Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
225 Reviews

Write A Review

A weekend's resplendent stay

5 on December 01, 2014

We had the most splendid stay at your home/bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful with an old fashion charm, the food was delicious; even the walks we took were so picturesque. It was such a lovely, warm, quiet and inviting place to spend a weekend and we thank you every much.


Wonderful

5 on November 03, 2014

Great place, we had a private bathroom, bed was comfortable, room was clean and they had a great backyard which was a nice place to just relax and the breakfast was the best I ever had at a B and B. Just amazing cooks, quite a few options, never had anything like it. Would come back in a heartbeat!


Perfect Get-away

5 on November 01, 2014

This is what a B&B is all about! Everything you need is at your disposal. The rooms are beautiful - we stayed in the Forest - loved the fireplace. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious - we loved the concept of dining at the time we chose. David and Justine are the perfect hosts - it's obvious they love what they are doing. We will definitely return. Thank you for a wonderful stay! John & Annemarie


Great place to stay

4.6 on November 01, 2014

Excellent hospitality... comfortable room... lovely environment... and an amazing breakfast!


Pleasant Stay

5 on October 29, 2014

What a pleasant stay. Justine and David provide a very homey feel. Everything you need from your home is in this one. The breakfast was amazing! The host were very kind and welcoming.


A wonderful find

4.4 on October 28, 2014

My husband, daughter, grandson and I had a wonderful stay. We love the rooms on the third floor. The Smythes are exceptional hosts and breakfast was delicious. we plan to return!


Wonderful stay

5 on October 23, 2014

Our stay at the Smythe House Bed and Breakfast was incredible. Breakfast was delicious, the zen room was comfortable and cozy, and the owners were friendly and welcoming. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.


A Unique Experience

4.2 on October 16, 2014

This was a unique visit because of the hosts, Justin and David Smythe. From a woman's viewpoint, the Smythe's warm and gracious hospitality was a delight. From a man's point of view, David is a multi-talented individual able to discuss anything from the correct composition of quality cook ware to how to install a deck 30' in the air. When you visit Justin and David, be sure to spend some time talking with them; for us, this is what made the visit unique.


Great family friendly stay and gourmet breakfast!

4.6 on October 08, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and loved the outdoor area with the tree house, trampoline, koi fish pond, and beautiful view. The breakfast was amazing. The room was small but we were there for only one night so it was fine for the 3 of us.


Cottage by Esopus Creek

4.6 on October 04, 2014

The cottage is very welcoming, neat and clean. It is very relaxing to sit out in the screened porch and enjoy the outdoors comfortably. It is the one place that I continually return to each year.


Lovely room, delicious breakfast, gracious hosts

4.4 on October 01, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Violet Room. The room was spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was wonderful. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The hosts were welcoming and friendly, without being at all intrusive. Highly recommend this B&B


Wonderful Week-End Stay!

5 on September 16, 2014

My granddaughter and I enjoyed a delightful stay at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House during the week-end of September 12, 13 and 14, 2014. The accommodations were cozy, comfortable, clean and exactly what we needed after a long day at the HITS Horse Show. Our hosts were warm and friendly and so very accommodating! Breakfast was fabulous! We will be back for sure.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your experience at Smythe House; it was our pleasure to offer accommodations for you and your granddaughter and we certainly appreciated our time together brief though it was. Sending you blessings and well wishes for the holiday seasons ahead, we are sure you will be quite busy and surrounded by love with all of your many lovely grandchildren...


unexpected charms

4.0 on August 26, 2014

When we first arrived, we suspected this B&B was overpriced, given it's location around a mile from downtown Saugerties. But what really made the stay special were the hosts and the grounds. We brought our 8-year-old daughter, who loved playing with the hosts' little girl and the remarkable playhouses in the backyard. We enjoyed strolling the grounds in the back, overlooking the lush foliage. And we really enjoyed our conversations with Justine and David, a former Culinary Institute professor, about food and travels. The breakfast was superb.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your kind review. We enjoyed time with your family too! Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House (in its twelfth year of operation) is one of the few finer establishments that is family friendly. The home is an original shingle style Victorian completely restored and thus is well built and can easily accommodate and satisfy guests with varying needs including those who may travel with children and pets. Smythe House grounds complete with Koi pond, tree house, and large observation deck are adjacent to a 165 acre nature preserve along the Esopus Creek, lending a relaxing nature filled experience for visiting guests. The home is conveniently located one mile from the center of the charming village of Saugerties, making easy access to dining, shopping, and points of interest including three nature preserves in the immediate area. Chefs David Smythe (30 year professor at Culinary Institute of America) and Justine Smythe (MBA from Cornell Hotel School and BPS from CIA) are hospitality professionals devoted to providing outstanding hospitality. A culinary breakfast is prepared to order with farm to table fresh ingredients - always healthy and tasty! Rooms are well appointed with fresh cut flowers, hand made candies, and all the amenities found in a boutique hotel to assure comfortable accommodations. We take pride in your experience. Thank You from the Smythe Family.


Wonderful experience!

4.8 on June 12, 2014

It is a very cozy B&B, where the attention to the detail was everywhere. The food was magnificent and the owners taking care of me like I was part of their family.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do feel as if the guests who stay at Smythe House are part of our family even if just for a few days. So grateful you felt welcome and that you enjoyed the cuisine prepared by Chef David Smythe using the best ingredients available in the Hudson Valley Region. Most sincerely, Chefs David & Justine Smythe


Excellent food; ordinary rooms

3.2 on June 11, 2014

Hospitality from the owners was terrific, and the breakfasts were delicious. My only complaint is that the rooms had way too much furniture in them and the décor was dark. I don't think the room atmosphere was worth the price. I expected nicer rooms for the price. The owners are lovely people, though, and very helpful.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your positive comments, we are grateful that you enjoyed the breakfast and the hospitality, we are glad you appreciated the extensive concierge service provided and customized meals made to order with farm fresh ingredients. Our apologies that you did not appreciate the style of the Victorian home and period furnishing. It is true that antiques do tend to take up more space and are more elaborate than that of modern décor, and the rooms that you occupied are located on the third floor and more cozy than those on the second floor as shown in photos at our website and reflected in the lower rates as compared to other rooms in our establishment. For your next stay in Saugerties we might recommend the Diamond Mills Hotel, the recently constructed facility in town with completely modern furnishings, large windows, and spacious rooms - we are delighted to welcome this new establishment to the community. Wishing you an excellent life ahead filled with spacious and bright environments. Thank you again for choosing Smythe House for your family getaway to the Hudson Valley and Catskills Region. Most sincerely, Chefs David & Justine Smythe


great stay

4.2 on June 10, 2014

My husband and I spent a night during our anniversary weekend. Everything was perfect, very friendly hosts, very clean and comfortable rooms. Justine even mailed me my contact lens case after I forgot it in the room. It was a wonderful stay and I'm sure we'll visit again.

Innkeeper Response
glad to hear the contact lenses reached you safely, thanks too for the nice comments, it is our pleasure to provide a comfortable, clean, enjoyable environment for guests at Smythe House...


A anniversary to remember.

5 on May 17, 2014

We celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary at Smythe House and it was a pleasure. David and Justine, our hosts, were warm and friendly and we very much enjoyed our company with them. Their home is a beautiful compliment to their hard work. The breakfast was like none we had experienced before. We left feeling like they were old friends. Thank you David and Justine for your hospitality. We will surly return. John & Dawn...

Innkeeper Response
It is one of our delights to witness the special occasions celebrated here at Smythe House. Thank you for sharing that your anniversary was a pleasurable experience, we wish you many more happy years together..and we look forward to spending time with you again should that come to pass...we very much enjoyed getting to know you in the brief time we had together. With best wishes, David & Justine Smythe


Best breakfast ever

5 on April 10, 2014

A perfect B&B.

Innkeeper Response
...and perfect guests ;-)


romantic getaway

4.2 on November 20, 2013

romantic getaway, excellent breakfast, charming town of Saugerties, nearby Woodstock, Saugerties lighthouse worth a visit


Very warm and cozy B &B

4.2 on November 11, 2013

We had received a night at the Smythe House as a gift from our son and our daughter-in-law. We had a really nice time walking around the town,went to a delicious dinner at Lucy's followed by a movie at the old theater. The B&B was lovely and comfortable, the owners very nice, with a delicious breakfast before we left.

Innkeeper Response
...the Mid-Hudson Valley is blessed with more than its share of above-par restaurants and Miss Lucy's is certainly among the best...glad you got to partake of their superb cuisine. Chefs David & Justine


Relaxed, generous and warm venue

4.4 on October 30, 2013

A lovely, inviting guest house with hands-on hosts eager to help you maximise your enjoyment of the area. On the doorstep of beautiful landscapes, a wide range of outdoor activities and 15 minutes' walk from the peaceful village of Saugerties with some great dining options!


Great B&B

5 on October 29, 2013

We had a lovely time at this B&B. Highly recommended!


A gem in Saugerties

4.4 on October 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Justine was very friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was nicely appointed, very clean and the bed very comfortable! It was cozy and inviting. A lovely place to return to after an exhausting day touring. We had internet, TV (clear picture, lots of stations), and our cell phones had reception. We would love to return and stay longer.


High end TLC at the Smythe House

4.6 on October 07, 2013

David and Justine are consummate hosts, chefs, and fascinating people. Their beautifully appointed and well-maintained inn has the charm you expect from a B&B, along with the comforts we expect in a high end hotel or inn. The customized breakfast was fabulous, especially the crepes filled with eggs and served with a light orange flavored sauce. David and Justine were excellent at making suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. We would love to return!


The Most Amazing and Only B&B you NEED

5 on September 26, 2013

I'm still on cloud 9 after spending my bday wknd at this B&B with my love. The easy going super informative excellent hospitality from Justine blew us away. She showed up the way to known beauties (but I like to think them as secret hideaways) such as the Falling Water Preserves..Saugerties is just beautiful and magical and Justine and David wowed us with the B&B in itself, the amazing gourmet breakfast each morning and the overall comfort of being in such a cozy snuggly welcoming place. Better than a five star hotel! We stayed in the Bird Room, a cozy room with a comfy bed. The bathroom defines the room, with a two top jacuzzi bathtub. You know we was all up in it at night, after a tiring but beautiful day spent in the wild outdoors. The breakfast IS amazing. Nobody will make you breakfast this way EVER AGAIN unless you stay at this B&B. Chef David Smythe is a chef/instructor from Culilnary Institute of America and the food is WORTH every dime you spend here. This overall is a lovely perfect STAY. WEEKEND PERFECTION. Thank you guys for showing us a B&B Heaven.


Weekend wedding in Saugertie

4.2 on September 26, 2013

I was met with smiles and genuine welcome by Justine. After settling in I headed out to explore the town; a great place to walk around. After a good nights sleep I was treated to an outstanding, delicious breakfast made to order by David. I would return there for the breakfast alone but there are so many other reasons to go back. There is a huge backyard with places to explore; I want to spend time on their 3 level deck which leads into the woods. The Smythes are lovely, gracious, intelligent folks. I enjoyed my stay emmensely. I never did figure out how to operate the TV, then again I never asked. If you are thinking of going to Saugerties I suggest you try Smythe House. You will not be disappointed.


Charming B&B

4.6 on September 25, 2013

Had a lovely one night stay in the Violet Room. Justine, the innkeeper was lovely, and gave us very useful information on recommended restaurants and things to do. The breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend Smythe House!


Best B&B in Saugerties!

5 on September 18, 2013

Lovely stay. Best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B or restaurant!


Two Tired Women

4.6 on September 12, 2013

I called Barclay Heights B&B around noon on Sunday in hopes of obtaining a room for the night after a long work weekend at the Hudson Valley Wine Festival before we headed home to the Finger Lakes. In searching for hotels in the area, our findings were pretty dismal and we wanted to splurge a bit for a nice rest. Justine and David welcomed us after 7 that evening and showed us our rooms. We had two rooms on the third floor that were decorated with antiques, colorful carpets, flowers, chocolates and luxurious bedding. We took turns in the Jacuzzi tub to ease the aches and pains of working on our feet after a very long week. It was wonderful and calming. The beds are so very comfortable that we wished we could linger a little longer but had to head back home. I can't say enough about how delicious the breakfast was. Just superbly cooked and presented to us beautifully. We felt very pampered. Will definitely recommend and visit again someday.


amazing food and great rooms

4.6 on September 05, 2013

The room (Zen) was cozy and clean, the service was friendly, but the breakfast was what really set this place apart - just fantastic beyond belief. They also had so many touches, both small and large, that made it the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Not the cheapest place in the Catskills, but overall an outstanding experience, well worth repeating. And completely pet-friendly - even with a dogsitting service while you eat b'fast or go out for a meal!


Our recent stay

4.6 on August 31, 2013

This b &b was charming and the owners delightful. Breakfast was artfully prepared and quite delicious. Justine and David were exceptionally helpful in helping us plan our visit


You Had Me at Gourmet Breakfast!

4.4 on August 27, 2013

We chose Smythe House aka Barclay Heights B & B for several reasons. Saugerties was a great location for the sites we wanted to visited. Also high on our list was the gourmet breakfast. As I wasn’t very hungry the first morning of our stay, I ordered a yogurt/fruit/granola parfait. I was totally surprised how GOOD it was. This was a kick above what I was expecting. Perhaps it’s because of Chef David’s vast culinary experience and that he teaches at the Culinary Institute of America or Justine’s CIA education or business acumen. The toasted wholegrain bread was better than any I have had. You choose your menu and the time to be served which you leave on the Innkeepers’ door. Just check out the many options on the menu from their website. Special diets are no problem as my husband is gluten intolerant. He ordered the Eggs Barclay twice because he loved it so much. The food is amazing. The smell of fresh flowers welcome you as you enter. Add to that the wonderful chocolates in your room, and I’m ready to relax. We also like the coffeemaker and filtered water in our own refrigerator. We stayed in the Violet Room which faces Burt Street (9W). No worries if you’re concerned about traffic noise. The room is exactly like the pictures. We loved coming back to our room and sitting in the comfortable chair or couch with our coffee, magazines or books. And if you didn’t bring your own reading material, the inn has plenty to choose from or DVD’s to watch plus there is loads of tourist information. The bed is very comfortable, and there is a large closet to store your clothes and suitcases. I also loved the large bathroom and shower as my husband is over 6 foot. Plus ladies there is great lighting in the bathroom for applying makeup and thick towels.


Wonderful bed and breakfast!

5 on August 20, 2013

The Esopus Cottage is wonderful place to stay - beautiful and secluded, in the middle of nature but close to town, next to the Esopus Creek (you can go right down to the water's edge). The cottage is adorable, luxurious but cozy, and there is a lovely stone patio. Breakfast is fantastic. There are many fun things to do in Saugerties: swimming, bookstore browsing, and nice restaurants. Justine and David are superb hosts - hospitable, generous and extremely friendly. For a couple or a family with a young child, this is a terrific place to have a long weekend or a vacation.


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on August 09, 2013

We were very happy with the Smythe House. The Justine and David Smythe (and their daughter) were very friendly and extremely helpful while also giving us our privacy. We definitely recommend this B&B.


Enjoyed our stay!

4.8 on August 04, 2013

Lovely B&B, over-the-top breakfast with lots of choices! Fun steam shower with lights & music--made you want to dance! Justine & David were full of info & upbeat chatter---good listeners as well as good talkers. We really enjoyed our short stay!


Great weekend getaway

5 on July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Esopus Suite, which exceeded our expectations in every way. The outdoor set-up and private waterfront/deck is especially lovely. Justine was immediately responsive to our questions and gave us great hiking recommendations for the weekend. Chef David's breakfasts were exquisite. Thanks for a great time!


Outstanding in Every Way

5 on July 22, 2013

From the well appointed to rooms to the delicious breakfast and perfect location the Barclay Heights Bed and Breakfast is the perfect weekend getaway.


Come for the beautiful countryside, stay for the Breakfast.

4.6 on July 03, 2013

My girlfriend and I just had a wonderful weekend at the Smythe house. The decor, service and rooms were all outstanding. However, the real draw here is the breakfast. Both David and Justine are professional chefs and David is a professor at the culinary school down the road. They understand not only how to make a delicious meal, but how to present and plate it to perfection. The food looks, smells and tastes amazing. I would Highly recommend the Smythe house to anyone interested!


Great litle place to stay off the beaten path!!

3.8 on June 24, 2013

Bed and incredible breakfast is what you get at Smythe House B&B. Great old world rooms topped off with a gourmet breakfast made to order by A Culinary Arts Institute chef!!! Could you ask for more!


charming cottage

4.6 on June 24, 2013

The Esopus Creek cottage was perfect for our seven member book group. Plenty of gathering space indoors and riverside. Breakfast was delightful. We will be booking next year.


Country Living Fair weekend

5 on June 13, 2013

A must, if not for the breakfasts alone!! Very attentive care and warm hospitality!


Beauty and comfort and a canoe

5 on June 11, 2013

Found it on the Internet - it was a holiday long weekend and I didn't have a reservation. As luck would have it they had one room available, and I took it. A very nice lady called to confirm and we were off. What we found completely exceeded our expectations - a beautiful, one bedroom bungalow nestled amid mature trees, beautifully trim backyard with deck and bar eques, all situated on a gently flowing river - and they even had a boat launch and canoes - all included. Before going boating and riding our bikes (which we had with us), we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast that was beautifully served by our gracious hosts. Obviously we give Barclay Heights two very enthusiastic thumbs up!


Showcations while at HITS Saugerties

4.2 on June 09, 2013

When my husband joins us for horse shows it is important that he is happy too. The Smythe's were very accomodating to our early schedule and provided us with varity of gourment breakfast at what ever hour we needed. Their home is comfortable and welcoming as are they. We will definetly be back!


Ionica Neagu

5 on June 03, 2013

Me and my husband enjoyed every second ,will certainly return ,for an outstanding breakfast and exceptional service.


Lovely B&B with everything one needs!

4.6 on May 30, 2013

Perfect location in a quiet setting; professionally run B& B with warm proprietors who really do think of everything to make your stay pleasant and know of all the best local restaurants and cultural attractions; wonderful breakfasts beautifully presented. Heartily recommend the Smythe House and it's owners David & Justine!


Great Stay

4.8 on May 23, 2013

The Smythe's were perfect hosts. Unexpected graciousness, friendliness and fun! We stayed for a long week-end. The room was fully appointed and perfect. You submit your breakfast order the night before and the breakfast time. You enter an amazing country kitchen with breakfast being cooked by a professor from the Culinary Instotute of America. The conversation and chit chat is delightful You cannot find an experience like this anywhere. Really made the week-end special


a lovely anniversary getaway

5 on May 14, 2013

What amazing host David and Justine are, the property was meticulously maintained and the breakfast was fantastic, I wouldn't hesitate to return again, very centrally located for the trails and roads through the catskills.


excellent

4.4 on May 08, 2013

The house is densely decorated. The rooms are not far from each other, but we didn't encounter anyone else during our brief stay. The hosts were lovely and breakfast was delicious. One thing to note is that the house is located right on a regular highway, not in any kind of secluded spot. However, once you enter the house you are transported to another world. Also, there is a lovely area in the back with a small bridge across a tiny pond, and an area for children to play. The jacuzzi in the Bird Room is heaven.


Actually stayed at their cottage down the road

5 on February 02, 2013

Loved it! So homey, cute, warm, perfect for a weekend getaway. We brought 10 couples, 3 dogs, 1 baby, and we all fit no problem. Love the fireplace and BBQ's. Very clean, every amenity you need is there and easily accessible. We will continue to frequent this cottage.


An Excellent stay

4.6 on November 11, 2012

This is our 2nd time at the Smythe House and we love the different rooms and the welcoming atmosphere.


Lovely B &B

4.6 on November 07, 2012

We recently stayed at the Smythe House for a weekend out of the city. Justine and David were warm and welcoming. Our room was lovely, complete with coffee, tea, cookies and chocolate. We even got a mid-afternoon fresh cookie delivery. Breakfast was scrumptious, the property beautiful and our hosts kind and knowledgeable about the area. They did everything possible to make us feel at home. Highly recommended. Many thanks to Justine and David!


excellence

5 on October 26, 2012

wonderful hosts and great accomodations made our stay one to remember. we would recommend this b&b very highly.


Phenomenal breakfasts

4.4 on October 11, 2012

Inn keepers were great. Food was excellent. Rooms very nice but a bit small.


Baby Moon

4.6 on October 07, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as a last chance to get away before our baby is born. The house is beautiful and the service is great. The room we stayed in was very comfortable although the bed was a little too soft for our taste. Also, the shower was a bit of a hazard because it was slippery and very awkward to get in and out of since the shower was in the middle of a hot tub. All that aside we were very pleased with the stay. The owners are both chefs and it definitely showed!! The breakfasts were made to order and were outstanding. The owners also had a lot of helpful information about things to do and places to eat in town and in the surrounding area. We would definitely recommend this house to our friends and family.


Nicest place in saugerties!

5 on August 22, 2012

The owners focus on service was truly outstanding ... And if the chef would have cooked every meal I would have eaten in ! They focus on Green living and cooking local food and produce All of which I found very attractive and they catered to my every need... Wonderful stay!


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

4.2 on August 15, 2012

We found the hotel to be absolutely lovely, great hospitatlity and warmth,. Everything you would expect at a country bed and breakfast. The breakfast was absolutely lovely!


The perfect getaway

4.6 on August 01, 2012

I loved staying at this warm, inviting and charming B&B. The innkeepers were so kind, helpful and welcoming while also allowing me my privacy and space. The breakfast was outstanding!! I would highly recommend this wonderful B&B and I certainly plan to return again.


Best B & B kept secret !!!

4.6 on July 22, 2012

Great hospitality, very friendly, breakfast is fanastic. Highly recommend!


Last minute stay

4.4 on July 11, 2012

My wife and I need to get away for a quick overnight or two. Justine and her husband David could not have been more gracious or accommodating. The breakfast was truly bountiful. .


Homey!

3.6 on July 03, 2012

Lodge had ample space for our family of five. Outdoor facilities and proximity to river with boats / canooes excellent.


MUCH better than I expected!

4.8 on June 29, 2012

I took my girlfriend for our one year anniversary. Neither of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast. I knew the Smythe house would be nice, but it ended up being GREAT. We're still talking about our 2 day stay there months later.


A GREAT ESCAPE

4.8 on June 22, 2012

Luxury and spoiled by the soaking tub and steam shower. breakfast was delicious, but too much food. I really felt like my time there was a retreat from the real world. Thank you


When in the Catskills, stay at Barclay Heights B&B!

4.6 on May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend and we had a lovely time! The room was very well-appointed and comfortable (Violet Room). David and Justine Smythe are excellent hosts. They made sure that we had everything we needed and made a dinner reservation for us at a local restaurant--one of their recommendations. The restaurant, Miss Lucy's Kitchen, was a winner. The breakfasts are beyond compare. Justine and David worked with us for exactly what we wanted. The food is fantastic--and so much of it! We didn't need to eat lunch. Everything was fresh and delicious--even the whipped cream for my hot chocolate was freshly made. I dare anyone to find a better breakfast than what David and Justine prepare for their guests. Overall, I'd definitely come back again--there are still plenty of breakfast options for me yet to explore!


Perfect weekend getaway

5 on May 22, 2012

My sister and I stayed a single night in this lovely b-and-b in Saugerties. Justine and her daughter were delightful, and made us feel right at home. The bed was comfy, the room was well-decorated, and the bathroom was huge. Everything was spotless. David prepared an outstanding breakfast the next morning, which we enjoyed with another pair of sisters enjoying a weekend getaway. Outside is a very nice koi pond, a multi-level gym for the kids, and a peaceful view of the Catskills. One of the other guests had brought a small, well-behaved dog with them, which added to the homey atmosphere. Even with the dog and children staying in other rooms, we were able to enjoy a quiet and restful night in our room. We recommend the Smythes' home most highly. Our only disappointment is that we did not have more time to spend here. We will try to return some day.


Weekend Away

3.6 on May 09, 2012

Breakfast was delicious and the room was cozy. The overall decor was not our style, but we were comfortable. Location is on a busy street - so there is a bit of street noise, but it is close to Main St. in Saugerties. Overall a nice experience


Delightfuly Delicious

5 on April 25, 2012

We would stay here again and again. The Zen room was so relaxing and clean. The breakfast was tasty. The property was beautiful. The hosts were welcoming. We already told all our friends to go here.


Just gorgeous !!

5 on April 23, 2012

WOWs all around. Stayed at the suite by Esopus creek and it was so gorgeous! Went kayaking down the quiet lake... sigh. Justine and David are a lovely couple, extremely down to earth and welcoming. Breakfast was a heavenly delight. Like a 5 star restaurant quality food. Highly Recommended for a quite and relaxing getaway. Really good value


Everything we hoped for and more!

5 on April 04, 2012

Our stay was everything we hoped for and more. Relaxing, comfortable, clean rooms. Peaceful environment and warm hospitality. And, the breakfast was outstanding. Made to order Crepes, delicious banana walnut pancakes, fresh fruit, rich coffee and more. We would come back in a heartbeat.


It could not have been more perfect for us.

5 on April 01, 2012

IT was quite wonderful. My husband and I escaped for the weekend --just the two of us--and it was perfect. Everything we needed and wanted--food superb--great bathtub for two... magic.


Wonderful B&B

4.0 on March 07, 2012

We had a great stay. Our hosts were perfect - friendly, courteous, and attentive to our needs. The breakfast was amazing, to say the least! We were visiting our daughter who lives in the area and she also joined us for the meal. Our room (the violet room) was just lovely and very clean and we wish our schedule had allowed us to stay longer. Will definitely go back!


Best B&B in New York!

4.8 on February 16, 2012

The house is amazing! Beautiful woodwork and furniture. The room was immaculate and cozy. We originally had John's room booked but were bumped up to the Bird Room free of charge ( a family was coming in and needed John's room due to the pull out couch). It was a nice surprise, since the Bird room had it's own private bathroom with a double jacuzzi. Justine and David were very considerate hosts with a sense of what real hospitality is. The breakfast was to die for!!!!!! They made steak, omelets, croissants, fresh berry juice and smoothies! Everything was fresh and delicious. They did not skimp on anything. There wasn't anything to complain about, everything was delightful and amazing. It is a must if you plan on staying in the Hudson Valley area.


Excellent stay

4.6 on January 19, 2012

Justine did a fantastic job in welcoming us and extended her hospitality throughout our stay. Definitely worth coming back.


Fabulous

5 on January 16, 2012

Stayed in the cottage with 4 friends this past weekend 1/14 1/15/2012. .Everything we needed wasThe hosts at our disposal.Everything from the wood for the fireplace, to a stocked kitchen with every appliance,games, movies and everythinbgf being neat & clean and cozy.Couldny ask for anything more.Then comes the "custom breakfast"Didnt even want to eat everythinbg because it looked so good but then the aroma was overwhelming and we couldnt control ourselves.Everything was picture perfect and tasted delicious.The hosts went above & beyond......loved it! Patty Commack, NY


Kathy & Howard

4.0 on November 29, 2011

We loved every minute that we stayed at the Barclay B & B. Every detail of our stay there was superb, from A to Z.


Wonderful weekend at Smythe House

4.4 on November 16, 2011

A perfect place to spend the weekend. Beautiful rooms, outstanding hospitality, and unbelievably good breakfast!


WOW!!!

5 on November 07, 2011

I stayed at Justine and David's with a friend, and was blown away by the place -- exactly the type of cozy bed & breakfast you want for a relaxed break in the countryside. Our room was spacious and uber comfortable, and the bathroom had a giant hottub and came with nice toiletries. There was a DVD player with a selection of DVDs in the hallway, and a little plate of very delicious chocolate next to the bed. Justine greeted us when we arrived with her little daughter, and made us feel right at home. She'd printed out suggestions of restaurants in the area (and as chefs, she and her husband David know what they're talking about!) and also had a little diary of what events were taking place that weekend. The B&B is ideally located near the quaint Saugerties and not far from other cute villages and good hikes. The breakfast was oh so delicious (again, as chefs, they know how to cook), and the dining area faces onto the garden, which itself faces onto a beautiful hill range. Very peaceful. All in all, a great stay and I would recommend this place to anyone. You will not be disappointed.


personal touch and gourmet food

4.0 on November 02, 2011

david and justine smythe are trained chefs and you get your first sense of it when you are greeted with a menu of over a dozen yummy choices for your breakfast entree the next morning. the breakfast is delicious and well presented along with any ideas you need for how to spend your day in the catskills.


Wonderful room

5 on October 31, 2011

Stayed in the "Violet" room. What a treat that bathroom was. Hosts are always welcoming and great breakfast.


Girls' Getaway Weekend

3.8 on October 19, 2011

Barclay Heights B&B at Smythe House is a comfortable, well-located retreat. The atmosphere was friendly and cozy. The innkeepers were helpful and clearly wanted to make our visit as enjoyable as possible without being overbearing. The highlight of the stay were the fabulous breakfasts made to order by the very talented chef/owner David Smythe. It's well worth a visit for the breakfast alone.


River suite

4.2 on October 06, 2011

In twenty years of going to B & B's I don't recall better breakfasts (taste, quality and quantity are all phenomenal.) The suite is off property at the dead end of a small road and directly on a bend of the Esopus creek. And while it is an attachment to a run of the mill cottage the interior has its own quirky charm and is super-well appointed. While not the most economical, worth the value to us. We look forward to doing it again. PS thanks for the dinner recommendations.


Sublime Accomadations

5 on October 04, 2011

My wife and stayed in the Bird Room at Smythe House and found the room delightful, the large bed extremely comfortable and the furnishings very, very cool. The clean spacious bathroom was airy and big, and the shower, tub and jaccuzi first rate. We have stayed in many bed and breakfast places around the globe, but have never been served a finer meal, by more gracious hosts than at Smythe House. The food was superb, and served by David and Justine, two world class chefs. Be creative in your meal choices as they do it all so very well. Treat yourself and your family to a stay at this fantastic place in Saugerties, in the Catskills. We will certainly return soon and we recommend it heartily


Excellent service and food!

4.6 on September 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Bird Room for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The service from Justine and David was among the best we've ever experienced at a B&B. The breakfasts were delicious and a wonderful way to start the day. The room was very clean, but smaller than we anticipated, and the bed was not as comfortable as the advertising led us to believe. The mini refrigerator in the room and the toiletries provided in the bath were nice touches. We would definitely go back again!


Great 1 night stopover

4.0 on August 24, 2011

Only had one night in Saugerties but this B&B was great - lovely room and bathroom v.v. comfortable, and breakfast was outstanding.


A great place for to stay!

4.6 on August 23, 2011

We stayed at Barclay for our two-night get away and it was a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful and the hosts Justine and David were outstanding. We loved that we got to choose what time we wanted to eat breakfast and that we got to choose what we wanted from their menu. They offered many choices for vegetarians so that was a nice surprise. I could get used to having my breakfast prepared by professional chefs every day! Barclay is a keeper for us - we will definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends!


Beautiful B&B in Saugerties, NY

4.0 on August 18, 2011

Great place to stay in Saugerties.


Great experience in Saugerties

4.8 on August 08, 2011

Stayed in the Esopus Creek Suite, which is right on the water. Enjoyed a canoe ride on the creek (canoes and row boats are available to use). The suite was very spacious and comfortable. Especially enjoyed the home cooked breakfast. David and Justine were great hosts. I highly recommend this place.


A lovely Saugetries getaway

4.6 on August 07, 2011

We stayed at the Smythe house, rooms and grounds are lovely, and Justine and David were incredibly gracious, kind hosts. Breakfasts were delicious, with a large number of options. We'll certainly stay here again when we're in the area.


Barclay Heights

5 on August 06, 2011

Excellent B&B -- highly recommend -- hosts were terrific -- food great.


Five star treatment in Saugerties

4.6 on July 21, 2011

Beautiful, clean, safe, elegant, well appointed, friendly, and accommodating! Will definitely return and would recommend in a heartbeat!


Weekend at Barclay Heights

5 on July 21, 2011

The owners could not be more professional -- from their courtesy to their knowledge of the area. A big plus is that they are culinary geniuses; I have never had a better breakfast. World class attention!


Like a second home

5 on July 21, 2011

We couldn't have had a better stay. The hosts were attentive to every possible need, the food was out of this world, and the premises is beautiful. Just outside of the main area in town, it was both peaceful and walking distance from the action.


Romantic getaway

5 on July 06, 2011

The setting is elegant (although I wasn't sure about the sheepskin wall, but maybe you won't stay in John's room) and the hosts are warm and hospitable to the Nth degree. The service is comparable to the W and the food is comparable to the Four Seasons.. I am in love with the Smythe House and will be coming back very soon. It was so romantic (although the walls are thin, like every BnB), loved the jacuzzi (once we figured out how to use it), my fritatta nearly floated off my plate, it was so light and fluffy, I could go on and on... If you stay here, you will thank me later.


Spectacular B&B

4.2 on June 27, 2011

My husband arranged our weekend away as a birthday gift to me. It was the first time we had ever stayed in a B&B . We arrived on a very rainy evening, and we were warnly greeted by Justine. She then proceeded to show us to our room and describe the details and amenities of the house. She even offered to make us dinner reservations! We stayed in the Bird Room. It was beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. Everything was provided for us from soft, fluffy towels and organic, wonderfully smelling shampoos and body wash to homemade chocolates. It was very comfortable, private and quiet. We found everything to be outstanding, but the breakfasts were exceptional. We enjoyed scrumptious egg and pancake dishes with wonderful fresh fruit , fruit smoothies, hot chocolate and mulled apple cider. After eating breakfast each morning, we weren't hungry again until dinnertime! Our hosts, Justine and David were very warm and friendly and we enjoyed informal converstaions with them about a variety of topics. All in all, we will definitely stay at Barclay Heights B & B again. Joe & Ann Marie


A quaint B & B with outstanding food and service

4.6 on June 20, 2011

David and Justine were very friendly, charming, and attentive hosts, even from before our arrival. Justine called to offer to make dinner reservations for us the day before we checked in and David's skill in the kitchen was second to none. The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable and the en suite bath with jacuzzi featured all new plumbing and fixtures. But clearly, the best part about the whole experience was the cooked-to-order breadfast, complete with fresh local fruit and delicious Guatemalan coffee. I whole-heartedly recommend Barclay Heights!


Relaxation w/Mt View

4.2 on June 13, 2011

Amazing food and a perfect location for enjoying the Hudson & Catskills area.


Wonderful stay

4.4 on May 17, 2011

It was a wonderful place to stay. David and Justine were warm and welcoming. The room was beautiful.


fine food and gracious service

4.0 on May 06, 2011

David and Justine made us feel very much at home. The room was elegantly and tastefully furnished and the jacuzzi was a delight. The highlight was perhaps the fine breakfast - David teaches at the culinary institute, and it shows! We will stay here again when again in the area.


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast - Absolutely wonderful

5 on May 06, 2011

Last weekend (Apr 30 - May 2, 2011), we stayed at the Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast for our 9th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived and were settled comfortably in our room, we were hooked. Justine & David made us feel at home immediately (along with their adorable daughter). The room was decorated lovely and 2 plates of my favorite Krause's chocolates were awaiting us. A very nice sized television and DVD player were available to us...along with a radio to listen to music. Our bathroom included a 2 person Jacuzzi which was such a special treat for us. And, Justine & David provided a wide variety of lotions, shampoos, body washes and conditioners to choose from (Coconut was my absolute favorite!). I honestly don't know how anyone would not be able to find a scent that suited them perfectly. But the most extraordinary characteristic about Barclay Heights was the scrumptious, never-ending breakfasts in the mornings. First, the fact that Justine & David provided us with a long list of options really impressed us (everything from crepes & pancakes to eggs benedict & omelets…and so much more). There was such care and preparation taken with every aspect of our breakfast (the coissants, fresh fruit and juices)…and the food tasted phenomenal. We are generally a 3 meals a day couple but honestly after the awesome, filling meals we received, we found we made it until late in the day before we felt any touch of hunger. Overall, our whole experience was extremely positive and we would highly recommend visiting Justine & David as you will not be disappointed. Norm & Susan


Wonderful Romantic Getaway!

5 on February 24, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at the Barclay Bed and Breakfast! David and Justine were incredible and made us feel right at home! The service was above and beyond what we expected and we had a fabulous time. The room was so lovely and romantic. We have already decided to stay there for our next getaway! Thank you again!


Winter weekend getaway at the Barclay

5 on February 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently spent 2 nights at the Barclays-every aspect exceeded our expectations (and they were set pretty high based on the reviews I had read on TripAdvisors). The room was absolutely incredible, and even had a Jacuzzi and state of the art shower. All bath products were organic and much better than anything I've ever seen at a hotel. Justine and David are wonderful people, and if you can believe it, even better chefs. I honestly think that the breakfasts we had have spoiled all over B&B experiences for us going forward. The fritattas and crepes were to die for. Thank you so much - we WILL be back!!!


Terrific accomodations

4.4 on February 02, 2011

Service was amazing and the food even better. We spent the weekend and were truly spoiled. We highly recommend Barclay Heights.


A place in paradise

5 on December 07, 2010

Beautiful place, beautiful people. Lovely stay with delicious breakfast.


Heaven on Earth!

5 on December 06, 2010

I was not prepared for the beauty of Barclay heights, or the area generally. The breakfasts are amazing, as are the local restaurants. Justine & David's hospitality can't be beat. We'll be back!


Great Hands

5 on December 02, 2010

It's a model B&B, an elegant spot right in the middle of things, every detail of the furniture and rooms and grounds fine and fun. That the owners are professional chefs means the breakfasts beggar the imagination. Things you've never heard of done just right. We'd never stay at anything but B&Bs if they could match this place


A wonderful weekend

5 on November 27, 2010

The hospitality of the owners was genuine and the breakfasts were outstanding. This B&B was perfect for a relaxing weekend.


We had a wonderful time

5 on November 27, 2010

Your place is warm & elegant. Violet room and bath divine. Breakfast was perfection.


Highly Recommended Bed And Breakfast

5 on November 18, 2010

The entire weekend experience was amazing....the hosts were very accomodating and super sweet; and the room we stayed in was beautiful and cozy. If you are looking to get a way for a couple of days, the Smythe House is where to stay.


We'll be back!

4.8 on November 16, 2010

We stayed in the Zen room. I sensed the earthy Karma immediately. Sure enough, the towels, sheets and soaps smelled and felt wonderful. It happened to be our ninth anniversary and we are not "organic". My husband's appreciation of the peppermint chamomile soap (because it made his skin tingley) made me laugh. I hope I never get too old to enjoy the little things in life. The Zen room is only for a close couple as there is a curtain between the bathroom and the room but I just turn up the volume on the TV. I consider this B&B a value because the breakfast alone would cost you at least $40 anywhere else. It was fabulous.


Pat's Gang

4.4 on November 14, 2010

A beautiful home at the foot of the Catskills. Warm and welcoming innkeepers who happen to be outstanding chefs - fantastic breakfast! David and Justine are very helpful and very informative about the area.


Wonderful 1st Wedding Anniversary

4.6 on November 14, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Smythe House. Justine and David were very welcoming and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. It was a great way to spend our 1st wedding anniversary.


Creek house is 10 minutes away from main b and b

2.8 on November 07, 2010

Creek housse looks lousy from outside but is ok inside. Bedroom is nice, airy, and full of light. Other room is ok as well with a little bar type set up and small bed that works fine. Probably best to stay here when weather is warm so you can sit outside on the small but ok deck which overlooks the creek. The breakfast was billed as a highlight on the website. It was fine but hardly superior. Pancakes were a bit soggy and not served hot. Coffee was in a decanter and not refilled sufficiently with fresh coffee. Breakfast area feels very cramped. Inn keepers are competent and nice folks. Husband is a chef and professor at the Culinary Instit. of America, which is near the inn. All in all, not a "special" b and b, stayed here because others were full. But ok to stay here under those circumstances. Would not be a "don't miss" or first choice, however.


We'll be coming back!

4.0 on November 04, 2010

We had a wonderful overnight stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed and David and Justine are perfect hosts. Delicious breakfasts, great food and table presentation. They made sure we were most comfortable -- even for just an overnight stay. We will most certainly be back. Strongly recommended.


Warm Hosts Who Put the Breakfast in B&B

4.6 on October 27, 2010

Justine and David are definitely in the right business! They are warm, gracious and helpful hosts. And the breakfasts were far and away the best I have enjoyed during my many B&B stays. Rooms are clean and comfy with strong Wifi. We will definitely be back!


B&B WEEKEND

4.2 on October 27, 2010

Meeting my expections means that their website accurately portrayed the place. You will never be disappointed here.


Loved this place

5 on October 26, 2010

It was really a perfect weekend with my gf. The bed&breakfast was so relaxing.Inkeepers so welcoming and attentives. I strongly recommand this place.


Amazing!!!

5 on October 25, 2010

Everything was amazing! the house, the room, the breakfast; everything was excptional! Justine greeted us with warmth and enthusiasm. David and Justine were very organized and helpful. Would love to return.


Wonderful!

4.6 on October 20, 2010

the real thing is nicer than the pictures. beautiful room, wonderful innkeepers, amazing breakfast. truly wonderful. we didn't want to leave.


This is an excellent choice for a great weekend away

4.2 on October 13, 2010

This was our second visit to this establishment and it won't be our last. David and Justine are excellent hosts, the rooms are comfortable and designed to promote relation. The breakfast is simply amazing. We also appreciate that Justine and David will allow us to sleep in and stroll down for a breakfast of our choosing as late as 11:00 a.m. We cannot recommend this place strongly enough.


Great place in the Hudson Valley

4.4 on October 06, 2010

Dave and Justine were great hosts. Got our dinner reservations, gave us maps and even stayed up until 1 in the morning when our plane came in late. Excellent breakfasts and very comfortable rooms. A nice central location. Would definitely recommend it.


a warm and welcoming visit.. great food!

5 on September 21, 2010

From the moment we arrived, and our hostess Justine came upstairs with freshly made blueberry ice cream and her lovely smile, we felt welcomed and cared for. The accomodations were cozy and charming, the house is an interesting Victorian in a lovely setting, and the food is to die for! David has taught at the Culinary Institute of America, so how lucky could we be?


A wonderful time at the Smythe House

5 on June 27, 2010

Justine's and David's Smythe House is a lovely place to stay. They made us feel right at home, helped provide ideas for places to visit in the Catskills, and served an extraordinary breakfast menu in a beautiful setting. We are so happy we stayed here and highly recommend Barclay Heights Bed and Breakfast!


Barclay Heights

5 on May 25, 2010

Our room was beautiful and relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was excellent - we felt so spoiled!


Luxury & Comfort Extraordinaire!

5 on May 25, 2010

Just amazing. Very grateful for your presence and my comfortable visit.


Barclay Heights

4.2 on April 14, 2010

A last minute trip to a concert in Woodstock. Found them on the Internet. Very hospitable! Very nice people. Room (Forest) was very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again.


Great choice for the Hudson Valley

4.2 on April 05, 2010

Barclay Heights is a beautiful house in a perfect location, a minute away from the cute village of Saugerties and about 15 minutes from Woodstock, near hiking, great dining, and lots of other attractions. David and Justine are excellent hosts, offering a ton of helpful advice and resources and an exceptional breakfast. I wasn't quite as thrilled with our room - it was a bit on the smaller side - but it was clean, comfortable, and came with a wonderful jacuzzi tub. We'll visit again.


Superb Breakfasts!

5 on October 01, 2009

Breakfasts are truly extraordinary- delicious, huge (brunches really), full of fresh ingredients and we were set all the way to dinner. The rooms were lovely, nicely decorated, clean and the hosts nice and helpful. But the breakfasts really make this place outstanding and a must. A couple of reviewers have commented about traffic noise. It's not absolutely 100% silent, since it's off a two-lane road, but traffic noise- the odd car really- will not bother a city or suburban dweller.


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on September 22, 2009

Well appointed rooms in a very elegant old home. Surrounding areas were a mix of a well traveled goal. A severe nature preserve. Service of food were exquisite. Definitely worth a return trip.


Comfort and Elegance

5 on September 22, 2009

Hospitality and food were superb! My only regret was that we only had 1 night to stay. So relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing!


great hosts, beautiful home

5 on July 16, 2009

Excellent food. was a real joy to visit. Rates as the best getaway ever!


so much fruit!

4.8 on July 16, 2009

Beautiful house, fantastic hosts, picturesque grounds, and oh so much delicious fruit!


can't wait to return!

5 on July 16, 2009

Thank you for the delicious breakfast and wonderful hospitality!


Barclay

5 on July 15, 2009

We had an outstanding weekend with lots of attention to detail and wonderful service. Breakfast was great, and the room with double jacuzzi was lovely!


"www.outstandinghospitality.com" says it all!

4.4 on July 02, 2009

What a wonderful experience! Justine and David were extremely nice and courteous. The home is decorated beautifully and our room was so cozy...We stayed in the birds Room and enjoyed a nice bath in the large jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was outstanding and we will definitely come back...soon!


Barclay

4.2 on July 01, 2009

very nice place, but quite costly.


Barclay

4.6 on June 30, 2009

Fabulous room, wonderful breakfast, crossing my fingers to win this gift certificate!


Wonderful experience

5 on June 21, 2009

We could not have asked for a more comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay in the Violet Room. Will definitely return and try another room. Our hosts made us feel like part of the family--food was exceptional.


Our Favorite place to stay

5 on June 16, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in the Zen Room at the Smythe House 3 times now and we love it. Justine and David are incredibly warm and welcoming and are wonderful cooks. We brought both our dog and our 3-month old baby this time and felt like perhaps the Zen Room was getting a little small for us, with all the dog and baby paraphernalia. So although we have great memories from the Zen Room, maybe we will try the Violet Room or Bird rooms next time. I believe they have jacuzzi tubs big enough for two, unlike the one in the Zen Room that is a tight squeeze for two. We always plan to go hiking while we are up there, but usually end up just relaxing in our room for much of the time. We have done a quick and enjoyable hike to the Saugerties Lighthouse as well as a trip to the very interesting Opus 40. (http://www.opus40.org/ - I won't even try to explain it.)


true hospitality

4.8 on June 09, 2009

The proprietors were very gracious. The food was incredible. A wonderful stay in a welcoming environment.


Barclay

5 on June 09, 2009

Gracious, wonderful hosts, comfortable room, lovely setting. Absolutely fabulous!


Thanks you for your hospitality

5 on May 08, 2009

We have found our upstate home away from home!


Pleasure to stay with you

5 on May 08, 2009

Incredible brunch and great conversation. Hope to return!


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 06, 2009

This was the most relaxing time we have had in ages. The room was comfortable, the owners great, and food was absolutely delicious.


Barclay Heights

5 on March 11, 2009

We couldn't have been more impressed, the room and food were both spectacular, and we look forward to visiting again soon!


Barclay Heights

5 on February 23, 2009

Enjoyable and relaxing. Great hosts!


Fantastic getaway

5 on February 23, 2009

We needed to get out of the city, FAST! Luckily enough, the Esopous Creek cottage was available. We leave feeling rested, relaxed, and incredibly well-fed!


simply outstanding

4.2 on February 20, 2009

simply outstanding service, delightful and professional hospitality, immaculate food, charming rooms with all the modern amenities, and a jacuzzi, too!


tranquility

4.0 on February 07, 2009

What a peaceful, relaxing time we had at the Smythe House! The bed was so plush and comfortable--a real treat. The breakfast was made to order and incredibly tasty--made with fresh ingredients and truly gourmet! Would go again!


weekend in Woodstock

4.8 on January 14, 2009

The house is warm and welcoming, the hosts are generous and friendly, and the food can't be described! The most relaxing weekend ever!!


Character, charm, warmness

4.6 on January 14, 2009

An amazing getaway. Very friendly owners, great, clean rooms. A nice atmosphere, unrivaled character, just 2 hours from NY! Will stay again!


Saved by a cheese and tomato sandwich

5 on January 14, 2009

The night before my stay at the inn, I did my part in putting away a bottle of Stoli (vodka), which I paid for all the way from Philly! Upon arrival, I was ready to put myself out of my own misery, but was saved by a cheese and tomato sandwich. And I thought this was a bed and breakfast! Very much so exceeded my expectations!


Barclay Heights

5 on January 14, 2009

Terrific choice for a weekend away. Accommodations are comfortable and relaxing. Service is excellent


fantastic!!

4.8 on January 14, 2009

Everything was done in such a comfort-oriented mentality. Great attention to detail- Simply Great!


Barclay Heights

5 on January 14, 2009

great stay


Divine anniversary

5 on January 14, 2009

Highlights: Stimulating conversation Incomparable cuisine Breathtaking views A sense of warmth and caring Meeting Monica The jacuzzi


Fabulous everything!

5 on January 14, 2009

From the moment we entered the driveway, our experience was fantastic! David and Justine could not have been friendlier! The rooms were cozy and comfortable with fresh roses and chocolate. Breakfast was spectacular, beyond belief!!! We will be back again and again!


Garden of Earthly delight

5 on November 05, 2008

A wonderful gem. Attentive and kind owners. Rooms are clean and spacious; breakfast was superb. looking forward to returning!!


amazing breakfast!

5 on November 04, 2008

The room was fabulous. The hospitality was warm. the food/breakfast was outrageous!!!


perfect hosts

4.4 on November 04, 2008

what a special treat to experience your culinary specialties. your home is warm and inviting. we will be back!


great service

4.2 on November 04, 2008

awesome room and view. breakfast was perfect.


Barclay Heights

5 on November 04, 2008

fantastic!


superlatives

5 on November 04, 2008

The BEST breakfasts by Chef David, the most lovely room- such very thoughtful extras, the most wonderful restaurants (local) and perfect retreat!!


it was amazing

5 on November 04, 2008

The rooms were so beautiful, the hosts have been terrific. we definitely recommend it!


contented smile

5 on November 04, 2008

Extraordinary breakfasts in a B&B that brings to mind the fantasy of staying in your long lost friend's home and rocked to sleep in your mother's arms.


Barclay Heights

5 on November 04, 2008

fabulous!


Mountain views and fresh flowers

5 on November 04, 2008

A wonderful place! Well appointed with generous and warm hosts. My room was deeply comfortable. Breakfast was gourmet and individually catered to my needs. 5-star B&B!!


best stay ever

5 on November 03, 2008

great food and even better people!! Will be back soon!


A real country inn

5 on October 27, 2008

A totally country feeling awaits you at Barclay Heights! From the antiques to the gourmet breakfasts- everything is relaxed and friendly.


A Zen experience

4.8 on October 23, 2008

The ambiance is relaxing and beautiful. All little details make the experience heavenly.


Barclay Heights

5 on October 23, 2008

Wonderful accommodations, hosts and and breakfast! Very warm and comfortable. Will definitely be back!


Barclay Heights

5 on October 22, 2008

Excellent food, great people, beautiful room- what more can I say?


Satisfied in Saugerties

5 on October 22, 2008

Saugerties may be the 'poor cousin' of the more popular Woodstock (about 15 mins away), but this comfortable B&B scores on all points! Comfort, value, friendly hosts, and a fabulous breakfast!


A Rare Gem

5 on October 14, 2008

Thank you so much for a lovely B&B experience. Justine and David are warm and welcoming. My husband and I cannot stop talking about, and telling everyone, what an outstanding breakfast you made for us each morning. We stay at many b&b's but have never had such a delicious morning meal before! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!


Early Fall Getaway

5 on October 14, 2008

We enjoyed a wonderful 3-night stay at Barclay Cottage. With excellent full breakfasts each morning, we were full of energy to go to the Annual Neptune Festival for the Arts, crafts, sand sculptures, music, and fireworks. The innkeepers are excellent hosts.


A Beautiful Gem in Saugerties

5 on October 13, 2008

The Smythe House is a wonderfully relaxing place. The rooms are quiet and comfortable, perfect for a getaway where you want to relax. The breakfasts are exquisite and the owners are friendly and helpful.


Barclay Heights

5 on October 13, 2008

Thank you so much. The food was amazing! Was delightful with all the veggie optional!


Best Place to Get Away

4.6 on October 10, 2008

The Smythe's made us feel like part of the family from the very beginning. I will definitely recommend this B&B to any friends and family.


Anniversary Get-a-way

4.6 on September 30, 2008

I originally booked here based on the look of the "Zen" room & on the breakfast being prepared by a culinary professor. Breakfast was fantastic & completely exceeded any expectations that I may have had. Barclay Heights was extremely peaceful and tranquil


Barclay Heights

4.6 on September 30, 2008

Lovely and Lovingly restored home. Service and food were impeccable. Outstanding value - very reasonable. Need not to limit ones stay. Wroth a re-visit.


Barclay Heights

4.2 on September 29, 2008

Zen Atmosphere in a classically styled B&B - very charming! (Hard to find the entrance to the estate from the roadway - needs more or better signage.)


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 27, 2008

Great food, great rooms, great innkeepers! There was attention to every detail; little thoughtful things that make the experience extra special.


A Great Story

5 on August 27, 2008

The hospitality offered by David and Justine was wonderful. Food, ambience, conversation, all perfect.


Magical Evening

5 on August 20, 2008

We have enjoyed a magical evening together - and yes - we will return.


Elegant bed and Breakfast

5 on August 20, 2008

Throughly enjoyed our stay here. Warm and friendly, picturesque and romantic, comfortable and immaculate and the breakfast nivana !


Wonderful Place to be

4.8 on August 19, 2008

The magnificence of the hospitality, the food and service exceeded all exspectatations. The rooms so comfortable and uniquely decorated. Wish we could stay for 2 weeks.


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 19, 2008

Excellent ambience, the rooms are gorgeous and the hosts are amiable, excellent breakfast to. Highly reccommended this B&B.


A wonderful visit with monica jean

4.0 on August 18, 2008

We enjoyed meeting the smythe family, good luck on the koi pond.


Made to order breakfasts

4.6 on August 05, 2008

Really delicioys made to order breakfast withlots of choices, every morning. Justine and David are very familiar with the area. Great recomendations for dinners. Their home is beautiful and enjoy it sharing it with all their guests.


Oustanding

5 on August 01, 2008

Outstanding


The best B&B ever

5 on August 01, 2008

My husband and I often choose a B&B instead of hotels. This by far has exceeded all others. The breakfsts were outstanding. The house and rooms absolutely gorgeous.


"warm and wonderful" weekend

4.4 on August 01, 2008

This little "warm and wonderful" b and b has the best breakfast in the valley... the hosts are also "Wonderful"...


"breakfasts alone were worth the stay."

5 on August 01, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The host's are lovely people. The breakfasts alone were worth the stay. We certainly would love to come back again.


Delightful Stay

5 on July 31, 2008

Wonderful stay. Great food and accomodations; delightful and engaging proprietors and the price is right. Save room for breakfast!!


Oasis

5 on July 31, 2008

A beautiful, calm oasis. Restful and accomodating...We were so lucky to find it!


Breakfast Nirvana

5 on July 31, 2008

Having had some experience with Bed and Breakfast stays. I can say that I have never felt as calm, trusted, trusting, relaxed and free as this. Justine and Dave make the whole experience perfect.


Saugerties Getaway

5 on July 24, 2008

David & Justine Smythe, excellent hosts and chefs, provided a relaxing and fun weekend getaway. They shared their wealth of information about the region as well.


Oasis

4.8 on July 18, 2008

Thank you for the relaxing oasis & delicious breakfast! It was a great weekend away from our hectic lives.


4th of July Weekend

4.4 on July 17, 2008

We had a lovely time staying here. The room was beautiful. Justine & David were very kind & helpful showing in activities and helping us plan our stay. The food was fabulous, beautifully presented & very tasty!


Barclay Heights

5 on July 17, 2008

David & Justine helped make this a wonderful weekend. We are looking forward to our next visit.


A great Weekend

5 on July 17, 2008

Wonderful getaway, great accommodations, great food and a very nice couple taking care of all our needs. We'll be back!


Superb!

5 on July 15, 2008

Beautiful, calming environment w/ friendly and helpful hosts. Justine & Davide have a wonderful eye for detail, and are very down to earth. They want you to relax and enjoy yourself. The breakfasts were divine!


Excellent and relaxing weekend getaway

4.2 on July 08, 2008

Great place to relax. Saugerties is a pretty and lively village and the surrounding areas are great for outdoor activities. Smythe House was an excellent choice to stay. Very friendly service and delicious breakfast.


Barclay Heights

5 on July 03, 2008

Exceptionally beautiful accommodations. Really enjoyed our time here. And great breakfast, too!


AMAZING

5 on July 03, 2008

The Smythe House is absolutely spectacular!


World-class Cuisine

4.6 on July 03, 2008

Five star food served by CIA professor!!!


Nirvana

5 on July 03, 2008

I usually go with the anxious flow and face myself to take deep breaths. Here, I had no choice but to relax and that is what this environment brings. Nirvana


Barclay Heights

5 on July 03, 2008

Wonderful. Love you, Justine & Denise


Top-notch breakfast served at this Hudson Valley B&B

4.2 on June 23, 2008

The Smythe House, located in the scenic Hudson Valley, offers comfortable lodging in a recently restored Victorian cottage. The hospitality at this inn is excellent and matched only by the outstanding, made-to-order breakfasts--which are enjoyed with a view of the nearby Catskill Mountains. The innkeepers are knowledgeable about the area and helpful in providing guidance in places to go and things to do. My experience at The Smythe House was an enjoyable one. Maxine Pinson BedandBreakfast.com, Associate Editor


I love the stay here!

5 on June 18, 2008

This weekend was wonderful. It was my daughter's birthday weekend and it was much more beautiful and artistic than I thought it would be.


Four Stars

5 on June 10, 2008

An incredible place. It's beautiful, the attention to detail is highly unusual, and thy Smythes are warm and caring. I had a wonderful time, and I am recommending this to everyone.


romantic

5 on June 09, 2008

we feel more in love every time we come here


Motorcycle trip.

5 on June 09, 2008

Excellent hospitality and food. Modern amendities.


Wedding Celebration.

5 on June 09, 2008

This B&B has lots of atmosphere, The breakfasts are great. Absolutely fabulous experience!


A home away from home.

4.4 on June 06, 2008

The room was beautiful and comfy. Very peaceful, positive atmosphere and the owners were great. Breakfast was yummy! Thank you!! Will stay longer next time.


our stay

5 on June 05, 2008

it was very enjoyable. very clean , quiet, and hospitable, cozy rooms, delicious breakfast (David teaches cooking) a very comfortable b&b accommodations after the toys!


A Wonderful Retreat

5 on June 04, 2008

Saugerties is a wonderful place to wander and browse the small shops. There are wonderful historic sites nearby. This is a charming place to relax and the breakfast was awesome!


Great Place

3.8 on May 30, 2008

Great place love the furnishings and the view from the dining room window.


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

4.0 on May 22, 2008

A warm and welcoming stay


The Perfect Place to be

5 on May 20, 2008

Not sure exactly what a B&B expeience shoul feel like, but it was as if we were at our relative's house! There was no "businessy" air to this B&B, and the owners were extremely friendly and accommodating, esp. to out one year old daughter. Owners are very talented shefs and it is obvious they love what they do. Will definately pick BHBB again!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on May 20, 2008

Wonderful bed and breakfast! Hosts were friendly, home is charming and comfortable. Food was delicious!


Wonderful Place

5 on May 20, 2008

Great relaxing room-gracious host/hostess and fabulous breakfast.


I'll be back!

5 on May 19, 2008

Warm, welcoming, comfortable and picturesque. Thanks!


Family funeral

5 on May 19, 2008

The hospitality provided by the proprietors was outstanding, beyond anything we have experienced in the past. The breakfasts were delicious.


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 07, 2008

A wonderful experience of historic Saugerties. With a warm and caring welcome.


Peace and Serenity

5 on April 15, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast is beautiful. We stayed here while attending some classes in the area and could not have asked for more gracious hosts. The Inn is immaculate, inviting and peaceful. The beds are extremely comfortable and the amenities are top notch. Our rooms had jacuzzi tubs and flat screen tvs - the perfect blend of modern and victorian. The breakfasts were gourmet feasts and we could not have asked for more. We were sorry to leave and will definetly be returning. Cannot recommend highly enough!


Our first B&B Experience

4.6 on March 20, 2008

We came up from NYC for a weekend of relaxation and to de-stress and we could not have gotten that more. Our bed and jacuzzi - in the "Bird Room" - were fantastic. And, every breakfast felt like a we had won some contest and it was our reward...we are not used to such wonderful food and pampering. Next time we are in the Catskills we will certainly stay here again, as well as recommending the place to our friends.


Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $295
  • Reviews (225) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8452463788

Visit Website »

View details

Top