Edward Harris House B&B Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
168 Reviews

Write A Review

A lovely home away from home

4.8 on March 14, 2014

My husband and I combined a night at the Rochester Symphony with a stay at the Edward Harris House. The program at the symphony that night wasn't quite what we had hoped for; thankfully, the Edward Harris House WAS! For those who have included B&B's in their travels (as we have for over 30 years), this one is in the top 25%. There is something pleasing to the eye and a comfort to the soul everywhere you look. We will definitely be back and we look forward to our next stay.


Beautiful historic home--highly recommended

4.8 on March 07, 2014

We chose this B&B due to location, and could not have been happier. Gorgeous home, much attention to every detail, warm and welcoming owners and innkeeper, delicious beautifully presented breakfast, comfortable beds...


Outstanding.

5 on April 08, 2013

Third visit was a charm, as well as the first visit, and second visit too. This home is absolutely beautiful, and very welcoming. Susan and Manny Alvarez, as well as Heather take the time to assure that your visit is very welcoming and pleasant. I'm sure that there will be a fourth, fifth and sixth visit with my family and I, as this Inn is more than a B &B. It's a home away from home, without the everyday worries and stress. Only one complaint that I can think of.... the two day bookings, that we generally book for each of our stays in this B & B, is way to short! The Hancock Family, from Southern Maryland.


wonderful place

5 on February 23, 2013

The owner came to the front door introduced himself and was very polite. The room as well as the entire facility was super clean. Breakfast was great and lots of it. Certainly not a dissapointment!


Perfect B&B

5 on December 18, 2012

Every detail is just perfect - the innkeepers have thought of everything. They are welcoming and incredibly helpful. I had to get up and out very early each morning, but they made me a beautiful breakfast before I left. Its a pleasure to stay here.


Just great!

5 on November 06, 2012

The hosts were charming, the food was great. They were very accommodating when we explained that we would need breakfast early most mornings.


Beautiful home, great location!

4.8 on October 30, 2012

The food, decor, cleanliness, comfort were all superior. I did feel it is a bit overpriced. The parking in that area of Rochester is a nightmare...but the hosts do everything in their power to work that out...much to their credit. It is a beautiful home and seems well-run and well-maintained. The collections displayed as a part of the decor are both extensive (old luggage) and entertaining (salt and peppers)!


Exceptional B&B

5 on October 29, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and it was wonderful!! You felt like you were at home instead of in some hotel room. We have stayed at some five star hotels they don't even come close to the service we received at the Edward Harris House. The food, bed and warm hospitality we received was outstanding. Highly recommend


Elegant and Delightful

5 on October 28, 2012

A charming Victorian home full of antiques, Edward Harris House is an elegant yet warm and inviting place to stay. One of the best B & B's I have stayed in, with friendly engaging hosts, lovely breakfasts, and lots of amenities such as cookies and hot chocolate or tea every evening, this B & B is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops and it a very good value. I look forward to another chance to visit.


Recent stay at Edward Harris House

4.6 on October 20, 2012

It was a treat staying at the Edward Harris House. The room was comfortable, beautifully decorated and spotless. Various Breakfast choices each morning plus Manny was accommodating for early risers. Walking distance to restaurants and the George Eastman House....and a great neighborhoods to take walks to admire the other Victorian style architecture.


Lovely home; close to attractions

3.6 on October 16, 2012

This B&B is a beautiful home in a great neighborhood. It is close to many attractions in downtown Rochester, close to freeway access and is within walking distance of a number of good restaurants. Manny and Susan are friendly and professional. The first time we stayed here we stayed in Rosemary’s Suite. The room itself is very large, but I recall the bathroom as being very tiny. This trip we stayed in Emily’s suite, which has a king sized bed, reading area, desk area and a large bathroom. Emily’s suite is nicely decorated and very comfortable. The B&B is located on a pretty quiet street, so noise isn’t a factor in any of the rooms. There is a library downstairs to read or watch DVDs. I did not rate this five stars across the board because, I wake up VERY early and like to make a cup of coffee first thing, not wait for an hour and a half. Coffee wasn’t available until 7 a.m. I wish more B&B’s would buy a Keurig coffee maker for guests to use. I think there was a beverage station outside our room, but it wasn’t really explained and while I saw tea and coffee bags, there was no creamer for coffee and I wasn’t sure how to operate the pot for heating water. Breakfast is pretty good; Manny makes a very good omelet. I don’t think you will be disappointed by staying at the Edward Harris House. It is a lovely and comfortable B&B.


Peace and Quiet at the River House

4.8 on August 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at your lovely River House. The decor was welcoming and comfortable making you feel relaxed as you enter. We had everything we needed, including special touches showing the owners attention to detail throughout the house. Loved the big modern shower and updated bathroom! Morning coffee and afternoon cocktails by the Genesee River was delightful, too! What a great place to stay and vacation!

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed the River Cottage. It truly is a special place, that I love to share with my guests! We look forward to your return!


Welcome very limited

2.4 on August 27, 2012

Closed at our arrival (2:45 pm). Room noisy because of the other guests. No indication about the nearest markets for food and pharmacy. Welcome very poor and rigid. Narrow parking. We have had a lot of better Bed & Breafast in many other cities. I do not recommend this one.

Innkeeper Response
I am truly sorry that this guest had a bad experience. While we try to anticipate each of our guests needs - sometimes things don't go as smoothly as we would like. May I respectfully request that guests please let Innkeepers know if things are not going well. A quick phone call in most instances would allow for the staff to remedy any problem that may arise - making for a more comfortable stay overall. Our best to this guest, we hope that this does not damper their enthusiasm for Bed and Breakfasts in the future.


Perfect choice for wedding night

5 on August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night and the following night, and even though we both grew up in Rochester, it still felt like a vacation to be staying in such a beautiful old home with great charm and history. I can't find anything negative to say about it. Susan and her staff are wonderful -- friendly, welcoming and very accommodating when planning our check-in time, how we would get our keys when arriving late after our wedding, etc. She couldn't have been kinder to make it a seamless two nights. We look forward to staying here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for something more interesting than a hotel.


Lovely B&B

4.6 on August 19, 2012

Beautiful rooms and outstanding service. Innkeepers are so hospitable and do everything to make you feel at home! Always a delicious breakfast. Can't wait to go back for our 1st anniversary!


Wonderful Elopement Weekend...

5 on August 04, 2012

We rented all of the rooms for two nights for us and our families to have our elopement ceremony in the garden. The weekend was absolutely perfect. Breakfast was incredible each morning, Susan and Heather did an amazing job taking care of us. Our ceremony was absolutely perfect and beautiful. The rooms were decorated beautifully, clean and comfortable. Our families raved about their individual rooms. We loved ours (The Garden Suite). The walk-in shower with bench is absolutely fantastic and the "dressing room" area is great for a bride!

Innkeeper Response
Great family! So glad you chose to stay with us!


Charming room and a fine meal

5 on August 02, 2012

I would stay here again. Breakfast was a delicious Spanish omelet and the room was very nice. We needed to check in late and the staff was very accommodating.


a delightful B & B

5 on July 29, 2012

the Rosemary's suite is very spacious and confortable. We had a pleasant stay. The host was thoughtful and the atmosphere is warm.


Quaint Cottage on the River

5 on June 26, 2012

We rented the Cottage on the River that the Edward Harris House also manages. What a great idea that was! We arrived the day after our wedding to begin our honeymoon on the river. When we first opened the door, we absolutely fell in love with this cottage! It was more than we had ever hoped for, it was perfect. The bed was more than comfortable, the kitchen was useful, and the updated bathroom with the rain showerheads was perfect to wash away all the stress of planning a wedding. We had one of the best weeks of our lives at this cottage, we didn't want to leave! We both agreed that we want to come back each year for our anniversary. Thank you Susan and Manny for a wonderful vacation!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that you had such a wonderful stay in our cottage. It is a very special place for me - and I love sharing it with guests. We would love to have you back for your anniversary each year! Thank you for the great review!


Delightful

5 on June 22, 2012

This is a lovely establishment... that much can be seen from the pictures. What I discovered is that it's also located in a wonderful neighborhood, a very short walk to a restaurant district! And, the staff were very accommodating to our special need for a bag-breakfast... as we were heading to NYC very early via bus (to see the countryside). We loved our bag-breakfast, complete with fresh baked blueberry muffin and fresh strawberries! You will be treated with kindness and care when you stay at the Edward Harris House!


a wonderful b&b

4.8 on June 14, 2012

we were there more on business than pleasure; i'm so glad we chose to find this b&b instead of settle for a hotel...we wished we could stay longer! everything was great!


A night at the Edward Harris House

4.6 on June 06, 2012

I chose the Edward Harris House because of its proximity to my son, a student, who was living in an apartment nearby. I flew in to town late afternoon, picked up my rental car, and arrived at the B&B around 8PM. It was fairly easy to find, and there was plenty of parking available. Though they had written to tell me where to find the key at that hour, Susan (one of the owners) was still there waiting to show me around and provide details regarding the facility. Refreshments (coffee, tea, cookies) were waiting for me. My room was massive, elegant, and clean. The room and the entire lodge were elegantly decorated and nicely kept up. Breakfast the next morning was delightful, both in terms of the food and the service. The food was fresh, well-presented, and very good. The owners and staff were very attentive, making sure that all my needs were being met.


Lovely visit!

5 on May 30, 2012

Thank you for making our stay special for our friends who just got married! Everything was wonderful and everyone was so nice. We will definitely be back!


May 21,22,23

5 on May 29, 2012

Susan and Manny went of of there way to help me out when I was in a bind .I needed to ship some photos I made at a John Coffer workshop and it was memorial dayUPS was closed I was flying home without even hesitating Manny said they will ship it for me . Great House and fab staff !!- Cherie Savoie Norco Ca


A Beautiful B&B

4.0 on May 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in B&B's all over the country, and this is the most beautiful by far. We stayed in the Rose Room, which is large, comfortable, quiet and BEAUTIFUL. The breakfast was very good. The hosts were pleasant, though not often seen. In a conversation with the hostess I learned that the Edward Harris is considered an "urban" B&B, where their guests are often honeymooners who want to be alone or business peopls who are in a hurry and don't want to be bothered. The other type of establishment is a "destination" B&B, where people may stay longer and want to get to know each other, including the hosts. Thank you for the good information, which will help us with our expectations for future B&B stays.


Rochester home-away-from-home

4.8 on May 29, 2012

From the quiet historic neighborhood-including nearby dining flavor-to the quality restoration of the Harris House, this Rochester adventure was a pleasant trip and nice memory for us. Many thanks to Heather and Krista for having everything just right and waiting on us upon our arrival and for pampering us for the three days we stayed in these comfortable accomodations. We also enjoyed getting to know Havannah and Fidel! Manny amazed us with his tasty cooking abilities which quickly made breadkfast the highpoint of each day. What a freindly team! Susan has thought out all the details necessary for her visitors and her forethought ensures that guests have what they need and feel comfortable during their stay. Eastman House/Museum is within walking distance and should be at the top of any activity list. Local night life is a quick block away with lots of variety for food, drink and people watching. Drugstore, wine shop, bank and groceries are close too. Downtown is a short ten minute drive and getting around town otherwise is a breeze as this is just a few blocks off the freeway. Make your reservations in advance because this place stays booked continually.......and we now know why. mbf/caf


you won't be disappointed

4.6 on May 28, 2012

Excellent hospitality, spotless room, every amenity you could want, luxurious room.


Best in Rochester

5 on May 24, 2012

wonderful hosts and lovely place to stay. great location. highly recommend


very hospitable

4.4 on May 21, 2012

We were greeted warmly by the innkeeper Susan even though we showed up early. She was helpful in giving us discount tickets, discounts on wine & restaurant recommendations. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was ideally located in a lovely neighborhood & we walked to most of our destinations.


Special Girl-time w/ Daughter

5 on May 15, 2012

I've never stayed at a B&B and had to go to Rochester fairly quickly. I thought it might be nice to stay at the Edward Harris House, and I brought my daughter as company. We had a wonderful time staying in someone else's beautiful home, not mine, and it was clean and very charming, unlike mine which is the home of a busy family with three kids! So, now my daughter and I have very special memories, and I'm looking forward to our next B&B stay, wherever that might be.


It was excellent

4.8 on April 19, 2012

We did not have time to stay for breakfast, so Manny prepared a healthy breakfast for us and put it in the fridge in our room. Nice stay, nice people.


Outstanding!

5 on April 12, 2012

We had a great stay! Beautiful place and extremely accommodating!


Amazing Stay

5 on March 26, 2012

Everything was perfect! The room was beautiful & clean, & breakfast was delicious. Wonderful hospitality, & definitely will return.


Elegant country charm at its finest!

5 on March 25, 2012

Exquisitely beautiful rooms, delicious homemade breakfasts, friendly people, nice toiletries, all in a great cozy area of downtown Rochester. We sipped complimentary port in the evening before drifting to slumber in a downy bed. The house is so pretty and comfortable you might want to lounge in it all day, and it's great for that too. The dining area is just superb. The powder room was gorgeous (and the nice tables perfect for our laptops). Other things that impressed me: Tom's of Maine toothpaste, Kashi cereals, fruits, nuts, and flax seeds, complimentary bottled water and potato chips in the powder room, the robes and towels, chicken sausage, the miraculous manual accordion window blinds that obey your hands, impeccable decorating, a piano in the living room, etc. We may never stay in a Rochester hotel again.


EHH

3.8 on March 14, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay in Rochester! The house was beautiful and the food was outstanding. My only complaint would be that the room was chilly until later in the evening and there were no controls in our room to turn the heat up sooner. The hot water for the shower/bath ran out before we were done too.


Nice B&B

4.0 on March 11, 2012

It was our first time staying at a B&B. The room was beautiful and very clean. We did not eat breakfast, but we would definately stay there again. Thank you for the pleasant experience.


Outstanding

4.0 on February 25, 2012

Stayed two nights last weekend and I have already booked my next reservation ! The staff and innkeepers made sure everything was just perfect during our visit. Very quiet and comfortable and I know this will be the only place that I will want to stay, when I'm visitng my Son over the next four/five years while he is attending the Eastman School of Music.


Wonderful and Romantic B&B!!

5 on February 18, 2012

I surprised my wife on Valentines day and had a very wonderful stay at the Edward Harris House B&B. The home was very quiet and peaceful. The interior designer when above and beyond when updating this house. The staff was very helpful and the place was extremely clean. The breakfast food was delicious and we would highly recommend this B&B in everybody. Thank you! -D&K


We LOVE staying at the Edward Harris House B&B !

4.8 on February 15, 2012

We were so happy to spend 3 nights back at the Edward Harris House, where we got married in 2011. This visit was just as enjoyable as the first, and we will definitely go back again! The attention to every detail, the ambiance and the amazing service is second to none. We will continue to tell everyone we know that they need to experience the excellence that is the Edward Harris house!


Perfect Place

4.8 on February 12, 2012

First experince at a B&B and the bar was set after staying at the Edward Harris House. Just minutes in walking distance to the famous Park Avenue, it was a pleasant experience to walk the specialty shops and restaurants nearby. We ate at a very delicious restaurant called Bacco's at the intersection of Oxford and Park. Highly recommend anyone looking for a warm cozy place to stay with delicious breakfast food waiting for you in the morning.


Recent 3 Day Stay

4.8 on January 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room, common areas, breakfasts, and location were excellent. We went for several walks through the neighborhood and much admired the many stately old houses. It was a short walk to the Eastman House, and easy to get to the Geva Theater or other downtown spots.


Warm, gracious spot for a family reunion

4.0 on January 21, 2012

There is no lovelier place than the Finger Lakes in the summer and fall, but our recent visit to the Edward Harris House Inn in mid-winter was just the perfect, warm, cozy and gracious winter indulgence. It is a lovely spot to be tucked away in the snow, warmed by the fire, in beautifully appointed rooms. We loved the tea nook at the top of the stairs, and it was blissful to sit in the library with a cup of tea, read and watch the snow. We came from different parts of the country to spend time as a family, and can't think of a nicer place. Plus, great location with convenient walking access to Park Avenue and East Avenue historic district, restaurants, shops and cultural venues. Highly recommended for all seasons. A gem.


Edward Harris House

5 on December 28, 2011

After stepping into the Edward Harris House a third time, this bed and breakfast still exceeded our expectations by far. The breakfast is to die for, the rooms are beyond luxurious and for the price you would be nuts to stay any place else.


Review of Edward Harris House Inn

4.2 on December 22, 2011

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we truly enjoyed our stay. The hospitality we received was amazing and the breakfast was great as well. My only compliant was the bed itself. I have a really bad back and the mattress there was old and caused me to have a lot of back pain. Other than that we enjoyed our stay very much.


Wonderful Weekend

4.2 on December 19, 2011

Thanks to the warm hospitality of the owners Susan and Manny, we had a wonderful two-night stay at Edward Harris House. I travelled with my husband, my friend and her daughter and had booked two rooms at the B&B. Both rooms were beyond our expectations and it was obvious that Susan had taken care to decorate each room thoughtfully, and had lots of fun in the process. The neighbourhood was stunning and in a perfect location. Restaurants, shops and museums were all within walking distance. The breakfasts were yummy thanks to manny's specialities and friendly service. We would happily stay at this B&B again, should we go back to Rochester, and I would be very comfortable recommending it to friends.


Perfect weekend getaway

4.6 on December 17, 2011

We have stayed in 3 different rooms and they were all beautiful and comfortable. The owners and their staff are welcoming and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. Located in a lovely historical residential area only a few minutes walk to great restaurants. We highly recommend Harris House.


Warm relaxing evening after a long day's journey

4.6 on December 07, 2011

After being on the road for 10 hours of driving my husband and I so enjoyed our stay at the Edward Harris House. We were welcomed at the door on a rainy cold November night. The warmth of the Inn with candles, fireplaces, beautiful rooms and friendly Inn keepers made us feel at home and so glad to be there. Just a short walk down a beautiful street with 100 year old homes were few shops and many excellent restaurants. This will definitely be a place we will stay the next time we are in the area. Deborah and William


Pampered in Rochester

4.8 on November 05, 2011

This is the bed & breakfast of your dreams. A sunny, well furnished, comfortable room and bathroom, appointed with an attention to detail that reveals someone who really cares about you and wants you back. Free snacks provided in the room, as well as tea on the 2nd floor landing, and port in the living room for when you come home. Breakfast was lavish and, again, thought through to the tiniest detail. A real find.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Manny and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will return soon!


Edward Harris House

4.4 on November 02, 2011

Stayed overnight for a wedding in town. Everything about our stay was excellent and I recommend the Edward Harris B&B for travellers to the Rochester area.


I was awed by it all.

5 on October 21, 2011

What a sweet place in a sweet neighborhood. Luxury all the way. They thought of everything. Even the closet hangers were luxurious. Robes, toiletries, chocolates, antiques. Comfy bed and pillows (and I'm picky!). And the breakfast was outstanding!!!! Quiche, sausage, fruit, pastries, you name it. Yum. Good deal and great service. Thank you. I promise I'm not related to them. I was just awed.

Innkeeper Response
We would like to thank this guest for such a nice review. Owning an Inn is a pleasure that my husband and I enjoy sharing with our guests. It is nice to know that the little things that we do are noticed and appreciated by our guests. Thank you so much!


Fantastic!

5 on October 13, 2011

We stayed at the Edward Harris House after our wedding for a few days. Manny and Susan were so sweet. We plan on staying there again.


Relaxing B&B

3.4 on October 06, 2011

We enjoyed all of the interesting decor and each room was warm and inviting.


Family stay at B&B for daughter's wedding

5 on October 06, 2011

We reserved the whole B&B (4 bedrooms) for our daughter's wedding in Rochester. It was absolutely wonderful! The bedrooms were very comfortable and it was wonderful to have living areas available to gather with family members. The breakfasts were delicious and the dining room was a lovely place to linger and chat over coffee in the morning. All our family members were delighted with the home. We will definitely stay there again! Rod & Lani

Innkeeper Response
Rod & Lani, We are so happy that everything went so well for your special weekend! Your family was so nice - and everyone looked as though they were really enjoying themselves. Thank you so much for choosing us as your 'home away from home'. We are always happy to see you!


Rochester Delight!

3.8 on October 03, 2011

We were lucky to be guests at the Edward Harris house in Rochester and we were so pleased with the decor and the hospitality of our innkeepers. Susan and Manny went out of their way to make us comfortable and pampered. They think of details that many leave out, like special soaps and shampoos, extra towels, tea and coffee in lounge area upstairs, plus a lovely sitting room downstairs. We loved the master suite, with luxurious decorating and furnishings, (I'm an interior designer, so very picky!), and the modern updated bath was a pleasure. We missed breakfast due to another obligation in town, and were disappointed, as we heard wonderful things and smelled wonderful smells eminating from the kitchen. Well, next time we won't make that mistake! This was a first class experience. Aj and Kj , California


Delightful

4.0 on September 28, 2011

We loved our stay at the Edward Harris Inn. Beautiful furnishing warm hospitality and delicious food. We took long walks in the neighborhood enjoying the beautiful homes and yards as well as the many diverse restaurants and shops that are within a short walking distance. This one is a winner.


Wonderful stay at the Edward Harris House

4.0 on September 27, 2011

I was required to travel to Rochester for business, and was able to greatly enrich my stay by choosing the Edward Harris house as my accommodation. The home is so beautiful, and I really appreciated the close vicinity to the great dining options on Park Street.


A Wonderful Place!

4.6 on September 11, 2011

Our family of 5 adults, stayed at the cottage by the river that is off of the main property. We ranged in age from 25-60. Each of us was extremely pleased with the cottage. The cottage itself is cozy, well appointed, and comfortable. The back patio, that sits on the river bank is relaxing and beautiful. We had a wonderful time and all of us are eager to return someday.

Innkeeper Response
We were happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our cottage. It is a special place for us - and we are happy to share! Come back and see us again!


A beautiful place

5 on September 11, 2011

We had our wedding ceremony at the Edward Harris House and stayed 2 nights and couldn't be more pleased. Susan, Manny, and Heather are absolutely fantastic and made our stay so special by being so warm, friendly, and attentive. The room was just gorgeous and all our needs were met. We will be returning on our first anniversary and can't wait. Its going to be tough for other inns to even compare with the Edward Harris House in the future!


Very pleasant stay

4.0 on September 11, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Edward Harris House during the last weekend in August. The bed and breakfast is in a beautiful neighborhood with beautiful big homes. It's very residential; yet, it's close to Park Ave. Restaurants, shops and Eastman House within walking distance. The room is spacious and comfortable. My husband loved the day bed by the window. Perfect for taking a short nap before dinner time. Breakfast, delicious with lots of baked goods. We also enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the living room, bottled water and bags of potato chips in the room! Although our stay there was short, we enjoyed meeting Susan and Manny and of course, the adorable dogs. Thank you for the hospitality, Susan and Manny. If we make it back to Rochester in the future, we will be sure to stay with you again!


This is a great stop on any sojourn or getaway

4.6 on September 06, 2011

This lovely B and B is nestled in Rochester's historic neighborhood, offering delightful walks and charming restaurants and outdoor cafes at the end of the block. Indoors, the inn is just as appealing, immaculate and full of period pieces and luxurious beds and bathrooms. The owner, Susan, is warm and gracious, and though I missed breakfast the morning of my stay I trust it was as special as the rest of this inn. Don't miss it if you pass through Rochester --or even if you live there and are looking for a weekend away.


wonderful

4.6 on August 22, 2011

Harris House is a wonderful place to stay in Rochester. My wife and I loved it. We had one small issue and it was resolved promptly, professioanlly and pleasantly. I was very impressed. This is a lovely home in a lovely neighborhood. We will certainly stay there again if we are in Rochester.


Lovely Edward Harris House

4.6 on August 21, 2011

Wonderful hosts and a beautiful home. We were very happy to be there and we're going back next year!


Excellent Get-Away

5 on August 15, 2011

Lovely bed and breakfast in a great location. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Susan. The house was beautifully decorated with everything you could need for an overnight stay. Our room was upgraded for free due to a cancellation. The front porch was a great location to drink a glass of wine and enjoy the weather that evening. The next morning we were served a wonderful breakfast including cinnamon french toast with chicken sausage. We will recommend the Edward Harris House to anyone looking for a great stay at a B&B. Thanks.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words. We try very hard to present a comfortable stay for all our guests.


great location

4.0 on August 14, 2011

Beautifully restored, comfortable house to spend several days and so convenient to downtown and restaurants just a short walk away. Breakfast ok but not as extensive as one usually gets at a quality B&B

Innkeeper Response
Wow - I am so sorry that this guest was not happy with our breakfast. Although we do not have a 'professional chef', we have some amazing cooks on staff. We are usually right on the mark with fresh, healthy, and ample menus. I would welcome having an opportunity to speak with this guest so we might make adjustments if needed. Thanks very much.


lovely B&B

4.6 on August 13, 2011

Lovely B&B, in a great area of Rochester. Walking distance to lots of restaurants. Very frilly feminine, but still comfortable.


Excellent

4.6 on August 06, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, friendly host, perfect place in all ways. Room was airy, cozy and wonderful.


what a jewel we have in our back yard!

4.0 on August 02, 2011

It was an opportunity for us to get away for an evening and we just weren't feeling to stay at a traditional. Hotel. So, when the Edward Harris house popped up in my search and they had a room available I did not hesitate. The pictures on line were so beautiful and absolutely did the place justice. If I could move in today as a permanent resident I would, everything was so beautifully appointed and can we talk about all the gorgeous sunlight that streamed in! The service was great and not intrusive at all. And we had special dietary needs and the morning breakfast accommodated us perfectly. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone; I can't believe it was right in my back yard (rochester, ny)


An amazing experience

5 on July 30, 2011

This is the only place I will stay in Rochester. The owners are hospitable, accommodating, friendly and charming. The rooms are clean and cozy. The food is remarkable. It is a lovely experience every time.


A wedding in Rochester

4.4 on July 13, 2011

My husband and I were in Rochester for a wedding. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at EHH! The home was beautiful and our room, the Garden Suite, far surpassed our expectations. Parking was a limited, but never posed a problem. We were able to take an evening stroll and an early morning walk in the lovely surrounding neighborhood. Our hosts were welcoming and breakfast each morning was exceptional. We especially enjoyed meeting the inn doggies, Fidel and Havannah! :)


A great nook in Rochester

5 on July 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here the night of our wedding and absolutely loved it. The room was beautiful, the service was exceptional and the breakfast was top-notch. They specially ordered roses for the room at my request, and were also able to provide other items that were requested. Also, Heather, the innkeeper, provided cleaning supplies to clean my car after my best man got to it. We stayed in the Garden Suite and would highly recommend this to anyone who will be staying in Rochester. Quite a romantic get-away!


Wonderful!

4.0 on July 09, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the River Rat Cottage. The cottage was very remote-feeling, although it was minutes from downtown Rochester, and the patio and fireplace just added to the feeling of calm we felt overlooking the river. The bathroom has a big fancy rain shower, but it's actually the one detriment - one rain showerhead had only cold water and one only hot, meaning your choice was to wash only the tops of your parts in either freezing or scalding water and do a downward dog yoga position to get the bottom of your parts (incidentally, there is a handheld nozzle, but it's attached to the frigid water, meaning you did have the option to shoot icy water into the bottom of your parts...you get what I mean). However, that being said (and I believe they are working on the shower situation, since a person came even while we were there to look at it), I would still return, and this will be my home away from home in Rochester.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind comments about our little cottage, we are happy to share it. We do apologize for only one half of our fabulous shower working while you were there, and look forward to having you again to enjoy all 3 showerheads as originally intended! Your description of the downward dog was hysterical! Thanks again - and we will see you soon!


Superior B&B

5 on June 25, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights recently, intended to write in guestbook but forgot. We loved it! We're hoping to make a return trip.


Stopping by on our way East...

4.6 on June 19, 2011

Beautiful accommodations, comfortable bed and wonderful breakfast! We were traveling with our daughter who had the sleeping porch connected to our room and she found that to be most comfortable as well. We would definitely stay here again. It was within walking distance of many restaurants and some attractions. The neighborhood seemed nice - quiet and residential.


Edward harris review

3.4 on June 17, 2011

This was the third time my husband and I spent an anniversary night here, and we always enjoy it. The room is beautiful, the owners are friendly, and the food is fabulous. It is also in a nice location, so we can walk to dinner and then stroll back in the lovely neighborhood.


Beautiful Inn and Great Location

4.6 on June 13, 2011

The B & B was beautiful. Every room is very well appointed and breakfast was phenomenal!! The king size beds were comfortable and roomy. Would highly recommend!! My husband and I go to a B & B at least 2-3x a year and this was by far one of our favorites!!


Lovely place to stay!

4.0 on June 13, 2011

The Edward Harris house is charming and comfortable, a fantastic place to stay in Rochester!


Rochester's best kept secret!

5 on June 09, 2011

I am a Rochester resident, but I came across this B&B by accident and let me tell you it was the best experience my husband and I have ever had! We were married there and spent 2 nights in the Garden Room.m the cleanliness was exceptional for such an antique house. Susan and Manny keep their house beautiful and homey. Staying there was a home away from home and I have all intentions of returning. The food is outstanding, the ceremony was better than I EVER expected and everyone treats you like family. They truly value their guests and you can just feel it walking through the door. I would recommend them to anyone! The location is great East and Park Ave have everything you could ever need within walking distance. Do not look any further you will not regret your stay!


A treat for my mom;)

4.2 on June 08, 2011

We had a lovely stay. The Edward Harris House Inn is beautifully decorated and well kept. We walked to local dining, the George Eastman House, the Planetarium and the Science Center. The young lady who served our breakfast each morning was sweet and engaging and breakfast was delicious!


attention to details!

3.8 on June 02, 2011

susan's eye for details made this a lovely stay in her historic house. would have loved to have talked with her more at breakfast, but she was busy cooking wonderful food for all of us. loved the paris theme in our room. some bath sheets would have been nice, but i'm picky like that. would recommend and would stay here again. thanks for a great experience.


River cottage

4.2 on May 29, 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the River Cottage for U of R's graduation weekend. Cute little cottage with lots of charming touches -- Susan has such an amazing eye for decor! Renting the cottage was a really nice option since we had a kitchen and could bring in our own meals rather than eat out all the time. Nothing to complain about, just a couple things to be aware of -- no closets, although there are some hooks for clothes. Water smells like sulfur, but Susan and Manny provide lots of bottled water for drinking and coffee making. The Genesee River runs right behind the cottage, but don't expect that to be picturesque -- never was a very pretty river. The cottage is out in the middle of nowhere -- maybe 8 miles from the airport, in farmland, and down a very dusty road -- but quiet. Would be quite convenient for RIT visitors. I've stayed at the Inn many times and LOVE it there. So I am very happy with all my visits to Susan and Manny's properties!


Met All of Our Needs

4.6 on May 29, 2011

We had been here once before, a number of years ago. The house is still beautiful and well kept, in a terrific neighbourhood for walking around and dining. Susan and Manny are great hosts and provided for all of our needs for a two night getaway. Breakfasts were delicious, with lots of variety, and dietary needs are happily accomodated. We highly recommend this inn.


Outstanding

4.6 on May 14, 2011

Perfectly wonderful! Spotless,beautiful and confortable.


Very nice visit

4.6 on May 05, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Edward Harris Inn. The breakfast was very elegant, and the rooms were beautifully furnished.


Wonderful stay at the Edward Harris House Inn

4.6 on May 05, 2011

Susan and Manny are wonderful hosts who have a beautiful home they share. The house is situated off East Avenue, which has many wonderful mansions including the George Eastman House. We so enjoyed our stay there. The room was a relaxing haven for us on our trip. The breakfasts were delicious and hearty. If we are ever in Rochester again we will stay with them again for sure.


A most wonderful stay!

5 on May 05, 2011

We had the most wonderful wedding weekend at Edward Harris House. It was just me (the bride) staying there on Friday night, with my bridal party, hair & makeup stylist, and photographer arriving during Saturday morning for "getting ready shots." After making me a special breakfast as I was too nervous/excited to eat much, the staff continued to be accommodating and kept checking on us to see if we needed anything, offering water, fresh fruit, etc. They are just incredibly warm people who are genuinely excited for their guests' special occasions. And the food is absolutely delicious, definitely the best food I've ever had at a B&B. Manny is quite the chef! My husband and I stayed in the room together on our wedding night and definitely plan to return on a future anniversary. The whole experience was just perfect, the room we stayed in (the Emily Suite) adorable and the perfect backdrop for photos, the bed & linens comfortable... everything was perfect.


Edward Harris House!

5 on May 04, 2011

A great stay at a beautiful B & B in a wonderful location.


Aprill 2011 stay

3.6 on April 27, 2011

Stayed in their smallest room. Other rooms offered more in the way of furnishings and views.


Edward Harris House Inn one-night stay

4.0 on April 10, 2011

A lovely inn that makes you feel like you're visiting a dear friends home. I hope to return and stay again for a few days.


Edward Harris House

4.6 on March 31, 2011

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast. The hosts, Susan and Manny Alverez are warm and welcoming. The house is in a wonderful part of Rochester. I grew up in this city, and visit often from San Francisco to visit my aging parents. Since they sold the home where we grew up and now live in an assisted living development, there is no place for me to stay with them. Edward Harris House has truly become my "new home" in Rochester. I can't wait to visit again.


EH House Rochester

4.0 on March 27, 2011

We were in Rochester visiting my elderly Father-In-Law. The Edward Harris House is close to his retirement community and is a lovely, relaxing place. This was our second visit and we plan on returning again.


River Cottage Weekend Retreat

5 on March 27, 2011

Our stay at the River Cottage was perfect in every way. The rooms were much more comfortable and cozy than a hotel stay could ever have been. It was furnished with everything anyone could need. The river flowing just outside and the fireplace within created such a peaceful retreat. Being able to create our own meals and relax to enjoy them was a definite plus. We shall definitely return and recommend the Cottage to our friends. Thank You!


Fantastic Place to Stay

4.6 on March 22, 2011

My wife and I have only stayed at two Bed and Breakfasts. We were sure we'd never stay at another after our first experience. The Edward Harris House may have changed our mind. We had a fantastic time while we were there. Heather made the stay worth while, they'd do well to hold on to her. She made sure our stay was perfect. She worked with my dietary restriction for breakfasts. She kept our rooms clean and orderly. She was willing to offer us advice for what to do and see in the area. And she even was willing to allow us to play with the owners two small dogs (we needed a dose of puppy play, we were missing our own dog(the dogs usually stay away from the guests)). We couldn't have asked for a better experience while we stayed in Rochester. Do not pass this place up.


A Warm and Welcoming Place

4.6 on March 22, 2011

The Edward Harris House is a beautiful and lovingly decorated home. Everything about the stay is comfortable. Heather, who provides a delicious breakfast each morning, is especially gracious and charming, attending to everyone's dietary preferences. The dining room is sunny and inviting, and conversations among the guests are easy. We met really nice people there and throughout Rochester.


BEST EXPERIENCE!!! AMAZING B&B!!!

5 on March 09, 2011

Our stay was impeccable. The house is beautiful, the inside has a very elegant, relaxing atmosphere. Susan and Manny are wonderful!!! They do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and perfect. Manny is an exceptional cook and we are blown away each time we come here with the breakfast he creates. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B to everyone. Absolutely perfect. I have been twice so far and plan on returning again and again.


Comfey elegance in Rochester's East Ave. historic district

5 on March 08, 2011

Me: female solo traveler without a car visiting college student child on "spring" break who lives in area. Stayed 3 nights in Paris-motif Madelyne Rm. #3, had 3 tasty and generous breakfasts. Appreciated free Wi-Fi which worked flawlessly. A wonderful experience.


40th Anniversary Get-a way

5 on March 06, 2011

My husband and I recently spent our anniversary weekend at the Edward Harris House Inn and were very pleased with our room, breakfast and hospitality of Sue and Manny Alvarez. Thanks for everything!


Raises the B&B bar

5 on February 28, 2011

I like to try out different B&B's but this place makes that difficult. Once you've stayed there, why bother looking? It's not too far from the center of Rochester, has great restaurants within walking distance, tastefully decorated, has warm and wonderful hosts and everyplace you look there's either chocolate or cookies. It actually made me like Rochester...


Visiting Family

4.0 on February 26, 2011

We chose to stay at the Edward House because it was convenient to my nephew's house. We were very pleased with the room and and its amenities. The Park Avenue section of Rochester is also a great place to visit and the Edward Harris House is within walking distance of some great restaurants and bars.


Staying at home

4.0 on February 18, 2011

I discovered that staying at a B&B in your own hometown can be a very pleasant surprise! I've never looked for a B&B right at home but was planning a surprise for my husband so local was easiest. The inn keepers were very accomodating to requests and offered wonderful service and breakfast. The home is absolutly beautiful and the room was very comfortable!


A Perfect, Romantic Elopement~

5 on January 29, 2011

From the moment we entered this gorgeous B&B and were greeted by the Inn keeper, Susan Alvarez, we were entranced. The house is amazing, the hospitality is warm and inviting, and all of our needs and wants were anticipated, down to the tiniest detail! Delicious breakfasts were served both mornings, and our suite was enchanting. We are looking forward to returning soon! ~ Cathy & Randy North Syracuse, N.Y.


Edward Harris House Inn

5 on December 22, 2010

The B&B gave us a welcoming feeling. The room was very comfortable and elegantly decorated. The breakfast was outstanding! Our hosts were very pleasant and hospital. They made great recommendations for things to do in the area. This was one of the best B&B's at which we have stayed. Definitely making plans to go back again.


A wonderful visit

4.4 on December 22, 2010

This was our first time patronizing a Bed and Breakfast, and we are sold for life. Even though it was the heart of winter in Upstate New York, the innkeepers at the Edward Harris House Inn managed to provide a beautiful, cozy and inviting atmosphere. We recommend this Inn to all who visit the Rochester Area.


Edward Harris House in Rochester, a regional treasure with a warm spirit.

5 on December 19, 2010

A visit to the Edward Harris House, whether coming from across the country or from across town, is like being greeted by old friends who are eager to welcome you into their home for a relaxing visit in private accomodations, complete with eclectic antiques decor and a private bathroom just off each main guest room. Staying at the EHH is a chance to literally walk to the Park Avenue area, a "village" ambiance setting of shops, little restaurants, and just minutes by car or even by foot from the best cultural and entertainment features of the city. Or just stay in this heartwarming and comfortable old home with a good book for a weekend. Either way, it's a place that has had us (an area married couple with tweenage boys) coming back for years now for weekend getaways, and we plan to keep doing so for years to come. A real joy and and a Rochester region treasure we're so glad to have discovered! J&B S.


One night's stay

5 on December 13, 2010

this is a beautiful property in a lovely neighborhood. It is minutes to downtown which was our destination - the Eastman Theatre to be exact. The room we stayed in was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Nice linens in the bathroom and many amenities. We had to leave early so we weren't able to have breakfast....however, other guests were being served and everything looked and smaelled wonderful! Will be returning here again for certain!


Beautiful American Neighborhood

4.6 on December 08, 2010

Edward Harris House is wonderful. The innkeeper was welcoming and gracious and the breakfast was delicious. Located in a scenic and historic neighborhood of mansions, churches and museums there are several excellent restaurants easily within walking distance. It was snowing and we walked to dinner both nights. We would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast.


Thanksgiving weekend

4.0 on December 02, 2010

We had a great weekend at the cottage! It was so nice to have the space to cook, play cards, read, etc. The wood stove made it very cozy. The kitchen was fully stocked which was great and in the summer this place would be amazing with the outside patio. It really is a squirrel cottage, we saw tons of little guys, even an all white squirrel!


A lovely anniversary

4.0 on November 17, 2010

Had a wonderful time - the room was beautiful and cozy and the hosts were charming. The breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere very peaceful and serene.


Lovely place to stay in Rochester

4.0 on November 15, 2010

We chose the Edward Harris House mainly because of its location and reviews. We were very pleased. The neighborhood cannot be beat: Quiet street, but near many museums and Park Ave (restaurants, bars) are both in short walking distance. The breakfast was fine, a true treat. The room was fairly nice, our only complaint was that the bathroom had some hairs missed in cleaning in the shower, and about, and the bed was squeaky and quilt was a cheap, scratchy material (but looked nice.)


Exactly what I was looking for in Rochester

3.8 on November 14, 2010

This is a lovely find for the faithful B & B travelers. It was exactly what I was looking for in Rochester. The location - prime East Avenue proximity - in the elegant historic section of Rochester - is excellent. We went for parent's weekend and thoroughly enjoyed easy access to St. John Fisher and all our favorite spots in Rochester. My daughter has now been spoiled, enjoying 'the sleeping porch' and having her first B & B experience en suite with us. The Inn keepers have a love of their home, and Rochester. The accommodations are elegant and upscale and the value is decent. The furnishings are unusually fine and the care taking is evident. The polish on the inside exceeds the ambience on the outside (renovations of the parking and gardens are pending I understand). EHH is a lovely facility with a great deal of attention to even small details. Well done. Definitely recommend.


Anniversary weekend

4.2 on November 10, 2010

Innkeepers are very warm and welcoming. Room was beautiful and very clean. Nice quiet weekend.


Will be Back!

4.4 on November 09, 2010

Beautiful home, great room, very clean. Great service. It was a nice experience all around. From email coorespondence to the day of arrival and departure. I cannot wait to return. The bottle water in the room w/ snacks, nice touch. The extras in the room. Meeting the dogs..a plus! Good time overall. Problem w/ the shower was addressed very quickly. A+


The perfect getaway

5 on November 03, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our night stay. The hors d'ouevres and breakfast were wonderful. We loved visiting with the other guests as well as with Susan, the innkeeper. We walked to dinner at night and shops the next morning. Can't wait to come back.


5 STAR PLUS!

5 on October 17, 2010

My recent stay was nothing but outstanding. A beautiful home in a lovely neighborhood. Excellent service, with attenton to detail..immaculate rooms..all the little touches that made my stay so special.. This B and B rivals any 5 star hotel....


What a lovely B&B stay!

5 on October 12, 2010

This was our 1st stay at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely stay again when we go to visit family.


Just what we hoped for and more!

4.8 on September 28, 2010

This is our second time at the Edward Harris House for a good reason. No where else have we stayed is it as beautiful or is the service so good. The innkeeper called restaurants and gave us directions without our even asking. By special diet breakfast was personally prepared and delicious. We love staying here and hope we will have an opportunity again in the future.


Terrific!

5 on September 26, 2010

The room was spacious, the staff excellent, the location was wonderful. It's easy to walk to most restaurants. Breakfast was a delight. The house is beautifully decorated and spotless! We REALLY enjoyed our stay! THANK YOU! The Ross's


Edward Harris House Inn - Delightful and Convenient

3.6 on September 03, 2010

We had a comfortable stay and were graciously accommodated by the innkeeper.


A home away from home

5 on August 27, 2010

I stay regularly at Edward Harris House when I am in Rochester for business. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. It is like a home and family away from home and I am accommodated in every way possible. The inn is delightful; Susan and Manny are wonderful hosts; I recommend it with great enthusiasm.


tranquil, luxurious, restful stay

4.8 on August 26, 2010

A lovely place to stay, large guest room with very comfortable bed, chair, TV, and very attractively furnished with quilts and antiques. Wireless service, a small writing desk, and a small private bathroom (shower only) were functional, and every comfort was met. There's a small fridge (no ice) and a tea cart in the hallway that guests can use. Breakfast was excellent and available at whatever time was requested. Free parking, although there are not enough spots when all rooms are booked; the owner takes care of moving cars, but people honk their horns anyway, which is a bit annoying. Might be good to state the parking arrangment on the website so one knows in advance. The residential area around the B&B is lovely, and there are many good restaurants within walking distance. This place is very highly recommended!


they thought of every detail

5 on August 05, 2010

I decided to run away from home for a night so I picked the Edward Harris House Inn to run to. I was so impressed by their attention to detail. They absolutely thought of everything. My room and bathroom was wonderful! Plus the fact that they let me play with their 2 adorable dogs made my visit perfect! I spent 2 weeks traveling around Ireland a few years ago and without a doubt, this B and B far surpassed any of those. The staff was friendly and personable. The Inn was spotlessly clean. (Which is impressive for a house of this size.) My final comment is that I felt like a princesses for the night. It was exactly what I needed and much more than I ever hoped for.


Edward Harris House Inn

5 on August 03, 2010

The accommodations are 1st class. Great value, considering location. Manny and Susan are wonderful hosts.


A Few Days of R & R at the Edward Harris House Inn

5 on July 21, 2010

This was our second visit to this wonderful B & B, and it was even better than our first. The Inn is wonderfully decorated and provides all the comforts of home. The Innkeeper and staff are wonderful people, very friendly and attentive to our needs. We will definitely stay with them again the next time we visit Rochester.


An Incredible Honeymoon

5 on July 13, 2010

My fiance and I arrived after 12 hours of photos, partying, etc. The Edward Harris Inn was the most relaxing and calming place to end our day. Thank you!


Location, location, location

4.4 on March 19, 2010

Everything about this B&B was spot on, and even if it were in the middle of nowhere, it would be lovely and I'd recommend it in a heartbeat. But I have to say that one of the best things about it was its location. It was in walking distance of museums, galleries, a literary arts center, shopping, and great restaurants (be sure to eat at Edibles). And it felt completely safe to walk everywhere in the surrounding neighborhoods.


Sparkling clean, impeccably decorated, wonderful service

4.8 on January 25, 2010

My mother, sister-in-law and I shared the Cottage Suite & sleeping porch. The innkeepers' attention to detail was amazing. The inn is gorgeous and oh-so-quiet. Manny was so helpful, even carrying our suitcases for us. Breakfast was delectable.


Cozy Retreat

5 on January 12, 2010

Our cold, snowy night, we found warm, comforting ambience - hot tea and cookies, big comfy bedroom, gorgeous antiques, & yummy breakfast.


Elopement

5 on December 30, 2009

We were looking for somewhere to have a small, but romantic ceremony. The innkeepers went out of their way to make sure we had a weekend we will never forget.


Most Romantic, Posh B&B Ever!

4.6 on December 18, 2009

Exceptional B&B! Our room was so beautiful! Full of lovely comforts from the elegant fainting couch, to the cozy fireplace, beautiful country French decor and roses from my husband! The breakfast was so delicious too! Great hosts and a wonderful B&B find.


Restful, convenient, friendly

4.6 on November 24, 2009

A lovely, clean, stay with friendly hosts. Couldn't be more convenient or comfortable. I would (and have) recommend it to a friend.


A trip back in time-elegant home away from home

5 on November 11, 2009

My husband and I recently took a "babymoon" to the Edward Harris House to spend a night away from home before our first child arrives next month. Although we live in Rochester, we felt that we were on vacation the entire time. Manny and Susan were gracious hosts that not only provided a wonderful atmosphere to stay in but also entertained their guests in a family like manner. Fidel and Havana, the two dogs, were favorites and often greeted us at the door. The breakfast, the next morning was not only a delicious home cooked meal but set in the formal dining room made you feel as a very important guest. We are sure to return after the baby is born in order to get away for some much need rest and relaxation.


Edward Harris House Inn Review

4.8 on November 08, 2009

We are not B&B people but decided to try Edward Harris Inn for something different. The facility, ambiance, food, and service was outstanding and made us wish we had stayed in B&Bs before. it made our weekend very special.


A wonderful place to stay

4.0 on November 02, 2009

The house is beautiful and the owner and staff were very friendly and made sure everything was to our liking. Our room (The Garden Suite) was spacious and furnished with great furniture and antique touches. Breakfast was great. Thoughtful touches also made us feel pampered: cookies in the dining room to munch on, port to sip, and a fresh log for the fireplace made our stay quite memorable. We ran out of time to see everything in Rochester, and we would stay here again if get the chance to go back and complete our sightseeing.


Review

5 on October 27, 2009

This B&B was just off the charts. Susan & Manny were very accommodating. The room size and amenities were fantastic. Would definitely come back again.


Anniversary surprise

4.6 on October 22, 2009

The experience made us feel like trying for another 40 years. Lovely little touches like soft robes, chocolates and wine. Lovely and gracious.


A Must Stay

5 on September 19, 2009

We have stayed at several B&B's around the country and this was by far one of the best. The room was decorated beautifully, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The innkeeper Manny treated us to his home made peach cobbler for breakfast. What a treat. We will definitely be back again.


Beautiful and Relaxing!

4.4 on September 06, 2009

We stayed here for one evening on a long car trip back home. Should we ever visit Rochester again, we will definitely be staying here. Beautiful and immaculately clean rooms were a feast for the eyes. Attention to detail was evident. Innkeepers Susan and Manny, and 'assistant hosts' Havana and Fidel, were a pleasure to meet. The inn is in a quiet, charming neighbourhood, but within easy walking distance of a lively restaurant scene. We both enjoyed a very sound sleep in the Cottage Suite.


A perfect stay for our daughter's wedding

4.8 on August 26, 2009

Our family stayed here this week for our daughter's wedding. Everyone had a great time and our granddaughter felt like a real princess on her birthday. We had a fabulous bridal luncheon here as well! The rooms were lovely, and we felt so at home. Thank you Susan and Manny for a wonderful experience!


Quiet in the city

4.2 on August 21, 2009

The Edward Harris House is close to the hustle and bustle of the city and located near shops, restaurants and sites, yet is quiet. The rooms are charming, breakfast is outstanding and the innkeeper is very helpful.


best stay ever!

5 on August 19, 2009

Manny & Susan Alvarez's Edward Harris House provided the finest B&B experience of my life. Fabulous food & beautiful surroundings, right spot, perfect weather.


Great location, lovely details.

4.0 on August 17, 2009

beautiful house newly updated inside & out. We had the "Cotage Room" & it was spacious. Perfect walking location for nearby restaurants. Only small complaint was creaky bed. Friendly host. Lovely gardens.


A B&B at the Edward Harris House Inn

5 on August 03, 2009

The most beautiful B&B I've ever stayed in! So beautiful we had our daughter's wedding photos done there. The owners, Susan & Manny, were absolutely wonderful.


Wonderful, warm, and elegant.

5 on July 29, 2009

We came to the Edward Harris House for a four day weekend wedding. The accomodations were elegant yet highly comfortable with lots of extra touches. Manny and his staff are wonderful -- we felt completely at home.


perfect

5 on July 13, 2009

Everything about this B&B is perfect! Including it's location, in one of America's most beautiful and walkable neighborhoods, it's gorgeous interiors, it's spacious rooms, it's delicious gourmet breakfasts, and the graciousness of its staff!


Absolutely wonderful!

5 on July 06, 2009

Our first visit to the Edward Harris House will certainly NOT be our last! This place was simply charming. The rooms were perfectly appointed. Service was spectacular. Manny and asst. innkeeper Heather made us feel like family. Can't wait to visit again!


Quiet and Relaxing Urban B&B

5 on July 05, 2009

The Edward Harris House is in the city of Rochester but you would not know it. It was so peaceful with absolutely no traffic noise. The house itself is filled with antiques and incredibly decorated. There was always something new to see. Manny was an excellent host and Heather a great assistant. We had three of the best breakfasts ever from them. The house is also sparkling clean. With all of the antiques it was impressive that everything was spotless. The area is great for walking or biking and we were able to walk to dinner each night and to many of the attractions that the city of Rochester has to offer. Overall one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.


Discovery of a Wonderful B & B

5 on June 27, 2009

We never stayed at a B & B, and didn't quite know what to expect when we arrived at the Edward Harris House Inn in Rochester, New York. Upon arriving, we were warmly greeted by the Innkeeper, Manny Alvarez, who graciously gave us a brief tour of the house and then showed us to our room. His warmth and friendliness made an immediate impression on us, and we thought that our brief stay there would be a unique one. Indeed, we were not disappointed as we had the freedom to enjoy relaxing in the cozy living room in a family atmosphere whenever we wished. We always looked forward to the surpise breakfast Manny would greet us with each morning while we enjoyed some casual conversation with him or the Assistant Inkeeper, Heather, and, at the end of the day looked forward to returning to the comfort and coziness of our room. Our experience at this B & B has convinced us that we will definitely return here during our next trip to Rochester. Thanks, Manny and Heather for a great experience!


A wonderful stay

4.8 on June 08, 2009

Our stay was really relaxing. The house is beautiful, clean, comfortable, and cozy. The breakfast was delicious an the innkeepers were really pleasant and friendly, and so were their dogs! I would return and recommend to friends!


City inn Rochester

5 on June 08, 2009

The inn is located in a beautiful treed setting in Rochester, NY. Large rooms are decorated unusual antiques and pictures. Susan and staff were very friendly and gracious hosts, suggesting dinning and places to see and sharing their puppy's, Fidel and Havana.


Peaceful and elegant!

5 on June 04, 2009

Spent three lovely days attending our son's graduation from university. room was beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast- delicious. Will never stay at a regular hotel again!


Home away from home!

5 on May 05, 2009

My husband, our friends and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Edward Harris House for 2 nights last week and enjoyed it immensely! The house is beautiful and inviting, of course; but more importantly, Susan and Manny's hospitality made us feel as if we were in our own home. They are both so warm and engaging that we felt like we had known them for years. What a find! We will definitely return! LeAnn and Peter Marchewka San Jose, CA


Rochester delight

5 on November 11, 2008

A grand old home, with delightful innkeepers, great food, and very lovely and comfortable rooms, with every amenity.


B&B at the Edward Harris House Inn

4.8 on August 18, 2008

Very nice and pleasant atmosphere. Very nice stay.


Pleasant Experience.

3.6 on June 09, 2008

It was a very pleasant experience. I was there for a workshop in Rochester. I have to say my senses were taken in so much as soon as we arrived in the driveway. It was soothing and welcoming, cozy, homey and accommodating.


wonderful escape

5 on June 09, 2008

not to be missed experience. beautifully decorated, great hospitality, gourmet breakfast, perfect host


what a gem

5 on June 09, 2008

the house is in credible, right down to every victorian detail. there is a cute dining strip within walking distance. would love to see CFL light bulbs in the b&b


I'll stay again and again!

5 on June 01, 2008

This is our third stay at The Edward Harris House. We travel here for business and pleasure often. We have tried all the other Inns and most of the hotels in the area. When we found Susan and Manny's Inn, we fell in love with the place and it's central location. We got anywhere we needed to be in minutes during the week, then parked our car for the weekend and walked to everthing we did on the weekend. There are two blocks of restaurants to choose from a block from the Inn. The rooms are amazing, the beds comfy and the rooms sparkling clean! We will be sure to stay there whenever our travels take us to Rochester. Why stay in a hotel when you can be treated like royalty?


Our night Away

4.4 on February 05, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised when arriving. Although we did not get the room I booked I loved the room. It was the second choice I had anyway. The bed was amazing and the shower was very nice. We felt we were in another world. I forgot I was in a city at all. Susan was accomadating, even drawing out a map to a restaurant we wanted to go to. Breakfast as nice. We were a bit confused though. I had no idea it was already out. What i saw i though was a continental. But it was a bit of everything. Once we realised it was breakfast it had gotten a bit cold, but was good anyway. Over all our stay was nice and just what we needed. : ) We would come back and recomend it to our family as well.


Wonderful Honeymoon!

4.8 on January 25, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the garden Suite and were thrilled with the attention to detail - warm, relaxing atmosphere, as well as a space heater for extra warmth, plenty of blankets all contributing to uour comfort & sense of ease. A great stay of our first night.


A gold star B&B

5 on January 23, 2008

Edward Harris house This B&B is in a beautiful well kept house – in a great location in Rochester & near fabulous food and shop. The cooked breakfast were delicious and the hosts went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay, H was a pleasure to stay in this super well run B&B.


Our First Stay

5 on November 27, 2007

Not only was this our first stay in the Edward Harris House, it was our first stay in a Bed & Breakfast. Susan definitely convinced us to stay again. It was a cold, blustery day, but Susan greeted my wife and I warmly in the beautiful foyer. She picked up on our personalities and sense of humor immediately. "Happy Babymoon," she said (my wife is about 21 weeks pregnant with our second child). Susan is very friendly and makes every effort to accommodate. Fidel and Havana said "Hello", too! We stayed in "Emily's Room", and it was fantastic. It has a four-poster bed and a fireplace. There were bottles of water and snacks on the dresser, and a teapot and cups on a serving tray on the bed. There was a dozen roses on the table, with one on the bed, just like I requested. We had our own bathroom, complete with robes. The bed was very comfortable. We met a great couple from Ontario sitting in the living room, and we ended up having breakfast together. Susan brought out a delicious dish of French toast and sausage in the shape of a butterfly (complete with syrup antennae) - delicious and fun! It was sad to have to leave. We got to say Hi to the talented and thorough housecleaning person on our way out - the place is immaculate! We appreciate our inception to staying in B&Bs - Susan spoiled us. Hopefully, we can stay at this one again sometime! Thanks, Susan! God Bless ~ Bless God


Lovely Fall Getaway

5 on November 02, 2007

A charming B and B close to Niagara Falls and the Finger Lakes region. (one hour drive to each) Susan, Manny and the pups made us feel welcome and comfortable in their beatifully decorated historic home.


ONE OF THE BEST !

5 on October 02, 2007

Susan and Manny Alvarez could not have been more gracious. I felt welcomed and completely at home in their lovely establishment. The breakfasts never 'repeated' during the five mornings I was there. Presented elegantly, unique and delicious. (I have stayed at other Bed & Breakfast's where I was offered a choice, but of limited content.) Little touches, like water and complimentary snacks, placed daily in my room, were also appreciated. Use of the formal living room and beautiful backyard was encouraged. Altogether a most enjoyable experience. Whenever I find my self in the Rochester area again, I look forward to a repeat visit in their home.


Couldn't Be Better

5 on August 20, 2007

Everything about this home is pristine. It's as clean as you'd like your own home to be. The quality is top-notch, be it food or linens. The rooms are charming and very quiet. They've thought of everything and take great pleasure in making sure you are comfortable. This is the epitomy of wonderful B & B.


weekend at the Harris House

5 on June 17, 2007

We spent a weekend at the Harris House for a family wedding. The location in the Park Avenue District is superb and walkable to the Eastman House and museums. The rooms were beyond charming. All other people stuck in the downtown Hyatt were jealous of us.


Spectacular accomodations!

5 on June 17, 2007

Our stay at the Edward Harris House was out of this world. At my arrival on Feb 14th, the house was beautifully elegant. My room was perfect-spotless,cozy and warm - Most enjoyable were the innkeepers themselves, I was treated like royalty.


Wonderful in every way!

5 on June 08, 2007

We've been staying here since our son was a high school senior interested in RIT, and now he has graduated from there. It is always a pleasure to be in Susan & Manny's home; they are friendly, attentive, kind, yet low key. The house is beautiful, and always changing! A true gem.


Fabulous

5 on June 04, 2007

Absolutely gorgeous house, impeccably kept rooms and common areas. Attention to detail phenomenal. I've stayed many times and I plan to visit again soon.


Best stay in Rochester!

5 on June 01, 2007

After staying in many other places in Rochester, I will always stay here in the future. The food was excellent, Manny and Susan are great hosts, and the Inn is incredibly beautiful. Don't miss this on your next stay!


Edward Harris House B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $225
  • Reviews (168) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5854739752
  • Fax 1-5854861491
  • Toll free 1-8004191213

Visit Website »

View details

Top