Westchester House B&B Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Very nice

4.0 on July 28, 2014

The Westchester House B & B was very nice, and the owners very cordial.


Friendly service and excellent location

4.2 on July 25, 2014

Very lovely little B&B. Bob and Stephanie were extremely friendly and helpful with planning our stay in Saratoga. Home-made pastries in the morning were outstanding. Perfect location as we were able to walk in one direction to the racetrack and in the other direction to downtown Saratoga and Congress Park. An easy walk in either direction.


we enjoyed our stay with you - our room & bath were perfect aa was the location I would have liked to have known about the concert held there- we hope to stay with you at another time maybe next year. I think that I would like to stay for a week do you have rates for a week or are they the same .

3.8 on July 21, 2014

We loved the races and racing museum and the location for attending both of those was terrific. The location to Broadway was great too. We had a great time visiting Westchester B&B and appreciated all the details you have developed to make your visitors feel at home and comfortable. Thank You


Friendly Stay, Great Location

3.6 on July 15, 2014

Bob and Stephanie provide a wonderful house in a beautiful neighborhood of Saratoga Springs. We were within walking distance of the downtown area and of the tracks. Bob is an interesting conversationalist and ready with facts and information on Saratoga.


Great space

3.4 on July 09, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. Location is great, short walking or biking distance to many attractions. Owners were very friendly & accommodating. Breakfast was light & not a "hot" breakfast, but it was satisfying. It may get old if staying for more than 2-3 days. Only other complaint was lack of blinds...making it very difficult to sleep past sunrise, which comes early in the summer :) Overall, had a great stay & would return.


Thank you for a lovely stay in Saratoga Springs!

4.0 on September 25, 2013

Bob and Stephanie were warm and welcoming! The Westchester House is lovely and well kept. Bob was especially helpful with maps and directions in the area. We would definitely stay there again!


Enjoyable Stay

4.8 on September 05, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our recent stay there. The couple who own and run the place are friendly and helpful, the early evening gatherings in the garden with other guests were relaxing (and sometimes informative), and the location quite convenient.


Ok not great

2.8 on August 21, 2013

The location is great for both the track and convenient to town. Our room was quite small but the bathroom was spacious and all was very clean. Our biggest beef was the breakfast--no hot dishes and the same meal every day which was fruit, the exact same rolls, juice, a bit of cheese and ham. I think it could have been more imaginative than that...certainly based on our experience at other Saratoga BandB's.


Bed 10, Breakfast 2.

4.0 on July 26, 2013

Hospitality and location 10. Walk downtown and to the track, can't beat that. Breakfast is cold, basic. Rooms are perfect!


Great B and B

5 on July 18, 2013

We love this place! Bob and Stephanie are the best! Highly recommended!


Westchester B and B

4.2 on June 26, 2013

The Westchester House is a great place for a nice and relaxing stay in Saratoga Springs. Bob was a great host, and I enjoyed meeting Stephanie as well. I would come back! All around quality place - the breakfast is great and the air conditioned rooms are a plus.


Westchester House for Dave Mathews Concert

3.8 on May 29, 2013

Visited Saratoga Springs last week to see Dave Mathews on the coldest, rainiest weekend I have ever seen in May. So we tried to make the best of our weekend. The good news is the Westchester House is a very beautiful building with very clean and big enough rooms. The location is in a lovely, quaint neighborhood of Saratoga Springs a short walk from a great downtown. There are some downsides to the Westchester B&B. If you need a tv to help you get to sleep or to hide, shall we say, certain adult sounds, this may not be the place for you. When we asked about the tv, we were told we should be relaxing and getting away from it all. Well, I would have preferred to make that decision for myself. In fairness, I should have noticed there was no mention of a tv on the website but who expects there not to be a tube in a room these days. We made due by watching some great 48 Hours episodes on our lap top as there is free internet access in the B&B. The other thing that we had a little problem with is the B&B owner insisted on waiting on everyone during breakfast and introducing everyone anew as they joined the breakfast table.Now don't get me wrong, Bob is a great guy, very friendly and willing to accommodate, but I have found folks usually find their own way at breakfast and good conversation ensues. I don't feel I need someone facilitating this. But the biggest complaint is the breakfast. My girlfriend and I have been to a number of B&Bs in the last 2 years and we have ALWAYS had a hot breakfast except for last weekend. Eggs and toast and maybe bacon is not an extravagant breakfast. Rolls, fruit salad and cold ham and cheese just didn't sit right with me. Having said all that, I would recommend the Westchester House. If you are ok with no tv, cold breakfast and a hovering but oh so nice owner then by all means this is a great place.


Charming B&B

4.6 on September 03, 2012

We have stayed at the Westchester House more than a dozen times. We like it because it is in walking distance of the race track and downtown Saratoga Springs. Bob and Stephanie, the proprietors, are lovely, full of information about local eateries and places to see, and always on hand with a libation and good story-telling at the end of the day. As you can see, we go back time after time.


Saratoga

4.6 on August 09, 2012

Bob and Stephanie are wonderful hosts. They are very welcoming and look towards making everyone's stay very comfortable.


Great service and would definitely return!

4.6 on July 16, 2012

We stayed here for some concerts at the SPAC. The owner Bob was extremely friendly, knowledgable about the area, and always willing to help us with maps or dining recommendations. The breakfast was delicious- fresh fruit and homemade pastries, yogurt, meats/cheeses, and coffee and fresh squeezed juices. Would definitely like to stay here again if we are ever in the area, highly recommend!


Westchester House B and B

4.4 on June 06, 2012

This was our first time visiting Saratoga. We were very impressed with the Westchester House. Bob was extremely gracious and helpful. He offered excellent suggestions about local sights and restaurants.


We loved our stay!

4.6 on September 07, 2011

Bob was a very gracious and helpful host. Every effort was made to maximize our comfort. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast


Westchester House Review

3.4 on August 10, 2011

Lovely place and the owners are wonderful hosts. Breakfast could be a bit more than the breads and cold meat and cheese. The setting is lovely, a beautiful garden and charming rooms; it is more quaint than luxurious. We would revisit.


Beautiful home and gardens - great place to stay.

4.4 on August 02, 2011

These innkeepers are pros who haven't let their many years in the business affect their attention to detail. We loved our stay, loved our room, loved the grounds. This is a great place to stay. I would not hesitate to recommend the Westchester to friends and family.


feels like home

5 on July 19, 2011

the decor, the flowers, the garden, the home made muffins - all perfect


WOULD STAY AGAIN ANYTIME!!

4.0 on July 14, 2011

EXCELLENT SERVICE, VERY NICE PEOPLE, NICE NEIGHBORHOOD. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING


A wonderful stay at Westchester House

4.0 on July 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Westchester House and just loved it. The home is wonderfully cared for. Our room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Bob and Stephanie are wonderful hosts and were very attentive and helpful. The location is great and in walking distance to downtown. We will definately stay there again if we are in the area.


Now my favorite people

4.6 on June 14, 2011

Bob & Stephanie as always took terrific care of Barb and me. This is our 4th or 5th stay in the last 20 years and they truly remember us each time and treat us very well. The company around the breakfast table is always lively and interesting. This time two from Germany and two from Canada and Bob was there to bring us anything we needed. I can fully recommend this "just off the crazy path" home away from home... no, better than home!


Great little B&B in Saratoga

3.6 on April 14, 2011

We stayed at the Westchester House over the July 4th holiday and had a very nice visit. Bob, the innkeeper, is very nice and helpful. He has a lot of knowledge about the area, and makes great baked goods for breakfast. Our room was in the separate house across the parking area and was very nice. I would recommend staying here if you are in Saratoga.


A Wonderful Inn

5 on October 27, 2010

We have been staying with Bob & Stephanie for many years in late July on Opening Day of the Saratoga Racing Season. The continental breakfast is perfect and allows you to enjoy lunch at one of the excellent restaurants in downtown Saratoga. And the glass of lemonade at the end of the day along with Bob & Stephanie's company is a great way to relax in their gardens. We look forward to seeing them every year and enjoying their wonderful inn.


There for Travers weekend

3.0 on October 02, 2010

Bob and Stephanie were gracious hosts. The room was very clean and the shower was fantastic! Because we were there for Travers Weekend, we had to register for three days and it was rather pricey (although this may be true for the whole area for that time.) Coffee was ready by 7:00 A.M. every morning, but there was nothing to snack on at that time because breakfast was not served until 8:00 A.M. For early risers and those of us who wanted to be at the track early, this was certainly a disadvantage. I would definitely recommend the Westchester House to my friends, but I would definitely tell them to avoid Travers Weekend! Marie & Ray


Excellent Hosts

4.6 on September 20, 2010

We have stayed at the Westchester house for the Jazz Festival with two other couples for several years. We stay in the same room every year and it's always perfect. Bob and Stephanie are great hosts.


We had a wonderful time at the Westchester House B&B

5 on July 07, 2010

Bob and Stephanie were great. The rooms were very roomy, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great with fresh baked pastries, fruit, yogurt, juice, meats and cheeses. Bob had all the information needed on getting around town, the location of the fireworks (it was the July 4th weekend), and the events of the weekend. One day after walking the town and excursing to The Great Sacandaga Lake (a recommended afternoon trip) we spent time on the swing on the porch enjoying a bottle of wine and taking in the serenity of the area. The Westchester House is just a short walk to Congress Park and the downtown area. The backyard garden is fabulous as well and the rooms were very comfortable. I would recommend the Westchester House to anyone who is heading to Saratoga Springs.


dans review

4.4 on July 05, 2010

the stay at the westchester house was nice, thed innkeppers were very nice, i'd suggest this to anyone wishing to stay in saratoga springs ny.


A Gem in Saratoga Springs

4.8 on August 22, 2009

Step back into time recalling an age when Saratoga Springs was The Place. Our innkeepers (friendly Sharon & Bob) paid meticulous attention to detail a gracious stay. Their knowledge of history, the town facts and sites and details of every restaurant were appreciated. The Victorian was indeed a jewel filled with antiques and stories. Our room was delightful and included comforts needed in our August stay (air-conditioning). Our breakfast became a special occasion when we met other guests including the spirited Lincoln sisters who shared their champagne (they arrive mid-August every year). Some guests were very Track knowledgeable and shared their racetrack picks of the day. The track is a short walk down the street. Lemonade and Iced Tea in the garden with other guests were very enjoyable. We had hoped to step back into time, recalling an age when the Westchester had individual personalities and paid meticulous attention to detail ... and we were not dissapointed.


Perfect Saratoga Race Track Location

4.8 on August 11, 2008

The Westchester House is the perfect location when going to the races in Saratoga. I parked my car in their lot and did not move it until I left. The race track , Spac, and some restaurants are within walking distance (if you are a regular walker). I had a very nicely decorated and clean room with an outstanding shower. Breakfast was great with a special touch of homemade scones each day. An early evening guest social hour (iced tea, lemonade, beer, wine and nuts) was relaxing and a good way to meet the other guests. The hosts are able and amiable. All in all an excellent, quiet place to stay when going racing.


Westchester House

5 on July 14, 2008

The owners were gracious, informative assisting in all reservations needed. excellent experience.


Lots of lovely touches

4.0 on July 03, 2008

Breakfast consists of fresh fruit and homemade pastries. Front porch and garden delightful.


specialtimeatthewestchester

5 on February 28, 2008

Staying at the west chester is like visiting with your best friends or favorite family. We wouldn't stay any place else. You are always made to feel at home and so very welcome. We always look forward to a fun time and catching up with many friends who always return to stay.


Like going home

4.4 on February 20, 2008

We have been staying at the Westchester House for the past 15 years and can't wait to go back every summer. We look forward to seeing old friends and meeting new ones from all over the country. Bob and Stephanie always go out of their way to insure everyone is comfortable and take care of any special requests. From when the day begins at the breakfast table to the gathering in the garden after everyone returns from their daily activites it is always a good day at the Westchester. Saratoga Springs has enough activities to keep anyone busy, golf, shopping, SPAC and a great selection of places to eat. We can't wait to go back.


The best B&B in Saratoga Springs

5 on January 29, 2008

The Westchester House was our home on two seperate occasions this past summer, first as a family of five taking a summer vacation and second as a romantic stop for our anniversary. Both visits were well worth the nine hour drive from Cleveland and we can't come up with one thing that we would change. Bob and Steph are gracious hosts and tend to your every request and need. They know the town, the restaurants and where to go and not go. They were exceedingly helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. I would highly recommend this location and these people to anyone who is looking to have a wonderful Saratoga Springs experience. Don't forget to stop over to see the ponies . . .


Wonderful Westchester House

4.8 on January 28, 2008

Very close to the racing track. Across the street from a quaint little convenience shop. Comfortable QUIET rooms. Delicious breakfast with interesting conversation from people who are in town for a variety of reasons. Proprietors are very helpful with suggestions and reservations for events or dinner. Paradise for me every year!!!


Friendly, spacious Victorian inn

3.6 on January 23, 2008

The innkeepers are very amiable and good about giving directions to restaurants. Breakfast is pleasant, with guests around a dining table together. The large Victorian inn is spacious, sunny, delightfully decorated, and immaculately clean. Very enjoyable stay.


Westchester House B&B

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (518) 587-7613

Visit Website »

View details

Top