The Inn at Gothic Eves Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy Winter Getaway

5 on June 03, 2013

This was our second stay Gothic Eves. The Inn is elegant and so charming. Rose is a delight; she’s friendly, attentive, and professional. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We love visiting this area and when it came to this trip, it was a no-brainer where to stay. We had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed our time immensely. Rose’s breakfasts are not to be missed! We recommend this inn for anyone who is interested in visiting the Finger Lakes Region or planning a weekend getaway.


Fantastic Weekend Experience

5 on September 29, 2012

My partner and I were looking for a bed and breakfast at which to have a small wedding ceremony, with guests staying on location and activities both on- and offsite. When we visited Gothic Eves and met the owner, Rose, we knew we had the perfect location. The Inn is elegant and perfectly appointed, and Rose is friendly, attentive, and professional. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and there are a number of amenities on the grounds like a hot tub, fire pit, hammocks, and picnic tables that make for a relaxing atmosphere with a variety of options available. Rose’s breakfasts are not to be missed and wherever possible use fresh, local, organic ingredients. Rose was very helpful in coordinating the event and, as we were unfamiliar with the area, provided creative suggestions and excellent recommendations for caterers, restaurants, and anything else we needed from the region. This allowed us to have a wonderful weekend that all of our family and friends enjoyed immensely. The size and variety of the Inn’s common areas (and careful coordination by Rose and her excellent staff) made it possible for our guests to move from event to event in a unique manner. We recommend this inn for anyone who is interested in visiting the Finger Lakes region, and particularly for anyone looking for an intimate and unique site for an event.


The escape from everything

5 on September 25, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and attention to detail that went into our stay. Rose was exceptionally delightful and took care of everything for us making our stay stress free. Would highly recommend this B & B. We will be going back.


Perfect in every way

5 on August 08, 2011

We could not have asked for a better experience. The bedroom is large with a king size bed. Rose is a wonderful hostess and goes to any length to ensure your comfort. The sitting room is equipped with a flat screen TV and fully stocked fridge with complimentary nonalcoholic beverages. There is a front porch swing to wile away the hours. A great place to sit back and relax.


Wonderful experience

4.0 on April 26, 2011

Roman and Rose have done a wonderful job in their B&B. We had a great time. See you again sometime!


Well worth your time and money

5 on April 03, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently spent a lovely weekend at the Gothic Eves. Our room was beautiful, the breakfasts we had were out of this world and the service and friendliness of the owners was highly appreciated. I highly recommend you stay here!


Cozy & Satisfying

4.6 on November 24, 2010

Very welcoming hosts without intrusiveness. Excellent breakfasts w/ a local emphasis. Oh, & the wood fired outdoor hot tub was a treat. The Falls at Naugatuck are spectacular & less than a mile down the road. Other than that not too many sights nearby. Not far from the wine trail & very close to the town of Ithaca which was a mixed bag of counter -culture & blue collar. An interesting stop on our trip & one we would not hesitate to repeat if just to experience the Inn's laid back graciousness.


Perfect Place to Relax

5 on November 11, 2010

The house was very inviting and Rose and Roman were just wonderful hosts! My husband and I looked in every room and decided that it didn't matter which room we stayed in, we just wanted to come back! The breakfasts were amazing especially sitting around the fireplace. I can't wait until next year when we come and stay at The Inn at Gothic Eves.


Simply a pleasure!

5 on October 27, 2010

The inn was beautiful, Rose and Roman are the best hosts! They are extremely accomodating and helpful. We really felt both pampered and at home. Some of the best breakfasts we've ever had. The leek and swiss omelet was out of this world! We will definitely be back!


Wonderful, elegant inn

4.6 on October 26, 2010

This is just a beautiful inn. Our room, the Bordeaux Suite, was large and elegant with a very, very comfortable king bed. All in all, a great value and a wonderful place to stay. Rose and Roman are very gracious and welcoming.


An outstanding experience that I look forward to again.

4.4 on September 28, 2010

My husband and I often stay at B&Bs, and this was among the best. We enjoyed everything, from the beautifully restored house and gardens, to the room and common areas, plus breakfast, which was a souffle-like French toast with local sliced apples and blueberries. Great coffee too! Roman and Rose are warm and friendly yet professional. The walk downtown to a cool local place was easy. I plan to return.


Good time.

3.4 on August 28, 2010

An enjoyable overnight stay. Gracious host. Interesting conversation. Fabulous brakfast.


The owners of this B&B made you feel very welcome.

3.8 on August 17, 2010

This B&B is in an excellent location with mostly all organic foods for breakfast. We were made to feel welcome and invited to attend a neighbor party by the hosts. Breakfasts were excellent.


Loved our stay at The Inn at Gothic Eves

4.6 on July 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Gothic Eves this past July. We had a really great stay. The beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious. Rose also helped us with recommendations for dinner in the area and then made reservations for us. The hot tub was so relaxing (especially with a little wine). I would definitely recommend this place to others.


Finger Lakes Wine Country tour

4.4 on July 31, 2010

We used this as a base to tour the Finger Lake wine country. It's in a good location to see both Cayuga and Seneca Lake wineries. The breakfast was fresh, varied and excellent. Roman and Rose are superb hosts with just the right touch of interaction with guests. One caveat, The Inn is on route 96 which has truck traffic, so for a more peaceful sleep the windows need to be closed.


charming inn, beautiful setting

3.8 on July 22, 2010

Rose and Roman are very welcoming and accomodating. Breakfasts are terrific. Bed was very comfortable and room was spotless. We enjoyed our stay!


July 17-18, 2010

3.6 on July 22, 2010

I enjoyed the comfortable and welcoming atmosphere at the inn.


A Place I Would Love to Return To

4.8 on July 21, 2010

Rose and Roman took wonderful care of us at the Inn at Gothic Eves. We arrived hungry and tired and with no dinner reservations or knowledge of where to go. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished and were charming and cozy. Rose immediately recommended a place close by for us to get dinner and went the extra step of calling to make a reservation for us. After returning from dinner, we went out to soak in the rustic wood-fired hot tub. It was a perfect relaxing way to end the day, soaking under the stars. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever slept in away from home. The next morning after we had breakfast, Rose was kind enough to furnish us with maps of the area and to provide us with helpful recommendations. She again went the extra step in the evening and offered to call to make a dinner reservation for us at the Hazlenut Cafe, where we had an excellent dinner. The option to book a massage was a nice touch that we enjoyed. I am looking forward to staying at the Inn at Gothic Eves again.


Great place to stay

4.0 on July 18, 2010

Great place to stay, very relaxing and comfortable. The atmosphere was very relaxing, the rooms are charming. the breakfast was wonderful and the hosts were very nice and accomondable.


The perfect romantic getaway!

4.6 on April 24, 2010

Wonderful rooms and excellent food from a gracious host that made us feel welcome and pampered. A perfect location right in the middle of wine country, with plenty of antiquing ang day-hiking nearby. Rooms were nicely apponted with local antiques and well maintained, while the grounds were meticulously gardened and beautiful. The spa services were worth every penny.


What a fantastic stay!

4.8 on March 24, 2010

Everything was amazing! Located close to Ithaca and within reasonable driving distance of Watkins, the Inn at Gothic eves was a perfect place to stay. Our room (Ivory room) was quite nice. The bed was comfortable and well stocked (including games and national geographic!). The food was delicious, all locally or even home grown! And be sure to take a soak in the outdoor wood heated hot tub. That was the perfect end to the evening. Couldn't have asked for more.


Visit to Trumansburg

2.8 on March 19, 2010

The inn keepers were very welcoming and warm, but we were a bit disappointed in the stay. In past experiences the Inns offered the guests a bit more. There was no bottled water or cold drinks available to the guests. The only evening snack was some microwave popcorn. In past experiences we were greeted with a plate of cookies or some cheese and crackers, a small bottle of wine or something special like chocolate etc. There was only one pillow each and they were very flat. The inn keepers were extremely nice people and for that reason alone would return - but hope to see a bit more value for my buck. A nice room is only part of the reason you choose to stay at a Bed & Breakfast.


Wonderful stay!

4.6 on February 18, 2010

The Inn at Gothic Eves is extremely clean, and the innkeepers are genuine and very accommodating. Breakfast is DELICIOUS, and the natural hot tub is a great touch to a romantic getaway. We'll be back soon!


Cozy

3.8 on January 19, 2010

Relaxed atmosphere, easy to unwind, breakfast is very flavorful without being excessive, conveniently located for walking distance to dinner.


Warm, relaxing, and welcoming!

4.8 on December 15, 2009

We loved this bed and breakfast! It was right down the street from friends we were visiting and perfect for access to the town of Trumansburg. At the last minute we were upgraded to a beautiful newly renovated suite which was just perfect! Our locally-sourced breakfast was delicious and the service was top notch! We will be back for sure!


everything was perfect!

4.6 on November 12, 2009

Thanks to Rose and Roman for a lovely weekend. Our stay in the Cayuga Suite was perfect and we loved your hearty breakfasts and delightful conversation.


excellent find just outside of cornell

4.6 on November 10, 2009

The breakfast was excellent,the rooms clean ,the bed very comfortable and the hospitality superb.A great alternative to the overpriced shabby dives in adn around Ithaca


cozy get-away in wine country

4.6 on October 20, 2009

This was a great place for a long weekend in the fall. Wine tasting, fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere, beautiful lakes and hiking trails make this location a perfect destination. The proximity to Ithaca is an added bonus if you like to visit a college town.


Our Mid-week Getaway

4.8 on October 18, 2009

We were welcomed by Roman and given the tour of this lovely B&B. The house is gorgeous, filled with lovely antiques and spotlessly maintained. We stayed in the Sewing Room in a beautiful, comfortable sleigh bed with attached bath. Lovely. At 10 p.m. we ventured into the wood-fired hot tub where we soaked our tired bones after a long day of hiking. What a great invention! Breakfast was fresh and delicious. We'll definitely be back.


Gothic Eves was fantastic

4.6 on October 14, 2009

Not only are the rooms immaculate and gorgeous, but Rose & Roman are friendly and enthusiastic about the area and their guests. You definitely can't go wrong at Gothic Eves. Definitely do NOT skip breakfast because it is fantastic!!!


Fabulous

4.6 on October 09, 2009

Rose and Roman were endearing. The service was excellent. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The hot tub was an added bonus.


Gothic Eves B&B

5 on September 15, 2009

It was my husband's birthday and the Inn keepers were so accomodating. They steered us in the right direction for everything: where to get a wonderful dinner, the best wineries, etc. It was one of the most memorable weekend getaways for us and we will definitely be back!


Making the Finger Lakes Special

5 on September 04, 2009

Rose and Roman at the Gothic Eves B&B in Trumansburg made our stay and breakfasts delightful. It was our wedding anniversay too, so the stay at the B&B really made it special. Top notch B&B, friendly, lovely breakfast eating rooms, BEST bedroom on the top floor, with fabulous view and natural lighting. The B&B is very 1855, loved the antiques, furnishings, tastfully done. Food delish, gardens of B&B and location amazing. The town of Trumansburg is also so friendly and we recommend highly, very close to winery tours, Ithaca, and great hiking, and pottery... so much to do, did not have enough time. thank you, Michelle & Eric. We will come again!


Absolutely Lovely!

4.0 on September 02, 2009

The breakfasts were splendid. The service was marvelous and the atmosphere was majestic.


clean, hospitable accommodations

4.4 on August 28, 2009

My husband and I were returning from Niagara Falls, Canada, driving through the Finger Lakes region, when we decided to stop overnight halfway on our seven hour drive home. The Inn at Gothic Eves B & B, owners/innkeepers, Roman and Rose, were very hospitable, though not overbearing. After a busy, back to school rush, they were still willing to accomodate us (at the last minute) for the night. I must say that their guest rooms and house itself were immaculately clean...a must for me because I notice every speck of dust everywhere I stay (just because a house is full of authentic antiques doesn't mean it has to be filled with antique dust). The housekeeping staff deserves applause for their hard work. We enjoyed a mattress that was just right, great pillows and comforter set, and plush towels (robes are available for use, too). We especially liked listening to the sound of the ocean from the nature sounds selection on the radio/alarm clock. Fresh, organic ingredients made our homemade, simplistic breakfast tasty enough to long for second helpings. The house is decorated with antiques and photographs of loved family members. The architecture of the house is lovely and a work of art itself. I wish I had a chance to see the surrounding grounds, enjoy a dip in the hot tub or converse a bit more with the innkeepers. All in all, our stay at the Inn at Gothic Eves was a relaxing, enjoyable experience. One downside...it was a shame I couldn't access my internet e-mail because I received a 20% discount for last minute reservations the exact time that we were there! Oh, also, we put a pillow in front of the window for privacy (lace curtains) because we couldn't put the beautiful Roman shade all the way down because it would block the air conditioner.


Two day stay

3.6 on August 26, 2009

We had a relaxing. comfortable stay. Great breakfast with delicious local fruits.


Charming inn with gracious innkeepers!

3.8 on July 30, 2009

The inn is full of beautiful antiques and accessories. Breakfast was delicious and the innkeepers were friendly, interesting and efficient. We'll tell our friends!


Elegant and inviting inn

4.8 on July 29, 2009

Warm and friendly innkeepers--they thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable! Flowers, plants and antiques surround you. Delicious breakfast sent us on our way.


This is a fantastic B&B!

4.6 on July 22, 2009

We love staying here annually. Rose, Roman and the whole family make our stay comfortable and rememberable. The breakfasts are wonderful! The rooms are very nice, especially the suites in the new Potter House. We always look forward to next year and our stay at Gothic Eves!


A B&B worth coming back to!

5 on June 12, 2009

My wife and I have been staying at B&Bs in our travels for over 20 years. We've developed our own rating system, and Gothic Eves falls into our highest category - the "This B&B was so enjoyable, we WILL find a reason to return to the area so we can stay there again!" And we have. Earlier this week, my wife had a function to attend at Cornell, so we stayed with Rose and Roman for the second time. It is well worth the 10 mile drive up from Ithaca. Rose and Roman have done great things with both the Main House and the Potter House, and Rose's breakfasts are not to be missed.


Excellent experience

4.8 on October 22, 2008

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and decided to stay a few extra days. We stayed in the golden room and the bed was quite possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The ambience is very warm and inviting as are the inn keepers, Rose and Roman. The food they prepare is scrumptious. We had fresh squeezed orange juice, organic egg omelets with a sharp cheddar filling, sauteed pears, flaky delicious french toast and the wonderful local favorite brand of coffee "Gimme Coffee" which is rich and smooth but not bitter. We also enjoyed some time in their old-fashioned wooden, fire-heated hot tub which is located in a secluded area of their yard. It was so soothing and peaceful. On the second day we received a couples massage in a specially designated room in their "Potter House. Glorious. The two masseuses were professional and gentle yet effective. Rose and Roman are very cool. They are very knowledgeable about Ithaca and the areas surrounding. They're both so pleasant and accommodating. They simply leave you to do your thing and encourage you to have a great time. The Inn is very close to everything of interest in the area. We visited Taughanock Falls, Buttermilk Falls, Ithaca College and Cornell University which has an amazing suspension bridge over a gorge. "The Commons" in downtown Ithaca are great for food and shopping. There are also plenty of necessities like drug stores, supermarkets and such close by. A few blocks away from Gothic Eves there are a few GREAT restaurants as well. The Hazelnut Kitchen is AWESOME, a little pricey, but worth it, There's also The Pourhouse which is great pub food and there's even a great little Chinese food place. We will definitely be back to stay with Rose and Roman as soon as possible! A really positive experience. felt really relaxed and at-home.


Beautiful and charming, convenient, awesome service

4.6 on August 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed there for a few nights to visit the wineries in the area. The rooms are beautiful and have lots of personalities. Rose and Roman, the innkeepers are very welcoming and knowledgeable of the area and made us feel very comfortable. We love the home made delicious breakfast every morning! This is definitely a place we'd recommend our friends and families to stay. It is a 5 minute walk to small charming downtown Trumansburg and about a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Ithaca. We will definitely stay at this place again if we were to visit in the future.


Great Innkeepers

3.8 on July 13, 2008

Some innkeepers are clearly a good fit for task. From the initial booking phone call to our departure Rose was the model host. Making us welcome, providing extras to insure our comfort (hot water for tea and a place to snack after our 7 hour drive before we went off to the wedding event an hour later), sharing family stories and explaining details of the "Wine Trails". Breakfast Preparation was a team event with Rose and Roman working before we arose. The aroma of coffee and breakfast was all the wake-up call we needed. As Roman continued with food prep, Rose saw to our every need at breakfast: explaining the source for the locally roasted delicious coffee and other menu items. After fourteen years, it is obvious they still love to care for travelers--what a difference it makes! Stewart & Toni--Vermont


Hidden Gem

4.8 on October 17, 2007

Charming Victorian get-away nestled in the hills above Ithaca - surrounded by antiques, guest enjoy a comfy bed and a marvellous organic breakfast. Decorated with flowers from your hostess' garden.


Return to the elegance

4.8 on July 31, 2007

This bed and breakfast is exactly what a relaxing and gracious weekend in the wine country should be. This Historic turn-of-the-century mansion has been restored to its original Victorian elegance. It is tastefully decorated with period furnishings, delicate accessories, and interesting collections. In the rooms with private baths, antiques, brass and carved wood beds you feel like you have stepped back in time. Rose and Roman’s recommendations for restaurants, wineries, and beautiful water falls made our visit something I return to often in my memory, a moment of beauty and grace in a hurried world. We especially enjoyed returning from a sunset washed meal to a soak under the stars with some great wine, in the wood stove hot tub. Of course the beautiful (and gigantic) bed was so comfortable with the mattress pillow and down comforter, it was a challenge just to get out of bed in the morning. But the sun filled breakfast room with interesting guests and fairytale gardens made up for leaving our comfortable room. One morning we sat on the porch to watch the village wake up in plush bathrobes provided in each room. The Adirondack chairs and with cups of delicious coffee were the perfect way to start a vacation day. The innkeepers took the extra time to share with us the beauty and grace of one of the most amazing places to visit in the US.


Doesn't get better than this

4.6 on July 07, 2007

Absolutely a fantastic place. When I come to Trumansberg I always stay here. Fantastic place, and wonderful hosts. Beds are perfect and meals are the best in town.


Excellent place to stay

4.4 on June 29, 2007

A perfect place to wind down. The location makes it easy to find and, after dark, you sleep in complete stillness on wonderful beds. The breakfast is tasty and generous, and the grounds are extensive and landscaped with gardens. Great hosts. I'll go back.


nice place, great location

4.2 on April 16, 2007

This is a lovely and very well-located B & B. The innkeepers are extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining and activities. We had a light but elegant breakfast of crepes and lots of fruit around a big dining room table with interesting and friendly folks. On Rose's suggestion we had dinner at the PourHouse - walking distance in T'Burg. A friendly neighborhood place, with live local music, and surprisingly good food! T'Burg is a great place to stay because it is close to Ithaca, but also close the the wineries and to beautiful Taughaunnock Park. Highly recommended.


The Inn at Gothic Eves

Details

  • Nightly Rate $189 - $279
  • Reviews (48) 4.5
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6073876033
  • Toll free 1-8003877712

Visit Website »

View details

Top