Oma's Guest Haus Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
60 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect B&B

5 on June 13, 2014

I have been with my parents on a trip to Niagara Falls and we spontaneously decided to stop at Buffalo. During dinner at about 9pm I called Oma's guest haus and we got rooms for that evening without problem. When we arrived we were positively surprised by the friendliness of the owners, the rooms, and the hot tub!! We had a great night and perfect bacon and eggs breakfast in the morning! We will stay for some more days and I can highly recommend Oma's guest Haus to everyone who wants to spend some days close to Buffalo or the Niagara Falls!!


Not for everyone but PERFECT for my family!

4.6 on January 06, 2014

We happened upon Omas Guest Haus by accident and I am glad we did. My husband and I love Bed and Breakfasts' but we have a lot of tattoos which the average person that stays at B&B's really frown upon....but not here! Carl and Denise are so open and welcoming they really make you feel at home. You have to remember this is a regular house that a family lives in that has opened their home to you as a guest....that is why we loved it so much. Our 6 yr old LOVED Carl, Carl took him out to feed the fish in his pond and our son chose to sit with Carl, Denise and their son in the family room to watch TV together and play with their dog...it was like visiting friends or really cool family. We will stay here over and over. We all can't wait to go back BUUUUUT if you are looking for a traditional country like B&B this is not for you....if you are looking for a safe, fun place to stay with an awesome hot tub and tiki bar with warm hosts that make a KILLER breakfast then stay here, you won't be disappointed if you keep an open mind.


What an awesome find.

4.8 on July 24, 2013

Happened upon this B&B during Taste of Buffalo when every hotel was booked or rates were doubled and tripled. We were desperate since we had Bison tickets. We are so happy we found this site and will never stay in a hotel in Buffalo again. Well worth the value. Couldn't rate dining since we didn't eat, but it sure smelled great. It is so close to everything in Buffalo. Our hosts were the ultimate hosts. Even the dog is accommodating and friendly! Will def. be down for a Bills game.


A lovely experience

4.8 on June 06, 2013

Our visit to Buffalo wouldn't have been so awesome if it wasn't for our lovely hosts Carl and Denise! They made us feel at home and helped to make our stay more fun and easy every chance they got. It was my first visit to the USA and I had just come to Buffalo from New York City. Denise helped us navigate the Buffalo public transport since we didn't bring a car. Spent three nights and four days at Oma's Guest House. The house had a personality of its own. The decorations were very creative. We got a twin room. It was really comfortable, clean and cosy. I hope to visit Buffalo again soon and stay at Oma's Guest Haus.


Oma's Guest Haus!

5 on May 06, 2013

Totally the best bed and breakfast ever! Karl and Denise were just fantastic, absolutely lovely people. It's so interesting how a person's true self just shines through immediately, and I felt at home right off the bat because I could tell how genuinely kind the two hosts are. This bed and breakfast has very spacious rooms, a very warm atmosphere, and very kind hosts. If I am ever in the area again I will stay with them, and you should too!


Great Place to stay when in Buffalo

5 on November 14, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B and it was like being Home away from home Karl and Denise are some of the nicest hosts you could ask for the minute you walk in the door they make you feel right at home. Breakfasts were great way to wake up and start your day and the Hot tub was a great way to unwind at the end of an evening, the beds were comfortable and the rooms are big and clean . you couldn't ask for a more convenient location for getting around south Buffalo all this for way less than you can stay in a hotel around Buffalo. This is where I plan on staying anytime I return to Buffalo!


a great place to stay!

5 on October 01, 2012

loved the little details like the Hallowe'en decor, Tiki Bar, hot tub, blues artists pics and more - thanks for a great night - hope to come again D and D


Not a long enough stay!

5 on September 10, 2012

Karl and Denise are both fantastic. Everything they did made us feel so welcome in their home. We were visiting Buffalo for only one night and this was beyond perfect. Room was accomadating to our needs, morning breakfast was homemade bacon and eggs, yum! Wish we could've stayed longer to relax in the hot tub and outside on the patio/bar area. We will defintly be staying again! Thanks for your great hospitality, Sean and I will be recommending Oma's to all we know!


Wonderful!!!

4.6 on August 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Oma's. Karl and Denise are fantastic and the place is cute and a bit funky in the most adorable way. I felt totally at home and a part of the family. They went out of their way for me and were totally fantastic. Breakfast cooked to order daily, inexpensive cost for a stocked fridge full of drinks, warm and inviting ambiance. Next time I will use the hot tub!! Thanks Denise and Karl - it was wonderful.


Excellent value

5 on August 16, 2012

Girlfriend and I were looking for something affordable while in the area - we stayed 2 nights and feel it was well worth the money :) Karl, Denise and son made us feel like family. Would definitely stay with them again :D


Gemuetlichkeit

3.4 on July 20, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing stay at Oma's Guest Haus. The Takacs family made us feel at home. We really enjoyed the "Gemuetlichkeit".


Fantastc!! Wonderful trip!!

5 on July 17, 2012

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Oma's Guest Haus while we were visiting friends in Buffalo for the annual Waldfest Festival July 15, 2012. Karl and Denise immediately make you feel welcome ( as does the rest of the family:) ) They have fantastic "Rain Shower" heads in the showers which makes a body feel great after a LONG day.... There is a hot tub and a great little Tiki Bar in the back to keep the party going! Breakfast was served from 7a-9a which included eggs, toast, bacon, french toast, fresh fruit, coffee, and tea. They are truly respectful of all their guests and wonderfully warm hosts! The decor is wonderful with pictures of the fun they have had through the years and you can't help but feel embraced in their enthusiasm for life!!! Thank you Karl and Denise for your warm hospitality and we hope to return to see you again!! Jersey Bob and Danielle


A great find! Nestled near Buffalo NY and the Beach...

4.2 on June 30, 2012

My husband, teenage son and I traveled to Buffalo NY for 3 days of seminars and stayed at Oma's Guest Haus in Woodlawn NY for 2 nights and would have stayed the 3rd if available. Karl and Denise were wonderful hosts. Our son spent some time with their son hanging out and watching TV in the family room. They graciously accepted the B&B.com gift card my sister had given us. Note: If you have one, mention it ahead of time and give to them right away so they can get it verified & processed during B&B.com customer service business hours. Woodlawn Beach State Park was a nice hike down the main road one evening with a gorgeous sunset. There are several small places to eat nearby. Karl cooked us up nice breakfasts in plenty of time for us to get on the road both mornings. The drive from their door to Adam's Mark Hotel was about 10 minutes and very simple using Route 5. Weekday heavy traffic but moved along well. The Guest Haus has nice places to sit indoors and outdoors to relax and unwind. Take your pick! Our hosts made us feel very welcome. Although it was hot and a little humid during our stay, our upstairs bedroom had a nice window A/C unit that kept us very comfortable. Everything we needed, and a super value too.


as good as it gets

4.6 on October 06, 2011

My wife and i stayed at Oma's on Sept 17. Karl & Denise made us feel like family. We loved our room, couldn't get enough of the hot tub and always felt totally at ease in their home. We would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend their bed and breakfast. Al and Donna Simpson of Nova Scotia


Extra Features at a Bargain Price

4.6 on September 25, 2011

Five stars for rooms and service for the WiFi, hot tub and drink supply. The hot tub is at the back of the house, has good privacy and a liberal dress code. It isi open 24 hours a day. There is a supply of swim suits that people can borrow if they want to. The refrigerator contains a well varied assortment of bubbly drinks and water for a reasonable price. Breakfast consisted of bacon, eggs and toast with coffee and orange juice. Two upstairs bathrooms are shared by four or five rooms. The hall is short so you are close to the bathroom. We were the only guests the night we were there so we ended up sharing with nobody.


Had an amazing wknd at Oma's

4.8 on September 20, 2011

Karl and Denise were very friendly and welcoming, loved the dog and turtle. The hot tub was amazing, with the music setup. Karl's tiki bar was too cool, wish we had an extra day to sit and drink margaritas with them! My only complaint was the twin beds were kinda noisy :-x but I would still go back to Oma's anytime I am in the Buffalo/Niagara falls area! The stay was definitely a good one! Thank you Karl and Denise!


Home Away From Home

5 on September 18, 2011

After travelling from one side of the USA to the other, Oma's Guest Haus truely was a home away from home. And for a travelling Kiwi and Aussie this was no mean feat. Its not a matter of if I return for a second stay but rather when. Karl and Denise are definately the hosts with the most. LOVE LOVE LOVE them!!!!!! Lissa 'Kiwi' Brown!


Fantastic B&B!!!

4.8 on August 22, 2011

My friend and I stayed there June 2011 and it was fantastic! It was the first time I've ever been at a B&B and will certainly not be the last at this place! Denise & Karl go above and beyond to make your stay completely comfortable and make you feel so at home. I felt like I was at a favorite relative's house that I didn't want to leave. And with the breakfast they prepare, you definitely leave with a full stomach. I will certainly look them up again and hopefully stay a little longer this time!


Oma's Haus of the "Blues"

4.0 on June 13, 2011

Oma's... A great place to stay.. and the "best kept home of the blues" secret. Karl and Denise are blues fans and often host many of best blues players and singers.. While there check out the wall of memorabilia and photos in the dining room. Good place to stay. Nice folks. Easy to get along with..


Oma? OMG!

4.4 on October 08, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Oma's Haus in August and had an amazing time. Everything from the room accommodations and breakfast to the company of the friendly family dog were wonderful! Karl and Denise were great hosts! They're attention to detail when it came to making sure my girlfriend and I were taken care of surpasses any experience I've had in even the fanciest hotel. The location of their bed & breakfast home is very close to Buffalo, just a 10 minute drive to the downtown area, as well as a beautiful public beach. We even had a chance to visit Niagara Falls, which was another short ride away. I recommend they're home to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway, a sightseeing adventure, or just a good time with good people. We're definitely going back!


A Pleasant Surprise!

4.0 on September 07, 2010

Linda and I needed a place to stay on short notice in Buffalo and refused to pay the $200 plus for a hotel during the summer season. On a whim we contacted Karl and Denise who welcomed us to their home. We stayed two nights and thouroughly enjoyed their hospitality. Karl's breakfasts started our days with full bellys, and the short walk to the beach was enjoyed both days. Thanks Karl! Thanks Denise! Kepp the bikes "shiny side up"! Regards, Brian and Linda W. Endicott,ny


A wonderful place to stay

5 on September 06, 2010

This place is a diamond in the rough! We had a wonderful time staying at Oma's guest house. Denise and Karl are wonderful inn keepers and made us feel right at home. They are within walking distance from Lake Erie beach which we did one morning. And also a short distance from all attractions. I know I will be coming back in the near future for my son's upcoming wedding events. Thanks for a great stay!


A great Haus

4.8 on May 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Haus in May, 2010. After having read the prior reviews (I agree 100% with the positive comments in all of them), I cannot add much to what has already been said. As to those reviewers who gave less than 5 stars for cleanliness, I can’t imagine what more they wanted. Nor do I see how anyone could complain about “dining” since the ambience is great, and Karl will competently prepare anything you want for breakfast, when you want it. The only reason I didn’t give 5 stars for “rooms” is that, in ours, there was insufficient lighting for reading in bed, which my wife and I like to do every night. If you saw Karl away from the Haus, on his Harley, you would never imagine that he is a super host of a B&B. What particularly impressed me and has not been said in previous posts is that Karl will go the extra mile to accommodate you, regardless of your needs, whether they be for bedding washed with fragrance-free detergent, a heavy jacket for visiting Niagara Falls in less than ideal weather, or whatever. I can’t see him denying – or likely anticipating - any reasonable request for individual needs, and I suspect he would cheerfully meet a lot of unreasonable needs as well. Oma’s Guest Haus is one of the best values in the Buffalo area. I highly recommend it.


We Love It Here!

4.6 on April 01, 2010

I first discovered Oma's a couple of years ago when traveling on business and fell in love with this cute and quirky little inn. Karl and Denise always make us feel so at home - it is like staying with friends. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts yummy and the setting relaxing. The patio and tiki bar are a great place to hang out after a busy day and the hot tub is a big plus!


Oma's - Oh My!

4.0 on October 20, 2009

My partner & I stayed at Oma's for 2 nights when we were going to and coming back from PA. Oma's is comfortable, homey, clean and just a little bit 'different' than what you'd expect from a B&B in this country. It's reasonably priced, has good fresh cooked full breakfast, and is located in a nice working class neighborhood. We spent most of our free time eating and chatting Karl - a very interesting man


My New Family

5 on August 26, 2009

Karl and Denise run a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. It is an exceptional value ($65 a night) as well as being a wonderful experience. I was treated like a visiting family member. You have full access to the house with a hot tub, bar and lounge area, and inexpensive honor fridge loaded with water, beer and other drinks. Rooms were clean and comfortable. If you are every staying in the Buffalo/Niagara area, I highly encourage anyone to stay here (especially if you like the Blues).


one of my favorite B&Bs ever

5 on August 23, 2009

We stayed at Oma's in July with a big group (7 people, including 3 kids and an old lady) and staying at Oma's was like being at home. Everyone in our group liked it a lot and I think that was the first thing we all greed on from beginning of our trip a week earlier. The hosts were wonderful - wonderful hosts, wonderful sources of local info, wonderful company at night. When we needed help with transportation Karl took care of that and saved us a lot of time and money. Speaking of money - not only Oma's is much nicer stay than a generic hotel, it ended up being a better value for our big group too. I would definitely stay there again if I'm in the area, it's a keeper.


very good place to stay

4.0 on May 25, 2009

The owners are very kind and good people. The rooms are charming and comfortable. An excellent value


excellent place to stay

4.6 on March 27, 2009

nice atmosphere. family was kind and very nice, and breakfast was excellent.


An unforgettable experience!

5 on January 08, 2009

There is so much you can say about how great it is to stay at Oma’s Guest Haus. From the hospitality that Karl & Denise provide that is way over the top, to the relaxation that awaits the guests. Whenever I get the opportunity to visit the Buffalo, N. Y. area, it is without question that I want to stay with friends, rather than in a lonely hotel room. And that is exactly what greets you when you walk into Oma’s! Even if it’s the first time you meet them, Karl & Denise & their son Tim, make you feel just like long lost friends and it only gets better as you get to know and experience everything they have to offer their guests.


weekend getaway

3.4 on December 10, 2008

Was a great place to stay, very friendly people...they really made you feel comfortable.


Fantastic stay

5 on December 01, 2008

I went up to Buffalo for the weekend to watch the Sabres and the Bills and had an absolutely fantastic time. Oma's Guest Haus is easy to find and conveniently located, just a few minute drive from both the Bills and downtown Buffalo for the Sabres. The family were exceptional and I really felt one of the family. Apart from the result of the Bills game, I can't think of anything negative to say. I have stayed in guest houses around the World and this is the best one I have stayed at - I will definitely be back !!


Oma's

4.8 on November 20, 2008

very positive!


excellent experience

4.4 on November 05, 2008

Very friendly, warm, and gracious hosts. Very clean and comfortable. will definitely stay here when in the Buffalo area. Loved it!


Oma's guest Haus! Great!

4.4 on October 29, 2008

the house was very comfortable and felt like home. Karl and Denis wee great hosts! clean and homey.


Excellent

3.6 on October 15, 2008

Warmly treated.


the perfect place

5 on October 07, 2008

the whole family is so nice, room is comfortable,breakfast is delicious,everything is perfect, next time i will choose them again!


proper value for money

3.8 on September 18, 2008

Sept 11th - one night


Best experience in New York

4.8 on August 31, 2008

Fantastic experince. Very cosy place and I have never met more helpful, nice and service minded innkeepers.


Thanks for a wonderful stay!

4.8 on August 25, 2008

The short review: Oma's is like staying with an old friend. It's comfortable, definitely not stuffy or fussy, and Karl and Denise may fool you into thinking that it's YOUR house. Pros: Excellent price, honor bar, hot tub, Karl, breakfast both days was delicious, not "fru fru" or "fussy," great dog. Cons: neighborhood could be a little nicer, not "fru fru" or "fussy" (if you're into that kind of B&B). I think this could be my favorite stay in a B&B. We absolutely loved it and it's gotta be the best deal in Western New York.


Exceptional B&B at a Reasonable Price

4.6 on August 19, 2008

The owners of this B&B go out of their way to accommodate their guests & they made us feel very welcome. It is obvious they enjoy their jobs and I would highly recommend this place to anyone we know.


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on August 12, 2008

Although we stayed only one night we really liked Oma's Guest House. Both Karl&Denise are very friendly; the rooms are clean, tidy and functional and definitely homey! I would go back and recommend to anyone for sure. I suggest a photo session with the Harley for a complete experience and although we did not have time for it the Hot tub is probably a must! Berk Usta


Weekend Getaway

4.6 on August 05, 2008

The stay was outstanding and exceeded my expectations.


Very pleasant with warm hospitality

4.4 on July 30, 2008

Our stay at Oma's Guest Haus was very pleasant with wonderful warm hospitality. Karl and Denise provide an atmosphere that say, "We're do glad you're here. Just make yourself at home". We recommend this B&B if you're in the area. s


Oma's Guest Haus

4.8 on July 30, 2008

Carl and Denisse made us feel like family. I strongly recommend this place. Is quite clean, the service outstanding.


Great Place

5 on July 29, 2008

I had a magnificent time! Wonderful care and atmosphere!


very happy

4.0 on July 26, 2008

karl and denisse made my daughter and I like we were old friends...they really know how to make guest confortable and happy...they offer us an oustanding breakfast...and the day we left they woke up very early in the morning ( 5 am) to fix us our breakfast...the rooms are cozy and clean...bathrooms spotless...we are very gratefull with them...and i would highly recommend them to everyone thanks karl and denisse...isabella and romano


Cozy and Relaxing

4.0 on July 25, 2008

Very welcoming innkepers. We felt very relaxed in their home. Very comfortable room and neatly kept. Breakfast was a pleasure also.


Hockey Hattrick - He shoots he scores x3

5 on July 24, 2008

This was a winner for our family. Extremely friendly. Knowledgeable in local area attractions and great home! Could not have had a better expereience and wonderful trip to Buffalo. Would return and recommend! Thank you Carl & Denise.


Oma's Haus

5 on July 21, 2008

A truly charming and unique home with warmth and hospitality from Karl & Denise.


HIGHLY Recommend this BNB

4.8 on June 30, 2008

What an absolutely amazing time we had with Karl and his lovely family. We just had an absolute blast. You couldn't ask for nicer or more accomodating people. The breakfasts were huge and hearty and the atmosphere was absolutely beautiful.


Three Great Nights!!!

4.2 on June 12, 2008

From the moment I pulled up outside Oma's, I knew I was in the right place. The Harley parking only sign and the manicured landscaping proved me right. Karl and Denise met me like an old friend and put any questions to rest about their delightful haus and their hospitality. I felt like a member of the family and was sad when my time was up. I'll be back as soon as I'm in that area.


guest house

4.8 on June 09, 2008

wonderful, wonderful stay! thank you!


renew

3.0 on June 06, 2008

peaceful and conductive to my need for a pleasant weekend away from home. nice personal touch.


Really wonderful stay

5 on May 31, 2008

This was our first trip to a B&B and it was wonderful! Karl and Denise were away, but Tym and Amy took wonderful care of us. We got helpful sightseeing advice, directions, and a delicious breakfast. The room was perfectly clean and the bed was really comfortable. Everybody was so friendly - we will definately be going to B&B's from now on - and we'll come back to Oma's some day. Thanks for a great stay!


The Home of R&R

5 on May 02, 2008

You don't need to leave Oma's Guest Haus to have the best time ever in Buffalo if you van get away from the hot tub and honesty box bar...you might just get a home-made breakfast to die for


Excellent getaway

5 on January 28, 2008

Owner’s hospitality exceeds all expectations they are ready to go out of their way to help and make your stay very pleasant. Very clean and relaxing environment


great

5 on November 28, 2007

It was my first bed&breakfast experience and Karl put really high criteria that will be hard to reach. We thank him for great breakfats, hospitality, sightseeing tour, provided information..... We absolutely recommend it


Felt like home

4.2 on October 03, 2007

We loved our stay at the B&B, unfortunately it was only for 2 nights. Karl and Denise made us feel like home, they are lovely and extraordinary people. The hot tub was very relaxing in the evening (including the blues background music) and the breakfast in the morning was lovely. We received all necessary information and directions. The garden is nicely designed and the Tiki Bar in the Garden will open soon which is supposed to be another highlight of the guesthouse. We loved the Harley ride, Karl gave us and thank the family a lot for a wonderful stay at their house. We hope to return some day and stay there for longer!!! So if you like being with a very relaxed and welcoming family, Omas Guest Haus is definitely the place you want to go.


Our Kind of Place

5 on September 28, 2007

First off, the owners were so very accomodating. our stay was awesome, 2 nights, 2 good mornings with excellent meals that kept us full. Loved waking up in the morning hearing some blues music playing. great atomospher. Will return when in the New York area.


Oma's Guest Haus

Details

  • Nightly Rate $55 - $65
  • Reviews (60) 4.6
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7168251083
  • Phone 1-7168631427

Visit Website »

View details

Top