Fort Place Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.1
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.5

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

Fort Place

2.6 on July 09, 2014

I was given the entire first floor so had lots of room. The only cool place was the bedroom with a window air conditioner and ceiling fan. The location for moving about New York was fantastic.


above expectation

5 on July 28, 2012

I spent 15 days at Fort Place-just outstanding. Paul is a great host,big hearted man and very helpful.Everything was perfect.I didn't see Paul everyday but everytime I need to ask something I just wrote a note and he replied back.The bed was comfortable,Wi fi excellent,breakfast more than enough.You feel like coming back home after a long day visiting Manhattan.The sourroundings are safe,opposite deli not too bad for emergencies,laundry just opposite,few minutes from the ferry terminal,ferry every half an hour, room rate reasonable compared to tiny rooms in the heart of Manhattan.With a 29 dollars weekly metrocard you can go anywhere.THANK YOU VERY MUCH PAUL FOR MAKING MY STAY ENJOYABLE


above expectation

5 on July 28, 2012

I spent 15 days at Fort Place-just outstanding. Paul is a great host,big hearted man and very helpful.Everything was perfect.I didn't see Paul everyday but everytime I need to ask something I just wrote a note and he replied back.The bed was comfortable,Wi fi excellent,breakfast more than enough.You feel like coming back home after a long day visiting Manhattan.The sourroundings are safe,opposite deli not too bad for emergencies,laundry just opposite,few minutes from the ferry terminal,ferry every half an hour, room rate reasonable compared to tiny rooms in the heart of Manhattan.With a 29 dollars weekly metrocard you can go anywhere.THANK YOU VERY MUCH PAUL FOR MAKING MY STAY ENJOYABLE


Excellent New York City Starting Point

4.0 on January 19, 2010

The owners were very helpful but allowed us our own space. The location was excellent. We walked to the Staten Island Ferry (about four blocks) and took the bus at night for safety reasons and it is up hill. The room and bathroom were very clean.


spacious, calm and elgant rooms

4.8 on July 30, 2009

we chose to stay here because we loved the look of the rooms, the furniture and the bathrooms. As we suspected it is an artistic, elegant and spacious place. Together with the boat ride from Manhattan it offers peace and calm after a long day exploring the city. Paul was very accommodating too when we had an extra guest - and it was great to see his paintings for real.


Perfect for NYC visit

4.4 on June 24, 2009

We decided to try this B&B because we figured this is the best location for staging our trip to NYC, since we could park the car here and walk a few minutes to the Staten Island Ferry, and we were very pleased with our choice. Our room was very large, comfortably furnished, bright with daylight from windows all around, and everything was very clean. The owner was extremely solicitous to determine our needs and never intruded, and we could come and go as we pleased. It's hard to imagine any better accommodations for these prices. When you cost out your trip, don't forget to weigh the free parking at the B&B and free ferry to Manhattan, one of the most scenic, exciting ferry rides anywhere in the world, with spectacular views of Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty, Manhattan skyline. You could save a hundred dollars a day in parking, valet, transit and tolls. This B&B was well-kept and clean. the breakfast was light as you'd expect and of good quality. Ours was served waiting for us in our private dining alcove beside our bedroom, and we had sole use of a small refrigerator and bathroom with clawfoot tub. Be sure to ask the owner to explain the bathroom arrangements. They were comfortable and good but our "private bathroom" was down a short hall next to another bedroom which was unoccupied - voila, our "private bathroom." Not exactly as expected but just perfect. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We truly enjoyed our stay and the owner seemed a kind, interesting, generous fellow, a furniture designer and maker with some interesting pieces on view around the house.


Loved it!

4.0 on May 19, 2009

Location great, easy access to ferry. Had own floor and bathroom, very clean. Breakfast quite adequate. Host very friendly. Would stay again.


Happy & would do it again

3.0 on October 15, 2008

Good stuff: Large room & big bath; convenient location; fresh continental-style breakfast; small fridge access. Less than good stuff: Outside road noise (incredibly loud); sharing the bathroom with poor door lock; old TV without cable access. The innkeeper, Paul, welcomed us in a reserved manner but seemed to want no further contact--which was fine with us! We were able to find whatever we needed (i.e. fan to block noise, extra towels, etc.). We did everything on foot and really appreciated the free Staten Island ferry!!


Good price-performance ratio

3.4 on August 14, 2008

Very close to the ferry (only few minutes to walk). Nice, clean and large rooms (we had two rooms and our own bathroom on one flour). Breakfirst was rather simple but ok. Would recommend to come back again. Very reasonable for visiting New York / Manhattan.


Family Friendly; a find

4.2 on July 22, 2008

The location was perfect for us to show the kids (8 & 4) Manhattan on a budget. We walked to the ferry, no hassles. 30 minutes from Mid-town; mostly on the boat. Loved it. Great host. Two bedrooms one bath on our own floor. Perfect situation. Charming and well appointed. Fresh fruit and bread for B'fast. Small fridge, dining table and lots of space. Kids didn't like the rabbit ear TV with limited channels, but got over it quickly. Wonderful ethnic food choice everywhere. Reasonable. Neighborhood was dense and urban. Prepare to hear some noise and rough language but folks were friendly. No troubles. Market across the street a real plus for getting sundries, snacks and a six-pack after the walking tour of Manahttan. We'll be back.


Say bye-bye to expensive Manhattan hotels

4.0 on January 09, 2008

My wife and I spent a week at Fort Place, saving hundreds of dollars that would have been wasted on an over-priced, crowded, dirty Manhattan hotel. The Staten Island ferry is but a five-minute walk away. It was great to see the City by day and come home to a quiet, clean and private place at night. I would recommend this B&B to any couple wishing to see the Big Apple without going broke. And while you're there, check out Steiny's, a local bar you'll see on your way to the ferry. Run by Fiona and Tommy, you'll never enter a more friendly bar in your life.


Truly A Pleasure!!!

4.6 on September 24, 2007

This was my first stay at a B&B and it was a wonderful experience. The innkeeper, Paul was so pleasant. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Relaxing with breakfast in the morning was marvelous!! I would recommend the Fort Place B&B to anyone. The proxmity to the Staten Island Ferry made my trip to Downtown Manhattan (the Statue of Liberty & The Seaport/Pier 17)outstanding. I look forward to going back.


Hidden SI B&B Treasure

3.4 on July 21, 2007

I am a Manhattan resident who works in Staten Island. I am very much into adventure, local culture and history--architectural or otherwise. I recently stayed at the Fort Place B&B (June 2007). The Fort Place B&B is a (hidden) treasure for many reasons: (a) it is convenient both to my place of employment and the ferry; (b)the Victorian architecture is absolutely wonderful; (c)the ease of "checking in and checking out" was a plus; (d)I had a top floor room WITH A PRIVATE BATHROOM--quite a value; and (e) the proprietor was pleasant, engaging in conversation. Thus, I rate this B&B above average. My rating of the dining (or breakfast) is not totally fair due to the fact that I requested no meal--I had to leave early for work. Nevertheless, travelers and visitors cannot go wrong spending the night at this quite subtle and lovely B&B.


Comfort to the nth degree

4.8 on March 07, 2007

The first thing you notice about Paul and Patricia's place is how comfortable you feel; almost deja vu. The room we had was on the top floor and was very spacious and clean. We shared a bathroom on that floor (no one else was there that day) and although it needs a bit of updating, it served its purpose well and was also clean. The building was quiet, even though there is a corner store across the street. This place was truly a find! I'd definitely return. Kudos to Paul who was very accomodating and has excellent timing when delivering breakfast.


Fort Place Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $135
  • Reviews (14) 4.1
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-7187722112

Visit Website »

View details

Top