Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Guest Cottage Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.0
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining3.5

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Stay, Wonderful Location

3.4 on December 02, 2014

My boyfriend and I are 46er aspirants. I booked a room at the Spruce Lodge B and B as an early birthday present for him. We wanted to get in a couple of more peaks before the weather really turned! The room was very clean and plenty of room for us. We slept well and even took a nice long nap after our hike! The continental breakfast was simple but perfect for a light bite before heading out. The B and B is close to the downtown area, so not only were we close to trailheads, we were also close to the fun downtown scene! I would definitely stay here again.


Great place to stay!!

4.8 on November 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been to Lake Placid several times and like to try a new place to stay every time. A couple weekends ago we were headed up for a hike and knew we would be too tired to drive back home after a long day. Spruce Lodge was EXACTLY what we were looking for. We stayed in the smallest room, A Place to Lay Your Head and it exceeded all our expectations. The room was spacious, comfortable, warm, VERY affordable and most important, CLEAN! The innkeeper was very nice and welcoming upon arrival. The next morning we came downstairs to homemade breads, muffins, cereal, coffee and tea. The location is also good... right down the street from Liquids and Solids (a favorite of ours for pre-dinner drinks), and in walking distance to the Pub and Brewery (a must for all our trips.) We will definitely be back to this little gem!


Family stay attending wedding

4.2 on October 07, 2013

I had read some reviews of this Lodge and they were OK but not great. We were there for a wedding and that weekend all the hotels in the area were booked. So we were very surpised when we arrived and found it inviting, clean and very nicely furnished. We were only there for 2 nights but would not have a problem staying there for a longer stay!! We were with 4 adults and 2 children and they all loved it.


Spruce Lodge - lovely B & B

3.6 on September 09, 2013

We spent 2 nights in "A place to rest your head". The room was very comfortable and cozy and we enjoyed our stay there.


The breakfasts were not adequate

3.0 on July 21, 2013

We loved the room, but Spruce Lodge is not your typical B&B. We didn't meet the owners. A breakfast of cold cereal and bread is not adequate for a long day of hiking. They could, at the very least, have yogurt. Love Spruce Lodge for its location to fun things to do in Lake Placid.

Innkeeper Response
Very sorry that I did not get to meet you. My children have decided that I need time off so we hired some weekend people. I either do not come in or I come in later to do projects I do not get done during the week. I also apologize for Brock forgetting to put out the Oatmeal. I hope you had a great hike. Hiking the Adirondacks is so beautiful. Thank you so much for staying with us.


Spruce Lodge in the summer.

4.8 on July 12, 2013

Our stay was delightful! The room was comfortable and inviting. We had a small area outside equipped with lawn chairs. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the cool breeze until after dark. Breakfast offered homemade breads, great coffee and wonderful company. Over all a most enjoyable visit. I'd say outstanding. Don't miss it when traveling through the Adirondacks!


Perfect Value

3.2 on June 13, 2013

It was the perfect spot for my one night in Lake Placid. I stayed by myself before moving on with a group of friends to a rented house for a more extended stay. I felt safe staying alone and met some wonderful fellow travelers at breakfast.


Great Stay Yet Again at Spruce Lodge

4.4 on March 23, 2012

This was the second stay at Spruce for my husband and I. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are perfect-just what you need-very clean-nice bathroom-very cozy. We were so glad we could visit with our little friends we had made (the cats) we left our door open so they could roam in and out, they are so cute. I really think Spruce is the best kept secret, the value for that area is outstanding. Thanks again and we will be back next year!!


Short, but nice stay!

4.0 on December 15, 2011

Nice place to stay. We were hiking Mt Marcy the next day and we had a good night sleep with a delightfull breakfast before we hit the road.


Great place to stay

4.4 on September 19, 2011

I was a little hesitant when I learned that there were cats in the main house, but aside from a few brief appearances I would have never known they were there. Great value, cozy and nothing fancy but perfect for a long weekend away. Room was immaculate and warm, and the main town is minutes away. Breakfast was simple but satisfying, would definitely stay there again.


A good value

3.8 on September 13, 2011

The room was extremely clean and neat. This was an excellent value. Cont. Breakfast was to be served by 8:30am and the attendent had not even started to bring things out which was unexpected being that we were due to leave very early for a long travel home, so we had to go elsewhere to eat. The shower was very HOT then very COLD had to keep getting out to adjust the temp, took a long time to shower. Don't know that we will stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Unless this was day I had an appointment and did not set up breakfast, I am confused. Our Breakfast is always set up by 8am. We have it timed so the coffee is ready when all the elements of the breakfast have been put out. As far as the water temperature, all the rooms run off the hot water from the furnace, if you are in the shower and someone else starts to draw water, you shower will get cold. It is an old house and this is just one of the quirks. Very sorry for your disappointed stay, we are always striving to do our best and I guess we have to try harder.


Great Stay

4.6 on August 12, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay in Lake Placid. It's about 20 minutes from the Adk Loj trail head. We Stayed and hiked a few 46ers over the weekend. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs and for the money this is one of the best. Will stay again and again.


Enjoyed he stay

4.0 on July 03, 2011

Our room is very very clean. It is lovely decorated. Carol was very helpful and friendly. Will stay again!


Good Experience, Basic Accommodations

3.8 on June 29, 2011

This B&B fit our needs well since we were there on business & didn't have much time to spend in our room. Very clean and quiet with a private feel - just far enough from downtown. Bed was comfortable w/plenty of extra pillows & blankets. Cons - bathroom mirrors were deteriorated & difficult to use & mirror frame blocked access to electrical outlet so couldn't plug in our hairdryer. Unscented or lighter scent laundry soap would be a plus! Innkeeper could be a little more welcoming. Didn't sample the breakfast so no comment on that but did use the coffeemaker in the room - which was well-stocked for coffee.


Relaxing in the Adirondacks

4.2 on June 25, 2011

Great service, quaint and convenient location. You can walk to restaurants, liquor stores and scenic places from here. The proprietor is extra friendly and helpful and I'd definitely line up to stay here if I am ever in the area again.


Comfortable & well located accommodations`

3.4 on June 12, 2011

We stayed here one night after a 4 day backpacking trip in the Adirondacks and were very pleased. Because I booked through B&B.com I did not realize that they have cats in the main house. When we got there and asked if we could be placed in a room where the cats don't go because we are both allergic, Carol generously moved us to a cat free room. Very accommodating and understanding. For the price it's a great stay!


good stuff

4.2 on February 26, 2011

We stayed at the Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights in room #5 which has a queen bed with the twig canopy and the bunk beds. To say we were pleased is an understatement!! The room was clean, comfortable and warm. The bathroom is usually where I'm disappointed in a room, but I'm happy to report this was not the case for our stay! We never heard any other guests in the house even though there were others there (including a very small child). Breakfast was wonderful- you can sit and chat with other guests and not feel as though you need to hurry. The only issue I had was during a couple of my showers the water got cold for a brief second and then hot before returning to the temperature I liked- toilet must have flushed!! LOL- Absolutely to be expected I would think. The location was perfect and parking was a breeze. The innkeeper and the night man were so pleasant to talk with and helped us when we needed directions or any information. I would whole heartedly recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone looking for a homey stay.


very good value

4.6 on October 05, 2010

Close to convenience store that opens early for early hikers and also close to Green Goddess for great soup. Carol knows everything and everybody in LP. Home made bread in the morning.


Spruce Lodge an outstanding value

3.4 on September 25, 2010

The rooms are clean, the breakfast is fine, especially the home-baked bread. In the center of everything. For the money I doubt that it can be beat in Lake Placid, or most any other popular tourist location. Will stay again next time.


Fabulously happy, comfortable, warm stay in Lake Placid

4.6 on September 03, 2010

Carol, Ashlee, and Dan made us feel like family. The hospitality was nothing less than warm and welcoming. The room in the main house was not super fancy, but it was neat and clean, clean, clean and that's what was important to us. Dan took us out and showed us the condo's for our future reference, and they were fabulous. On our way to check out the condo's, what impressed me were the clean sheets hanging on the line blowing in the fresh mountain air and drying in the warm summer sunshine! What a fun ski party or summer vacation a group or family could have. The condos were so nice, new and spacious. In the morning, Carol baked fresh homemade bread for breakfast, and it smelled great while baking and it was delicious. Along with muffins and delicious fresh coffee. She's the hostest with the mostest. Thank you those of you at Spruce Lodge for a wonderful stay in Lake Placid. We'll definitely book the Spruce Lodge again. Fond Memories, Jean (grew up in LP!)


A Charming Place to Stay

4.4 on August 16, 2010

This was a great place to stay--clean and lovingly cared for-- and would have been so even if it had cost much more. It has to be the best bargain for lodging in Lake Placid. After a weekend stay there I am already planning on a return visit.


Great value and very friendly service in Lake Placid

4.2 on August 07, 2010

My husband and I were very satisfied with the accomodations at Spruce Lodge. The rooms were very clean and our bed was very comfy. But best of all was Carol who was very accomodating, allowing us to store our canoe and bikes, and use her clothesline outside to dry our wet camping gear. Close to town, plenty of parking, decorated warmly, and warm service. We will definitely be back for return visits.


The best value in Lake Placid

4.2 on April 29, 2010

This place is in a good location and has nice clean rooms, all for about half of the cost of the local hotels. Breakfast was pretty minimal, but that wasn't a big negative. We'll definitely stay here again.


The Place to Stay in Lake Placid

4.2 on March 21, 2010

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay in this B and B. We walked into a very warm welcome from a very nice man, who took us straight to our room, which was cozy and homey. The room was absolutely spotless. Breakfast was perfect for us. I ate a muffin and coffee and my fiance had a bagel and a piece of their homemade bread. We have never stayed at a B and B before and we weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly suprised with the wonderful hospitality and service we were given. We were busy most of the time with the NCAA hockey tournament so we weren't in the room often, but were always very welcomed when we stopped in here and there. The two cats that wander around were amazing...we made instant friends and even cuddled with them in our room! The bed was average to sleep on. Being a young couple we definitely missed having a tv at night and in the morning when getting ready but we survived. Our stay was very pleasant, and we recommend this B and B to anyone visiting Lake Placid.


I would go back in a heartbeat

4.4 on February 20, 2010

This is our second stay at the Spruce Lodge B&B and I would go back in a heartbeat. The B&B is very clean and comfortable. I especially liked the back room upstairs that we had the first time, with the twig bedframe and it almost has it's own back entrance. The second time we had a smaller room, but the price was also smaller. Carol, the owner, is very laid back and friendly, and her night staff, Billy, is a hoot. We met another woman there who stays for five weeks at a time, three or four times a year. There are also apartments in the back which we intend to use in the future when we go back with friends. The breakfast is the only thing that is not great. It is a good but cold continental breakfast, with bagels, cream cheese, jams, granola bars, cereals, coffee, juice, usually muffins and sometimes banana or pumpkin bread, or something of that kind. Breakfast is between 8:00 and 9:30 a.m. which suits us perfectly. There are a couple of cats there, which we don't mind, and there's usually someone around if you need to ask a question or need something for your room. There is, however, no daily maid service, which doesn't bother us either. Also, there is no t.v. in the rooms, but there is a t.v. down in the living room for guests to use. I've stayed at other B&B's and hotels in Lake Placid, but I intend to stay at the Spruce Lodge every time we go there from now on. I almost feel like I'm home.


Warm, comfortable room on a cold night

4.0 on October 22, 2009

We stayed on a particularly cold night in October and the house was warm and inviting. The room was comfortable, however the double bed was slightly small for two people. Breakfast in the morning was great - plenty of options and included home-made bread. The price was outstanding for the accommodations.


Spruce Lodge B&B stay August 2009

3.8 on August 17, 2009

Innkeeper accommodated arriving late, very friendly breakfast table, self serve breakfast very easy, simple and clean room, very helpful with directions to area interests


A Wonderful place to stay

5 on July 24, 2009

I travel to Lake Placid, NY frequently with my granddaughter who attends training camps there. I always stay at the Spruce Lodge, and cannot praise the caring staff and accomodations enough. Carol, the owner, works extremely hard to make sure that each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay. She also frequently shares her wealth of knowledge of the area with her guests. Spruce Lodge has become my home away from home, and gets an A+ from me! J. Cass (Texas)


Warm and comfortable B&B

4.6 on July 13, 2009

Room was very warmly furnished, continental breakfast offered many choices, owner was very helpful.


very comfortable

4.2 on July 13, 2009

some traces of a continental breakfast would have been appreciated (eggs/ham for example); the variety of the continental breakfast and its taste were great though


Excellent Bargain

4.8 on May 21, 2009

Innkeeper was extremely courteous and cooperative. The breakfast was "on the money." Room was clean and comfortable. For the price, the Spruce Lodge was well worth it. My daughter left her cellphone and the innkeeper was courteous enough to mail it to us. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Close to town

3.6 on December 29, 2008

Nice clean rooms and close to town, would stay again


Great budget b&b in lake placide

3.8 on October 31, 2008

Room was very clean and bigger than I expected. Basic but great tasting breakfast.


Brilliant

5 on September 19, 2008

Hi, My daughter and I stayed a month at Spruce Lodge and were over the moon. We come from New Zealand and were therefore a very long way from home so found the friendliness of Carol, Billy and Co. to be extremely welcomed. They worked like trojans all the time washing, cooking, cleaning, lawns etc. etc. In spite of this they always left what they were doing to help us and anyone else that needed it. It was wonderful to have Simon and Simone around as they filled some of the gap our own cats absense left. We are planning to return next year for three months and are definately staying there again, it's our home from home. I urge you to have a look on this site as it has some additional photos etc. http://www.sprucelodgebnb.com/ Miss you all Love Ali & Kessy


Felt just like home...

5 on September 08, 2008

Great spot only minutes from the heart of the city. Staff was extremely helpful and kind. Super clean with wonderful people. The city itself is beautiful and the residents are super friendly. Lots to do - would do it again in a flash! :)


Pleasant, rustic

3.4 on August 31, 2008

Rustic and clean apt. Carol had binder filled with area info/coupons and current grocery ads on counter of apt. Coffee and teas were provided. I would recommend this B&B to a friend. Would definitely stay here again.


The best to day

5 on August 22, 2008

Hi, To start if your young and fit, this place is a short walk from the village. Beauty and Grace is offered at this Lodge. My husband and I stay often and it is always a friendly kind clean beauty of a place, we have been to this lodge 3 yrs now. We love it just as much as the prior year every time!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Tara & Bob


A great summertime value

4.6 on August 18, 2008

I spent one night at the Spruce Lodge B&B with my mother and her friend. Originally we had booked a room with 1 queen bed and a set of bunk beds at very reasonable price of under $100. When we arrived at the inn, the owner told us we were being upgraded to the apartment. The apartment is on the second floor with an outside stairway that is covered. My mother has a little bit of trouble with stairs, but she managed ok. The apartment was so nice! A full little lkitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker (with coffee provided). Cabinets held glasses, plates, etc. Ther was a living room area with TV futon and recliner. The separate bedroom had a queen size bed with the bathroom attached. Everything was absolutely spotless and in good order. The decor was really attractive-rustic wood, handpainted mountain scene mural in the living room, stencilled borders of moose, trees and other adirondack items. The only negative about the room was that the futon was not comfortable. I felt every board. Breakfast in the morning was self serve. Hot and cold cereal, fruit, bagels, homemade muffins, juice and coffee. We did not use the common sitting area, but we did get to meet one of the cats! All in all, I would definitely recommend this place.

Innkeeper Response
thank you for your comments. Very happy that you commented about my futon. We never know unless someone let us know. I am in the process of purchasing a new mattress. Hoping you stay with us again and next time the futon will be more comfortable.


Room #4

3.4 on August 18, 2008

Very reasonable way to see Lake Placid as most hotel rooms cost about triple what I paid per night. Not real familiar with BB's so my expectation of a TV in room may be unreasonable but I sure missed one late at night. Room had excellent bathroom, was nicely decorated, and very clean. No AC but nights were cool and confortable the nights I stayed. Hosts were friendly. Breakfast was Continential (not bad, not great). All in all very happy I stayed there.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments. As fas our breakfast, we know that a continental breakfast is not always enough. But we keep our breads and muffins homemade to make the breakfast homelike. If I were to add hot foods (bacon & eggs etc), I would have to increase my rates by $10 to $15 and then my B&B would not seem to be reasonable.


REVIEW from KENTUCKY!

2.6 on August 11, 2008

Adequate accomodations except our room had a double bed which was pushed up against a wall, so we would have to climb over each other to get in and out of bed. When we arrived, not much of a welcome. No offer of coffee or tea, we felt as if we were intruding.

Innkeeper Response
I feel badly that I was not able to make these guests happy. I was booked solid and I could not upgrade them to a room that met their expectations. Also to their dismay, coffee is only served in the morning, but I did offer them tea. Spruce Lodge is a family run bed and breakfast. The building is a well maintained 134 year old structure with lots of interesting and unique qualities. It is located in a tourist town where most of the nightly room rates are $150 and up. Our standard rooms are one third of that rate and our guests are happy with a double bed, private bath and a clean facility. Most guests go for the standard room but others upgrade to a deluxe room with a queen bed and private bath or the apartment suite with a queen bed, private bath, kitchenette and small livingroom. Some even go to the two bedroom cottage which has two queens and a set of bunkbeds. A few get brave and upgrade to the ultimate accommodations, our new luxury three bedroom townhouses. Our goal here a Spruce Lodge is to keep the atmosphere friendly, helpful & homelike, keep the rates affordable & keep the facility clean and inviting. We do have a few grandchildren running around during the week but they go home by dinnertime. I am very sorry if these guests felt like they were intruding. That is not our intent.


Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Guest Cottage

Details

  • Nightly Rate $58 - $325
  • Reviews (40) 4.1
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5185239350
  • Fax 1-5185237898
  • Toll free 1-8002589350

Visit Website »

View details

Top