Shorecrest Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
53 Reviews

Write A Review

Highly Recommend Shorecrest B&B

5 on July 25, 2013

Excellent accommodations, breakfast was great, hostess was extremely pleasant, great time.


Serenity

5 on January 13, 2013

Just a short drive from Orient Point you will find the Shorecrest B&B over-looking Long Island Sound. You wake to the views of the water. Coffee and tea await you for your morning walk on the beach. The dining room is decorated for royalty complete with a gourmet breakfast.


The Perfect Experience

4.0 on January 08, 2013

Marilyn was the perfect hostess. Greeted upon our arrival with a cheerful smile and was gracious throughout our stay. Breakfasts were delicious and the company sublime! The surrounding wine country added to our experience.


Our special anniversary getaway

4.6 on December 05, 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Shorecrest B&B, where we stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary, and all I can say is "Thank you, Marilyn"! We arrived late Friday afternoon, for a 2 night stay, and immediately felt at home. The Inn was charming and warm. Our room (The Silk room) was everything we expected. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. Everything from the decor, the linens, towels, and bathrobes were warm and inviting. During our stay, Marilyn (the owner/operator) gave me a tour of the 4 other rooms, and each room was special in it's own special way. Every room at this Inn was carefully decorated with every attention to detail. On the main level, there's a lovely living room (with roaring fireplace), dining room, library and sunroom. Let's talk about the dining room....Marilyn served us delicious breakfast each day on pretty china, over freshly pressed linen table clothes and napkins. No stone was left unturned. We were also treated to coffee, tea, cider and snacks in the living room throughout our stay. I would highly recommend this B&B to family, friends, and whomever reads this review. We look forward to coming back during the summer months, so we can enjoy the beach, which is just steps away from the Inn. With kind regards, Ronit & David

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Ronit and David for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shorecrest next year, it was a pleasure having you stay, and check your email for specials that should be winging their way this evening to former guests! Happy holidays!


What a great weekend?

4.8 on October 22, 2012

My family and I had such a great time at the beach house and can't wait to return next year for what i think is going to be an annual event!! Everything couldn't have been more perfect. Keep up the grest work Shorecrest!!


A Victorian Seaside Escape

5 on October 03, 2012

The Shorecrest is a charming B&B decorated with Victorian furniture, antiques & folk art, located across the street from the LI Sound. We loved the warm, inviting ambience & the gourmet breakfasts.


Weekend Get Away

4.4 on September 11, 2012

Shorecrest was beautiful. Everything from the gardens to the rooms were spectacular. The flowers were in bloom. The rooms were decorated with beautiful antiques. The breakfasts were homemade and delicious. The service and atmosphere were excellent.


Very Nice B&B

4.4 on September 06, 2012

We had a two night stay at Shorecrest, our first time at a b&b. The Inn was lovely, clean, quiet everything we expected. The innkeeper was a little cold to us, although seemed very friendly to the other guests. Other then that our stay was great!


Pure Bliss

5 on August 13, 2012

Beautiful location -- charming home -- delicious food -- gracious accommodations -- looking forward to a return visit!


Charming B&B

5 on August 10, 2012

Shorecrest is a charming B&B run by a lovely English owner. She is devoted to antiques, flowers, and fine food.


Shorecrest B&B

5 on July 26, 2012

Lovely grounds welcome you to Shorecrest B&B. Marilyn, the owner, was helpful with suggestions for activities. Room was furnished with antiques. Most comfortable bed I have slept on away from home. Excellent breakfast!


A Great Place!

4.8 on June 24, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a stay at Shorecrest and were so glad we did. The staff, especially Marilyn, were great and the house was immaculate and comfortable. We felt right at home.


Centrally located wonderful bed and breakfast in North Fork

5 on May 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Shorecrest- we had stayed at this bed and breakfast 5 years ago. We loved our stay both times at Shorecrest. Marilyn, the innkeeper, makes her guests feel welcome and at home. Marilyn knows all about the North Fork and will answer any questions one might have. The rooms are spotlessly clean and decorated with a Victorian elegance. The rooms are made up daily - we went for breakfast and when we returned to our room shortly after breakfast, the room was all clean with the bed made up and the bathroom all tidy with fresh towels. Our room had a spectacular view of the bay. Breakfast is served from 9-10 but there is coffee, tea, muffins, fruit for the earlier riser. And let's talk about breakfast- a casual yet elegant experience - scrumptous with both hot and cold dishes to choose from. After eating this delicious breakfast, you will be ready to hit the wineries, which are all close to Shorecrest. We hung around for a little bit after breakfast and enjoyed sitting on the enclosed porch reading (there are board games and books to choose as well as the NY Times). Although there are flat screened TV's in the downstairs parlor and in our room, we found it unnecessary. One of the evenings, we walked across the road to a path that Shorecrest owns that leads down to the beach. The grounds are like being in a park-like setting- just beautiful. When we return to the North Fork, we will always stay at Shorecrest....


Wonderful getaway

5 on February 26, 2012

Got a great Living Social deal and took my girlfriend on a surprise vacation. It was our first time to the North Fork and it really couldn't have been a better trip. Wine tasting, beautiful views, the breakfast at the Shorecrest, and the hospitality of Marilyn made this likely the best trip I've taken. Even when the key to the room we were supposed to be in had been lost, we were upgraded to the Silk Road Room (which is BEAUTIFUL!). Marilyn made us reservations at restaurants prior to our arrival and set up a wine class at Waters Crest Winery, making this trip an absolute breeze. I would stay at Shorecrest again in a heartbeat!


Lovely Winter Weekend

4.0 on February 12, 2012

Received a Gift Certificate to Shorecrest and found it to be even lovlier than the pictures online. Marylin was friendly and welcoming, and we spent the afternoon enjoying hot tea in the library before going out to dinner. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. So many nice touches from the books everywhere to the candy and crackers on the coffee table, the carafe of water on the dresser, the shampoo and conditioner in the bath. Leave your name and the date of your visit on a sea-polished stone at the front desk, and if you can - stay more than one night!


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on October 12, 2011

Columbus Day Weekend we stayed at Shorecrest B&B for three nights and it was a wonderful, relaxing time. The room was immaculate and smelled fresh and clean. There are charming decorating touches everywhere. The common rooms downstairs all have gas fireplaces that add to the ambiance. The Innkeeper Marilyn is very warm and hospitable and a wonderful cook. The breakfasts were absoulutely delicious. The breakfast table looks like it is right out of a magazine. We can't say enough. Surrounding the B&B are beautiful gardens. If you want to stay at a really immaculate, comfortable B&B with lovely decor check out Shorecrest. A sure winner, you will love it. We will be back!!! (And a personal note, thank you Scott we loved it)


Lovely time at Shorecrest...

4.0 on December 14, 2010

I'm very particular and a bit skeptical when searching for a place on the web. I think the the vibe, location and comfortable accommodations have all come together...and this B&B, directly across from the water, does. I loved the tea service and the room we stayed in was very relaxing. I could have slept another few hours. Great breakfast and conversation. A great place to decompress especially in the winter.


A Wonderful Stay At Shorecrest

5 on August 17, 2010

We recently had a wonderful holiday in a delightful Bed & Breakfast called Shorecrest in Southold USA. Great food, Private Beach & Vineyards to visit. If you are looking for peace & quiet then this is the place to kick back relax & enjoy all that the Inn & surroundings has to offer.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

4.2 on June 28, 2010

We wanted to get out of the city for a weekend and relax in the North Fork and enjoy the Food and Wine Festival. We had a fantastic stay at Shorecrest. Marilyn is wonderful - hospitable and knowledgeable and a fantastic cook! Shorecrest was gorgeous - our room was beautifully decorated and the garden is lovely. Aside from the delicious breakfasts she prepared, Marilyn even gave us flowers and plants to bring back to Brooklyn for our garden there. This was a relaxing weekend and we highly recommend Shorecrest Bed and Breakfast. It is centrally located and close to Greenport and all the wineries. Marilyn is such a wonderful host and hope to be back soon! - Jennie and Jason


10 Year Wedding Anniversary

5 on June 01, 2010

My husband and I were over due for a little get away and after finding Shorecrest couldnt have picked a better place to spend our 10 year wedding anniversary. From the quiet and beautiful yard to the outstanding breakfast, Marilyn the Inn Keeper made us feel more than at home. I would highly recommend Shorecrest to our friends and family and hope to get back there soon ourselves.


A wonderful 3 day weekend!! an exceptional breakfast

4.8 on May 24, 2010

Recently I had the great fortune of discovering Shorecrest Properties, in Southold, NY. I leased one of their cottages for 3 days and could not have been more pleased with my experience. The proprietor, Marilyn, was gracious and she did all she could to make our stay a very pleasant one. I will be returning to Shorecrest Crest again; next time to stay at the B&B itself. I really want to go just so that I can have another fabulous breakfast...which, by the way, was also prepared by Marilyn and I must say she far exceeded my expectations with the breakfast that she served! I am so looking forward to our next trip and staying at the Shorecrest.


beachside romance on the north fork

3.4 on March 28, 2010

lovely decorated rooms, beautiful large living room. a short walk to the beach, close to great wineries. recommended.


Elegant Beds - Extravagant Breakfasts

5 on March 03, 2010

Shorecrest has paid a great deal of attention to details. The rooms are beautifully appointed with extravagant bedding. The breakfast was an epicurean delight. Unlimited snacks, coffee, wine always available. The owner was a delight.


Cozy and Comfortable

4.0 on December 03, 2009

We recently spent a long weekend as Shorecrest Bed and Breakfast located on the North Fork of Long Island. Although the weather was a little chilly, we couldn't have been more cozy and comfortable in this B&B. Marilyn Marks is the inkeeper and a wonderful and helpful hostess. Her homemade breakfasts were delicious and varied each morning. We're hoping to return to this pleasant spot when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy even more. L & A


love it

5 on November 08, 2009

Shorecrest is a sanctuary. Each room is beautiful with tons of character and you lack for nothing with the coffee/tea/snacks and hearty breakfast. Thanks Marilyn!


Shorecrest is wonderful

5 on October 27, 2009

Shorecrest is very relaxing and comfortable. it is right across from the beach where we could see the sunset. The gardens are gorgeous too. Marilyn, the owner, is really warm and helpful. We definitely recommend this place.


Best place to stay on Long Island North Fork

5 on October 27, 2009

We had an exceedingly comfortable & pleasant stay at Shorcrest B&B over Labor Day weekend. The owner Marilyn is a great host. We came on the train from Manhattan and she picked us up from the train and helped us rent bicycles. The food was great and we definitely recommend.


Romantic Elegance

5 on October 26, 2009

My husband & I loved to wake up to the view of the water & to look out on Shorecrest's beautiful English Garden. We stayed in the West Room with its soothing & romantic decor. We enjoyed Marilyn's outstanding gourmet breakfasts. All in all, our stay at Shorecrest was a thoroughly relaxing experience due to its elegant & tranquil atmosphere.


thank you, Marilyn

4.6 on October 25, 2009

Thank you Marilyn for a wonderful weekend! We felt like we were in our own home! You made us feel so comfortable. The food was outstanding. We enjoyed oueselves immensely! Thank you again Carol & Larry Gay Plymouth MA


Beautiful propery

3.0 on October 15, 2009

House & grounds are lovely -- breakfasts delicious. Coffee, cocoa, tea and cookies in evening much appreciated. Location great.


Perfect

5 on August 24, 2009

If you're looking for the perfect B&B on the North Fork of Long Island... stop looking, this is it. We've stayed in many B&B and this was on top of the list.


Lovely place.

4.6 on August 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the West room and thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. Our room was clean, sunny, well-appointed, with a beautiful view of the LI Sound and the sunset. We had big fat bath towels, CAC, delicious food especially the orange pancakes, HDTV and used the screened in sun room for our morning coffee. The hostess was lovely. Highly recommended.


Wonderful Weekend!!

4.8 on August 04, 2009

I can't thank Marilyn enough for making our first visit to Long Island exceptional. Her hospitality was great, always willing to help. From allowing my daily "doggy fix" with Ike and Babe to a personal tour of her garden and pointing out unique flowers (a special favorite was the lace cap hydrangeas), she was wonderful. An extra value to your stay is having the private beach on the sound to enjoy and evening cocktail while watching the sunset. Just perfect!!!


Very Pleasant Stay

4.2 on July 27, 2009

We decided to go on a last minute one night get-a-away and Marilyn was so accommodating! She called me promptly when she found out the room was not being booked by another guest. The room was pleasant, the food was delicious, and the ambience was so serene. I will definitely be staying here again.


warm, clean, elegance

5 on May 19, 2009

Welcoming, interesting, plush rooms, delicious breakfasts, tea, sherry by the fire in living room, and innkeeper who inspires guests to linger and have great conversations. Excellent location between Soundview and Bayberry.


English Charm By The Sea

5 on April 16, 2009

Marilyn is so charming and her B&B is such a pleasant place to stay! It poured most of the weekend and we still had a fabulous time! Marilyn makes the most amazing breakfast spread! She will also help you choose restaurants, wineries, anything you need!


Visual feast

3.8 on April 10, 2009

The luxurious colors and warm ambiance, a sumptuous breakfast. it is so relaxing. A great getaway!


Secret Gardens

5 on March 29, 2009

My husband and I have had the great pleasure of staying at Shorecrest on 3 different occasions; each time it gets better and better as Marilyn, the owner-hostess extraordinaire continues making up to the minute improvements. This winter we were the first to use new jacuzzi in the remodeled bathroom off the first floor Rose Room. Each room in the Inn draws you into its luxurious coziness, transports your spirit to a charmed English Manor. Marilyn's exquisite gardens are a testament to her superb design skills, her scrumptious breakfasts, a treat in culinary creativity. We plan to be back every year to unwind at our favorite B & B.


excellent for commitment ceremony

5 on February 04, 2009

Shore Crest is beautiful with an ocean view and beach rights. Gay and Lesbian friendly, PERFECT FOR COMMITMENT CEREMONY! The breakfast was outstanding! And so was the hospitality!


Gallery of Antiques

4.4 on January 28, 2009

Had a great time, great antiques. If you love antiques, this is the place for you!


Quaint accommodations

4.8 on January 28, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this quaint, comfortable inn. Marilyn, our hostess, was cordial and welcoming. The inn was located on the Long Island sound with great views. The food was delicious and Marilyn was informative about great eateries!


Charming Experience

5 on November 25, 2008

Marilyn greeted us so warmly at the door and as we entered the cozy livingroom, I knew we were in for a treat. The decorations and patterns on the upholstery materials were rich and lively and in keeping with the Victorian period. There were two adjacent sitting rooms, one with a fireplace and the other with very large windows surrounding so that the view of the water and grounds were quite clear. Walking down the quiet tree lined path to the inlet was a welcomed relief from the bustle of the town. I loved the way the rooms were decorated, some had soft colors and others bold colors. The rooms and the bathrooms were comfortable and very clean. Food that was served was delicious on a table set beautifully and Marilyn was right there responding to every request. She showed us the beachhouse which was spacious, on the edge of the Sound and would be perfect for a family vacation. Now that shopping at malls is so common, I didn't realize how much I missed quaint shops with handmade items along with the warm service. There were lots of different shops along the way. I will definitely return to Shorecrest.


The feeling of calmness and coziness

4.8 on November 12, 2008

The moment I stepped out from the car upon arrival, I felt calm, the feeling I don't get that often during those difficult times. Wherever your eye falls, the beauty overtakes. "It's Eden," I thought. Inside the building, I sat on the deep and soft sofa and thought again, "I wish to stay forever." There was not a speck of dust anywhere. Every decoration was interesting and unusual. I remarked to the owner that she obviously has a great taste. I also thought that coziness is the word coming to mind upon walking into the room. I definitely would be back.


Inspiring Place to Meet

4.0 on November 10, 2008

My writing group held a meeting just for the day in early November at Shorecrest and because we had such a positive experience, we are now planning to return. The bed and breakfast, built in the 1870’s across the street from Long Island Sound, is beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained. We took advantage of a very private, airy room on the main floor to begin our meeting, later adjourning for lunch to a cottage on the beach managed by innkeeper Marilyn Marks, who effortlessly knows how to treat guests. Shorecrest is an unusual and inspiring place to hold a small meeting or retreat; I am also hoping to return with friends for a vacation.


A Lovely place to Have a Workshop!

5 on November 08, 2008

As a member of the Renaissance Writers, I am delighted to share that we found the perfect spot for our Writers Workshop at Shorecrest B&B, Southold, NY. The beautifully appointed rooms and the quite well lighted solarium offered a peaceful atmosphere and fruitful setting to present our work. The aroma of hot cider filled the room. During our break we walked to the beach and took in the spectacular views of the bay. Our luncheon and afternoon session were held in the beach house, finishing off a perfect day.


Shorecrest is the Best

4.2 on November 03, 2008

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We received the special weekend getaway as a 40th wedding anniversary from our children. The place is elegant and comfortable. The Innkeeper, Marilyn, was warm and friendly while respecting our privacy. Breakfast was simply delicious and served to us in an atmosphere that made us feel like royalty! We highly recommend Shorecrest and can't wait to go back there again.


Perfect wedding weekend

5 on October 03, 2008

I cannot imagine a more perfect home-away-from-home to host a wedding party than the Shorecrest. Not only were the breakfasts delicious and the rooms comfortable, but innkeeper Marilyn Marks went way beyond the call of duty in providing every possible comfort and attending to every tiny detail to help make our daughter’s wedding weekend perfect in every way. When a wedding day is blessed with abundant sunshine, it’s not so hard for everything to be beautiful, but when the weather is rainy or stormy, it is a special blessing when those around you create an atmosphere that is lovelier than you ever imagined possible. That was certainly the case at the Shorecrest. The beautifully furnished rooms were a perfect setting for our pre-wedding photographs, and although the rain prevented us from taking pictures amidst the colorful flowers on the grounds, the side porch and the front steps provided a beautiful backdrop for the pictures. We hope to return again whenever we are in the North Fork.


Happy Campers

5 on August 08, 2008

We had a very pleasant experience and would go back again. We felt very welcome and comfortable. The breakfast was very gourmet and tasted great.


A great start to the summer

5 on May 20, 2008

What a great way to start the summer. The wineries on the North Fork were delightful and Shorecrest was equally charming. The modern bathroom with comfortable antiques was a great combination. The food was outstanding with a variety for every palate. The presentation and use of a variety of dishes and serving pieces created a very special environment. Wonderful linens added to a unique experience - one that we hope to repeat.


Wonderful Weekend!

5 on May 20, 2008

We have stayed at a few bed & breakfasts before, but this one tops them all. Marilyn (the Innkeeper) is a lovely woman who makes you feel welcome immediately. The house is charming and interesting and the 2 breakfast meals we were served on Saturday and Sunday were exceptional. From orange-infused pancakes, to homemade banana bread and corn bread, to fresh fruit, and delicious fritattas...one meal was better than the next. Our room was simply beautiful with water views and a newly renovated bathroom. When visiting the North Fork of Long Island, don't pass up the opportunity to spend a weekend at Marilyn's Shorecrest Inn. You will feel like family.


A must for those who enjoy true beauty!

5 on May 09, 2008

The appointments in this most delightfully situated bed and breakfast, with full water views are, alone, worth the visit. Innkeeper Marilyn Marks has an eye for beauty and design surpassed by few. Her background in textile design is well evidenced by her choices ranging from the tea service to the chandeliers! This beauty is further complemented by her inner-beauty which graces the facility with extraordinary generosity, charm and wit.


Memorable Stay

5 on October 22, 2007

Staying at Shorecrest was an amazing experience. We stayed for our anniversary and the accomodations were beautiful, quiet and romantic. Marilyn, the charming innkeeper went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that our every need was met. What a great place right next to the beach and wineries. The rooms were quiet and ornately decorated. Love the Northfork area and made some great memories. Will definitely be back again.


Romantic getaway

4.8 on June 25, 2007

A beautifully maintained house, 4 post bed, and no tv in the room, romatic and plush getaway, and what a gourmet breakfast! Hard to go back to cereal and milk after this! The trip is worth the french toast alone!


Shorecrest Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $225 - $495
  • Reviews (53) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6317651570

Visit Website »

View details

Top