Winterberry Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

victoria weekend 2013

5 on May 21, 2013

I initially found this place by chance, what an oasis. went to Lake Placid this past weekend,with two other couples, as usual , Aggie and Luke made all of us feel right at home, she helped make our weekend a great success. Thanks so much, Anne and Jim


Home away from home

4.6 on February 26, 2013

Aggie & Luke were very accommodating hosts. We spent 3 nights at the Winterberry and will certainly be going back. It's only a mile from Main St. and if it's too cold, there is a free shuttle. Clean rooms, yummy breakfast, wonderful hostess.


Great Weekend Getaway

4.8 on November 14, 2011

Stayed at Winterberry this past Veteran's Day weekend. We stayed in the Tiffany room, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Aggie could not have been more welcoming, and she was very knowledgeable about the area. The room was standard size, but extremely clean and a great value at Winterberry's low rate. The B and B has wi-fi, which isn't advertised on this site, but was a great perk. No complaints about the stay whatsoever, we will be back for sure!


Weekend away

3.8 on October 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed last weekend for one night. It was just as promised. Aggie, a kind and unobtrusive host, who greeted us and was pleasant but not over bearing. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. The room was basic but adequate for our needs. An excellent value. We would stay again


A Wonderful Experience

5 on June 18, 2011

We stayed two nights at Winterberry and had a lovely time. It's quaint, beautifully decorated and clean. We stayed in the Adirondack and it was charming -- the bed was extra long, which was a pleasant surprise for my husband who is 6' 7" tall. Aggie was a wonderful hostess, and we give the Winterberry a high rating! Will stay again if we're ever in Lake Placid.


Everything beat our expectations!

5 on December 01, 2010

A really nice B&B, great value for the money, near downtown Lake Placid. Breakfast was an unexpected bonus...good home-cooked food....not the standard "continental" breakfast usually experienced at lower cost places. Rooms have everything you need and are nicely appointed with period furniture. Lovely living room for TV viewing or joining other guests. Definately would stay here again when visiting Lake Placid.


Satisfaction Guaranteed

5 on October 31, 2010

If you are looking for privacy with a welcoming feel you can't beat Winterberry. The hostess Aggie is a sweetheart, also an excellent cook. We are already planning our next visit.


Great room!

4.2 on July 19, 2010

We stayed in the Adirondack room and the 4 vine covered plantation shuttered windows met in the corner creating a delicious cross breeze and wonderful ambiance. Aggie is a very pleasant, but unobtrusive hostess. The guests have their own living room with a fireplace, games and movies which was great in the evening. Breakfast is great. We enjoyed our stay very much and would easily consider returning should we again visit Lake Placid.


A great place to stay while in Lake Placid

4.6 on July 09, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying with Aggie for two nights recently. In my humble opinion, this is certainly one of the nicest and most reasonably priced accomodations in the area. While being very convenient, it is located on a quiet side street off a main road. The minute we met Aggie, we felt at home. Our room was large as was the private bath and was much more than I expected given the more than reasonable rate. The sitting room was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a fire in the fireplace one chilly afternoon. We were not prepared for the cool weather and Aggie let us borrow two sweatshirts - now how nice is that. Now the breakfast - first off, Aggie sets a beautiful table. We enjoyed conversation with other guests as Aggie treated us to wonderful coffee (the best coffee we had on our 12 day trip), juice, fruit, a different tasty breakfast bread each day, and a wonderful breakfast entree complete with sausage. Aggie doesn't skimp on portions. Over our two days at the Winterberry, I shared nice conversation with Aggie who seems to take much pleasure and joy in meeting new guests. Would we stay here again - absolutely. Don't be put off by her low rates - it really is a very nice place to stay. Dolores Fennell


Great place in Lake Placid

5 on November 08, 2009

We recently spent two nights with Aggie in Lake Placid, she is a great inn keeper and had good suggestions on what to do during our stay. Her family room is very comfortable and we felt right at home, our room was clean and comfortable and breakfasts tasty. Her B&B is very affordable and a good value.


Excellent!

4.8 on November 11, 2008

Very informal and friendly. Comfortable and clean with excellent breakfast. Highly recommend this B&B!


A Wonderful Stay in Lake Placid

4.6 on October 08, 2008

First, the value is exceptional! The Winterberry Inn is quaint, well located, comfortably appointed and very reasonably priced. Aggie was a wonderful hostess; her breakfast selections and coffee were delicious! Two enthusiastic thumbs up!


Highly recommended

5 on August 21, 2008

Aggie is a wonderful hostess, relaxed and personable, and a fabulous cook. Our room was much more than we expected for $80/night, nicely furnished, very comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom (just be sure to bring cash, no cc's accepted). The house is convenient to all Olympic sights. We look forward to returning someday!


Great Place in Lake Placid

4.4 on August 20, 2008

We stayed here for a weekend in the summer. Aggie was a perfect host. The rooms are nicely appointed and pretty. Breakfasts were yummy. We will return.


Great Find!

4.8 on May 29, 2008

This is a small (three rooms, each with private bath) but well done B&B right in Lake Placid. The hostess is a font of information about the area, very pleasant, but utterly unobtrusive. Immaculately clean, great price and the food was superb. We will go back there.


One of the Best B&B's ever visited

4.8 on May 27, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at over a dozen b&b's in New England and the Winterberry is at the very top of the list. The b&b is tasteful, clean, and just a great place to back to at the end of a day outside! Aggie is a fabulous cook and served us berry pancakes, an egg, sausage, and veggie "strada", and french toast...in addition to the fruit and muffins! Aggie is a wonderful host and very helpful with ideas in the area. We would be back in an instant!


Great Stay

4.4 on April 14, 2008

We stayed at Aggies’s place for only one night but from the very beginning we felt welcomed and at home. The breakfast she prepared exceeded our expectations! Rooms are nicely decorated and each has a private bathroom- what a treat. Aggie is so sweet and she truly found her calling in running B&B. We highly recommend it!


Five on five

5 on March 31, 2008

Aggie is the perfect hostess. The Inn is spotless and the energy is casual elegant. We loved our stay and will be back many times again. Great location close to everything. Loved to sit by the fire and sip a glass of wine before heading off to town in walking distance. FIVE ON FIVE. See you soon Aggie!


Just what we needed!

4.8 on October 19, 2007

Cozy room and livingroom. Wonderful hot breakfast and personable hostess. Short drive to shops and restaraunts.


Winterberry

4.6 on October 17, 2007

Excellent, small inn very close to all the attractions in Lake Placid. Owner was very helpful with things to do and directions; very hearty breakfasts; very clean rooms and baths; cute house.


A delightful surprise

4.6 on September 13, 2007

We were very happy with our stay. Aggie gave us great advice on a local restaurant. The Inn is beautiful and she is a wonderful cook. We were very impressed with the price. We will definetly go back.


Peaceful private getaway

4.0 on September 09, 2007

We had a short but pleasant stay at Winterberry and look forward to our next visit!


Shhh Dont tell anyone !!

4.0 on August 17, 2007

We were (I think ) "the first" guests a few yrs ago while moto touring in NYS.Now we're looking forward to going back and saying hello again . Pride of ownership in a cozy little b & b is evident at the Winterberry.


Winterberry Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $100
  • Reviews (23) 4.6
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5185230356
  • Toll free 1-8005302995

Visit Website »

View details

Top