Thyme in the Country Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Elixir for the Weathered Soul

5 on January 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a full weekend at Thyme in the Country B&B, and were charmed from the moment we got to the house late Saturday afternoon. The rustic scenery, the land and farm animals, and the way the house and outside shed were decorated gracefully with antique furniture, tools and wall hangings brought us to a completely different place and time. The owners are extremely hospitable, and we felt right at home as soon as we entered the house. We were pleasantly surprised by the evening snack tray and honey-ginger tea that filled and warmed our bellies from the cold weather, as we really expected nothing more than a breakfast, typical of most B&B places. Without a doubt, I could easily tell that this is not just a business to Mary and Bill, but more of a passion that is integrated into their daily life. The food was amazing, ingredients obtained from local markets and farms, and the eggs, sausage and bacon came right from their backyard. The house is cleaned with all-natural solutions, as the owners are very much attuned to the importance of environmental responsibility and sustainability. We will definitely come back to Thyme in the Country on future getaways, and will wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to our friends and family.


"Thyme in the Country," is time well spent!

5 on October 28, 2013

Mary and Bill are wonderful, gracious hosts and welcome visitors to their home as if they are family. The house is pleasant and peaceful, filled in every corner with interesting antiques and artistic touches. The refreshing quiet of their corner of the country is only broken by the occasional moo of their charming cows and the songbirds visiting their fruit trees. The fresh, delicious food Mary and her family prepares is all gathered from the bounty of her garden, the fruit trees and the fresh milk of their cows and eggs from the chickens. Even the soap has been carefully handmade. Every aspect of a visit to Thyme in the Country is a delight, made even more special by the personal attention of Mary and Bill. You will leave not only refreshed and renewed but with the warmth of a new friendship.


Great stay

3.0 on August 28, 2013

Loved the room, loved the hosts, loved delicious country style breakfast. The yard is beautiful and so conducive to relaxing. The hosts are very helpful.


Cozy and friendly

5 on July 25, 2013

Thyme was the perfect surprise from my boyfriend for our anniversary. The home was warm and cozy, the owner welcomed us and when we told her it was our anniversary even provided us wine!


Peace in the Snow

4.6 on June 11, 2013

It was fantastic to meet new year in a warm friendly setting with good company and next to a oven sipping the whiskey.


Charming B&B

3.6 on January 15, 2013

Charming, delightful with a wonderful hostess -- Mary Koch. Welcoming breakfasts and hospitality.


Thyme in the Country

4.6 on January 15, 2013

Lovely people, great location. Delightful stay.


Country Delight

4.6 on January 15, 2013

Thyme in the Country is charming, cozy, and comfortable. Mary Koch is a warm, welcoming hostess and a great breakfast cook. I'll definitely return!


Authenticity and Charm

5 on November 20, 2012

What a great time we all had at this lovely, peaceful and so cosy B&B where we have been so warmly welcome by Mary and her family. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and breakfast is beyond this world! We will definitely go again. The Laplaud family.


A perfect place to go and relax from city life

4.0 on February 23, 2012

This B&B is a working farm. It is located close by to Hudson downtown but it’s far enough to allow one to take mind off of the city buzz. We visited Mary's farm in February and enjoyed our stay so much that we will go back again soon. The family at the farm is very hospitable. The food was simple and delicious; milk, eggs, and in summer time vegetables are all produced at the farm. As an artist I always have a sketchbook with me. I found there were plenty of subjects to draw: from cute dogs, chickens to plants. I feel this B&B is perfect place to go and enjoy the simple kind of life for a weekend or longer.


A kid's perspective

5 on August 16, 2011

I am 7 years old and my stay at Mary's place was so fun that my mom said I could write this review. I think you should go to! When I was there the chickens got out and me and my friend had to chase them back in. They have 2 dogs. And a 7 week old bull & a 6 day old calf. Mary gives you sweets in the afternoon.


Three days in the Hudson Valley.

4.6 on July 31, 2011

Hello, On the side of the road called "Fish & Game Road" in Philmont, NY, behind trees is a truly lovely B and B called www.thymeinthecountry.com It is working small farm with great guest house, a rustic cabin and amazing food. It is completely organic; food and environment! And a lovely pool that is not chlorinated. The owners were friendly, kind and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be back. Gail & Tage


Naturally tasty

4.4 on July 03, 2011

What a lovely stay - all things relaxed and wonderful. Fantastic setting and warm, eco-minded hosts. Thank you!


A feel-good B&B

3.8 on July 03, 2011

Thyme in the Country is everything a small in ought to be and more. From the quiet yet friendly dogs to the areas to explore, tasty and wholesome breakfast and snacks, the natural salt water pool, hammocks, chicken, cows, and lovely flowers, this inn and its keepers are all very special. ~Amy


Comfortable, Healthy, Enchanting Idyll

4.0 on June 20, 2011

A Victorian farmhouse hidden on a peaceful road in lush farmland. Proprietors with a genuinely warm and not intrusive, not hokey, hospitality offer an ambience of know-how and well-being. Our pretty, clean bedroom had three windows and the complete works of Charles Dickens. A firm mattress. We enjoyed indoor and outdoor reading and walking areas, a porch, a deck and romantic antique swings, moist strawberry-rhubarb mini-cakes for snacks. A salt-water swimming pool area festooned with flowering bushes. Beyond that an organic vegetable garden, various pastures with beautiful black and white cows and grazing areas for roosters and chickens. A pond with canoes. Wake up to herb scented breezes and a lemon herb cooler in a vintage, etched glass. A yummy organic breakfast. How did they know I really needed a fresh baked quiche with a gluten-free crust? If the bathrooms need a little updating, we didn't care. Mary and Bill think of everything. RH New York, NY


wonderful stay

4.8 on November 30, 2010

The Kochs are warm, knowledgeable, and excellent hosts overall. The room was clean, cozy and environmentally conscious and the surroundings including the farm, vegetable and herb garden and fields were exquisitely beautiful. It was nice to take a walk through the hills. I also learned much about sustainable practices applicable to my everyday life, leading me to live a more conscious and healthy lifestyle. Breakfast was delicious.


Your Home Away From Home

4.8 on October 13, 2010

Bill and Mary do everything they can to make you feel at home. You arrive as a guest and leave as a member of their family. The breakfasts are absolutely fabulous; they are interesting, there is plenty of food, and it is always delicious. You'll enjoy the animals and leave feeling refreshed and relaxed. Len and Linda


A lovely home, warm of hearth and heart.

5 on December 14, 2009

Thyme in the country is a lovely home away from the congestion and noise of the city. Surrounded by forrest and field, it's hard to believe a place with cows in the back yard is only two hours up the scenic Hudson from NYC by rail. Large bedrooms, several fire places, and I think there were four living rooms in the house! Tended, within the house, mostly by the matron of the home, Mary, who is friendly, charming, beautiful, and an amazing cook (though she is far to humble to think so herself). Most interesting of all, the entire place is a green establishment, with solar power and energy efficient fixtures. If you want to relax and feel at home away from home, this is the place for you.


Nature lovers' paradise

5 on November 30, 2009

I was organizing a "green weekend" for my husband and I, and was specifically looking for a very environmentally friendly place to stay. Thyme in the Country fulfilled all my wishes and more: the food was not only healthy, locally grown and organic, but deliciously cooked and more than plentiful. The house, rooms and garden/grounds were very welcoming, cozy and beautifully decorated. Evenings were spent in front of the fireplace, meeting other guests and talking to the very friendly owners of the B&B. We were able to start hiking right out the backyard into the gorgeous landscapes of Columbia County and got many good tips about what to do and where to eat in the area. Thyme in the Country was for us the perfect place to rest, enjoy nature, meet people and - my foremost concern for this trip - do it all in an environmental friendly way.


RELAX LIKE YOU NEVER RELAXED BEFORE

5 on September 22, 2009

My husband and I spent one week of our honeymoon at the Koch's beautiful place on Novemebr of 2007!:D (It took me a while to write a review- but I could not forget!!) We had the greatest time in Hudson and woke up to delicious homemade breakfasts and quite and relaxing evenings!! We definately want to go back to Hudson and especially go back to Thyme in the Country for our stay! Thank you Mary & Koch family for making our stay a relaxing and memorable one!! Hope to see you in the near future!! Mehria & Ron


Thyme in the Country

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $195
  • Reviews (20) 4.5
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5186726166
  • Phone 1-5186725623

Visit Website »

View details

Top