Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
114 Reviews

Write A Review

Country Hideaway

4.2 on June 23, 2014

We stayed for 4 days in the Catskill region and had a blast. We took day trips using this hotel as our "home based". Our room was small, bed comfortable, bathroom updated and clean. The staff friendly especially the owner. The food was outstanding even better than other hotels that I've been to. It is remarkable that they have survived for 143 years in continuous operation. They must be doing something right.


Genealogy Trip to the Catskills

4.4 on June 10, 2014

I wanted to stay there because my 2nd great grandfather built it in 1867+-. Susanne & Stan were very friendly and the rooms were impeccable..very clean & well maintained. Beatiful area. Food was terrific as well. Temps in late May are wonderful..nice & cool. Hope to visit again someday in the future.


Great experience

4.0 on June 09, 2014

A nice old inn with lots of character. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. The dining was excellent. The meals were delicious and the portions more than adequate. Very nice atmosphere. Highly recommended.


Outstanding

5 on May 26, 2014

Beautiful, serene place. Wonderful experience. Thank you so much


Enjoy the old world food anf hospitality

4.8 on April 29, 2014

Just fantastic food, great caring staff and a special place. Will return to enjoy wine on the porch and enjoy the beautiful view!!!


Lovely and Cozy Inn

4.2 on April 16, 2014

We shared a weekend at the Bavarian Manor with a group of friends and had a terrific time. The porch was beautiful and set a relaxing tone for hanging out and enjoying the sunshine. Suzanne at the front desk gave us (and our dog) a very warm welcome and made herself available to take care of all of our needs/desires. The meals we experienced in the dining room were delicious and the service was great. The rooms could use a little love (our door was falling apart and the ceiling was a bit droopy) but it was comfortable and clean. We loved the authentic German charm. We'll be back some day!


Cozy Room

3.4 on April 09, 2014

The staff here were attentive and welcoming to our needs. The rooms were nicely decorated and the dinner was amazing. I never had German cuisine before and now I would like to have it more often. Would stay here again if I'm in the area.


History

5 on April 09, 2014

The Bavarian Manor is a great place to stay! My first time here was in the mid 70's and it is just as good now as it was then. Terrific food, great service and fantastic atmosphere. Little bits and pieces of area history all over the building. I highly recommend the Bavarian Manor!!


Great place

4.6 on April 01, 2014

The room was clean and the staff was awesome! Very friendly and family oriented. We stayed for 1 night for a quick last snowboarding trip and we're very happy with this location


Great Stay At Bavarian Manor

4.2 on March 04, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Bavarian Manor during an overnight ski weekend on Valentines Day. We had a "Cozy" room, as described on the website, which although small was big enough for the two of us and our gear. Heavy, old-world bed covers and the antique furniture reminded us of Grandma's house and we slept very well. The couple who accompanied us had one of the larger rooms with fireplace and jacuzzi tub which was also very nice. We ate dinner in the restaurant and ordered German dishes and beer, which didn't disappoint. The service was fantastic even with the place being very busy on Valentines Day. The next morning we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast in the restaurant before heading out to the slopes. We couldn't believe that even though breakfast is included in the price of the stay that we were able to order as much off the menu as we wanted. It was a nice touch that we had the option of including a tip for the breakfast waitresses and the chambermaids in the room charge. We then had a very lovely snowy drive over the mountains to Belleayre. We regretted not reserving a second night. We will be back.


Fantastic Stay!

4.4 on March 03, 2014

We stumbled upon this b&b by chance and we were so glad that we did! Service was amazing and the staff was friendly, warm, welcoming, and everything we could've asked for. The room we stayed in was nice and cozy - even with the frigid temperatures outside, we were toasty. This place was also a convenient distance away from Wyndham - far enough to avoid the crowd but close enough to get an early start. Their complimentary breakfast definitely exceeded our expectations. They offered quite a few selections for a proper sit-down breakfast - not just a grab and go. We definitely look forward to coming back here again!


Windham Ski Trip

4.8 on March 03, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bavarian Manor on a Saturday night so we could ski Windham the next day. The room was clean and had the essentials we needed for an overnight stay. We had drinks at the bar before dinner and the staff and others at the bar were very friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food and service was excellent. They offer a good price on a Ski Windham Ski package that includes room, breakfast and 2 lift tickets to Windham. Owner is always very friendly and accomodating. Definitely would recommend this B&B to others. This was about our 6th time staying there and it is always good.


Great value at a wonderful, down-to-earth and friendly place

4.0 on February 20, 2014

Had an awesome time at a very nice & quiet long weekend getaway. Wonderful hospitality and great dining. The Bavarian Manor is a little older but nonetheless a lovely place. Outstanding breakfasts, and great dinners. Great selection of German beer on tap. I would highly recommend this to anyone and we plan on going back!


Coxy well run B & B, Very friendly and helpful staff

4.2 on February 15, 2014

None


Good Value and Charming

4.6 on January 14, 2014

Very good restaurant. Rooms are spacious and very clean and well kept. The rambling mansion is creaky but in good condition. The lake behind the mansion is very relaxing and should be pretty in the summer.


Bavarian Inn celebration

4.6 on January 06, 2014

The service and food was wonderful. The mattresses are worn and could use updating


Bavarian Manor

4.2 on January 04, 2014

As usual an excellent New Year celebration


25th Anniversary Getaway Weekend

4.6 on December 30, 2013

We were looking for a nice, quiet place to spend a weekend away for our 25th wedding anniversary. We got exactly what we were looking for: quiet place with good food (breakfast and dinner). Our room was large and clean, and the food was excellent. Thank you!


Charming Country Inn

4.2 on December 28, 2013

The warm, cozy atmosphere of this inn made our stay most pleasurable. The bathroom was a bit dated, but the bed was comfortable and the room decor added to the character and quaintness of the inn. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service and hospitality of the waitstaff. We definitely will stay here again!


A great weekend in the catskills!

4.4 on December 04, 2013

My girlfriend and I spend a night and it was great! It was a simple stay, very peaceful and nice to get out of the city. It was a quick ride to woodstock, where you can grab some good or go shopping.


Fall Stay

5 on November 06, 2013

We have been coming to the BM since 2008 and just love it! Suzanne, Stan and Nancy and the rest of the staff are so wonderful! The food is the best! We will continue to go!


Best stay ever, will return more often!!

4.2 on October 28, 2013

It's like home away from home!!! A complete family experience!


Diamond in the Rough

5 on October 23, 2013

Wonderful German themed B&B Inn in the Catskills. We stayed there to see fall foliage. That wAs beautiful also. The Inn has fantastic breakfast. Rooms are large and clean. Have everything you could want except Wifi and that is available in the lobby. Dinners in the restaurant reminded me of ones my mother made. Highly recommend this Inn!


The best food I have had in a very long time

5 on October 23, 2013

I am German descent and my grandmother was an excellent cook. Unfortunately I never learned how, Your schnitzel tasted just like hers. Auguste Broadmeyer


Very friendly did everything to make us feel weelcome.

4.8 on October 21, 2013

Very friendly did everything to make us feel welcome


Mr Wonderful Gives Double Thumbs Up

4.8 on October 20, 2013

Highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a place that makes you feel like your staying with family and friends. Stan and Sue are genuine people that make you feel at home in their home,


Weekend upstate New York

3.6 on October 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay


Wonderful fall visit

4.4 on October 07, 2013

The inn was very nice and we were extremely impressed by the hotel and restaurant staff!


best bed & breakfast

5 on September 25, 2013

charming - clean - & the restaurant was great


Very nice

4.4 on September 01, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. Our room was small, but charming and clean. We were pleased that the restaurant offers vegetarian options. Our waitress Eleanor was terrific-pleasant and efficient. We look forward to returning to the Bavarian Manor sometime in the near future.


A wonderful place

4.8 on August 29, 2013

We truly enjoyed our long weekend in the North Catskills region, largely due to the wonderful accommodations at the Bavarian Inn. We were made most welcome, and extra effort was made to make us feel special. Cannot recommend a place more highly. Stephen and Mae Sicari Long Island


Vintage Catskill Mountain House!

4.4 on August 13, 2013

A wonderfully welcoming, charming historic Catskill Mountain inn. Everyone was very pleasant and friendly and helpful. Staying here is like returning to a more restful era.


Incredibly pleasant staff, awesome porch, but old rundown place

2.8 on July 31, 2013

If everyone who worked there wasn't so nice and helpful and they didn't have a fantastic porch for enjoying several beers on, we'd never consider going back. The room was fine though smaller than expected for a "family" room and with a super loud air-conditioner, but the bathroom was sub-par...both because you could look at the drain and see it wasn't clean, and because the water pressure for a shower was practically non-existent (seriously, the water just stopped 2-3 teams on me). The food at the restaurant for dinner was okay - not amazing, but okay. Breakfast was included and good. Our favorite was parking ourselves some chairs out on the porch with several beers and snacks and enjoying each-others company (there were four of us - all up for the Warrior Dash at Windham...and this was the closest place available that wasn't too expensive). But as said before, everyone who we met who worked there was incredibly nice and helpful. That's worth a lot.


untitled

3.6 on July 25, 2013

Great breakfast choices, very helpful staff. Don't love the plaid comforter on the bed though--got a peek at other rooms that were cracked open and they seemed a bit fancier in decor. Overall a great experience.


Great Stay

5 on July 22, 2013

Karen


Beautiful Place

4.4 on July 14, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent food, clean, extremely quiet. Not your typical chain hotel, much more personal and homey. The rooms were cozy and you can adjust your heat/AC to your comfort. It's a shame the restaurant is only open Thursday through Sunday. The food is great and the beer fantastic!


Bavarian inn

4.4 on July 11, 2013

Excellent service! Staff and hotel had a lot of charm and character. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area


mature couple on weekend trip to the the Catskills

3.8 on July 10, 2013

This B&B was fantastic for service and food, with friendly and helpful staff and an amazing restaurant. The room we stayed in was a little tired but given the age of this B&B, was clean and tidy.


Just right for the Catskills

4.6 on July 03, 2013

I'm not sure if there are luxury B&B's around, but if you stay at Bavarian, you can't be disappointed as the staff is fantastic (4th generation, I believe), the food great, and the setting tranquil, not to mention central to most points of interest. Rooms are ok, that is to say, not the Mandarin Oriental nor the Youth Hostel, but kept very well.


HIGHLY RECOMMEND

5 on June 29, 2013

This was our first visit to The Bavarian Manor and we were highly impressed with our stay. We arrived at 9:30 p.m. and received a warm welcome from Suzanne. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was outstanding. Thanks to Innkeepers, Suzanne and Stan, for their dedication to providing a quality bed and breakfast and for their service to the community as Rotarians. Many thanks to everyone for making our short stay a memorable one. We will definitely return again.


long weekend

4.8 on June 10, 2013

It was wonderful to get away even in the rain. Thank you


One of my favorite places

5 on June 08, 2013

My husband and I visit the Bavarian Manor at least twice a year, once in the winter and once in the summer. We also got married here. It is one of my favorite places to visit. The rooms are quaint, clean and lovely. The food in the restaurant and for breakfast is wonderful. I would wholeheartedly recommend this inn for your stay.


A Delightful B&B

4.0 on May 20, 2013

I accidentally reserved the wrong days. I arrived a day earlier than I reserved. The friendly staff accommodated me anyway. They went out of their way to welcome my spouse and I after our day long drive. The Bavarian Manor is a trip into the past with a relaxing charm away from all the technology driven distractions. However WiFi and cable TV was available for those who needed a fix. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Relax and enjoy the view!

4.2 on May 09, 2013

Welcoming, warm staff invite you to slow down and smell the lilacs. The inn is from another era, but that is part of the charm. The food is fantastic. If you want to decompress, this is the place to do it!


Charming old Inn with a classic German restaurant

4.8 on May 03, 2013

The Bavarian has been one of our favorite restaurants for many years. We have driven through rain, sleet and snow to get here for the most outstanding German cuisine around. The Schnitzels, Sauerbratten and Rouladen are great favorites. Suzanne and Stan are so accomodating, and really lovely people. They employ a terrific staff in the inn and the restaurant. The inn is 150 years old and still has many of it's original architectural details, although recent renovations to modernize rooms have kept it current and up to date. There are antiques and nice casual country appointments throughout without being 'fussy'. The rooms range from cozy bedrooms to large suites, many with great views of the eastern mountains and of the lake on the property. There are nice hiking trails on the near 200 acres the Oldakoski's own, and you are free to room about the place-maps of the property are available. My partner and I finally decided after eating here so many times we would stay here as well. It's really nice having a wonderful German dinner and just walking upstairs, or joining in for a drink in the busy Tap Room where the local folks meet to chat and catch up on news. Then in the morning come downstairs for a full delicious made to order breakfast before setting out on your day in the Catskills. We highly recommend the Bavarian for the dining and the Inn. A great place to unwind and relax.


Beautiful place to stay.

5 on April 14, 2013

We intend to return.


A Great Weekend Visit

5 on April 10, 2013

Friendlyness of staff -- comfort of rooms -- service excellent. Dinner choices and meal were above and beyond delicious. Stayed in Room #50 with my two daughters and had a lovely day and evening. The grounds are beautiful. We have to visit in the summer to enjoy more of the outside and wrap around porch. We recommend highly a stay at this Inn.


Happy Couple

5 on April 03, 2013

Upgraded us to bigger room, room was beautiful, service excellent, Suzanne and staff very friendly and helpful, would highly recommend to others


Great stay

4.6 on March 27, 2013

Great variety of rooms to choose from - ours was small but very comfortable and cozy - just what we wanted. What's outstanding here is the staff. They really went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Everyone was just so very friendly it was so refreshing. Outstanding people, including the restaurant.


A Wonderful Place with Amazing Staff

4.0 on March 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. It's quiet and quaint, a perfect getaway from NYC. The staff was welcoming and sweet. Our server at breakfast and dinner was lovely! I really enjoyed this place.


Weekend ski trip

4.6 on February 06, 2013

Close to the slopes of Windham mountain. The full breakfast was excellent. Rooms were quaint.


Nice place, good food.

3.2 on January 30, 2013

Rooms were nice but the bed was super squeaky and they were having some water pressure problems one night. The food was very good. I'd stay there again.


Cozy and Inviting Inn

4.4 on January 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night recently while snowboarding at Windham Mountain. The owner was very cordial and inviting and gave us a great room. We had a very filling german style dinner in the evening and loved the included free breakfast. A great relaxing time in between the hitting the slopes. Would stay there again.


Our stay at Bavarian Manor December 2012

4.0 on January 15, 2013

When we decided to spend New Year's 2012 in the Catskill a good friend or ours recommended we stay at the Bavarian Manor. So we did and i can say that it has been a very pleasant experience and we will definitely go back. From the front desk to cleaning personnel and restaurant services everything was beyond our expectations. Very friendly environment - more like a family. I would definitely recommend the place.


Weekend get away

4.2 on January 02, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at bavarian manor the place is very old and nicely Decorated . The staff is very friendly and helpfull , the rooms need a little updating ( minor repairs ) caulking and such but it's very old and a beauifull relaxing place A++ to Stan and suzzanne.


Nice days to relax

5 on November 05, 2012

Most relaxing weekend ever!


great overnight autumn getaway

4.4 on October 24, 2012

We had a wonderful restful night and great dinner and breakfast. I would recommend it to friends. The inn itself is old, so don't expect the plumbing to be brand new and the floors not to squeak a bit. It was a lovely room right over the front porch, loved the fishing lodge decor and the Rip VanWinkle story.


Nice Relaxing Stay with great food

4.2 on October 23, 2012

My wife and I went there for a 3 night stay for our Honeymoon and it was a very quiet, relaxing atmosphere with great food for breakfast and dinner. Everything is kept very clean. The only thing I wasn't greatly impressed with was the size of our bedroom and not having a mini fridge. If I were to go again, I'd uprade to one of the larger rooms for $139/night....


bavarian innn

4.2 on October 05, 2012

funky floors due to the inn being built in 1865! The food was excellent, the staff friendly, and the area gorgeous.


Historic but down-at-heel hotel

2.8 on October 05, 2012

A classic property, but once we got to our room, it was shabby. The restaurant is a different story--attractive in an old fashioned way, and the breakfast was generous.


modern comfort in old-country setting.

5 on September 30, 2012

We loved the old-country style and the comfort of the room. We came to see the sights of the Hudson Valley School of artists and Mrs. Oldakowski was super nice and gave us lots of helpful information. There was no dinner on the days that we stayed (M-Th), but breakfast was good. Cornelia and Lewis.


Relaxing and enjoyable stay

4.6 on September 16, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Bavarian Manor Country Inn and both times we found our days very relaxing. The owners as well as the staff, are very hospitable. You felt right at home. The full breakfast which is included was very filling and the pastries are made by the chef. One day we had the pastries warm, they had just come out of the oven. We have dinner at night in the dining room and the meals are very good. We enjoyed having drinks on the porch in the evening and checking emails in the morning. This is a great getaway not far from the city.


A hidden gem

5 on August 25, 2012

What a beautiful surprise to find this authentic Catskills inn tucked away off the beaten trail. Impeccablly clean, friendly staff, great food, authentic (meaning not stuffy or pretentious; REAL!) decor and charming rooms. I will be back after the perfect experience we had!


Romantic weekend

4.0 on August 15, 2012

The rooms were very quaint and were perfect for quiet relaxing. The outdoor porch was beautiful and took me back in time.


Home away from home

4.6 on July 11, 2012

My husband and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at Bavarian Manor Inn. The staff was friendly. We actually got a free upgrade which wasn't expected. We also enjoyed our breakfast and dinner. We felt relaxed and right at home. We now have a place to go to every summer. Thanks Bavarian Manor!!


Great place for a relaxing stay

4.0 on June 27, 2012

The Bavarian Manor Inn was a great place to relax. We were in town for the weekend for a wedding and it was a great place with easy access to Catskill, NY. The breakfasts (which are included in your stay) were fantastic. Cook to order breakfast is generally not what I expect from an inn that includes breakfast, but a welcome surprise. I have heard the dinner is also great, but we were not around for any dinner. There are is a great set of snowmobile trails right at the Inn which are great for a trail run in the morning for the athletic type. The staff was fantastic and our room very clean. My only complaint was that we had an iron in our room with no ironing board. This made getting ready for the wedding a tad more difficult. All in all a great stay. I would return.


Wonderful get away

5 on May 30, 2012

This is a great place to get away to. The Innkeepers are wonderful and friendly. The food is fantastic.


Visit on Saturday, May 26, to Sunday, May 27, 2012

5 on May 30, 2012

My husband, adult son, and I planned a motorcycle ride Memorial Day weekend and booked a family room. Unfortunately, our son was unable to join us at the last minute. When we arrived at the hotel, we told the registration desk that he was not with us and given a King room instead. The hotel was lovely. Our room was very nice and comfortable and the grounds were gorgeous! We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and very pleased with the full breakfast we had in the morning. We will be staying there again next time we are in the area.


Best place for a relaxing getaway.

5 on May 24, 2012

This was my first visit to the Bavarian Manor and it was better than I had expected. You are treated like "family" and Suzanne goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. If I am ever in Purling, NY again I will not hesitate to stay there. IreneF.


One of the best places I've ever been!

5 on May 07, 2012

I have stayed at this inn for weekends and even got married there! The food is amazing, and the accommodations are sweet. I especially recommend the rooms with a jacuzzi!


People from New Rochelle

3.0 on April 23, 2012

The rooms were charming as always, and the place has a really relaxing atmosphere. Unfortunately, the food was not up to par. At dinner, I ordered a veal dish and my wife ordered chicken. Both dishes were tough and frankly unappetizing, so we were disappointed there. Usually, the food is great. An "off" night?


4th Annual Moms and Sons MLK ski weekend

4.2 on January 19, 2012

We enjoy this B&B so much it is our 4th year. Very comfortable, friendly accommodations, staff and management. Our boys love this place and have nicknamed it "the Haunted House" but no evidence of a ghost! Wonderful hearty breakfast to prep us for our day on the slopes. A lovely dinner and relaxing environment to return to afterwards. The restaurant and bar attract many jolly local residents.


Wonderful weekend

4.6 on December 01, 2011

We expected our stay to be fun, but it was better than that. Truly caring staff, a pleasant and relaxing setting, amazing views. And when they said "pet-friendly" they weren't kidding. They even ordered great weather for us :). We felt lucky to have found the Bavarian Manor and hope to return soon.


Very nice atmosphere

3.4 on November 08, 2011

We stayed only over night on our way from Niagara Falls to Boston. House is wonderful and very charming. Bed and bathroom are a bit small, but room is nicely furnitured and very quiet. We really loved the breakfast, it was marvelous! Suzanne was very kind. We can unambiguously recommend staying at this Bed&Breakfast. Dining unfortunately was not possible as we arrived beginning of the week.


Step back in Time

4.0 on November 04, 2011

What a pleasure to spend a few days at the Bavarian Country Inn. The rooms are relaxing, the staff exceptional in meeting our needs and the restaurant is excellent. We love that the Inn is pet friendly. It is comforting to relax with some of the local Catskill residents while enjoying a cocktail in the intimate bar.


Great Place!

4.6 on October 19, 2011

Was at the Inn for friends wedding. Great service and staff was very friendly. Wou8ld defiantly recommend to friends and family.


Great B&B with Outstanding service!

5 on October 13, 2011

You could not find an place that is more welcoming. Everything was great!


Review of Bavarian Manor

5 on October 11, 2011

I'm very willing to include my name as I think the Bavarian Manor is a phenomenal B&B. I can't think of a nicer place to stay and have only the highest complements to pay to Suzanne and Stanley. It's a gem nestled in the beautiful Catskills. Patricia Eren


Bavarian Manor Bed & Breakfast

5 on October 11, 2011

friendly, relaxed and laid back atmosphere makes for a very restful and enjoyable vacation experience. this hotel blew us away!


Bavarian Manor

4.0 on October 03, 2011

A lovely, comfortable inn. Brings back fond memories of childhood vacations in the Catskills.


Very Happy

4.0 on September 28, 2011

The place was very cute and the staff were very nice. We wished we had stay towards the end if the week because most things around the area were closed, some due to the hurricane, so understood. We would go back.


Friendly, relaxed hospitality melds with 4-Star dining

3.8 on August 17, 2011

The atmosphere in the 19th century-era Victorian inn was welcoming and warm. Sue and Stan, as well as their entire staff, are helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The fact that they are the third generation of the family to run the inn is reflected in their relaxed approach to their business. Dinner is not to be missed! Stan's daily special appetizer of brie baked in pastry and served with fresh fruit was outstanding, as were both our entries and the dessert which we split. The wine list was very reasonably priced. Breakfast each morning was also very well done, many choices and very fresh food. My wife and I hope to stay there again and will recommend it highly to all our friends.


Charming and comfortable

4.4 on August 17, 2011

Our room, although small, was charming and adequate for our needs. The other rooms we peeked at were all attractively decorated as well. We were greeted warmly the minute we walked in, and all the staff were very hospitable and friendly. The food is FABULOUS, and breakfast is included (try the coffee cake - yum!). The building is lovely and we enjoyed relaxing on the huge wrap-around porch. Some aspects of the room needed a little work, e.g. the bathtub faucet dripped and there seemed to be water damage on the bedroom ceiling. The taste of the tap water is a bit unpleasant for someone used to NYC water, but that is because of the spring it arises from. However, these are minor complaints and we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would stay at Bavarian Manor again and would certainly recommend it to others.


We love the Bavarian Manor

4.6 on August 13, 2011

My husband rediscovered this gem in the Catskills after spending his summers in Purling as a child. We love the cozy rooms, the peaceful atmosphere, celebrating our wondeful German heritage, and sitting on the porch after enjoying the best German meal you could have, smoking a cigar and sharing a bottle of wine. Sue and all the other staff are very welcoming and that is why we plan to visit often.


A Superb Country Inn

4.4 on August 05, 2011

We've returned to the Bavarian Manor every summer for the past 8 years. The service, rooms, ambience, and charm keep us coming back. It's our place in the country!


memorable stay

5 on August 05, 2011

We were there for only two nights. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the surrounding environment a lot.


Good old-fashioned place - good for a gateaway weekend

3.0 on August 03, 2011

The house is very nice - it reminded me of the Magic Mountain (Mann). It's pretty old: that's why it's charming, that's also why it has some defects (you can here what's going on in the halls, the bathrooms are kind of old too...). I would recommend this place, but don't expect to be in a Marriott. Take it as it is, and you won't be disappointed.


rook

4.6 on July 31, 2011

It was a very nice location setting and the folks were very friendly and helpful. The dog and cat were friendly also.


A very relaxing time with exceptional dining.

4.4 on July 31, 2011

Once again our annual weekend stay at this wonderful inn was just what we expected. The room was clean, roomy and very well appointed. The breakfast is always excellent and seems to hold you over till dinner time. The breakfast staff are so friendly and cant do enough for you. We ate dinner at the inn one night and it was delicious. I ate the trout and my wife had the broiled seafood. We have had other selections from the menu in the past and have never been dissapointed. Our server Jennifer could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Both my wife and myself highly recommend this inn to anyone looking to a relaxing time with wonderful dining, and an extremely friendly staff.


comfortable, clean and excellent restaurant

4.4 on July 30, 2011

our second stay at Bavarian Manor. this time, we upgraded to a larger bed and room (were in #12 last year; this year in #36). beautiful view, very comfortable queen-size bed, and much larger room. Bathroom fixtures not new, but very clean, which was more important. the German food in the restaurant is excellent - worth the many beers! whenever we are in the area visiting family, we will always stay here


Don't need to go back to Germany anymore

5 on July 28, 2011

I can recommend this lnn & Restaurant without any reservation. Especially the dinner was one of the best German meals I had in my life (that includes living in Germany for more than 30 years). I will definitely return again.


Outstanding Old World Experience

5 on June 30, 2011

We were overwhelmed with the beautiful atmosphere of this 135 year old inn, which is decorated throughout with antiques and lace curtains. The owners are gracious, the staff is dedicated to their jobs, and the menu includes some very fine German dishes - prepared perfectly. The breakfast is more than generous, with much to choose from, all cooked to order. The setting is quiet and idyllic - a fine retreat from any busy place. Our sleep here was peaceful; we look forward to returning and already have decided which room we'd like to try next!


Great Weekend

5 on June 19, 2011

Had a great time visiting my old hometown. The Bavarian is a great treasure in teh Catskill Mtns. great place to stay, quiet and great food. Will be visiting again . Thanks Suzanne for everything you did for our class reunion Friday


Old and charming B&B with top service

4.2 on June 15, 2011

Some rooms were a bit small (but some were large and light) and especially the bathrooms maybe to old, but that's the only things below average. Extremely good and friendly service, tasty breakfast and such a nice and classic house! Would so much like to go there once again..but I'm from Denmark:-(

Innkeeper Response
You are absolutely right,I agree with your statement regarding our bathrooms. At this time, we are in the process of meeting with contractors to update some of them. We hope to have the renovations in progress within the next few weeks. Your comments regarding our Inn are appreciated.


Weekend at the Bavarian Manor

4.8 on May 18, 2011

This is our 3rd time staying at the Bavarian Manor and we totally expect to go back!


We would return

3.8 on May 03, 2011

A very nice place. The owners are great and we would return if we are in the area again.


Great Place

4.6 on April 20, 2011

really enjoyed our stay. Food is EXCELLENT, free breakfast is outstanding as well. Very Very clean with plenty of space to relax. Goes the extra mile to please and serve in every way with a pleasant friendly attitude. Thank you for a great time. Looking forward to a return trip. Cal and Chris


Catskill Trip

4.0 on April 15, 2011

We just love this place!! We have been there multiple times now and would highly recommend it :)


A rest for the weary traveler

4.6 on April 14, 2011

Although we only spent one night at the Bavarian Manor we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The Inn itself is a treasure in and of itself and I must say the meals were delicious and we must thank Suzanne for her gracious and warm hospitality. When we travel we only stay in B&B's and Inns and The Bavarian Manor is now on our list of " Inns to stay at". J&D


One night stand

4.8 on April 13, 2011

Because I had a full schedule of travel and wanted to stay near the palce where I was to give a talk on Sunday, I reserved a room at the Inn for just one night. I know the area somewhat, so I was a bit nervous about finding a place to eat. Turns out that the dining room serves some of the best German food I've ever had, served by a superbly attentive and friendly staff. My room was, as was stated "cozy", perfect for one or two people, and the bed, well, it resulted in a nights sleep of 8 hours - something I've not had in years. I can't say enough good things about this place and the kind folks who run it. and recommend it


my stay

4.2 on March 30, 2011

Two day weekend visit at Bavarian Manor Inn: staff very friendly and welcoming; food excellent, especially the Schwarzwalder Kirschtorte; rooms clean and warm; all around nice stay.


perfect

5 on March 07, 2011

It was magical ... the perfect romantic getaway. I would totally go there again.


Nice place to stay with the right amount of privacy and charm

3.8 on March 02, 2011

We ended up with the smallest sized room because we made our reservation so late, but it was still quite nice. The place is well run and the fact that breakfast is included is convenient and a great deal. We plan on returning and bringing our dog with us next time.


Lovely Long Wkend

3.8 on December 15, 2010

The B&B was beautiful, lovely employees, delicious food the one thing that bothered me was the bed, very creaky. Other then that it was a lovely time.


Great Place to get away for the weekend

4.4 on November 07, 2010

We went there for our first anniversary. We will be definetly going back there for many more anniversaries. It was a very clean, warm, cozy atmosphere. Everyone made you feel very comfortable. The restaurant was awesome too, I am half german and italian, and I absolutely loved the german food. Everything was delicious especially the potato pankackes. Awesome place to just get away from all the city life and just relax and have fun.I thought the place was great. Very friendly people. The rooms were very warm, and I am not just saying the room itself, I am saying also the coziness of the room. We will definetly go back there again.


Charming!

3.6 on November 07, 2010

Cozy rooms, great wrap around patio. German dinner was delicious, and hanging out at the bar near the fireplace was very warm and relaxing. Staff was helpful with things to do in the catskills and the area was beautiful.


Warm & Cozy

3.2 on October 27, 2010

Great place to unwind and relax for a weekend.. A true stress reliever... You have to dine here.. The food is down right homemade and delicious... Will be back soon...


Smile and enjoy the relaxation!

4.2 on October 26, 2010

Suzanne is a gracious hostess, knowledgeable and friendly. Made us feel right at home regarding accommodations, meals and just hanging out enjoying the solitude. Great place to get away and relax. Leave the kids home!


Great bed and breakfast.

5 on October 12, 2010

The food was excellent, very comfortable and homy B&B. The owners are wonderful. Great stay. I will stay there on my next visit to the area.


we love this place

4.0 on September 13, 2010

my husband and i love this bed and breakfast. we have stayed countless times over the last few years. we havent been able to get there in a about a year now. but everytime we went we had a better time than the time before. the people who run the inn are very delightful people. i even surprised my husband on his 50th birthday with a weekend away at the inn and we had a wonderful time. we cant wait to find the time to be able to go back! thanks suzanne and stan for all you do! maryann ednie


highly recommend

5 on September 08, 2010

I went with my wife and 2 year old daughter for a 24 hour getaway from the city and it felt like a full week away. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for, great feel to it, old fashion with modern amminities. The restaurant and manor are German themed even the staff in the restaurant which only added to the great food and service including the full breakfast part of the stay. We also took a drive to the caverns an hour away and even stopped at a petting zoo for the little one close by on our way out of town. The air, the water, the food, the service and the rooms, all exceeded our expectations and was just what we needed for a quick recharge and nice getaway. Affordable too for everything we did in a short time. If your just looking to relax or take a break, we highly recommend it and we will be going back.


Bavarian Manor

2.8 on August 12, 2010

There was some issue with our dinner order that led to an inexcusable delay (surrounding diners seemed to get reasonable service).


Glad we stayed

3.4 on February 14, 2009

We were glad to find a place to stay on such short notice, it was FREEZING outside! When we arrived Friday evening, the atmosphere was quite jovial. Lots of fun in the tavern and tasty interesting German food with easy choices for our kids also. We tried some of the (local?) wine and opted for the imported drought beer instead. Rooms were fine, and the whole place felt like we stepped back in time to a happier place. We hope to go back in the summer and check out the grounds.


Avoided this inn at all costs

1.6 on October 20, 2008

Our room was was tiny, code and not safe for a Claustrophobic. This was not what we signed up for. As we made our way to the bathroom, the first thing we noticed, after the floor sunk down a bit and seemed to shift, was the most poorly designed sink man has ever created. Hot and cold were on separate spouts and you had to hold each one down for water to appear. Letting go of either would cause the water to immediately stop flowing, making it nearly impossible to wash your face or hands. This might not be so bad if you could fill the sink, but the stopper was too small for the drain. Let's move on to the makeshift shower that more closely resembled a small tin can laced with stains more colorful than the autumn leaves we came to see. Standing in the shower was not only extremely tight, but once again the floor (or whatever it was) would sink and pop like the top of Snapple bottle. Needless to say I avoided that experience altogether. Also, locking the door is futile, it will just open. Since the room was quite cold we turned on the heat to find that it wasn't working; or so we thought. This heater was all or nothing 100 degrees or 0 degrees, and finding warmth by laying in the bed produced creeks and noises that could be heard on the other side of the inn. In fact the bed was so rickety, my girlfriend was awoken several times during the night from the tiniest shift in position. If it wasn't the noisy bed keeping us up, it was laundry room right next door, which was running at 12:00AM or the sound of people walking in the hallway bleeding through the paper-thin walls. I think random bugs that appeared in the room had a much better time than us, as they seemed to hang around quite a bit. Ultimately, we decided to cut our vacation short and left despite paid for the entire stay. This place is definitely not worth the money, and should be avoided at all costs.


Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $199
  • Reviews (114) 4.4
  • Rooms 18

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5186223261
  • Fax 1-5186222338

Visit Website »

View details

Top