The Grassmere Inn Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Home away from home

3.4 on July 19, 2014

Comfortable, clean, warm and friendly proprietor and guests, convenient location.


4th weekend!!

4.0 on July 14, 2014

My husband and I wanted to split up the 4th of July holiday weekend but knew it would be quite difficult as most places require a 3 night minimum and it has to include the weekends. The grassmere along with the staff was fantastic and so close to the town. They placed us in the main house, and accommodated our late check in arrival. Pete along with his family were wonderful; it was like catching up with an old friend... He's a great guy and always putting the guest first! Very warm and accommodating and I find myself wanting to stop by to say hi whenever I'm out in the hamptons again! The room was bare boned but very clean, no need to stay in the room during the summer anyway... The hotel was cozy and had an old charm to it which I love. A very nice spread for breakfast along with interesting conversations with the other guests! Will definitely recommend and visit again in the future! Thanks Pete! :0) Your friends Genevieve & Greg Cangemi!


Thanks to Everyone

4.2 on May 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Grassmere Inn in Westhampton Beach, Long Island and I have to say that I was more than pleasantly surprised. I have never been to Long Island before. It was off season, so the dining rating is not valid, but the staff was wonderful. The owner called me the night before to make sure I knew how to get to the Inn and if I needed any special accommodations. I have traveled a lot and I can say that has never happened. The staff were friendly and helpful in many ways to the point that I felt like family. I would definitely stay again and want to thank everyone there for all their help and friendship.


Lovely Hotel and Fanstastic Staff!

4.2 on September 02, 2013

This was our second year in a row staying at the Grassmere, and we had an even more delightful stay this time around. We were expecting our room in the "back house" to be tighter and less comfortable than last year's spacious accommodations in the "main house," but it turned out to be quite charming and just perfect for a family of three. Everything was both clean and worked well. Breakfast was hearty, with a wonderful variety of fruit. The playground and basketball court make it the ideal place for kids. As the array of flags on the front porch suggests, the place also has a very cool international flair to it; we got to chat with guests from Austria and Germany over breakfast and on the porch. One could also not ask for a better location; the hotel is right down the road from a beautiful beach, right around the corner from downtown shops and restaurants, and just a short walk from the Hampton Synagogue. What really makes the Grassmere so wonderful, though, are the folks who run it. Peter is the NICEST guy, who always goes the extra mile to provide the finest in hospitality. For instance, at breakfast he provided fruit for guests from his own stash and lent us his beach pass twice. Then, to our amazement, he allowed us to stay a third night for free only because it had rained the day before and he wanted us to have one nice beach day. The employees are equally gracious and helpful; when we checked in late at night, I asked the clerk on duty, Jackson, if there was anything I could drink a beer from. He found and hand-washed for me an authentic metal-rimmed Stella Artois glass - awesome! The lady who worked during breakfast, whose name I never found out, was also extremely polite, cheerful, and attentive. In short, the Grassmere Inn is THE place to stay in the Hamptons. THANK YOU to Peter and staff for making our stay such a pleasure. We'll be back! Ron, Marisa, and Alexander Georgalis Great Neck, NY


Love the Hamptons!

4.4 on July 20, 2013

We love this old house! It makes a great bed and breakfast. It's comfortable, informal, clean and cozy. We got a great nights sleep on a comfortable bed and a nice hot shower to clean up. A short one minute walk to the town of Westhampton Beach which has restaurants, cafes, delis, cute shops and ice cream. It is in a great location to explore all of Long Island. Wonderful beaches are just down the road. We never thought we could afford to stay in the Hamptons but with the Grassmere Inn we could. We will return again and are already looking forward to another stay. Mr & Mrs K


Loved it! Will go back!

4.6 on July 01, 2013

Great fun. Loved Ritz, the "go to person." Breakfast was perfect with fresh fruit and bagels, muffins, etc.


Charming Place, Pete is Great

4.6 on May 08, 2013

Was looking for a nice quite place to stay for a weekend. Pete the host was outstanding and really went to a huge effort to make us feel welcome. Would highly recommend.


Comfortable accomodations within comfortable walking distance of Westhampton Beach

4.2 on March 10, 2012

Comfortable rooms at the Grassmere Inn made for an extremely relaxing and comfortable stay in Westhampton Beach last summer. Simply, but tastefully-decorated rooms made the decor distinctive, and proximity to town made all it had to offer, accessible. Stores, quaint shops, restaurants, movie and performance arts theatres, all within walking distance of the Inn, with the Beach literally down the road from the Inn, made the Grassmere the perfect place to vacation in order to be central to all places of interest. The staff was accommodating, and when I wanted to extend my stay a night, into the busy weekend, I was told they were booked up. Within a short time, however, my wish was accommodated, and I found myself standing in a beautiful, huge room with a King bed and pull-out couch for the same rate as my original booking, so that I could continue the stay. This example of their eagerness to accommodate every need and request was indicative of the entire stay at the Inn. I would definitely go back.


Can't wait to return to the Grassmere!

4.0 on February 16, 2012

I spent most of my summer last year in Westhampton and found the Grassmere to be a home away from home. Getting away from the city to Long Island was a must and I am so fortunate to have found a place as homey and comfortable as the Grassmere. It's located one block from the main street in town so you have instant access to anything that one may fancy and it's also a 10 minute walk/ 3 minute bike ride to the beach. The rooms are cozy and bright and the staff is always accommodating. I can't wait til the weather warms up so I can head back to the Grassmere and unwind...


Cozy and Fun!

4.0 on February 08, 2012

I spent my summer holiday with friends here last year...Signed up for tennis lessons even though I was a beginner, but that all changed by the end :) The staff was amazing, very skilled and able to adapt to my needs....The accommodation was perfect and we definitely loved the Beach....I really enjoined my stay here, already booked a room for next summer ;) E.A.


Great value, great staff, great location

4.0 on February 08, 2012

I have stayed at the Grassmere Inn several times over the past 7 years and have always had a pleasant experience. The rooms, while not regal, are clean, well kept and what one would expect in a quality Bed and Breakfast. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and courteous. The Inn's close proximity to the beach, town and tennis club make this a special place.


Perfect choice for staying in Westhampton Beach

4.0 on August 30, 2011

Although we stayed only one night, we had a fun, short beach vacation. The cozy accommodations, the proximity to beach and town, and the terrific staff made it a great travel treat. Our room was clean, breakfast on the patio was lovely, and the staff was extremely hospitable and kind. It was so nice to stroll into town for dinner, and the beach is less than a mile down the road from the inn. Also, it was a relief to be in a down-to-earth, real beach town, not a vamped-up trendy scene so often associated with the Hampton towns further to the east. This was only a 2-hour, easy drive from Westchester, not a stressful 3-hour drive to Montauk.


A friendly inn, a great environment

3.6 on July 22, 2011

We stayed for three nights in a large room with private bath. Our little child loved the little playground in the garden, easy for parents to eat breakfast while the child is playing. Walking distance to beach, great restaurants in the area and a lovely cupcake bakery. Very friendly inn owner.


my constant Stay at the Inn

4.2 on July 05, 2011

Just want to point out, that i stay at the inn every year for the past 5 years, the service is great, the prices are just right for the time and location. the place is not 5 star, however it's right in the heart of town with in walking distance to main street, shopping bakery etc.. the same street as the beach and 7 minutes to the synagogue. enjoy!!!!! cw


Relaxing Beach Vacation

4.0 on March 29, 2011

The Grassmere Inn is such convenient place stay, one block off the main street and close to the beach, The rooms are comfortable and the staff makes you feel like family. I have been vacationing in the Hamptons for over 40 years and am glad I was able to find such a relaxing, family oriented establishement. Since I could walk into town I was able to take advantage of all it had to offer. Dining and entertainment is great and breakfast was provide every morning. Thank you Peter Kaplan


The Grassmere Inn - great Westhampton Beach option

4.6 on March 02, 2011

I've visited the Grassmere Inn several times during the past few summers. It is a charming bed and breakfast, with clean rooms and friendly staff. What I love most about it is its ideal location just around the corner from Westhampton Beach's adorable Main Street strip. You really can't find a better location. In the morning, they offer breakfast, which I always find extremely accommodating and convenient (plus, great coffee and hand-cut fruit salad!). Rogers beach is about 3/4 of a mile walk down the road, but well worth the stroll. The walk is picturesque and I've actually come to enjoy it!


What a wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

5 on March 01, 2011

The Grassmere Inn is a charming, lovely Bed and Breakfast, located just 2 blocks from downtown Westhampton Beach and 1 mile from the beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served every morning and is fantastic. There is always seasonal, fresh fruit served. All the employees are helpful and friendly. My family had a fantastic time here last summer and we look forward to our next trip to the Grassmere Inn.


grassmere inn

2.6 on October 18, 2010

walking distance to downtown which was great, not walking distance to the beach, must have a car. decent place for the affordable price, nothing amazing.


Summer Fun

3.6 on September 03, 2010

The Grassmere was a wonderful place! We had lots of fun! Great location!!! Simple & cozy.


I planned to stay 1 week, and stayed 3.

4.8 on September 03, 2010

perfect relaxing vacation - the grassmere is intimate, accessible to everything you would want (town, beach, restaurants, tennis, biking, theater, movies, shopping.) the rooms are charming, the owner and staff is the most accommodating and personal I have met in years. They aim to please, in each and every way possible. all the rooms are charming, each with their own flavor, except that they are all clean, neat, and have plenty of room.


Cute and Casual B&B with great location

4.0 on September 03, 2010

The Grassmere Inn is a cute and casual B&B. Town is only one block away and the beach is only one mile away - perfect for a short bike ride! There are tennis courts with clinics available. Our family stayed there and we really loved the staff - they went out of their way to make our stay fun! Ask about the sailing lessons and aquarium visits.


great secret in the Hamptons

3.6 on September 02, 2010

a great little inn in the BEST location in Westhampton Beach. a block from Main Street West Hampton and a mile from the beach makes this an easy and affordable beach gettaway. Loved the simplicity and the ambiance. great people and so friendly. reasonably priced and really a good deal for the Hamptons!!! would def go again, and REALLY KID FRIENDLY!!


Cute and convenient

4.0 on September 02, 2010

I stayed at the Grassmere Inn with my family in July. We had a great room with a great breakfast! The beach that is close by (about 1 mile away) is perfect for the day or weekend. The innkeepers were friendly and willing to assist in whatever we needed.


Grassmere summer stay

3.6 on August 11, 2010

Very friendly staff, very nice breakfast. Rooms weren't in tip-top shape, but for the money it was a great value.


A Delight

3.8 on March 23, 2010

What a delightful bed and breakfast! We were looking for a great place to rest and recover and we found it. The location is wonderful, the staff is most accommodating and the peace and quiet were most welcome. The beach was a pleasant stroll away and we could not have asked for more. There is no breakfast offered at this time of year so that can not be commented upon but we hope to return there soon when we can have breakfast on the porch.


lovely atmosphere and great tennis programs

4.8 on July 13, 2009

fantastic B&B with tennis clinics available. casual, comfortable, car not necessary. town right there and beach one mile away. Tennis programs are excellent, and each staff there wants to cater to your every need. an absolutely lovely simple, casual and easy weekend or longer vacation.


Nothing Fancy but Pretty Good

3.6 on April 19, 2009

Great location, friendly staff that was quick to help out. We stayed in the off season and it was "loud". We could only imagine the summer season. Especially with no A/C. Very close to main st but it is a long walk to the beach. That's ok unless you are carrying stuff.


great place,great staff, perfect location

4.4 on November 13, 2008

I stayed at the inn a few times this past summer. I had a perfect stay, the place is very neat and cozy, the staff go out of their way to accomodate you and the location is excellent, walking distance to main street and to the beach.


GREAT people, GREAT place

5 on November 11, 2008

Nice and cozy place! Staff is very pleasant and makes your stay feels like home! The accomodations are old, but very clean and neat... :)


Best deal in town

4.0 on November 10, 2008

For the chic Hamptons the Grassmere Inn is alittle laid back. You can go out to the Hamptons and actually have a relaxed time. My husband and I were very happy about that. The place is a short, 15 mins. walk to the beach. The front desk staff will provide you with beach passes. The Inn is old but immaculate. The room we were in had a great large bed. The room had air conditioning but we never used it. My husband and I came out and stayed for a wedding. My husbands shirt need a last minute press and the front desk was more than happy to ask the housekeeping staff to take care of it at no charge. The staff was very helpful with other details about what to do and where to go in town too. The owner was a very pleasant person as well. He actually gave us a ride to the train station at the end of our stay. Great place!


best Hamptons value

4.0 on November 10, 2008

I have stayed at the Grassmere a number of times, both alone and with a group of friends. The Grassmere is a charming, old b &b and the owner, Peter Kaplan, goes way out of his way to accomodate his guests needs and desires. In July, 2008, I was there with 5 other friends. We had a great time, played as much tennis as we wanted and are planning a return trip. Those looking for a "chi chi "resort should not come here but if you want a laid back child friendly place, it's a great choice. Prices are very reasonable for the Hamptons, the staff of mostly college age students are very helpful and the tennis pros are fantastic. The rooms, while not luxurious, (and who needs luxury at the beach??)are well sized and the cleaning staff does a great job. If you are looking for a place where your kids can track sand from the beach in the room and you can play tennis, the Grassmere is a great choice. It is 1 block from town and within walking distance from the beach, altho the Inn will drive you anywhere you want to go - another plus. Also a good choice for an off season weekend or vacation - fall and spring in the Hamptons is gorgeous and without the crowds and traffic. Allin all, I highly recommend the Grassmere and feel any minor inconvenience is well worth the price, good service and courtesy from the owner. MH, NYC


grassmere inn love

5 on November 09, 2008

we loved the whole inn from the location to the service and look forward to staying there again. It was a very fair price and everybody was more the helpful in terms of telling us about west hampton and what to do and how to get around. I have send several friends to the Inn and will con't to do so.


Great B&B in Westhampton Beach

4.6 on November 09, 2008

This is a charming B&B right around the corner from the center town and a 1/2 mile away from beautiful Rogers' Beach. I have stayed here two years in a row now. The host, Peter, is terrific. They serve a wonderful breakfast.


Clean, friendly and fun

4.2 on November 09, 2008

The Grassmere Inn provided wonderful service, a nice clean room and a friendly atmosphere. The convenience of the Inn to the beach, the town and the tennis club made it an extremely good value. Peter Kaplan and his staff were always attentive to my needs. This place is a real value.


Cozy Inn with Great Service

5 on November 08, 2008

I have stayed at the Grassmere Inn several times, and I have never once been disappointed. It is a cozy inn with a great location near the beach. The staff were wonderful and made me feel right at home. It was super neat and clean. The breakfast was always fresh. I would most definitely go back again.


charming and delightful

5 on November 08, 2008

the Inn was lovely as were the outstanding staff. everything about it is personal and charming. The staff does its very best to make sure you are comfortable. it is centrally located to everything, and if you are into tennis, the facility connected with it, is teriffic, with great instructions throughout the day. would recommend it to family and friends without hesitation


B&B w/ beach & tennis pure famly fun

3.8 on November 08, 2008

We had a great time and wnted to just say thank you for a wonderful week. the kids Pearson and Callahan had a wonderful time and tennis game improved so much. Your whole staff made it a pleasure, we will certainly be back next year.


Great beach location

3.8 on August 25, 2008

Stayed here for a couple of days and it was a great location right next to main street. An easy walk or jog to the beach. Everyone was very friendly at the hotel and very helpful.


Comfortable Basics

3.6 on May 06, 2008

I have special needs for sleeping accommodations, and they went out of their way to solve the problem! The room was simple, basic, and comfortable. I got prompt help in pre-trip questions, and a friendly welcome once I got there--after midnight, because of a long flight. Not a fancy, frou-frou place, which I liked. Good location for walking around town. Good value.


Great Get-A-Way

4.4 on July 06, 2007

We had a fantastic time during our stay at The Grassmere Inn. The staff is friendly, and the inn is very clean. The location is a huge asset. The beach is within walking distance, and the center of town is around the corner. Main Street is great, and the town has plenty of options to fill your time. I loved the cocktail hour during the weekend afternoons.


My Stay

3.8 on April 29, 2007

I had a wonderful experience at The Grassmere Inn last summer. The staff was friendly and made me feel right at home. The room was small, but cute, and very clean. As a tennis player, I received tons of private instruction from a great staff. Also, the location is perfect. Very close to town and walking distance to the beach.


The Grassmere Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $395
  • Reviews (41) 4.1
  • Rooms 25
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6312884021

Visit Website »

View details

Top