Victorian Bed And Breakfast Of Staten Island Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

A peace of serenity

5 on June 05, 2014

A few words to describe this place, heartwarming, comfortable & simple. The B&B, was like a second home with a old feel. Many of the furniture was antique but well maintained. The bedroom was clean, simple & comfy. The breakfast was delicious, French toast along with other varieties. The hospitality we received upon arrival was greeted w/ kindness & attentiveness. Overall, amazing place :]


An Outstanding Tranquil Stay

5 on February 16, 2014

The moment I walked into Danuta's home I experienced the tranquility & serenity I was seeking. I was enchanted with the interior, surrounded by beautiful antiques & collectibles that I love..upon entering my beautifully spacious decorated room, instantly I knew my 3 day stay would be amazing, and that it was. The bed so very comfortable,the linens superb..the lovely fireplace mantle in the sitting area..the floor to ceiling windows,looking out to the quaint street..the shared bathroom meticulous..Danuta was so kind, not only a wonderful hostess but such an interesting person to converse with..Her breakfast was delicious..would make anything you liked, along with fresh rolls,croissants,fruits & delicious coffee....I did not want to leave,for I felt so at home..however I will be back most definitely..for a few days retreat...Thank You Danuta..for a much needed,comfortable memorable stay! EXCELLENT!


Def recommend place for Antique Lovers!!!

5 on January 24, 2014

The Place is beautiful and the antiques make a special and outstanding place to stay, combined with an excellent service that Ms Danuta provides. It makes the stay nice and relaxing. Very good breakfast, anything you needed, a great choice of herbal teas, clean bathroom, clean and comfortable bedroom. All nice! Thank you Daria (Jersey UK)


Reposant

4.0 on October 25, 2013

Que rêver de mieux qu un séjour à new york , sachant que vous trouverez le repos au calme dans un cadre verdoyant après votre longue journée découverte le matin vous succomberez au petit déjeuner prépare par Danuta, qui vous permettra de prendre des force pour votre prochaine excursion Je conseille cette adresse sans probleme


UNBELIEVABLE & UNFORGETTABLE!

5 on September 17, 2013

It’s very hard to think of something to say when 30 other people have already said exactly the same thing. So I’ll just add that it’s all true: the gorgeous historic house, the antique décor, the welcoming atmosphere, the elegant and spacious bedrooms, the satin bed linens and cloud-like mattresses, the generous and delicious breakfasts suited to your individual tastes and requests… But most importantly, the owner who is more like a wonderful hostess than a landlady. Also, much has been said on Danuta’s hospitality, kindness and attention to her guests. But here, at least, I feel privileged to be able to share a very personal experience. During my stay I had a serious dental emergency. When Danuta saw I was very upset and nearly hysterical, she sat me down and, like a good psychotherapist, started talking to me – told me a story from her own experience, then started asking me questions, and before I knew it, I had relaxed and nearly forgotten all about my problem. Then she told me to get in her car (I don’t drive) and spent a whole day locating a dentist who could see me at such short notice and on a Saturday, making the appointment for me, and driving me there and back. And on many other occasions she always took interest in my moods and problems, and was always willing to listen and to offer her input. I had heard B&B owners in New York offered tiny closets at exorbitant prices. But here I had basically a self-contained unit – a large bedroom and a spacious veranda converted into a cheerful kitchen – at the price of 1 room, and very reasonable at that. What else? Staten Island is a welcome change of pace after Manhattan; the buses run often and on schedule; the 30-min. FREE ferry crossing is a rare treat for those who like to be on the water; there’s bus service straight into Brooklyn. I was in tears all of my last day there. It had all added up to an unbelievable, unforgettable vacation, the best in years. Alla Itkis Toronto, Canada


Wonderfull place

4.4 on July 23, 2013

My family (three young kids) stayed for four nights and had a wonderfull stay! Danuta makes you a great breakfast, what ever you want! A perfect base for a full day ManhattN. By car it takes you 7 minutes tot the ferry, wich brings you near the statue of Liberty, directly to ManhattN for free! Danuta can tell you also a lot of the history! We will come back!


Outstanding stay!

4.4 on July 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Victorian B&B and did not want to leave!! From the moment you walk into the place you feel like you stepped back into a time when lushness was the order of the day. You are greeted by the Lady of the Manor, Ms. Danuta whose quiet and calm demeanor automatically makes you release any stresses you may have had on your journey there. As you enter the sitting room, your eyes are first drawn to these two Italian marble fireplaces that just makes your jaw drop. The vintage furniture and lighting are so vivid you can actually imagine people from eras gone by sitting and laughing in this space. Breakfast choices were wonderful. For someone like me who is not a big breakfast eater, there was a fresh fruit salad that was absolutely perfect. I could have sat at that beautiful table and talked to Danuta all day. I could not have asked for a more comfortable room to stay in. It was fresh and clean and quiet. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. I have stayed at other B&Bs in the city and this one is head and shoulders above them. Victorian B&B will be my number one choice of lodging whenever I am in town no matter how long or how short my stay.


Weekend

5 on May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend. Thanks so much Danuta. The beds were so comfortable and the chairs in the room, we just sank into too. This was perfect after walking alot throughout the day. Breakfast was great too, and loved that there was coffee and tea available if we were up early before breakfast or late at night before bed. We were just so blessed and thankful for our wonderful weekend get away.


A gem on Staten Island

4.4 on September 09, 2012

On a recent trip to New York, my husband and I stayed at this B&B and was pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was yummy. Danuta goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. We will stay again next time we are in the area. D Coyne - Massachusetts


Best bed and Breakfast I Have Ever Stayed In.

5 on July 08, 2012

I have stayed in many B&B's over the years and can say without doubt this is my favourite. The rooms are incredible. The antique furnishings are magnificent. Breakfast was wonderful and the hospitality and service Danuta provided made the experience even richer.


Excellent, original, inexpensive place to stay in NYC

4.6 on May 10, 2012

This B&B is being run by a wonderful lady, ms Danuta. She devotes all her efforts to her business. The rooms are outstanding, the atmosphere is very good and calm, and the breakfasts are rich and delicious. I would recommend this place to everyone!


our second visit

5 on November 25, 2011

We stayed here two years ago and couldn't wait to get back. Danuta is an excellent host and made us feel at home while visiting the big city. Made visiting New York perfect.


Book it / sehr gutes Preis-Leistungsverhaeltnis

4.2 on November 22, 2011

The 4 of us (2 couples) stayed there for a week in Nov 2011. We had the entire top floor for us (2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom), which was great. Danuta is a star. The breakfast is definately outstanding! We came to NYC for the Marathon and Danuta makes a customised all you-can-eat breakfast. We were mad on the potatos (carb-loading) so Danuta made potatos for us every morning... always the way we wanted (boiled, fried etc.). We were also free to use the kitchen to make some food at night. Danuta really makes an effort to make her guests comfortable, e.g. she gave us a lift to the marathon start on sunday morning 7:30 am.... hospitality/service does deserve 5 stars. I have also scrolled down the other reviews and I would like to state the following: 1) Yes, I can imagine that the house may get hot on a hot summer day since the house has no such insulation which one may know from continental Europe, BUT: its a Victorian house and if you do not want Danuta to switch off the AC when making the bed, you should try with telling her! I am sure if you tell her in the morning that you will leave the AC switched for a reason she will not touch it. 2) It is Staten Island and not Manhattan in the end of the day, which means you have to travel a bit to reach Manhattan. For us that was no problem. Buses are going quite frequently (every half hour and in rush hour every 20 minutes). Same frequence for the Ferry. I'd say it takes between 1h - 1.5h from Danutas door to downtown Manhattan. 3) Dinner on Staten Island: We usually had dinner somewhere in Manhattan, but there are also some places nearby, eg. a Mexican bar which has great Tacos... All in all I do recommend this place if you do not mind the travelling to Manhattan and if you are looking for an inexpensive but clean and comfortable stay. If you are looking for a modern 5 star highstreet hotel you may better book a modern 5 star highstreet hotel and not a Victorian B&B..... Nils from Germany


Superb stay

4.0 on September 22, 2011

This really felt like home away from home. We felt pampered and the accommodation is very comfortable. The food was lovely and we appreciated the attention to detail.


An excellent place to stay at when visiting NY City

3.6 on August 24, 2011

I stayed at this B&B with three youngsters and the owner went out of her way to please them. We had oddles of space on the top floor of the house all to ourselves. New York City and all the attractions are within easy reach. Excellent value for money.


Breakfast was lovely but BEWARE in summer the house is disgustingly hot!

2.0 on August 12, 2011

Neighborhood was kind of lower income and not what we expected. Parking was on the street if you could find a spot in front of or near the house. Neighbors on all sides had pools and were using them playing music and setting off fireworks till after dark. Interior of B & B itself was lovely but was extremely HOT! No AC so we never used any other rooms. It took most of the night for the one window AC in our room to cool our room down to where we could sleep comfortably. Because of the horrible heat, we left the AC on when we left for the day so our room would be cool when we went to bed that night but upon our return around 11 p.m., found that the AC unit was turned off all day most likely when the beds were made. So once again the room was horribly hot and it took a long time to cool it down again. Since we were paying for the room, the landlord should NOT touch the AC! We did not like the fact that the bathrooms were also HOT with no AC! Terrible to get out of a shower and sweat or go to the bathroom and sweat while sitting on the seat. Very uncomfortable! Breakfast was a lovely spread but because the house was not kept at least somewhat cool, after one cup of tea, we broke out in a sweat and were sticking to the chairs. Guests should NOT have to sweat! It was VERY uncomfortable for the price you pay to stay there. You would think there would have been SOME desire to keep the guest house cooler from what is charged to stay there. Not recomended for people who hate to sweat. Not recommended to stay in the summer or any months that the temperature is over 75!


A wonderful, convenient experience!

5 on July 12, 2011

On a beautiful tree-lined street near transportation, this charming house is a treasure and Danuta Gorlach is a congenial and effective hostess. I was delighted to experience the surroundings and charm of the heyday of Staten Island's beautiful homes with all the modern conveniences. This home is a relaxing getaway and each day begins with a wonderful, healthy breakfast. It is convenient to Manhattan, but a world away as well. Excellent value for my money and I will definitely return.


Staten Island Retreat

4.0 on July 11, 2011

The B&B is on a quiet Street removed from the huzzle of City life. The ferry parking is easily reachable by car and very reasonable at $7/day. The morning starts with an abundant breakfeast which is both imaginative and very very good. The hostess does everything in her power to fulfill the guests whims and basically makes you feel right at home. If there is a drawback it would be that bathrooms are shared, however with the usual amiable guests this is not a problem.


Merveilleux séjour

5 on July 10, 2011

We stayed three nights and we were more than satisfied on all accounts. The Victorian Bed And Breakfast Of Staten Island is like an oasis from another era and a great place to relax after visiting Mahattan during the day. My highest recommendation indeed. Merci beaucoup!!!! Marc Roy (Québec) Canada


Awesome stay!!!

4.0 on June 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights the week-end of May 22-23. Danuta is great, she made us feel very welcome and the food was excellent. Thank you Danuta for making our stay a great one, we are sure to be back! Salutations from Ottawa, Canada. Rebeca and Yanick


Friend from Georgia!

5 on April 30, 2011

I stayed in april with my son. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were comfortable. Ms. Gorlach thought of everything and very knowledgeable of the house and the area. The breakfast was out of this world. We very much enjoyed the stay and learning about the house. Hopefully will get a chance to go back to stay and visit with her.


From Richmond County Orchestra

5 on March 20, 2011

A guest conductor from Italy stayed at the Victorian Bed & Breakfast on Staten Island. Not only was he completely happy with his accommodations, but Danuta Gorlach, the innkeeper when out of her way to make he did not get lost in transit. We highly recommend this bread and breakfast.


I FELT I WAS IN A DIFFERENT ERA!

5 on May 17, 2010

If u like the romance of the victorian times, this is the place for u! I loved it! the beautiful victorian house was restored by this lovely woman named Danuta and she has done a wonderful job of it.This quaint B&B is very well kept and the rooms are very clean.You are served a lovely breakfast and ur hostess will try to meet ur every needs.This is a perfect place to spend a romantic getaway or if ur in town for a business meeting..im sure if u stay in this lovely B&B u will not regret it..... Way to go Danuta!!!


Great Stay!

4.6 on January 01, 2009

Fantastic breakfast, exceptionally clean, wonderful furnishings. The surrounding neighborhood may seem a little sketchy, but it was actually very quiet. Highly recommended.


Great hospitality and charm

4.8 on November 19, 2008

We stayed 9 days at Danutas B&B and we really was treated well at the breakfast table! Our "host" was very cosy and hospital -we all feelt it as an oase in the raoring Big Apple, so it was a charming spot to rest in during the nights.


A delightful experience

5 on October 27, 2008

We recently returned from an east coast trip. Several days were spent in Staten Island and my husband researched and booked a three night stay at the Victorian Bed and Breakfast of Staten Island. We found our room to be spacious, comfortable, and lovely. The bath next door had a superior shower and all of the comforts of home. Breakfast was consistently excellent with fresh, delicious fruit, granola, toast and eggs. Danuta, a warm, interesting woman, is a pleasure. Our experience exceeded expectations.


Lovely B&B!

4.4 on August 18, 2008

Lovely clean rooms, along with a very a gracious hostess made for a great stay. Not far from the free ferry, with parking costing $5-7 per day. Recommend this B&B for those who like to get away from the NYC pace and noise. Nice quiet neighborhood and tasty breakfast too!


Review of Victorian Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on August 05, 2008

The stay was outstanding, the service, value, the dining. And the room was okay.


Quiet, Good service

4.0 on August 04, 2008

Friendly and accessible and beautiful.


Outstanding

5 on July 31, 2008

Quite simply, Outstanding

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your appreciation.Danuta Gorlach


Lovely home

4.2 on January 09, 2008

The house is beautiful, and the innkeeper, Mrs. Gorlach, is the soul of hospitality.


We loved Danuta's home!!!

4.0 on October 21, 2007

Me and my parents stayed from sometime in July 2006 for about 6 nights, and I've gotta say it was the VERY BEST TIME I've had at a B&B it was our first time at B&Bs I stayed in another ones afterwards in other cities and nothing compares to Danuta's at all. Her place is immaculate and cozy, the house is so beutiful that takes your breath away and she is so detail oriented that is reflected in every single piece of furniture and her service... she makes you feel so pampered that you just don't want to ever leave! Thanks Danuta!!! Greetings from Naples Florida ( Dafne ) and Mexico city ( Miguel and Maru)


Harkening to days gone by

5 on May 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Victorian Bed and Breakfast from 5/11/07 through 5/16/07. This is our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and I have to say that I believe Danuta has thoroughly ruined us for any other Bed and Breakfast's. Our experience there vastly surpassed all our expectations. We were looked after as if we were family! Our room was cozy and comfortable. Our bed was just right and our down comforter and pillows kept us comfy and warm. From the moment you walk in you feel "at home." As for the breakfasts...they were simply amazing. Danuta sets such a beautiful table that you almost don't want to eat the food! The house is furnished all in antiques and we ate off antique dishes, drank from period glassware and even ate with real silverware. Danuta is an excellent cook and an exceptional hostess. It was difficult to tear ourselves away from her each day for our trek to the city. The bus stops at the corner and drops you off right at the Staten Island Ferry which gives you a free ride into the city. Definitely the best tourist bargain available! There is no better bargain to be had in New York City, period, end of statement. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting New York City. We live in California and came out for our daughter's college graduation, but we are already plotting a return trip to the Big Apple and we will stay at Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We can't wait! Will and Mayra, Ontario, California


Little treasure of warm and authentic hospitality

5 on May 17, 2007

ear reader, these lines are aimed to share with you the experiences we had at Danuta's Victorian Bed and Breakfast in Staten Island. Danuta's house is about 40min taxi drive away from New York JFK airport at normal traffic conditions and lies in a green, quiet and safe neighborhood with many other villas. For those aiming to see Manhattan, the bus stop is just 1 minute away with direct connection (approx. 15 min to the Staten Island Ferry), small shops and restaurants can be found on the main street near Danutas' house. We felt particularly at home with Danuta as she shared her beautiful house with us, along with all the history the walls (and sometimes Danuta) can tell you. The warm and honest hospitality you can experience at her house has become rare in the days of anonymous five star hotels around the world. Coming back from Manhattan, Danuta's place was perfect to relax from the crowd and noise of the city. In case of questions, Danuta was very helpful to get us "Tourists" a perfect start on Staten Island and Manhattan. As the other reviews already stated, breakfast is fantastic and Danuta is very sensible related to her guests preferences. The two rooms we used were both very comfortable, good beds, large (for New York City measures huge ;-) ) bathrooms. All the small details are taken care of. Of course, the whole house is very clean (what amount of work!). If you arrive by plane, make sure you print out a map from yahoo or other to check that the taxi driver makes the right directions... GPS systems have not made their breakthrough into NYC cabs yet. For the next visit to New York, we are looking forward to stay again at Danuta's place.


Victorian Bed And Breakfast Of Staten Island

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $135
  • Reviews (34) 4.5
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7182739861
  • Mobile 1-3477335059

Visit Website »

View details

Top