Canal Side Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
44 Reviews

Write A Review

Small Town Friendly Service

5 on October 27, 2014

We had exceptional service. The room was spaceous, clean, and a great value. The food at the Inn is exceptional. I would always stay here when we come back to visit family. Thank you.


canal side inn on erie canal bikeway

4.6 on October 11, 2014

great stay, comfortable surroundings and convenient access to the bike trail


A real treat and we will be coming back again!

5 on August 26, 2014

Charlie Gray


Surprising find

4.0 on August 24, 2014

The Wi-Fi didn't really work, otherwise the rest of our stay was great. I would definitely recommend it to others. Next time I'm in the area I will stay here again.


Bicycle ride on Erie Canal

5 on August 12, 2014

What a find in Little Falls! Our accommodations were spacious and very clean! The food in the restaurant was beyond our expectations, truly a gourmet meal. We arrived early as there were severe thunderstorms coming in, and James should us where we could store our panniers and bikes while we visited the the town. Thank you so much for making the middle of our bike ride one of the best stays.


Trains overnight

2.6 on August 03, 2014

If you can sleep through regular trains running into the wee hours then go for it. The Inn is but 500 yards from a major route. So I could not sleep except between the hours of 3 and 6 am! So I can't recommend it. The building is old and charming but you'd be hard pressed to find a level floor anywhere. And although the French restaurant had a first class menu and great service, it was too dark and is in serious need of a makeover. The Innkeeper does everything including greeting you while working in the kitchen. But Liitle Falls is quaint and quiet, except for the trains that run through it.


HARD TO FIND AT NIGHT

3.8 on October 10, 2013

Spacious rooms, comfortable bed, super large bathroom...decor dated and ill conceived. Floor in the two room unit slants significantly down hill from the bedroom into the bathroom due to the extreme age of the building. Lots of extension cords. The restaurant on premises had tired decor too, however the food was excellent. People were friendly and helpful. Beautiful area for antiquing.


Comfort along the Mohawk

5 on September 14, 2013

The canal area in little falls has really become a magnet. It's like a small euro village town. Very friendly people. More to do than I thght. Great walks. Canal side restaurant below inn is wonderful and seems misplaced. As a foodie you would expect to see this restaurant in a large city. If travelling down the thruway stop here. It's a hidden treasure.


Very nice place to stay, restaurant is fantastic

4.4 on July 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Canalside Inn. James is very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant is very good. Only negative was that there were people hanging out outside the restaurant until fairly late at night and we had to get up early the next morning.


A little gem in Little Falls

4.4 on July 17, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here and dined at the inn before attending a performance at Glimmerglass Festival (about 45 minutes away). The third floor room was very large and comfortable; the stairways were narrow but well-lighted (no elevator). The inn is close to antique shops and galleries as well as the canal. Dinner was excellent!


Nice place.

3.4 on June 30, 2013

Innkeeper James is very friendly and accomodating. Mable took great care of our room and made sure we had everything we needed. This is a safe place to stay and is close to a nice restaurant and shopping. James also operates a fine place to dine after 5 with a nice bar on the 1st floor. We spent 6 nights here and loved it! The Longs


Great suite and great food.

5 on June 23, 2013

The suite was large and comfortable. Even had half and half in the fridge for the coffee and tea. Real wine glasses were available as well as coffee mugs. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. Would highly recommend.


Wonderful

4.8 on January 24, 2013

Outstanding dining experience- lovely room.


Wonderful Place!

4.6 on October 17, 2012

We were biking the Erie Canal route and were very pleased with our reception at the end of a long rainy day. The room was actually a suite that was warm and filled with antiques and then dinner at the French cuisine restaurant was delicious with a lovely attentive server. High marks all around.


My Tour de France

4.8 on October 03, 2012

As a cyclist family, we stayed at the Canal Side Inn, checking in late on a Friday night, too late to enjoy the French Cuisine, at the restaurant, downstairs from our suite. We left Saturday morning after enjoying a good rest, and delightful breakfast. James, the Innkeeper, restaurateur, and owner is celebrating 30 years of business. We chatted when we arrived, and found some commonalities of travel in our younger years. He guided us to the start of the Erie Canal-way trail and after a totally enjoyable stay, headed toward Albany cycling on our 80 mile trek. I will return, but for the food, since the menu was inviting. Highly, recommend the setting and adjacent areas to visit.


Great place to stay and fantastic place to eat.

4.8 on August 19, 2012

We only stayed one night but were very impressed. James and his staff were great and the room (suite) was huge, clean and well appointed. The best part however was the food in the restaurant, it was fabulous! We would recommend the Canal Side Inn to anyone.


Very Nice

3.4 on August 08, 2012

Very nice room, cute little town, I wish I would have had more time to explore the area. We were able to order dinner and have it sent up to our room which was very nice. The staff was very accommodating. The breakfast was excellent.


A little piece of Heaven

5 on August 05, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights in the Canal Side Inn for the second year in a row and, as always, it felt like home away from home. Dinner in the restaurant downstairs from our room was absolutely fantastic! James is an awesome chef and our dinner from beginning to end was probably the best we have ever had anywhere. Canal Side Inn is situated in the quaint little town of Little Falls, New York and across the street from a wonderful area of antique shops. A relaxing, casual stroll along the Erie Canal was perfect! Breakfast was included and was served in the local diner just down the street (about 30 feet away); excellent! Would most certainly recommend the Canal Side Inn - wonderful hospitality!


never had a bad or even indifferent meal and service at Canal Side

4.4 on May 18, 2012

note: this review concerns the restaurant side of the Inn. Canal Side has been operating for 30 years and their consistency of service, refinement and quality sets them apart from the crowd. And yes, you can taste the proprietor's love for what he does in each morsel. Easily one of the top 5 restaurants in the region Anthony Sullivan


A great place to Stay in the Mohawk valley area

4.0 on February 11, 2012

We enjoy staying at Canal Side Inn during the Christmas Holidays to visit family and friends in the area. The room services are great and we love the breaksfast each morning at the cafe next door.


Local treasure

4.0 on November 09, 2011

Spectacular food and service. Spacious rooms. Quiet, safe, charming neighborhood.


Wonderful B&B!

4.0 on September 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Canal Side Inn the weekend of Sept 10, 2011 and had a wonderful time! James did a great job making sure that everything was taken care of and that we had everything we needed. We stayed in the Boucasse room and, let me tell you, that room is huge! We had dinner at the inn on Friday evening and had a wonderful meal! And, as it turns out, it was the same weekend as the Garlic and Herb Festival. My wife and I spent much of the day walking around the festival and visiting the antique shops that were right next door to the inn. I would definitely recommend staying at the Canal Side Inn!


wonderful !!

4.6 on August 15, 2011

Needed a place to stay for a family celebration and we were thrilled with our experience at canal side inn. wonderful suite, very generous size, livingroom with pull out couch, very large bathroom. clean, spacious.


Two night stay while visiting Glimmerglass Fest

4.0 on July 15, 2011

Suite included three large rooms (bed, bath, living area with couch and tv) which were exceptionally clean if a bit slanted (renovated old factory building). The restaurant was closed while we were there, but the owner suggested a nearby restaurant that was fine. Living room was large enough to have friends over for a comfortable evening.


wonderful Restauranat

3.6 on May 27, 2011

Pleasant area and excellent food. Room was very spacious and well-maintained. Very private, like a hotel. Little Falls is a charming small city. Relaxed pace and very warm people. I wish the shower head were better. Highly recommend.


Overnight stay

4.0 on May 18, 2011

We needed a room for an overnight stay as we were having dinner at a different restaurant for our anniversary (same place we were married). The Bocousse Suite had the brick wall behind the bed in the picture. We loved the old building with not so level floors and the room was done very nicely. The innkeeper told us about the canal walk which we did and found very nice. Breakfast was fine the next morning and everyone was very nice. I cannot speak for the Restaurant but I can say we plan to return again another time and stay again and have dinner in the Restaurant based on our experience.


Great Stay

4.4 on May 12, 2011

I stayed at the Canal Side Inn for 5 days on business. it was a restful suite with bright sunny windows. The cleaning person immediately took care of a burned out bulb. When I worked the overnight shift, the cleaning person left me alone. Upon arriving, the owner greeted me and gave me a tour of the suite. All in all, a great stay.


Canal Side Inn Visit March 2011

5 on March 21, 2011

Everything was wonderful. James and his staff always make the experience amazing. Beautiful Inn!


Very Nice place to stay

3.8 on January 14, 2011

Very pleased with the suite. It was a very good base for all the visiting we did in the area.


map quest

4.0 on January 04, 2011

The hotel was a bit hard to find because the streets are not marked well. Other wise it was a great place to stay for the night. It was clean and very affordable for a college student.


Great Inn in Upstate New York

4.0 on January 02, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. I will not be staying at any of the hotels or motels in the area again as long as there is a room available here!


Spacious!

3.8 on September 22, 2010

Finding someone to check in was a little difficult. The room was very nice and just as pictured on the site. If you have a reason to stay in littlefalls I'd recommend here. The breakfast (voucher for next door) was delicious!


Great accommodation - gruff owner

3.4 on September 07, 2010

We just stayed one night with our dog. The room was huge and really nice. Very clean. The restaurant was just downstairs and we ate there outside with our dog. A patron told us that we could have taken our dog inside but the owner didn't offer that to us. Breakfast was from the diner next door and average.


Simply Awesome!!!!

4.4 on January 25, 2010

This restaurant is absolutely superb. After a stroll around this quiet little town I happened upon the Canal Side Inn. This caliber of dining experience coupled with their efficient service represents a league of it's own. When I arrived, a quite handsome young man David carried all my bags to my room and escorted me to my seat! I was expected with a candle, a small arrangement of flowers, water, and toast. The restaurant is equipped with a wine selection unparalleled in the area with a knowledgeable staff to help you choose. The servers with their professional looking attire were extraordinarily friendly and made the dining experience that much better. Also, the owner James was eager to share his knowledge about the area and history of the restaurant. I would recommend this experience to ANYONE!


Evening out

3.8 on August 08, 2009

Dining was excellent, was just a little cold in the dininig room otherwise every good.


Pleasant surprise

4.4 on July 08, 2009

We went to Little Falls to see friends and were pleasantly surprised by this gem. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The owners were very accommodating. We'll be back.


A big gem in Little Falls

4.0 on August 17, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at the Canal Side Inn in charming Little Falls. Our superb dinner at the inn's restaurant was the icing on the cake! We will definitely return.


quite surprised

3.2 on June 30, 2008

We were really shocked when we saw the building the first time. It is VERY old factory building,and looks in need of renovation. We were even more skeptical when we had to walk up two LONG NARROW flights of stairs. But when we entered the room we were plesantley surprised.The suite had a fridge couch tv chairs and a space heater stove. It was very clean, newly reonovated and nicely decorated and comfortable. However when the lady downstairs started talking on the phone at 12:0AM,we were able to hear every word very clearly.


AWESOME PLACE

5 on May 18, 2008

My Boyfriend and I just Happend to stumble across this great place on a recent overnight getaway... A real gem. The owner James was friendly and an amazing Chef. It was cozy warm, the room was bright and lovely. A must if you like quiet cozy places!!!


Making a memory

4.6 on April 29, 2008

The room was absolutely gorgeous. Very comfortable accomodations in a quaint little town. I loved it. It made are stay all that much nicer.


Canal Side Inn

5 on January 24, 2008

This property is outstanding


Canal Side Inn,

5 on December 11, 2007

A treasure in the Mohawk Valley - felt like Europe! A dining delight. We will keep coming on our way to see family.


Best Little Town in NY

4.6 on October 16, 2007

Little Falls, NY is the best stop on the Erie Canal. Best restaurant in NY State and a lovely B&B! Best of old world and new and the nicest people!


Perfect!

5 on October 07, 2007

What a great "base of operations" for our vacation to the great Northeast! Close to everything we wanted to see...Cooperstown, Niagra Falls, Adirondacks, Erie Canal...and the friendly town of Little Falls! James has done a great job of remodeling this old establishment...comfortable room, great service...and his food is superlative!Your host is also your chef...how unique. Also,this is perfect for those that maybe don't wish to "live-in" a traditional B&B.


Canal Side Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $150
  • Reviews (44) 4.3
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3158231170

Visit Website »

View details

Top