark, DE without a place to stay. Our daughter had biked past Elk Forge and thought it looked nice - and they had a room. So by luck, we discovered a wonderful B&B where we intend to stay each time we visit Newark. The inn is a beautiful historic building with comfortable rooms and spacious common areas with movies and games. Breakfast was excellent. The owner and staff were lovely. Highly, highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}