The Looking Glass Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Very homey

4.4 on November 13, 2013

Very nice common areas. Pretty house, easy walk to town


Great place to stay!

5 on November 07, 2013

My girlfriend and loved our stay at The Looking Glass. The house was beautiful, and Cari was a wonderful hostess. The town is charming, and there is plenty to do and see in the areas around Rhinebeck. I highly recommend the B & B.


Charming B & B

4.6 on November 05, 2013

Warm, hospitable, low-key. Rooms homey, breakfast awesome. The butler's pantry is extremely well stocedk and a generous, unusual addition. Recommend!


Rhinebeck Trip

4.0 on November 01, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay and was very close to the festival grounds. The only downsides were: - the wifi didn't extend to our room but was in the main building. - The showers and flushing were super loud so you could hear it from almost every room in the building.


Great location, professional service

4.6 on September 03, 2013

Stayed during the week of the fair. Central location made it easy to walk to local restaurants, stores, and the fairgrounds and onsite (and off street) parking made it easy to get around with the added traffic. Owner was friendly and efficient without being intrusive. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was excellent, we didn't notice any noises at night (from outside or inside) and a/c kept the room as cold as we needed. Amenities (pantry with snacks and mini fridge, umbrellas, coffee to-go, etc.) were an additional treat. All around a GREAT place to stay and we will absolutely book again when we are in the area.


Wonderful B and B with charm and class.

5 on August 14, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay on a beautiful street, a very tastefully renovated and maintained old home with grace and charm. Service is excellent, host is great, breakfast is well prepared and interesting. Couldn't be better.


Our Looking Glass Visit

5 on August 11, 2013

Loved it, as always!


A lovely night at the Looking Glass B & B

4.6 on July 20, 2013

The Looking Glass is a marvelous mirror Victorian home in the lovely village of Rhinebeck. The house is beautifully maintained, Cari is a wonderful hostess, the amenities are fabulous, I have only good things to say. Enjoy!


Great Experience

5 on May 21, 2013

Cari is a very gracious host and her home is beautiful. She made us a terrific breakfast and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. I would definitely come back here next time I am in Rhinebeck.


Rhinebeck Inn

3.6 on April 09, 2013

Because it's in Rhinebeck, you get less space for your money than in a less trendy place. Go when the weather is warm so you can hang out on the nice porch. Cari is lovely.


Lovely weekend stay with delicious bruch! We'd absolutley stay here again!

4.8 on February 04, 2013

Fantastic in-town location. Our room was cozy and comfortable with beautiful quilts. We had some dietary restrictions and the owner, Cari, was more than gracious to accommodate our needs. Breakfast Saturday and Sunday was scrumptious - fruit, scones, homemade granola, quiche, waffles, bacon, sausage. This is truly a gem. We will choose it again for our next stay in the area.


Lovely B&B

4.0 on October 08, 2012

Would stay again. Was unable to lock my room door.


A Great Little Spot in Rhinebeck, NY

3.4 on September 17, 2012

We stayed for just one night at a time when The Looking Glass requires a 2 night stay so we were plesed that Cari was able to accommodate us. We were very comfortable in the 2nd floor front room (Bailey) and found the front porch a lovely place to sit on a warm evening... we returned there for breakfast the next morning! The B&B is on a quiet street in a neighborhood within walking distance to the quaint town of Rhinebeck with lots of shops and restaurants. We would be happy to return!


Great for a weekend away

4.0 on August 27, 2012

Stayed at The Looking Glass during a bicycle trip with my partner. Cari was a lovely host. The room was tidy and sweet and breakfast hit the spot. The Looking Glass is perfect for a weekend in the country.


Wonderful experience!

4.8 on July 30, 2012

This was our first time at a B & B and it was just a delightful experience! Our room was a little small and the bathroom was tiny, but we had a small closed in porch off the bedroom that was very nice and gave us the sense of a bigger room. The bed was very comfortable. The owner, Kerry, was so sweet and couldn't have been nicer! We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back!


Beautiful B&B, friendly owner.

4.4 on July 10, 2012

A beautiful B&B with friendly, helpful owner. Town is lovely with lots to do and see in the area. Highly recommend.


The secret weapon

4.0 on June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Looking Glass for two nights. The room was clean and comfy. Our only complaint is that on one of the days the towels had a bit if a musty smell. The breakfast was very simple-fruit, yogurt,cereal,muffins, tea and coffee. It was a good way to start your day. There's wi fi and a computer if you need one. The TV situation is not so hot, which I actually find to be a plus. The house and front porch sort of make you want to cuddle up with a good book (or I-pad). But the secret weapon to your stay at The Looking Glass is the lady in charge, Cari Meltzer. She's quite knowledgeable about the area and will make you feel right at home.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I take each and every comment very seriously. I do apologize for the state of the guest towels. There is no excuse and it is not the standard that I set for our guests or for my home. I am sorry that it negatively impacted your stay. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the guest room, the porch and my level of customer service. I do very much enjoy my livelihood and look forward to hosting you in the future.


Hudson Valley sojourn

4.2 on June 10, 2012

The Looking Glass is a very pleasant B & B, located in a terrific town (Rhinebeck). Cari is a pleasant, knowledgeable hostess, and she was helpful in answering our questions. The Looking Glass is on a quiet street just a couple of blocks from the downtown area -- where we enjoyed moseying, shopping and dining. Overall, it was a super experience.


Sleeping Beauty at The Looking Glass

4.2 on May 19, 2012

My wife and I spent Mother's Day weekend at The Looking Glass and had a marvelous experience. Cari, our Innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess and made our experience memorable. She even gave my wife a Mother's Day gift of chocolates which was unexpected but much appreciated. The Looking Glass was very convenient to the village in Rhinebeck, and we walked to several restaurants and shoppes. Thanks Cari! We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.


Fine B&B

4.6 on April 30, 2012

Our 2nd visit. Booked all rooms for a family event. Great experience. Comfy. Felt at home. Host attentiveto various individual needs, flexible. Provided written route guidance, snacks. Went the extra mile.


This chanded my husband's mine about B & B'S

4.4 on April 26, 2012

I like the idea of a bed & breakfast but, my husband never wanted to go to one. But, after our stay at the Looking Glass, I think my husband won't mind going to another B & B .He said, it felt like he was staying at a friend's home But, with a better breakfast. We highly recommend The Looking Glass for a warm and most welcoming place to stay. Just bring you own music to add to your romantic evenings.


A fantastic plac

5 on April 25, 2012

We just came back from the Hudson Valley with another couple. They usually do not like to stay at bed and breakfasts. This weekend changed their minds. Carie was a great hostess, truly a hostess with the mostess. Her breakfast was delicious. She made arrangements for us for visiting wineries and all of her recommendations were right on the mark. The Looking Glass was comfortable and clean and a place you want to go to. We will be returning in the fall.


Cozy Quilts and Cookies

3.8 on November 02, 2011

The Looking Glass is charming and very Victorian, my fantasy of staying at my grandmother's house. There are tons of homemade quilts (made by Cari's mother) and always fresh baked cookies and coffee cakes. Cari went out of her way to help us when an unexpected blizzard came through and prevented us from attending the last session of the program we were attending at Omega and were maybe going to not be able to get on a train. I would definitely return. Would like to in fact, to be able to explore the charming town.


A Great Place to Stay in Rhinebeck.

3.4 on September 18, 2011

Thought it was a great value and I would stay there again. Walking distance to downtown, cute house, and charming host. Did take a day or two to confirm reservation and it is a typical Victorian with not many outlets. Fully met my expectation.


Great Place

4.8 on September 16, 2011

We've stayed here several times - great rooms, terrific breakfasts and a wonderful innkeeper.


Overnight stay

5 on September 03, 2011

I stayed at The Looking Glass for the first time in May. I found the experience to be a delight. Cari was warm and welcoming, and my room was cozy and charming. I am planning another stay there in October.


Couldn't have hoped for better

5 on August 30, 2011

My wife and I (newlyweds) recently stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon. Everything was outstanding, from the service to the cleanliness to the food. The owner, Cari, was very friendly and hospitable. She went above and beyond the call of duty, even giving us two vouchers to a local cruise around the Hudson. My only complaint is how hard it is to book a room here!


The Looking Glass

4.0 on August 15, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Looking Glass. The service was extraordinary, making needed minor repairs almost instantly. We loved the fact that we could walk to town and received great dining recommendations from our host on several occasions. We would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to our friends.


Lovely spot, 3 blocks from Rhinebeck Center

3.8 on August 15, 2011

Excellent weekend in a lovely, residential B&B, just a few blocks from the farmers market, restaurants, book store, cinema and shops of Rhinebeck center. Host coordinated our arrival well and the historic Victoria house was lovely upon arrival and we were offered lemonade and cookies and then whisked upstairs to our private room/bath. Host had lovely breakfast each am and recommended nice activities and restaurants nearby. Would visit again!


Looking Glass B&B

3.2 on August 08, 2011

Nice enough place, but the Cherry Blossom Room is very tiny and not large enough for two people, clothing, and luggage, to say nothing of a laptop. No closets, small sink is in the room, and one sits on the toilet with knees pressed against the wall. Other guests apparently liked their larger rooms.


Great Experience in Rhinebeck

4.4 on August 04, 2011

Our room was very small, but good for the price. Carrie's breakfast was beautiful, healthy and very delicious. She's a good hostess and a sweet lady!! This was a very good experience. I highly recommend this B&B.


Jeff

4.0 on August 02, 2011

Lovely inn close to town run by charming owner who really goes out of her way to make guests feel at home


fairy tale stay

3.6 on July 11, 2011

We received a wonderful warm welcome and were made to feel very at home by Cari. Very comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings and so convenient for strolling around town. Breakfast was delightful and substantial.


June 2011

4.0 on June 27, 2011

Terrific friendly atmosphere, good recommendations about dining and sightseeing, and great breakfasts. Easy walking to downtown restaurants, shops, farmer's market and fairgrounds.


Wonderful weekend in Rhinebeck

4.6 on June 08, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Looking Glass. Cari, the Innkeeper, was so gracious and informative. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and so creative. We don't lean towards staying at B&B's when traveling but were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed the stay. We will definitely be back.


The Looking Glass was great!

3.8 on June 07, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Looking Glass. Although our room was very small it was comfortable. The breakfasts were really the high point! Cari, the owner, couldn't be more helpful and charming! Thank You!


Great Place

4.0 on May 29, 2011

Fantastic location, easy access to town, good breakfast. Very comfortable, good host.


a great stay at the Looking Glass B&B

5 on May 15, 2011

It was my first stay at a B&B and it was better than I could have imagined , a very tranquil setting, a comfortable and quiet room, and a friendly and helpful host ! A very hard place to leave. James


A great place to stay in Rhinebeck

5 on April 30, 2011

The Looking Glass B & B was a truly wonderful experience. The location was great--we were able to walk in to town and to all restaurants. The B & B was a beautifully restored Victorian House on a lovely street. Our room was the smallest in the inn, but we had a sun porch of our own to use with a separate entrance as well. The breakfasts were beautifully served and the food was excellent.


Wonderful!

5 on April 25, 2011

The room was comfortable, the food was delicious, the benefactors were kind, respectful, available and reasonable.


Great place to stay in Rhinebeck

4.0 on March 22, 2011

Great location, friendly and a fabulous breakfast. Our third time at the inn.


Rockin in Rhinebeck

4.6 on March 16, 2011

great location and town - love Rhinebeck - hope it does not get ruined by too many tourists! I am from Long Island and hate the Hamptons, Rhinebeck was much more fun and down to earth - loved Cari - she was great


A quiet inn away from the fast life

5 on November 05, 2008

After sitting in a hospitable inn for two days, this was a God-send.


The Looking GLass

3.2 on October 30, 2008

very helpful people. made us a map on mapquest to get us to our destination. We also had a sit down breakfast in the morning.


Through The Looking Glass

4.2 on October 13, 2008

I and friend stayed more than a week at The Looking Glass; I highly recommend it. Innkeeper Cari Meltzer was welcoming, but not intrusive, answered all our questions about the area, restaurants, roads etc. Room and bathrooms very clean, beds very comfortable; continental breakfast offered fresh fruit, delicious home-baked goods that varied daily; pantry always open with various teas, granola, oatmeal, energy bars, fruit, yogurt, bottled water, no charge. TV in den (useful during Oct. 08 financial crisis!), and WiFi available. NY Times delivered daily. Attractive, not overdone, country decor. Could walk to village center, though a long block to main street. In Rhinebeck, don't miss Calico Cafe and Le Petit Bistro!


All the comforts of home

4.4 on September 21, 2008

Amazing hostess Cari was informative, friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Cherry Blossom Room- the only one on the first floor, it has a private entrance and three-season porch. We were there during the week and only continental breakfast was offered, but it did not disappoint! Yogurt, granola and fresh fruit were accompanied each morning by fresh, homemade baked goods. Butler's pantry and common areas provide all the comforts of home. We will definately be back!


Brief stay

4.4 on July 08, 2008

I stayed at the inn and found it to be a very enjoyable experience. We were received warmly and felt that our needs would be taken care of. The Cherry Blossom room had a bit of a small bathroom, but private use of the windowed / screened porch more than made up for it. Would stay there again!


Just like home...

5 on April 23, 2008

We love the Looking Glass! Comfortanle charming well priced and simply enjoyable!


The Looking Glass

Details

  • Nightly Rate $160 - $190
  • Reviews (48) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8458768986

Visit Website »

View details

Top